Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)

Bethany House Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)

Do you ever feel that you don't fit in? You're not alone. Everybody feels like a fish out of water sometimes, but here's hope! Using Scripture, contemporary examples, spiritual insights, and discussion questions, Gire helps those on the margins---the widowed, orphaned, disabled, elderly, and others---find acceptance in the God who wholeheartedly pursues each of us. 176 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 862%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Review 1 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
scruggle
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders Including the Outsider in All of Us" by Ken Gire is a remarkable book that celebrates the outsider inside all of us. This book touches on the lives of outsiders inside and outside the Bible with an attention to detail and choice of wording that draws the reader into the book and closer to Jesus.
I cannot believe how much I loved reading this book. I was expecting a self-help type of book and instead found myself staying up late to read a few more pages. It called to me on my nightstand like a really good work of fiction, yet this book is completely real! As a Catholic, I noticed many Catholic undertones in this book and enjoyed that this book was relevant to all Christian denominations.
Grab a copy of this book and you will not be sorry! I received my copy of this book for free in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never Alone

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever feel like an outsider looking in?
For some of us, we do at some point in our lives, maybe in all parts of our lives, that no matter what we try to do, we seem to not be able to fit in with others.
In Ken Gire's, "Relentless Pursuit", this is addressed as he addresses outsiders from the Bible, history and even his own life, and with discussion questions geared toward motivating, encouraging and provoke both personal reflection and group discussion (if the book is used in a group setting), how our eyes can be opened, to the friendship and promise of not leaving us alone, that God gives us.
"Relentless Pursuit" is not a cure all book and doesn't offer absolutes but rather, reminders that we really are not alone as we may feel and through introspective questions, encourages the reader to really discover ways to reach out to others, via community involvement, growth as a Christian and introspection.
I really enjoyed the layout of the book. The questions that are offered are brief but to the point, and the overall layout of the writing, is personal but not over the head. It felt like I was reading a personal journal and the style of writing is casual and conversational, not condemning nor did it makes promises that were not attainable.
It reads like the gentle push of a good friend whose encouraging to look to the Lord and find ways that we can reach out from feeling alone or ostracized or as an outsider and instead, find healthy ways to move past feeling the feelings that one may currently have at the moment.
The book itself is short and yet detailed and filled as well not just with biblical references, but the cultural references to iconic books, movies and topics make it easy to realize that the feelings we are having, are just temporary and more than anything, we are not the only ones.
This is a great book to read and if you are starting the New Year with the resolution to be more involved or maybe you are new to an area and having trouble re-adapting, whatever the circumstances, "Relentless Pursuit" is a touching, compassionate book that for the reader, reminds them how they are not really alone.
***Thank you to Baker Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this product in exchange for my personal opinion***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for a Bible Study Group to read

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very easy to read and understand book. Everyone will relate to some part of what the author is presenting.
I found the author of this book to be very open with his personal examples. If you sometimes feel like you are not acceptable to the Lord or that you are very different then other Christians, you will benefit from reading this book. I think we all feel like an outsider at different times in our lives. This book will help you learn to draw closer to the Lord and other Christians when you are feeling this way.
The author doesn’t just use personal examples but also relates his point to people from the Bible. This was my favorite part of the book. I also really liked the discussion questions. I think this book would be perfect for a Sunday School class or Bible Study. Reading this book about feeling like an outsider with others who may feel that way too can’t help but be an encouragement to you.
I gave this book 5/5 stars for a few reasons. I like the author’s examples. I felt he was very accepting and non-judgmental in his writing. I also liked the short chapters!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fair Book on God's Pursuit of Sinners

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris Land
Location:Wichita Falls, Tx
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
What makes Christianity different from any other religion is while other beliefs teach about how man can reach out to God, Christianity teaches that God is the One who reaches down to get us. God is the One who is pursuing us to come into fellowship with Himself by He provided a rescuer for our sins. Jesus even said in the parable of the lost sheep, "What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it?" (Luke 15:4).
Ken Gire in his latest book, Relentless Pursuit, talks about God pursuing outsiders. which is all who are lost. He starts off with saying that "The Bible from start to finish is a story of God's pursuit of the outsider-the foreigner, the stranger, the outcast." He talks about God sent Jesus to become a man to reach out to those who are outsiders just as Jesus Himself said, "For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost" (Luke 19:10). Gire uses several illustrations from the Bible, other people, as well as his own life to teach his readers that God is a pursuer.
I totally agree that God is a pursuer and He did reach down to man by sending Jesus to get outsiders to draw them to God. What made this book not so much a great book is to me it seemed a little too man-centered as if man is the center of God's universe which is not true. God does reaches down to outsiders for his glory that we can display his glory among the people of the earth. It was an easy-to-read book with great stories, but not one I would give to a high recommendation.
Thanks Bethany House for letting me review this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Overextends the nature of the God who pursues...

Date:July 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
spiritually wired
Location:Dousman, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Relentless Pursuit: God’s Love of Outsiders Including the Outsider in All of Us
By Ken Gire
Bethany House Publishers
The overarching theme of this book is the recognition of being outsiders. What it feels like on the outside looking in. Gire states that we are the marginalized; the disenfranchised. Sin is what puts us there. Sin is what keeps us there. There are times in our lives that we feel alone. We feel as though even among friends or in a crowd that we are immersed in a sea of strangers. But, Gire concludes…there is good news for those who are believers in Christ. God relentlessly pursues those who are the loners of the world. He tirelessly seeks after us; to relate to us; to love us; to befriend us.
So, what does this look like? This whole idea of the Creator and Sustainer of the universe spending countless hours pursuing unworthy humans to have an intimate relationship with seems so out of tune with the earthly reality that we witness on a daily basis. In our daily experience, we certainly may be the beneficiaries of the loving patience of those who will forgive us for minor offenses. Even then, normally, those whom we offend do not actively pursue us to restore the relationship. Normally, they don’t run after us if they do not see any sort of remorse from us. And that is exactly the point of contrast that Gire is attempting to paint for us in this book. Jesus does exactly that. Similar to the parable of the Prodigal Son, we take from God whatever we can for our own selfish purposes and evil devices naively believing that a hedonistic life of pleasure and “freedom” await us when we turn away from God and exchange it for a life of debauchery and sin.
Normally, we give credence to the fact that God seeks the lost. We know in our heads that God is in the business of pursuing those who are far away from Him to bring them into the fold. But, Gire brings up the novel notion that His relentless pursuit doesn’t end there. Even once we are safely within the fold, we still often succumb to the tasty treats from Egypt. We long for the sweet, savory delights of our old lives. We see our lives with Christ at times as burdensome and restrictive. We wander. We run. We get lost. Even during those times God runs after us just like the one lost sheep who loses his way, God leaves the flock of 99 to make sure that we return safely back into His watchful care. He sees us as worth the pursuit. He loves us just that much.
What I appreciated about the book was the way Gire wove illustrative stories throughout which pulled upon my emotions and drew me deeply within the reality of how much God truly loves us. We are introduced to people whose lives were so chaotic and tragically sad, or hopelessly lost (such as Francis Thompson or C.S. Lewis). Gire does not attempt to paint pretty pictures of people who are living the good life now and who have their lives all together and basically deserve God to pursuit after them at a stallion’s pace. He vividly reveals the details of the way in which God actively pursues. The steps that are involved are faithfully portrayed in what cannot be denied to be anything less than the sovereign hand of God especially as he narrates the details of his own salvation testimony as to just how God relentlessly pursued him. Gire unapologetically cuts to the chase and clearly diagnoses the cancer and time and time again demonstrates the remarkable ways that God is able to intervene in a person’s life to completely change a person’s mindset and submit to this relentless Pursuer.
One particular note of disagreement I had personally lies in the observation that Gire makes regarding that God’s plans radically changed following the Fall. He notes that when Adam and Eve were sent to dwell East of Eden that this was “Plan B.” I am not sure if Gire intended for this conclusion to sound as though somehow this caught God off-guard and He had to edit His playbook to accommodate this “surprise.” But, that is the conclusion that I drew from his observation. I don’t believe this was a Plan B at all. I am certain from the broader context of Scripture that God understood this all along and that He had a redeeming plan in existence throughout eternity. The relationship that existed with Adam and Eve with God was certainly different than it was prior to the Fall. And, yes, it would affect humans throughout eternity. There would no longer be the perfect communion between man and God. Yet, to call it a “Plan B” I believe is much too strong of a term since I believe it taints an attribute of God; His immutable nature.
One note of caution as I read through the book. It does appear that Gire does seem to overemphasize the role of God as Pursuer. In comparison, I don’t believe that Gire gives a balanced evaluation that, yes, indeed, God does pursue those who are lost as well as those who have been found, yet are prone to wander. But, there is an important element of human responsibility. He seems to focus primarily on the undeniable fact that the father does in fact pursue the son. Yet, he overlooks the context of the parable that the son did come to his senses first and was on his way back in repentance.
I received a free copy of this book to do this review from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

more about Gire than about God

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gire says the Bible, from start to finish, is about God's pursuit of the outsider. God doesn't stop the pursuit when he brings us into the fold. He continues to watch over us to see when a part of us wanders from him.
“This book is about the heart of God and the lengths to which his heart goes to find ours, to bundle it up in his arms and to carry it home.” (11) Gire reminds us that there is no place to hide.
He writes of the stages of God's pursuit, the capture then creation.
He gives a few examples of others being pursued by God, such as Francis Thompson, creator of the poem The Hound of Heaven. He also includes biblical stories. The majority of the book, however, is his own story. He writes about shame, being an outsider, having ADD, and Jesus' mission to the outsider. In addition to reminiscing about his life, he includes lots of his musings about his own life.
Gire, by his own words, is a highly sensitive person. Gire has used writing as a way to understand and express himself. Much of this book consists of his thoughts about his own experiences. He speaks of having been in counseling for some time and I think he has written this book as an exercise in his personal growth process.
I am not as pensive as Gire is and I had a hard time identifying with the material in this book. This book is very much about Gire, how God has pursued him, and his reminiscing about his life. Perhaps another highly sensitive person would be able to identify with Gire's experience.
I am not sure who would enjoy reading this book and profit from it. I suppose someone who would is interested in writing for self revelation and healing would find this book an example of that.
I would not recommend this book for someone seeking to know God. Gire's book is too full of his own life to make this title attractive to a nonbeliever.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We all know what an outsider is, he or she may be you or someone you know or have seen. All of us desire to fit in somewhere. The author speaks of his life in detail as well as other's stories, some of them historically significant. Poetry along with ancient writings and bible passages are included.
I found that I learned some in reading and studying this book in detail. This is a new author to me, and I will go back and search for other books he has written as I know that there are quite a few. Although seasoned Christians would find this book helpful, I really believe this to be a wonderful tool for a new Christian or someone who is not as familiar with biblical stories and passages (could be a supplimentary starting point read along with the bible). I did enjoy reading about the stories of others about being outsiders themselves, some were very inspirational. I would recommend this book to others especially new Christians. I received a complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Relentless Pursuit: God's Love of Outsiders (Including the Outsider in All of Us)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Soul-stirring personal and epic stories

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
KimberlyLSmith
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“I believe it was C. S. Lewis who said that the central human condition is homesickness, a longing embedded in us for our true home. After living like this long enough, though, the adventure of being a pilgrim, stranger, or foreigner in the world wears thin.”
When I first received my preview copy of Ken Gire’s Relentless Pursuit, I excitedly thumbed through it. I stumbled upon the above snippet, and with these two Gireesque-beautiful sentences I remembered why Ken is my favorite author. Through soul-stirring personal and epic story after story he helps to keep me in touch with my brokenness while reminding me that God is patiently waiting in the marrow of my pain.
If you’ve read one of Ken Gire’s nearly 30 books in the past, you will be even more encouraged as he goes deeper into his own journey in Relentless Pursuit. If you’ve never read him, Relentless Pursuit is the perfect place to start. I was so moved by it, I have already preorder a copy for every Make Way Partners’ board and staff member as well as an extra case for friends!
Kimberly L. Smith, author of Passport through Darkness and co-president of Make Way Partners
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.