Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back

Bethany House My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back

You know you could do great things if you just stopped getting in your own way. But most days, self-doubt, fear, and the seductive whispers of insecurity have you second-guessing yourself--before you've even started.

Writer and speaker Janet Davis shows you how to break the destructive cycle of shame and self-doubt to achieve your full potential. Through lessons from her own life and examples of modern and biblical women, she reveals that every woman is called to shine, and you are no exception. Learn how to break destructive patterns in order to live out your purpose in God's kingdom, bringing the sense of fulfillment you've been longing for.

Each chapter of My Own Worst Enemy offers study questions for small group discussion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Review 1 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much deeper than I expected

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Own Worst Enemy by Janet Davis is the latest book I’ve received from Bethany House for reviewing.
I guess I sort of expected this book to be about physical ways that we make life harder on ourselves. Debt, health choices, those sort of things.
Instead, I was surprised by the depth, in a positive way.
It focuses more on ways that we sell ourselves short.
Maybe we let our true dreams die off, and never truly find our purpose.
Maybe we let ourselves be beaten down by certain parts of our past that we hide, and let ourselves feel like we are “less than“.
Maybe we hold ourselves back, not willing to stand out from the crowd and show the true talents that we’ve been given for fear of showing off.
This isn’t a book you are probably going to get through quickly if you are really open to reading it. It’s one of those that will probably take some time of just sitting and processing and really reflecting.
But it’s very worth the time spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learn why you r your own worst enemy & how 2 stop

Date:October 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Own Worst Enemy
How to stop holding yourself back
By Janet Davis
Why do we sabotage ourselves at a moment when we could shine and make a lasting impact on others? Why are we our own worst enemy? We have convinced ourselves that we have nothing of value to offer or that anyone would even want to hear!
But God wants us to shine and to allow our talent to be seen. We need to remember that shining is not pride and hiding is not humility. When we hide what God has given us we are unable to honor Him by using our gifts "to their fullest and with passion."
When we self-sabotage ourselves we become self-contained and isolated. We fear to step out into the unknown and instead become a pillar of salt in the city that we know.
We feel worthless and allow others to victimize us with the choices we make. We forget that Jesus came to give us the Good News of God. We forget that we are children that God created to love, to cherish, and to enjoy fellowship with.
Until we are able to discover our true identity we are unable to be who God created us to be. We must step out from behind the walls we have erected and ignore our voice of self-doubt and say YES to the life God wants to give us. God loves us and sees past our flaws, when we experience God's love we are freed from our bondage of self-doubt and are no longer our own worst enemy.
I received a copy of this title from Bethany House for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overcome and Move On

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharing insights from biblical women to modern day women, "My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back" was an interesting read, that in today's busy world, many women, both working, stay at home, pretty much all walks of life, can relate to.
Janet Davis, the author, shares personal anecdotes, along with scripture, and both biblical and modern day examples, that really helps women get an insight into ways that we can self-sabotage ourselves, both knowingly and unknowingly.
Having study questions at the end of the chapter, are a big help, for those who are reading this book, either for personal insight or thinking of leading a small book study group, and what stands out is, each chapter connects a modern day woman with a possible biblical equivalent with the questions, helping the reader focus on how do they, or could they see themselves in the topic being addressed.
With thirteen chapters, the book is broken into three sections and each section, I found to be pretty in depth, covering topics such as:
The Unimagined Life
Identity, and
Choices,
to name a few of the topics that Janet Davis goes into deeper detail.
As a Christian, each chapter and topic is explored extensively with corresponding passages of the bible for encouragement and insight, each chapter starting as well with pertinent quotes that are inspiring and uplifting.
I found,"My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back" to be a very in depth book, and the topics are thoroughly explored. For Christian women who find themselves struggling, the book is very motivating and empowering, with strong examples of strong women from the bible, and how even in today's world, we can be focused and strong and motivated, to not hold ourselves back, but have that much needed confidence to pursue our goals and face the world.
This wasn't a quick read and definitely not an overnight, this is what is going on, type of book to read, but instead, "My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back" works for those who are willing to take the time and effort to try and understand,how can we self-sabotage ourselves and how do we overcome those destructive methods and in place, use more constructive and healthier methods.
***Thank you to Bethany Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book, in exchange for my personal opinion***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Every woman is called to shine,...

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... and there are no exceptions"
Challenging and refreshing – I think these are the first words I would choose to describe this book. Janet Davis offers a journey of self-rediscovery in this book through the examination of some women’s lives – the author, some personal acquaintances and biblical characters like Mary and Martha enliven Mrs. Davis’s invitation to rethink our own identity. On one hand, it is amazing how today’s problems are the same found in the Bible, despite the difference in time and context; on the other hand, I have seldom thought of myself as someone shaped mostly by social expectations, rather than by the gifts and skills God trusted me with.
Written with simple and friendly words, the depth of this book asks the reader to turn pages slowly, as it awakens our insight of our own roles within our lives. Unassertiveness, insecurity, negative preconceptions and willingness to be accepted are some of the issues addressed in this book.
Something that I particularly enjoyed are the questions included before and after each chapter; none are easy to answer, but if done honestly, we would join Mrs. Davis’s journey to self-fulfillment and freedom from social expectations, making use of the particular skills and gifts God gave us – those that make us who we actually are, and which can be more gloriously used to live a life to worship Him.
Amazingly personal, I would highly recommend this book to those who would like to have a fresh insight of what a life of worship is.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a review. This has not biased my opinion on the book or the author in any way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overcoming self-defeat

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Within the first few pages, I knew this was a book I could completely relate to, and feel sure that many others will feel the same. As author Janet Davis described a time she had been asked to speak on a topic that she was familiar with and well-versed in, she was full of confidence that this was well within her capabilities. Yet, that insidious inner voice whispered, "Just who do you think you are?" That is a voice I hear so many times, and nearly always let it defeat me. Whether this is a problem you deal with daily, or it just hits now and then, this is a book that will strike a chord with you.
Filled with stories of Biblical women, but often told with a fresh perspective, as well as stories of women Mrs. Davis has counseled with herself, she explores the fears, failures, and lack of confidence that can often strike. Yet each story also brings hope and a glimmer of ability we each have to succeed when we trust Jesus to help each of us lead the life we were meant to have. With the study guide questions at the end of each chapter, this is a good book to utilize to break these chains of fear. This would also make an excellent study for a small group; a support group of friends who will pray, listen, and care about you is essential during those times you find it hard to love or trust yourself.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House and was not required to give a good review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Read

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
LyonsLady
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Own Worst Enemy
how to stop holding yourself back
written by Janet Davis
There are so many "how to" books out there it is staggering. So when i read this type of book i am a bit leery....unless they point to God and His Word, which is exactly what this book does.
Janet's goal for this book is to show us how to break the destructive cycle of shame and self-doubt to achieve your full potential. Through her own life lessons, examples of modern and biblical women,she reveals every women is called to shine, and you are no exception.
The sections are titled as follows:
1) Many Faces, specks of stories gathered around three different subtly self-sabotaging patterns of living: the unimagined life, the unworthy life, and the unlived life.
2) Many Phases, highlights different seasons in my own life
3) Choices Along the Way, highlights healthy and proactive choices that can offer us more freedom from destructive web in which we find ourselves.
Luke 4:18-19 (KJV)
"The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised,To preach the acceptable year of the Lord."
In each chapter Janet shares a story about a friend or herself and then weaves in a story from the Bible. She then breaks it down into a study at the end. She helps you to dig deeper into Gods Word and to see how we react to whatever comes our way and points to how we should react according to His word.
It is very easy to understand and to apply to your life because of the Biblical truths.
God wants the best for us and we all need to seek Him and His Word, this book is helpful to not let ourselves be defeated no matter what we have been through or are going through right now...and to let HIS light shine through you!
Its an encouraging book and i recommend it for you to read and do the studies..
you will be blessed.
Here is the link to her web site
http://www.janetdavisonline.com/janetdavisonline/home.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

stop the self-sabotage

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women, we sometimes sabotage ourselves, don't we? Janet found out she did. She writes, “I had met the enemy and she was me.” (15) You are a nobody, she thought. You have nothing to say.
She knew her thoughts had become a hindrance to living out the fullness God had created her to be. Realizing that, she began a focused journey. She talked to other women. Many suspected the God-sourced light within them had become hidden. They realized their internal dialogue was harsh and they did not understand the enemy within.
Janet has gathered stories, modern and biblical, each illustrating an aspect of the struggle with self-sabotage. She writes about the unimagined life, the unworthy life, and the unlived life. She adds her own stories, highlighting the various seasons in her own struggle. Janet finishes her book by writing about healthy and proactive choices, choices offering freedom.
I really appreciated reading about the difficulties women have with self-awareness (living miserable lives and not even noticing), feeling unworthy (knowing the ugliness within), and poor identity (the crumbs are enough).
Janet reminds us we are called to creative and to shine. We can make the wise and healing choices that culminate in saying yes to God.
Thought provoking questions have been placed at the end of each chapter. We are asked to think about our own story, the pain, the emotions, the impact of others, etc. The answers to these questions could be very revealing and I would suggest they be answered in a group of trusted friends. One could also answer the questions privately, perhaps keeping a journal. In many cases, answering the questions were more powerful toward transformation than reading the text.
If you think you are your worst enemy, if you think you are a nobody or that you have nothing to offer God, read this book. You will find that God greatly values your gifts, your voice, and your womanhood. Janet's prayer is that by reading this book, “you will have experienced the lavish love of God for your feminine soul in new and deeper ways.” (248) It is time to get rid of the self-sabotage, to stand tall and shine like never before!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The author writes this in a very loving manner

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book explores the idea that women are their own worst enemy when trying to discover and accept themselves for who they really are. The author examines ways women sabotage their own progress in gaining a positive view of who they were created to be.
There were many positives about this book. I thought the numerous examples from the Bible used were a great way to solidify the principles the author was trying to teach. I liked that the scriptures were right there in the book with the section she was writing about so you did not have to have a Bible handy for each reference mentioned. I also liked the loving manner of the author’s writing style. I felt the author’s book was written from a non-judgmental viewpoint.
On the negative side I felt like the book really sat on certain points too long. You can make your point with one or two examples and then move onto the next one. With that said, I still enjoyed the book and feel like it is an excellent book for any woman struggling with low self-esteem. There are questions at the end of each chapter that can really help you make this book and its principles a very personal journey. If you take the time to do each question you can not help but grow more into the person God created you to be.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very inspiring book.

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
LETHER
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
My Own Worst Enemy written by Janet Davis and published by Bethany House Publishers is definitely a great book. I felt as though this book was written specifically for me. I have been my own worst enemy. The author writes about how we (women) self-sabotage by denying ourselves the opportunity to shine. We convince ourselves that we are not worthy, even though it is our calling, God’s desire for us to shine. The gifts that God has given sometimes remain unused. Our dreams go unfulfilled because we don’t permit ourselves to move forward. The author provides insight on several women in the bible, however I admire the qualities of the woman in Mark 7:24-30. The boldness and humility she showed even though rejection by Jesus was a possibility. She wasn’t stopped by fear and knew she was worthy of something. I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to read such an empowering book. I can relate to some of the issues discussed. After reading this book I was truly inspired. The questions at end of each chapter were also helpful. An opportunity to express our feelings regarding decisions and experiences which also aids in moving forward. This book is truly a book of wisdom and encouragement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Own Worst Enemy Book Review

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ihopeyoudance
Location:Kansas
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Own Worst Enemy:How to stop holding yourself back is by Janet Davis, a new author to me. Honestly I picked this book because I didn't like the other choices so I wasn't really excited about reading this one either. I figured it would be another "encouragement but no real help or info" type of book. I was pleasantly surprised.
I LOVE how this book is written, the format. Davis will start out the chapter with a poem or saying and then ask a question or tell the reader to consider something. This could easily be a type of Bible study.
Here is an example of her trying to engage the reader in the material, "Make a list of ten words or phrases that describe the essence of you. Do no t include roles you play, things you do, or character qualities you have honed through the years. Include that make you uniquely you."
After each "consider" she moves on to tell a true story about someone she met or a certain time in her life. I really like hearing other people's stories instead of someone just telling me everything will be ok, you need to do these things to be happier but where is the proof? And it is always nice to know that there are others who struggle with things just like I do.
Here is where it becomes interesting! Davis will stop her story telling in the middle and start talking about a woman in the Bible. This part I really was surprised about because often times the little verses authors add don't make sense to me, if I'm honest about it. So she weaves in this story about the life of a woman in the Bible. Many of the stories I had never heard of before or really thought about from their perspective. Sure I've thought about Ruth's perspective on life but what about Naomi?
After reading a thought provoking story she found in the Bible, Davis finishes her earlier story about her friend or herself. At the end of each chapter she includes something called "Your Story" which is just a bunch of questions to help engage you more in the book.
I really enjoyed this book and it would be a good Bible study material for groups or just yourself. She really gets to how women feel about themselves and how to overcome certain things that overcome women on a daily basis. I would recommend this book to any woman I know.
"I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers for this review"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Book For All Women~Stop Holding Yourself Back

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Villageanne
Location:WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
Author and spiritual speaker Janet Davis has an uplifting style of writing. Her third book, "My Own Worst Enemy how to stop holding yourself back" is written for women. It is filled with stories about real people and how they have unconsciously hold themselves back from reaching their full potential. The author reveals a lot of the mistakes or choices she has made in her life and how learning from them have helped her to become stronger. The author added analogies to give the reader a better understanding of just how destructive this behaviour can be and how to see it in their own lives.
The analogies often appear in the book at rather odd places. This can confuse the reader but if they continue reading, the message will evident within a few pages.
Each chapter has a study guide complete with questions for the reader to self-evaluate themselves.
The forward to this book is written by Anita Lustrea, host of Moody Radio's Midday Connection.
This is one of those books that will prompt the reader to have thoughts and ideas while reading it. I suggest the reader have a journal or tablet of paper to write those notes on so they are not forgotten.
I give this book a FOUR START rating and recommend it to all Spiritual women who are searching to become better women. This book will give female readers a lot to think about. I only give it a four star rating because of the lack of preparation given to the reader before the analogies are given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My Own Worst Enemy: How to Stop Holding Yourself Back
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book for a women's group

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Own Worst Enemy by Janet Davis is a book about breaking free from your own self doubts about your own talents and skills. Ms Davis discusses how to break free of the destructive cycle of the self doubting voices that tell yourself that you're not good enough or that you will look like you think you are bragging about yourself. Janet Davis' book of life lessons from the Bible of women paired alongside modern women and their stories. She calls all women to "Let your Little Light Shine and not Hide it under a Bushel."
I liked how Ms. Davis told of the strength of the women who though culture held them down used their intellect and strength to further God's work. I love reading of the few female heros in the Bible and Ms. Davis fills this book with them coupled with modern problems that women of today face. She shows women that they have the intelligence and strength to solve their problems with the plan that God has set forth for them if they only will not overthink and sabatage their own plans.
This is a good book and an easy and quick read for the busy woman as well as containing a plan for which one can turn this into a woman's study group lesson also. I was provided this book for this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.