Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1

Bethany House The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1

Amelia "Amy" DeVries, a 24-year-old violinist, is disillusioned with life and love after the collapse of her long-running romance. Weary of endless rehearsals and performances, Amy sets out on a road trip through the Pennsylvania mountains. She leaves her cell phone behind so life's demands can't intrude on her solitude. She doesn't know, nor care, where she will end up.

When her car breaks down deep in the mountains, Amy realizes the flaw in her "no cell phone" plan. She abandons her car and walks the winding roads, searching for help. Following the smell of woodsmoke and the sound of music, she finds a rustic log cabin. There she meets a young Amishman--and through him a community--that will change her life forever.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
15
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
0
78 out of 8691%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Review 1 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
This review is fromFiddler, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amelia DeVries is a classical violinist that is unhappy with her life. Tired of keeping a secret from her family, and emotionally exhausted by practices and performances, she takes a little detour into Lancaster County. Her car decides to let her down deep in the mountains, and after her phone leaves her stranded she walks to the nearest house. She discovers an enchanting log cabin, and most puzzling of all, an Amish man inside.
Michael Hostetler is disillusioned with his family's expectations of him as well. He loves them, yet he just doesn't feel that he can follow their footsteps and make the lifelong commitment to the Amish church. After Amelia ends up on his doorstep, he recognizes they are in the same place in life. Inviting her to come along to Lancaster County to extend her impromptu road trip, both Michael and Amelia make more discoveries than they ever bargained for. Will they ever be able to make decisions that honor Michael's heritage and Amelia's legacy?
Picking up my first violin at 3 years of age, I truly enjoyed this book. The details of Amelia's concerts, the authenticity of the musician "lingo", and every little violinist nuance made me feel as if she was an extension of myself, a character I could believe in. But I'm afraid that to someone who has no interest in a violinist's life, it may be overbearing tale filled with too much time devoted to things only a fellow string player would enjoy. So that being said, it was a very good book for me and one that I enjoyed. All the same, anyone that loves Amish fiction and Beverly Lewis will find this visit to Lancaster County a delightful one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

overall a good book

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:New Paris, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like how it tells of both the English and the Amish. Moves quite fast with the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting story

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Location:Columbia Cross Roads, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a fan for Beverly Lewis books, but out of curiosity, I picked up this book to read. And loved it. Once I started reading I just couldn't put it down. So much happened in the book - so many lives become intertwined. Secrecy, finding out who she really is and what she wants to do, learning to pursue ones dreams and follow one's heart instead of living out other peoples' plans for you - all these things spoke right to me. Because of my love for music, I could put myself right into the heroine's shoes - I could understand exactly how she felt performing music and trying to follow her heart. Definitely a good read for anyone who enjoys Christian fiction, likes to read some romance - without getting too 'mushy', and for those who love music.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Story

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrs. White
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beverly Lewis is well known for her insightful portrayal of Amish living. Her stories are always vivid, well written and fascinating. In "The Fiddler," Englisher Amelia is a professional Concert fiddler. She has an exciting life and a loving family. Somehow, she ends up in an out of the way area and meets an Old Order Amish man, Michael. He is young and struggling with whether or not he wants to join the Amish church. The two form a friendship. We read about Amelia staying with the Amish for a time and seeing it all through her eyes. We also learn about some of the antics of the Amish youth, during their time of deciding whether they will join the church, or leave it for the English world. I was so saddened to read that some of the young people actually were using Facebook! It shocked me. There is something sweet, nostalgic, and precious about the Amish way of life - it is almost untouched and innocent. It is a life that many crave. While reading this story, you sense that you are there, living among them. There is a sense of peace that comes through which makes the story a delight to read. Amelia's English life is also fascinating. Her classical music endeavors is calming and a nice contrast to Amish life. Overall, it is a valuable, interesting story.
*Disclosure - I received this book for review purposes.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Beautiful Amish & English Story

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beverly Lewis is a writer of class and true Christianity. This story is very well written gives you a view into what it would be like to take a visit to an Amish community and it also gives you the perspective of the Amish coming into the English Community. Our Book Club enjoyed this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:Warren,PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well written & awesome story line :)!!! Look foward to the third book :)!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Fiddler is an exciting and suspenceful story all the way to the end. Great ending too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY GOOD STORY..

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE FIDDLER by Beverly Lewis is an interesting Amish historical romance set in Hickory Hollow, Pennsylvania. Book 1 in the Home to Hickory Hollow series. I liked all the characters and the romance between the characters. A very good story,very interesting. I loved the way this author draws on faith and healing. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details at the author's website,Bethany House Publishers,and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: DorothyA, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2012
When Concert Violinist Amelia Devries and Amishman Michael Hostetler met, they were strangers that became instant friends. There was also a romantic spark between them. Both were trying to escape a life that everyone else had planned out for them. Amelia was tired of all the traveling for concerts across the country. She wanted to settle down, get married and have a family. Michael wanted to leave the Amish and continue his education. His parents wanted him to get baptized, settle down and marry an Amish girl.
Michael was trying to decide the best time to tell his parents that he was not going to stay Amish. Meeting Amelia showed him it was time, but could he go through with it? Michael caused Amelia to do something out of character. She decided to visit Hickory Hollow, where Michael lived, and stayed there a few days.
While there, Amelia met Ella Mae Zook, known as The Wise Woman. Ella Mae knew exactly what people needed to hear and she knew how to solve their problems. I didn't care for the way her character was portrayed, she seemed more like a fortune teller than a older, Godly, Amish woman. Amelia also met Joanna Kurtz, a friend of Michael's. Joanna was Amelia's age and they also became instant friends. Joanna's life was about following God and what He wanted and she told Amelia all about it. Joanna was fun and full of life. Amelia had been straying away from God. Michael and those in his community helped set her back on the path God had intended for her. Amelia and Michael were both at a crossroads, deciding what to do. Did they follow their dreams or continue on with their lives planned out by others?
Amelia's character was too self-absorbed for me. She totally forgot about her and her boyfriend's anniversary and their dinner plans. On more than one occasion she played her violin where others could hear it when she knew the Amish were against music like that. I liked Michael. His character was not perfect and he knew it. He also knew the world didn't revolve around him.
This is the first Beverly Lewis book that I have read. It would probably be my last if I didn't know her reputation as a writer. As I was reading, I thought that Beverly Lewis must play the violin. When I got to the end, I discovered that she does. She describes Amelia playing her violin in such a way that anyone who enjoys the violin will like her descriptions about it, others maybe not so much. The ending of the story was very choppy. It switched back and forth between very fluffy descriptions of what Amelia was experiencing, and the Amish in Hickory Hollow. I was really looking forward to reading a book written by Beverly Lewis but was left feeling disappointed when I finished.
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amelia DeVries is a classical violinist that is unhappy with her life. Tired of keeping a secret from her family, and emotionally exhausted by practices and performances, she takes a little detour into Lancaster County. Her car decides to let her down deep in the mountains, and after her phone leaves her stranded she walks to the nearest house. She discovers an enchanting log cabin, and most puzzling of all, an Amish man inside.
Michael Hostetler is disillusioned with his family's expectations of him as well. He loves them, yet he just doesn't feel that he can follow their footsteps and make the lifelong commitment to the Amish church. After Amelia ends up on his doorstep, he recognizes they are in the same place in life. Inviting her to come along to Lancaster County to extend her impromptu road trip, both Michael and Amelia make more discoveries than they ever bargained for. Will they ever be able to make decisions that honor Michael's heritage and Amelia's legacy?
Picking up my first violin at 3 years of age, I truly enjoyed this book. The details of Amelia's concerts, the authenticity of the musician "lingo", and every little violinist nuance made me feel as if she was an extension of myself, a character I could believe in. But I'm afraid that to someone who has no interest in a violinist's life, it may be overbearing tale filled with too much time devoted to things only a fellow string player would enjoy. So that being said, it was a very good book for me and one that I enjoyed. All the same, anyone that loves Amish fiction and Beverly Lewis will find this visit to Lancaster County a delightful one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all books by Beverly Lewis. I read them to my 90 year old mother. She also loves them. Then I pass them on to my grandchildren. They eagerly wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fantastic book

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cornwall
Location:Devon, UK
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you want to be lifted out of the doldrums, just pick up this book, curl up in a chair, forget the weather and read, you will be totally absorbed from beginning to end, can't wait to turn the pages for the next chapter. very captivating
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I enjoyed this book

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
audie
Location:Denton MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. I would have liked it to go on a little more in regards to the two families getting together and meeting each other. I felt a little let down at the end. Over all though I really felt a real understanding into the Amish world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

"The Fiddler" by Beverly Lewis

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Southern Belle
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“The Fiddler” is an Amish fiction novel by author Beverly Lewis. It is one of the “Home To Hickory Hollow” novels mainly taking place in Hickory Hollow, Pennsylvania, where Lewis’ Amish novels first began. This particular novel involves a violinist who is essentially trying to “find herself” and, on her journey, meets an Amishman in basically the same situation, albeit in the Amish community. It is a tale of discovery and romance and, for someone who is either unfamiliar with the Amish, as was I, or is intrigued by the Amish, as I have become, this is a great read!
(Bethany House Publishers provided me with a free copy of this book.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Fiddler

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherrie
Location:Bridgeton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Fiddler was another hit for Beverly Lewis. I am so glad she created another series of Amish books. She is an exceptional writer with ties to Amish and makes everything so real. She uses realistic names and locations within her story so you try to image where she is setting the story and it makes it easier to believe. This story was better than the usual boy meets girl, fall in love, honor Amish heritage and get married. It was more real then some stories that have been written about the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

another great book series of Beverly Lewis

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Noblesville, In.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I greatly enjoyed this book as much as all the other books
that Beverly has written. I looked forward to getting it and
enjoyed every thing about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mare
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all the Beverly Lewis books & this was really an excellent book and kept my attention. I just loved the characters in this book as they were new. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Confusing, unrelatable, and unbelievable

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicole
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Fiddler is the story of an Englisher woman who happens across an Amish man while having car trouble. Once Amelia meets Michael she is enveloped into Amish culture. Although Michael and Amelia seem to come from two different worlds, they are more similar than you would think.
I really wanted to like this book, and I thought I would. I gave my gramma my review copy before I had a chance to read it, and she breezed through the book and loved it. I did not breeze through the book and thought the first half moved at a snail's pace. The second half of the book more than made up for it. Even though I could guess how the book was going to end, I found the second half of the book to be a page turner. (My assumptions about how the book would end were correct by the way.) If I wasn't writing a review I don't know if I would have finished the book.
Not only did the first half move slowly, I had a really difficult time relating to Amelia. Amelia is career driven as a concert violinist, an only child, spoiled, and seems to make her decisions to please her parents (at least at the beginning of the story.) Here is a young woman in the book who has her own home, the freedom to stay in an Amish town for a long weekend, ditches/forgets her plans with her boyfriend, yet, doesn't want to speak up to her parents about what she wants. I was confused by the independent/not independent bit with her. Although that was the premise of the story, I found Amelia unrelatable and I just didn't like her. For example, she just forgot her anniversary with her boyfriend? Her one night car trouble turns into a long weekend away with very little communication with her family? She didn't think the Amish people would hear her music and get upset with her?
I know the book is fiction, but found it completely unbelievable. I like fiction books that can be real and have a bit of truth in it. I'll be honest, I'm not an expert on Amish people so maybe this book is believable, but I found it far-fetched. On the other hand, it was sweet.
I liked the character Joanna, but felt the author left us hanging with her story. I suppose we will learn more about Joanna's story in the next book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series. If that is the case, I may pick the book up.
I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher, in exchange for my honest opinion and review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Story

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denette
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sit back and enjoy a trip to Hickory Hollow, Pennsylvania. You'll fall in love with Amelia and Michael from the start!! A sweet story with a little something for everyone. You won't want to put this book down!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Fiddler, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book That Brings You Joy!

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Fiddler
by Beverly Lewis
Back of the Book:
“A wrong turn in a rainstorm leads Englisher Amelia Devries to Michael Hostetler –and the young Amishman’s charming Old Order community of Hickory Hollow. Despite their very different backgrounds, Amelia and Michael both feel hemmed in by the expectations of others and struggle with how to find room for their own hopes. and what first seems to be a chance encounter might just change their lives forever.”
I had to smile when I finished reading the Author’s note, “I’ve been waiting nearly a lifetime to write this book!” at the end of this story! I just knew there was a perfectly good reason I slowly savored every part of the book, “The Fiddler” by Beverly Lewis. My normal speed of “I just can’t put the book down!” was halted as I took the time to enjoy every moment in the lives of fictional characters, Amelia and Michael.
Just like every Beverly Lewis book, you can trust that you are in for a virtuous story that is appealing to both younger and older women alike. Her ability to show a character such as Amelia and the changes in her faith towards God is very believable.
I have no complaints or do over’s! Sure we could all wish for more of this or more of that, but the book, “The Fiddler” is a very satisfying read that leaves you happy!
I am so looking forward to the sequel, “The Bridesmaid” coming in September!
Happy Reading!
God Bless Your Day Today!
Kelly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.