Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2

Bethany House To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2

Letters strengthen their love, but Melinda remains frustrated at being apart from Evan, the man she wants to spend the rest of her life with. Then she learns of a devastating hurricane in Bridal Veil and knows she must give up her position as a lady's maid in Cleveland and make her way back to Evan, who works as the assistant gamekeeper on Bridal Veil.

The destruction on Bridal Veil is extensive, meaning every available person is needed to help with cleanup and repairs. Melinda finds a new job on the island, but Evan seems even busier than before, meaning she still never gets to see him. Has she given her heart to the wrong man?

Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
0
13 out of 2259%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Review 1 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"To Love and Cherish" by Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller is the second book in the "Bridal Veil Island" trilogy. Bridal Veil Island, a fictional island set off the coast of Georgia, is a popular resort area that caters to the wealthy. Melinda Colson became a lady's maid out of necessity after her parents died and left her and her brother, Lawrence, penniless. She regularly spends winters on Bridal Veil Island with her employers, where she meets Evan Tarlow, the gamekeeper for the island resort. A romance between them develops, but the future remains uncertain. After a hurricane strikes the island, Melinda leaves her employers and travels back to Bridal Veil in order to search for Evan. She obtains full-time employment on the island in hopes that will spur Evan to proposing. There are plenty of twists and turns in their journey to the altar!
Overall, this book was a bit slow and contrived. Melinda was a bit annoying in that she spent much of her time bemoaning why Evan hadn't proposed yet. Even when it comes out later that he doesn't want to get married until he is financially stable enough to provide for a wife and family (a noble reason, to be sure), she still doesn't accept it and continues to pout and whine.
The plot picked up more steam and became a bit more likeable toward the end, but it simply took a long time to get there. Normally, I love books by Tracie Peterson, but this book, and the series as a whole thus far, have fallen far short of her normal engaging standard. This series hasn't really been up to par lately so I'll probably be bypassing the final book in lieu of some of the authors' other work.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great 2nd book in the series - loved it

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy Nelson
Location:Roseville, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd book in a series. I have the first one and then saw the 2nd & 3rd at Christianbooks.com. All three books are excellent. Each deals with different characters, but in the same location, Bridal Veil Island. I highly recommend ANYTHING that Tracie Peterson writes and this series was great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed Feelings

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To Love and Cherish
Tracie Peterson & Judith Miller
Book Summary: Escape to a Beautiful, Historic Island Resort, Bridal Veil Island, Georgia 1898 Melinda Colson has been waiting months for Evan, the assistant gamekeeper at the Bridal Veil Island resort, to propose. Without an offer of marriage, she must return to Cleveland with the family she works for as a lady's maid. Evan isn't afraid of hard work, and he hopes to be promoted soon. He wants to marry Melinda--but not until he's sure he can support her and a family. Letters strengthen their romance until a devastating storm strikes the island. With no word from Evan, Melinda knows she must journey back to Bridal Veil in search of her beloved. But the hurricane isn't the last calamity to shake up Bridal Veil. Melinda finds a new job on the island, but still no offer of marriage comes her way. Has she given her heart to the wrong person? Will she ever find a man to love and cherish?
Review: I tried real hard to like this book. I gave it time and I mulled over how Melinda must feel and Evan must feel but at the end of the day I was lukewarm. I did grow to like Melinda the best and thought that Evan was just so bland. He may have had the best intentions but really only worked to please her with words when she did not get what she wanted. Even when she was happy he seemed to snub her at times. I think both these authors are talented and this was an awkward plot. Where do you go with a topic for a long period of time with a part time meeting place? Make the female character that starts out exceedingly responsible and mature do something flighty? That did not fit. I can understand how others would find this to be great because all things aside Melinda was smart and had been wealthy. She understood the ways of the rich although her mother taught her kindness and grace. There were many places about prayer and how we fail to do this with the big decisions. That was a grounding reminder that Melinda acts as I do.
I would like to Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Escape

Date:December 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Escape to a Beautiful, Historic Island Resort
Bridal Veil Island, Georgia
1898
Melinda Colson has been waiting months for Evan, the assistant gamekeeper at the Bridal Veil Island resort, to propose. Without an offer of marriage, she must return to Cleveland with the family she works for as a lady's maid.
Evan isn't afraid of hard work, and he hopes to be promoted soon. He wants to marry Melinda--but not until he's sure he can support her and a family.
Letters strengthen their romance until a devastating storm strikes the island. With no word from Evan, Melinda knows she must journey back to Bridal Veil in search of her beloved.
But the hurricane isn't the last calamity to shake up Bridal Veil. Melinda finds a new job on the island, but still no offer of marriage comes her way. Has she given her heart to the wrong person? Will she ever find a man to love and cherish?
As I began reading this story, I could imagine myself in this beautiful resort off the Georgia coast. Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller have mastered their talents with helping me escape to another time and another place. I was a bit frustrated with the story as far as Evan was concerned. Instead of expressing his thoughts about his future and his feelings for Melinda, he kept them to himself. Meanwhile, Melinda, with her "take charge" attitude, made up her mind to marry Evan, yet she gets the impression he doesn't have the same feelings for her. I would recommend this book as light romance but with interesting historical aspects.
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Books as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book, another wonderful story.

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becca
Location:Hanford CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book, To Have and To Hold, written by Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller, is definitely a recommendation by yours truly! The story of Melinda Colsen and Evan Tarlow is a touching story, with lessons of love, trust, and Faith!
Melinda and her brother were among the highest of society before the death of their parents, which led to the revelation of financial struggles the family had, that left Melinda and Lawrence with nothing to their names, not even a shred of respect. Melinda stays behind in Cleveland, taking the role of ladies’ maid to one of her mother’s peers, while Lawrence goes on his own way.
Bridal Veil Island is the winter get-away resort for many wealthy families from northern cities and states, and the home of Evan Tarlow, where he is hoping for a promotion from game and huntsman to a position where he can support Melinda and they can finally marry. Melinda wonders why Evan doesn’t propose, and every spring returns, still hoping, to Cleveland with her employers’ family.
After their return one summer, however, a hurricane struck Bridal Veil Island and the surrounding areas, leaving disaster and death in its wake. News of the hurricane reached Cleveland, and the household of Melinda’s employers. Melinda hadn’t heard from Evan in weeks, and now believed that he may have been injured, or at worst, killed in the disaster that occurred on Bridal Veil. Against the wishes and pleas of her mistress, she set out on a mission to return to the resort and make certain her love was alive and well.
With the mysterious and sudden return of Lawrence, Melinda’s brother, and his suspicious cargo, Melinda is hesitant but asks for his presence to accompany her on this unconventional mission. Together they set out for the devastated shores of the resort and surrounding areas.
Upon arriving, Melinda discovers Evan is alive and well. Against his better thinking, Evan agrees to Melinda’s securing employment on the island until the guest season began. With the arrival of the guests and investors came news of the President of the United States’ visit, and rumors and suspicions along with them. Nobody can be trusted, and everyone is held in suspicion. Can Evan trust Melinda? Can Melinda trust Evan, or her brother, Lawrence? Will Melinda see her dreams come true? Will Evan?
Going through trials that test faith, trust, and love can make or break a relationship and any individual. Seeing how they go through their trials, and the outcome (I’m not telling), gives me pause to think about my own response when faced with suspicion and doubt. A great read, and a happy addition to my favorite book shelf!
Provided by Bethany House Publishers for the purpose of review. A review I was happy to deliver!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOTS OF LESSONS IN RELATIONSHIPS IN A GREAT BOOK

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is the late 19th century and Melinda Colson has lost both of her parents. Due to their debts and no inheritance, she is stripped of her wealthy and privileged lifestyle and thrown into being a common working lady’s maid. Mrs. Mifflin, once her equal now her employer is petty, selfish, and difficult. Melinda’s past experience as a socialite gives her great insight into the demands of Mrs. Mifflin. This causes her employer to greatly value her to the point she wants Melinda’s life to revolve around her alone.
During their winter excursion at a resort named Bridal Veil, Melinda meets and falls in love with, the assistant gamekeeper, Evan. She is sure he feels the same way about her. Evan is everything she wants in a husband, and his proposal for marriage cannot come soon enough. Her desire to be married and have her own home is exacerbated by her frustrating job with peevish Mrs. Mifflin.
Hoping he will ask her hand in marriage before they leave the island makes Melinda very anxious. She hints, flirts, and does everything in her power to persuade Evan to marry her. When he just doesn’t get it, she resorts to pouting and throwing fits. Poor Evan hasn’t a clue what he is doing wrong! Her time is unexpectedly shortened by Mrs. Mifflin’s decision to leave 2 weeks early to prepare for an important guest’s visit at home.
Shortly after their return home, a hurricane devastates the island. She is terrified Evan is injured or dead. Impulsively she quits her job and hurries back to the Bridal Veil. She is positive now they will be married. . He truly wants to marry Melinda but is waiting on a promotion to make sure he can support her so she won’t have to work. When he explains this to her she is grows even more angry, arguing that she does not mind helping support their family. Their relationship continues to be strained and misunderstandings abound. Other events threatened to end their hopes of marriage completely.
I learned so many lessons in this book! Melinda was like many women. They have the unrealistic expectation that the men in their life can read their minds! Instead of just saying what they want they hint and get mad when he doesn’t understand! Like most men, poor Evan truly did want to please her and couldn’t figure out what he was doing wrong. This causes needless tension in relationships when openness and honesty is all that is needed.
Melinda was a prime example of making plans and not waiting on the Lord. She wanted her way and she wanted it right away! She was lucky Evan was so patient with her impatience and immaturity. God’s timing is always right and we need to leave the “when” and “how” to Him.
The book also had many wonderful examples of not making assumptions on appearances. Melinda, Evan, and her brother Lawrence were all victims of circumstances making them look guilty when they were not. Tempers flared and judgments were rendered when they were innocent of any wrongdoing. It is always best to seek out the truth before coming to any final conclusions. We can’t always see the whole picture.
I found this to be a fun book with a surprise ending. I look forward to reading the first book and the third one to be published in January 2013.
I received this book free from the Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book - can't wait to read the next one!

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
TrevnBet
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This wonderfully told love story is staged in Georgia and Ohio in 1898. The main text of the book takes place on an imaginary island, Bridal Veil, off the the coast of Georgia. Melinda is the companion of a wealthy woman from Cincinatti. Evan is one of the workers on the island. Melinda was raised in high society but due to her parents deaths, must now work for former friends. The story line follows her travels from the island to Cincinatti, and back to the island after a storm hits. The event reunites her with her brother, a mysterious character. His lifestyle choices are different than his sisters and she worries about him. Evan is the love of Melinda's life and she returns to the island hoping he will propose marriage. She is constantly reminded throughout the book to wait on God's timing and not try to push things along on her own, a good reminder to all Christians. The constant theme of a president visiting the island, makes for another story line all together. It is wonderfully told and makes the book hard to put down. I was always wondering who was on what side and how the situation would end. The book was a very quick read. I didn't realize until I finished that it is one in a series of books. The development of the characters was so good, I didn't know there was a whole book written about how they meet. That is now on my to read list and I look forward to the next book in the series: Bridal Veil Island.
This book was provided to me by Bethany House Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
lamb
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book. Love these authors. Can't wait for the new book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

To Love and Cherish

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
'When Melinda Colson's employer announces they'll be leaving Bridal Veil Island to return to their home in Cleveland, Melinda hopes her beau, Evan, will propose. But Evan isn't prepared to make an offer of marriage until he knows he can support a wife and family. Evan works as the assistant gamekeeper on Bridal Veil but hopes to be promoted soon.
Letters strengthen their love, but Melinda remains frustrated at being apart from the man she wants to spend the rest of her life with. Then she learns of a devastating hurricane in Bridal Veil and knows she must give up her position as a lady's maid and make her way back to Evan.' ~ (from the cover)
To Love and Cherish is the 2nd book in the Bridal Veil Island series by Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller. From what I gather, they do not have to be read in sequence, and I honestly was hoping that was an issue. I normally love books by both of these authors--both individually and as a team, but I struggled to finish this one. The location and the hurricane angle were appealing to me, and I love historical fiction. I just simply could not develop an interest in the main characters. Some of the minor characters were more appealing to read about, but the focus was not on them. There were times when the book would engage my interest for a while, but I quickly tired of both Melinda and Evan. The book was well written and I know that this was just one of those rare occasions when I just simply could not get interested in the works of these two talented authors.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Setting!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book two in the Bridal Veil Island series. You do not have to read the books in order to enjoy the stories. One of the highlights of this particular book is the setting. The authors do an excellent job of describing the island and how it would have appeared during the late 1800’s. I liked the story but felt the main characters could have been more likable. Their interactions were somewhat believable but there was too much wondering what the other was thinking.
The story follows Melinda and Evan. Melinda is ready for a proposal but Evan wants to be able to financially support her before making that kind of promise. Will they finally get together or will their busy lives lead them down different paths?
I gave this book 4/5 stars for a couple of reasons. I felt like the sub characters in the story were well written and actually more likable then the main characters. I also felt like the story itself moved rather slowly. It still was a good historical fiction book and I think most people will enjoy the story!
I would like to the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

To Love and Cherish

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Serenity83
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Authors Traci Peterson and Judith Miller have come to together again to bring us the Bridal Veil Island Series. To Love and Cherish is the second book in this new series.
If you have read any of the wonderful works by these two ladies. Either other collaborations together or on their own. You know you are in for a great story within a historical setting you wish you could walk right into. Always full of detail these two really make you feel like you are there and living right with the characters.
Although, I find this series seems a little slow, I did enjoy both books so far. The characters where well developed, story-line pretty solid and the setting (as mentioned above) wonderful.
I think most people who love Tracie and Judith will not be sorry if they read them. I will be getting the third. I can't leave anything unfinished. ^_~ If you are looking to try Tracie and Judith together for the first time, I would recommend starting with The Broadmoor Legacy Series.
Thank you for taking the time to read my review. I apologize that the review is mostly about the first two books together but that is how I read them. Back-to back. I can't start a series in the middle...
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers to review. My review did not have to be positive, just honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
joni
Location:Western New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To Love & Cherish by Tracie Peterson & Judith Miller I love the setting for the book on island off Georgie coast. Melinda Colson's circumstances have been reduced due to parents death. She serves as a lady's maid for a wealthy family which winters on the island. She's met and fallen in love with Evan, assistant gamekeeper. He is a serious, dependable young man who wants to be sure he can support a wife and children before he marries. Melinda wants a change in her circumstances as she's not happy being at her employer's beck and call and feels an early marriage would solve her problems. The book deals with lives of people who are dependent on the whims of the very wealthy. At nearly the end a crisis involving an attempted assassination of US president gave book a spark of interest but could not rescue it from the doldrums. I received a free copy from Bethany House for writing a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"To Love and Cherish" Feels Untrue to the Time

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethStrand
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok, first let me say that, in my opinion, historical fiction should do two things. It should tell a story and it should allow the reader to get a feel for another time period. “To Love and Cherish” does the first but falls flat in the second. The basic story is about a young woman in love who injudiciously leaves her employer to rush to find out the fate of the man she loves after a hurricane hits the resort island where he works. When she arrives and finds, to her relief, that he is alive and well, he mystifies her by his reluctance to get married to her. Not a bad story line but setting it in 1898 didn’t do a thing for it. The time period doesn’t feel consistent and characters do and say things that feel wrong for the time. The overall effect is a bit jarring. I would have liked this better if it had been set in modern day against the backdrop of Hurricane Katrina.
I enjoy and admire Tracie Peterson’s writing but I like her a lot more when she stays in current day. On the plus side, this is the kind of romance you can share with a middle or high school age friend without worrying about them reading anything more than PG. In all honesty, I can only give this one middle marks which is a pity as I was prepared to like it a lot more than that!
This book was provided to me by Bethany House for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as the first in the series

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
BurtonBookReview
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After having read and enjoyed the first book in the Bridal Veil series, I was looking forward to book two to revisit this resort style town and its endearing characters. The biggest disappointment is that the characters from the first book were not in this one, as these were all new characters. This is good for readers looking for stand alone reads, and if they started with this one they would not be missing out on any key points except for the struggles of Bridal Veil that the Cunninghams faced in book one.
We are introduced to a maintenance worker/gamekeeper Evan who is hoping for a promotion, and a lady's maid Melinda who wants nothing more than to marry Evan. Melinda sees things one way, and that is her way. Despite being offered sage advice from her elders, and ignoring Evan's clues that he is not ready to settle down with anyone, Melinda throws caution to the wind and leaves her position behind to stay on full time at the resort to be near Evan. She is lucky that she is offered a job there, but she is upset that Evan does not have a lot of free time now that she is close by. The two manage to grow further apart once Melinda moves to Bridal Veil, and Melinda doesn't like giving second chances when she sees Evan with another young lady.
I could empathize with Melinda to a point, remembering myself at her age believing that all we needed was love to survive. Evan had a smarter view of things, and wanted to be able to provide for a wife before obtaining one. Melinda grows impatient as each impediment to her plans causes a greater chasm. The story follows along this trajectory as we see how Bridal Veil runs itself, and some of the shady characters who visit along the way. It takes a climatic ending to get Melinda and Evan to work together while protecting President McKinley and Melinda and Evan finally reach an understanding. The supporting cast was an interesting one, and while I enjoyed the atmosphere and the plot twists, I felt like it had lost some of the zest and emotions that were present in book one. The major theme of Melinda getting what she wants was just not that appealing after awhile. The Christian theme seemed a bit small to be marketed as such, but still To Love and To Cherish was a quick historical romance escapist read recommended for fans of these authors.
Thank you to Bethany House for my Free Review Copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting look at 1898 Georgia

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller have teamed up one more time to bring us a
great new series: Bridal Veil Island. The attention to detail and unexpected
situations make this a must-read for those of us who enjoy a fast-paced story with
realistic characters, detailed descriptions and, above all, an enjoyable story.
To Love and Cherish, Book Two of the series, brings together two young people
who seem never to be on the same page, but still manage to fall in love. Melinda
is a young lady who has taken on a job as a ladies' maid to support herself after
the death of her parents. Evan is a young man who was orphaned but is willing
to work hard to succeed. How ever are they going to make this romance work?
Both need to learn to trust God and allow Him to make a difference in their lives.
The story is set in the late 1890's, and the lifestyles and lives of the characters in
the story accurately portray this time period. The authors have done an excellent
job of making the reader feel that she might have been there at this time. The portrayal of the manners, clothes, attitudes and personalities of the characters bring this time period to life and made me rather long for a quieter, more gentle time to live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Expected so much more

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have read many book written by Tracie Peterson. Never have I had an issue until now. The writing was dull and characters so under developed. I had to force myself to finish. When I found out this was a series I thought of going back and reading the first. Now I am not sure I will.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Beautiful Setting for a Story of Maturing Love

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"To Love and Cherish" is the story of Melinda Colson, a young woman who went from high society in the late 1800’s to near poverty when her parents died, leaving her and her brother destitute. To survive, her brother left to earn his fortune on the sea. Melinda became a lady’s companion.
It’s this job that takes her to (the fictional) Bridal Veil Island, off the coast of Georgia, where she meets and falls in love with Evan, the gamekeeper. Expecting a proposal to rescue her from her life as a lady’s companion, Melinda is disappointed and begins to doubt Evan’s love. This is the story of two people learning to trust each other’s love when neither acts or reacts as anticipated.
I loved the setting for this story. Bridal Veil Island, fictionally located between St. Simon’s and Jekyl (now Jekyll), at a time when wealthy people travelled south for the “season” to pass the time until the harsh winters of their home states passed, sounds like a beautiful place. I was greatly frustrated by the spoiled wealthy and eager-to-please-them supervisors and such. I don’t think this island would have been a pleasant place to work. Yet somehow Evan and Melinda manage to sort everything out, effectively learning how to love and cherish one another along the way.
I thank Bethany House Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of the book, the second in a series by Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller, for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

When Good People Talk Too Much or Not Enough

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Tracie Peterson & Judith Miller
Peterson and Miller have teamed up once again to bring readers a light read from the islands off the southeastern coast. Melinda Colson who is a lady's maid to the wealthy Mrs. Mifflin is expecting a proposal from Evan Tarlow the assistant game keeper of Bridal Veil Island resort of Georgia. When Melinda discovers that she is going to be leaving the Bridal Veil Island earlier than expected because first lady Mrs. McKinley is planning on visiting Mrs. Mifflin she tries desperately to get Evan to propose to her. When he doesn't catch her many hints she leaves the island disappointed. Evan loves Melinda and wants to spend the rest of his life with her, but feels that it is important that he is financially secure before they get married. When a hurricane hits the island Melinda wastes no time in quitting her job, and running back to the island. Again, Melinda finds herself disappointed when Evan's reaction to her decisions are not what she is expecting. Though Melinda is frequently described as being straightforward I found her character to be inconsistent. At some moments she was hinting, and trying to manipulate a situation to her advantage and in other moments was so frank that is was aggressive and annoying. Evan's character was much stronger and consistent making him a character to enjoy getting to know. The side characters were also enjoyable with smaller stories that started and ended throughout the book. Recommended for readers that enjoyed the Broadmoore legacy series.
"He leaned forward and kissed her cheek. "I wish I could be here more often, but you know how busy I am. By the time I finally get home at night, I'm so tired I drop into bed and am usually asleep before I've finished praying." He lifted his nose and sniffed. "You smell wonderful. Is that lilac?" She nodded. "You could smell my perfume every night if we were married."
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Love Story Adventure On A Great Island

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracie Peterson And Judith Miller in their new book, “To Love and Cherish” Book Two in the Bridal Veil Island series published by Bethany House brings us to Georgia in 1898.
From the back cover: Escape to a Beautiful, Historic Island Resort
Bridal Veil Island, Georgia 1898
Melinda Colson has been waiting months for Evan, the assistant gamekeeper at the Bridal Veil Island resort, to propose. Without an offer of marriage, she must return to Cleveland with the family she works for as a lady’s maid.
Evan isn’t afraid of hard work, and he hopes to be promoted soon. He wants to marry Melinda–but not until he’s sure he can support her and a family.
Letters strengthen their romance until a devastating storm strikes the island. With no word from Evan, Melinda knows she must journey back to Bridal Veil in search of her beloved.
But the hurricane isn’t the last calamity to shake up Bridal Veil. Melinda finds a new job on the island, but still no offer of marriage comes her way. Has she given her heart to the wrong person? Will she ever find a man to love and cherish?
No doubt about it I like this series. First we have the island which seems like such a wonderful place to visit, hang out and relax. Then we have these wonderful relationships where it is not easy between the couple due to various circumstances; in this book it is their stations that separate them. And then, of course, there is the hurricane. “To Love and Cherish” is a marvelous love story all wrapped up in an adventure. Ms. Peterson and Ms. Miller really know how to weave a story that entertains and brings you history as well. Tracie Peterson And Judith Miller have written a well done novel that I recommend highly.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for To Love and Cherish, Bridal Veil Island Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Bleh.

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alannie Marshall
Location:Battle Creek, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently finished reading To Love and Cherish by Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller. To be honest, I found this book very stressful to read. There was always something different going on, and none of it seemed to connect with the rest of the storyline. To be very honest, there was no storyline. I felt as if the entire book was about the main characters wishing they could spend more time together, but not doing anything about it. Also, every chapter added another essence of drama to the mix. Too much drama, in my opinion. I have enough stress going on in my life as it is, and I don't feel I need more. I enjoy reading dramatic books, but this was just too dramatic for my tastes. The main characters seemed too boring and predictable. I have probably met those characters a billion times in my day to day life. Overall, I feel like I was thrown into this story. We start out with the main couple saying their goodbyes at the end of the summer season. They are already in love, I guess, and the heroine of the story practically tells him to propose. Of course, the dude is too dense to understand she wants him to mary her. The hero of the story has this odd obsession with being completely settled before getting married. He wants to have the perfect job, house, and income so his wife never has to work as hard as his mother had to work. Come on, if everyone waited until those things were settled, nobody would ever get married. I could go on, but I won't. As you can probably tell by now, I was just waiting for this book to end. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and painfully honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>