Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Love in Disguise

Bethany House Love in Disguise

When costume-maker Ellie Moore suddenly finds herself out of a job in the middle of a bleak Chicago winter, she uses her knowledge of theatrical disguise to secure a position as an undercover operative with the Pinkerton Detective Agency. Her assignment: find the culprit behind the theft of silver shipped from the mines near Pickford, Arizona.

Disguised as Lavinia Stewart, a middle-aged widow, Ellie begins her investigation. Soon she finds she must also pose as the dazzling young Jessie Monroe, whose vivacious personality encourages people to talk.

Average Customer Rating:
4.396 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 out of 4898%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love in Disguise
Review 1 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story was a delightful romp through Wild West Arizona and silver mines. The heroine, Ellie Moore, is desperate to find work and stumbles into a job with the Pinkerton Agency. The job seems like a perfect place for her to use her theatrical talents...the only problem is that the experienced agent who is supposed to go with her bails.
Ellie either has to go home (not an option since she doesn't have a home) or bumble through on her own. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and the quandaries Ellie was placed in. She desperately wants to succeed, but it's a trying set of circumstances. 
The book has moments of humor, times of suspense, and a sweet love story, all set in 1880s Arizona. 
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and plan to read more by this author. 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than expected!!!

Date:June 29, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ellie Moore is desperate after the loss of her job at the theater company. With no family to turn to, she aggressively pursues a position with the Pinkerton Detective Agency, thinking it will be an opportunity to use her acting skills and to have a grand adventure in the Wild West of Arizona. Her plans quickly go awry when her partner, a seasoned detective, bails out and Ellie is forced to play two roles: Lavinia Stewart, a middle-aged widow, and Jessie Monroe, a young and adventuresome flirt. Keeping up such an act is difficult enough, but then Steven Pierce, one of the mine owners that hired the Pinkertons to solve a mysterious string of silver robberies, is terribly attractive and he seems to feel the same way about Jessie! As Ellie edges closer to finding the thieves, both Lavinia and Jessie become targets. Can Ellie thwart the thieves before they strike again? If her identity is revealed, will she lose the love of a lifetime? Read more in Love in Disguise by Carol Cox.
I love it when a book is better than I expect. Love in Disguise by Carol Cox was such a book. The mystery kept me hooked throughout the story. The clues were there, but I didn't know who was behind the silver thefts until the climax. Truly, the mystery was the heart of this book. There was adequate romance between Steven and Jessie/Ellie, but it wasn't emphasized like the mystery was, nor did there seem to be any romantic tension until the very end. I liked Ellie's development throughout the story. Her surrender of herself – just as she was – to God was a hidden gem of a theme that played out in other areas of the story. I recommend Love in Disguise to fans of Christian fiction who love mystery. I'm sure I'll read it again, but for the moment, I'm passing it along to my mother-in-law to enjoy.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love in Disguise
This review is fromLove in Disguise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
emily
Age:18-24
The description for this novel captured my attention immediately. How could one person play the part of two? While this may be a little unrealistic, the story was still very interesting; the plot was fascinating; and the characters were likable. I did think that Stephen got over the shock of Ellie's deception a bit too easily; however, I was happy with the ending anyway.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love in Disguise
This review is fromLove in Disguise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of Fun, Mystery and Romance

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so much fun - what a great idea, to have a female 'detective' (Ellie) pose as two different characters to solve a case involving silver thefts in Arizona. The switches between conservative middle-aged Lavinia and thoroughly modern Jessie are smooth, but I love that we keep in touch with how Ellie thinks and feels. The humor is mostly funny because we know the truth, and it's great to have the 'inside scoop' and be able to laugh because we know more that they do. The hero, Steven. is adorable, and makes fast friends with Lavinia well before becoming infatuated with Jessie. The ending is very satisfying, making the whole book and all-round great read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than expected.

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started reading this book, I did not really think I would like it. The title and the front cover just seemed kind of hokey. I kept reading, and I actually liked it. It was not too hokey, but it was a little unrealistic. Love in Disguise had an interesting plot, and parts were even exciting. It was much better than I had expected!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is a very good book and fun to read

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
birdie
Location:Apple Valley MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this was a very good book and held my attention.
Every book I buy from this book store is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love in Disguise
This review is fromLove in Disguise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lively and funny

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the time frame that the book is written its absolutely unbelievable. :) it was fun to see her change characters and weave into people's lives. I felt a bit sorry for the guy though but in the end it all paid off..
Lively funny captivating read. Well formed characters and a nice historical set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Unique Read

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Carol Cox. I would have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with this story. The author envisioned a pretty remarkable plot. The heroine Ellie Moore, a plain, "behind the scenes" girl finds herself employed by the Pinkerton Detectives. Through a series of events, an inexperienced Ellie ends up playing two roles in order to solve a mystery. I think that the author did a great job in developing the history and educating readers about the silver mines. I think the only part of the story that I had a hard time with was how unbelievable the Pinkerton Detective Agency was portrayed. I realize for the sake of the story, some historical facts had to be glanced over. Also, I find it hard to believe that no one grew suspicious of Ellie's dual roles. I think the author could have made a more intricate plot had someone suspected Ellie's scheme. Also, the romantic plot surprised me. There is little interaction between Ellie as "Jessie" and Steven. Ellie spent more time with Steven as the elderly widow "Lavinia." And also, with Steven having such a firm faith in God, it surprised me how quickly he fell in love with "Jessie" ; who was not exactly behaving in the manner that Steven valued. So to me, the romance was a bit unbelievable and problematic. Overall, I enjoyed this book and I would read more by Carol Cox. There were just several elements that make this story (complicated plot) almost too unbelievable. It was a great idea, but was just a mediocre attempt to fill out the plot from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

love in disguise review

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Love in Disguise" by Carol Cox stars Ellie, a wanna be actress, who gets by working as an actress' assistant, finds herself fired and starving in Chicago. She overhears two Pinkerton agents talking about needing to hire a woman for a job and quickly cons herself into not one job, but two. She goes to Arizona and disguises herself as two women to solve the crime of who is the silver mine robbers. She also falls in love while she's there.
This novel is ok, not bad. It isn't very realistic. Of all I have read on the Pinkertons, this book doesn't sound very true to life. All in all, I'd say this book is readable, it will pass the time; you probably won't even remember it in a few days. Nothing to complain about, nothing to rave about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Solid Book

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
KCPryzr
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spunky, Feisty, Determined. Three good adjectives to describe main character, Ellie Moore. Insecure, Stubborn, Desperate. Also three good adjectives to describe Ellie.
Author, Carol Cox, did an excellent job in creating the character, Ellie Moore. Ellie is someone who desperately wants to be acknowledged for being good at something. She has always been in the background, but desperately wants to stand out. Some people are comfortable being in the background and never being noticed. Ellie is comfortable in the background, but longs to be able to come forward and have someone say she has something, but she doesn't think she has anything worth noticing.
The story, itself, was somewhat slow for me; however, I did enjoy the book. The story is solid. The descriptions are quite good, and I did like the characters. It was easy to figure out the plot and the twists in the story, so I focused more on the main character. It was fascinating to see her adapt from a large city like Chicago to a small town in Arizona where everyone is usually in everyone's business. I also liked the side character of little Billy Taylor, the boy who would be a spy. I think we now know how James West the character from "Wild, Wild West" might have gotten his start.
Although this is not a two-reader for me, it is definitely a book I will pass along to my friends and recommend. I look forward to more novels from Carol Cox.
Thank you to Bethany House Publishers' Book Review Program for providing me this book free of charge.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pinkerton, 1881

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
December, 1881. Chicago, Illinois. Ellie Moore finds herself jobless when the actress she worked for leaves for Europe without her. With just enough money for rent and no food, she overhears a conversation between two Pinkerton detectives needing an agent to catch silver thieves in Pickford, Arizona Territory.
Applying for the job, Ellie finds they need a middle-aged female agent, as they already hired a younger agent. Leaving the Pinkerton National Detective Agency, she returns home and makes herself up as a middle-aged woman from the left over costumes and makeup from the theater job and returns to the Agency. Though she wormed her way into a job through her disguise, they are unsure because of her lack of detective work. Since she’s joining Norma Brooks, one of their top-notch agents, they feel they have no choice, as all their agents are similarly engaged and they don’t want to pass up the job.
Carol does a wonderful job in fleshing out the characters in her book, while supplying plenty of mining history in the Arizona Territory. Ellie is Lavinia, the older widowed woman looking for investments, during the morning hours and Jessie, the gorgeous red-headed flirt in the evenings. As both characters, she tries to mine out information from the locals. Steven Pierce is the most friendly and talkative, especially as he starts to fall in love with Jessie.
The dangers start when the thieves try to ‘discourage’ the two women. The shenanigans Ellie has to play out keeps the story flowing. I found them both engaging, but didn’t feel as though the situation was realistic, as someone would surely have figured them out. It was an entertaining story and the possibility of it working out could have been possible due to the time era (1881) and the fact that the town didn’t expect two female Pinkerton agents.
For an entertaining storyline based around the 1880′s and the history of the mining industry, this would make a fun read. It’s just not my style.
This book was provided free by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Time Period

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love in Disguise by Carol Cox depicts a fascinating time period in history - the era of the Pinkerton detectives. I liked the twist in the story in that the heroine was the lead detective through a chance of circumstances. When Ellie Moore found herself jobless, she never contemplated a career in sleuthing until, an overheard conversation and a trunk of costumes and wigs inspire her to start on the track as a detective.
Steven Pierce is on the brink of ruin unless he can find out who has been stealing the silver shipments from the local miner owners, himself included. The miners throw in money as a deposit, hoping to encourage a Pinkerton detective to come and sort out the mess. Not even Steven suspects a young woman, nor does he realize that she is playing two roles as she tries to ferret out information before more is stolen. In the process of the investigation, he finds himself falling in love.
I found this book to be an interesting read on this era of history.
This book was provided free for review by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One heroine + three personalities = a good read :)

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the first time I had read a novel by Carol Cox. I found "Love In Disquise" to be quite different from the standard girl meets boy Christian romance novel. For one, the heroine has three very distinct personalities within the confines of one storyline. Ellie Moore is flat broke when she learns about a position with the Pinkerton Detectives Agency. She manages to convince them that she is much more qualified than she really is ... and it only gets more dodgy from there.
Readers are left turning page after page, wondering if the heroine can keep everyone convinced that her alias's are true and also uncover the information needed by the Pinkerton Agency to uncover the secret behind a strong of thefts to local Arizona silver shipments.
Set in the 1880s, this story is full of mystery, humor and a bit or romance. I feel it will appeal most to women, but anyone interested in 1880s Arizona, silver mining, or the history of the Pinkerton's would find it particularly interesting - especially if they have a good sense of humor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful romp through Arizona silver country.

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
mrs d
Location:Ash Fork, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love In Disguise" is a delightful romp through Arizona silver mining country. Desperate for a job, Chicago costume designer Ellie Moore convinces the world-famous Pinkerton Detective Agency to hire her to investigate a string of robberies out West. There she meets handsome young mine owner Steven Pierce and they fall in love. But does Steven really know who he is in love with? Not the middle-aged Lavinia, Ellie's alter ego. What about captivating and vivacious Jessie, Lavinia's "niece"? Will he love Ellie when he discovers her true identity? Will Ellie unmask the thieves before Steven and his associates lose their mines?
This may very well be Carol's best book yet. Her gift for interweaving a tasteful romance with mystery and suspense is at its utmost. She also has a fantastic ability to share her faith in God in a subtle way without overwhelming the reader. Her love of Arizona's history and landscape are also evident in her settings and characters. For "Love In Disguise", Carol drew on her knowledge of Tombstone and the surrounding area, as well as her vast knowledge of Arizona history, to create a realistic, fictional mining town.
Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys living books, history, romance and mystery. The romance here is classy, suitable for early teens to older adults. Great for the family bookshelf.
I downloaded this book for free, during a 24 hour promotion. No compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Interesting Mystery

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the Lord closes the door, somewhere He opens a window. Ellie Moore has had to learn to think this way. After the death of her parents, who were actors in an Chicago theatre, she was raised by her parents friends and fellow actors. She planned to follow in her parents footsteps and become an actress, but her plain looks caused her to be passed over. She eventually became a lady’s maid to the headlining actress, but when the actress leaves Ellie behind to go to Europe. Ellie needs to find another way to support herself.
Ellie manages to pull herself up by her boot straps and convince the management of the Pinkerton Detective Agency to hire her. The plan is for Ellie to travel to Arizona to help with an investigation into a series of silver shipment robberies, as Lavinia Stewart. When her partner announces she has decided to marry, and needs to leave the agency, Ellie decides to try to do the job of two people, and become Jessie Monroe as well. Not only is it harder than she expected, but her growing attraction to mine owner Steven Pierce complicates the situation even more.
Carol Cox's novel Love in Disguise caught my attention with first the cover and then the blurb. It is a fun book to read with a strong plot which includes Biblical truths. It also includes an interesting mystery that kept me guessing to the end. I also really enjoyed Ellie's quick-changes between Lavinia and Jessie, and what she learned about herself as she played the role of her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Read!

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The main character in this book is funny and resourceful. The story itself is interesting and that is why this book goes down as one of my favorites!
The book follows the main characters Ellie Moore and Steven Pierce. Their relationship plays out very well and is a joy to read. I like how Ellie uses her brain and is not just another main character that needs rescuing from her “prince charming.”
The story is a mystery as much as it is a romance. There is great humor and interesting conversations to keep you entertained. I enjoyed every page of this story. I read it in one sitting, as I just couldn’t wait to see where the author took the story. I have read other books that try to mix mystery and romance but this one is by far the best. I have this book 5/5 stars because I enjoyed the story and loved the main characters!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An engaging and unique story

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't been reviewing very many fiction books lately, but when I saw the cover of Love In Disguise and read the publisher's description, I just had to read it. It's 1882, and Ellie Moore is an out-of-work theater assistant who is running out of money quickly. Desperate for work, she hears of an opportunity to join the Pinkerton Detective Agency as an operative in Arizona. She uses her knowledge of costumes, acting, and her quick wits to convince the Pinkerton detectives that she can handle the job.
Soon Ellie finds herself alone in Arizona, working undercover as both the middle-aged widow, Lavinia Stewart, and as her beautiful niece Jessie. Her mission is to discover who is stealing the silver from the mine owners' shipments before her identity is discovered. Danger comes from two directions: physical attacks on both Lavinia and Jessie, and romantic feelings for one of the mine owners, Steven Pierce. Can Ellie unveil the thieves alone? Will Steven turn away once he learns of her true identity?
I have to admit that I quit reading historical novels set in the west awhile ago. To be honest, many of them just seemed to be the same story over and over. I was very pleased that Love In Disguise didn't remind me of any other book I'd ever read. It's plot was fresh and new, and the characters were real. One of my pet peeves with fiction is that the heroines are usually very beautiful, and the heroes always handsome. I find it so refreshing when an author creates a rich character with ordinary features, like Ellie Moore. Her role as Jessie may be that of a beautiful woman, but when the makeup and wigs come off, she just feels plain and ordinary. It's so much easier to relate to a realistic character than an unusually gorgeous character.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Love In Disguise. Though I had some suspicions about the mysterious thefts, I was still somewhat surprised by the ending ... who was involved, and who wasn't. The mystery didn't provide the only tension to the story; the budding relationship between Jessie and Steven, and Ellie's struggle to balance being herself and maintaining her disguise as she learned how to investigate all added to the conflict. Of course, the best part of the story was the happy ending, which was very satisfying.
I definitely give Love In Disguise two thumbs up. It makes a perfect relaxing book to read in the evenings, or on the weekends, when you just need something to refresh yourself.
April E.
This book was offered to me, free for review purposes, by Bethany House Book Reviews. This is an honest review, expressing my own opinions. I was not required to post a positive review, and no other compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love in Disguise
This review is fromLove in Disguise - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Early Yrs of Silver Mining and Detective Agencies

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by this author and I enjoyed the most unusual plot. The early years of the Pinkerton Detective Agency are not often written about and to have an amateur female worm her way into their group was amusing
Ellie's use of her theatrical background was believable but playing both roles simultaneously seemed to stretch reality just a bit! The characters are delightful, the lead characters and the townspeople as well.
This book has compassion, integrity, determination, humor and love all entertainingly enmeshed in an interesting Wild West scenario.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lady Pinkerton Detective, Danger And Romance

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carol Cox in her new book “Love in Disguise” published by Bethany House Publishers takes us into the life of Ellie Moore.
From the back cover: Can she solve the crime before they uncover her true identity?
Jobless and down to her last dime, Ellie Moore hears about a position with the Pinkerton Detective Agency and believes it’s the perfect chance to put her acting skills and costumes to use. Reluctantly, the agency agrees to give her one assignment, one chance to prove herself. Disguised as Lavinia Stewart, a middle-aged widow, Ellie travels to Arizona to begin her investigation. When the need arises, she also transforms into the dazzling Jessie Monroe, whose vivacious personality encourages people to talk.
Mine owner Steven Pierce is going to lose his business if he can’t figure out who’s stealing his silver shipments. In his wildest dreams, he never expected to receive help from a gray-haired widow…or to fall in love with her beautiful niece.
Then the thieves come after Lavinia and Jessie. Ellie isn’t safe no matter which character she plays! Should she give up and reveal her true identity? What will Steven do when he realizes the woman he’s falling in love with doesn’t really exist?
Set in 1880s Arizona, Love in Disguise blends romance, humor, and mystery for a can’t-put-down read.
I read that some actors gravitate toward acting because they are really shy individuals and in acting they can become whatever role the character they play is. That is why some actors are really good at what they do they are becoming different personas that let them escape their shyness. Ellie Moore is a costume maker who is broke and unemployed. Desperate she hires on as a detective without any skills in that area at all. So she fakes it disguising herself as a widow which provides her cover, friends and some information. However she needs more so she adopts a new persona that of the widow’s niece which gets her more information and more friends. Which is the real person; Ellie Lavinia or Jessie? Steven is friends with Lavinia, thinks he is in love with Jessie and has no idea that neither of them are real individuals. That is the big theme of this book; the masks that we wear. Ms. Cox has crafted a fine thriller in that not only is Ellie in deadly danger but her secret identities, Lavinia and Jessie also have their lives in danger. I liked the way the characters interrelated with one another as Ellie tried to solve the mystery that she was assigned to. The small town of Pickford, Arizona and the people who live there become real and are brought to life by a gifted storyteller. On top of everything Ms. Cox has also given us a romance. I really liked ”Love in Disguise” and Hopefully Ms. Cox will bring us more stories with Ellie and Steven.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love in Disguise
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elle
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book was not what I expected, in fact I didn’t really enjoy or like it while I was reading and after I read.
These are the three reasons why:
- Confusion between Ellie playing two role – The character development was mediocre
- The deception Ellie creates – Leads to unrealistic reactions from Steven Pierce
-The story line lacked substance – It was hard to remember the details
In allowing the main character, Ellie to play two different roles, it made it very difficult to track the character development of Ellie. The author gives brief glimpses of her strong will and fiery spirit however this is all lost when the reader (me!) has to question whether this is her true self or just another facade for the role she plays. Also, we see Ellie immersing into her roles so much that at one point she begins to think as ‘Mrs. Lavinia Stewart’. This immersal makes it so hard to see who Ellie is as a young woman. Yes, we see her raw and natural in the beginning of the book, but it is through hard circumstances such as Ellie’s unemployment that we are able to see her grow into a much more mature self. Unfortunately, the roles of Lavinia and Jessie clouds the reader from seeing this development.
I was so so shocked when I read Steven Pierce’s reaction when Ellie confessed of her deception. There was absolutely no show of outrage, anger, frustration or hurt. He seemingly brushes the matter asides and shows no emotions of being affected. This attitude by Steven made me realize the lack of depth in what was supposed to be a delightful relationship between Steven and Ellie.
This all leads to the fact that this story line or plot lacked substance. The summary provided by the author alludes to excitement, suspense, and sweet romance all wrapped up in one novel but it wasn’t fun to read. I found myself skipping through certain portions because of the un-engaging plot. After reading Love in Disguise, I quickly forgot the key details of the novel, it wasn’t very memorable and there was nothing really special or unique about it. It really could have been a fabulous story, but the execution of this story is not well done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.