Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2

Bethany House Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2

Dare Riker is a doctor who saves lives, but someone seems determined to end his. It may have something to do with the traitors he dealt with during the Civil War, or it might be related to the recent incident with Flint Greer and the ranch. Whoever the culprit is, he or she seems really fired up, and Dare can't let his guard down for a moment, which is a challenge, since right now he's trying to win theheart of the recently widowed Glynna.

Glynna Greer came west as a mail-order bride and ended up in a bad situation. Now her husband, Flint, is dead, and she's determined to care for her son and daughter on her own. She wants to believe Dare Riker is as decent as he seems, but she's terrified to lock herself into another marriage. She plans to support her small family by opening a diner-never mind that cooking is not her greatest talent. Themen in Broken Wheel, Texas, are so desperate for home cooking that they seem willing to overlook dried-out beef and blackened biscuits.

Glynna can't help but notice that danger follows Dare wherever he goes. There's the avalanche. And then the fire. But things really get out of hand when someone plunges a knife from Glynna's diner into Dare's back. Are Flint's cronies still plotting revenge? Is Glynna's son engaged in a misguided attempt to protect his mother? Is a shadowy outsider still enraged over past injustices? And can Dare survive longenough to convince Glynna to take another chance on love?

Average Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
22
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
45 out of 4992%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Review 1 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hilarious Cowboy romance w/ a big Message!

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm so glad this book picks up with Dare and Glynna's story!! There is a lot of action in this book and the mystery of "who done it" wasn't obvious until 3/4 the way through... And even then I wasn't absolutely sure!!
I loved Glynna's character. She was strong despite what happened in her life. She had the courage to pick herself up and keep going. Yet, she yearned for the love of a decent man and the reassurance that she was a good, honest, loving mother and woman. That's a character I can relate to. Dare Riker is an honest man, yet he can't seem to move past the fact that he isn't really a doctor. We see him fighting himself and God the whole story about it, at least half-hearted. Glynna and Dare fired each other up whenever they were together and sparks flew!
The message was one of forgiveness. God calls us to forgive others, not for them, but for Him and ourselves. As Dare reminds Paul at the end of the story, "It does a lot of damage to carry hate around inside," and "giving up the hurt and anger would leave space in your head for something better." Connealy also reminds us that though we are Christians, "live has challenges for everyone, no matter who they are." God doesn't smooth out all the bumps, but he'll get you through it!
Overall, Mary Connealy delivers another hilarious cowboy romance with a little action and a big message!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Suspense

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has suspense and romance! I gave this book 4/5 stars. I liked the suspense parts and felt they were well written and did not drag on and on. The main female character was interesting but did not have a personality that drew me to cheer for her! The male lead was one of the best I have read lately. He was smart, logical and easy to like. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys suspenseful stories that include an entertaining male lead.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Good Read

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
A Reader
Location:NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After having read most of Mary Connealy’s novels I always look forward to each new one that come out. Fired Up is the second book in the Trouble In Texas series taking up directly where Swept Away (Book One) ends.
Fired Up starts out rather choppy without much of an introduction of the characters. If one hasn’t read the first book one might be a little confused about the relationship among the characters and their shared history. It has been more than a year since I read the first book, so it took me a while to remember what happened in that book and who all the people are in this one. After getting all that sorted out the plot started picking up and moving along faster.
The hero, “Doctor” Dare Riker is falling in love with the widow, Glenna Greer, after having rescued her in book one from abusive and dangerous situations. Glenna isn’t certain she wants to trust another man after two bad marriages. On top of that, raising a rebellious son and young daughter isn’t an easy task in this rough, Texas community either. Book two takes up this plot and continues this theme.
In typical Connealy fashion there are several humorous situations and conversations in which the characters find themselves. Dare and his friends have to put up with someone’s murder attempts, an outbreak of measles and the wounds and sicknesses of Dare’s various patients. Glenna attempts to run a diner to make ends meet.
In this series, Mary seems to be including the viewpoints of a second couple who will be main characters in the following book. This couple gets introduced and their relationship starts in the previous book. One should probably read the series in order to get the full scope of each couple’s romance. Some authors can do this and it works. I prefer if the romance doesn’t start until the book in which the new couple is featured. If the characters are already half in love before the book starts, then there’s not much to write about if the book is considered a romance novel.
Mary Connealy is very good at making serious, innocent conversations turn into laugh-out-loud moments. Her dry humor and wit never fail to shine through in her writing. I always find myself reading along and then laughing when I least expect it. Although I enjoyed Fired Up, there didn’t seem to be as much comedy as there usually is in Mary’s writing. The characters and situations seemed recycled from previous books and the book didn’t really a have a fresh plot. I liked the book, but didn’t love it.
Fired Up did end on a high note with a good spiritual lesson and a sweet romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
GRITS
Location:Georgia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Another smash hit for Mary Connealy! I thought it was well done, even though a few parts of it are kinda cliche. I mean the mail-order bride bad situation, the not being able to cook, widowed....But all in all a great book. I loved reading and waiting what thing would happen next to the Dare. He seemed to always be getting into some situation or another. And then what food would Glynna try to pass off as acceptable for this meal. Between the love brewing with Glynna and Dare, and the antics of the men and children in the town, this book is a fun read to curl up with a cup of caffeine of your choice and just enjoy.
If you are looking for fun Historical Romances that have some cowboys or handsome men from the west in them, you are looking at the right author! Mary Connealy has some great characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:March 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
susanmsj
Location:Odessa, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in Mary Connealy's Trouble In Texas series. I am enjoying this series. I loved the story of Dare and Glenna. It had Romance, action and humor. I am anxiously waiting for the third book.
I won a copy of this book in an online giveaway and was not required to write a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Fired Up was an enjoyable read from start to finish. It's classic Mary Connealy with a winning combination of humor and action.
Dare's character is a strong but caring man who is willing to do what ever it takes to help this mother and her 2 children and just maybe gain himself a bride at the same time. Glynna on the other hand has gone through some really hard times that have left her gun shy of men and is determined to provide a new life for children through her less than stellar cooking skills.
It all adds up to a very interesting and enjoyable story and I would recommend it to anyone who likes a tale from the wild west.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I didn't get all Fired Up!

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fired Up is book 2 in the Trouble in Texas series. I did not have a chance to read book 1 but feel book 2 is sufficient as a standalone. There are some plot issues that occur in book 1 relevant to book 2 however Mary Connealy does a fine job of keeping you abreast of the information you need.
I really struggled with this book. I did not enjoy it like I had hoped to. Previously I've read the Kincaid Brides Series and positively reviewed two of her books; but this one was not on par with my earlier experience.
However in light of that, I have read many other bloggers who have posted reviews of Fired Up and there have been several four and five star reviews. So let me do my best to give you precise comments from my opinion to help you with your decision.
Let me start with what I did like.
The characters in the story were interesting. I especially enjoyed the Regulators. Although it took me quite awhile to keep straight who was who (this may have been easier if I'd had the chance to read book 1), their story lines were very complimentary. I loved the way they supported each other and brought different strengths to the team. I also appreciated Dare's core struggle of being a Doctor without any formal schooling and feeling like a fake. Mary Connealy did a great job of his arc throughout the story. The ending and resolution came along too quickly though. I really needed to see him wrestle through the steps of the acceptance of his calling.
I also enjoyed her settings - the drastic and often unforgiving rock wilderness was a treat to picture. The town and the locations felt very realistic and easy to imagine.
The plot of the story Fired Up is based on a woman trying to stand on her own two feet after several painful relationships and a man struggling with his calling in life to be a doctor - though not properly trained. I liked the premise stated on the back cover of the Dr having to clean up her "cooking mishaps". However when the story started to unfold the plot premise was weak. Men were returning for horrible food day after day because ... she was pretty. Even the Good Doctor himself ate her food in order to ... look at her? I needed a much deeper motivation.
Once the flow of the story took over and the threats against the Doctor's life began taking shape the read became easier to follow. Yet the story arc of Glynna felt unstable as well. She flitted back and forth between swooning over the doctor and resisting the Doctor. I didn't "feel" her much. I did like the reason behind her flits - her angry son - desperate to protect his ma. Yet, this needed to be explored deeper than just a short fuse in the boy. His big hurts in his little life must be so deep and so raw and so complex. The story wraps up too quick at the end with a fast proposal and a run for the preacher. The boy seems to just give in and allow it and then they live "happily ever after". I would have loved to see this fleshed out.
In the past I have enjoyed the easy flow of Mary's writing. It has been for me a fun, quick read that doesn't take too much work with lots of humor. This book didn't have the same easy feeling. The thoughts seemed choppy and repetitive. The writing felt forced feed. Perhaps if I hadn't struggled so much with this I would have enjoyed the entire book a lot more. To me this was the deal breaker. I am not interested in reading book three. However, I have not given up on Mary Connealy's books altogether. I will look forward to a new series coming in the future.
Reading (and writing) is such a personal experience. Please peruse other people's opinions and make your own decision.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fired Up is a Great Sequel to Swept Away!

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fired Up
Trouble in Texas #2
By Mary Connealy
Fired Up takes up where Swept Away left us. Luke and Ruthie are married. Flint Greer is dead and his mail-order widow Glynna is preparing to open a diner which may be the worse thing to happen to Broken Wheel, Texas. But her cooking skills are a boon to Dare's doctoring practice with all the bellyaches she causing
But someone is still determined to make Doctor Dare Riker a patient without a doctor. And they're determined to make Dare's condition deadly and permanent.
But the Regulators are determined to keep their friend safe, which isn't easy when the good doctor falls hard for Glynna, especially since her son is dead set against any romance between his mom and any man.
Fans of Mary Connealy will love the second book in the Trouble in Texas series. Dare, Glynna, and Paul have to work past the issues that are keeping them at odds with each other before it is too late and a killer manages to get his revenge.
Historical Fiction wrapped in Romance should appeal to many readers and the touches of humor just add to the fun. Escape for a few hours to 1860's Texas and enjoy a quick vacation from the everyday.
And I think there is a setup for a third book when Tina, Jonas's younger sister, comes to town and she's determined to reform it. I can't wait to find out what comes next - there's sure to be more Trouble in Texas!
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Bethany House and BookFun/TBCN in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
msandy
Location:Petal, MS
Fired Up
By: Mary Connealy
Publisher: Bethany House
This was a sweet story and an easy read. Even though I did not read the first book in the series I was able to pick up and follow the story. The story takes place in Texas in 1868 and is a fast-paced humorous romance mystery of a widow, her two children and the local doctor, Dare Riker. Glynna is rescued from a bad marriage by Dare and his retires regulators. Will Glynna learn to trust again and will she and Dare find true love? All types of mishaps plague Glynna and Dare and keep them apart. The stories that are developing with the other characters make you want to read the next book to find out what has happened to them. I give this book 4 stars. I received a free copy of this book from Bookfun.org and Bethany House for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Sequel

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Between house fires, a very angry young boy and one truly crazy cook with a penchant for sharp knives, Dare Riker is wondering how he will make it out of this alive. Glynna Greer is newly freed from a disastrous marriage and plans on providing for herself and her children by taking ownership of the local diner. The only problem is she can’t cook worth a lick. When the sparks start to fly will these two be able to stand the heat?
Fired Up is the second book in Mary Connealy’s Trouble in Texas series and my favorite so far. The story picks up pretty much where the first one left off and my favorite characters are back for round two. Including Vince, the no nonsense lawyer, and Jonas, the priest who’s not always as heavenly as one might expect. A wonderful new character makes her debut as well and she promises to bring plenty of laughs and one raging headache for Vince. That character is Tina Cahill, Jonas ‘fat, bald, sister he hasn’t seen in years.
Dare and Glynna were my favorite characters in Swept Away and they did not disappoint this time around. Glynna has been through two terrible marriages and the effects are starting to show in her children through her son’s uncontrollable anger towards anything male and her daughter’s too timid silence. Glynna is a fantastic mother who is always trying to put her children first while struggling to still maintain the newfound control of her life. She quickly climbed her way to the spot of my favorite character with her humor and her fear of undercooking anything.
Although this book can be read as a standalone I would suggest reading the series in order to get the full effect of the story.
***I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a die-hard Mary Connealy fan. I adore her writing. She's funny, whimsical, and at the same time, deep. Her stories can make me laugh quicker than almost any other story out there, with the possible exception of Shel Silverstein.
This second book in the Trouble in Texas series, was pretty good. It had the characteristic funny moments that made me laugh out loud (and make my husband wonder if I have finally rounded the proverbial bend), and there were parts that made me irritated. How this writer can describe a teenaged boy to such perfection, including his desire to be a man while being an obnoxious, hateful brat, made me wonder more than once if she's had to deal with this type of person in reality. And if she has, wow. I'm so sorry. ;)
I had the inkling that her next book in the Trouble in Texas series was going to pick up the story of Dare and Glynna ~ I was right. Glynna wasn't my favorite in the first book, but she grew on me a little in Fired Up. I still didn't like her as much as I liked Ruthy, but she was tolerable. One thing I detested was Glynna's son, Paul. Oh my goodness, there were *so many* times I wanted to reach out and touch someone with the board of education that it wasn't funny. I seriously wanted to teach that rascal a thing or two in a not so nice way and I praised God on more than one occasion that my son isn't like that. Whoo-eee! But, she created a character that I had an emotional response to ~ which is the intent of every author, isn't it? Kudos to Connealy for doing so with Paul.
The characters that really gained my intense interest and I wanted to know more about though, were Vince and Tina. Oh please, please, please tell me there's going to be another Trouble in Texas book that tells their story! Seriously. Sign me up right now and I will finish that book in less than an afternoon. It will be devoured. Vince is my favorite rascal, and he needs an equally difficult woman to contend with. Really, I cannot wait for their story.
My final answer on this book?
Recommend.
*My thanks goes to the publisher for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinions. I was not required they be positive.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the Wait

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
toliverc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Connealy delivers romance, comedy, and suspense in this much awaited sequel to Swept Away. Dare Riker and Glynna Greer continue the fractious relationship that began in Swept Away. Newly widowed Glynna is determined to make a life for her children, free of men. Dare understands that Glynna and her children have been hurt by men and may need time and space, but his attraction to Glynna defies reason. Meanwhile someone wants Dare dead. The reader is second-guessing the obvious suspects until the moment Connealy reveals just who the wannabe killer is. The romantic tension is believable because the conflicts Dare and Glynna face are just as relevant today. If you enjoyed Swept Away, you will love Fired Up.
I received a copy of the book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dare Riker is a man who saves lives, but he is not altogether convinced that he should be a doctor. With his experience during the Civil War, he's worked under a doctor's care. But now he's flying solo in the huge state of Texas, and he is the only doctor for 200 miles in each direction. He feels like a fraud by saying he a medical professional, but it seems like people can't stop having accidents that require his help. Between the avalanche that threatened to take out a few of his friends, the fire in his home/medical office, and various other incidents he can't seem to get under control, it seems people can't stop getting sick or hurt. Will he ever be able to begin a new life? Or is he forever stuck as a sub-par doctor?
Glynna Greer has had anything but an easy life. She's been widowed for a second time, raising two children on her own, no money, no resources, or a place to stay. She doesn't even have a plan for the future. When the town's diner becomes short an owner, she becomes the town's only cook. As her cooking is nothing to sneeze at, the majority of the town's men end up at Dr. Riker's door with stomachaches on a daily basis. Clearly, cooking is not her calling, but there is nothing else she can do to make a living. Then her attraction to Dr. Riker is further complicating her life - especially since she promised her son, Paul, that she wouldn't remarry without his consent. How is she going to fix everything that is wrong in her world? And will her children ever feel safe again?
This is a historical romantic comedy that I will never feel guilty about reading. It was just the kind of novel that you start reading hoping that it's good, and end up loving by the bottom of the first page. With Fired Up, you're going to get more than just a warm fuzzy feeling in the cockles of your heart; you're going to get an amazing story, an adventure that rivals any literary journey you've ever taken, and characters that will stay with you forever. Contrary to the popular belief that romantic comedies are for women; I highly recommend this to not only men, but even for the ladies that stay away from this genre.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Action packed fun!

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy K.
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE Mary Connealy's books! Every time a new one comes out, I have to read it! When I was able to get this book from NovelCrossing, I, of course, had to go buy the first one on my Kindle and read it quickly before Fired Up came in the mail!
You ask: Why didn't I get it right away when it came out? I read so many books... with a common theme: christian historical romance fiction. I found they stories tend to blur in my head, so if I read a series all at once, or near together, I don't have to research the previous installments. :)
Anyway.....
I really liked this book. At times I had trouble identifying each of the Regulators. I mean, without pictures how can you keep so many ruggedly handsome men straight in your head?
I love the action and romance Mary weaves in each book. I only hope she can write quicker! I read too fast! :)
4 stars
I received this book from Bethany Publishers/ NovelCrossing.com to review for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gret adventure

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fired Up
By: Mary Connealy
I really enjoyed this book by Mary Connealy. It is hard to put down once you open it. Story is about Glynna Greer who came west as a mail order bride with two children. First husband was a abusive man and she did no better with the second one. Her husband is killed by the town Doctor Dare. Dare kinda has his eyes on her but her son Paul is very protective of his mom. He feels he can care for her she doesn’t need a man. Paul doesn’t like the attention the doctor is giving his mom. There are attempts to kill Dare. His house is being burned down with him in stabbed in the back. Will he live? Who is doing this? Get this book you won’t be disappointed. Great adventure and twists.
Thanks to Fred St Laurent for this bookfun club and TBCN. Thanks to the publishers and the sponsors. Most of all thank you authors if not for you would not have anything to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Should be 5 Stars!

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review. I had never read anything by this author, and was told that I was going to enjoy her writings, so, I was anxious to read this book. I don't ordinarily read a series book out of sequence, so, it was unusual for me to read it since this was Book #2 and I hadn't read Book #1. However, that caused absolutely no problem, as the author continuously provided pertinent information about the characters' past, to keep the reader updated. Thus, this book qualifies as a successful "Stand Alone" book. Very shortly after learning some of the history of the characters, with examples of murder, physical abuse, child abuse, thievery, treachery and many villainous acts, I found myself laughing out loud. This author is able to give the reader suspense, romance, intrigue, sprinkled with the most delightful comedic dialogue among the characters. In so doing, it made this novel so very real, because that is how true life is, for most people. We have laughter among our difficult times. I absolutely LOVE this author and am so glad I found her. In this novel, we have Glynna, who had two prior evil husbands, two troubled children who witnessed much abuse, Dare, who was instrumental in aiding Glynna, but,in the process, falling in love with her. There is one who wants Dare dead and the book gives the reader many murderous attempts, but, until the very end, does the reader finally learn the evil perpetrator, who lurked throughout the story.
Now, I wanted to give this author five (5) stars, but, could not due to the huge distraction of improper grammar. It was very distracting to me, causing me, over and over, to stop my absorption in the story to be annoyed by the poor editing. It started on page 73 with the words, "these ones", which is so prevalent in today's generation, but, of such a sad commentary that an author would use this phrase to expose readers to poor usage of English. Another blaring error, which was peppered throughout the book was the word, "hung", when referred to someone having "hanged" himself. I notice many people misuse this word, but, I expect better when reading a novel. "Ms. Connealy, may I be your editor?...lol...I know I can do better!"
I highly recommend this book! It was super enjoyable, with a super sense of humor amongst super suspense!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fired Up

Date:October 18, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a sweet story and a very easy read. Dare and Glynna were wonderful characters. I love how their romance progressed throughout the story and the life lessons he would impart to Paul.
The romance in the story was sweet, but the friendships between Dare and his friends was truly amazing. I can't wait to read book 3.
I received a free copy of this book courtesy of The Book Club Network for honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A rip-roaring Texas adventure

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fired Up is the second book in the Trouble in Texas series. Mary Connealy pulls through with another electrifying novel packed full of adventure.
Glynna has had some very bad luck with husbands. Because of that, she has no desire to consider marriage again. All she wants is a fresh start to raise her two kids and start her very own diner. Problem is, she can't cook!
Dare Riker has been doctoring folks for a while. He learned his skills while he was in the war but never had a formal education. Dare believes he needs to stop being a doctor and get into cattle ranching. This might be a good choice, but he knows nothing about cattle. To top things off, he has someone trying to kill him.
This exciting story will have you laughing while enjoying the fun characters that the author has created. Be prepared to read about everything from cowboys and danger to family and love. There's even a great lesson on forgiveness thrown into the mix.
I enjoyed this book and look forward the next one in the series, Trouble in Texas. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes adventure, romance, and humor.
I received a copy of Fired Up from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

series continues, a little slower

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second in the Trouble in Texas series, but if you have not read the first one, you can read this one as the back story is clearly given.
Dare Riker is a doctor, well, sort of. He had lots of experience helping a real doctor in the Andersonville Prison during the Civil War. He's the only one around Broken Wheel, Texas with any doctoring experience, so “doctor” he is.
Glynna Greer is a woman who was rescued from her abusive husband (in the first novel in the series). She is trying to make a living for herself and her two children by opening a diner. But there is only one problem. She can't cook!
Dare and Glynna feel an attraction but there is lots of baggage in the way. Glynna wants to believe Dare is a decent man, but she has had such bad experiences with men, thinking of marriage terrifies her. And her teen-aged son is totally opposed to another man in their lives. He has only seen what horrors they've brought to his mother. And Dare is pretty busy himself, just staying alive - because someone wants him dead.
Connealy has created great characters. I love the rapport between the men. They know each other well and have fun teasing each other. I was just a tad bit disappointed with the romance aspect. It went fast – too fast to have all of the issues worked out. I really felt for the son who was so opposed to the romance. So, this second in the series was not quite as good as the first one. We are set up, however, for the next in the series. Vince has met his match!
I like to learn something when I read novels and in this series it has been about the Andersonville Prison, a Confederate prison during the Civil War. There actually was a group there called The Regulators who kept peace in the prison. It was a dangerous job as some of the Union soldiers thought the group must be in cahoots with the confederacy. The Regulators had a tight bond and we see that in this series. Luke, the main character in the first novel, and Dare are Regulators and their well being depends on their Regulator friends protecting them.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fired Up, Trouble in Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Her best yet!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m not sure how, but Mary Connealy keeps raising the bar for herself (though, I don‘t know how she‘ll top this one)! In case you can’t tell from the 5 stars, I loved this book! The characters were great and I loved the dialogue between them - it was so funny that a couple times I was laughing so hard I was crying!
Fired Up begins a month after Swept Away ends and continues the story of Dare Riker and Glynna Greer. As they deal with all the challenges that keep cropping up and attempt to solve the mystery of who is threatening Dare, you get to see their faith. As much as I enjoyed the humor and laughs, my favorite part was the faith aspect. It isn’t extremely prominent, but I still appreciated that the characters would stop to pray and consider how God would want them handle the situation.
I’m really excited to read the next book and find out what’s going to happen to this group of friends next!
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical romance with a good dose of humor thrown in.
I received this book through The Book Club Network for my honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.