Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1

Bethany House Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1

Soft-spoken Meg is more interested in art than business---but when her father dies, she inherits his oil company, his fortune, and his Thoroughbred horse ranch. In an effort to preserve her sanity, she asks the caretaker, Bo, to shut down the ranch. But will Bo prove the only part of her father's empire worth keeping? 368 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 out of 3391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Review 1 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book from Becky Wade!

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved Becky’s debut novel, My Stubborn Heart so I had very high expectations for Undeniably Yours. I’m very happy to say that it surpassed them all! I’m actually writing this review after reading the book for the second time, which officially makes it a favorite.
I loved so much about this book, that I’m not sure where to start! The storyline intrigued me from the beginning. I was curious how Becky would take an idea that is predominate in historical writing and use it for a contemporary book. For those unfamiliar with it, the idea is a “servant” falling for their much wealthier “master.” In this case, we change those to “employee” and “employer.”
I adored Meg! She is so sweet, funny, and remarkably normal! While we don’t have much in common, I quickly fell in love with her and found her very relatable. She is so kind and caring. She often thinks of herself as a “softie,” and I enjoyed watching her grow throughout the book as she begins standing up for herself and chooses to follow the path she believes God has for her.
I also loved Bo from the start! He is the kind of hero that will make you wish he were real. He is so kind, loyal, and so sweet with Meg. I immensely enjoyed their relationship, watching it grow and rooting for both of them!
The secondary characters were great as well! Sadie Jo, Lynn, Amber, Jayden, Mr. Son - I loved them all! They are the kind of unique, quirky characters that add depth to a story. It wouldn’t have been the same without all of them a part of it.
As much as I enjoyed the storyline and the characters, my favorite part of the book is the spiritual aspect. Bo and Meg each had something they had to learn, and following their journey really touched my heart. Bo has to learn to see himself as equal to Meg. He starts out believing he is unworthy of her, because of her station in life. One of my favorite quotes from the story is Meg saying to him, “You think God views us any differently, Bo? He doesn’t. He doesn’t care one bit about all the outward things. To Him, we’re equal. We’re both loved the same, valued the same. We both need to find our worth in God’s view of us. To look for it anywhere else is a big mistake.” (page 254. Excerpt used with permission from the author) This really spoke to me. So many times I’ve based my worth on something other than what God says about me.
For Meg she had to learn to fully trust God. She has spent most of her life worrying and trying to do everything just right. She believes she is trusting God, but not until she faces some difficult things and rises above several challenges, does she find herself able to really let go and trust Him. This also struck a chord in me, as trust is never easy and trusting Someone you can’t see is even harder - as least for me.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys sweet romance with a compelling storyline that tugs your heart and challenges your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another engaging romance by Becky Wade

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The first Porter Family novel, Undeniably Yours, is set in the fictional town of Holley, Texas. Becky does a beautiful job at conveying a sense of place and has created compelling lead characters in Bo and Meg. To put it simply, Becky is very good at writing romance, and I enjoy reading it. Romance fans will enjoy Bo and Meg's story and be eager to see more of the Porter family as well.
I enjoy Becky Wade's romances because I easily get caught up in her characters and the emotion of her writing. In Undeniably Yours, Becky has created two compelling lead characters and placed them in an impossible situation: rich female boss, regular country boy employee - separated by wealth, job position and social ranking. I knew she would somehow resolve this invisible barrier imposed by society, but the fun is in how she gets us there.
Becky creates a great sense of place with her descriptions of the small Texas town of Holley and Meg's family ranch with its thoroughbred farm. Whispering Creek Ranch resembles the famous Southfork and I loved her description of its interior: "Everything in the place was either costly, a shade of brown, or lifted off a dead animal."
Meg and Bo are likeable and engaging lead characters. Texas oil heiress Meg Cole is quite different from what her job title implies. She is fair, gentle, tenderhearted and vulnerable; she suffers from anxiety and doesn't feel the job she inherited is what God wants from her. Meg is first attracted to Bo because she feels a calmness and quietness in his company.
Former Marine Bo Porter is a humble, honorable, and self-sacrificing character who has finally attained his dream of running a thoroughbred racehorse ranch. In the very first scene of the book, Meg tells Bo she’s closing the ranch down - and from there, we watch Bo struggle to deal with the heartbreak of losing his ranch while wanting to protect Meg and be the ally she needed. After hilarious evening of babysitting a young child, Meg describes Bo as "a man christened with the miraculous ability to gentle horses, nervous women, and one-year olds."
Becky may go a little beyond what some readers of Christian romance are comfortable with as far as descriptive adjectives, characters cursing under their breath and being placed in compromising situations, but I think she just writes in a more realistic style that shows people's imperfections. And everything fits the Texas setting well.
The supporting cast was great, and I especially hope we see more from Meg's Asian gardener, Mr. Son. He treated the young boy with dignity and expectation, and their interaction was one of my favorite parts. "Mr. Son might not look like a traditional baby whisperer. But he had a way - a stiff, prickly, and unusual way - with children. Just like with his acres of flowers, he could coax them to bloom."
Readers will enjoy the suspenseful conclusion and spiritual themes as Meg discovers her ministry in the "more" that God intended for her life. There's also a great stewardship message as Meg realizes that none of it is actually hers . . . "Not the bank accounts, the properties, the staff, the possessions, nor the controlling interest in the company. All of it belonged to Him."
I am glad Undeniably Yours is the first of a series because I definitely want to see more of Bo and Meg, as well as the other Porter siblings. I'd also love to see further development of Mr. Son's character. I highly recommend this book to all romance fans.
This book was provided by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meg Cole is in desperate need of some peace. She's been thrust into a role as an oil heiress that she doesn't want. If her father hadn't died unexpectedly, she could have continued to live her life as an art museum administrator. Instead, she's suddenly expected to run an oil empire she doesn't care about. But one man, Bo Porter, is a source of calm in a sea of turmoil. Only problem is she gave him six months to shut down the thoroughbred racehorse farm her father owned. Throw in unexpected house guests, a search for someone she doens't want to find, and a hunt to find herself, and this story is as richly layered as it is charming. At its essence, it is all about being willing to listen to God and become the person He wants us to be. If that includes a man who is the peaceful eddy in your whitewater life, then all the better.
This romance has layers of mystery, but it takes a strong third seat to the romance and spiritual thread. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and the characters. The romance was ideal, the attraction zinged. And I can't wait to read more Becky Wade books now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wow

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade is a faith based romance that will knock your socks off. Meg Cole just inherited millions from her father along with an oil business and a horse farm. She would rather get rid of both. Bo Porter is the manager of Whispering Creek Horses. He has 6 months to convince Meg not to sell the horse farm. Meg is stressed, overwhelmed and having panic attacks the last thing she wants is to be around horses that terrify her. Bo is determined for her to keep the farm and will do anything to protect her, but how far is he willing to go? After having her heart broken by her ex husband Stephen and being taken advantage of she is wary of men. She has a hard time trusting and is always wondering if they like her or are they after her money. When Amber and Jayden, Stephen’s ex and son show up on her doorsteps Meg is faced with a new direction God may be leading her. Bo has fallen head over heels for Meg but is careful not to cross the boss / employee line or the rich / poor one either. Finally as Meg begins to allow her heart to fall for Bo, she is faced with a big betrayal that could destroy their fragile bond. But then she is kidnapped by Stephen, will her and Bo ever get a chance? I highly recommend you read Undeniably Yours to find out how God works it all out. I want to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for this book. And thanks to the author Becky Wade and Bethany House for writing and bringing good clean Christian books to readers like me. I can’t wait to read another book by this author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun, Light Read!!!

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meg Cole, Texas oil heiress, is perfectly happy living off her own small salary until her father unexpectedly dies, leaving her with a large fortune and control of a company she never wanted. She also finds herself with a large Thoroughbred racehorse farm she has no interest in keeping. However, when she attempts to shut the farm down the manager, Bo Porter, talks her into giving him six months to pay off the farms debt and break even. As Meg attempts to fill her father’s oil baron shoes and Bo tries to prove the horse farm is worth keeping, both discover an attraction that becomes increasingly hard to fight.
Undeniably Yours is a fun, light read that had me hooked from the start. Meg made me chuckle and she was so kind hearted and willing to help those in need. Bo is a charming, swoon worthy cowboy who is always looking out for Meg and her best interests despite his own desires. The novel also boasts a slew of strong supporting characters. Meg’s old nanny Sadie Jo is a sweet, elderly woman who truly loves Meg and enjoys nothing more than fawning over children and worrying over wet diapers. Mr. Son, the landscaper, is stoic but also calm and wise. Amber and Jayden, a young mother and her son who have an uncomfortable tie to Meg, help her begin to find God’s direction for her life and her resources.
I would recommend this book for fans of chick lit, sweet contemporary romances or anyone looking for a fun, light read.
*I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Compassionate Love Story

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Undeniably Yours" by Becky Wade is the story of what happens when you take one unimaginably wealthy heiress and have her threaten the dream of one incredibly determined cowboy. One would expect sparks to fly, but Wade doesn’t give her readers what they would expect. "Undeniably Yours" is a compassionate love story, the story of a woman recovering from a life of heartache and the first man ever whose cared to protect her—even if it costs what he wants most for himself.
I enjoyed reading this sweet book. Not only did I get to discover what become of Meg and Bo, I also got to watch as Meg overcame the hurts of her past, discovered God’s good plan for her life (and the wealth He’d bestowed), and, in turn, helped many others to do the same. That’s about all I can say about that without risking spoiling the story for you. I am hoping for a sequel or two, though. I think three or four members of the supporting cast could find the loves of their lives with a few more pages devoted just to them.
Bethany House Publishers sent a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. I recommend it to fans of contemporary Christian romance books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meg never really knew what she wanted to do in life other than NOT work at Cole Oil. Her father’s company took up little space in her heart. When she receives word that her father has passed away, and that she is not 51% shareholder of the company she returns to take care of business and close a chapter in her life. Miserable and prone to frequent panic attacks, Meg doesn’t know how she can last six months.
Bo is very settled and comfortable as manager of the Thoroughbred farm at Whispering Creek Ranch, the Cole’s family estate in Texas. When Mr. Cole passes away and his daughter shows up, Bo’s future doesn’t seem so secure. He is willing to do anything to prove the worth of the horse farm and eventually his love for Meg.
Having been hurt in the past by a divorce and misplaced trust, Meg is not ready for a relationship, especially an employer-employee relationship. Only time will tell how Bo and Meg work through their difference and uncertainties. When Meg’s ex husband arrives on the scene to take care of unfinished business, the depth of love and feelings between Bo and Meg are unveiled.
Undeniably Yours, by Becky Wade is a must read for anyone looking for a love story wrapped up with adventure, friendship, and heartfelt warmth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't wait to read more in this series

Date:June 25, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a romance that will have your heart twisting with each turn of the page and a hero who will fight for the woman he loves, then this is the book for you.
I wasn’t sure if I would like the heroine all that much, a rich heiress. But Becky made her so likeable that you can’t help but cheer for her. Meg, the heroine, is like many of us who come to know Christ. We think we don’t deserve all this grace, all the gifts the King lavishes on us and have trouble accepting them. Meg feels the same way when her father dies and leaves her everything.
Meg does something very cool with the gifts she’s been given, but I can’t tell you what, you’ll have to read to find out. It’s a beautiful picture of what our Father wants us to do with the gifts He gives to us.
And I can’t forget about Bo, the hero. Oh my, he is so perfect for Meg but it takes them a while to admit it and there are some bumps along the way. Becky has created a wonderful hero in Bo Porter, the kind of man who will fight for the woman he loves and do whatever it takes to prove his love to her.
Becky creates very real characters. I love how she gave Meg quirks that make her tangible, like chewing the inside of her cheek or twirling her earring when she is nervous and slipping on her glasses to help her see better. Don’t we all have our own habits? These things make characters real to us.
This book is the first in a series and I can’t wait to see what Becky whips up next.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I SO wanted to like this more. Really.

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade.
After practically blazing through My Stubborn Heart in just one day - literally - I was just thrilled to have won a copy of Wade's latest, Undeniably Yours, after participating in a couple of giveaways.
That's how excited I was about this.
To be honest, there were some aspects in Undeniably Yours that I liked and some aspects that I liked less.
First the pros:
This novel just oozes with chicness. Chic cover. Chic heroine. Chic clothing. Chic setting. The fashion-loving girl in me reveled in that and gives kudos to the author not only for the sophisticated elements added to the story but also for her smooth, engaging writing style, which I could distinguish right from the beginning. It simply drew me in. I also found that I could relate to Meg on some levels: her sensitivity; her love of reading, her love of simple things. Her struggle with trusting God just touched some deep places within me, and I can even recall standing still as I read a scene where Sadie-Jo and Lynn encourage her on that. I don't know about anyone else, but those words truly spoke to me.
Yet, even though I thought Meg's character was fine, my favorite character remains, hands down, no doubt about it: Mr. Son.
Oh. my.
And his scenes with Jayden? Heaps of fun! I just beamed every time he walked into a room, like a ray of 'Son-shine'. (Which is ironic, I know, for those of you who've read the book... )
Cons:
Unfortunately, the aspect that is supposed to be the heart of the story and the most exciting part, just didn't come and get me : the romance. I remember just TRYING to figure out why and I finally came to the conclusion that I just couldn't feel their connection. Meg and Bo's romance, in my opinion, doesn't seem comfortable, natural and lasting. It was a bit of a whirlwind really - they meet and fall for each other a bit too fast from that point on. I wish I had felt their friendship, their true devotion to each other and I think more depth would have helped along with a plot - or a romance- less predictable. I'll even admit to having *gulp* skipped some parts to get to the end of the story, which is something I try to avoid doing.
It's a good read. I was just hoping for a GREAT one. I wouldn't say that this is my last read from Becky Wade though...
This is my honest review. Thanks to the author for a copy of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Butterflyreview
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meg Cole’s father dies suddenly and she is forced to return home to Texas to take up the reigns of Cole Oil. She has no desire to run Coil Oil but she made a deal with her father that she would return to Texas after ten years and learn the oil business. His death cut short her ten years. Under the advice of a team of lawyers she decides to shut down the thoroughbred racehorse farm that her father started. Bo Porter, the manager of the racehorse farm, convinces her to give him six months to make a profit.
Bo and Meg start to spend more and more time together. They both realize a relationship won’t work. She is rich and his boss. He’s her employee and poor. As the story progresses, they soon just enjoy each others company. When they both come to the conclusion that none of that matters expect their love for each other Meg’s past comes back to haunt her in the form of her ex-husband.
I found this a somewhat enjoyable read. The overall story was good. But there were parts of it that seemed to drag on. I had trouble with several parts of the story. They went dancing at the local bar where drunks accosted Meg. What would you expect by going to a bar? Then there were the references to cursing. Quite a few times Bo cursed under his breath or to himself. Dru, Bo’s sister went on a cursing rampage at the bar. For a Christian fiction book I was expecting better.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing for an honest review. I was not compensated in anyway.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wednesday, June 12, 2013
Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade
Bethany House sent me a free copy of Undeniably Yours. If you like a romantic cowboy story set in the heart of Texas this novel is a must read. As the only child of oil tycoon William Cole, Meg finds herself thrust into her daddy's shoes as CEO of Cole Oil when her father dies unexpectedly. She had planned on coming back to work with her father eventually, but only after following her own dreams working in an art museum. Meg likes her life private, quiet, and out of the media spotlight. She just wants to shut down as many of her dad's side businesses and get back to her own life. However, when she tries to close up her dad's Thoroughbred racehorse farm, manager Bo Porter stands in her way. His dream was to own a ranch, and Whispering Creek Ranch is close to being profitable. So he makes a deal with Meg for more time to prove himself. Add to that Meg's fear of horses, a single mom and child that Meg takes in, and Meg's divorced husband who decides he is entitled to Meg's money, and you have an action packed story that is hard to put down! This was the first book I read by author Becky Wade and I loved it! Her style reminded me of a combination between Denise Hunter and Colleen Coble. One of the best I have read in a long time!
Posted by basketballorange301 at 12:47 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In LOVE!

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God created us for romance. Pure, honest, wonderful God-breathed romance. And thus it makes perfect sense that I would love “Undeniably Yours”. Yep, I’m in love and I have no shame admitting it.
Meg and Bo make a *cute* couple. I think they are about the cutest book couple I have ever read. I mean seriously. Cowboy meets millionaire heiress that could care less about being Texas’s most eligible bachelorette and wants more to get out of this rich lifestyle and back to her humble apartment. I could so easily identify with Meg, she’s a simple girl put in surroundings that immediately challenge and raise all kinds of insecurities.
Bo is pretty close to a perfect hero. I love an observant hero and Bo knew how to treat a lady. His mama taught him right! Sure, I like the flawed or bad-boy book hero, but every once in a while, it’s nice to see a break in the mold and have a genuinely good guy. The adoration almost oozed…in a good way. *wink*
The romance is satisfying. The writing top notch. The characters so incredibly loveable. The plot tempting me back again and again. The dialogue smooth and subplots seamless. I loved it. So much to enjoy and sigh over and just plain love watching unfold. Very much worth the investment of time!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author and publishers for my copy to influence/review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Second Novel!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Becky Wade's second novel. While I would have liked to see more of her dialogue, her quick wit and fun cast of characters still had me turning pages and smiling when I closed the back cover. I'll eagerly await novel #3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Becky Wade!

Date:May 29, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover of this book told me right away that I'd be in for a romance that was quite possibly filled with humor. I was so excited to read this book. I could hardly wait to flip it open when I got it. There was just something about the cover that made me REALLY want to read this book.
I'm glad that all of my excitement over this book didn't vanish when I completed this book. I liked
conflicting emotions between Meg and Bo. I appreciated Bo and his determination to straighten out the farm. I was a little surprised by what the "threaten force" was in their relationship....that thing that could possibly break apart a chance of a relationship.
The romance came pretty early in the book and I was a bit worried that it'd kill the book for me. It
didn't, though. She somehow made it work and still had me wrapped up in their relationship but not making it so sappy that it's overkill.
I'm definitely looking forward to the second book in this new series, The Porter Family. I keep hearing good things about her first book she wrote, My Stubborn Heart, so I found it in the bookstore
and am about to read it now!
_________
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Contemporary with an Old Fashion Flavor

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Regina Jennings
Location:Oklahoma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A humble, trusting, rich young woman needs a hero and Meg Cole may have found such a man in cowboy Bo Porter. When Meg's father dies unexpectedly she finds herself called back to Texas to head his multi-million dollar business. Having already decided that the high-glitz life wasn't for her, Meg is overwhelmed by the expectations awaiting her. She wants to simplify by closing out some of her father's holdings starting with his Thoroughbred horse farm.
Growing up in tiny Holley, Texas, Bo knew about the richest girl in town, in the county, but he didn't know her. Not until she called him into her office to fire him. Bo only has six months to convince her that his stables are worth saving, but by then horses aren't the only thing in need of rescue.
Once again Becky Wade gives us warm-hearted heroes that we believe in. Meg and Bo come from different worlds, but readers quickly realize that they are perfect for each other. One of my favorite aspects of this story are the secondary characters - Meg's snooty family, Bo's rowdy brothers, a vagabond and her son, the estate staff - Becky draws them all fully, until you're certain you'll recognize them when you see them on the streets of Holley.
And did I mention the romance? Trust me, you won' t be disappointed.
I'm looking forward to Becky's next book and I hope to see some of these characters again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fabulous debut novel!!! Using an independent, feisty female, romance and comedy, all included in this book, made for a super read!!
The main character, Meg Cole, experiences a tragedy in her life, in more than one way! Her father dies very unexpectedly , and she is forced to go back home to Texas to the family home, "Whispering Ranch" to take over the ownership as well as leadership!! This is certainly NOT a task Meg desired!! In fact, it was the furthest thing on her mind! She is fearful that she will not only lose her patience but her sanity as well. This ranch is the home to thoroughbred racehorses. Meg desperately wants to just sell it all, however, the manager, Bo Porter convinces her to give him six months to prove the importance and success of the training he does here.
Bo makes an attempt to resent this determined woman who is trying to change his life and do away with the only job he has ever wanted. BUT , this is the interesting complication...... he feels a desire to protect Meg instead of exploding in anger at her. You can now see where this is going. Is Bo going to be successful in winning not only his job, but his new love??
The blow hits, when a their fragile bond is broken by a force from Meg's past. Will their faith in God and belief in His wisdom to work through this circumstance be strong enough to retain and earn one another's love????
The characters in this book were realistic, quirky and somewhat humorous individuals. They grabbed your immediate attention and maintained it throughout this novel. At times, I found I wanted to give each of the couple a good shake and some practical advice. It was impossible not to become involved in this story.
The plot , although rather simple, girl meets boy, etc. sounds dull and predictable HOWEVER. it was anything but that!! Becky Wade used a developing plot ending in a climax that was completely surprising. There was just the right amount of twists and turns , humor, romance and conflict to make it a great read.
This book would appeal to all fiction lovers, particularly those that like varied plots. It is just not your typical everyday book.
Definitely worth the read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learning To Trust

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sweet romance. Once you pick this one up you wish you were in Meg Cole's shoes, or not. She can buy anything she wants, but love! Guess that other side of the fence does always look greener.
Bo Porter's first meeting with her, is a life changer in more ways than one. She wants to close down her deceased father's race horse ranch and stables. Bo begs and wins six months to make the ranch pay for itself...she says yes, but no guarantees.
I loved the compassion both of the main characters seemed to possess for others, especially the less fortunate. Also enjoyed the fact that the both have a great love for The Lord! Who does turn up in interesting places!
Can you imagine walking in the world of the upper elite? How would you fit in? Bo seems to do a fairly good job. We see him judged, a bit unfairly. There is also some evil lurking about, and maybe the end of some of these individuals. Enjoy going to country music dances and elegant formal dinners.
This is one of those books you can't wait to read the next book in the series. Don't miss the first one!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Undeniably Texas-Style Romance

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Undeniably Yours" by Becky Wade is undeniably a Texas-style romance, complete with an oil heiress, cowboy hero, and a modern-day outlaw. Wade kicks off the Porter Family series with a novel about love, trust, and opening oneself to God's will. The characters are relevant and believable with distinct personalities. Meg and Bo carry the plot, but are joined by an array of secondary and background characters. Most of the story is told from the third-person perspectives of Meg and Bo, but there are occasions when scenes are viewed from the perspective of the "outlaw," Stephen. I was a little surprised when the plot switched to Stephen's point-of-view several chapters into the novel, but it showed his malice and greed, which ultimately helped me relate to Meg more.
Bo is the exact opposite of Stephen. As a man of faith and integrity, he is the novel's hero with a western flair as evidenced by his cowboy hat and boots. Meg finds him charming and irresistible, and many readers will too. Despite their differences, love and respect blossoms easily between Meg and Bo. Amid Meg's emotional struggles, he is her protector and advocate. But, just when things seem to be falling into place perfectly for the couple, the plot picks up with some action. The events are not completely unexpected, but I enjoyed the drama and the resolution.
"Undeniably Yours" offers glimpses of the Porter siblings that leave me pondering what the next books will hold and waiting for another visit to Texas.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from LitFise through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Thoroughbred Racehorse Farm and Romance

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky Wade in her new book "Undeniably Yours" Book One in the Porter Family series published by Bethany House Publishers brings us into the lives of Meg Cole and Bo Porter.
From the back cover: When Meg Cole's father dies unexpectedly, she becomes the majority shareholder of his oil company and the single inheritor of his fortune. Though Meg is soft-spoken and tenderhearted-more interested in art than in oil-she's forced to return home to Texas and to Whispering Creek Ranch to take up the reins of her father's empire. The last thing she has the patience or the sanity to deal with? Her father's thoroughbred racehorse farm. She gives its manager, Bo Porter, six months to close the place down.
Bo knows he ought to resent the woman who's determined to rob him of his dream. But instead of anger, Meg evokes within him a profound desire to protect. The more time he spends with her, the more he longs to overcome every obstacle that separates them-her wealth, his unworthiness, her family's outrage-and earn the right to love her.
But just when Meg begins to realize that Bo might be the one thing on the ranch worth keeping, their fragile bond is viciously broken by a force from Meg's past. Can their love-and their belief that God can work through every circumstance-survive?
I cannot imagine someone not loving a horse ranch but Meg seems not to and wants to close the place. Bo is the manager and his dream is the horse ranch so we have a problem. How these two are going to get together and have a romance is something you have to read to believe. "Undeniably Yours" is a romance that focuses on social standings and how, in reality, we are all just men and women not rich and poor. Ms. Wade has given us wonderful characters that live and breathe on the pages. "Undeniably Yours" is a marvelous story filled with great romance and some suspense. This book does not disappoint at all. I enjoyed it and I am already looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Undeniably Yours, Porter Family Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who hasn't wanted to fall in love with a cowboy?

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"She laughed.
Smile lines crinkled around his eyes, making his handsome face even more handsome.
He was surprisingly easy to talk to, this man she'd tried and failed to fire. "It's strange to think that we grew up in the same town but that our experiences were so different, isn't it?"
"It is." Bo gave the horse a pat on the side of its neck, and it ambled off.
Of course, hardly anyone had grown up like she had. Still, it surprised Meg that she could have been raised in this country and have so little interaction with men like Bo. She was much more familiar with your average wealthy, private-school-educated Dallas man. That breed wore expensive designer clothes, drove Porsches, and could carry their end of a long conversation about wine.
Bo's breed? Unapologetically masculine. Too practical for designer clothes. Drove American-made trucks. Drank beer.
A breeze combed through the trees, lifting Meg's hair. As she glanced up to watch the clouds creep across the dusky blue sky, a faint sense that she'd misplaced something needled the back of her mind.
She'd stashed her glasses in one of her sweater's deep pockets. That must be it. When she fished them out and put them on, her view of the horizon turned from slightly fuzzy to clear.
Yet...no. That wasn't it. Something was definitely missing, thought. What? She could feel her car keys still in her pocket. She'd left her purse at the big house.
And then it hit her. The thing that disappeared?" (pg 44).
In the latest novel to completely captivate your heart and soul from best selling author Becky Wade, Undeniably Yours takes you into two very different worlds, the one of Meg Cole and Bo Porter. Meg Cole is the sole heir of her father's vast oil fortune which has been left entirely to her. Bo Porter who runs her father's Thoroughbred horse farm. At first she wanted to eliminate the entire horse farm, something she couldn't fathom trying to understand and manage, but when she attempted to fire Bo, he pleaded for her to give him six months to turn around the finances so that they could begin to show a profit. She had agreed to do just that but soon found herself giving Bo much more than she ever imagined was possible. Could this rich girl fall in love with a simple country boy? You'll want to pick this one up to find out.
I received Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. This one is enchanting and the romantic tension Becky creates has you on the edge of your seat wondering just when these two will admit their true feelings for one another. Bo is that perfect knight in shining armor wrapped up in simple blue jeans, stetson hat and t-shirt that can not only whisper to horses but to Meg's heart as well. This novel has found a forever home in my library as well as my heart. Who hasn't dreamed of falling in love with a handsome cowboy? I rate this love story a 5 out of 5 stars and will read this one again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>