Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Lady of Bolton Hill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House The Lady of Bolton Hill

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
37 out of 4092%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Review 1 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The christian salvation message is questionable

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Betty Booper
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes, forgiveness is mentioned but in my estimation forgiveness is associated with valour and good works. Forgiveness for sins and heart forgiveness for wrongs by a person against a person do not seem to be mentioned. Salvation seems to equated with going to church. Good works in place of faith seems to be the way to earn salvation. A life style change seems to be equated with salvation. Asking God's forgiveness for sins committed and having a personal relationship with God doesn't seem to be there.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

unexpected

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great read, well developed characters. her boyfriend was a little crazy but i really liked the romance and the fact that the guy who kidnapped her after all turned his life around and became a christian.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not exactly earth shattering...

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read a few books by Elizabeth Camden, but I wouldn't say this one was at the top of the list. It was enjoyable, and I found it to be a great prologue to her next novel, "Against the Tide", but I wouldn't say it's world changing or anything.
The characters, although a little predictable, were intriguing and I loved the relationship between Clara and Daniel. It's a good example how important friendship is in any kind of romantic relationship.
The Lady of Bolton Hill was worth the read, but easily forgettable. I'd recommend it to lovers of historical fiction who'd like to curl up to a good story by a up and coming author. I don't think you'll be overly disappointed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting story

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I enjoyed the story. The characters were a little unbelievable at some points. Clara sometimes came off being a little vague on her beliefs. She was strong on her own forgiveness. But I thought she wasn't very clear on presenting God's forgiveness to Bane and a little over bearing with Daniel. I wondered about the Professor and how he fit into the story other than training Bane to be evil.
It sounded like he gave the assignment to Bane but I didn't see how he related to the story.
I did enjoy the whole blot and I would suggest the book to someone to read. However don't look for a clear message on God's personal forgiveness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!!

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
birdie
Location:Apple Valley MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do love all the books that I have gotten and will continue as long as the Lord lets me. This one was good and I have passed it on to many people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story and historical information.

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunshine
Location:Grapevine, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book and could hardly wait to see how the story ended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing work, worth six good stars!!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My gosh, this book went beyond my expectations!
There is so much talent in Christian Fiction and when I do happen to pick up a great book like this one, I am not exagerating when I say that it is worth your time!
Inspiring, The Lady of Bolton Hill has been thoughtfuly penned and brims with humour (more like hilarity!), sweet romance and adventure.
Even so, the most important part is that this novel is rooted in an unshakable Truth that will bless as you read.
Clara Endicott is so easy to love. Her heart just shined throughout this story, even as it reached it out to touch mine. I'm talking of a woman who is too unselfish to be true. She goes to the extreme to help others, all in God's name.
Then enters Daniel, a confident, roguish man, who to be quite honest shares some similarities with, ahem.. Captain Rhett Butler (aha! I'm thinking some ladies' eyes are wide opened now!) Place these two in an environement where raw poverty and bad pasts leave behind scares that run deep, and where security is not guarateed, with fires, riots and drugs doing damages- and you've got yourself a story that is sure to engage readers!
This a wonderful debut novel. And even more exciting is the fact that a character in this story will be getting a story, this very year!
Looking foward to more! Bravo Elizabeth Camden, simply bravo!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not Your Typical Historical Romance!

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her compelling debut novel, The Lady of Bolton Hill, Elizabeth Camden sweeps us away to Baltimore, Maryland, 1867, into the elite of society, the era of the steel mill industry, corruption, revenge, and romance.
Our heroine, Clara, the daughter of the wealthy newspaper magnate, Lloyd Endicott, has a very unlikely best friend in Daniel Tremain, a young boy who lives in the tenements, and whose own father gets killed in an accident in the steel mills. Their love of Chopin, Beethoven, and the arts draws them together, until at the age of 16, Clara's father decides it best to separate the two, and sends Clara off to England for 12 years. Clara becomes an advocate of the poor, writing newspaper articles about child labor in the mines, and Daniel becomes one of the most power industrialists in America, because of his vast knowledge of technology in the steel and railroad industries.
Upon Clara's return to Baltimore, they meet once again, and though Clara still loves Daniel, she finds a bitter man bent on vengeance towards the person he feels was responsible for his father's death. As their lives intertwine, Clara realizes there can never be anything more between them but friendship, because Daniel cannot forgive and let go of his vendetta, and she is a very devoted Christian. As a malevolent, sinister force causes Clara to fight for her very life, Daniel realizes he would do just about anything for her, but can he let go of the past and forgive? Can he accept Christ, simply because Clara wants him to? And even if he does, will he find Clara before it's too late?...for surely death's clock is quickly ticking away at her door, as a sinister force holds her captive.
I can hardly believe this is Ms. Camden's first published novel! Her writing skills are superb, and she certainly knows how to keep the reader turning those pages with her exciting storyline. She covers some heavy subject matter, such as child labor, opium dealers, etc., and this is certainly no lighthearted romance. Her characters wrapped themselves around my heart; even one of the evil ones--believe it or not!...and I found her research on steel mills, and ensuing riots of that era impeccable. Ms. Camden weaves a very strong spiritual thread throughout, and Clara was the epitome of what every Christian person should be, in my opinion. A wonderful read that left me in tears at a surprise in the conclusion! Very nicely done!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A debut novel that sets the bar high

Date:December 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, if this is a debut novel, then I am definitely looking forward to future novels from the pen of Elizabeth Camden! I felt that her writing contained a polish of more seasoned authors, with crisp dialogue, an excellent use of descriptions without bogging down the plot, and characters with depth and appeal. Daniel and Clara's interactions were at times humorous, other times moving, and they were both very likable with admirable traits. I did find that the end of the book wrapped up a bit too neatly and quickly for my liking, and for this reason my rating of the novel is half a point lower than it would have been. The villain she introduces midway through the plot is simply deliciously creepy, and I had to suspend some of my belief at the rather sudden transformation that occurs. I won't say more for fear of ruining the plot. However, don't let that minor criticism stop you from picking up this book. It is definitely a worthwhile read, and I loved how the author brought to life questions of faith and issues such as the lust for revenge and the ultimate power of forgiveness.
I encourage readers who love historical novels sprinkled with romance and undercurrents of suspense to go out and buy this book. I give this a high recommendation and a rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Character were interesting.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lazuardi
Location:Milwaukee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the story, the characters and the times it was written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clara Endicott wants to change the world. She hates the injustice she sees in the world and so fearlessly and boldly writes to expose them. When one of her stories lands her in more hot water than she ever dreamed of, Clara returns home to write for her Father's publication.
Daniel Tremain wants to change nothing, including the bitterness he has been harboring in his heart for 12 long years. A successful entreprenuer, Daniel plans to use his power and fortune to ruin the people who ruined his home.
Hard to believe that such opposite people could once have been best childhood friends. After 12 years apart, Daniel and Clara again cross paths wondering if they can ever restore what they lost now that they are so different. But there is more at stake than just their friendship as danger and mystery appear at their doorstep!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. First of all it is one of my favorite eras to read about. Then there is the great mystery which keeps you guessing about how all the pieces will fit together. Lastly, I really enjoyed being challenged by Clara's faith and heart for other people. I highly recommend this read!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers to review but it did not affect my recommendation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Sturgis, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
History, faith, love, two worlds colliding...there is so much about this book that I loved! Elizabeth Camden sure knows how to keep the reader captivated! The Lady of Bolton Hill is very captivating (Even the cover of the book is captivating.)! I enjoyed the story of Daniel and Clara's friendship and how it changed over the years. I highly recommend this book! I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Debut

Date:September 26, 2011
Again, I know you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover. But this one's just so pretty! If I ever got to wear a fancy, schmancy dress from the late 1800s, this would be the one. Gorgeous!
Now . . . down to the business of the actual book. Simply put: I loved it.
Clara and Daniel come from different worlds, but their friendship blossoms despite their differences. They've grown up since they last saw each other twelve years ago. Now they find themselves just as drawn to one another as they once were. Will they be able to overcome all the obstacles in their path and find happiness together?
Elizabeth Camden is another new author. And another one I will be following from here on out. Her debut novel was amazing. I was impressed with the way she wove together seemingly different story lines into one beautiful novel.
I highly recommend The Lady of Bolton Hill and can't wait for The Rose of Winslow Street to make its appearance in January!
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surperb writing!

Date:August 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cherie G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Camden did a wonderful job of penning a compelling story of romance, intrigue, history and faith. The characters were captivating and the plot kept me turning the page. I look forward to reading more from this talented author.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice addition to the historical genre

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
stalkinghorse
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an interesting read; maybe a bit hard to classify topic wise. Even though the book's cover might indicate a purely romantic nature, I'd say it's a mixture of action, mystery, and politics with a dose of love story to soften things up. Those are pretty substantial themes to conquer in a little over 300 pages but, for the most part, it works.
We start out with a little back history into the relationship between our protagonists, Daniel and Clara. Their friendship as teenagers, built upon a mutual love for music and composition, has flourished despite social class barriers until an unexpected tragedy forces them apart. Twelve years later, Daniel and Clara find themselves brought back together yet not under the best of circumstances. She has just left prison and he is embroiled in legal/business dilemmas that threaten to undo his company's hard earned profits. No longer poor, Daniel still feels the need to prove himself to Clara while also holding onto a long held vendetta from the past. So caught up in his anger and need for vengeance, he is not the same man Clara remembers from her childhood. But can she uncover the Daniel she knew before it's too late?
I love historical fiction and The Lady of Bolton Hill is a nice addition to the genre. The writing was excellent, descriptive without being wordy, and has a certain finesse that speaks of intelligence. I also found the bits of humorous dialogue sprinkled throughout delightful, without being annoyingly cliched. The only thing that seemed a bit heavy handed was the biblical aspect. Clara came across too preachy at times, spouting off scripture at every turn to anyone who would listen. (Or even those who did not want to listen.) A few times, I wanted to yell across the pages for her to back off and tone it down so as not to further irritate those she was addressing. An incident that comes to mind is right while Daniel's house is being destroyed, Clara can't just let him come to grips with the horror of it unfolding before his eyes. Instead, she gets in his face to lecture him some more and then has the nerve to tell him it's only things he is losing, despite the fact some of those "things" are quite meaningful to him. Not the best time to be saying something like that if you have any trace of sensitivity. It was so obnoxious, my mouth was gaping open. If someone ever did that to me, I would be furious. Talk about adding insult to injury!
In short, I suppose Clara was the weakest link in the story for me. I just found her attitude holier than thou quite a bit of the time which ultimately made it hard for me to root for her. I actually enjoyed the few times Daniel, or anyone else, managed to put her in her place...until she slipped her way out again to bible thump some more. However, despite all of Clara's pressuring, I liked that Daniel didn't immediately convert his views to placate her but that it was a gradual process, a dawning of sorts. That seemed realistic, which is what I appreciate most in inspirational fiction. The character of Bane was one of the more interesting ones and I was intrigued to learn what made him tick. By the end of the story, I was pulling for him and wishing for more details about his life pre and post Clara. Possible sequal for Bane? Hint hint...
Despite a few quibbles, I look forward to reading Mrs. Camden's next story and think The Lady of Bolton Hill was a very good debut novel. The author is definitely talented, with an engaging style and wittiness that shines through.
Many thanks to Bethany House Publishers for my review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good!

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't really like reading romance novels so I was very leery about reading this book, but it really took me by surprised! It was very good and a had good story. I enjoyed a lot of the characters, especially Bane's! I would read this book again in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Cover, Beautiful Story!

Date:August 13, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Twelve years after leaving America, Clara Endicott returns with dreams of pursuing truth and justice as a female journalist. As soon as she and her childhood friend, Daniel Tremain, meet, their hearts begin to reconnect and the spark of romance from twelve years ago ignites into a full-blown flame. Unfortunately, Daniel's long-standing grudge against the owner of the factory his father was killed in has made him a target of criminal activity. Will Daniel and Clara survive the danger? Can Daniel ever put his hatred and bitterness behind him? And what if he doesn't? Will Clara marry someone who doesn't share her beliefs?
Historical romances, such as The Lady of Bolton Hill by Elizabeth Camden, are my favorite stories to read. The story flowed smoothly and I appreciated all the musical elements that Camden incorporated. I was hooked by the characters almost immediately, but I really started enjoying the story when there began to be some mystery involved. The author's portrayal of Daniel's struggle with bitterness was very good. I don't like it when authors gloss over the tragedy and move on. Camden did an excellent job displaying Daniel's heart and creating an authentic character. My only complaint (and it's not a biggie) is with Daniel's last name being Tremain. This is probably the third Christian fiction book I've read in the last year that had a wealthy main character from this time period with the last name of Tremain. It's a nice name, but overused. Lastly, I loved the epilogue and I will definitely be reading this book again!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I agree that the cover is deceiving. Even the description on the back is not complete. I expected a love story that took place in the highest circles, descriptions of big mansions, rich dresses, etc.
I did not expect suspense and a lady that is fighting for the rights of poor workers.
Fortunately I love suspense and romance, so it turned out that I loved the story.
The author brings original characters together in this story. And I love her style.
Looking forward to her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Typical Good Christian Historical Romance

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a fairly typical Christian historical romance, and indeed the author did not disappoint in that area. It's always comforting to read a romance where there is excitement, a strong female, a dashing rogue, and plenty of tension. And add to that--nothing inappropriate in the least. After all, it is Christian!
I did find myself drawn into the story, but I cannot say I loved any of the characters. Clara and Daniel were fine, but I was not enthralled with them. Sometimes I even found Clara a little annoying. She was a Christian, and I had no trouble with her Christian views, but I felt that she didn't live in reality. The story got a little far-fetched for a historical romance at times, but to the author's credit, she did allow some bad things to happen to the characters.
I was not terribly impressed with how the Christian views were woven into the story. At times, it seemed a little forced, and I get tired of Christian authors feeling they need to force the entire gospel message into a book. If it a Christian novel, then the Christian views of the book should be woven seamlessly into the story line. The thing that did impress me was the view that was stated concerning suicide. I was quite pleased to read that, and I felt that author took a risk that really worked in that area. I applaud her for that!
In conclusion, if you are up for a story that is a light historical read with a basically engaging story and a strong Christian message, give this book a try.
I was provided a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a review. All opinions are 100 percent mine, and I was not financially compensated in any way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Lady of Bolton Hill
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sparkling Debut Novel

Date:August 9, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I happened to adore this historical fiction novel because it didn't follow the same old tired plot as many books in this genre. It had just the right blend of history, mystery, romance, and intrigue. I look forward to more books by this new author!
I received this book from Bethany Publishers for the purpose of review and this opinion is entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>