Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3

Bethany House Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3

Seth Kincaid survived a fire in a cave, but he's never been the same. He was always a reckless youth, but now he's gone over the edge. He ran off to the Civil War and came back crazier than ever.

After the war, nearly dead from his injuries, it appears Seth got married. Oh, he's got a lot of excuses, but his wife isn't happy to find out Seth doesn't remember her. Callie has searched, prayed, and worried. Now she's come to the Kincaid family's ranch in Colorado to find her lost husband.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 3494%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Review 1 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satisfying Series Conclusion

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the Edge is the third and final book in the Kincaid Bride series. I recommend reading the first two books in the series first in order to understand the characters and the plot. Seth Kincaid is the youngest of the three Kincaid brothers and this book shares his story – the fire that burned him as a child, his haunting experiences in the Civil War and (surprise!) that he has a family.
This book was an interesting read in comparison to the first two books in the series. On one hand, the plot is much more complex than the other books. There is a lot going on in this story – the reader learns more about Seth and the Kincaid family, but there is also a small side plot about two people torn between trying to recover what Audra’s first husband stole from them and forging a new, crime-free life. On the other hand, this entry in the series comes across a bit more fanciful than the other two books. It’s a wild ride back in time in the Wild West, but is not as believable as the first two books. For example, Callie (Seth’s wife) single-handedly fighting off stagecoach robbers.
Of course, the point of “fiction” is that it doesn’t have to be true or even completely believable, so with that in mind I did enjoy the entertainment in the book. There wasn’t a dull moment from beginning to end and it was satisfying to see all the pieces of the puzzle come together at the end. I felt empathy for Seth, who was clearly suffering from amnesia and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder long before that illness was ever identified and named.
Overall, I still liked the second book in the series the best, though I did really enjoy Over the Edge for the entertainment value.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended, another great book by Mary

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since receiving the letter from Callie, his wife that he didn't remember having, Seth Kincaid or one of his brothers had been riding to meet every stagecoach coming to town because she hadn't put in the letter when she would arrive.
Little did he know that the 'man' fighting off robbers in an overturned stagecoach was his wife. When Callie saw Seth she wanted to kill him as much as she wanted to kill the robbers. After all he took off and left her without a word. Luckily some help came and they managed to fight off the thieves then Seth took Callie to the doctor as she had many wounds from fragments of the stagecoach. She was a fighter this one!
Once back in town Seth meets up with some of the other passengers and discovers Cassie has a baby boy, his baby boy, another thing he didn't remember. After Callie was treated by the doctor and rested overnight, Seth gets another surprise for himself, he discovers that he has a half-brother, and he is none to pleased about that. Cassie steps in and insists Heath go 'home' with them. Needless to say this is not a pleasant ride, a winter storm is about to hit, an injured wife who seems to despise him and an unwanted brother.
Things don't go any smoother once they reach the Kincaid property, they soon find that they are being watched and followed you might say by the thief that is looking for the diamonds that Julia's father, Audra's first husband, had stolen from him.
Why did Cassie look him up if she hated him so and why did Heath look the Kincaid brothers up if he wanted nothing to do with them? Was it just to cause turmoil for the Kincaids? What will happen when Jasper actually catches up with them?
Mary continues to keep the reader interested enough that it's almost impossible to put the book down. This was a very intriguing series and when she talks about the caves you almost feel like you are right down in there with the characters. If you are claustrophobic I would think you'd be having a hard time breathing, sometimes I was just about there.
A great series that I would highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
This review is fromOver the Edge - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Your Past Can Control You If You Let It!

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 3 in this series is packed with mystery and adventure.
It shows us what effect the past can have on the present
if we allow it. Like the first two books, it is a fantastic
read. A series you will want to read from start to finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not her best

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
simplysusan
Location:central Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A few months ago, I was able to read the first book in The Kincaid Brides series, Out of Control and I was really disappointed with it. The main female character in that one, Julia Gilliland, annoyed me beyond belief. I really, REALLY disliked her character. I was so disappointed by the book, especially because Mary Connealy is on of my favorite authors and has written so many fun novels in the past. That being said, I was a little nervous about reading Over the Edge. While I found it better than Out of Control, I still am not that impressed with Over the Edge. Not only was something about it a bit “off”, but I had to endure the character of Julia Gilliland yet again. I really wanted to like this series, but of the two books I’ve read, I’m just left feeling disappointed. I think I’ll skip the second book in the series that I haven’t read yet. I’m not giving up on Mary Connealy yet, but hope future books aren’t duds like these two.
NOTICE:
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great wild, wild West story!

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a wild, Wild West story, Mary Connealy in Over the Edge, has caught the complete picture! A stagecoach holdup, gun-slinging gunmen, a gun-slinging woman (yes, you read that right!), ranches, cattle herding, a forgetful, crazy-acting husband, and more.
Mary has a real handle on the scenarios, and she makes you feel like you're right there in the middle of the action! The stagecoach holdup was phenomenal in detail, particularly with a woman gunslinger aboard. That woman being Callie Kincaid.
Callie's relationship with her new-found husband, Seth, leaves room for wonderment and romance. She has to deal with his abandonment shortly after their marriage, his lack of memory and his trustworthiness for the future. It's touching, yet unnerving with Callie's strong will. Seth wants to make amends, but Callie would rather shoot him. In fact, her name for Seth initially was 'cowboy.'
The relationships between the brothers are typical for a rowdy bunch of boys and Mary brings in her typical humor to their stories. The additional, unknown, Kincaid brother, Heath, upsets the apple cart for the older Kincaid brothers. But through Heath, they learn more about their family than they figured out on their own. Much heartache had caused a dysfunctional family life for the three older men and Heath.
Danger has lurked for the Kincaid family ever since the two older men married the Gilliland sisters. Their father had stolen some goods from some thieves, and they would return unexpectedly to search for the goods. The author pulled in the suspense and danger at just the precise time, bringing closure to years of torment for the three older men.
The West was wild, with gunmen who ignored the rules, and not enough lawmen to control a whole lot of what happened. You took your life into your hands if you traveled that far west, but the big open skies and mountains were home to the Kincaids. Pick up Mary's book for a great adventure and learn about forgiveness, family commitment, love, trust and the end results of greed.
This book was provided by Noelle Buss at Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL CONCLUSION TO THIS TRILOGY..

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
OVER THE EDGE by Mary Connealy is a wonderful conclusion to "The Kincaid Brides" trilogy, an inspirational historical fiction set in 1866 Colorado. Book #3 in this trilogy,but can be read as a stand alone.See," Out of Control",and "In Too Deep". Filled with danger,humor,faith,cave,Civil War aftermath,healing,forgiveness,mystery,suspense,love and a bit of romance. Follow Seth Kincaid and Callie as they learn to navigate their marriage that Seth forgot to only learn he has a child also,find healing,make amends,and rekindle a passion and love. As a child Seth was badly burned in a cave,he loves to explore those seem caves,he also has nightmares from the fire and his Civil war days. Callie has finally found Seth again,but must learn he will not abandon her and their child again. Ms. Connealy has written another touching story that will steal your heart as the Kincaid siblings learn to let go of their past guilt and trust each other again. A must read for anyone who enjoys the early Americana era,romance,faith,historical romance and fiction. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Bethany House Publishing,a division of Baker Publishing Group,and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How Forgetful Can You Be?

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever forget something really important? All of us have–or suspect we have–but few of us can match Seth Kincaid. He forgot he was married. That’s what childhood trauma and the Civil War did to him. Now that he’s begun to remember, he’d like to keep his wife from killing him.
If you’ve been reading the Kincaid Bride series, you’ll be eager to read the final book about the third brother, Seth. From a veritable crazy person in the first book to a man with some glimmers of sanity in the second, the author has carefully drafted a character that we’ve begun to feel for, and finally brings Seth into his own story with the surprise revelation that not only is Seth married, but he’s the daddy of a precocious baby boy. He kind of likes both ideas, but Callie isn’t set on making it easy for him to take his place. What if he forgets her again? What if he hasn’t been healed of the traumas in his life?
Because not all the trauma is over. Someone is still stalking the Kincaid family. Someone still wants the brothers dead. And someone (else) has a claim on all Rafe, Ethan, and Seth have built since their parents’ deaths.
If you think this is a serious sounding book, you’re wrong. Sure, it has some serious themes, but shot all the way through it like salt in a stew is fast-paced action laced with author Mary Connealy’s sparkling humor. While you don’t have to have read the other books in this series, I can guarantee you’ll want to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mary Connealy's Best Yet!

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An explosive conclusion to a thrilling saga.
A fast-paced Western read with plenty of action and laughs. I loved how the plot was just chock full of twists to keep the pages turning at break-neck speed.
The characters were all so well built and I loved how the brothers from the first book, as well as their wives, were still a big part of the story. I really liked Seth, because he was just a great guy who had his struggles and his flaws, but he was had such a refreshingly thankful spirit despite his past. Definitely the kind of hero to cheer for the whole way through!
Callie was full of fire, and I could totally understand why she would want Seth to prove himself to her after everything that she had been through!
This is the kind of series that while you could read the last book by itself (but that would totally be cheating!) I think you will find as I did that I didn't want to miss any of the action! I also felt that I was able to appreciate this book to it's full capacity because I had read the earlier installments.
Overall, this book was the perfect conclusion to a terrific series, as well as my favorite by Ms. Connealy! I loved the characters and the twisting plot, this book was just brimming with good old fashioned action!
A book that I HIGHLY recommend!
I received this book from the publisher through Litfuse in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
auntlorilea
Location:charleston wv
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with all of Mary Conneally books, this book has a little bit of everything, action, romance, endearing characters and good christian values. Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great end to a fun series

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over The Edge, book 3 in Mary Connealy's trilogy, The Kincaid Brides was exactly what I anticipated. A great read!
After reading book 1, Out Of Control and book 2, In Too Deep, I have been eagerly awaiting the finale to Seth Kincaid's life story. His plot line was so intriguing through the first two books and Mary did a good job of finishing up with Seth, Callie and the surprise extras - Connor and Heath.
As with her previous books, Mary's brand of humour and romance made for a light and fun read. I enjoyed the introduction of Callie, Seth's forgotten wife. She was entertaining and unpredictable. The beginning of the story was incredibly thought up - a great way to jump into the story.
The new character in the story, Heath was also a fun addition. I won't spoil it for anyone who hasn't read it by explaining his role. Yet he provided a fresh set of eyes on the entire plot of the Kincaid brothers. I would have liked more description of Heath to round out his character. It will be interesting to see if he gets a book of his own some day.
One element that I did not enjoy as much was the ending. It was predictable and felt repetitive. I think that the elements Connealy needed to get out from the ending were there and it brought the story to a nice, complete closure. However I would have liked to see something a tad more unique. This should not deter you from choosing her book.
I would recommend this story to any fan of Christian historical fiction with a light, humorous side.
This book was given to me free of charge from Bethany House in exchange of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good and easy read

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The book starts out with Callie Kincaid going by stagecoach to see if her husbands family will take her in as well as her son. The stagecoach gets hijacked and really the only person to take care of the outlaws attacking is Callie. Seth Kincaid has gone to war and back and does not remember having a wife....and does not even know he has a son that looks just like him. Over the course of time and different events that involve diamonds and an underground cave that I really want to explore, can Seth remember his wife...better yet, can Callie love him again and not want to shoot him every chance she gets for forgetting about her? I'm assuming you can figure out the end of the story from here.
I actually liked this book. I had just finished reading 2 books of a zombie series (don't ask) that was really dark, so this "lighthearted" book was good for me. I would have loved to read the other 2 books in the series before reading this as I had several questions regarding the other characters of the Kincaid family. Looking through this with the eyes of where is God in the character's lives, I was left wanting. It was an exciting tale and I kept wanting to read it, but I came away wanting God to be more involved. Maybe it's just me and thinking that Christian fiction should be centered around God...call me crazy! I do recommend the book though for those that love a good romance novel...although you can always figure out what the answer to the question on the book is!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast and Fun Read!

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the stillness of one's heart love has the capacity to protect from the worst of fears.
Callie is always mindful of protecting her infant son Conner from others even if the person happens to be of a husbandly kind.
Seth Kinkade knew Callie's voice sounded familiar as she yelled after him he just didn't know how familiar.
Tried though he wished he cannot remember a thing about her and when in the world did he get married?
A book of romance, danger and wild west cowboys that promises a fast and satisfying read sure to keep one entertained. Progressing plot, strong character development and fun dialogue will keep you burning the midnight oil. Even though the book is part of a series it can easily serve as a stand alone novel. I found the overall message inspiring and I was entertained by this fast and fun read and will recommend this book to others. I received a complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ashlee
Location:Wyoming
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Over The Edge is the third book in the Kincade Bride series written by Mary Connealy. This book is not a stand alone book. I have not read the first two books in the series and was a little confused, but this book was written in a way that I was able to catch on quickly and fill in some holes. Not enough was said about the other couples in this book to ruin their stories, so I look forward to going back and reading the other two books in the Kincade Bride series.
Over The Edge was a fun, lighthearted, and entertaining read. The main characters, Seth and Callie, were easy to like and not too complex to get to know. This was a great read by Mary Connealy and I look forward to reading more books by her.
The book begins with strong willed, hardworking, young mother Callie Kincade holding off stage robbers with her rifle and becoming the hero. She saves her son, also a preacher and his wife, and the stage coach drivers.
Confused, complicated, yet lovable Seth Kincade comes upon a stage coach robbery determinded to save the occupants inside, only to find himself in the sights of a rifle and being shot at by a woman who knows his name, but he has no clue who she is.
Thus begins the humorous journey of Seth trying to remember the bride he left behind during the Civil War and Callie trying to get her groom to remember the actual I dos.
*I received this book for free from Bethany House and was not compensated for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy to read

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book was easy to get into. I enjoy books like that.
I think it jumped between characters too much. Personally, I like when they stick with the main character. One downside to skipping between characters in this book was how you knew the plans of the antagonist before they actually carried out the plans.
I liked how the messages of family, sticking with marriage, and unconditional love were seen in the book.
The characters were believable.
There was humor in it. I always appreciate humor being thrown in to the books I read.
Overall, I recommend you read the first two books in the Kincaid Brides series before reading Over the Edge, as this book continues on from where the previous books left off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Focus on the Famliy

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mary Connealy's third and presumably final book of the Kincaid Brides, "Over the Edge," thoroughly concludes the series with her usual comedic flair.
The first two novels, "Out of Control" and "In Too Deep" told the stories of the two older Kincaid boys, Rafe and Ethan, and highlighted their views of an accident from their youth that changed their lives forever. Now in "Over the Edge" we finally get Seth's take on what happened that night in the cave, when the floor collapsed and burning kerosene fell on Seth, burning him badly and causing him to go a little crazy. His experiences in the Civil War were no help to his sanity, and he does not remember getting married near the end of the war. However, his bride and 8-month-old son show up at the start of the novel, beginning Seth's war to reclaim his memory and sanity.
As with her other novels, the romance between the main characters was laced with humorous situations and tenderness, for all that the bride was angry enough to take shots at her errant husband when she finally ran into him. The bad guy got his comeuppance, and the not-so-bad girl reformed in time to save Callie's life and her own.
Family, throughout the whole series, seemed to be a major theme, but it was most prominent in "Over the Edge." Connealy surprised me in an unexpected plot twist - the existence of a fourth Kincaid boy - and all four of them must work together in the novel to accept and forgive themselves and their father, who had started another family while still married to the three boys' mother. Each has spent years believing himself responsible for the collapse of their family, and they truly need God's strength and each others' support to work through this unexpected turn. The youngest, Heath, also needs help learning to forgive his older brothers for being part of the other family and to learn how take comfort in them and to be a real family with them.
Overall, I would rank it 4 out of 5; it's a great, light romantic comedy and fitting conclusion to the series, but it lacks some of the depth of novels by other authors. It's still a great read and I highly recommend it, but be sure to read the first two first!
This review is an honest opinion, written for Bethany House Publishers as part of their book review program, and I was in no way obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action and Excitement

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the Edge by Mary Connealy is book three in the Kincaid Brides series. It was my first one to read of this series, and I found it to be typical of Mary Connealy - lots of fun, laughter, action, and excitement. The book begins with a shootout and attempted robbery of a stagecoach. Young mother, Callie Kincaid scrambles to save her infant son and the people on board.
Seth Kincaid struggles with emotions and hurts from his past, and the aftermath from fighting in the war between the States. Some say he isn't quite right in the head. His memory is patchy at times, but it seems he has forgotten one important detail - that he is married. He isn't prepared when the feisty woman shows up with an infant in tow.
This book is a great read and one I highly recommend. I look forward to going back and reading the first two in the series.
This book was provided free for review by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Amazing....

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So this back description of Over the Edge kind of sounds like my writing after a long day when I’m in a sarcastic frame of mind, so I had quite a smile on my face when I opened this book (even if I’m not crazy about its cover- aside from the awesome fonts. Yes, I’m shallow.) I have a vague memory of reading a book by this author several years ago. I don’t remember much about it, other than the fact it made me laugh. When I saw this book available for review, I figured it would be enjoyable, even if I hadn’t read the first two books in the series. Normally, it’s usually not that hard to catch up on what’s gone on before, especially if you look up a short synopsis of the other books online.
Yeah. Not really. I was so lost for the first few several chapters of this book. I highly recommend reading the first two books first. Why doesn’t Seth remember Callie? What’s the deal with this mysterious cavern? Who’s this Jasper villain guy?
I figured it out, eventually. And I admit this book had some terribly funny turns of phrase that the author is great at. Still, there were things that fell a little flat for me. It didn’t really feel for the characters. Really, I think this would actually make a better movie than book. Except…ahem…for the mushy parts. (can you see my middle-schooler shiver? I always feel like a kid complaining about cooties when I say "mushy". But hey, that’s what it is, right?) Now, the characters were married, and it wasn’t as though the scenes were immoral, just…uncomfortable. Like I’m feeling right now writing about it. Let’s just say I skipped a few parts. okay...A lot of parts.
Ahem. Moving on.
I was a little apprehensive of whether or not I would like Callie, because sometimes "strong" heroines just come off as annoying, but I found her better than most. Seth was…interesting. You don’t often come across heroes who are a little nuts. I was having Jack Sparrow flashbacks. (Okay, okay, that’s an exaggeration. He wasn’t really that crazy.) Actually, I was a little worried at first, because Seth was acting oddly. But he won me over eventually.
Also, both my sister (who read the first few chapters) and I noticed that the writing seemed choppy in places, and as Emily noted, "it just doesn’t seem edited enough."
I think my main problem with this book was that it seemed unsure whether to be silly or sincere. After reading the back, I guess I kind of wanted something face-paced and laugh-out-loud funny. Sometimes it approached this and made me smile, but it never really made me laugh. I guess that describes my reaction to this book it general: I liked it, but not enough.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a pleasant read

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda Walters
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The male "hero" (Seth) in this story was very different; not your usual strong, always knowing what to do at every moment hero. I liked that especially because he wasn't written as a weak man, just someone who had and was having some very unusual happenings and was very likable. I enjoyed the strength that Callie brought to the story as well. I have not read the prior stories of the other brothers but since they were also included in this story; it did make me want to read about the others as well. My only negative about the story is at one point, it kind of bogged down for a short time, where nothing seemed to be happening; not even in the relationships. It was just like they were spinning their wheels. But I kept reading and I am glad to say that it picked back up again and finished well. I wouldn't say it was one of my favorite books but I did find some humor in it and it had its moments.
I received a free copy of this novel from Bethany House Publishers as part of their book review program, and I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nobody does crazy like Mary Connealy.

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Regina Jennings
Location:Oklahoma
After meeting Seth Kincaid in the previous two “Kincaid Brides” books I wondered if I could buy into him as a hero. Usually I cheer for the steady, responsible, gainfully-employed types. I can’t think of any off-his-rocker hero that has won my heart in the past. Especially one who abandoned his wife and child. Redeeming such a character would take uncommon skill.
Mary Connealy… you got skills.
From the first page in Seth’s POV I was sold. Seth hears threats blazing from an over-turned stagecoach. His thoughts:
“A woman.
A woman who knew his name.
A woman who knew his name and wanted to kill him.
He’d never had much luck with women.”
No question, the strength of this story is being able to sympathize with Seth. I felt like I understood him, even when he didn’t understand himself. I also understood why Callie married him, nightmares and all.
This book is funny, exciting and romantic. If you like tough heroines and reckless but kind-hearted heroes, you need to find yourself a copy of Over the Edge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Over the Edge, Kincaid Brides Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Over the Edge...commedy, romance, and suspence

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Mt. Pleasant, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the Edge, kept me on my the edge, not just in suspend but in laughter as well. It was suspenseful with just the right amount of laughter as well. It was the perfect ending to the three part series. Every book was great in this series. In this book, Seth, the youngest brother, has finally met his bride, that he had forgotten he had, and at the same time learned that he had a son. The bride, Callie...well, lets just say she is very spunky and tough. She has gone through a lot to find her husband that vanished. When she see's him for the first time since he vanished...she takes a shot at him. He in turn fines this quite amusing and intriguing. The plot continues as the family fines the diamonds that were stolen by one of the brother's wife's first husband. In the previous books the person who had the diamonds stolen from him, had sent people to try and recover them. Now, the man finds himself looking for the diamonds himself with his wife, who is not happy about it, but goes along with it. Bottom line, greed never wins. The man falls to his death...but not before Seth, has had to come face to face with his demons...God brings healing to Seth and both of his older brothers, and brings them a younger brother as well into their lives. The story ends with peace that only comes from God. Wonderful book...wonderful series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>