Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Spiritual Warfare for Women

Bethany House Spiritual Warfare for Women

In Spiritual Warfare for Women, Leighann McCoy shows how sometimes the most significant spiritual battles are the ones you fight inside yourself. With warmth and wisdom, she offers practical tips on identifying and combating Satan's most powerful attacks, helping you find the victory that comes through knowing who God is and who you are in Him.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Review 1 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You can take this book on the battlefield!

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God placed, Leighann's book, Spiritual Warfare for Women, in my hands, when I was on the battlefield. It wasn't actually my battle, but I was walking along side a friend, who was seeing satan, seek to steal, devour and destroy, her family..
I became involved in each chapter of her book. I was so anxious to find the next Scripture to grasp or insight into what to say or how to help my friend. I love how Leighann uses Scripture as the foundation of the truths she shares!! But, I also love that her "wisdom" truly does come from being in the "trenches" of her own life experiences.
Leighann shares that our war cry should be, "I am a woman of God, I've got five smooth stones, and I am not afraid to use them", and take them to the battleline.. So, for five straight nights, I called my friend and shared with her, each smooth stone; the stone of contentment, the stone of confidence, the stone of perseverance, the stone of faith, and the stone of intimacy with God, and then we would pray together... and she got a copy of the book!! It has been a blessing to her, too!
I appreciate so much, that when I emailed Leighann, with some of my own questions, she took the time and patience to respond to me and even passed along her insight and wisdom.
There is no doubt that satan is alive and well in our world today. Ready or not, he is gonna meet you out there. I'd encourage you to be on alert and get ready. Pick up this book and gain some insight as to how to prepare yourself for the battle...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Solid, Scriptural, But a Bit Flat

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Spiritual Warfare for Women is written by Leighann McCoy – a pastor’s wife, women’s minister, mom, and cancer survivor. Having survived her own personal struggles with the enemy, she has drawn much of the material from her work from her own life and her experiences in ministry.
McCoy covers general spiritual principles such as God’s love for us, and who the enemy is, before digging into women-specific targets that the enemy tends to focus on because they mean so much to us: marriage, children, friendships, health, and church. She then closes with encouragement by reaffirming our position in Christ – asserting that we are already victors!
Every chapter draws strongly upon scripture to support its teachings and closes with encouragement to dig into specific sections of the Word to gain further understanding, a prayer suggestion, verses to memorize, and tips to make that memorization happen. Of course, McCoy liberally sprinkles the book with her own experiences to lend real life examples and context to her teachings.
Solid as the book is, somehow it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. It certainly does cover a good range of entry-level topics and core knowledge one needs to enter into the battle with their eyes open. Though it’s hard to exactly pinpoint, I felt like something was missing a bit – as though the book was a bit lighter and fluffier than I was expecting as opposed to giving me the real, nitty-gritty goods. That could just be my perception, but for some reason I was expecting something a bit different.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't keep you down when you are prepared!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
eber
Location:Goodlettsville,TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I personally attend TSC. To hear Leaighann speak is so powerful. Wednesday nights she is so powerful that she about comes up off the floor! She is so real and makes everything easy to understand, a very matter of fact kind of way. When I recieved this book I was already in a struggle,but knowing what there family has suffered and how it just brings glory to God and strengthens there relationship I was not going to turn away from this book, Even though she worns you! I read the book In a four days! Which was not easy having a family. I lost a lot of sleep! It was worth it to be educated. I recommand that everyone reads this book no matter where you are at in your walk. It is an easy read and it is like an instruction manual, but reads like you are having a one on one conversation with her. Read the book and If you ever get the chance listen to her spread the word. Amazing book written by an amazing women!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stop Believing those lies!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy. This is a good book for women to read because I find we sometimes get attacked differently than men do. We have different battles that we struggle with. I struggle and I’m sure most of you do too. I like that it’s truly based from the Bible.
Leighann is very open with her struggles. I like that she’s “real.” Helps me relate to her better and yes she does know what we might be going through. There are four parts to this book starting with God’s Love and ending with Victory that we can have through Jesus. Throughout the book I kept thinking oh I need to remember that truth or parts really touched my heart. For example this part on page 65: “When our mistakes create messes, we tend to beat ourselves to a pulp…how many nights have I lain awake and played the game called,’What Was I Thinking?!’ How many moments do I wish I could erase?” Then she goes on to say how “Jesus completed the work of salvation by enduring the shame and suffering of the cross…” There’s other wonderful things that Leighann says concerning the accusations of Satan and the Truths that come from Jesus.
At the end of each chapter there are some Bible verses you are to look up, questions to answer , ideas on committing the Word to memory. I think this would be a great book to use for a women’s Bible group. I give it 4/5 stars.
I received this book for free from Bethany House publishers in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is very helpful in your walk with Jesus!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
netburger
Location:Spring Hill, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am enjoying this very book very much and it is very informative, useful and easy reading as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for women!

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
RamblingsMom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great book this was. This is the first book I’d read by Leighann McCoy, but I really enjoyed her writing style. She writes in an easy-to-read manner, which makes a book all the more appealing to a busy mom! She is also very open and honest with her own struggles in life.
In the introduction of this book, Leighann writes that she was almost afraid to write this book, because she didn’t know what kind of attacks she’d come under from the devil because of it. Then, in the beginning of the first chapter, she tells us that since she wrote the introduction, she’d been diagnosed with cancer, their church had flooded, and she had found out that her daughter, who had left home to live with her boyfriend, was pregnant. She later states in the book that she doesn’t believe every bad circumstance is an attack, but how we start to think about it might be.
For example, when Leighann found out about her daughter’s pregnancy, she struggled with thoughts of failure as a mother.
I didn’t really know much about spiritual warfare, except that Satan attacks us, using our fears and doubts against us, to turn us away from God. So, because of my ignorance, I learned a lot from this book! I already struggle with a lot of negative thinking, and now I recognize it more for what it is; Satan and his angels feeding me negative thoughts, because they have observed me and know how I deal and react to situations.
Once you know the enemy, you know how to defend yourself, because God has warned us and told us all about him!
Leighann divides her book well, so that you can look up certain topics you might be dealing with easily if you want. Now that I have a grasp on what the book as a whole has to say, I very well might flip to chapter such and such if I find myself struggling in a certain area. She talks about common areas in a woman’s life that one might experience spiritual warfare, from marriage to church relationship, and more.
I love that McCoy doesn’t sugar-coat things. We are in a war. It’s out there, even if we don’t see it physically. And we’re not helping ourselves or our children by ignoring it. We need to learn Satan’s way so that we can defend ourselves against him! And we need to teach the same to our children, especially as society is getting more and more secular. I’m not the only one who sometimes fears for the trials my kids will go through just because of where society stands, right? I mean, it’s only going to get worse.
I received this book free from the publisher to review but was not otherwise compensated, and was not required to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get armed for battle!

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy is a book written by someone who really knows how to do some battle as the stories that Leighann shares from her own life really help to show the reader that this isn’t just a pie- in- the- sky book, but one written by someone whose battled it out in the trenches and lived to tell about it. As I first picked up the book and read the introduction I almost said, maybe I won’t read this book after all because if my experience is like that of the authors then maybe I might want to skip some battles and keep things easy, but it turns out that I pressed on and read the book and I’m glad I did, even with the battles that I am facing, but at least I am better prepared.
The book is divided up into 4 sections. The first is exploring the great love of God and how that impacts our lives, followed by section 2 where the enemy and his tactics are explored. Part 3 explores the Targets that the enemy tries to get at us with- our marriages, children, friendships, health, church, etc. And lastly in part 4 is finding Victory in Christ through our standing in Him and why we have nothing to fear. I truly appreciated all of the great scripture mentioned at the end of every chapter with great ideas for different tricks with how to commit them to memory. My absolute favorite part of the book was at the end where the author points out 5 stones with which to do battle against the enemy with. Just like David against Goliath she delves into what those stones are and how they can help you to stand against the enemy- perseverance, faith, confidence, etc.
This is one of those books that will stay on my shelf so that I can refer back to it again and again. I am a woman of God, wife, mother, friend and ministry worker who wants to be fully armed for battle and this book helps me to be ready to do just that.
4 out of 5 stars
I was given a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes by the publisher. The review written was my opinion and I was not required to write positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Breakdown

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was written as a means of equipping women in spiritual warfare. Leighann McCoy wrote this book from her own personal standpoint with regards to her struggles with spiritual warfare.
She stated in the Introduction, that while writing this book she was experiencing her own battle with spiritual warfare. As she was diagnosed with colon cancer, her church faced $250,000 in flood damage, and her eighteen-year-old daughter had just moved in with a boyfriend.
The book is written in four sections:
1. The Most Powerful Weapon of All - the Love of God
2. The Enemy Exposed
3. The Targets in Our Lives
4. Victory is Mine
Unfortunately, I didn't find this book to be the best book I've ever read on the topic of spiritual warfare. I honestly had difficulty reading this book as I thought it was a bit long winded. However, on the upside, I can appreciate Leighann McCoy's transparency and humility in her writing. She really conveys her heart and desire for women to really know who they are in Christ. Her personality definitely shines through the pages and I took a liking to her as a result. I also believe she is a good teacher. I enjoyed how she incorporated analogies and also retold bible stories with her own creative twist which made the characters alive.
I would recommend this book to women who are new believers. I believe it gives a good breakdown, helpful tools to memorize scripture and heartfelt prayers at the end of each chapter.
Disclosure: I want to thank Bethany House for sending me a complimentary copy of this book as part of their book reviewers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful tool for women to protect their families

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy is a powerful tool for women looking to help women win the battle against Satan for their home, family, and friends. McCoy wants to empower readers to recognize the tools Satan uses to attack their lives, but she warns them at the outset, reading this book is a call to battle for the devil. Shortly after she started writing the book McCoy was diagnosed with cancer, her church faced $250,000 in flood damage, and her eighteen-year-old daughter moved in with her boyfriend, turning her back on college scholarships and her family. This isn't a book to be picked up without heavily weighing the possible consequences. Readers who decide to carry on will find a fascinating look at McCoy's personal struggles with spiritual warfare and how she has used the mistakes of her past to teach others. McCoy is a humble and open writer who engages readers through her honesty and genuine love for them. She breaks down the most common areas of attack: marriage, children, friendships, health, and church. I've found myself considering and using several of McCoy's points while reading this book and in the days after. I've recommended it to several people as well for it's down to earth approach and essential information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Winning Spiritual Warfare

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are many books available on the market about spiritual warfare. I found Leighann McCoy’s book, Spiritual Warfare for Women, to be the best I’ve read and easy to relate to. It’s specific, with a cohesive format that brings continuity to the subject of spiritual warfare.
Leighann’s transparency, shown through her own personal stories, helps to bring her points across with clarity. Her life is living proof that God is greater than the enemy.
Her book is Biblically sound, using Scripture to back up her precepts. Each chapter has personal questions to apply to your own life, a prayer that specifically relates to what you have just learned, and a challenge to memorize God’s Word to use in your own spiritual battles.
She covers four specific parts:
The Most Powerful Weapon of All–The Love of God (Love’s completed work)
The Enemy Exposed (Warfare is real; Who the enemy is and what he does)
The Targets in Our Lives (My Marriage, Children, Other Women, Church)
Victory is Mine (Who I am in Christ; Defeating the enemy; Nothing to fear)
Leighann’s book will help you learn to protect your family, friends, relationships, and yourself during spiritual warfare. “The enemy comes to steal, kill and destroy, but Christ came that we might have life, and that more abundantly,” John 10:10. This book will help you separate the enemy’s subtle lies from the truth of God’s Word for your life.
Spiritual Warfare for Women is a book that every woman needs on her bookshelf for study and encouragement. Great to use for a Bible study!
This book was provided by Jim Hart of Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We have the victory!

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a subtitle like “Winning the Battle for Your Home, Family, and Friends”, I was very excited about diving into this book. Spiritual Warfare for Women is split in to four parts. The first part is about the Love of God – the most powerful weapon of all. Many people approach this subject with fear, but Leighann McCoy reminds us that “the best place to anchor your understanding of spiritual warfare is in the firm foundation of God’s constant love” (pg. 22). {Amen!} In Part 2 Mrs. McCoy exposes the enemy as she explains who he is and what he does. Spiritual warfare is real. Satan is a liar, and he is especially wanting you to be offended at anyone and with anything. However, again she points back to Christ… “Satan is a formidable foe; that is certain. But he’s defeated as well. And you and I have power and authority to whip him every time. Be reminded of this truth” (pg. 98). Part 3 expands on what areas of our lives are targets for attack. The chapters focus on our marriage, children, friendships, health, and church. The finally section encourages the reader with “Victory is Mine.” Mrs. McCoy shares the Truth about who we are in Christ, how to defeat out enemy, and why we are to fear not.
Any woman who wants to understand this subject of spiritual warfare and the victory we have Christ needs to read Spiritual Warfare for Women. It would also be an excellent resource for group study. I appreciated the way the readers are pointed back to God’s Word throughout the book. At the end of each chapter, Leighann McCoy provides a prayer and verses to memorize. This is a great way to help the reader apply the truths they are learning. Knowledge and application of the Truth – that’s what I need!
Disclosure: I received the book free from Bethany House Book Reviewers’ program. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw this book on the choices to review for Bethany House, I jumped at the opportunity. But then, it just sat on the shelf collecting dust. I really wasn't so sure I wanted to read it. I mean, aren't "learning" books usually kinda boring? But then I read the introduction. And I was hooked.
As Christians, it is real easy to say "well God said He would take care of me. So why am I faced with (fill in the blank)." We tend to question why God would just stand back and allow us to go through stuff, when He is almighty and could deliver us from all our problems. The author, Leighann McCoy, does a great job answering that:
"The goal of the Christian walk is not to avoid pain and suffering. Pain and suffering are guarenteed when we follow Jesus (John 16:33). Pain and suffering are also guaranteed if you don't follow Jesus. They are natural by-products of living in a sin-stained world (Genesis 3).
The goal of the Christian walk is to walk with Jesus through both the good times and the bad. God's intent is not to seal us up in a spiritually sterile bubble, but rather to allow pain and suffering in this world to hammer and mold us into the image of His Son."
In chapter two, Leighann starts to get more into the lesson that is taught in this book. But, she has a warning for those that are not sure if they even want to read it:
"If you are afraid, if your goal is to avoid warfare at all cost, then put this book down. Don't read another word. Your awareness of spiritual warfare will increase the more you learn about God and the more you seek to know Him intimately. The devil aims his fiery darts at those warriors who pose the greatest threat to his wicked schemes. But before you put this book back on the shelf and decide not to learn the art of war, know that you will live a life void of the power and presence of God. Your life will reflect a God shadow rather than a God glory."
Wow, if that doesn't just sum it up. So, I can chose. I can live a life reflecting God's glory, learning more and more about Him, worshiping Him intimately, have a "Moses-God" relationship with Him (being able to talk to him in person, one on one). Or I can go through the motions, live a Christian life without actually delving into an intimate relationship and reflect God's shadow. Hmmm, doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out which choice is richer.
As I work my way through this book, I notice changes in my life that affect me in a profound way. And not all of those changes are pleasant. There have been struggles I have been facing, more so since I started reading it. So, I put it down, I quit reading it. And guess what? The struggles didn't stop. I recently heard that the devil attacks us for two reasons: invitation and injustice. I believe that by wanting to develop a closer relationship with God ticks off the devil. So, that would make the struggles I have faced an injustice. But I don't stand alone. "For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh, for the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses. We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ." (2 Corinthians 10:3-5)
My thoughts:
Awesome book. Powerful book. One I will read again, but next time with a highlighter!
-------------------------------------------------------------------
This is my honest review of Spiritual Warfare for Women by Leighann McCoy. I have given my review in exchange for this complementary book. Thank you Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Look out Satan!

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allison
Location:Belton, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Mrs. McCoy is for keeps. You need to get a copy for yourself and every women in your contact group. Satan is real, ladies and Leighann exposes him for who he is. Awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised, great book!

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Spiritual Warfare for Women” by Leighann McCoy is a great book. It contains lots of Scripture and can be used as a Bible study. It is well-written, kept my attention, and is backed by life experiences and examples that give credibility to the subject matter at hand.
McCoy is refreshingly honest and open about her own struggles as she writes about a topic that is often overlooked among Christians. She emphasizes the importance of being aware of who the enemy is and how to defeat him in your personal life. Along with the main content of each chapter, each chapter also includes many Bible references, encouragement to read Scripture and study in addition to the book, well-written and heart felt prayers, and useful ideas for Scripture memorization. There are even a few fictional stories of actual Bible accounts that help the reader to understand the lessons at a deeper level.
I highly recommend this book to all Christian women. It is full of powerful truths that we all need to be equipped with in our battle with the enemy. We should never underestimate how the enemy seeks to “steal and kill and destroy.” This book certainly drives home this John 10:10 truth.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spiritual Warfare for Women
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

well written

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first experience reading anything by this author and I wasn’t sure what it would be like. Let’s face it—a lot of these type books are just very boring. But this time I was pleasantly surprised. Leighann McCoy did a great job in getting to the meat of the issue while keeping the attention of the reader. Her book is divided into four parts where she reminds us of the love of God, defines who the enemy is, reveals the targets in our lives and explains how we can have victory in our spiritual warfare. Sprinkled throughout the book are stories of her own personal struggles and victories that help make it more personal. Each chapter ends with a prayer, pertinent scriptures and tips on memorizing them. As I read the book I was encouraged and uplifted by the reminders of just how much God loves us. I believe that every woman can find food for thought in this book.
I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishing for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.