Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Prize of My Heart

Bethany House Prize of My Heart

An unsolved mystery separates ex-privateersman Captain Brogan Talvis from his lost son--his only living relation, his only family. Shortly before her tragic demise, his wife abandoned their infant to strangers, refusing to reveal the child's whereabouts. Now, three years later, Brogan has discovered the boy at the home of a shipbuilder's daughter, Lorena Huntley.

Lorena guards a dark secret about her young charge. She finds herself falling for the heroic captain who has come to claim his newly built ship, unaware his motive for wooing her is to befriend the boy he plans on reclaiming as his own--until the day another's evil deceit leaves her helplessly shipbound, heading toward England.

As the perfect opportunity to reclaim his son unfolds, Brogan is haunted by thoughts of Lorena in her dire circumstance, and he is forced to make a heartrending choice between his child and the woman who has begun to capture his heart. But only his unselfish sacrifice can win him the greatest prize of all--love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.39 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 out of 41100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prize of My Heart
Review 1 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Liked, but didn't love it.

Date:January 20, 2014
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Captain Brogan Talvis is on a quest to reunite with his son who was secreted away by his unfaithful, late wife. His discovery of the boy's location leads him to the home of Lorena Huntley who cares for the child as her own. In lieu of an immediate kidnapping, Brogan meets with the family under other pretenses and finds himself drawn to Lorena, who has plenty of secrets of her own. As the time to take his son nears, Lorena is suddenly in danger and Brogan must decide whether to rescue Lorena or take his son.
I liked – but didn't love – reading Prize of My Heart by Lisa Norato. I thought the beginning was exceptionally good and liked that the story delivered both adventure and romance. Throughout the story, there was a strong emphasis placed on speaking the truth and knowing a person's background. Unfortunately, I felt that a certain twist later in the story undermined this theme as a prominent character was left not knowing the truth. I can't say more without spoiling things, but it did not sit well with the rest of the story or with me as a reader. Aside from that, Prize of My Heart is an enjoyable read. I recommend it to fans of historical romance who are looking for a little adventure in the story, but I do encourage renting it from the library before buying.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this free advanced reader copy from the publisher via LibraryThing . I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prize of My Heart
This review is fromPrize of My Heart - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is 1815 in Duxboro, Massachusetts, and Captain Brogan Talvis is one of the youngest privateer captains to sail the seas. Orphaned at a young age, family means everything to him. So when his wife Abigail coldly informs him that she gave up their son because she can no longer care for him, Brogan is furious and heartbroken all at once. How could she do this to him?
After three long years, Brogan finally locates his son. Benjamin Talvis, now five years old and re-named Andrew Benjamin Huntley by his guardian, Nathaniel Huntley and his daughter, Lorena. Drew is the light of her eyes, and a delight to them both. When Captain Talvis is mysteriously very good with Drew, Lorena is disquieted and unsettled about the whole matter. Something doesn't feel right, and yet, how can she blame her young charge for admiring the same man that has captivated her own heart? Will she finally be able to confess her own secret concerning Drew? Or is Brogan going to have to find out the ugly truth for himself?
I was somewhat determined not to fall for this story. I mean, how much High Seas adventure can you realistically portray in a novel of 300 pages? But Norato surprised me and won me over from the first chapter. Drew is a charming little boy, Brogan is intimidating yet big-hearted, and Lorena is cautious yet loves with all her heart. Nathaniel is seemingly impervious to everything until he stands to loose the ones he loves the most. A very enjoyable story with just the right amount of romance and adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is 1815 in Duxboro, Massachusetts, and Captain Brogan Talvis is one of the youngest privateer captains to sail the seas. Orphaned at a young age, family means everything to him. So when his wife Abigail coldly informs him that she gave up their son because she can no longer care for him, Brogan is furious and heartbroken all at once. How could she do this to him?
After three long years, Brogan finally locates his son. Benjamin Talvis, now five years old and re-named Andrew Benjamin Huntley by his guardian, Nathaniel Huntley and his daughter, Lorena. Drew is the light of her eyes, and a delight to them both. When Captain Talvis is mysteriously very good with Drew, Lorena is disquieted and unsettled about the whole matter. Something doesn't feel right, and yet, how can she blame her young charge for admiring the same man that has captivated her own heart? Will she finally be able to confess her own secret concerning Drew? Or is Brogan going to have to find out the ugly truth for himself?
I was somewhat determined not to fall for this story. I mean, how much High Seas adventure can you realistically portray in a novel of 300 pages? But Norato surprised me and won me over from the first chapter. Drew is a charming little boy, Brogan is intimidating yet big-hearted, and Lorena is cautious yet loves with all her heart. Nathaniel is seemingly impervious to everything until he stands to loose the ones he loves the most. A very enjoyable story with just the right amount of romance and adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prize of My Heart - Intriguing!!

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain Brogan Talvis was orphaned as a child. When his son was born he felt blessed at not only the birth of his child but of having his own family. While Brogan was out at sea as a privateer he missed his son dreadfully.
He will never forget the day he came home from a long tour at sea and his wife informed him that his son was not there. She had abandoned her son because she no longer wanted to be tied down to a baby. He begged her to tell him where his son was and all she would say was he was not there and that Brogan would never find him.
It has been four long years that Brogan has spent trying to find his son. Then there came a lead and he knew where his son was. He had been adopted by a wealthy shipbuilder and his daughter Lorena Huntley was guardian of the boy. It was very apparent how deeply the boy was loved and also extremely spoiled.
Brogan plans and goes to great extremes to get his son back. He purchases a very special ship from the shipbuilder one that would be so fast that no other ship would be able to keep up with it once he stole his son away to be with his natural father. He realizes the boy sees Lorena as a mother figure and decides to court her in order to get closer to his son. Brogan has been attacked twice by this little rascal of a son by being the target of the boys sling shot and a very large rock. The boy does not trust Captain Brogan around Lorena. He sees himself as David and the Captain as Goliath and he must slay Goliath. Brogan must win him over!
Brogan had no idea he would grow to care deeply for Lorena and develop a friendship with her father. He felt guilty about deceiving them. Will he be able to break their hearts in order to get his son back?
This was a beautiful story about family ties. The author expresses through her writing how God can make all things better if you just let go and let God. The story falls into place because the characters learned to trust in Gods's plan for themselves and the child.
There was intrigue, lies, deceit, betrayal,forgiveness and redemption which made for a very enjoyable read. Oh, lets not forget about love and romance. Most of all love for God, a child, woman, man, and ties that bind a family together.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I was provided a copy of this book by Bethany House Publisher for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Add this to your TBR (To Be Read) List.

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
KCPryzr
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this with me to my daughter's softball tournament. I tend to have 2-3 hours of downtime during each day, so I figured I could start on reading this. Ummmm, Wrongo Ringo! I couldn't put this down. I even was sneaking reads when the innings changed during her games, sometimes going a little too long and getting caught by my husband when my daughter was up to bat or made a play that I missed. :-)
This was an excellent read, a captivating story, and I highly recommend this book. The characters were vividly developed, and you found yourself going back and forth sympathizing with first one side, then the other. The conclusion was just as it should be.
This book was provided to me by Bethany House Book Reviewers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical fiction in New England

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joanna
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I received my copy of Lisa Norato's "Prize of My Heart" from Bethany House to review, I did not expect to like a book about a ship captain and former privateer who is determined to find his son and steal him away. However, Captain Talvis becomes attracted to Lorena, who with her father is raising Captain Talvis' son. The author weaves God into the picture in a way that touched my heart as well as Captain Talvis' heart. There were many intersting turns of events so the book was an enjoyable read. I would definitely read another novel by Lisa Norato because I liked the way she wove God's truth into the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prize of My Heart
This review is fromPrize of My Heart - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book.

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Della
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Just enough mystery and to keep me reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful read!

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A test that only true love will stand… This is what Lisa Norato's book, Prize of my Heart, gifts readers with. Captain Brogan Talvis has been in search for a place to belong his whole life; once he seemed to have reached his dream, it vanished. His struggle to love despite the circumstances that have shaped him only intensifies when he comes back to New England in search of his son. He finds him with Lorena, the daughter of a ship builder and merchant that has adopted Talvis’s son, Drew, believing he has no parents. Of course, Talvis and Lorena begin to have feelings for each other, but they both love Drew that they’d rather put the boy’s interests before their own. Talvis starts dreaming about a family of his own once more, but a disappearance hinders everything. Lorena’s father will come to him in despair, without knowing that Talvis is the one that can bring his family apart. It all is uncovered at the end, when all of the parties involved will learn patience, kindness and forgiveness. They will also learn that the truth will bring closeness and peace in the future life.
This novel has a simple and straightforward plot, which makes the ending very obvious. However, I appreciated this particular fact because it makes the story authentic (please bear with me a bit, and let me clarify this apparent contradiction). I have often read books that feel "mass-produced," following the same pattern all the time, with beginning chapters that dwell in details that appear to have no end, a very obvious problem, a twist that just intends to surprise the reader (but never achieves to do so), and an obvious and abrupt ending that feels empty. Contrary to the latter, Prize of my Heart develops a little fast sometimes, but does not lose the reader in details that do not enrich the plot, has an unexpected climax, but gives time for the characters to resolve the story, making it a delight to enjoy. In other words, it is refreshing, even from a technical point of view.
Besides this, the characters portray faith dilemmas we all have to face at one point in our lives. It will not be difficult for readers to identify themselves with the characters and to learn and ponder about their own situation. A clean book, easy to read, and that could even be used for study groups.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. In no way has this influenced my opinion on the book or on the author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prize of My Heart
This review is fromPrize of My Heart - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Twist at the End

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always love books that "show" the emotions of the main male character! I don't know how female authors get into the male mind and heart like that! :)
The ending completely took me by surprise. Loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prize of My Heart is A Delightful Week-end Read

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prize of My Heart
By Lisa Norato
Three years ago Captain Brogan Talvis was betrayed by his late wife Abigail. Unhappy with her status as wife and mother Abigail abandoned their son Benjamin. Shortly thereafter she died in a house fire taking her secret to the grave with her.
But Brogan was not about to abandon his son to the care of strangers and thus embarked on an impossible search for his young son. By sheer chance he catches a glimpse of Ben's face in the window of Nathaniel Huntley's home. Having discovered the whereabouts of his son, Brogan commissions the building of a merchantman on which he plans to steal his son away on.
But Benjamin doesn't remember his long lost father whom he believes died years ago. Not only does Ben not recognize Brogan he is now called Drew by the Huntleys. Further complicating Brogan's mission is Lorena Huntley to whom Drew is very attached. Determined to win over his son's affections Brogan soon realizes he must gain the respect and trust of Lorena if he is to have any chance with Drew.
But as Brogan spends time with Lorena he is drawn to her for herself. But just as his happiness and greatest desire seems within his grasp Lorena is spirited away by a former employee of her father's. With Lorena being forced to England against her will, Brogan is left with a choice. Does he give up his plan to spirit his son away and save Lorena or does he steal another child Nathaniel Huntley? Brogan decides that he has no choice but to follow his heart.
I found Prize of My Heart to be a delightful read, perfect for a lazy week-end or a summer afternoon.
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House for the purpose of this review, a favorable review was not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drew lives in a loving home with Nathaniel and Lorena Huntley, his father and sister. Or, the people he believes to be his father and his sister. Of course, he is also raised believing that his name is Drew. Until he meets Captain Brogan Talvis, who mistakenly calls him Ben.
For three years Brogan has been searching for his son, who was taken from him as toddler. Brogan's deceased wife disappeared with the child while he was out to sea. He finally finds young Ben, but as he spends time with the Huntley's, he realizes how happy Ben is. Does he take the child from the only family he remembers?
Lorena can't help herself. She is falling for Brogan. She shouldn't. She knows she shouldn't. After all, isn't he here to take Drew from her?
I really enjoyed this book. The author incorporates topics such as love and devotion in a way that makes the reader feel a part of the story.
---------------
I received this complementary book from Bethany House in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prize of My heart, a prize indeed.

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Missing child, the kidnapping of a lovely young lady and thrilling battles at sea are just a few of the captivating adventures that you will find in the wonderful historical novel Prize of my heart by Lisa Norato. The novel opens with the very tall Captain Brogan Talvis, a privateer Captain searching for his lost son. His late and rather wayward wife had not been the best of mother’s and had abandoned their son to strangers and not disclosed to Brogan where the boy was. Through much searching and after surviving the war of 1812 as he captained a privateer he was always haunted with the knowledge that his son who he dearly loved was out there and he needed to find him. Finally he has discovered that his son has been adopted by a good family, a New England shipbuilder Nathaniel Huntley who also happens to be the father of Lorene Huntley, a lovely young woman who has been a mother type figure to “Andrew”, Brogans long lost son. Brogan’s initial plan was to get in, find a way to grab his son, and get out quickly with his new ship commissioned to be built by Nathaniel Huntley. As always in a good historical fiction novel, things didn’t quite work out as the Captain planned as he realizes that the way to win over his son is to also win over Lorena. However, in the process, he finds his heart is caring for more than just his son.
There were several things that I enjoyed about this novel. The opening for one- I always love a good opening to and the way that Lisa Norato introduces her character’s to each other is just so well done- there is a little bit of tension and miscommunication as Lorena and Brogan meet for the first time as well as Drew (Brogan’s son) as he rises up to protect Lorena against the giant that is Brogan that is very humorous. Also, who doesn’t love a hero that drops everything to save the woman he loves by taking off in his ship to rescue her from a kidnapping- love it! But the themes in the book were the best, love, forgiveness, letting go of the past and surrendering and trusting God with the future are all present and enjoyable to read.
For those that enjoy a good historical Christian novel with some adventure, humor and heart, definitely pick up Prize of my Heart by Lisa Norato.
4 stars
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for review purposes. All opinions expressed are honest and my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An unlifting read!

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steph
Location:Midwest
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love a good historical novel. Prize of My Heart, written by Lisa Norato, is just that, a good Historical. It has all the elements I look for in a historical novel; a pirate, well an ex-privateer who is also the hero, kidnapping, secrets, and adventure.
I appreciate Ms. Norato’s attention to historic detail in this book. All too often you read Historicals that fall short when it comes to historic detail. This one does not. And with romance, adventure, and characters that reach out and tug at your heart, this book is an enjoyable weekend read. I truly liked the heroine, Lorena as her personality is that of a proper lady spiced with pluck. Drew, Lorena’s charge, keeps her busy. For me, Brogan, the hero of the story, is the perfect hero with his rough exterior, no doubt hewn from the difficulties he’s faced, and gentle heart. What impressed me most in how Ms. Norato wrote her characters is the way in which she let their faith in God play out in their everyday lives.
Unexpected twists keep Prize of My Heart from sagging where other stories might. I cannot say more about the unexpected twists as I do not want to spoil the story for readers. A good beginning, middle, and great end will grip readers until the end of this book. I recommend Prize of My Heart as a great weekend read for those who like a love story that is gentle with just enough action to excite interest and draw readers to the end of the book.
I received this book free from the Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Prize of My Heart

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The opening of “Prize of My Heart” had a pull for me as a reader. Characters were immediately introduced and I was instantly wondering how these three main characters would play together upon the page.
There is a sweet chemistry between Lorena and Brogan. And Drew is such a sweetheart, the little boy you can see delving into the fresh cut strawberries, but giving a smile to melt your heart. He made me smile all through the novel.
The concept of Brogan searching for his son and finding him in this little boy who thinks he already has a family is one that definitely kept me turning pages. It’s a great concept for a historical novel.
I thought a bit more of the book than I liked was too “telling” and took me out of the story, left me feeling distanced from the characters. The dialogue tended to clump together and give more information than I felt was necessary at times. I read the novel quickly and caught the strong undertones and overall themes and layers, but it didn’t really “invite me in” as strongly as I would have liked.
The ending is totally sweet. Loved the epilogue. And of course, I love a happy ending, and this one is perfect.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prize of My Heart
This review is fromPrize of My Heart - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
D. Snider
Location:Sudbury, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this light reading! Good story line, it kept me reading..quite liked the twist at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Had high hopes for this book.

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
seabunker
Location:SLC, Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I couldn't wait to get a hold of this book when I read the synopsis. It sounded like a book I immediately would fall in love with. Historical fiction, Love story, with a twist. I have read other reviews from this book and I guess what it comes down to is I just missed the spark that Captain Talvis had with Lorena. The romance that they had for each other was lacking and was hard for me to believe that they should even end up together.
The time period it was set in is the early 1800's. Captain Talvis is trying to find his son that was taken from him by his late wife. He finds out his son is being raised by the Huntley family. Miss Lorena Huntley has a special bond with the child and Talvis realizes it would devastate her if he was to take his son back.
Captain Talvis ends up rescuing Lorena and saves the day and captures Lorena's heart. At this point I was hoping their love for one another would ignite. It short of fizzled at this point.
Would I recommend this book to others? Maybe if they were wanting a quick read with an okay ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book.

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kataleen
Location:Farmville, NC
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prize of my Heart review:
3.9 stars. Cover: 5 stars
Review: "Prize of my Heart" was the first book I have ever read by Lisa Norato, and let us just say it left quite an impression. Not in a bad way, but not in the best way either. I know, I know. You're thinking, "Really? This girl never finds any book that is to her liking!" That's not entirely true, I just find most books in need of tweeking (No, I'm not a perfectionist. I understand everyone has to start somewhere!). Anyway, it was a good book. But I felt as if things were prolonged a bit too long. Like the author was trying to make the book longer. And when things did start happening, I felt as if it happened too fast. I would have loved to see the relationship between the characters develop a bit more, and perhaps bit more action? I love the cover, it reminds me of what my book's cover would look like (something like that, anyway.). If you like ships and captains (Really, this book is starting to sound more and more like mine!) and young maidens falling in love with dashingly handsome fellows and secrets galore, you will adore this book (Excuse all of the seemingly "old-world" words. I seem to talk more and more like that with every passing day). I will re-read this book and think its meaning over again. I shall probably dream of young maidens with devastating secrets and ship captains who have just as many secrets.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An interesting story

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Captain Brogan Talvis is in search of his son. Searching has consumed him for years and now he is looking right into the boys’ eyes! What comes after is the heart of the story. Lorena Huntley is not sure why but she finds herself wanting to spend more time with the Captain. As the story continues you find these two characters bonding over the young boy, Drew. This story is definitely more of an adventure then a romance. There is even a kidnapping and house fire!
I enjoyed the story but wish the romance had been more predominate. There is a connection between the two main characters but the central story is about the Captains life. I thought the author did a great job of bringing together the past and resolving all questions that were brought up during the story. The development of the relationship between the Captain and his son was well written and realistic. I even enjoyed the character of Lorena, and felt like the author developed her well as a strong women although a little naive!
I enjoyed the adventure in this book and gave it a 4/5 stars. The lower rating is only because I felt like the romance could have been more of an exciting and intricate part of the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining Historical Romance

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
BurtonBookReview
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain Brogan Talvis is a soft-hearted privateer who seeks the boy who is being passed off as Lorena's little brother. Lorena is really like a mother to this boy who was seemingly orphaned as a baby, but now his true father, the Captain, has finally learned of his whereabouts. He must find a way into the family of Lorena, and her wealthy father Nathaniel Huntley in order for his plan to take his son back with him to succeed.
Lorena poses an unforeseen problem for the now-hardened Captain, as she slowly breaks through his tough exterior. Lorena is a devout Christian, though harbors a secret about her own family and the boy's background. The secrets have to come out in the open eventually, but not before Lorena and the Captain get to know each other. A sudden sinister plot to abduct not the boy, but Lorena, forces the Captain to take action that puts everything in jeopardy. The plot line was swift and intriguing, as well as the characters easy to like, even though I could guess fairly easy the way the story would end.
Prize of My Heart was a short novel, and didn't beat around the bush filling in space; it is a fast-paced and enjoyable historical romance. I enjoyed the historical setting in Massachusetts and especially appreciated the journey of faith that the Captain undertook as he went through several periods of loneliness and doubt. A perfect Saturday read, and I wouldn't mind at all reading a sequel to this one if we could be so lucky to be honored with one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prize of My Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prize of My Heart Review

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I received this book for review I thought I had an idea of what the book would be about. Boy meets girl, they fall in love , have a few troubles but in the end everything is tied up in a pretty bow. Wow was I in for a surprise.
Captain Talvis and Lorena do meet, but they both have dark secrets that is threatening to undo any feelings they have for each other. I have to say I have never read a book that took place at this time and place in history. I love New England and loved the descriptions Lisa Norato had of the coast. I loved the fact that part of it take place on the high seas and that it wasn't always an easy ride.
Although I felt the chemistry between Talvis and Lorena lacked in a few areas of the book the plot itself made up for it completely. I dare not say too much for it would give too many things away. The plot twists along are worth reading this book. Some you just never saw coming.
I loved the underlying theme of facing your giants, since the story of David and Goliath was used so much. Forgiveness was such a huge part of this book as well. Loved how Lisa Norato didn't sugar coat the hard ships one faces in forgiving others. Overall and good first novel and I very much look forward to reading what Lisa Norato writes next!!
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.