Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1

Bethany House Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1

Close your eyes, Ela of Parne. Close your eyes and you will see.

Ela Roeh of Parne doesn't understand why her beloved Creator, the Infinite, wants her to become His prophet. She's undignified, bad tempered, and only seventeen--not to mention that no prophet of Parne has ever been a girl. Worst of all, as the elders often warn, if she agrees to become the Infinite's prophet, Ela knows she will die young.

Istgard has turned their back on me. See the evil they do.

Yet after experiencing His presence, she can't imagine living without Him. Determined to follow the Infinite's voice, Ela accepts the sacred vinewood branch and is sent to bring the Infinite's word to a nation torn apart by war. Here she meets Kien, a young Traceland ambassador determined to bring his own justice for his oppressed people. As they form an unlikely partnership, Ela must surrender to her destiny... and determine how to balance the leading of her heart with the leading of the Infinite.

Will you accept the branch and speak my will? Will you be my prophet?

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Review 1 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
This review is fromProphet - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best fiction with adventure n romance i've rea

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ellen
Location:ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the details of being obedient to the infinite with constant protection. This book amazed me. I quickly read all 3 books, each equivalent in greatness. I loved the romantic, adventure and comedy all put together. I sincerely hope she will continue the series or do others. 5 stars to RJ Larson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
This review is fromProphet - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda V
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great read!! You are able to see the stories of the bible from a different approach. Looking forward to the next in the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

...exciting series premier...

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read in the Christian Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre and I would have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised. I prefer to read books based on historical fact, not fantastical imaginings. However, the author did a wonderful job creating a believable world and relatable characters. I found it easy to fall in love with each character, but especially with the heroine, Ela of Parne and her unlikely friend, Kien Lantec.
The author did a great job creating a fantasy world that was still believable. The events in the story are very similar to events during the time of the prophets in Israel in the Old Testament. R.J. Larson's goal in this story was to make the Old Testament prophets come to life in a fantasy-like world. I liked the parallelism between Old Testament events and this story.
I think my favorite part of this story was how often Ela prayed/talked to her Creator. Though "God" is never mentioned (He is referred to as the Infinite or Creator), I loved how close of a relationship and communion Ela had. She is constantly conversing with her Creator in her thoughts. She brings up more than just her worries and concerns, but her conversations are about little details of her life as well. This story was inspiring and humbling for me, realizing I do not talk to my Savior nearly as much as I should if I really want to KNOW Him. I find myself aspiring to have a better relationship, and this book helped me to see that.
Another aspect of this book that I really liked was what drove Ela to bring people to repentance. She experienced what life would be like if God withdrew His presence from her life. God grants us each breath, it is because of Him that we exist. In the story, Ela is allowed to briefly experience life without Him...it is agonizing and terrible; an idea of what eternal separation from God is like. This drives Ela to share her Creator's love. How often do we forget that God is our reason for living? We get so prideful and confident in our own abilities that we forget we are nothing without God. How many times do I take the credit for the things happening in my life? In fact, God deserves the glory for it all, not me and my "abilities" which are God-given anyways.We need Him; we are His created in need of our Creator. And yet, He gave us free will to choose to love Him, we were not forced to love Him. He is not willing that any should perish, but that all would come to repentance. This message was also displayed loud and clear in this story.
The only thing I would have to critique about this book is that, in my opinion, the author uses "visions" excessively throughout the story. I think they are a neat element, but a bit unrealistic. Yet, in the story, the Infinite does not always answer her questions, or grant her a full and complete vision. He knows what she is capable of handling and doesn't give her every detail.... partly to build trust and partly to protect her. I feel as though the visions were overused, and would have liked to have had less of them in the story.
In summary, I really did enjoy this book. I would encourage fans of Christian Sci-Fi/Fantasy and history guru's to read this series. I was very surprised and glad I expanded my horizons a bit to encompass this story. I look forward to Book Two of this series, and hoping that the author refines her storytelling even more.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical Fantasy

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prophet is such an interesting read. On one hand, the author has created this awesome world that springs to life with great characters from Ela’s little sister Tzana to Kien to the destroyer called Pet. Think a knight’s horse with a temperament & character attributes of a fiercely loyal dog who could kill you or love you to death. Then on the other hand, we have the Old Testament parallelisms.
I had a mixed reaction to the story. I LOVED aspects of it and then disliked other aspects, more specifically the OT parallelisms. I love allegory, but the similarities to the events in the Bible took me out of the story a bit.
That aside, the book was amazing. Right from the beginning with the snow of ashes, it drew me in and I wanted to know more. Very good, tight writing. The characters’ dilemmas and possible future endeavors had us debating on what the author might have meant regarding a certain “prophecy” and us looking for some loop holes. ;-)
That said, I look forward to reading the rest of the series, once I’m mentally prepared for:
“If I accept, will I die silver-haired?”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Journey That's Epic/Heart Rendering

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love Biblical fiction, but I never know if I’m going to connect with the story……that was NOT a problem with Prophet! By the first chapter I was hooked! Not only is Ela’s relationship with the Infinite fascinating and precious, but I truly wanted to see her story unfold. I was nervous the whole time about her life span, but I was also truly amazed by her obedience knowing she’d have to make difficult choices and sacrifices the whole time.
Ela is only 17 when she must make the decision to become the Infinite’s prophet and immediately she must leave home and go into training. She is only able to bring enough food and water for training and EVERY step taken she must solely rely on the Infinite’s voice and protection. The story begins with a vision that knocks Ela down in its intensity. She receives more visions, but that is the only one that is detailed and the Infinite knows how much these visions drain her so He is lessens the visions after that first one.
I was utterly humbled reading this story and many Bible stories came up in my mind as I read this. I thought of Jonah since he also a prophet; Mary being told she would give birth to the world’s Savior and her humbleness is accepting this destiny knowing she would be shunned and judged for it; and Noah because he also had to warn society of their wickedness and to repent before it was too late, no one believed him either. Even though the Infinite (Creator) is the only name God is referred to as in this story I considered all His other names and was appreciative: Prince of Peace, El Shaddai, Lord, Redeemer, Mighty One, Lion of Judah, King of Kings, Emmanuel, etc.
One of my favorite characters in the story is the horse, “Pet.” His personality, loyalty, temperament, and strength shines throughout and it enhanced the story that much more with him there.
I was surprised at the harshness of the Infinite responding to Ela’s protests with certain evil characters, it seemed like she was more compassionate than He was (which is impossible but the Infinite is just). The thought of ANYONE perishing in eternity without the Infinite to be there horrified Ela with EACH person that died. She understood what would happen if bullies in the story beat her or mocked her and no matter what cruelties she endured, she was always more concerned about her persecutors than she ever was about her fate. In the midst of her showing this compassion, I understood how much the Infinite loved her and that even though the Infinite didn’t desire anyone to suffer the consequences of hell, He knew that some characters would reject Him no matter what proof was shown to them. He also assured Ela that there was always hope, even to the last possible minute redemption was available to even the worst of rulers.
Most of this story is from Ela’s perspective, but it also shows other’s perspectives which helps the reader understand what Ela is going through as she gets discernment and wisdom. She experiences fear, reluctance, questions, feelings of hysteria, physical pain more than once, frustration, rejection, despair, protectiveness, servitude, missing her family/nostalgic for home, peace, unworthiness, and even resignation. Even though she understands the honorable calling she has received, she is still human and it was a treat to see her personality and growth in the story. I was amazed at her cooperation, contrite heart, courage, faith, and willing attitude never knowing for certain what would happen next.
This book is an incredible page-turner, intense, somewhat violent and it illustrates what a holy, loving, just, and unpredictable God we serve. The signs, wonders, miracles, and impossible things that happen in this story are accurate, tangible, humorous (love that Pet) and even romantic. The Infinite does not promise an easy journey for Ela, but He does make it clear to her that He is with her the whole time and even though she has many enemies He comes through for her like the Prince he is. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, supernatural occurrences (there are angels and even a little demonic manifestation in the journey), and a feisty young woman with courage beyond her expectations who is determined to carry out all tasks instructed by the Infinite to show His glory. To read how much this girl loves God was utterly precious to me, so inspiring and it really blessed me. I sooo look forward to reading Judge next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This tale is sure to touch your spirit!

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll admit it; I read this story for the cover. Isn't it gorgeous?! I'm really glad I gave it a chance though. It's a really neat Christian story in fantasy form.
Truly, the "Infinite" of Ela of Parne is the Lord I love and serve as well. I found some of the parallels and words of wisdom presented in a way that touched my spirit and really spoke to my heart.
I thought this story was well thought out, believable and yet still held that fantasy element to it that drew me in. I can't wait to pick up book two!
About the Story:
Ela of Parne has been chosen by the Infinite to be His Prophet to the people. I kind of got a clearer picture of how Elijah or Moses may have felt as I read this. They were His prophet but still human. I'm sure they really dreaded the delivery of some messages.
Ela leaves Parne with her younger sister, Tzana--a young girl plagued by a degenerative aging condition and travels to distant lands to deliver the Infinite's message. I thought this was interesting as it showed that God can use any of us if we will be his willing vessel. I also found myself worrying over her throughout the story which just shows how I fell in love with the characters.
From Parne, Ela finds herself in a kingdom that has turned away from the Infinite and it is her job to warn them. While she is there she is taken prisoner but she still delivers her message and does the will of the Infinite--even if the means losing her life. The determination and love that Ela holds for her creator serves as a firm reminder of how we should live our life for Him.
"I know the Infinite's voice because He tells me everything I don't want to hear, sends me where I don't want to go, and asks me to fulfill tasks I consider impossible. Above all, He is forever right."
During her time in prison, Ela meets Kien and though she tries not to--eventually she falls in love. I really wanted them together but I honestly can't see how it's going to work. So...in the end--I guess I'm going to have to pick up the next book just to find out!!!
Overall, I thought this book was really good. I struggled knowing how to rate it but decided on a 4 star solely because it seemed to drag for a little while in mid-story. Things picked up towards the end though and it was well worth the push to get through to end! This book definitely makes it to my bookshelf as a keeper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
This review is fromProphet - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbie Girl
Location:Union Grove, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a very good read, keep me involved in the story has if i was there. would recommd to all my friends and family. very much so enjoyed this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
This review is fromProphet - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!!!!!!

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pink Butterfly
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful for many reasons! The destroyers(war horses) were delightful, the characters are very likeable and real, and the storyline is great!
The very best part is the relationship the prophet has with the Creator, the Infinite. It creates an aching desire to have that deep, intimate relationship with God for myself. The author presents so many truths about God as well.
I absolutely loved this book and was sad when I was done reading it. I did not want to leave the characters!
I can hardly wait for book 2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prophet is a Journey of the Heart and the Soul

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prophet
Books of the Infinite #1
By R.J. Larson
Ella Roch of Parne is the least likely person anyone would expect to be chosen a prophet of the Infinite. But the Infinite chooses Ella to be His voice of warning to the neighboring nations and kingdoms.
When Ella sees a vision of destruction and massacre in Ytar, she has no idea why the Infinite would send such horror to her. But she soon learns the truth - she has been chosen to bring a warning to change to the kingdom of Istgard for their evil decadence and abandonment of the ways of the Infinite.
Taking her younger sister Tzana with her Ella sets out on a journey that may very well end her life before it has truly begun. After all the old saying A silver-haired prophet has failed can only mean that Ella will die young and soon.
Ella's journey to Istgard is a time for her to grow and to train in her new life as a prophet. When danger comes Ella must learn painful lessons in learning to call first upon the Infinite and His protection in every matter.
Part of Ella's mission is to turn the heart of Ambassador Kien Lantec of the Tracelands to the Infinite. Having been captured after the massacre of Ytar, Kien is a prisoner of Istgard. As fellow prisoners Ella and Kien both serve the purpose of the Infinite though Kien is unaware of his part.
A battle is coming and Ella and Kien are headed to the very center as their Istgard captors are determined to have them fall in battle along with the Traceland forces. With the visions she has received about the upcoming battle, Ella knows the Infinite's Will will be fulfilled and that she will most likely die in the ensuing battle.
Prophet is an enjoyable reading experience. Reading it one can find various parallels to Old Testament Prophets so that one will be inspired to delve into the Bible and refresh one's familiarity with the Prophets of old.
I received a free copy of this title from Bethany House for the purpose of this review, no conditions were placed on this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hooked Me From the Start!

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
clariail
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantasy is not a genre that I usually read but over the last year or two, I have read a couple of them. Can't say that it has hooked me into reading more yet but it does make me more open to checking some of them out. When I came across this book browsing CBD, I thought that the story sounded like it would be a good read and I was not disappointed! I was hooked from the first page and didn't want to put it down.
Ela Roeh of Parne doesn't understand why her beloved Creator, the Infinite, wants her to become His prophet. She's undignified, bad tempered, and only seventeen - not to mention that no prophet of Parne has ever been a girl. Worst of all, as the elders often warn, if she agrees to become the Infinite's prophet, Ela knows she will die young.
This is the first fantasy book written by R.J. Larson and she did an awesome job. The way that she laid out Ela's character as well as her young sister, Tzana shows a lot of love and care between the two of them. Ela is young and a spitfire I imagine except when she accepts being a prophet, she tries to keep a hold on it. You are also introduced to Kien who becomes one of the main characters in the book. He has a lot of cheekiness to him but strength also. He does tend to want to act before thinking though.
Humor as well as some romance is woven through out the book but not overdone at all. Several times I found myself laughing at different parts.
You will also be introduced to what they call 'destroyers' which are war horses. These are probably my most favorite part in the book, especially Pet/Scythe. I love the characters that she has given to them and they add a lot to the story.
One of the main themes of the book is calling those who have gone away from the Creator, the Infinite, back to Him. He gives everyone a chance up until the last minute, until judgment is rendered. Even when His judgment has fallen, you can feel His sorrow through the written words. So much of what is said in this book could be used in our everyday lives to reach out to those around us. You can feel the truth in every word. I can't say that I have read too many fiction books that impressed me that way.
If you, like me, have never read a Christian fantasy book, this would be a great one to start with. There aren't a lot of wishers for it either. I can't wait for the next one, Judge, to come out in October.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Fantasy YA read.

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riddle me this. What if God asked you to leave your family, all that you know and become his prophet- to bring truth and prophecy to people that really don’t want to hear it, don’t want to obey it and oh yeah, the kicker, being in His service will mean that your life will be cut short. It doesn’t sound like a job that most would sign up for. But Ela Roeh of Parne a young 17 year old girl somehow with her close relationship with “the Infinite” just can’t refuse. She is a most remarkable girl with many of the insecurities of most 17 year old girls feeling inadequate and unworthy of the task ahead of her most of the time. Yet Ela perseveres and gets better and better throughout the story in hearing the Infinite’s voice, seeking Him at every turn and doing what He tells her to do.
Along the way she meets a young handsome Traceland ambassador named Kien who is seeking justice and help for his downtrodden people. Ela and Kien’s paths cross and the Infinite is working in both of their lives to bring about His plans for all people involved in this war filled time. In Ela’s mind, Kien can’t be a part of her future because she is a prophet for the Infinite. And yet they are thrown together time after time. Could the Infinite’s plans for them both be different than what she thought?
This story does well by the Christian Fantasy genre and it is fun to see a new face on the scene in R J Larson. I thought the characters were engaging and relatable and enjoyed the addition of the trusty steed “Scythe” of “Pet” and the humor that he brought to the story. I liked the pacing with Kien being a total non-believer at the beginning of the novel, but as the story progresses and he starts seeking out the Infinite, how He is finally able to hear his voice. It wasn’t instantaneous and I like that, it had a ring of truth to it. I am looking forward to the next book in the series titled Judge.
4 stars
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review- all opinions expressed are honest and my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good message

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cambria
Location:Boulder, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although I ended up enjoying R. J. Larson's Prophet, it took me a while to get into it. Many events, particularly in the beginning, just happened too quickly without any build-up, and seemed to unfold a little too simply. However, it did get interesting, and I enjoyed the ending.
One aspect I liked about this book was that it made me think of how the Lord speaks to me in my life, and how easily I listen to Him. Ela, when speaking with the Infinite, either gets a clear, plain verbal answer right away, or the Infinite stays silent for the time being. While I don't think it's that clear all the time, I think that perhaps I make my communication with the Lord more complex than it needs to be. Since reading the book I have been more reflective of what the Lord expects of me in my life.
Overall, I would recommend the book to young readers who appreciate adventure while trying to understand their relationship with God. A more mature reader may not appreciate this book as much, but I would like to read the second book in this series and I hope the author continues to refine her writing style with practice and time. I appreciate Bethany Publishers for providing a free copy for review, which did not affect my opinion expressed here.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure and Reflection of the Truth

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
India Girl
Location:Virgina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing that catches the readers attention and draws them in is the beautiful cover design. It is extremely well-done! And the cover design is only the beginning of a rich and action-packed adventure that is full of biblical allusions and full of imagination.
Larson does an amazing job writing “Prophet”. He uses fantasy to not only grab his readers attention and keep them enthralled, but he use the biblical allusions to bring out truths of God, Spiritual Warfare, and godly character traits. The main character Ela, along with her younger sister, Tzana, and other characters, are beautifully flawed with struggles and hardships that enable the reader to feel a bit of themselves in each character and find encouragement and a purpose through struggles and hardships. In this story, the reader is able to see that God is refining us and has a purpose in all things, even when we mess up and make mistakes...He still uses it for His purpose and His good.
“Prophet” is well-written with many deep and hidden truths and messages within this fantasy adventure that continually makes you feel as though you, the reader, is right there in the story. It is extremely difficult to put it down and return to reality while you are reading this story. “Prophet” is a book worth buying and reading not just once, but several times. I really look forward to the following books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jalyn
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the book once I got into it. I just had a little trouble getting into it.
Ela is the prophet of the Infinite. The synopsis says she’s undignified and hot-tempered, but I didn’t see that in the beginning (although I did see it later on). All I saw was good-little-girl Ela making the right decision and following the Infinite, no matter the cost. I’m not saying that’s bad, I’m just saying I wish it had gone slower. I’m kind of curious about what Ela’s relationship with the Infinite was like before.
I did find it a little annoying that the Infinite told Ela that she would die young if she became a prophet, but Ela hardly hesitated. There was no inner conflict – “Do I follow the Infinite or do I live to a ripe old age?” She just did the right thing immediately.
Later on in the book, after there'd been some time to flesh out Ela's personality, I liked her much better. I just think R. J. Larson jumped into the whole prophet thing too fast.
I connected better with Kien than Ela in the beginning. Kien was just a fun character. I loved how he could be optimistic and witty even when he’s in prison. He was the kind of person I’d like to hang out with. (I’d say more, but that would involve spoilers.)
I’m glad Tzana wasn’t a really major character. She was sweet, but she was a little too perfect to be a relatable character. (Tzana is pronounced TSAW-nah. I’m also glad of the pronunciation guide in the front.)
The plot was highly reminiscent of Old Testament prophets, but I enjoyed it, just the same. It had enough battles and political intrigue and assassination attempts to satisfy adventure-loving me, while enough of Ela’s relationship with the Infinite to make me wish my relationship with God was like that.
Overall, what I’m trying to say is, despite the fact that I didn’t connect with Ela at first, I really enjoyed the book. And I plan to read JUDGE, the next book in the series, when it comes out in November.
I received a copy of PROPHET for review from Bethany House publishers. Their generosity did not influence, or seek to influence, my opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing and bold - sends you to the Word...

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book and I can hardly stand the idea of waiting until October for the next one. The story was enthralling, and as I finished I was compelled to read the prophets in the Bible, to see with new eyes the challenges and difficulties those called of God faced. The kings who were blind to their own failings, the servants of the Most High who refused to back down, knowing that their God was (and is!) greater than any human He created.
I was also intrigued by the concept of a woman prophet. I could think of only one in Scripture – Isaiah’s wife, who is referred to only as “the prophetess”, but who is obedient to God in raising her children and naming them for the prophecies God decreed. Prophet also echoes themes from Jeremiah, as the main character, Ela, feels deeply the rejection of God that the people continue to avow, even as she provides example after example of what that rejection means.
Elijah, too, is seen in broad strokes in the story. The kings and queens who worship idols are condemned by their actions, their poor leadership, and their continued pride. God’s judgment is repeatedly foretold, and the hard hearted continually persist in selfishness and foolishness. The beauty of this book is that while it can be read as a stand-alone work and enjoyed, it is far better with an in-depth review of the Old Testament prophets – because both are much more colorful for the parallels and insight.
I recommend this book. Anyone who wants to get a clearer understanding of what it truly means to surrender to God, to live as His servant to the nth degree, will be well served by reading the story R.J. Larson provides. If, as you read, you too are compelled to revisit your Old Testament, all the better. God’s love never changes, His compassion never ceases, and His faithfulness is great.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantasic Christian Fantasy

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie B
Location:Walla Walla, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
From the very first page of Prophet, by R.J. Larson, I was drawn into the story of a 17-year-old girl with many faults, struggling between her own wishes and what the Infinite decrees. Ela Roeh sets out to spread Infinite's will and help people repent. At times she's frustrated and doesn't understand why Infinite won't keep giving people more chances or maybe just a little bit more time to have a change of heart. With her sister and the Ambassador from Traceland by her side, Ela confronts various leaders regarding their evil ways, and tries hard to reach the hearts of everyone she comes into contact with.
The story was interspersed with tidbits of humor. I loved Ela's conversations with Infinite, and the sometimes subtle interplay between many of the other characters, like the group of Istgard soldiers Ela first encounters. And I also love that despite Ela's connection with Infinite, she definitely still had her own struggles, like that little bit of a temper she displays when first meeting Kien.
I could hardly put the book down, even though I got mad at Infinite a couple times for allowing Ela to be injured at times. It is an excellent read, and I find myself wanting to continue their story in book 2, Judge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A trip to another realm without leaving your seat

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Villageanne
Location:WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
R.J. Larson has spun a fantasy tale in her debut fantasy novel “Prophet” that will keep the reader hungering for more. This is the kind of story that would be told around the campfire, while keeping everyone awake all night. “Prophet”is filled with action from the first page and does not end until the last page. Sword fighting as well as bows with arrows are used as good fights evil in a battle that will keep the readers heart racing, as they enter another realm and time. The reader will feel the presence of wild animals as they fiercely leap from the pages. The scenery can be seen with vivid color and description as the reader sees the visions in their mind. This book takes the reader on an adventurous journey into a world that has never been seen until now. The book has an amazing ending, yet sets up the storyline for the next book in the series. The book begins with a character list. This list includes all the characters and a short blurb about each of them. Unlike some fantasy novels “Prophet” does not have so many characters that it is hard to follow.
This fantasy novel is appropriate for YA as well as adults.
DISCLAIMER:
I received this book free from the publisher BethanyHouse in exchange for a review. This fact has no impact on my review. I give honest reviews.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutley amazing and God filled

Date:May 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kyra
Location:New Haven, CT
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book, just because it sounded interesting, but once i started i had a hard time putting it down. The plot moves well, and is fluid. But the content, amazing! Well written and thought provoking. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A unique and wonderful tale!

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Prophet is a unique, wonderful tale that grabbed me from the first chapter and kept me spellbound throughout. It is unbelievably good, pulsing with supernatural imagery and descriptions that are captivating. Ela is one of my favourite characters to star in a book in 2012 so far, beautifully developed and a pleasure to read about. She is a character who captures the essence of how so many of us feel at some point in our lives when she states "I'm clumsy and insignificant. No one will listen to me....I'm not going to be of any use to You at all!". What follower of God has not, in some way, questioned how God could possibly use us? And yet God, here portrayed as "the Infinite" does use Ela as a powerful prophet, one who brings to mind comparisons to real-life Elijah and Elisha. This book satisfies on so many levels, as not only an entertaining story, but also a reminder that God searches our hearts and our minds in our daily lives just like he does through the words spoken by Ela in the story. We too will be held accountable for our actions, and have the choice to ignore God or serve God faithfully, with all of the joys and mysteries that accompany that service.
I heartily recommend this novel for all readers who love a good fantasy novel...and even for those who aren't convinced they do! The book moves at a fast pace with lots of action, moments of romance, and unexpected humour that had me smiling and laughing in turn (I loved the scenes with the horses, the destroyers....you'll see what I mean!). I'm left wanting more, and am thankful this is only the first installment in what is sure to be a fantastic series!
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prophet, Books of the Infinite Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great new series for young adults!

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If the cover alone on this book, does not make you want to pick this one up and begin reading, I don't know what will. Just the premise alone about a young girl being chosen as a prophet immediately draws me in because we would almost expect a prophet to be a male character instead. So for female readers, this is already an exciting beginning.
The synopsis to the book begins with Ela Roch of Parne who doesn't understand why her beloved Creator, the Infinite, wants her to become His prophet. She's undignified, bad tempered, and only seventeen - not to mention that no prophet of Parne has ever been a girl. Worst of all, as the elders often warn, if she agrees to become the Infinite's prophet, Ela knows she will die young.
What would one think when faced with this choice? At seventeen it would appear that wouldn't be a choice most girls would want to face. That's what makes this such a compelling read that automatically draws you in, especially if you are a young adult picking up this book to read. The storyline falls out of character for your traditional roles and that is what becomes the immediate draw for me. I don't like your follow the path of those that have gone before you books, I LOVE something unique and different for me, this book is speak volumes in that direction.
I received Prophet by R. J. Larson compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and couldn't wait to pick this one up and begin reading it. I was not disappointed. From the very first page, this author grabbed me and won't let go. I didn't want to be let go but raced through this book, turning pages as fast as my eyes would let me go. Since this is the first book in the Books of the Infinite series, I will be looking out for number 2, in anxious anticipation.
Geared for the young adult, historical fantasy fans, even adults can find enjoyment in the pages. It's entertaining in the fact it doesn't take the author half to book to define the fantasy world, she is able to articulate it well enough you buy into it all without question. I would rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and look forward to the second book in the series, Judge, which the reader is given a sneak peek at inside the back of this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.