Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Stealing the Preacher

Bethany House Stealing the Preacher

On his way to interview for a position at a church in the Piney Woods of Texas, Crockett Archer can scarcely believe it when he's forced off the train by a retired outlaw and presented to the man's daughter as the minister she requested for her birthday. Worried this unfortunate detour will ruin his chances of finally serving a congregation of his own, Crockett is determined to escape. But when he finally gets away, he's haunted by the memory of the young woman he left behind--a woman whose dreams now hinge on him.

For months, Joanna Robbins prayed for a preacher. A man to breathe life back into the abandoned church at the heart of her community. A man to assist her in fulfilling a promise to her dying mother. A man to help her discover answers to the questions that have been on her heart for so long. But just when it seems God has answered her prayers, it turns out the parson is there against his will and has dreams of his own calling him elsewhere. Is there any way she can convince Crockett to stay in her little backwoods community? And does the attraction between them have any chance of blossoming when Joanna's outlaw father is dead set against his daughter courting a preacher?

Average Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
75 out of 7797%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stealing the Preacher
Review 1 for Stealing the Preacher
This review is fromStealing the Preacher - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic, as Always

Date:May 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this author, and she didn't disappoint with this excellent historical romance. We've met Crockett Archer in other books, but his character is developed in this one. We find him to be a man of strong faith and principles which effect his actions. Joanna Robbins is a desperate young woman, desperate to see her father receive Christ as his Savior. Being the gentleman that he is, Crockett cant resist a desperate woman, and his helping involves humor, drama and, of course, romance. We see how God uses a variety of circumstances to pursue each one of us, including Silas Robbins. It's a great story which kept me reading right to the very satisfying conclusion. I think you'll enjoy it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new favorite!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crockett Archer is a tried and true Texas cowboy, but he is also an honest, honorable man of God who is forced to make the best of an unexpected situation,
Joanna Robbins is a young woman of faith who has been praying for a preacher to help her with her vision to bring life to an old church. And her father, who is a retired outlaw, is determined to help her with her dream even if it means kidnapping an innocent preacher off of a train!
Once I started reading this book I couldn't stop, and when I finished it, I read it again! It a fast paced adventure, that is both encouraging and engaging. I will admit that I had my doubts about how this story would work out after I read the back cover, but I shouldn't have worried. This ended up being my favorite book by Ms. Witemeyer to date! the interaction between Joanna and Crocket is nothing short of excellent.
Though one of my favorite relationships was that of the unexpected friendship between Crockett and Joanna's father, Silas. Humor was a big part of this story, and I couldn't keep a smile from my face the whole time while reading it.
Overall this was a terrific book, probably the best I have read in a long time! This book has it all, a authentic cowboy hero, a heroine who doesn't know she is beautiful, a doting father, and a funny sidekick. As well as action, romance, and drama. I highly recommend this book!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stealing the Preacher Stole My Heart!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved Stealing the Preacher! While Short-Straw Bride introduced us to the Archer brothers and was the story of the eldest brother, Travis Archer, Stealing the Preacher is the story of the second brother, Crockett Archer.
Crockett feels like God has called him into the ministry, and so he sets out to candidate for a Pastoral position in another town. Only he never arrives. Four masked men hold up the train on which he rides, and he soon finds out that they are after…him? But why? All they’ll tell him is that someone named Jo wants to talk to him. Someone that he’s never met. And it has him totally mystified.
Joanna Robbins made a promise to her dying mother that she would keep working to bring her father to the Lord. But it would be better if she had some spiritual help. If only the small, abandoned church not far from her home had a preacher to fill its pulpit. It would be the ideal solution…so she prays for a preacher.
Karen Witemeyer brings to life a sweet, romantic story of two people meeting in a most unexpected way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-Paced Christian Historical Romance

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first few pages of this fast-paced historical romance, I was drawn in. I had a conception of what the story would be, and was I ever wrong! The characters are absolutely delightful--I love Crockett and Jo as well as Silas (I don't think you can find better names than these!). The story has its ups, downs, twists, and turns, but the charm of the story is never lost.
I absolutely adore historical fiction, but I often grow weary of "Christian historical romances" where boy and girl meet, go through "minor struggles," and then live happily ever after. How relieved I am that this book does not follow that pattern! There is a genuine depth and pathos to this story that truly gripped my heart. I found myself smiling at the antics of the people in the book, but then at times, the reality nearly brought tears to my eyes.
The thing that truly resonated with me was the redemption of Silas. What an amazing reminder to me that one moment can change a life for eternity. Someone who is so set against the Lord is not beyond the reach of the cross. The salvation message was presented in such a real way, and it was woven seamlessly into the fabric of the story.
For lovers of history, romance, and inspirational fiction, this is the perfect story. Even though it is about a preacher, it never comes across as preachy. I honestly believe there is something for everyone in this heart-warming tale. What a glorious respite from eternity this book is!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stealing the Preacher
This review is fromStealing the Preacher - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All Joanna Robbins wants is a preacher that will revive the old church in her town and set it to rights. With her mother being gone, it falls to her to carry on her mother's mission and be a Christian witness to her father, day in and day out. For years, her father stubborn refusal to believe has been a point of constant heartache. But she is determined to bring the Light into his life and show him by example what being saved really means.
So when her father, Silas Robbins, goes and kidnaps a preacher by the name of Crockett Archer for her birthday, she is aghast at what to do with his gift. She isn't about to force the man to stay, but more than anything, she truly believes she needs help with bringing her father towards saving grace. And Crockett Archer is just the man for the mission.
As events unfold at the Lazy R Ranch, Silas continues to resist the evidence of God in his life and in the lives of others. What will it take to bring this stubborn man to God? Will Archer be able to make the difference in Silas's life - and Joanna's as well? Or is it too late to find the Redeeming Grace that is freely given to those who humble themselves?
As with all Christian fiction, there has to be a certain balance between characters, story line and God to be part of the genre. But the deeper I got into this novel, the more I realized that the balance was teetering definitely towards God. At the pivotal turning point of this novel, I was expecting certain things to happen, and a nice little ending to a great story. But instead, I was convicted through the simplest of things from a dis-likable character. I thought this novel would be based on themes I already know by heart. But it was everything I wanted and more. A must-read for anyone who thinks they have it together, and for everyone that doesn't.
This book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cozy and Satisfied

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a big fan of Karen Witemeyer. When I discoved her first book, I immediately bought the other two she had published. Last year I read Short Straw Bride and loved it, so I was anxious to read Crockett Archer's story in Stealing the Preacher. The book did not disappoint! I really liked the great characters and the strong thread of faith woven throughout. Each character is well-crafted and full of depth. Their emotions are very believable and relatable. I especially loved seeing the change take place in the heroine's father. Overall, this is a great read that will leave you feeling cozy and satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stealing the Preacher- nice sequel

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would think that the last thing in the world that you would for-see happening when you feel a calling from God to be a preacher is to get highjacked off of a train because you are a preacher, but that is exactly what happens to Crockett Archer in the opening of the novel Stealing the Preacher, the latest novel in the Archer Brother’s series by Karen Witemeyer. Sweet , yet Spunky Joanna Robbins has been praying for a preacher for her small hometown in Burleson County Texas for a long time, ever since the death of her dear mother who raised who her to love and worship God. However the church has long been abandoned and Joanna longs for the church to have a wonderful preacher which will help bring the word of God to her community and especially to her father whose heart is completely hardened to anything at all to do with God. However his heart is not hardened to his daughter, not by a long shot, so that is how poor Crockett gets hijacked on the way to his job interview to be a preacher in Brenham, because a Father’s love is all about getting what his daughter most wants, which is a preacher!
For those of us that fell in love with the Archer brothers in Karen Witemeyer’s Short Straw Bride, I just can’t imagine readers not enjoying reading Crockett’s story here as he meets the spunky and fun Joanna. She is a woman with a mission and so is he- although his changes a bit from what he thought. But being a man of faith, he accepts that while he thought that God wanted him in Brenham- God had a different plan, to help get the church up and running again in the little chapel where Joanna had prayed for a preacher to come! In order to get thing up and running Crockett needs to find work for a bit so that he can pay for his expenses. The main work to be had was at Joanna’s father’s ranch. Her father (and ex-outlaw) isn’t so sure about a preacher working for him- not man enough, etc. But Crockett is no regular preacher, he knows his way around a ranch and how to work hard and he’s not a bad shot either which earns the respect of the townfolk.
As the story progresses Crockett earns the right to be heard as the preacher and captures more than a few hearts of the female persuasion which adds to the conflict in the story with the very headstrong and persistent character of Holly Brewster who stirs up all sorts of trouble for poor Crockett. But hang in there, as things come together all right in the end.
This was a nice follow up sequel to a Short Straw Bride and in the usual Karen Witemeyer way things end just as you would want them too.
4 stars
I was given a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny, enjoyable, interesting Christian novel

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are so many unusual things in this book! A parson is the sole target of a train robbery and is kidnapped to serve as a birthday present. That same parson almost gets strung up by an angry father. He also goes to work for a retired outlaw and starts falling in love with said outlaw’s daughter. All while trying to do his job as a preacher.
The characters have character, even the secondary ones. I especially liked Bessie, the boarding house proprietress, and her interactions with the marshal. The boy Jackson was also a real pleasure to get to know and to see how the others poured into his lonely life.
What I enjoyed the most was how the author wove scripture into the story without being “preachy” and even Crockett’s sermons fit right into the story line. Crockett isn’t perfect and certainly questions why on earth things aren’t going the way he envisioned them. “For those who love God all things work together for good” (Romans 8:28 ESV) – that could be the theme verse of the book.
A fun book set in Texas in 1885 that made me smile, laugh, shake my head in disbelief and wish the characters well. If you like quirky yet serious, clean, Christian romance then you probably will enjoy this one.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stealing the Preacher

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
A J Hawke
Location:Dallas TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last thing Crockett Archer expected as he traveled by train in 1885 to an interview in hopes of his first preaching job was to be kidnapped. In the Piney Woods of Texas, Joanna wanted a preacher to help her fulfill her mother's dying wish and the old outlaw was determined to give her what she wanted for her birthday.
And in answer to her prayers for a preacher who would revitalize the empty church building, Crockett ends up right where he is supposed to be. Crockett first appeared in Witemeyer's book, Short-Straw Bride.
If you like clean, well written, gentle, happy-ever-after stories then Karen Witemeyer's book will fit on your reading list.
Filled with interesting plot twists and characters, Stealing the Preacher is another great read by Karen Witemeyer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Review...

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This wasn't a better-than-average romance, and it had a very predictable storyline, but I enjoyed it nonetheless even though I was expecting less of a romance and more of just an inspirational Christian historical fiction (and I was disappointed to find that it was romance-y). It wasn't boring, and the twist of a traditional Western romance was unique and interesting. I liked the Scriptural themes woven throughout the plot. While it had alot of cliche parts, this book also had some good life lessons that were shown through the characters' experiences- things like the truth setting you free, God's care in our lives, standing up for what is right, etc. I think that readers who like Western romances would enjoy this book. I rate it as 3.5 stars.
Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for sending me a free copy of Stealing the Preacher in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun Tale of Romance Texas-Style

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I pick up a Karen Witemeyer story, I know I'm in for a treat. Having read Short-Straw Bride, in which I met all the Archer brothers, I was eager for Crockett's story. I love the clever opening in which Joanna Robbin's former outlaw father, Silas, kidnaps Crockett as a gift for his beloved daughter. I wasn't sure how well this would work, but work well it does, setting the stage for some obstacles to be overcome--as well as some delightful attraction at the outset.
I enjoyed getting to know Crockett better. He's every bit the devoted minister I expected him to be, but he's all male, too--a wonderful mix of tenderness and toughness. Joanna is sweet but spunky, making her a fitting counterpart for Crockett. The secondary characters are well developed and add richness and depth to the story. One character in particular, Silas, is actually a major player, fighting faith's pull on his life as he fights to keep his daughter from falling for the preacher.
I enjoyed the story and watching the romance between Joanna and Crockett bloom. There are several sigh-worthy scenes as their relationship develops. Silas's journey is well drawn, but the romance reader in me would have preferred to see more of a focus on the couple. However, readers who enjoy a stronger spiritual thread than is often seen in an inspirational romance will be rewarded.
I'm eager to read more about the Crockett brothers and look forward to Witemeyer's next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stealing the Preacher follows the second oldest of the Archer brothers as he travels for a job interview as a preacher. The story is set in 1885 in Texas. Crockett Archer has been the spiritual leader of his family and now it is time to answers God’s calling to preach before a congregation. Crockett thinks he pretty much has this job in the bag once the people and elders hear him preach. What he doesn’t count on is being waylaid en route to his interview and that delay causing him to not get the job. He thought for sure God was leading him to this particular congregation. Now what is he going to do?
Joann Robbins wants only one thing for her birthday and that is a preacher. Her father can’t figure out what she wants with a preacher, but if that is what she wants, then that is what she is going to get. He discovers there will be a preacher traveling on the next train and as an ex-outlaw; he knows how to rob a train. He just never thought he’d be stealing a person! When Crockett arrives trussed up, Joanna is mortified. The only thing she asks of the preacher is to help her bring her community church back to life. For the last two years, there have been no services since that preacher left for a new church. Crockett promises to get the word out for a new preacher.
As the story progresses, Crockett and Joanna fall in love with one another despite the attempts of a manipulative woman who also sets her cap for Crockett. Joanna also longs for her father, who has been crime free for 16 years, to come into a relationship with the Lord. When an accident happens, will her father turn to God in his desperation or will he continue to rely on his own determination and stubborn pride?
I’ve read all of this author’s books and found them entertaining; I felt this one was just average. The plotline was a bit farfetched and the story seemed to drag. There were some bright moments in the story, so it is still worth reading. It is just not going to be one of those books that I would put on my “keeper” bookshelf. I still plan on reading this author’s novels in the future as not every book can be a 5-star winner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Delightful!!!

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a pick me up and a few hours of diversion from the stresses of life, grab a copy of Stealing the Preacher. You'll find plenty of humor laced with in-depth spiritual themes.
This is my favorite book by Karen so far. Crockett is a great character. I loved how his thoughts were communicated, showing his struggle to tame his tongue in obedience to the Lord. He sort of carried on a conversation with himself at times, and it was so real! I find myself often thinking I would like to say one thing but knowing I shouldn't and then apologizing to the Lord for thinking it.
Joanna wants to see their local church revived and has been praying for a preacher. Crockett is on his way to interview for a position as a Preacher in a town nearby. Silas, Joanna's daddy decides to resurrect an old profession to bring his baby girl a birthday present. Her daddy is hilarious! Along with his old gang members it was easy to picture them roping Crockett and dragging him around. There's this one part where he gets away and runs...oh wait. You'll have to read it and see what happens next. Belly laughs galore!
Karen is a master storyteller and her ingenuity is incredible when it comes to dialogue. There is never a slow moment in this book. Her relationship and knowledge of spiritual concepts jumps right off the page but not at all in an offensive or overdone manner. This is a sweet, fast-paced and funny romance that leaves me anxiously awaiting her next book.
Fans of Historical Fiction and Karen Witemeyer will love this story! Actually, I think anyone would love this story, it's that good :)
I was provided a copy of this book from the author for review purposes only. No other compensation was received. I was not required to write a positive review, only my honest thoughts about the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My first book by Karen Witemeyer but not my last

Date:July 28, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a wonderful example of a Genesis 5020 story. It begins with something that the enemy could use to harm Crockett Archer and it ends with how God intended it for good. I can't tell you how, you will have to read the book to find out.
I really enjoyed this book. I loved Joanna's desire to see her father come to know Jesus and Karen Witemeyer did a fabulous job working that into the story.
The romance between Joanna and Crockett is beautiful and will have your heart thumping in anticipation for that first kiss. When will it happen?
The only thing I didn't like about the book was all the winking. I don't have a problem with a well placed wink, I think they can be very effective. My issue was that a lot of characters where winking and it started to seem overdone. It got to the point that I cringed every time I read about another wink. But this didn't take away from the story overall, just my little pet-peeve and something I would've edited out of the book to make the winks more meaningful.
As I said, overall I really like this book and I can't wait to read more by Karen Witemeyer, she is a very talented author who knows how to develop a great story.
A copy of this book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You will be touched and amused

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel T
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Great story about a father who wants his daughter to have her heart’s desire, even if it’s something he dreads. For Joanna’s 21st birthday, she asked her father for a preacher. Not believing for a minute that he would get one, she needs a preacher to help keep the promise she made her dying mother, to see her father brought to a saving faith. Her father and his cronies, once outlaws, now reformed ranchers, decide to waylay a preacher on his way to a neighboring town. To do this, they kidnap him from a train. As the story unfolds, there are moments of hilarity, sadness, and times of trial, as the characters all learn something, and become better people. A true account of the truth that our plans are not always God’s plan! I received a free copy of this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Karen Witemeyer!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bethany
Gender:female
Today I'd like to share with you Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer. If you have not read anything yet by this author, you should! I have read all of her books and have enjoyed each one. This one is a great read!
About the book:
A cowboy who wants to be a preacher. An outlaw's daughter who wants to change his mind.
On his way to interview for a position at a church in the Piney Woods of Texas, Crockett Archer can't believe it when he's forced off the train by an outlaw and presented to the man's daughter as the preacher she requested for her birthday. He's determined to escape--which would be much easier if he could stop thinking about Joanna Robbins and her unexpected request.
For months, Joanna had prayed for a minister. A man to breathe life back into the abandoned church at the heart of her community. A man to assist her in fulfilling a promise to her dying mother. But just when it seems her prayers have been answered, it turns out the parson is there against his will and has dreams of his own calling him elsewhere. Is there any way she can convince Crockett he ended up right where he was supposed to be?
My thoughts:
I was happy to read more about Crockett, one of the Archer brothers introduced in a previous book. I thought this book had a unique, creative plot with Joanna's father (Silas) being a former outlaw and stealing Crockett from a train. I enjoyed both Joanna and Crockett and felt like I could relate to Silas actually as he learned more about God and his need for Him. The conflict at the end was unexpected for me as I would never have imagined what happened, but I thought it was a good addition to the story. I'll leave it at that so I do not spoil the story! I was glad to read a little bit here and there about the other Archer brothers too. This is another great book by Karen Witemeyer, and I look forward to more books from her.
One more thing... I really like the cover and the pretty dress on the model. Also, as a reader I would enjoy having a book in the future about Jackson. I thought he would be a great main character.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Faith-Filled Western

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karen Witemeyer's fiction is always a joy to read. Stealing the Preacher, the latest in a series of books featuring the Archer brothers is nothing short of entertaining. While this book focuses a lot more on the religious side than on the romance of her previous novels, I was still able to enjoy the cracking chemistry between Crockett and Jo.
Crockett, as I've come to expect from reading his brother Travis's story, Short-Straw Bride, was nothing short of what I love in a romance hero -- tall, strong, and a take no nonsense kind of guy. Naturally it was easy to root for such a charming and charismatic guy. Joanna, wasn't quiet the fiery, fun-loving redhead that I was expecting from the cover but rather a shy girl who was lacking a bit of confidence. In spite of their crazy and unconventional first meeting, that I'll admit to thinking was going to be a bit silly but ended up being oh-so-delightful, I really liked how naturally their relationship unfolded. The secondary characters were certainly interesting too. Jackson Spivey, the Robbins' precocious neighbor was quiet possibly my favorite part of the whole book. There's a story there with that one! I would LOVE to see him all grown up in a future story. I bet he'd give some girl a run for her money.
All in all, Stealing the Preacher is an adorable story. It focuses mostly on faith and Jo's need to help her father find God so I might not recommend it for those looking strictly for a light-hearted romance but if you love Christian fiction then this book is one you'll want to watch for. Karen Witemeyer is definitely a talent in the Christian fiction market. Her books never disappoint and always earn their spots on my keeper shelf!
~ My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars ~
*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher as an influencer for the author. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story telling

Date:July 18, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another Wow book. Wholly satisfying. Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer will make you chuckle, stare at the page in disbelief, and even bring a tear to your eye. Well, that last one might just be me, but it is highly emotional in a few places.
I stand in awe of Karen Witemeyer's ability to pull me into a story and refuse to let me go. She did it with Short-Straw Bride, and she's done it again with Stealing the Preacher. Kudo's to Ms. Witemeyer for an excellent novel.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You won't be able to put this one down!

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crockett Archer is on his way to interview for the preaching position at a church in Piney Woods, Texas but he doesn't quite make it there. Silas Robbins, notorious for holding up trains but never harming anyone or taking large amounts of money, decides to hold up the train that Crockett is on after 16 years of laying low. It isn't money he's after this time though, it's the preacher! His daughter, Joanna, told him that she wants a preacher for her birthday the next day and he will do anything to make his daughter happy, yet again no one was harmed and this time no money at all was taken.
When Silas returns with a preacher Joanna can't believe her father actually kidnapped a man after he'd promised her mother that he'd quit robbing trains. Joanna and Crockett go for a walk so she can explain what this is all about, along the way being confronted by someone who claims to be her suitor pulls a gun on Crockett. They return to the ranch house and Joanna loans Crockett her horse so he can go into Deanville and catch a train and move on to Piney Woods.
Crockett gets to town and sends a telegram explaining he is safe and will catch the next train to Piney Woods. In the mean time the Sheriff finds out he's in town and tries to get him to press charges, Crockett refuses, and then he gets a wire telling him to meet one of the elders in Caldwell where he finds out they gave the position to the other applicant. Now what to do?
This is a novel but Crockett is one of the brothers from Short-Straw Bride and does find himself in some strange predicaments, some funny and some more serious. I liked this one even better than Short-Straw Bride, so much so, that I stayed 'awake' one night (morning) till 4:00 A.M. to finish it! You can't go wrong with a Karen Witemeyer book! !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stealing the Preacher
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stealing the Preacher by Karen Witemeyer

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeAnne
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crockett Archer was on a train trip to be interviewed for a position at a church in the Piney Woods of Texas in 1885, but who would have thought it would be such a wild ride! His train is held up by a group of bandits who ended up kidnapping him. And for of all reasons to be a surprise birthday gift to the leaders daughter, Joanna! With no minister for their abandoned church in the heart of their community, and to help her fulfill her promise to her dying Mother, Joanna had prayed for a minister to come. But she did not expect to get one who had been kidnaped and tied up like a rustler for her birthday! She had wanted to breathe life back into the old church, but this man had other dreams and places he needed to be. He promised to help her find someone, but I don’t think even he would have ever guessed what was coming. Let me just start by saying I loved this book! It was very well done and the plot was great. I believe this was the first book I have ever read by Karen Witemeyer, and now I want to read more of her books! She is a great author and I love how real the people in the story seem. It is really great to see how their lives were changed during the story. And there were some very exciting twists and turns in the book! It was a wonderful book and I highly recommend it! I received this book free from Bethany House for my honest review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.