Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2

Bethany House In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2

In 1866 Colorado, Ethan Kincaid agrees to a marriage of convenience with the same casual disregard he gives every decision. Audra Gilliland, young mother of two, accepts his proposal because she wants to stop being a burden to her newly married stepdaughter.And suddenly both of them are in far deeper than they'd planned.

Ethan doesn't expect Audra to affect him so profoundly, and when she begins to, he's terrified of the pain he's felt before when someone he loved was seriously injured on his watch. He's determined that his new wife will do as he says so he can keep her safe from the dangers that lurk on their ranch.

Audra has been cared for all her life by one man or another--and they've done a poor job of it. Now she's planning to stand up for herself. And her new husband had better agree or get out of her way!

Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 2387%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Review 1 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Western Adventure

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the second book in the Kincaid Bride series, In Too Deep. I read the first book and recommend reading the series in order so that you understand the back story and are familiar with the characters. Ethan Kincaid is the middle-born of the three Kincaid brothers. He is hard working, but not nearly as much of a control freak as his older brother, Rafe. Ethan also feels responsible for the fire that severely injured the youngest brother, Seth, when they were children. The fire and the cave it happened in are a central theme to all three books.
Audra Gilliland is a young mother of two and the widow of a much-older man who was abusive, a gambler and a thief. Needless to say, she considered it a blessing when her husband died – but was left penniless with no way to support her children. She agrees to a marriage of convenience with Ethan.
They make for an interesting pair. Ethan is wary of harboring feelings for anyone due to the guilt he feels about causing the fire that injured his brother. Audra is wary of any relationship with a man given her past experience. Additionally, Ethan is tired of Rafe always bossing him around and wants independence and respect for all the work he has done on the family ranch. Audra is tired of having no voice whatsoever and is eager to finally have an opinion (though much less so than Rafe’s wife, Julia).
The adventures, mishaps and discoveries Ethan and Audra make over the course of the book make for entertaining reading. I like the way the author incorporates suspense into the series without turning the books into “whodunit” mystery novels. Personally, I liked Audra’s character better than Ethan’s. She just seemed more authentic and real. Ethan came across as impossibly naïve at times.
I like both books in the series so far, but I think I enjoyed this book more because I liked the main characters better. Ethan and Audra are a bit more likable than Rafe and Julia.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda Tarr
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the first book and it was a while before I realized book 2 and 3 was out, so I briefly scanned over the 1st book and remembered what it was about. When I received book 2 and 3, I started reading, each book got better.. I couldn't put them down.. They are great books can't wait for book 4 at least I hope there is another one..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Addition

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
n Too Deep is the second book to The Kincaid Bride Series. I did not read the first book to this series, but after reading a couple of chapters, I was brought up to date of the previous happenings in the first book. This was a very edge of your seat novel. Most second books to a series are filed with fluff, but this one was a great read.
The plot was very fast and drama filled. The dangers lurk breathtakingly near, creating a total page turner. From beginning to end this book had me captivated. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The whole setting was placed around this mysterious cavern, that is depicted breathtakingly beautiful. I enjoyed the characters immensely. Audra was a very good addition to the characters. She is used to being hurt by others and loved by none. Ethan on the other hand is afraid to love, fearing he'll hurt everyone. When they marry out convenience, things turn interesting. We journey with these hardworking people as they learn to love, overcome fears, and trust God. Just when you think everything settles down, a shocking discovery is brought to light, making the next book a must read.
They were some mentions to life of a married couple, but overall was a good read. I rate In Too Deep a 4 out of 5.
I was provided this copy from Bethany House Publishers, in exchange for my independent unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just okay, for me...

Date:May 12, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After the death of her abusive and wicked husband, Audra Gilliland is determined to become independent and assertive. She agrees to a marriage of convenience with Ethan Kincaid as a way to protect herself, her two daughters, and to get out of her new married step-daughter's home. Audra desperately wants to be able to stand up for herself. After all she does not care what her husband thinks about it. Ethan does not have high hopes for the marriage other than to have a wife who can cook, clean and live amicably with him. Surprisingly to both Ethan and Audra, affection begins to grow quickly. However, before they can see what this fondness will lead to, they must each deal with lingering remnants of their past lives.
In Too Deep by Mary Connealy is the second book of the Kincaid Brides series. I haven't read the first one, but this one gave enough background information that I easily understood what was going on after a few chapters. To be honest, I found the back story and ongoing drama caused by Audra's previous husband (a situation presumably addressed in the first book and in the forthcoming third book) more interesting than the love story between Ethan and Audra. Audra's character was well-developed and authentic. However, Ethan's character was a little flat and somewhat unbelievable to me. I will not mention the exact details because that would lead to spoilers, but most of the time he is presented as reasonably intelligent and talented and then other times he is unbelieveably naive. I know that people and characters are multi-faceted, but the naivety was not cohesive with the rest of his character.
This is one of those books that I recommend renting from the library before buying. Some readers will probably love it, but I don't see myself ever reading it again.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Need to read book #1 first

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Widow with two young children, no home and no income, needing support. * Single ranch owner, no kids, and not looking for a wife. * And somehow they end up together.
I enjoyed reading about Ethan learning to conquer his fears and Audra learning to love someone. The stories of Seth and the trials he has had to face, and the joys that Rafe and Julia have, starting out a new life together. But I did feel lost, not knowing what happened to Audra's first husband or how she and Julia were related. It took me a while to learn things that happened in book one, things I would already know, had I started there.
This book was exceptionally written, but not as a stand-alone book. You have to read book #1, Out of Control, first to completely grasp the story line in book #2.
~~~~~~~~~~
I received this complementary book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brave Women and Honorable Cowboys

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in this series and is a great compliment to book one.
In 1866, Colorado Audra Gilliand agrees to marry Ethan Kincaid because she feels like she has become a burden to her newly married stepdaughter.
Ethan has become attached to Audra's two small children and is so afraid he will not be able to protect her and the children. Plus he is confused about the feelings he has developed for Audra.
Audra is not wanting to be dependent on anyone. She wants to be able to stand on her own to feet and not be treated like a fragile little china doll.
The author picks Audra up out of the rubble of her past giving her faith in God to protect her and her children. In the character Ethan shows a yearning to be a father to Audra's children. As a family unit I believe Audra and Ethan will bring out the best in each other and the children showing that God has mad a blessed union.
I highly recommend this book.
I rated this book a 5 out of 5.
Disclosure:
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publisher for review. I was in no way compensated for this review it is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Winner

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
S. Ketchersid
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Too Deep by Mary Connealy is another winner. The second in her Kincaid Bride Series, In Too Deep follows the story of the second brother, Ethan Kincaid. He ends up marrying Audra Gilliland out of convenience and doesn't really know what he's got himself into. Both Ethan and Audra hold some deep seated hurts and fears that cause them to shy away from letting anyone breach the walls they've shored up.
Mary does a great job of throwing the two into various situations that force them to begin to trust and open up to the other. (Mary is awesome at getting her characters to face death every so often!) Their emotional journey was beautiful and tangible in a way that sucked me in.
Of course, the secondary characters in the book made for a well rounded story, and I cannot wait for book three - the one about the third brother, Seth. Now that will be an unusual story, I'm sure!
I love Mary Connealy's books. There is something about her writing that makes me smile. The snappy dialogue, the slap-happy humor, and the sweet love story that she weaves together makes for awesome books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not as thrilled as I'd hoped to be

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
BTNSBJ
Location:Ashland, Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Awhile back Bethany House Publishers asked various people to post a book review(good or bad) and they would send you a book for free to read and write a review on your website and then write one on theirs. Well, I jumped on the bandwagon cuz I saw the word FREE, and so I chose what I thought would be a great book to read. Sorry to say that I wasn't as thrilled w/it as I had hoped. Now, keep in mind that I did NOT read the first book in the series and maybe that would have helped, but I was very confused in the first few chapters as to who was who and how they were related. It seemed like the story jumped into the 'middle' at the very beginning. At times I really did like the characters, but other times I thought they were a bit lame. All in all, if you like historical romance (Christian Fiction), you certainly may want to try this one. It wasn't one of my favorites, but it wasn't the least favorite I've ever read either. The author has written many other books that I would still like to read. I sure hope she doesn't mind my honesty on this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laino
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it. A funny loving story of romance. It was one of those books you did not want to put down until finished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book with unique story line

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Mt. Pleasant, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little slow getting into the book...I think that was because I didn't realize it was "Book #2" of the series...which was my fault...but it didn't take long for me to be pullled into the story. It was an amazing book of how Audra marries someone she barely knows more for convenience sake than love and Ethan does the same. However, through rough times of fighting for thier lives, and God providing healing for their old wounds....they find themselves deeply in love with each other. This is an easy read book and I can't wait until the next one comes out and I also want to get the first one. Mary Connealy is a great author and Bethany House did a great job in publishing the book. So many of us find ourselves needing to find healing from our pasts it will hit home to many.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In Too Deep - Don't Miss This One!!

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In Too Deep" picks up where "Out of Control" left off. "In Too Deep" features Ethan Kincaid the second in the line of three Kincaid brothers.
Ethan isn't too sure about himself. He feels he has been a coward most of his life. He doesn't have the confidence in himself like Rafe his older brother has. Actually, Ethan is sick of being bossed around by Rafe and now that he is running the Kincaid ranch he wants respect from Steele, the head ranch hand, the same respect that Steele gave Rafe when he was in control of the ranch.
Ethan proposes marriage to Audra after listening to Rafe's suggestion that it would make sense to do so. Audra feels she should leave and go back to her parent's home even though she doesn't want to. After all, her Father had sold her to her first husband to pay off a gambling debt and her Mother didn't do anything to stop it. Now that her husband is dead she feels she has no choice but to leave. Even though Audra and Ethan aren't in love with each other they go along with Rafe's suggestion and marry. Audra has two little girls to look after and she really could use a good man to help her out. Ethan on the other hand could use a good woman to do his cooking, cleaning, and other household chores.
Of course what would this story be like without the bad guys, the monster cavern, and younger brother, crazy Seth, having his nightmares and needing to be looked after?
If you are looking for action, this is the book for you. It has everything. Humor, nail biting incidences, suspense, and romance. The author also provides the reader with a trust and faith in God to get the Kincaid's through the rough spots.
The first book, "Out of Control" was good but I didn't bond with bossy Julia! "In Too Deep" is a book that you can't put down. I adored Audra. I had this book in my hands every spare moment and even got irritated when I wanted to read but had to clean house or fix a meal. Yes, life is pretty rough isn't it?!
"Over the Edge" is the next book in this series and I can't wait! We will get to read about Seth, the youngest Kincaid brother. Is he really crazy? Guess we will have to wait to find out!
I want to thank Bethany House Publishers for sending me a copy of "In Too Deep" to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mary pulls you into the pages of this story

Date:March 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Audra's father married her off to Wendell Gilliland in trade for money that he owed the man. Now that Audra's husband, an abusive man, a drunk, a gambler, and a thief to name a few attributes, is dead, she has to decide what she's going to do now. She owns two properties, one in Rawhide, CO and her ramshackle cabin where she lived basically alone with her step-daughter and two babies while Wendell spent most of his time in town running a General Store, at least he told her it was a General Store. She had never been into Rawhide, yet alone to the store, so she had no idea that the building was a place for Wendell to spend time and live his disgusting life. Audra also doesn't know that the reason they had to leave Houston so fast and Wendell had to change his name, was because he'd stolen a lot of money.
The Kincaid's are her closest neighbors and the only people she knows, they helped with Wendell while he was sick and buried him for her. Maggie, her first child by Wendell has grown very close to Ethan Kincaid and when she goes into the cavern with Seth, Ethan's younger brother, Ethan unwillingly faces his fear of the cavern and saves her. It is after the scare of losing Maggie that she starts thinking that she needs to move back to her parents home, it's better than living alone with the children in a shack.
The Kincaid brother's and Julia, her step-daughter, don't see that as an option. Audra's father is as abusive as Wendell was and Julia is afraid she would get 'sold' into another marriage, repeating the actions he'd already done once. Rafe, Ethan's older brother, comes up with the idea of Ethan and Audra getting married. This discussion finally ends with the two agreeing to the arrangement, not happy about it, but agreeing to it. The group travel into Rawhide and Audra becomes Mrs Ethan Kincaid.
The action soon begins when two men hired by Jasper, the man Wendell stole the money from, come looking for him. They discover in Rawhide that Wendell is dead and his widow has remarried a Kincaid brother, and that Ethan is looking to hire some men. Mitch and Grove get hired on, and the first night they start a fire in the barn to distract Ethan in order to get to Audra. It doesn't work, Ethan has told her to go to the cellar, way to the back and bolt the door. When she is about to bolt the door she sees a man coming down the steps, thinking it's Ethan at first she calls out to him, she then realizes it isn't and manages to get the door closed and Grove is unable to break it down, he's failed.
They all decide they need to find the money and send it back to Jasper so Audra will be left alone. Ethan and his brothers go scouting the next day to see if they can find any tracks of the man that started the fire, little do they realize they're being followed by two men and a gunfight is soon to begin. Rafe ends up with a flesh wound on his hand and the men get away. Plans are made that night to recheck the building in town and Ethan, Audra and Seth will go to the cabin and search around. Mitch and Grove follow them, knock Seth out and pushed him off the cliff, then attack Ethan and drag him into the cabin. Seeing Ethan and not knowing where Seth is, Audra pretends to know where Wendell hid the money so she can protect her husband and kids. Audra has never been in the cavern where she's about to lead these to villains, she only has the memory of what she's heard from the Kindcaids.
Can she pull this off and get them to fall or shove them into the hole? Will Ethan be okay and where is Seth? Can they find the money that Wendell stole so it can be returned to it's rightful owner?
In this book and in the first book, Out of Control, there are times I felt claustrophobic when reading about these caves. I had to remind myself it's just another 'pull you into the pages of the story' book. There are some emotional scenes in this book also, but I'm leaving that for you to find out the story behind Ethan and his fear. Another great read by Mary, another 'gotta have' book. There is one more coming in August, Over The Edge, guess I'll have to get that one too. I love a good series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
potosrose
Location:Colorado Springs, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Too Deep is the second installment in the Kincaid Brides series, and is another great read from Mary Connealy. I have been looking forward to this book ever since I finished the first one because Ethan's character intrigued me. The book expands on Audra, Julia's stepmother and her two children as well, and the marvelous plan that Rafe and Julia have for their family members. Rafe is still the planner and solver, so his solution to taking care of Audra and the kids, and providing them with a respectable home is to marry her to Ethan before the day is through. As they adjust to life together and trying to care for the kids and the third Kincaid brother Seth, they learn someone else may be on their trail to ferret out the money that Julia's father supposedly stole. I don't want to give away any more of the story, so I will stop there :) This was a fun, quick read and I fell more in love with Ethan and Seth by the end. The downside was I felt the book ended rather abruptly, probably because there will be a third book with Seth's story. All in all, a fun spring read with great characters that I look forward to visiting again!
*Copy of book provided by Bethany House for review purposes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In Too Deep by Mary Connealy

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunday, March 25, 2012
In Too Deep by Mary Connealy
Bethany House publishers provided me a free copy of In Too Deep by Mary Connealy. It is Book 2 in The Kincaid Brides series. Ethan is the middle brother of the Kincaid family. Now that older brother Rafe is happily married, he thinks his brother should be too. He has always been the one to give orders to Ethan and younger brother Seth. So when Audra, a young widow with 2 children needs to be protected from thugs who are looking for money that was stolen by Audra's former husband, Rafe gives the orders again to Ethan. He thinks Ethan and Audra should get married. So they agree to a marriage of convenience. But life never goes smoothly for the Kincaids. Younger brother Seth still has nightmares, Audra has 2 babies to look after, and Ethan is trying to be in control of his part of the ranch, yet his ranch hands are quick to remind him of how Rafe does things. Audra is determined to take care of herself as well as protect her children, even when danger comes calling. I read Book 1, and I found this one to be better than the first. I liked the strength of Audra and the way Ethan and Audra learned to depend on each other. I like the late 1880's time period, and how there is some action/mystery in the book. And now I look forward to book 3, which is eluded to at the end of this book. Can't wait to see how the trilogy ends!
Posted by basketballorange301 at 1:17 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun and engaging read

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Connealy makes it effortless to read straight through. Her story is compelling and entertaining. The story tells the relationship between Audra and Ethan as they find themselves shoved into a marriage of convenience. Neither one is looking for love or expecting to find it. The story follows the relationship between the three brothers, Rafe, Seth and Ethan as they try to run family land in an unforgiving wilderness. The interactions between the brothers were a joy to read.
In Too Deep is book two in the Kincaid Brides series. I have not read book one yet and that may be the cause of the areas I did not like in the book. For starters, I had a little trouble getting into the characters - especially Ethan and Seth. They seemed a little flat at times. Also the relationship between Audra and Seth seemed pre-existing but with little or no explanation of that. However, based on the quality of the rest of the book I am certain that IF I HAD READ book one I would have felt more comfortable with those characters and their development. Mary did a great job of creating the other characters to feel so real.
Another area of struggle was the 'head' antagonist. Jasper felt outside of the story to me. He was the one calling the shots perhaps but not the bad guys whom Audra and Ethan had to face. Chapter after chapter seemed to dive further into his life and I could not make the connection. AGAIN, I apologize if his part is explained more in book one and I missed it. I found myself skipping some of those pages. Sorry Mary :(
Overall I recommend this book to all my book lover friends. It is a delightful and fun read. I am looking forward to the release of book three in August of this year.
I received a free copy from Bethany House for the purpose of giving a review. My opinions are my own and I am not required to give a positive review.
In case you are wondering, the first book is Out of Control. The third book is titled Over the Edge and is due out in August.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reviewing IN TOO DEEP by Mary Connealy Bk 2 Kincai

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reviewing IN TOO DEEP by Mary Connealy, Kincaid Brides Book 2
This is the first Mary Connealy book that I have read, and I would highly recommend others to read them 'in order' if they read them at all ... it took until the end of Chapter 2 to figure out what was going on and well into Chapter 4 to understand. Actually, there for a while, I didn't think it was a "Christian" book! I thought I was reading "Deliverance", [an old OLD secular story I do not recommend] because of the terms this author used to describe different characters in this book.
I felt the author didn't make it clear to a new reader who the people were; she cast them in an inaccurae description, or lack thereof so that your first impression of the character was different than what they actually were . She consantly talked about things unclearly that must have happened in the previous book. By the end of Chapter 4 and into 5, the story was pretty well coming together and moving on, but I thought the intimate scenes and thoughts were too descriptive and did not add to the story.
I thought it taught a good moral toward the end that a lot of people could relate to, i.e., God's purpose in apparent disasters and troubles affect us all and can cause healing if we let His will be done in our lives. Her scripture quotes toward the end were also beautiful.
I am guessing that book 3 will be about Seth and his bride that even he didn't remember he had. It was good how she first brought the name of the bride into the story and then picked up briefly on it later.
I received a free copy of this book for my honest review, from Bethany Publishers.
Posted by IBELIEVE2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Kincaid Brides Book 2

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Too Deep by Mary Connealy
Book 2 of The Kincaid Brides
Ethan Kincaid is the middle of three brothers. His older brother, Rafe, had stayed home to tend the ranch while Ethan went off on his adventure. Their younger brother, Seth, had went off to war. Seth always seemed to be a bit loco after a cave accident they had as children. Now all three brothers are reunited in Rawhide, Colorado Territory and as Rafe had recently married...Ethan now is in charge of the family ranch. If the foreman will ever respect him enough to follow his orders instead of saying what Rafe would do. Rafe being the bossy brother, he has now told Ethan that he will marry Audra. She is stepmother to Julia, Rafe's wife, but they are more like sisters. With two young daughters to care for, it is too dangerous for Audra to stay with Rafe and Julia as they live by all types of caves.
After considering all her options, Audra decides marrying Ethan is her best choice. Her father had sold her into marriage to pay his gambling debt so she really has no desire to go back there and take a chance on being sold again. Ethan just smiles like an idiot all the time but Seth is pure loco...so it seems her only choice is to marry Ethan, which he agrees to. It don't take long before they are dealing with Seth's nightmares and the dangerous men trying to find something her first husband stole. Can this unlikely couple find their way to love while on this adventure?
Mary writes such well rounded books. They have great humor in them but there is also danger, suspense, and of course romance. This book did not disappoint as it contained all of the above as well. I had not read the first book, Out of Control, but I would highly recommend reading it first if you enjoy series. I could tell there were many details that I was missing by not reading it first. The third book in the series, Over the Edge, will be released later this year.
**Book received through Bethany House for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mary write another great series

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I see the author is Mary Connealy I grab the book is I can, she is an alsome author and I really love her work. This series "The Kincaid Brides" is no different.
Audra is a young widow that was not sad at all of her dirty smelling husband's demise. She had a three year old little daugher and a four week old one. She was now living in the shack with her sister and her newly married husband Rafe. She had no where else to go but where they had build their home was near a mine with many channels. When her little girl went missing they tracked her into the mine where she had went with Seth the unstable minded brother of Rafe and Ethan. She was found and now Audra was ready to move away from her sister's house to keep her children safe. Ethan and Seth were going to go back to their old home place and Julia (her sister) and Rafe was really not sad to see all of them go as they were just newly weds.
Audra was not going to go live in a house with two unmarried men so Rafe talked her and Ethan into getting married. The little girl already called him daddy so she was very happy.
Audra's dead husband had been in too stelling money so she was so afraid they would come after her thinking she knew where he had it hid. She had no idea but will this keep her and the children safe?
After such a rocky start in their married life, I believe that Ethan and Audra will finally fall in love with each other once they begin to trust the other. Both had grown up with an unstable past as Ethan, Seth and Rafe had, had to raise themselves as their mother just didn't care or she was sick as she sit with her head down all the time, so Rafe was the eldest and he did all he knew how to help his brothers. Audra had been traded to a man that her father own money too and before he had died she had two children. She felt as though she was not going to let any man ever boss her around anymore.
Just a great series to read and enjoy. Thanks so much to Behtany House for sending me this book free and I chose to review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What Does the Smile Hide?

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colorado. 1866. Ethan Kincaid is doing his best to block childhood memories, but it's hard now that he's back on the ranch with his two brothers: overbearing eldest brother, Rafe, and the loco youngest brother, Seth. Problem is, it's his fault Seth went crazy. He remembers. Still, Ethan has a smile for every occasion. Not because he's happy but because it's a mask he can hide behind.
Trust newly-married Rafe to decide the only sensible thing for Ethan to do is marry Audra, a young mother of two who was recently widowed. Audra doesn't have any place to return to or the money to get there, and she seems biddable enough. Ethan figures he might as well.
But Audra has decided it's time she stood up for herself, and made her own decisions. So it's not caving in (again) when she agrees to marry Ethan, right? It's her choice, and the only chance she can think of to keep her two young daughters away from the terrible caverns on the Kincaid ranch near where she's been living in a dilapidated shack. The caverns where Seth lost his mind years ago.
Trouble was following Audra's late unlamented husband and it's quite ready to follow her, too. Apparently he'd stolen a small fortune and carried it to Colorado, and its owner wants it back. Audra has no idea what it could be or where it's hidden, but that doesn't stop those who are desperate to regain it.
Worst of all-or is it?-Audra and Ethan are falling for each other. But they're not sure-are they In Too Deep?
In Too Deep is the second tale in The Kincaid Brides series. I reviewed Out of Control, the story of Rafe and Julia, back in August. I'm eagerly awaiting the third book, Seth's romance, as the author has been developing his character through the two stories thus far. Also in the third book will be (better be!) the revelation of what the outlaws following Audra's late husband have been searching for.
I keep saying I don't read historical novels, but I'll make an exception any day of the week for Mary Connealy. I just love her voice and the way her characters come alive.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In Too Deep, Kincaid Brides Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book two picks up on the heals of book one. Ethan’s older brother Rafe is now married to Julia. Audra does not want to be a burden now that Julia is married and is thinking about heading back east to her uncaring father. Rafe will have none of that and come up with the idea that Ethan should marry her so she can be the house keeper at the Kincaid ranch that Ethan is now taking over. Before either of them have a chance to think they are wed. Heading back to the Kincaid ranch with crazy Seth in tow how will these two settle into married life. Will they find love after all?
Mary Connealy has done it again! She is one of my favorite authors and she does not disappoint in this new book.
What I liked: Everything! I really liked both Ethan and Audra in the first book maybe even more then Rafe and Julia. I could not wait to read their story. I love how the characters interact in this book. The humor had be laughing through out. I also love how Ethan and Audra start to care for each other and realize how much they need each other.
What I did not like: Really not much. The only part of the story I was not really into was the head bad guy. It really seemed like it did not fit with this story. I am guessing we will hear more from him in the 3rd book. I just did not feel his chapters added anything to the main plot of the story.
Over all I loved this book. I love how this author intertwines romance, comedy and suspense(bad guys) and creates characters you fall in love with. I could not put it down and wanted to cry when it was over. I can’t wait for book three which will finally tell Seth’s story and I can’t wait to meet Callie! August can’t come soon enough. This is a must read for all historical fiction lovers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>