Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House At Every Turn

Bethany House At Every Turn

Alyce Benson needs money fast! After pledging $3,000 to a mission, she thought her wealthy father would give her the cash---but he refused. So she concocts a plan with Webster, a mechanic, to race a new 1916 car manufactured by her dad's company. Will she win the money? Can she trust Webster in spite of his past? 320 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for At Every Turn
Review 1 for At Every Turn
This review is fromAt Every Turn - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alyce Benson is as impulsive and impetuous as they come. Raised in a family of means in 1916, she is accustomed to getting things taken care of, with money never being an object. But when she offers to donate three thousand dollars to the missionary work in Africa, she gets in way over her head. Thinking her father will just give her the money, she is in for a disappointment when her father refuses to give to her cause.
Left up the creek with no paddle, she tries to get creative on raising the money herself. Having a secret love of fast automobiles, she comes up with an idea of a lifetime. Her father's mechanic, Webster, tells her that her father's company is sponsoring a car he's been working on in upcoming races across the country. The winner can take home up to five thousand dollars in prize money.
But money slips through her fingers as she sees needs in the community she can't ignore. She turns to Webster to help her safeguard the money, but then things come up about him that make her question her judgement to trust him. Will she be able to keep her word and have the money ready for the missionary couple who so desperately need it? Or will she loose everything even as she tries to salvage her promise and the man she has come to love?
Mateer as always, gives a spectacular novel that can't be rivaled. The characters are alive and vibrant, the story line refreshing and humorous at times. But the absolute best part about her novels is the fact that she makes you feel like the story is your own. You forget that you are in the present day as you, (for just a moment) pretend it is you who is behind the wheel driving madly for the finish line. I can promise you an adventure if you read this novel, and I know you will enjoy every bit as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Paced Fun Read

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At Every Turn is about Alyce Benson who finds herself pledging a three thousand dollar donation to missionaries who work to help children in Africa. Alyce's father is the wealthiest man in town and refuses to help Alyce raise the three thousand dollars. But Alyce has a secret. She loves automobiles and loves to see how fast she can go. Which is unheard of in the early twentieth century for a woman. Alyce and her father's mechanic, Webster Little, figures out a plan how the money can raised. Gasp! She will compete in a car race!
I found that At Every Turn was a fun read. There was a lot humor that I didn't expect throughout this book. Alyce's antics are something else. But she a great heart, too. I would definitely recommend this for others to read. 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rich, gripping plot!

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alice
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such an enjoyable read about trusting in the Lord and not placing your will and plans before His, and loving people for who they are.
I haven't read many books set in this time period, and I really enjoyed it! The automobile theme was pretty interesting. I'd have to say I liked this one even more than "A Home for My Heart", which I really enjoyed as well. (The two books are both in the same time period, but the setting, and social class are pretty much opposite those in Home for My Heart.)
The plot really kept me guessing! I was stressing right along with Alyce over her money situation- I had NO idea what she was going to do! I really enjoyed watching the heroine's faith grow throughout the story; I enjoyed her spunky, joyful personality, and he zeal for the Lord! Alyce's relationship with her Grandmother, and then her developed relationship with her mom, were both really sweet.
Webster was a sweet, but mysterious, hero. (When he was first introduced in the story I immediately thought of David Moscow - when he played David, from Disney's Newsies - and it was crazy how accurately he fit the author's description! At least for me.)
Lawrence Trotter. **Minor spoiler** As with most villains, I could tell from the very beginning something was wrong and I shouldn't like him. Oh how right that instinct was! >:{ He was so deceitful and heartless! He made me so mad (and also kind of frustrated with Alyce for not seeing through his facade of goodness from the beginning!)
I am really looking forward to reading Wings of a Dream, and any other works Anne Mateer writes in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical ride of discovery

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alyce Benson, the daughter of a business tycoon, pledges $3,000 to help fund mission work in Africa. Her father refuses to give her the money so she attempts to earn it herself. Her one skill is driving a race car. This might not sound so unusual, but the year is 1916—when cars are a fairly new mode of transportation and a woman racing seems scandalous. How can Alyce keep her driving secret and accomplish her goal?
To add to her dilemma, her father’s company bookkeeper is attracted to her and she must either keep him at arm’s length or decide to trust him with her secret. She longs for her parents to share her faith, but is comforted in the spiritual bond she has with her ailing grandmother. Webster, her father’s mechanic, assists Alyce in her endeavors but he has his own secrets. Her mother wants her to marry well. Neither of these men would meet Mother’s high standards. What is Alyce to do?
Feisty Alyce, with her heart for the downtrodden and needy, rallies forth, determined to make a difference in the world. When the money she’s been accumulating is stolen, she despairs of being able to help the mission work and dreads having to admit her failure. Eventually she learns to completely trust the Lord and to be honest with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alyce Benson is as impulsive and impetuous as they come. Raised in a family of means in 1916, she is accustomed to getting things taken care of, with money never being an object. But when she offers to donate three thousand dollars to the missionary work in Africa, she gets in way over her head. Thinking her father will just give her the money, she is in for a disappointment when her father refuses to give to her cause.
Left up the creek with no paddle, she tries to get creative on raising the money herself. Having a secret love of fast automobiles, she comes up with an idea of a lifetime. Her father's mechanic, Webster, tells her that her father's company is sponsoring a car he's been working on in upcoming races across the country. The winner can take home up to five thousand dollars in prize money.
But money slips through her fingers as she sees needs in the community she can't ignore. She turns to Webster to help her safeguard the money, but then things come up about him that make her question her judgement to trust him. Will she be able to keep her word and have the money ready for the missionary couple who so desperately need it? Or will she loose everything even as she tries to salvage her promise and the man she has come to love?
Mateer as always, gives a spectacular novel that can't be rivaled. The characters are alive and vibrant, the story line refreshing and humorous at times. But the absolute best part about her novels is the fact that she makes you feel like the story is your own. You forget that you are in the present day as you, (for just a moment) pretend it is you who is behind the wheel driving madly for the finish line. I can promise you an adventure if you read this novel, and I know you will enjoy every bit as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun, but light reading

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alyce Benson is impetuous, slightly spoiled and raised by a wealthy father. She has a good heart though, and when she is attending a mission service, gets caught up in the moment, pledges $3000 if the ladies can raise the matching sum. But when she asks her father for the money, he turns her down cold. Now, her problem is to figure out how to get the money on her own.
One thing goes wrong after another, but when she takes a hobby she has, love for speed and cars, she convinces her father’s mechanic to let her race secretly to get the prize money.
But nothing is ever easy; her friends start to try to make her think that her father’s mechanic and friend is not being honest with her.
Can she prove that he is what he says he is or should she trust the man that wants to marry her?
Anne Mateer has the knack for writing a story that will draw you in. Alyce is spoiled, yes, but she is also sincere in her bumbling mistakes. When she hears the missionaries, she just wants to help them so bad. I could so relate to her in that. She just really wanted to help and assumed something about her father as well. I saw that in the course of this book, she grew up a lot. I loved the talks with her grandma, and thought that romance part of it was really sweetly done. It was not over the top, or super descriptive, but was just sweet.
This book was provided for review from Bethany House Publishing. The thoughts included are my own and mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Flowery Romance

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anne Mateer spins an interesting plot in her book, At Every Turn. After hearing from missionaries on their way to Africa, Alyce Benson falls in love with a picture of some of the African children and impulsively pledges $3,000 to help the missionaries reach them. But when her unsaved Father refuses to give his money to spread the Gospel, Alyce finds herself weaving her own web of deceit in order to raise the money.
Working with her father's mechanic, Webster Little, Alyce disguises herself as a man in order to race cars in a sport that doesn't allow women. Along the way, she becomes entangled with feelings for both Webster and her father's accountant, Lawrence Trotter, who seems to want to help further her cause. Can she raise the money in time to help the missionaries? And how will she choose who wins her heart?
I enjoyed a turn of plot for a change, and I think that Mateer had the right idea. But oftentimes, her descriptions were a bit too much, when simple words would do. At times, I hurried through sections simply to get to the point!
While I found the plot interesting, I don't think I am likely to become an avid follower of this author.
*These opinions are my own. I was given a free copy by Bethany House Publishers to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

At Every Turn

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
KenzieB
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" 'I can drive her, Webster.'
"He chuckled. 'I know you can, Ally, but—'
"I tugged at his sleeve until he turned. 'I need to drive her.'
"He straightened, hands on his hips.
"I gulped in as much air as my lungs would hold. 'I need to drive her in the race.'
" 'You what?' "
From the moment that Ally drives on to the pages, she captured and intrigued me to no end. She was lively, expressive, and had a passion for helping others. She made some mistakes—starting with the fact that she promised to donate $3,000 to African missionaries—but I could not help but root for her. Now, the main two leading guys brings up a problem. From the moment the book started, I was rooting for one guy (though I will not say which one). One ended up being rotten to the core, while the other one, who Ally had a hard time trusting, was the one with heroic character.
Although there were a few slow parts and the plot was not amazing, I enjoyed this book (especially after seeing it was in first person, narrated by Ally). It kept me reading way past midnight, flipping through the pages as fast as Ally sped in her vehicles. What drew me most was not the plot twists, action intensity moments, or epic journey, but the way characters seemed to breathe the same air as me, the descriptions that placed myself in the scenery, the unique situations that Ally faced, and the emotion-evoking scenes caused tears to be shed and laughter to be sung.
"I dropped to my knees beside him. His eyes fluttered open, head looked to one side. 'Go.'
"At least that was what it looked like he'd said. I heard nothing but the whine of engines circling the track.
"Then his eyes drifted shut."
Although the description pulls out the details that make At Every Turn seem like the main focal point is romance, I did not see it as such. Because of this, I think I enjoyed the book even more then I would have if it was all about romance. I loved how Ally's and the leading man's relationship played out. He was the perfect gentlemen, respecting her boundaries and aiding her through all situations; despite if she overly harsh on him.
This book was clean. I recommend it to anyone who loves a little bit of sas and excitement with a sweet story of friendship blossoming into love on the side.
I give this read four twirling wheels out of five for keeping me reading at every turn.
4 Stars
I received this book free from the publisher through Bethany House's book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unconventional Character, Could Have Been Stronger

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In At Every Turn, Alyce Benson has a heart for God, and when she's presented with the situation of starving children in Africa who need to hear His Word, she immediately rises to the occasion and pledges a large sum of money to the missionaries returning to serve them. The only problem is that she had counted on her father granting her request, as he has every request before now. When her father learns of the purpose for the money, he refuses, and Alyce is left having made a promise that she doesn't know how to fulfill. Additionally, she has asked the people of the church to match her generous offering and can no longer count on them to assist her in raising her half. What Alyce does have is a skill few women of her era possess, the ability to drive and to drive fast. She and her mechanic, Webster, concoct a scheme to race incognito and to use the earnings to raise her donation amount. But can Alyce trust Webster, who has shared very little of his past with her? And what of her seeming suitor, Mr. Trotter? Is he as godly and trustworthy as he seems?
I loved the idea of Alyce's character - a woman in the early 1900s going against the norm of the day and developing her own passion in a male-dominated pastime. I loved that she wasn't interested in just going along with her mother's plans to "marry well." Yet, the independent thinking that would develop that sort of character and hobby didn't seem to jive well with her inherent trust of Mr. Trotter and her naivete in trusting others opinions. Her fear of gossip and scandal also seemed inconsistent with the life she wanted to live.
My favorite characters turned out to be rather minor in terms of storyline, but very important in Alyce's life. Her grandmother, blind and mostly bedridden, was such a source of accountability to Alyce, and I loved the spiritual legacy she was passing on to Alyce. Webster Little was a man of mystery, but his character seemed much more consistent about his hidden secrets, and the revelation of his history at the end of the book fit with what we'd been told about him. I really enjoyed the interactions between Alyce and Webster, and was eager for them to know the truth about each other.
Alyce's determination to help the children in Africa was admirable, and her continued efforts to raise the money while simultaneously being able to hold on to it when faced with the needs of others was humorous and honest. Her desire to serve God and to find His call for her life made her an admirable character, even while I wanted her to be stronger in the rest of her life.
I give this book 3 stars. There were definite positives to the book, but I would have liked my main character stronger in her decisions and actions.
I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Page Turner!

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alannie Marshall
Location:Battle Creek, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently finished reading At Every Turn by Anne Mateer. What an awesome book! The story is so well written and holds you during the whole ride! I love the use of first person in Anne's novels. I feel as if the characters are truly real, and we are having a wonderful experience together. The characters in this novel are very well done. I have to say, Alyce is a gem. This lady is the embodiment of the modern woman. So strong, and yet so weak- very down to earth. I love her development, spiritually and emotionally, as a person. The plot is also very riveting. I will never think that racing is a cushy sport! So very exciting and suspenseful! Anne Mateer is definitely on my authors-to-watch list! The whole journey with these characters is brimming with adventure that will hold you with every turn of the page. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Pleasing Page-Turner

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A book about early auto racing usually wouldn't appeal to me since I am definitely not a fan of racing. When I first picked up "At Every Turn," I wondered how much emphasis would be placed on the racing aspect of the plot. In the past, novels that focus too much on sports have not ranked among my favorites, but Anne Mateer's latest novel is an exception. A very pleasing exception.
Mateer paints a unique vignette of the early 1900s. There are parts of the plot that are predictable; but as a whole, it is fresh and exciting, mainly because of the auto racing. What I originally perceived as a possible turn off, became one of the most intriguing aspects of the novel. The racing sequences provided rushes of unpredictable action that kept me constantly engaged. Meanwhile, some of the garage scenes between Alyce and Webster reminded me of the interactions between Sybil and Branson in "Downton Abbey."
Alyce and Webster's relationship is understated, yet satisfying. Mateer proves that building a romance between two characters does not need to rely heavily on physical affection. Their interactions are restrained, but it is obvious that they each harbor deeper feelings under the surface. Adding to the interest, the novel is told solely from Alyce's perspective. Webster's past is cloaked in secrecy, and his true character is revealed only as the novel progresses.
Alyce Benson is a feisty and charming heroine. Her impetuousness propels her into tense, and sometimes humorous situations. Mateer adds depth to Alyce's adventurous and unconventional personality throughout the novel. Alyce makes a number of mistakes and poor decisions, but they ultimately help her to grow spiritually and personally. Viewing the story through Alyce's eyes provides meaningful insights into her faith, her giving heart, and her motives. Those qualities take her beyond the boundaries of spunkiness to a more multi-dimensional character.
"At Every Turn" is definitely a book that will remain on my bookshelf. It has the ideal combination of light-hearted moments and periods of introspection.
I received a complimentary copy of from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love the first novel by Anne Mateer

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
BurtonBookReview
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The synopsis for this second novel by Anne Mateer uses the word 'impetuous' to describe our main protagonist, and that is exactly how I pictured her throughout the novel. She was so impetuous that I never really got to empathize with her at all, and it wasn't until the last third of the novel that I began to feel comfortable with the story.
The entire plot line follows Ally as she is trying to raise $3,000 in 1916 to do offer to missionaries for their use in the Gold Coast of Africa. That was a huge sum that she pledged at a church meeting, but she thought her wealthy daddy would give her the money. Turns out Daddy doesn't have the same faith that Ally does so she is forced to do some fund raising by herself. She decides to race cars for the prize money (under disguise), and along the way she finds it difficult to hang on to her funds to begin with. The two romance angles are just waiting to collide, and throughout the novel the reader can guess what will happen with each new turn.. and it always felt like there was another predictable shoe to drop which simply made for uncomfortable reading.
The first novel by Anne Mateer, Wings of A Dream, also featured a strong-willed protagonist, but she didn't seem as naive as Ally did. I just could not condone some of the silly actions of Ally, and anticipating each twist in the story dulled the adventure for me. The first person narration didn't help endear me to Ally either, but the secondary characters helped round out the otherwise predictable story. I loved Webster Little, and Ally's grandmother, and the faith theme was very evident and sends a very good message about letting God lead the way instead of always doing it your own way. I am one of those readers that has to relate to the hero/heroine in order to fully appreciate the story, but this time I really just wanted to throttle Ally! The author's writing style in itself holds merit, but I would love to see her next story being told in third person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Racing, Women Race Car Drivers and Romance

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne Mateer in her new book, “At Every Turn” published by Bethany House brings us into the life of Alyce Benson.
From the back cover: She’s off to the races!
Caught up in a whirlwind of religious enthusiasm, Alyce Benson impetuously pledges three thousand dollars to mission work in Africa. Now she just has to find a way to get the money.
Alyce harbors a secret passion for speed and automobiles, and she’s spent many an afternoon driving around the rustic track in the field behind her home. When she discovers that her father’s company has sponsored a racing car that will compete in several upcoming events–races in which the driver will be paid and could win as much as five thousand dollars in prize money–she conspires with her father’s mechanic, Webster, to train and compete.
But when her friends cast aspersions on Webster’s past, she realizes she may have trusted the wrong person with her secret. Will Alyce come up with the money in time, or will she have to choose between her hasty promise and the man who holds a piece of her heart?
History and auto racing, what a combination. It is 1916 America and only men drove in competitive auto racing, it was just that simple. However, Alyce made a pledge to give three thousand dollars and the only way she is going to cover that pledge is not only to drive in the race but to win. Alyce is an innocent, a woman who happens to speak without thinking of the consequences and then she is stuck. Ms. Mateer gives us a story about social conventions in the 1900′s when certain things were expected of women as they were trying to break out of the mold. And then there are the cars and the racing which gives us a really exciting story. I liked the characters and I liked the book, what more can you ask?
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Historical Fiction

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Lange
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alyce Benson has a tendency to be impulsive, and it has landed her in hot water more than once. This time, she pledges three thousand dollars toward missionary work in Africa. Her wealthy father refuses to have any part of church related donations, so Alyce must rely on her own resources. Unfortunately, she can’t think of anything to do to raise the money. Except drive. Despite the fact that it is 1916, she has her own car and loves to drive. She does manage to raise a bit of money by offering taxi and errand services. But it’s not enough.
The light bulb goes on in Alyce’s head when she learns that her father decides to enter his race car in an event in Chicago. Alyce convinces her father’s mechanic Webster to let her drive in the race. For you see, the winning driver gets a large sum of money, plenty to cover her commitment to the mission fund.
Lawrence Trotter, one of Alyce’s father’s employees, expresses an interest in courting Alyce. Her parents want to see her settle down and get married and encourage the match. Alyce likes Lawrence’s attention, for the most part. She also enjoys common interests and camaraderie with Webster, who somehow seems more down to earth than Lawrence does.
Readers may want to buckle up, for Alyce truly does face something at every turn, whether it’s a need in the community or overseas, or a race consisting of only male drivers. Or two young men that she admires. Her tender yet impetuous heart entangles her far beyond her means.
Anne Mateer tells an engaging story with likeable characters and unexpected events. Her attention to detail is subtle, rich, and effective; I had no trouble imagining what Alyce’s world looked and felt like. It’s a fun read, yet one that makes you think about where your heart’s priorities lie. This is the first book I’ve read by Ms. Mateer; it won’t be the last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun historical read

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can't help but love books with characters who are utterly unconventional, and this book meets that criteria to a T! Alyce is an absolute hoot with her naive intentions that simply seem to land her in trouble, along with her admirable quirks, including her love of driving cars at top speed, especially in an era where people were only just beginning to open up to the idea of women drivers. Anne Mateer's plot is a unique one that I haven't encountered before, and she does an excellent job of pairing a fun story idea with a character that you can't help but grow to care about. As I said, Alyce is a bit naive for a 22-yr-old, clearly sheltered by her upbringing, and not the most skilled at discerning people's true intentions. But her heart is absolutely golden, and the ending made me want to cheer, not just because it's a happy ending, but because Alyce experiences such genuine growth and grace that it's a delight to see!
I honestly enjoyed this book from start to finish, and give it a high recommendation and rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars. Fans of historical fiction will be especially pleased with Anne's latest offering, and I myself am looking forward to what she has in store next!
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, fun, fun :)

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because I really enjoyed Anne Mateer’s last book, Wings of a Dream, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this one.
At Every Turn begins with spunky Alyce Bensen impetuously pledging $3,000 to help with mission work in Africa. She’s certain her wealthy father will agree to give her the money- after all, even if he isn’t a Christian like herself, he never minded giving to her mother’s various charities. But when he astounds her with his firm "no" she decides there’s got be some way for her to earn enough money for the mission. When an outrageous idea comes to her –participating in an auto race- to earn money, she jumps at it with the help of her father’s mechanic, Webster. But as her lies and deception pile on top of each other, she becomes unsure of who to trust or what to do!
Some of this book did seem a teeny bit farfetched, and a few things wrapped into tidy bows a little too well, but that didn’t make At Every Turn any less fun to read. My favorite part was probably how Alyce kept raising money and then giving it away- that part made me smile. I also really liked how the book really focused on God- it wasn’t just an "okay, I mentioned God once here so now this is a piece of Christian fiction". God was really important to Alyce, and He was important to the story as well. That was really nice. Though I don’t think I liked this one as much as Wings of a Dream, it was a worthwhile read and I can’t wait for whatever books the author is going to present us with in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Far exceeded my expectations

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Mt. Pleasant, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was inspiring to me and really spoke to my heart. The year is 1916. Alyce Benson is a young lady that loves to drive and loves the Lord with all her heart. In those days, it apparently was not the most popular thing for a young lady to drive. However, driving was something she loved to do and it helped her to relax with the wind blowing in her face. Her father, a very wealthy business man, loves his daughter, but does not share her love for Christ. Alyce goes to church and hears a Missionary from Africa tell their story and they pass around pictures of some of the people in Africa that have touched their hearts. The Missionaries are raising money to go back to Africa and to build a church. Alyce immediately has a burden to help and stands up and says she will give $3,000 to help and challenges the church to match it. Everyone was quite astonished. Alyce was so excited and couldn't wait to give the money. Since her mother was a socialite, and her father gave to her charity causes, Alyce had assumed he would give her the money for this great work. However, she was mistaken...so begins Alyce's mission to raise this money in seven weeks. Alyce decides the main thing she is good at is driving. So she attempts to raise the money by being a "Taxi" type service and asking for donations. This doesn't work out well, especially since she ends up giving the money to others that she see's in need. Then with the help of Webster, a mechanic that works for her father, she learned that her father was entering his race car into a race. She convinces Webster to help her by letting her be the driver of the race car. The problem with this, women were not allowed to race. They were concerned bad luck on the racing field. So in order for her to drive, she has to pose as a man. This book has a lot of life lessons in it. It has suspense, humor, and love all entwined together. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Recommend!

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evergraceful
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book actually exceded my expectations. It wasn't as fast paced as a car race, but it had a good moral story, a bit of action, and some unexpected turns. I liked it.
With thanks to the publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a weak plot but good character development

Date:November 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The plot was not all that exciting. A young woman, Alyce, hears a visiting missionary at church and is moved to pledge money for their support – a large amount of money. When her wealthy father will not come through with the money, she has to come up with an idea to gather the amount in just a few weeks. Even when she does acquire a few hundred dollars for the cause she ends up giving it away to someone in need.
Then she has an amazing idea. It's 1916 and not many women drive. But Alyce loves to drive, and drive fast. Her father has a mechanic who is building a racing car. She convinces the mechanic to let her be the driver in the upcoming race. She'll have to hide her identity because women, drivers or not, are not allowed on the racing track.
So the plot was not so exciting. Just the plot would have made for a novella or short story. In fact, I thought the plot development was slow much of the time.
The strength of the novel was the character portrayal. The characters are developed well. There is some built in antagonism as two men want Alyce's affection. The one thing I didn't like about Alyce as a character was that, even though she is very adventurous, she was kind of dumb when it came to figuring out people. Perhaps there were too many hints, but I knew who the bad guy was long before Alyce did. I don't like it when I am smarter than the heroine. It is frustrating to continue reading.
I found the second half of the book was better than the first half. And one does learn a bit about early car racing.
It is an OK read, nothing fantastic.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for At Every Turn
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun read!

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
At Every Turn was such a fun read. Spunky, generous, and naïve, the heroine won me over. I loved the exploration of the early days of automobile racing from a female perspective, and the disguise and deception led to some humorous moments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>