Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy

Tyndale House KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy

1990 Gold Medallion Award winner!
The Life Application Study Bible is today's #1 selling study Bible because it helps people see how the Scriptures are relevant to today's issues. This edition of the Life Application Study Bible lets you enjoy the best-selling Life Application features with the time-honored King James Version.

  • Thousands of Life Application notes help explain God's Word and challenge readers to apply the truth of Scripture to life
  • Personality profiles highlight over 100 important Bible
  • Book introductions provide vital statistics, overview, and timeline to help readers understand the message of each book
  • 200 thumbnail maps highlight important Bible places and events
  • 260 charts help explain difficult concepts and relationships
  • Cross-references
  • Harmony of the Gospels built right into the text of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John
  • Dictionary/concordance
  • Words of Christ in red letter
  • Daily reading plan
  • Leather and imitation leather editions include gilt page edges and ribbon marker
  • Additional features:
    • Presentation Page
    • Family records section
    • Single Column Format
    • Side-column cross references
    • Index to Notes
    • Index to Charts
    • Index to Maps
    • Index to Personality Profiles
    • Dictionary/Concordance
    • Scripture Text: 8 Point
    • Notes: 8 Point
    • 16 pages of color maps & diagrams
    • King James Version
    • Gilt page edges
    • Ribbon marker
    • 6 3/4" x 9 1/2" x 2"
    • Bonded Burgundy

Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
7
43 out of 4890%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Review 1 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Falling apart after 6 months. :(

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:Pottstown, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I am completely in love with the contents of this Bible. It has so many wonderful study notes that really do directly apply to my life. It also is very easy to read due to the large font size. However, after only 6 months of extremely gentle use and the Bible never leaving the house, the front binding is starting to come apart. The presentation pages and the first few pages of the Bible are now hanging by a thread. Literally. I am extremely gentle with all of my Bibles and have never had one fall apart, so this is very distressing to me. I'm sure part of the problem is that the Bible is so heavy it pulls on the binding. I would still recommend this Bible, as the contents are great, but would add a word of caution due to the poor binding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Woman of God
Location:Woodstock Va.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this Bible the only complaint I have is that when I purchased it, a plug of pages came out from the front of it about 10 and that's the only complaint that I had. So I just tucked them back in place. I teach bible class every week and I am glued to this bible! I learn so much from it .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Nice!

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
paigemackenzie
Location:rhode island
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my mom for Christmas! It was recommended by someone in our church and so far so good!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Back to a KJV

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
1947
Location:Lumberport, WV
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the Life Application Study Bible in the 2011 NIV version. I have not owned a KJV Bible sense I received my first one around the mid 50's.
I like the way the Life Application Study Bible makes Bible verse's come to life. I also wanted to get back to the beautiful language in the KJV. Having it with the Life Application study notes is just "icing on the cake".
I got mine in Black Bonded Leather with Thumb-index. All and all, a beautiful Bible.
Go With God.....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it! Top quality! A great buy!

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
julwil
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bible, with large print. I have had several Life Application. Life Application is what I recommend as a great study bible that will bring light to the dark areas of your life, if you apply. God bless you, this is an awesome study bible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looks like just what I needed

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
DonB
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hope to get a lot out of reading the Bible. It something I should have done years ago.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ENJOYING MY NEW KJV BIBLE

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
DONNIE
Location:RICHTON, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE LIFE APPLICATION BIBLE IS VERY GOOD, EXCELLENT FOR STUDY AND THE QUALITY OF WHAT I PURCHASED EXCELLENT, MY WIFE HAS HAD ONE FOR A WHILE AND THAT ENCOURAGED ME WHEN IT GOT TIME FOR ME TO GET A NEW BIBLE TO GET THE LIFE APPLICATION BIBLE . KJV
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study Bible for new and mature christians!!

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
KJV Only
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has great helps for personal devotions and also for teaching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Struggling with study? Look no further!

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
sketch077
Location:Prince George, BC, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The KJV bible is great, although it's hard to understand at times. This bible is like having a honest, loving teacher walking you through all the truths and goodness that it contains. I read through a chapter then go back and study the notes, meanings, easy-to-read maps, character profiles, and much more! I feel so good about my reading time now. This is great for beginners(highly recommended), or people who have read the bible and want to get a little more in-depth study in. It's called Life Application for a reason, and this bible helps with just that! TRULY A BLESSING!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was a gift to a new believer.

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
BroGeorge40
Location:Mobile, Al.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a gift to a new believer, I personally used one quite a few years ago, and it helped me to learn to study the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Location:Piney Flats. TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son had been looking for a study bible. This bible meets all expectations. Now I'm going to be buying one for myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mom for Christmas & she loved it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not really there....

Date:November 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim Smerk
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
All tho I have enjoyed the info that is supplied thru-out this Bible, I really dislike 2 things.
1. The Paragraph style of the KJV text.
2. The way all the notes, outlines, etc break up God's Word.
With a 1/2 page of God's word, then a 1/8 of a page, then a 3rd of a page, etc etc the overall layout is NOT conductive to deep study....there is too much "fluff" breaking up the KJV text all over the place.
For a causal sit-down-&-read it is OK, and the intros & outlines are great, but for true Bible Study skip this one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible and Commentary!

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Made to Worship
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible! My husband and I received this Bible 8 years ago as a wedding gift from one of my friends. I had a NKJ Bible that I was using so he took the gift as his own. Everytime he wanted to use it, I was using it and vice versa. Since he is a Minister, I gave him priority. I have been wanting to purchase one for myself since then and finally decided to get one as a birthday gift to myself. I haven't put it down. I love the large print, the articles/profiles, the commentary and everything about it. It is a Wonderful Study Bible. You can't go wrong with this Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality bible with loads of information!

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tokitae
Location:Warner Robins, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A major problem I have had with bibles in the past has been notetaking; there is never quite enough room to write out the major themes of a passage in the margins, and I only manage to clutter what space there happens to be to the point where said passages are illegible. With this bible though, that is hardly a problem!
A treasure trove of information lines the bottom of each page, alongside tables and character bios that help the Word get into your heart and nestle there where it should be. A single highlighter is really all that's needed for highlighting favorite verses or important points.
I had a major manufacturing flaw with one of the thumb tabs being stuck to the wrong page, but with careful peeling and some scotch tape it was good as new. Well worth the purchase!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great bible to study

Date:August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:lafayette georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a great bible the only issue i have is that its small print.I had meant to order the bigger version and clicked the wrong one. But on the other hand its is a wonderfull bible. I would recommend it to others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to my bible study library!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Phil Parsons
Location:Vista, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study bible was a great addition to my bible study library. It has a tremendous amount of information listed within its pages. I have already put this bible to very good use. I highly recommend this bible to anyone who wants to know about the bible and its history.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great KJV Bible!

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Jackson, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking to deepen your Christian faith by living it, then the Life Application Study Bible is for you. This is not the type of study Bible that merely presents history, background, and facts. This study Bible takes scripture and teaches you how to apply it to life and actually live the Christian faith.
The top-grain cowhide leather is superb! The grain is nice and glossy, but rather stiff to the touch. If you are looking for a limp leather Bible, this is not it (although it will loosen and soften up with time and use).
I can't speak for all editions, but mine was printed and bound in the USA. The text is in single column style rather than the two column traditional setting. This makes it read more like a book and increases smoothness and flow of the text when reading. This edition is not a red letter edition. The font is a very readable 9 point type.
The Bible itself is on the larger side, but about the average size for a study Bible. It measures in at 9.25x6.25 inches. If you are purchasing a cover, you will need a size X-Large.
It has a presentation page, and a concordance. It has side column references rather than down the middle. Each book has a very concise but interesting introduction, with a timeline, key verse, main idea, and all the other essential information when studying the Bible. One of the interesting features is the character profiles of many popular Bible characters that gives you everything there is to know about their life.
As far as translation issues go, this edition comes in the most popular and best selling translation of all time, the reliable King James Version.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mike D
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The KJV Life Application Study Bible is worth it's price and so much more. It's my second Life Application Study Bible and it keeps getting better. The charts, personality profiles, and book introductions alone make it a must have.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Life Application Study Bible, Bonded leather, Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

has most of the info I was looking for.

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
mr ed
Location:buckeye lake,ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Printing was way to small.Hard to read.To compact.Larger print is much better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.