Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House House of Secrets, Large print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House House of Secrets, Large print

When her father orchestrates a surprise trip to the summer house of her childhood, Bailee Cooper is unprepared for what follows. What is intended to be a happy reunion for Bailee and her sisters, Geena and Piper, quickly becomes shrouded by memories from the past.

Together again, the three sisters sift through their recollections of fifteen years ago... of an ill mother, and of their father making a desperate choice. They vowed, as children, to be silent--but one sister believes the truth must now be revealed. Yet can they trust their memories?

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
29 out of 3097%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for House of Secrets, Large print
Review 1 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Trust is so deeply damaged by lies. Nowhere is it more evident than in House of Secrets. You see fragile relationships on the brink of destruction because of mental illness, pain and misunderstanding arising from ignorance and avoidance of the truth. While most of the story was raw and delivered some sharp twists, the romance side of it was kind of cheesy. It was glaringly simplistic in a world of complicated relationships. Without that part, I would have enjoyed the complexity of the story more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Has some interesting features

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maggie
Location:Salisbury, NB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Interesting happenings but kinda unbelievable that the adult girls who lived closely together didn't talk about it and if they believed that their father killed their mother that no one said that to each other
Could have been made more real
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HORRIBLE

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Murray
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"House of Secrets" was mistitled. It should have been "House of Horrors"
On & on - AD NAUSEAM
I READ FOR ENJOYMENT AND RELAXATION.
I DO NOT FILE A REVIEW UNTIL I HAVE READ THE BOOK.
I DID NOT PASS THIS BOOK ALONG. I THREW IT IN THE TRASH!!!!
TRACIE PETEREON HAS ALWAYS BEEN ONE OF MY FAVORITE AUTHORS, BUT NOW??????
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jan G
Location:Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I have never read a Tracie Peterson book, but thought I would give one a try. I sat down for a break on Sat. while cleaning house and couldn't put the book down. The story was intriguing and biblical truths such as forgiveness and God's sovereignty were beautifully protrayed. I finished it in one day and wish I hadn't read it, so I could read it again. What a great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon Chappelear
Location:white city, oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a great book and it was definetly what i expected from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very real characters

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:Wellsvill, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite books are suspense and fantasy. I still read a lot of novels, but I am an action type of person. But this novel kept my interest like one I haven't read in a long time. I did not want to miss reading one single word. The story and characters are so real I felt like I was watching it happen instead of reading it. Don't know how else to explain it. I loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets will not stay secret forever

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three sisters come to their family vacation home and find
secrets that they never dreamed existed, but had tormented
each of them. Each will handle the revealing of these
secrets differently and thus make the sister bonds stronger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Budding Violinist
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
House of Secrets by Tracie Peterson is quite an intense book. Tracie follows a family torn apart by the death of the mother so many years before. Each family member has a different interpretation of the past. When the father demands that his three daughters meet him at their old summer cottage (the last place they saw their mother), the girls don't know what to expect. What good can come out of returning to this place they've all worked so hard to forget??
I would say that this is a extremely intense book, dealing with serious mental health issues, suicide, murder, atheism, courtship, and conversion all at the same time. The circumstances are so extreme and the conclusions so bland that I was initially tempted to write this book off as a superficial Christian novel that was far too scary to read before bed.
However, the more I consider it, I think this book does raise questions about family relationships and how family members can care for each other even in hard, confusing, or even wrong circumstances. The father is counseled not to tell his daughters anything; it will be better for them, they say. He takes that word too far though and refuses to have a relationship with them, leaving them alone often & only providing for them with material goods but neglecting to realize that they also may be grieving the loss of their mother as well & need him as emotional support.
For me, this book caused me to stop and think about how families can walk through difficult circumstances. The striking thing in all the characters is that they're doing what's best for the others; yet, in so doing, they neither address their own needs nor truly meet the needs of those they mean to help. Because of the lack of conversation and the fear of discussing the real issue at hand, everyone works hard and blindly to help. In this sense, Traci Peterson has captured the moment and the feeling of Christian families trying to cope with tragedy or difficult situations, particularly situations that "don't happen to real Christians." I would highly recommend this book to readers who want to go beyond simple Christian faith and consider the place of faith and family in trying circumstances. (Just, maybe, don't read it before bed!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do Not Fear

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
~Isaiah 41:10 KJV
Fear was something the Cooper sisters lived with for most of their lives. Memories that they couldn’t make sense of caused them this fear.The fear is why the sisters vowed to keep secret their childhood experiences. But God commands us not to fear.
House of Secrets grabs and takes the reader on a journey of healing the hurts and fears of the past. Bailee, the older sister, narrates and you can almost hear her voice as you read. The characters become real with each turn of the page. As I continued to read I learned why they were afraid, I felt their fear, and walked the road to healing with them. This story could be yours or someone's that you may know. It is that realistic.
I give this book 5 stars, for the story, the realness, the truthfulness. and would recommend it to my readers.
The Blurb
They vowed, as children, to be silent...
When her father orchestrates a surprise trip to the summer house of her childhood, Bailee Cooper is unprepared for what follows. What is intended to be a happy reunion for Bailee and her sisters quickly becomes shrouded by memories from the past.
Together again, the three sisters sift through their recollections of fifteen years ago...of an ill mother, and of their father making a desperate choice. One sister believes their silence must end and the truth be revealed. But they soon come to wonder if they can trust their memories.
Mark Delahunt arrives in the wake of this emotional turmoil. Determined to win Bailee's affection, Mark becomes a strong fortress for her in this time of confusion, and what was once a tentative promise begins to take root and grow. Caught between the past and an uncertain future, can Bailee let God guide her to healing...or will she risk losing the chance to embrace love?
Blessings,
Tammi
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

house of secrets review

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I received "House of Secrets" by Tracie Peterson for free from Bethany House Publishers. This novel centers around the Coopers and their house of secrets. Their are three girls (women actually, they are in their 20's), their deceased mentally ill mother, their absent father, and 15 years of secrets and trauma. The girls' father remarries and plans a family reunion at their summer cottage in Seattle. The girls believe that their father killed their mother to protect them from her illness when they were children and never mention to him that they know. He also never mentions her illness and believes that they do not know she was ill. This story is about how all the secrets come out while they are in Seattle and what are they going to do about them?
You may think that burying something of this magnitude would never happen, but I have married into one of these families (not the murder part, the secrets part) and yes. Huge things will go unmentioned for years because "its a secret". Why? No idea. And that is what happens in this story. One secret after another is exposed and the family is realing. This is a pretty good book. It gets a little preachy. If you can't stand being hit over the head with Christianity than this is not the book for you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If Walls Could Talk

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally enjoyed reading this book!
Bailee Cooper is haunted by memories from her past. When her father calls a surprise family meeting at their summer childhood home, she has to confront her past and the many secrets her family has kept. During the days she is there, many unknown things about their family come to life. She and her sisters have to deal with not only these new revelations, but also the fact that her father has finally changed his life and no longer seems to be the person they knew growing up. Bailee has felt estranged from God ever since her mother died when Bailee was twelve. She has had no desire to have a relationship with Him. But now, she has to decide whether she is willing to give God a chance to change her and help her heal the scars from her past or continue to attempt to do this on her own.
Her boss and co-worker, Mark Delahunt is a very strong man of faith. And although he cares deeply about Bailee, refuses to pursue a relationship with a woman who does not have a relationship with God. I thought this part was really good especially emphasizing the importance of not being unequally yoked with unbelievers in marriage.
I would certainly recommend this book.
*I am grateful to Bethany House Publishers for providing this free copy for my honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerpacked Novel

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read most of Tracie Peterson's books and she is a wonderful writer, but with this book, she tops them all! Bailee Cooper has carried an enormous load all her life, even from a small child. She has shouldered the responsibility for her 2 younger sisters, taking care of them, making sure they were safe, since her mother died and her father is on business most of the time. She has not even allowed herself even a small relationship with a man because she felt she couldn't debote time to anyone because her sisters were her life.
Then her father invites them all to their summer house where everything breaks loose. I can't say more but this book is power packed with emotion: grief, anger, guilt, shame, and every kind of heartbreak. Will these girls be able to live a life unscathed by these horrible secrets in their lives?
God's love also shines through in a very dramatic way. Peterson does not disappoint in this offering.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
smasters
Location:Georgia
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three sisters, a deceased mother and a lot of secrets! The sisters reunite at their old summer vacation home at the request of their father. They decide that when he gets there, they will confront him with a horrible secret that they’ve been keeping from him for years. What they didn’t know was that he had some secrets of his own to share.
This was the first book that I’ve read by Tracie Peterson. I liked her style of writing. It was a very easy read and one that held my interest. I look forward to reading more books by this author.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

House of Secrets

Date:November 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a fluffy, quick read, this isn't it. House of Secrets digs into the effects of mental illness on the entire family. The story is emotionally gripping, as the girls discover which memories they've carried in secret for years are true, which contain a grain of truth, and which are completely false. In the midst of sorting through the family secrets, Bailee resists building a relationship with her boss, while yearning to have a confidant at the same time. The story also briefly touches on the church's and Christians' reactions to those with mental illness. Despite the difficult subject, I'm glad I read this book.
With thanks to Bethany House Publishers for my review copy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope Restored- featuring Isaiah 41:10

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
JK Turnage
Location:Northern Louisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and am becoming a fast fan of Tracie Peterson! The book is about a family of three daughters struggling with the devastating effects of mental illness, schizophrenia, on their family. It is a story of God's redeeming love for this family and His healing power to transform lives many years after tragedy. The story is being told by the oldest daughter whose life seems to have been the most impacted by the illness of her mother. The daughter, Bailee Cooper, is reclusive, afraid of relationships and being hurt by those who might discover the baggage of her past. Though she has suppressed many of the events in her young life, they still seem to effect her. It's not until the father invites the three daughters to their summer home on the west coast the girls begin to put the puzzle pieces of the past together to enable healing. God's overwhelming Grace shines through this book.
Spiritually, there are many examples of how God supernaturally speaks through His Word, through people, through events. There is a developing love relationship between Bailee and her boss, Mark Delahunt (a Christian). The book speaks of how the church incorrectly handled the mental illness and the effect on the family. The most resounding spiritual impact is the overwhelming Grace she receives, as the Lord draws her into the fold.
I feel the author gives much respect to the issue of mental illness and schizophrenia specifically. She is sympathetic to all the victims in its path. I particularly like how the author addresses the positive and negative impact it has on and from the church. The book caused me, as a member of the church, to reflect about what my own reaction to these victims and their families would be.
Overall, it was a very inspirational read which brought me to tears and caused me to give thanks for the Grace of God in my own life. I do highly recommend the book to all readers. What family doesn't have some form of dysfucntion? It reminded me that God is still on the throne and able and ready to meet the needs of those who will call on His name!
I feel it is a safe read for early teens also. Topics in this book include, along with mental illness, isolation, murder, suicide, depression, cutting, sexual promiscuity (though only mentioned as having occurred, not explicit), abortion, foster care, and others.
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great read

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
nursemommypaige
Location:fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
House of Secrets kept the pages turning for me. It seemed like every chapter had a new plot twist that kept me on edge. House of Secrets deals with a topic that many people do not like to talk about or face, especially in a fiction book…Mental Illness. This is obviously a topic we need to face, because there are few families in the United States who have not been touched by mental illness. House of Secrets is also particularly touching because it is in the first person of a nonbeliever, and you slowly follow her in her quest for answers…and her quest for faith. A great read for the Christian Fiction lover!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dealing With Lost Childhoods

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bailey Cooper along with her sister's Geena and Piper have been summoned to Bremerton, WA by their Dad.
Supposedly their Dad has some information for them? What Bailey and Geena believe is that he will finally admit to murdering their Mother?? There are so so many secrets in their family.
The story has a lot to do with living with a mental illness, specifically Schizophrenia. The girls wonder if they have inherited this illness. There are flashback, periods of remembering. They hadn't been back to WA in fifteen years. All of the girls, even though they have finished college, and have excellent careers ahead, are having a hard time with relationships. They were actually robbed of their childhood.
Mark Delahunt, sees something in Bailey, and he wants a relationship with her. He will not go further into being with her if she is not a believer.
I love the way those who come to the Lord are able to find Forgiveness, and give Forgiveness. I also feel once you finish this book, it is going to linger in your mind for a long time.
I received this book from the Publisher Bethany House, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

House of Secrets

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love Christian fiction so I picked House of Secrets by Tracie Peterson to read since it was a contemporary fiction. I have not read anything by her so I was game to try her. I finished this last week and it has taken me this long to figure out how I felt about this book. I did not dislike it but I did not love it either-figure that one out.
The story centers around Bailee Cooper and her three sisters and their childhood memories that are not all that good. Their father wants them to meet at the summer house with great news to tell them. Problem is, they have not kept in close contact since their mother's death fifteen years ago. Bailee is the mother figure to the sisters and always felt she had to take care of them. The sisters think something sinister happened to their mother and their father was responsible. Were they right or were their memories tainted. The story showed just how damaging that their silence was not only to the sisters but their relationship with their father.
The story delved into the sad story of mental illness and what it does to the person and the family around them. It was a real eyeopener to me just how devastating mental illness can be.
I felt the story dragged somewhat in the middle-too much rehashing of events but in the end it was a satisfying read with how God can heal people and how love prevails.
Thank you to Baker Publishing for this free copy just for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is wonderful for anyone who ever hurts!

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Roanoke, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was hard to put down once I began. It is a wonderful book for anyone who has felt pain from the past and wondered why God allowed the hurt to have occured and/or did God even care. A change of heart brought about from hearing God's voice can change a life - and this is what this book does! It changes an entire family. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for House of Secrets, Large print
This review is fromHouse of Secrets.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Secrets within a family tied to mental illness

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Families have secrets. We all know that. Secrets they keep from one another and secrets they hold private within the confines of the family. House of Secrets by Tracie Peterson addresses the secrets of the Cooper family. Bailee is the oldest of three girls. Their mother died when Bailee was about 12 years old and the other two girls very small.
After their mother's death, their father manages to disassociate himself from them by hiring house keepers and nannies to care for them, and then later places them in boarding school. The book opens with Dad calling for a reunion of the girls, who have kept close to each other and involved in each others lives, across country at the West Coast island home they had been living in when their mother was removed from the home.
The girls have memories of emotional turmoil surrounding their lives while their mother was alive. Especially Bailee who bore the brunt of responsibility and pressure placed upon her young shoulders by a mother torn asunder by mental illness.
The web of secrecy covering the past and confusion about handling the root of these issues, and their uncertainty as to how they as individuals and as a family should face them stirs emotions and dredges them from the depths of their souls.
Tracie Peterson has woven romance into this tumultuous picture, and the healing balm of personal salvation takes place as well.
This book of contemporary fiction is certainly a different type of read from what I have come to expect from Tracie Peterson. I found it disturbing somewhat to read simply because of the sensitive and hard to handle issues of mental illness and the affects it has on all those with whom the patient has interaction.
Although it is not a treatise on a patient case or discussion of how to professionally handle mental illness within one's family, it does open your mind and makes you ask yourself, "How would I handle this situation?" "What would I want others to do if this situation should arise in my life?"
I can recommend the book for those who enjoy contemporary fiction and those who would find delving into the private thoughts and conversations of a family dealing with emotionally shattering issues.
I received this book free of charge from Baker Publishing Group, Bethany House in exchange for a review. I was not required to give a positive review. I reviewed this book on my blog: http://chatwithvera.blogspot.com/2011/11/house-of-secrets-by-tracie-peterson.html and on goodreads.com as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>