Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1

Bethany House Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1

Swept away when her wagon train attempts a difficult river crossing, Ruthy MacNeil isn't all that upset at being separated from the family who raised her. All they've ever done is work her to the bone. She prayed for a chance to get away, and then came the raging flood. Alive but disoriented, she's rescued by Luke Stone... so unfortunately, there are more chances to die in her immediate future.

Mary Connealy | Trouble in Texas Series

Average Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 out of 51100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Review 1 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
susanmsj
Location:Odessa, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a great adventure. There was action all the way through. I loved the character of Ruthy. I think she is just what the women of this time period in Texas had to be. She was tough because there was no other way to survive. I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruthy MacNeil is separated from her family during an unsuccessful river crossing en-route to California. No harm done, as the family isn't really her own, but a family that took her in when her parents died. Working her day in and day out for years, she feels no obligation to look for them. Finally free of such an abusive family, she is relieved because they were planning on marrying her off to their less than honorable son. Disoriented, confused, and miles away from the scene of the accident, she wakes up in a man's arms.
But then Luke Stone carts her off on his horse, having no time to stop and see what became of her "family". Which suits Ruthy just fine. Until she finds out that he's headed straight for his ranch in a podunk town in the middle of nowhere (Texas), that is currently in the hands of one Flint Greer. And Luke has no intention of backing down until he reclaims what was stolen from his father. The problem lies in the exact details of securing the ranch. While Luke has the deed to the land, Greer has enough goons to discourage any kind of takeover. Luke has friends from his Regulator days, but will it be enough to take back his ranch? And what exactly is he to do with Ruthy, who has quickly laid claim to his affections and heart?
First things first. Luke and his friends are absolutely amazing. I'm not the kind of girl to fall for a bunch of fictional characters, but these guys are just awesome! I almost wish they were my brothers or at least real people. But on a more serious note, Connealy brings, yet again, another spectacular novel to the line-up, a solid winner. Her writing makes me reconsider my dislike of cowboys and ranchers, and makes me wish I could travel in the past for a chance to see the lives of the people contained in these pages. You will enjoy this romantic comedy no matter who you are; and the characters will quickly find a place in your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lot better than I thought it would be!

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of this author's books, and some of them were just too silly. This one was much better. It was exciting and was not too silly. I hope the next one in the series is just as good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great adventure

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swept Away
By: Mary Connealy
Wasn’t sure about if I would like this book or not. I am not a big western type reader. Wow Mary Connealy changed my mind. I think of westerns I think of cussing , romances that go to far. I love the clean view that Mary did.
Adventure throughout the book. It will keep you wanting to read so have plenty of time when you start. Starts off with Ruthy MacNeil getting separated from her family. Well people who took her n when her parents had died. I would say it was a blessing she was seeing their plans was to have her married to their son. She is found by Luke Stone who takes her with him. Luke has things going on in his life needs to get the land that is his back. Will Ruthy find true love and happiness? Will Luke get back what is his. Get this 5 star book and find out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruthy MacNeil is separated from her family during an unsuccessful river crossing en-route to California. No harm done, as the family isn't really her own, but a family that took her in when her parents died. Working her day in and day out for years, she feels no obligation to look for them. Relieved to be free of such an abusive family, she is also relieved because they were planning on marrying her off to their less than honorable son. Disoriented, confused, and miles away from the scene of the accident, she wakes up in a man's arms.
But then Luke Stone carts her off on his horse, having no time to stop and see what became of her "family". Which suits Ruthy just fine. Until she finds out that he's headed straight for his ranch in a podunk town in the middle of nowhere (Texas), that is currently in the hands of one Flint Greer. And Luke has no intention of backing down until he reclaims what was stolen from his father. The problem lies in the exact details of securing the ranch. While Luke has the deed to the land, Greer has enough goons to discourage any kind of takeover. Luke has friends from his Regulator days, but will it be enough to take back his ranch? And what exactly is he to do with Ruthy, who has quickly laid claim to his affections and heart?
First things first. Luke and his friends are absolutely amazing. I'm not the kind of girl to fall for a bunch of fictional characters, but these guys are just awesome! I almost wish they were my brothers or at least real people. But on a more serious note, Connealy brings, yet again, another spectacular novel to the line-up, a solid winner. Her writing makes me reconsider my dislike of cowboys and ranchers, and makes me wish I could travel in the past for a chance to see the lives of the people contained in these pages. You will enjoy this romantic comedy no matter who you are; and the characters will quickly find a place in your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Western Romance

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swept Away is a great piece of romantic, western fiction. It is a wild ride, has some light-hearted moments and definitely delivers on the happily ever after.
Luke Stone heads back to his family ranch to avenge his father and take up on the land that is rightfully his. On his way home, he comes upon Ruthy MacNeil, who had been swept away in a flood while her wagon train attempted a crossing.
Luke and Ruthy are such likeable characters. There is an attraction between the two of them that is easy to love. Both have had some rough times in their background and they desire to make things right for Luke, while also trying to save a woman and her children from a violent husband.
There are many great characters in this story, one of whom is Dare Riker. I look forward to reading his story in the next book, Fired Up. I also really enjoyed the deep friendship that The Regulators share in this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

swept away review

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Swept Away" by Mary Connealy is the first book in the "Trouble in Texas" series. This novel begins when Ruthy is with her adopted family on the Santa Fe Trail and is swept down river. She is found by Luke, a man bent on revenge, who is headed to Texas to reclaim his ranch. When the two arrive in Broken Wheel, Texas they meet up with Luke's friends from Andersonville Prison. And the battle begins.
The book has a great story. I especially love the Andersonville storyline. I wish Connealy had gone into it more. In fact, a prequel would be a fantastic idea. There is lots of drama and action, however, the diaolague was a little lengthy. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review from The Book Club Network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Would be a great cowboy movie

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If there is one thing Mary Connealy does well, it's a romantic comedy. Clean, exciting, and just plain fun, her novels can beat your average chick flick film any day.
Just as her "Lassoed in Texas," "Montana Marriages," and "Sophie's Daughters" trilogies were all connected, now her new series Trouble in Texas follows the Kincaid Brides trilogy. Luke Stone, the brother of Over the Edge's heroine Callie, is planning to start something akin to the next civil war when he heads home to reclaim his ranch from a land-grabbing murderer who killed his father. On the way home, he encounters the half-dead Ruthy MacNeil who had just taken a trip downriver from her wagon train during a flash flood. Since the nearest civilization outside of Broken Wheel, Texas (if you can call an Indian Territory town containing a whole three women civilization), is a couple days ride away, he brings her home with him and she buys into his fight for his ranch, along with some old friends of his from the War Between States.
Luke certainly have their struggles with vengeance toward Flint Greer, and his friend Dare, a secondary voice in the novel, has some trouble reigning in his hate toward the wicked wife-beater. No matter the temptation, though, these are good men trying to act within the boundaries of the law. Judging by the men introduced, I believe we can expect them to be the leads in the subsequent novels. Already the second novel, Fired Up, starring Dare and the Widow Greer, is being advertised.
Of all Connealy's "romantic comedies with cowboys," Swept Away most fully embodies the spirit of a good old-fashioned Western, complete with a good old-fashioned, Wild West shootout in the suddenly deserted town. This novel reads like a film, but no movie could capture Connealy's witty narration that typifies her books and makes them such a pleasure to read.
Highly recommended for all lovers of westerns and comedies!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVED IT!!!

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swept Away is an awesome tale!!! From the beginning to the end Mary Connealy captures your interest and won't let it go. She knows how to end a chapter and keeps you in suspense at time! :) Mary comes up with the greatest characters from a strong, hard workin', high climbin', fightin' red head; to a quiet, thoughtful, strong man with an awesome loving horse! I loved them all!!! (Especially the horse! :) ) The bad guys are REALLY bad, the good guys are great, and the actions scenes are wonderful!!! Strategy and good back stories comes into play with Mary's characters to. The first line of Mary's description in the back is all you need to define this book, "Mary Connealy writes romantic comedy with cowboys." Yup that's it exactly!!! :) Filled with humor but also some very serious scenes Swept Away has a little of everything. A story that is well written and can't be missed. A must read by far! :) I can't wait for Fired Up and the continued story of these characters!!! I also want to give a shout out to Dan Pitts for a excellent cover design! The characters within reflect those of the cover and I LOVE it when they do! :)
3 songs that I think fit somewhat with Swept Away are: "I Need You" by Faith Hill and Tim McGraw, "Swept Away" by Piano Music, and "Battle Hymn of the Republic" by Shedaisy
Proverbs 18:24
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Endearing Western...

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always enjoyed Mary Connealy's books, but I think this series debut was by far my favorite. The author does a fantastic job of building loveable and relatable characters. My favorite aspect of this book was the morals and integrity of the characters in the face of very serious, dark and difficult situations. I also loved the camaraderie amongst the "Regulators." This story dealt with some very serious issues, that are very relatable to today's world. I think my favorite quote was spoken by the Pastor, Jonas. He tells the men, before they set out for a battle (a true Western style shoot-out) "If you want God on your side, you'd better be on His." This quote in short sums up the whole point of this book. In our lives, every day we should make sure that God is at the center of our interactions, our words and our deeds.
The only area I would critique this book, (and this is true I believe of all of Mary Connealy's books), is that the romance is quick and predictable. The author doesn't waste time building a romance, which at times is refreshing, but also a bit unrealistic.
Other than that, I greatly enjoyed this book. My favorite aspect however was the strong Christian thread woven from beginning to end. Every thought and deed was measured from a Biblical view. (Also, the shootout in the last several chapters was one of the best action sequences I have read in a long time!) I look forward to reading the rest of this series because I already adore the characters introduced in this debut!
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review of this book. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get Swept Away in a fun series debut!

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swept Away
Trouble in Texas Book 1
By Mary Connealy
Luke Stone is on a mission. He is going to get back what was stolen from him the S Bar S Ranch and to get justice for his murdered father.
But a flash flood adds a complication to his quest for justice when he comes across Ruthy MacNeil. Ruthy's wagon train was caught in a flash flood miles away upriver and she is the lone survivor. What some might view as a horrific tragedy is actually an escape for Ruthy from the family who took her in after her own died.
With nothing else to do, Luke takes the young woman that he found with him, but is the danger he is taking her into going to cost her life or give her a new beginning?
Offering help and support to Luke are the friends that he made during the Civil War. But Flint Greer is a man of power who has driven most people from the area including all the families. Can Justice be found when lawlessness and murder rule the land? Luke and Ruthy are about to find out.
Swept Away is an intense reading experience that mixes in a good dose of humor with a touch of romance. This is an excellent series debut that will leaving waiting for book 2, of which there is an excerpt included.
This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers through BookFun.org in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review: Swept Away

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. With a new twist on Out West adventures, the story was intereting and I found myself really liking the characters and really engaged in the story! I couldn't wait to findout what happened.
My complaint is that I didn't think the back cover description was very accurate of what actually happened in the story. From the back cover, I had the impression that Luke was ruthlessly set on getting even at all costs, but really he wants to just get his land back and go on peacefully.
I liked how the storyline ended up being more than just what it originally seemed. I'm glad that I read this interesting, enjoyable book. I would recommend it to anyone who likes historical fiction.
Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for sending me a complimentary copy of Swept Away in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a definite must read Christian romance

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
mustlovetoread
Location:Newport VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swept Away
By Mary Connealy
I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for a review. What do you do when the family you are in beats you? See what happens when a group of friends band together to seek justice in the Old West.
Ruthy MacNeil’s parents died and Ma and Pa Reinhardt take her in to do all their chores and marry their son Virgil. They are headed west in a wagon train when they try to cross a river and are swept away. Only Ruthy survives.
Luke Stone’s father was killed and Flint Greer has taken over his ranch while he was gone. Now that Luke is back, he is after justice and getting his ranch back. But how can he do that with all the gunfighters Greer has hired watching who comes and goes? Luke’s friends Jonas Cahill the parson, Vince Yates the lawyer, Dare Riker the doctor, and Big John are willing to help Luke, but will the whole town be destroyed in the process? And what should Luke do with Ruthy now that he has saved her from the Reinhardts and the river? She’s the workingest woman he’s ever seen, but is she the woman for Luke?
Greer took over Mr. Stone’s ranch and then decided to find a wife. He marries Glynna but soon starts beating her and scaring her kids. How can Glynna escape with her life and keep her kids safe? Dare has been called to the ranch twice to tend to Glynna’s injuries. He finally realizes she isn’t clumsy but is being beaten. Can he help her and the kids escape as he helps Luke get his ranch back?
If you enjoy a great Christian romance set in the old West this is the story for you! I can’t wait to read the rest of the stories in this series. Mary Connealy blends humor, faith, romance, and friendship into this series. By the time you finish this first book, you will have found new friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Great from Connealy

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
GRITS
Location:Georgia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great book from Mary Connealy!!! Once you get into this book, you'll realize that it is an off shoot of her series the Kincaid Bride's, Seth's wife is the sister of Luke Stone. ( I thought this was pretty awesome personally :))
Ruthy MacNeil was taken in by a family when her parents died, and she's been living with them ever since. They work her to the bone, and do nothing for themselves. So when they decide to head out west, she of course has to come with. She's planning her escape until they come across a river that will send her going in a different direction than she had planned.
Luke is coming home to reclaim his ranch. And along the way, he finds a filthy girl floating in the river. Good conscience doesn't allow him to just leave her, and any town would be taking him to far out of his way from getting home. So the girl goes with him.
Little do both of them know that Ruthy is wading into the fight right along side Luke. And Luke doesn't want her there. He can't deny that she is a hard worker, and basically just as good as him in the tracking and shooting departments. But she's a woman, and can't be put in danger right?? :) wrong...she helps anyway. Will her stubbornness ruin the love that can bloom here? Or will it make this team that much stronger?
*I received this book from Bethany House Publishers, and was given permission to post my thoughts on it whether they be positive or negative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Exciting Western Read

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Hayden, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Luke Stone is a cowboy on a mission and that mission involves a Texas sized dose of revenge. The Civil War is over and Luke is on his way back to Broken Wheel, Texas to reclaim his father’s ranch that was stolen by the malicious Flint Greer. When Luke finds Ruthy unconscious in the river he has no choice but to take her along for the ride.
Ruthy MacNeil is hard working and feisty. Orphaned at a young age she was taken in by the Reinhardts, who had anything but Ruthy’s well-being on their minds. She has spent the last few years of her life serving as the Reinhardt’s personal slave and fighting off advances from Virgil Reinhardt. Suffice it to say, she is just fine with being separated from her “family” in a flash flood.
Swept Away was a fast paced, enjoyable read that kept me turning pages till the last gun was holstered. Mary Connealy certainly knows how to weave together action, humor and a few handsome cowboys! A Wild West shoot out never hurts does it? The best part of this book, however, had to be the strong band of supporting characters. I fell in love instantly with sarcastic Dr. Dare Riker, Pastor Jonas Cahill, slick lawyer Vince Yates and Texas Ranger Big John Conroy. I’m looking forward to the rest of the series to hear more from these wonderful characters. I would recommend Swept Away for anyone who loves an exciting western read with plenty of action.
***I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sad to see it end

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With fresh, well rounded characters, lots of action and romance, Mary Connealy has written a winner.
Feisty redhead, Ruthy MacNeil, is on the losing side of everything, it seems. So is it any wonder her wagon is overturned in a raging river? Would anyone listen when she warns them of impending danger? No, just another one for the books. But when she's sure she's seen the last of life, strong arms, a gentle smile, and a handsome cowboy save her from the wreck that almost claimed her life. She finds that God's in the details, and can she help it if those details include gorgeous eyes and dark hair? They're certainly better than the odious man she was intended for.
Luke Stone isn't going courting. Unless it's trouble. Intent on retaking the ranch that's been stolen from his family, he's not on the lookout for the little redhead that's all spitfire, and well, cuteness, he can't resist her charms.
Mary Connealy writes with a fresh, tart twist, and never fails to make me smile. I fell in love not only with her deep, rounded characters, the fresh plot, handsome men and strong women, but I was sad when the story came to an end. I highly recommend this book, as well as this author. Crisp, clear, and heartwarming, she reminds us that God is the One who is really in control ~ even when we think He isn't listening.
**My thanks to Bethany Publishers for providing me a book in exchange for my honest review. I am not required they be positive, and these thoughts are my own.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Christian romance

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruthy finds herself swept downstream after a fatal river crossing. She is thankful to be alive and equally thankful to be away from her adoptive family. This saves her the trouble of running away. The only problem will be the man who rescued her. When Luke begins his journey back to save his father's ranch, he never imagined that he'd have a wet, bedraggled woman along for the ride. But she's in the thick of it now, and there is nothing he can do about it.
I really had fun reading this story. It grabbed my attention from the very beginning. While it definitely had its moments of drama and suspense, it also had humorous and romantic parts. Christian elements were woven in quite nicely. One of my favorite parts was the elements of brotherhood that enabled Luke to reclaim his ranch. While tying up the current story the author also left parts open for the next book in the series. I'm now eagerly waiting for September so I can continue reading the story.
I received this book free of charge from Bethany House and Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Christian Western I've read in a long time...

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, so I wasn't sure I was going to like this book at first, I mean it looked and sounded like a light historical book without much substance. Well, I was definitely WRONG about that!
What I thought I was getting: Fluffy historical romance.
What I actually got: A wonderful western!
I will step on some toes and irritate a few people here, but I feel that generally speaking women can't write westerns very well. And so often Christian authors miss the boat, eerrr wagon, on writing good western stories, tending to tame down the bad guys and leave out the shoot-outs. OK, OK, maybe I have watched too many John Wayne movies, but.... Mary Connealy was right on the money with Swept Away! This book had all the grit and tumbleweeds of a good western without the lack of morals.
The main characters were Christians but didn't shy away from defending others with various means of force. Yes, they tried to do everything within the bounds of the law but they also did what it took to get the job done.
So, we have good characters but what else? In my opinion, excellent descriptions of the scenery, but not overdone. The action sequences were fast paced and well placed, kept me turning the next page. I felt the story was believable, emotions, actions, plot, all good. There are some difficult issues in this story, specifically physical and verbal abuse, I felt the author handled this very well, contrasting the harshness of it with the gentle love of a mother for her children and the kindness of strangers.
This book most definitely has the 4-E's. Engaging, Engrossing, Entertaining, Enjoyable.
This is the first Mary Connealy book I have read but it will not be my last and I am anxiously awaiting the release of the 2nd book in this series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swept away by Swept Away

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read a book I did not love by Mary Connealy and her new Trouble In Texas: Book #1, Swept Away is no exception. Ruthy and Luke are the perfect hero and heroine. Mary takes us on a delightful adventure that is sure to continue throughout this series. I love that we are "introduced" to the characters that will be in future books. Ruthy was most certainly "Swept Away" in more ways that one. I look forward to the other books in the series. Thank you, Mary for the many smiles on my face as I was "swept away" by Swept Away.
I received this book from Net Galley(ebook) and Bethany House (paperback) for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Swept Away, Trouble in Texas Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great start to a new series

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
gladeslibrarian
Location:Belle Glade, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruthy MacNeil was taken in by a family in her community after her parents died. It was considered by all to be an act of kindness. What no one else knew was that her new family treated her like a slave. From sunrise to sunset they worked her to the bone while they sat around giving orders. When their westward-bound wagons came upon a fast-moving river Pa Reinhardt decided they couldn’t wait for the weather to settle down. They had to cross right away. The raging river overtook their wagons casting everyone downstream. Ruthy was the only survivor.
Luke, on a mission to reclaim his family ranch, came across Ruthy who was injured and barely floating in the river. He was surprised to find her alive. He couldn’t leave her there on her own but he didn’t have time to take her anywhere other than his destination. He was meeting up with friends in Broken Sound to take on Flint Greer, the man who stole his family’s homestead. He didn’t want to keep them waiting. So he gathered her up and continued on his journey.
Swept Away is an adventure that shifts between the building tensions of the impending showdown with Greer and Luke’s increasing interest in Ruthy. Connealy is able to give an action-packed down-and-dirty showdown alongside a budding relationship without either profanity or indecent behavior. It was a pleasant and engaging read. After only a few chapters, I too, was swept away.
This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Connealy, Mary. Swept Away (Trouble in Texas, Book 1). Grand Rapids: Bethany House Publishers, 2013. ISBN: 978-0-7642-0914-7 (pbk.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.