Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Reclaiming Lily

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Reclaiming Lily

A storm the size of Texas brews when Gloria Powell and Kai Chang meet in a Ft. Worth hotel. They have come to discuss the future of Lily, the daughter Gloria adopted from China and the sister Kai hopes to reclaim. Kai is a doctor who had to give up her little sister during the Cultural Revolution and has since discovered that an inherited genetic defect may be waiting to fatally strike Lily.

Gloria's relationship with her daughter is tattered and strained, and the arrival of Kai, despite the woman's apparent good intentions, makes Gloria fearful. Gloria longs to restore her relationship with Lily, but in the wake of this potentially devastating diagnosis, is Kai an answer to prayer--or will her arrival force Gloria to sacrifice more than she ever imagined?

Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reclaiming Lily
Review 1 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily was born in China. Before she was born, her parents were both sent to prison for crimes they did not commit. Once released, the family lived the life of paupers, instead of the well-to-do lifestyle they had enjoyed in the past. When Lily's mother finds out she is pregnant, she is upset. She doesn't want another baby with life the way it has been. Fourth Daughter, as Lily is affectionately called, is taken to the nearby orphanage to be raised.
Kai visits her younger sister as often as she can, peeking through the orphanage fence to watch Fourth Daughter grow up. One day, an American couple arrives at the orphangage. When the woman sees Lily, she knows she has met her baby girl, even though the child is already 10 years old. Second Daughter Kai watches as Lily is taken to the American woman and embraced as her daughter.
Years later, Kai goes to Texas to find her younger sister. She has news about a possible health defect that Lily, or Joy as her adopted parents call her, could have. She meets with Andrew and Gloria Powell, and eventually meets her sister once again. But the family reunion is not all smiles and hugs. Gloria is unsure about Kai's intent, not wanting to lose her daughter. And Lily has an attitude a mile wide, hating everyone and everything.
I loved reading about Kai and Lily getting to know each other, the smiles and tears as the sisters share and confide in each other. The transformations that take place in each of the character's lives is reflective of what can happen when we allow God to work in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

REACH FOR SOME COFFEE AND KEEP READING!!!

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily
A Novel by Patti Lacy
“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28
“When an insidious genetic disease strikes her family, Harvard graduate Dr. Kai Chang must alert Lily, the sister Kai left on orphanage steps years earlier. Standing in her way are the Powells, Lily’s adoptive parent. Gloria Powell, a shy pastor’s wife, distrusts Kai and things her presence will send their troubled seventeen-year old over the precipice of teenaged angst. A Texas-sized tornado whirls when Kai summons the Powells to a Fort Worth hotel. Tempers and cultures collide. Can Kai and Gloria, separated by culture and faith but devoted to Lily, reconcile their differences and trust their dreams to God?”
Sitting at lunch the other day with a friend, we leaned toward one another to get close enough to see the small photo of my new baby grandson less than a week old sent to me on my IPhone . My friend who has never been able to marry and have children looked at me through very sad tear filled eyes and said, “All I have ever wanted was to be married and have children, but it is now too late, and I am now too ill.”
So many of us desire children…
For many of us, we must face the world of adoption…
If you have ever wondered about the adoptions that take place in China, Patti Lacy’s book, “Reclaiming Lily” does a wonderful job exploring the subject to give the reader through fiction an idea of what might happen.
The character of Kai was so intense. At times I didn’t find I liked her very much. But isn’t that the way it is sometimes with those who don’t know Jesus? Those who may want something from us drive us crazy with irritation. Have you ever thought that maybe God has allowed for the situation to happen just so that person can come to know Him? That is why God gives us His promise of Romans 8:28. He is working it out for good. We need to hang in there… Keep going… Pray…
If you are looking for a good contemporary fiction book, I highly recommend the book, Reclaiming Lily by Patti Lacy. You will yourself reaching for a cup of coffee or tea as you turn page after page until you finish! Yes, it is that good!
I received this book for free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cecelia Dowdy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Can you imagine being born and raised and not being taught about Jesus? How would that affect your salvation when you are an adult?
Reclaiming Lily is a book that gives you a huge, realistic view of Chinese culture. When Kai was a youngster in China, she knew that she was made to be a healer. After political turmoil ruined her family's life, her mom is forced to give up the family's fourth child (Joy/Lily), leaving Joy in an orphanage. Kai, now a Harvard graduate and a medical doctor living in Boston, is determined to reunite with her "lost" sister, Joy. Joy has been adopted by an American family and Kai wants to reunite with Joy - there's a medical condition that runs in the Chang family and Kai wants to be sure that Joy is not at risk.
This story shows the vast cultural differences between Chinese and Americans. Joy was adopted by a White American family, and her adopted father, Andrew, is a preacher. Joy's relationship with her parents is difficult and she's the classic problem child: smoking cigarettes and getting into trouble with the police. Emotional problems run deep within this family and Kai eventually proves to be a welcome reprieve to the tenuous relationship that Joy's family shares.
I found Kai's struggle with Christianity the most intense aspect of this novel. Kai was born and raised in China and she does not have a relationship with the Lord. She struggles with understanding the "Christian God" and this book gives a realistic glimpse into the minds of those who are not raised with Christian beliefs - showing why they doubt Jesus.
Can you imagine being born and raised, not being taught about Jesus? Would you be likely to question God more than those who were raised in the Christian faith?
I highly recommend this book as an intense, highly emotional read. The unique story idea as well as the unusual twist near the end will keep you turning those pages, anxious to discover what happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love, Lost, Hope and a girl

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is such a beautiful story told from different angles and view points. On the one hand you have the adopted mom who has loved and cared for Lily. Then you Kai who is Lily's sister who had to give her up but never gave up loving her. Told in present day but includes flashbacks full of history. This book will reel you in and have you wanting more of their story. Lily/Joy is no longer a little baby she has grown into a teenager that is starting to question all around her. Can the 2 women who love her the most help her understand her life and do what is best for her?
thank you Bethany House for sending me a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great idea, poor execution.

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lily is a girl born in China, the third daughter of the Changs, an intellectual and independent family that faces the harshness of the Cultural Revolution. In a country where fathering more than one child is simply out of line, Lily’s sisters save her by taking her to an orphanage; Kai, the middle sister promises to bring Lily back into the family one day. Kai ends up studying medicine in Harvard, and she is residing in Boston when she learns about a fatal hereditary illness that could claim Lily’s life. In order to fulfill her promise, she goes back to China, but just in time to see Lily get on the van with the Powells, her adoptive parents.
Andrew Powell is a Minister, always with the right words and tone to deter any catastrophe of any kind. Gloria is his wife, involved in church, weathering issues that come about in church, but incapable of restraining her emotions when it comes to Kai, the woman that might shatter her already fragile relationship with Lily. A test of faith for both, Gloria and Kai, saving Lily’s life is the motivation to go ahead and both learn valuable lessons that will shape them (I hope) for the rest of their lives.
In a poor intent at imprinting suspense, the author uses almost unending flashbacks that are really confusing, leaving an overall taste of shallowness, which is really sad, as the idea is really deep, and a good example of love and forgiveness is always welcome. The frequent long descriptions distract from the situation, rather than enhance it; they feel forced and fake. I am sorry to say that the book became boring and that it was difficult to finish; at no moment did it interest me in a way that made me want to know what happened next. I did enjoy the references to the Chinese culture, which sparked my curiosity about doing some research, so I can also say that I got something out of this reading.
I must say that this would be a good book if you appreciate clean vocabulary, and want to be entertained with an easy book. Also, as I mentioned before, the idea is good, so it could be used as a teaching tool. For example, Gloria’s faith is shaky, so we can see a real person with struggles; Kai is someone who has been in touch with some Christian faith, but she has to deal with her ancestors and the teachings of a lifetime without God.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a review. In no way has this influenced my opinion on the book or the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Deep story with rich history and poetic prose.

Date:December 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Patti Lacy wrote a powerful story about two cultures and two women who collide over their love for one special girl. Lily, a young girl in a Chinese Orphanage is adopted and relocated to the Long Horn State in the U.S.A. She is renamed Joy and expected to live the life of an American girl.
Gloria, Joy's adoptive mother, struggles with a deep fear that she will lose Joy, so she holds on to her with an iron grip. Too tight - to the point of pushing her away.
Many years after her adoption Joy is tracked down by her adoring sister, Kai who has spent her life on the mission to reclaim Lily into her Chinese family. Kai brings a sense of family Joy has been missing. She also brings bad news of a genetic disease, PKD, that has attacked the Chinese Chang family and fears it may be poised to take Joy as well.
This story is moving and deep as it follows the roller coaster ride of international adoption, diverse cultures, teenage angst and rebellion, and life changing illnesses. Patti Lacy has also pulled back the veil of the Chinese Cultural Revolution in this story of healing and restoration. The story line is definitely worth the read.
As a reader I struggled with the lay out of the story. The backstory, flashbacks and switching view points made the beginning half of the story difficult to follow and frustrating to continue on. The two main characters, both women, were not easy to relate to from my perspective. However, by the middle of the story I was engaged and invested in the characters plights. There were elements of the story that I struggled to see the connection to the plot. This slowed down the flow of the book. The ending/epilogue felt a little rushed and disconnected but by the wrap up of the story I was able to see what Lacy was trying to show.
The aspects of the story I enjoyed were redeeming. The transitions in the characters was realistic and understandable. The faith issue was handles well without cliché or contrived 'Christianese'. A strong voice for Kai helped the cultural differences to stand center stage at all times. I felt the character of Kai was the most interesting and compelling. Kai's story became more of the focus of the plot than Joy. The research Lacy must have done for the story was extensive, but her accounts showed a confidence and power. There were many emotive experiences she needed to draw from. Well done.
My recommendation for Reclaiming Lily is to readers who are looking for a deep story, written with poetic prose and rich historical basis. The story will touch your heart and leave you encouraged.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An emotionally gripping book of hope and love

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily left me spellbound. The rich writing of Ms. Lacy beckons, and draws one into the story and emotions of the characters. I was surprised at how immersed I became in the story, I couldn't believe how fast the time flew by.
Miles deep emotionally, done in such a way that is un-put-down-able, page-turning. This book was a beautiful masterpiece, painful, yet inspiring, with a beautiful message of hope, perseverance, and faith.
I really liked how Ms. Lacy used two characters, Kai and Gloria, who couldn't be more different from each other to tell the story. Though the story is about Lily/Joy we never enter her head, all we can see is how those who love her most perceive her.
Lily/Joy is the fourth daughter of a struggling Chinese family during the counterrevolution of China. After leaving her youngest sister on the doorstep of an orphanage, Kai is determined to succeed in school and become a doctor as a way to help her family and get out of China's crushing system. Lily gets adopted by a pastor and his wife who rename her Joy. Joy grows up to be a trouble teen, but one tornado might just be the beginning of something wonderful.
Reclaiming Lily is a book that will inspire and entertain. Emotionally deep, with characters who will tug at your heart strings. Ms. Lacy has written a beautiful story that will capture your hearts and you will be loath to see this story end. I was amazed at how well done the character of Kai was. She was outwardly calm and in control, but on the inside she was confused, hurting, and in need of something more in her life. This is a book that you will not regret picking up!
Thanks to Bethany House Publishers who provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Patty Lacy's Writing Never Ceases to Amaze!

Date:December 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deb Piccurelli
Location:Gloucester Township, New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patti Lacy has been one of my favorite writers since her first book, because her prose is like poetry. To me, the way she paints pictures with words makes her the Leonardo da Vinci of the writing world. Add to that this moving story about sisters separated by oceans and a family torn apart by the ravages of an inherited disease, and you’ll never view life in the same context again.
In Reclaiming Lily, Harvard graduate, Dr. Kai Chang, needs to warn Lily, the sister she left on the steps of a Chinese orphanage years earlier, about a devastating disease that runs in their family. But Lily had been adopted by an American couple, the Powells. Gloria Powell distrusts Kai, and fears her presence will send their troubled seventeen-year-old daughter over the edge. Can Kai and Gloria put aside their differences, and work together for Lily’s sake?
I can’t say enough about how excellent Reclaiming Lily is. You’ll need to keep the tissues nearby for this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

an inspiring adoption story

Date:November 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily – Patti Lacy
Kai and Lily Chang were born to Chinese parents. When Lily was just a baby, Kai left her at an orphanage door, but always watched her from a distance. This led her to one day seeing an American couple take her away, as their adoptive daughter, leaving Kai devastated. She vows to one day reclaim Lily. Years later after becoming a doctor and finding out that her mother died of a hereditary kidney disease; she has a renewed urgency to find Lily. When Kai finds her sister, a distressing chain of events shake the sisters and Lily’s adoptive parents, leaving them all wondering if they’ll ever find common ground and healing.
It took a while for me to get into this story and the only thing that kept me reading, was having to write a review. I found the flashbacks somewhat confusing and not particularly helpful to the story. However, once a got past all that, it was riveting and I savoured every word, wanting to know how the lives and tragic events will all be unravelled. This is a story of bridging cultures; enduring pain and loss, then ultimately leading to God perfectly putting the shattered pieces in place.
In exchange for an honest review Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good story, but I couldn't stay connected

Date:November 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily is a book with many twists and turns. We have a family from Texas ready to adopt a baby from China, but a baby is not yet available. Complications occur and faith is tested. Lets just say God has other plans. We have a doctor (Kai Chang) who finds that her very sister (Lily) that was given up for adoption years ago might be a carrier for a genetic disease. So it turns out that Lily is the adopted daughter of the family of Texas that was in search of a baby to fill their home. Following me? Well these two families now battle it out. We see the best in them and the worst in them. Lily seems to be caught in the middle. Both families want what is best for Lily, but we see how selfishness can draw us from the real issues in life.
I opened the pages of this story and fell in love, but then just became confused in the story line. I just didn't connect with the characters and the story held so many details that is was just hard for me to really stay connected. It just seemed to travel back and forth.
With that said, there are many who loved this book. I mean, they connected and were so moved by the characters. The story line really is beautiful. What I loved in this story is the strong faith and lack of faith we see in the characters. It was real. There are days when we are up and others when we are down. In this story I love how we see family and friends lifting one another up in faith and bringing encouragment into each others lives.
This book was a gift from Bethany House for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Roller-coaster Reading

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Reclaiming Lily” by Patti Lacy started strong- I was hooked with the emotionally charged setting that opened at a Chinese orphanage, particularly since my family adopted a baby girl from China and experienced very similar emotions of excitement, anxiety, and uncertainty. But “Reclaiming Lily” quickly turned into a story that was difficult to follow and visualize. Before I go into the reasons for this, let me quickly summarize. Lily, a young Chinese girl, is adopted by an American pastor and his wife. Renamed Joy, she is an answer to prayer for this infertile couple that dreams of having a child. There is no focus on what Joy experienced as she left the Chinese orphanage at nine years of age and became part of a Texas family. Rather, the focus is on Joy’s elder sister, Kai, who becomes a successful doctor in Boston and sets out to find Joy, both to fulfill a promise to her mother and because of a genetic disease that Joy might be a victim of. When Kai does find Joy, she is able to quickly develop a connection and relationship with her that Joy- an outcast and rebellious teen- desperately needs. The storyline is engaging, emotional, and in some respects very real – author Patti Lacy skillfully develops characters that are true-to-life. But there are some issues that make this book difficult, rather than enjoyable, to read. First of all, there are frequent, sudden shifts in voice and time. For example, the story starts from the adoptive mother, Gloria’s, perspective, but shifts to Kai Chang’s perspective with no warning. There are several flashbacks that the reader will eventually appreciate, but initially be confused by. The series of events and the time span in which they unfold is also generally unbelievable; within a matter of hours Kai meets Gloria and her husband, explains some of her life story, goes on to meet Joy (in less than favorable circumstances) and forms an instant bond with her under those circumstances while at the same time surviving a tornado. There’s more to add to this incredulous chain of events, but I don’t want to be a spoiler. It was just too much too fast in my opinion. Once over that hump, however, the read is less tumultuous. The point-of-view is more consistent, and events unfold in a much more realistic way. The end result is satisfying, and I did feel it was worth my time in terms of being an encouraging Christian novel.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Fiction From a Great personanlity

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily is an adoption story peppered with the issues of infertility, difficulty in relating as a Chinese-born teen to white Americans, and searching for home. It’s a story of a parent seeking to understand her adopted Chinese-born teenager who doesn’t know how to express her anger at not fitting in.
Reclaiming Lily starts us in China at a poor orphanage where we first meet Dr. Kai Chang watching from the sidelines as her sister, Lily, is taken away by an American couple for adoption. A life long desire spurs Dr. Chang forward to succeed professionally and find a cure for the disease that took her mother—PKD or Polycystic Kidney Disease; a terminal illness remedied only by a transplant.
Gloria Powell, the mother of Lily or now legally named Joy Powell, is afraid of Dr. Chang’s intentions. Joy is her only child and she expresses her fears through her anger towards Dr. Chang. It’s hard to like Gloria. She doesn’t behave as most characters behave in tame, Christian novels. Gloria is quick tempered and prideful, but you can’t help but like her anyway. You can relate to her reflexes. Her husband is the least likable until he stands up to his wife’s willful ways, but in a way that honors Gloria. Joy is a typically angry teenager going through issues she can’t yet express in words. Dr. Chang is also likable and in the beginning, hardly emotional.
I love the way Patti pulls the story together, allowing the characters to develop and change in the most natural way a 373-page novel could, and the end was a pleasant twist. In truth, I was secretly rooting for that end. The twist she also puts in the middle of the story keeps this novel from becoming predictable. You can tell her trip to China in 2010 was a huge influence.
Bethany House gave me the book to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
B. A. Palmer
Location:Tennessee
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily is a wonderful book of fiction about choices made and lives redeemed. A Chinese family caught in a cultural revolution must make a heart breaking choice which places their daughter, Lily, into an orphanage thus separating her from her three sisters. Lily is adopted by an American Christian family in Texas. Ms. Lacy lets you into their home so you can watch many of the struggles they go thru, while trying to do the right thing concerning their “China Doll”. She becomes a rebellious teenager and then meets her older sister, Kai, from China. Kai has made promises to her dying mother concerning Lily that she must fulfill. Kai is an American educated doctor in the United States and her research is centered around the disease their Mom supposedly died from.
Reclaiming Lily is such a story of past, present and future. It lets us see the fictional life of others that often mirror our own. It is a story of a mom turning loose and gaining so much more than she ever dreamed. It is a story of a mom and daughter’s rebellion. It is a story of a mom, her daughter and the daughter’s birth sister all needing and reaching God in totally different ways. It is a story of pain, loss and healing. It is a story of God putting the pieces of the puzzle back together.
I could give so many more details on the book, but it is a book you need to read and see the particulars of a beautifully written book. I have so enjoyed it and look forward to another book by Patty Lacy.
This book is complements of the distributor, Bethany House and Baker Publishing. All opinions are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great family life book

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily is a novel about a Chinese family caught in the middle of China's Cultural Revolution. The family must make choices and one of them is to put their new baby girl,Lily, into an orphanage. This baby grows becomes adopted by an American and is raised in Texas by good well meaning Christians, Andrew and Gloria Powell. Joy, as the girl is named by her new parents, grows into a rebellious teen. Kai is one of the 3 sisters left behind in China and she promises her mother on her deathbed that she will find her sister and give Lily her pearl necklace. The mother is dying of a disease called Polycystic Kidney Disease (PKD). Kai as a way into America fought and won the ability to be educated as a physician and research PKD as a way to find Lily. Through much hard work Kai has finally found Lily and meets with Andrew and Gloria. This book is about the love that Kai, Andrew and Gloria have for Joy/Lily and working through those difficulties and getting Joy tested for PKD which is genetically transmitted.
This is a good story of no matter how well meaning and loving of a family a child grows up in sometimes the child needs more than parents can give. If God sends that someone else into the family's life then if you trust that God knows what He is doing then swallow your pride and accept that help everyone benefits. It tells of some of the difficulties of raising teens as during this meeting Andrew gets the call to come meet Joy at the local jail as she is being arrested for shoplifting. It tells how no matter how much love a parent has for a daughter they make many mistakes but they can through love and hard work be the daughter can be reclaimed.
I recieved this book from Bethany House for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another book with take home value

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patti Lacy is a must read in today’s Christian Fiction. She digs deep, intertwining layers to make a powerful story come to life.
I took a special interest in this story because one of my daughters looks longingly at what she calls “Oriental Princesses.” These little girls are so beautiful and “If I ever adopt,” she says, “I want an Oriental Princess.”
I recommend Reclaiming Lily as a powerful story of redeeming faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A deeply moving story

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reclaiming Lily is a story that you cannot help but be moved by, with characters so real that by the end of the book they will feel like family. I'll be honest - some parts meandered a bit slowly, and at those points I almost lost interest in the story. But I am so glad I continued reading, as I was ultimately swept up into the pain and the triumph of the characters. In fact, some moments were profoundly touching and brought tears to my eyes, such as the scene where Joy finds Gloria on the bathroom floor.
Probably my favorite character was Kai with her strong, determined spirit, rising above the tragedy of the past violence of the Chinese cultural revolution. Her search for God (or perhaps his pursuit of her) was profound and ultimately triumphant, and Lacy expertly incorporated the saving power of Jesus into the story without being the least bit preachy. The conclusion is powerful and left me with a feeling of deep satisfaction. This was the first novel that I have read by Patti Lacy - but it certainly will not be the last.
I strongly recommend this book and give it 4 out of 5 stars. Readers who enjoy contemporary novels, and books that wrestle with very real issues like cross-cultural adoption and the reality of kidney disease, will especially appreciate this novel.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This one will tear at your heart

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gloria and Andrew, residents from Texas, anxious to become first time parents travel to China to adopt a little girl whom they named Joy. As they meet and take their daughter to their awaiting vehicle they are being watched from a distance by a girl on her bicycle named Kai. Years later Kai is insistant on locating Joy whom is her sister Lily to inform her of their families genetic disease history. What Kai finds when she is introduced to their adoptive parents is a cold and unwelcoming mother. Gloria is frightened that Kai will take Joy away from them. Kai confronted the hostility and brought them into her world, one of a tortuous past in China. Joy now a teenager is having trouble fitting in with her peers. Can Gloria listen and follow her heart to trust Kai? Can Kai fulfill a dying mother's wish?
This novel has excellent dialogue and scenery and is a tear at your heart kind of book. I did not have trouble getting into the storyline but felt that more character development was needed. Going from the history to the present was excellent. The overall message was inspiring and I was challenged in my faith. This is an entertaining novel I will recommend! Thank You to Bethany House Publishers for providing this complimentary copy for me for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional on every level

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura Frantz
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rarely write reviews but this book gripped my heart so I can't do anything less. If you want a moving story that forces you to come to grips with the beauty of godly pain and loss, healing and hope, this story is for you. The characters practically breathe air and the spiritual message is beautifully woven into a can't-put-down plot. This is bound for my keeper's shelf only I want to share it with everyone I know. Beautifully done, Patti Lacy! Can't wait to see what you put your heart into next. Bless you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very touching story

Date:October 22, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever wonder what some Chinese people go through on a daily basis? Do we realize the heartache that couples feel when they must give up a child because they can't afford to pay the fines for another child? The Chang family had to put Lily up for adoption. Due to the strict Family Planning Law, the couple was forced to give up Lily, who was their fourth child.
Eager to adopt a child, Gloria and her husband Andrew, a pastor, have chosen to adopt 10-year-old Lily. Lily's name is changed to Joy and she begins her new life in America. Joy gives the Powells a run for their money and is completely rebellious and not very fond of Gloria, who does tend to be a bit overprotective.
Back in China, Joy's sister, Kai Chang, has taken care of her mother who ends up dying from PKD. Her promise to her mother was that she would find Lily and bring her home to be part of the Chang family again. Kai, who has become a doctor and studies PKD, has found her sister and family living in Texas. Kai feels it is urgent to talk to Lily because she's afraid Lily has inherited the PKD disease, as well, since it's genetic.
Once Kai is reunited with her sister, Joy, Joy just wants to be with her biological family. You can only imagine the hurt that Gloria and Andrew feels. However, thanks to Kai, Joy starts treating her adoptive family better and actually forms a much better relationship with Gloria.
How will things turn out for Lily? In the midst of all of this turmoil and heartbreak, will she turn to the one person who can give her hope? Does she have PKD and if she does, how will it change her outlook on life? Will the Powells and Changs actually become friends or will there always be hurt between the two families?
This is a must-read for absolutely anyone who likes a heartwarming story. This book has so many twists and turns and problems that arise that are similar to what a real family going through this might would face. I'd love to hear your thoughts on this book if you read it.
_____________
For more reviews, check out : http://litfusegroup.com/blogtours/text/13431458)
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse. This is my honest opinion and was in no way compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Reclaiming Lily
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully penned women's fiction!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Years ago a Chinese family had to give up their baby to an orphanage with every intent of reclaiming her once they could take care of her. When that day came it was one day too late and she was being adopted by an American family. 7 years later her sister, Kai, is seeking out Lily's American family to give them the news that their mother had a hereditary disease that Lily could be carrying. She finds the perfect little American family isn't so perfect and maybe just maybe they need her after all.
There are many points in the story where Lily is connecting with Kai and in turn she develops a better relationship with her American parents as well. There is a turning point in the story when we find that Kai can't be the saviour she was hoping to be but someone else can.
This book was intriguing and even though it was not a mystery I loved the twists and turns along the way. Patti Lacy has penned an incredible story that again reminds me that while women's fiction is not my favorite genre, when she writes it she crafts incredible stories that make them favorites on my bookshelves!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>