Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3

Bethany House Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3

Callie Hoffman knows she has a good life in Kingdom, Kansas. She's thrilled to be engaged to Levi Housler, the new pastor of Kingdom Mennonite Church, and she spends her days working with her friend and soon-to-be sister-in-law, Lizzie Housler, at Cora's Cafe.

However, Callie's idyllic life is interrupted when a body is discovered on the road outside Kingdom and the deceased turns out to be a victim of a serial killer. As Washington County's new sheriff begins questioning Kingdom residents, Callie and the rest of the town are appalled at the prospect of a killer among them. The very reason Kingdom exists is to protect the people from the temptations and dangers of the outside world, but all the town founders' attempts to plan ahead couldn't prevent a threat like this.

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 33100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Review 1 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unforeseeable a Great Ending to this Series

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unforeseeable
Nancy Mehl
Book Summary: Mystery, Romance, and Suspense Seamlessly Combined in a Mennonite Small-Town Setting Callie Hoffman knows she has a good life in Kingdom, Kansas. She's thrilled to be engaged to Levi Housler, the new pastor of Kingdom Mennonite Church, and she spends her days working with her friend and soon-to-be sister-in-law, Lizzie Housler, at Cora's Cafe. However, Callie's idyllic life is interrupted when a body is discovered on the road outside Kingdom and the deceased turns out to be a victim of a serial killer. As Washington County's new sheriff begins questioning Kingdom residents, Callie and the rest of the town are appalled at the prospect of a killer among them. The very reason Kingdom exists is to protect the people from the temptations and dangers of the outside world, but all the town founders' attempts to plan ahead couldn't prevent a threat like this. Unsettled at this unforeseen danger, Callie is concerned when it appears Levi knows more than he's telling. Desperate to find answers for herself, Callie never expected that she'd have to face some of her own past's skeletons. As Callie and the residents of Kingdom fear this danger for which they never planned, they must learn anew that only God knows the future and their trust must always lie in Him.
Review: I loved the series overall. I found this last in the series to start out slower than the first and took more time to grab my attention. It was about a 1/4 of the way through when the story took off. I was hooked and enjoyed the characters immensely. Many things were easy to guess the outcome for, but right at the end Nancy Mehl threw in a curve that made the entire story a smashing success!! At times I found the relationship between Callie and Levi to be unexciting, but after the first secret was revealed their relationship got more believable. The most believable constant throughout the series was Lizzie’s dad. Many times it is those little things that make a story worth reading because the secondary characters help to make or break a storyline.
I would like to thank Library Thing and Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unforeseeable!

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The small Mennonite community named Kingdom has had its share of difficulties over the years, but their peaceful existence is shaken to the core by the discovery of a murder victim left along the only road into Kingdom. The murder of the young woman has residents fearful of what lies beyond or possibly within their isolated haven from the outside world. The lives of Kingdom's people are intertwined by their association through their local church pastored by a young single man, Levi Housler, who has been facing disapproval by older members of the fellowship. His marriage to Callie Hoffman has been delayed, and the wedding date will have to be changed once again in light of the sinister activities surrounding the community. Callie's past is buried beneath layers of self-protective defenses. Both Levi and Callie's best friend have witnessed the changes since childhood, and seek to assist Callie toward healing and the self discovery of God's purpose for her life.
This is the third in the Kingdom series, and I'm sorry to see the series end. Nancy Mehl has produced a trio of Mennonite suspense stories that keep the reader entertained throughout each book. Unforeseeable is no exception. The characters in this book are well developed and believable, and the developments throughout this book are unpredictable and suspenseful. There is unseen drama and heartrending circumstances that keep this story progressing at a fast clip making it difficult to set this book aside. The author has a gift for producing a gripping and well-told story of a peaceful community of people, and the affect that the outside world imposes upon them.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Suspense

Date:May 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was just as good a mystery as any on the top 10 sellers list! It is book three in a series but I don’t feel like you need to read the others to enjoy the suspense in this one. I liked that the main characters had depth to them and really thought before they spoke. The interaction of the townspeople is very well written. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend the book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction, suspense stories, and even Amish fiction.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Third installment in a fun series

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though Kingdom, Kansas was founded to allow people to live without much outside influence, bad things still exist and evil comes in from the outside. This is not a typical ‘sweet’ Amish story where everyone acts nicely and the romance flows easily. Instead, the story shows that even people attempting to live Godly lives make mistakes and there is no place without evil.
This book is a little more complex than the first two books in the series, but still a fairly uncomplicated read. I recommend this book for people who enjoy reading clean romance with a good kick of suspense thrown in. Overall, this is a fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book, Great series!

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are women turning up dead and while the people of Kingdom know they have to be careful, none have happened to anyone they know or near Kingdom. That changes when two bodies are discovered on the road leading into Kingdom and then one body of a woman they know, she was raised in Kingdom and had left years ago to get married, her husband is now a deputy sheriff. Things are coming too close for comfort.
Not only is it getting closer, Callie Hoffman and others are letting their minds run wild and suspecting some of their close friends and neighbors. When Levi Housler's book about the Anabaptist Martyrs was discovered on the body of one woman people do a lot of talking and wondering. Levi is the new pastor of Kingdom Mennonite Church and Callie's betrothed.
Callie has been going through some personal problems and Levi has been busy with a lot of counseling so they haven't been able to spend a lot of time together and they both seem to be changing. When Levi's book is found and he seems to be keeping a secret Callie has suspicions, and he isn't the only one she suspects.
This series only got better as I read it, this was a great book with more than one mysterious thing going on. I would encourage you to read these books in order to get the full story, you won't be disappointed. Nancy did a fantastic job on this whole series.
I had my own little mystery going on with this book, kind of, lol. I read it on my Kindle because I got it from Net Galley and for some reason any word that had double "f's" in it was missing the letters. Most of the time I automatically put them in as I was reading but sometimes they didn't appear "in my mind", lol and I would find myself trying to figure out the word, then I'd laugh and say to myself, "Oh, yeah, that is 'diicult', 'stuing', or 'o', get the idea, lol, difficult, stuffing, or off. I still really enjoyed the book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley <http://www.netgalley.com/> book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

unforeseeable review

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
If Kingdom, Kansas were a real town I would probably steer clear of it. It is supposedly a haven for modern-day Mennonites. A safe haven it is not. "Unforeseeable" is book 3 in the Road to Kingdom series. It isn't necessary to read the other two first. In this novel, a serial killer is on the loose near/in Kingdom. Twenty years before the killer had killed a number of women. He then stopped only to return and start again. As the women are being killed the deaths become more and more personal to the town of Kingdom. Callie, the main character, has a personal reason for finding the killer. Levi, her preaching fiancé, is the prime suspect, and she, his only alibi.
Though Kingdom might me a magnet for violence and per capital not very believable, the story line is still a page turner. The reader is drawn in and gets wrapped up in the saga that is Kingdom. The main fault would be that the Callie character thinks, speaks, and acts like Hope, the main character from book 2. So much so that I had to look up my review of it and look up her name to see if it was the same girl. The author, Nancy Mehl, could have done more to differentiate her leading ladies. The plot is nice and mysterious, the drama like a roller coaster going from romantic to frightening in a heartbeat. Despite the flaws, I really liked this book. B. I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Mennonite Suspense!

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Unforeseeable, author Nancy Mehl once again takes us to the quaint Mennonite town of Kingdom, with its cozy café, quilt shops, knee-deep, snow covered landscape, and the deep rapport of townsfolk. But soon an unforeseeable enemy hovers over Kingdom, creating a shadow of evil over this once peaceful community.
Callie Homan is engaged to the young, Mennonite pastor of Kingdom, Levi, and works in the town's quaint café with her best friend, Lizzie. Callie has painful childhood memories that she has kept buried deep within, causing her to have self doubts and a lack of confidence. She has always done what everyone has expected of her, even down to her relationship with God. Soon she even questions Levi's motives of proposing to her. Callie and her friends are terrified to be alone when the sheriff reveals that a serial killer is on the loose, just as a disastrous snowstorm blows into town. Can Levi and her friend, Lizzie, save her from herself and the murderer as well? Will Callie discover who she really is, and find God for herself?
Nancy Mehl is a master of suspense, and I could barely put this one down until I found out whodunit! But underlying the suspense is also a wonderful, tender story of God's inner healing of an abused young woman that brought tears to my eyes. If you love a novel with non-stop, heartracing excitement, twists and turns, and romance---this is definitely the book for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mennonite mystery

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sara
Location:Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is just as wonderful a read as the first 2 in this series. As a Mennonite community in Kansas, Kingdom seems like a safe and protected town. When a body is found just outside the town, the townspeople of Kingdom feel the community they have worked so hard to build, threatened once again to the outside world. Callie Hoffman has grown up in the town of Kingdom and is now engaged to the new Mennonite pastor, Levi Housler. When evidence is found that points to the idea of someone inside the town of Kingdom may be to blame for the murder of the body, townspeople begin to speculate if they can keep their small town protected for much longer.
Levi, Callie and the people of Kingdom face a dangerous winter storm. Callie is put in some dangerous, and life threatening situations.
This book shares how Callie faces some issues from her childhood, and has to deal with and learn to move forward with her choices. Levi and Callie are put in some situations where the "right" choice isn't always the easy choice, but because of their faith in God, they are able to make it through those situations with the Lord's help.
This mystery is a not predictable, as it kept me guessing. I would say this is my favorite book in this series. I love that some of the characters from previous stories make a reappearance in this 3rd book. Although, you don't have to read these books in sequence, I would highly recommend reading them all. These books are great! Nancy Mehl has a great talent for capturing the reader and getting them hooked in the story and before you know it, can't put the book down.
I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for my honest review. The opinions shared in this review are soley my responsibility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing book!

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jesuslegaleagle
Location:Chambersburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You ask, how can fiction be life changing? Callie is someone like you and me. She wants to have a normal life, but her past keeps getting in the way. We are all messed up if we admit it. Callie shows us the road to healing through her journey to Christ's freedom. Nancy is a talented author who amazingly weaves suspense, the Amish culture and deep spiritual lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Ending

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
calliegh
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Mehl's third Road to Kingdom book is just as gripping as the first two. Callie Hoffman has lived in Kingdom all her life. She has felt secure and happy or so she thinks. When a young woman's body if found just outside of town, Kingdom is once again being threatened from the outside world. The feelings of security have been shattered for the residence. The police think the murder may be linked to a serial killer. And just when Callie begins to question her own sense of well being, she must also question her future and whether to marry Levi, the new pastor, or not.
The murder and up coming wedding bring to light memories from Callie's childhood that she is not ready to face. Has she ever made any choices for herself? Has she only accepted what others have taught her or shown her? Does she know exactly what she wants or where she wants to be? When Levi starts acting different after the body is found, does she really want to marry him? What secrets is he keeping from her? These are the questions and answers that Callie must face and figure out before she can decide which path to take from the present. Then a blast from her past shows up in Kingdom. What will Callie do when the truth comes out?
The murder, her future and her life leave Callie feeling confused and scared. When her life comes is threatened, Callie must make some decisions but what will they be??
The whole series has been a great read. I wish the books would continue so we can see where the residents of Kingdom, a town in the midst of change, will go. What path will they choose for their town? Will they be able to decide just how far they will allow the outside world to come into their lives?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spell Binding

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unforeseeable by Nancy Mehl is a great murder mystery that takes place in modern day Kingdom, Kansas, in a Mennonite community. Callie Hoffman is engaged to the new Mennonite pastor, Levi Housler, and works in the restaurant owned by his sister-in-law, Lizzie Housler. Life is good and then a murdered woman is found on the road on the outskirts of Kingdom. It so happens that the murdered woman has been killed by a serial killer and it seems to be the same serial killer that was murdering women twenty years ago. With the new county sheriff questioning everyone in Kingdom, it is only natural that everyone in town is upset and on edge. Callie is troubled for it seems that Levi knows more about the murder than he should or is telling. The story is filled with suspense and near the end when Callie is threatened, then the suspense really gets scary.
This story is very well written and all the characters simply come to life on the pages of the book. All the action scenes are so realistic that I was holding my breath many times as I read what was happening and I was right there in the middle of whatever was taking place. I especially liked the way that the author had the people of the town putting their faith in God and being forgiving of others. Callie was especially working to become closer to God and praying for guidance so that she would do God’s will and not her own. The author keeps the reader guessing until the end of the book when the revealing of the murderer is quite a surprise, at least it was to me. I was very happy with the way the story ended.
I highly recommend this book to lovers of a good murder mystery with a twist, it takes place in a modern day Mennonite community.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the ending!

Date:November 3, 2013
Unforeseeable by Nancy Mehl is the third book in the Road to Kingdom series. They are all Mennonite suspense stories set in the little, secluded town of Kingdom. I thought this book was the best one in the series. It wasn't slow paced like the first two, and I just thought the mystery was harder to figure out than the others. Made for an enjoyable read. :-)
Callie Hoffman is engaged to Levi Housler, the pastor of the Mennonite church. She feels very unworthy to be a preacher's wife and finds out pretty quickly in the story the reason for all her insecurities - her father's verbal abuse. As she travels down the road of figuring out who she really is and what she really believes, she worries if Levi will still want to marry her.
Meanwhile some women have been found dead outside Kingdom and the police think it is the same serial killer from twenty years ago. Why is he killing again? And who will he strike next? When one of the deaths is one of Kingdom's very own, all the people become scared and nervous. Will they found the killer before he hurts more people?
The ending of Callie's story was very satisfying. It was perfect, and I have to say a little unexpected! Most authors don't do that in these types of stories so I found it quite interesting. If you like Amish/Mennonite stories with some mystery, you will definitely like this book and the series! :-)
I was given this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Conclusion to a Fantastic Series

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Nancy Mehl's books. She always leaves me with something thought-provoking to ponder upon. I feel my spirit stretched and my faith stronger for having read one of her novels. In Unforseeable, Mehl tackles the complex issues that come with following your heart as you travel on your personal faith journey. A myriad of questions came to mind as I read.
Should you forsake the traditions of your family or do you cling to the familiar that has succored generations of your ancestors?
Is there room for a different kind of growth within the bounds of an existing standard of faith?
Is there only one true path to salvation or are there a myriad of forks in the road that lead to the same destination?
Lots of fodder for reflection that brought me deeper into the story as I wrestled for answers right along with the characters.
The suspense is riveting -- and the contrast between the evil in the world and the haven Kingdom strives to be makes that much more of an impact as the action revs up. I got to a point where I just couldn't put this book down.
A bonus for fans of the Road to Kingdom series is getting reacquainted with characters from the previous two books. They provide a solid support to Callie and Levi without taking away from the current love story. And no worries if you haven't read the earlier books -- Unforseeable reads well as a standalone novel.
A captivating conclusion to a fantastic series that will definitely leave you richer for the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mysteries and Plain people, an intriguing story.

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daisies
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
{FYI: I received this complimentary book from Bethany House in exchange for this review. But this is my honest opinion of the book.}
It’s about a Mennonite girl named Callie, engaged to the new pastor of her church and working with his sister in law at the town cafe’. A recent murder just outside of the small town seems to be the work of a serial killer. And to add to Callie’s frustration, her fiance’ Levi seems to hiding something about the murder.
Callie lives in an apartment above the cafe’ and the cafe’ itself becomes the place the town gathers to talk about the crime, and whether the killer could be one of their own. Much of the charm of this book is similar to other Plain books, the characters and relationships in the community. I personally related to the mother/daughter part of the plot, due to my own story. I won’t tell you any more so you can figure it out along the way as I did, but I loved that part. :> I also love how caring Levi is and the wonderful friend his sister-in-law, Lizzie is to Callie. She and his brother Noah already treat Callie as one of the family, and are always looking out for her. Callie matures a lot throughout the story, and really emerges from girlhood into a young lady who now has a better grasp on what it means to trust God.
I would have prefered a better gospel message, emphasizing the need to repent of our sins and follow Christ. The author does stress the importance of being a light in the world as followers of God though, and there were a lot of great pearls of wisdom about the type of relationship we should have with God. Filled with trust, freedom, follow Him and only Him, forgiveness, etc.
Sometimes mystery plots are easy to predict, but my guesses were not always correct this time! That makes the story more interesting to me. I enjoyed reading this book, and I’m sure I’ll read it again. I’m one of those people who reads books over and over again. If you like mysteries, plain people and/or Christian novels, you’ll probably enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed this book

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, the reason I requested Unforseeable by Nancy Mehl was because I saw that the main character was named Callie! I rarely meet a Callie in real life, and I think I've read two other books with a character named Callie. It's kind of fun to see your name in print.
Callie Hoffman is a Mennonite woman, getting ready to marry the man she loves, Levi. But then a series of murders come to their town, and Levi starts acting like he knows something about what's happening. At the same time Callie starts to wrestle with some things about herself that she has never faced before. Will they find the murderer? What does Levi know? Will Callie and Levi get their happily ever after?
I really enjoyed this book. I felt like the struggles and doubts that Callie had throughout the book were believable, and there was good character growth (which I always like). The mystery was really good, and I didn't figure it out until the very end, and even then there was a little surprise twist that I wasn't expecting at all.
I also really liked Mehl's style of writing. If I had to pick one word to describe this book, I would say "cozy". Mehl's writing style is warm and cozy, which is quite a feat when she is writing about blizzards and murders.
I would definitely like to read the other books in this series after reading this one, and I would recommend this book! It had just the right amount of suspense, romance, coziness, and lessons-learned. Good read.
Note: I received this book for free from Bethany House in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Mystery in Kingdom

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
BTNSBJ
Location:Ashland, Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Unforeseeable' by Nancy Mehl, is third in the 'Road to Kingdom' series. At first I wasn't sure I could get 'into' this book in the beginning. I had forgotten who some of the characters were from the first two books, and I thought it was going to be the same ol', same ol' as the other two, but boy, was I wrong!
The characters developed a little slowly at first, but as I continued to read, I was really drawn to them and their faith in God as the story played out.
The townspeople have another murder to solve and the main character ~ Callie is engaged to the new Pastor of Kingdom Mennonite Church. Levi seems to know some things that he isn't able to share w/her about the murder case, which puts a strain on their relationship. They learn to lean on one another as the mystery unfolds and learn much about trust and faith.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book till the very end. There were several times when I thought the story line had a much deeper meaning.
Nancy Mehl knows how to write a good mystery w/great characters and dialogue, but still focuses on the characters' Christian walk w/the Lord, which I find most charming.
Thanks so Bethany House for allowing me to review this book FREE of charge!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT READ but read book one and two first

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stacelito
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It’s no surprise that Nancy Mehl has a Social Work background… Even though the there were few children in the plot, their presence showed a heart for the “downtrodden” and those sections of the story line were very well written. Additionally, Callie’s own struggles with being abandoned by her mother and verbally mistreated by her father made for Callie’s personality dynamics to be quite clear.
Being that this is the third book in the series, I had hopes of being able to connect quickly with the characters and circumstances that brought them to page one of Unforeseeable. Unfortunately, this was not the case for me.
The cast of characters seem to have been introduced too quickly or too many in one section, perhaps. For example, in chapter two (pages 31-32), “A little after four, I was bringing a carafe of coffee out to the dining room when Ruby, Elmer and Dorcas Wittenbauer’s niece, walked in the front door. Dorcas’s sister in Arkansas had passed away several months earlier, and Ruby’s father had abandoned her. Lizzie and I worried that Ruby would be mistreated like Sophie, the Wittenbauer’s daughter who had fled Kingdom last summer, had been….. And Lizzie’s daughter, Charity, had befriended the girl…” That’s just too many names and information for one paragraph for my brain. Later on pages 41-46, Mercy Eberly is introduced into the story. A man named Jonathon was in the restaurant and at one point, a man looked at his wife, Hope, (who had not been introduced to the plot at this point) and told her to “take care” while he helped solve a problem. Once I was able to discern which characters were nonessential to the plot, it was easier to read along. I do believe that much of this confusion could have been eliminated had I read books one and two…. That being said, I think readers should be able to pick up the plot and cast of characters more easily.
The mystery and intrigue in Mehl’s story was good! I had not anticipated the last few chapters to play out as they did. I did suspect the one “mysterious” person to be related to Callie but wasn’t positive exactly HOW she was related.
Once I got beyond the first few confusing chapters (and that WAS difficult for me at times), I found the last half of the book to be engaging and a web of intrigue. I suspect if I had read Inescapable and Unbreakable prior to picking up this novel, all would have been well.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing for my fair and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was kept me right on the edge of my seat!

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unforeseeable is the third and final installment of the Road to Kingdom series. Even though it is the third book it certainly can be read as a stand alone. Although I would recommend reading Inescapable and Unbreakable first so that you can become familiar with the characters who live in this unique mid-western town.
Callie Hoffman and Levi Housler take center stage as Unforeseeable opens. Levi has just been elected to be the church's pastor, and is facing a trial by those who feel he is far to young to serve their communities needs.
Callie, who has been taking care of her father though his long illness, is grieving his recent death. She is also newly engaged to Levi, and is working for her soon to be sister-in-law Lizzie Housler, at Cora's Corner Café. But adjusting to all of these changes isn't easy for her, especially after one of her conversations with Lizzie caused her to realize that she has always conformed to who others think she should be. Now she needs to learn how God sees her instead.
When the body of a woman is discovered on the road leading into Kingdom, a town meeting is held at the Café. This is where the local sheriff informs them that he believes a serial killer has re-emerged after twenty years and may be responsible for the heinous act. The women of the town are told not to go out alone. And, as you might expect, worry causes imaginations to take flight, causing the people to begin to look at each other with suspicion.
Will Callie and her friends be able to figure out the identity of the killer? Who will be next? Will Callie learn who she is in God's eyes? Is she following God, or just conforming to who she thinks people expects her be?
Nancy has once again kept me right on the edge of my seat as the plot thickened with the addition of some new characters and a huge blizzard that blanketed the Town of Kingdom.
I have enjoyed getting to know the people who live in Kingdom and am sad that the series has come to an end. But according to Nancy Mehl's July newsletter, we will meet some of them again on the streets of Sanctuary which is the new town in her new series, Finding Sanctuary, which begins with Gathering Shadows.
**Unforeseeable (Road to Kingdom series #3) by Nancy Mehl was provided for me free by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

loved it

Date:September 24, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Mehl has done it again. She's given us another wonderful story from the town of Kingdom. Though it's categorized as a romantic suspense, the romance is really not the forefront of this novel. Callie and Levi are already engaged at the beginning of the story, so we don't get to see them fall in love, but we do see how that love is tested.
I enjoyed Unforeseeable, more so toward the last half of the book, where the story became more intriguing.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unforeseeable, Road to Kingdom Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 stars

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Ahh we are back in Kingdom. I love this little place, it is so small and serene, except for mysteries keep taking place here. This is book three in the series and I greatly enjoyed books one and two. This one is no different. A wonderful story, filled with mystery, intrigue and danger. We rejoin old friends from the previous books, and watch as they come to terms with the threat that is facing their little town. Great book!! Great story! Nancy Mehl rocked this one! Be prepared for a big ending!! 4.5 stars.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
Available where your favorite books from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, are sold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>