Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3

Bethany House Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3

Format: eBook

When her friend vanishes from a cruise ship, reporter Darcy St. James isn't satisfied with their explanation that she simply left her job of her own accord. Something isn't lining up, and Darcy believes the only way to find the truth is to put herself in Abby's position. Within days, Darcy learns her friend wasn't the only person to disappear mysteriously. Last summer, a woman vanished under almost identical circumstances.

Alaskan Courage Series

Customer Reviews for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Review 1 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dani Pettrey has a hit!

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stranded brings Bailey Craig back to Alaska to help her former partner solve a mystery. But when she arrives, her partner is missing. She’d sworn off investigative journalism, but Abby’s plea for help was something she could not refuse. As she boards the cruise ship, she runs into Cole McKenna, her long ago boyfriend – his company has been hired to provide Extreme Adventures for the guests of the cruise line. Their relationship, once deepening, becomes strained as Cole is convinced that Bailey is once again the penultimate investigative journalist – no matter who gets hurt. The entire McKenna clan gets involved, but will the key players be left stranded?
This series is a must read! You’ll want all of the books now and will be anxiously awaiting the release of the fourth. Dani Pettrey has a hit with the Alaskan Courage Series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best ever romantic suspense

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stranded is the 3rd book from the Alaskan Courage Series. I have not yet read the first two, but would love to now that I have read this book.
This Romantic Suspense is exactly what those words imply. From the first page to the last, the story was filled with suspense. It kept me on the edge of my seat and biting my nails waiting to see what would happen next. The romance didn't overpower the suspense and vice-versa which made for a really great read. The main characters and secondary characters were all well developed and the plots and sub plots were easy to follow, and exciting.
In the past Darcy had been an investigative reporter, along with Abby, her friend from college. Abby was still doing reporting and Darcy had moved on, until that one phone call from Abby asking for help, begging really. Now Darcy is involved in whatever it was that made Abby disappear.
Gage is in a business with his family and they have accepted a job leading excursions off the Destiny Cruise Line - Bering. Gage's first day on board leads him right to Darcy, a woman he knows can never be part of his life. Their journey together, and apart, is a story not to be missed.
I thoroughly loved and enjoyed reading this book. I would recommend this book to all who love suspense, romantic or not.
I received this book as a winner in a contest from ACFW Book Club and am giving my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another exciting journey with the McKennas

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again the author gives an entertaining adventure story, with mystery and romance. In this third installment the focus is on Gage McKenna and Darcy St. James that we met during book two. Although the focus is on Gage and Darcy we get to see the other McKenna's and their significant others.
I enjoyed the main story dealing with the sudden disappearance of Darcy's friend who was working undercover on a cruise ship. The author did a great giving clues throughout the story. I especially enjoyed Gage's story. Gage struggled with something many people do, understanding why bad things happen to the innocent. I love how Darcy helped him come to terms with his hurt. The chemistry between them was fun.
This is the third book in the series. To fully enjoy it you will want to read at least book two.
Disclaimer: I purchased this book because I wanted to know what happened next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic Suspense Fans -- Enjoy!

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dani Pettrey returns to the Alaskan wilderness, with another romantic suspense novel featuring the McKenna family.
In Stranded, Darcy St. James, a former investigative reporter, responds to a friend’s plea for help with a big story. When Darcy arrives at the Alaskan cruise ship, her friend has disappeared, and no one has answers for her. She remains on board as a travel reporter, and puts her life at risk as she investigates the mysterious disappearance.
Meanwhile, Gage McKenna is setting up adventure excursions for the cruise passengers on the cruise ship where Darcy is working. Gage and Darcy met earlier (in Shattered). But they have had no contact for the past five months due to a misunderstanding. They are surprised to run into each other again, and sparks begin to fly!
Darcy discovers a pattern to recent shipboard disappearances of other passengers. When Darcy’s life is in danger, Gage realizes how much he really cares for her. Together they try to unravel the sinister plot and find her friend before it is too late.
Pettrey crafts a mystery that will leave the reader guessing “who-done-it.” Stranded is filled with spine-tingling suspenseful plot twists, excellent character development, and just the right touch of romance. Her characters are imperfect and realistic — they endear themselves to the reader as they struggle with faith and relationship issues. As an author, Pettrey just gets better and better with each book in this series. Her next book, Silenced, is expected in 2014.
Fans of Dee Henderson, Irene Hanson, and other Christian suspense writers will not want to miss this next installment in the Alaska Courage series.
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thanks to the publisher for an advance copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent mystery

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The third book in the series didn't disappoint. The pace was fast and exciting. This book could stand on it's own quite easily but reading the other 2 books would definitely put you in the mood for more mystery. Darcy's character received great background build. The only thing that disappointed me was the lack of focus on Gage even though he was the secondary lead in the story, he is part of the McKenna family rather than Darcy but then I guess the series is more about the courage of women. In following the Courage theme Darcy faced many situations where it took her reliance on God to get her to come through the physical and psychological trials. Some of the twists were expected, some were not. All in all a great mystery read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It wasn't as good

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've read the first two books in this series and couldn't wait for this one to come out. I'm looking forward to reading Kayden & Jake's story. But, for Darcy to be an undercover investigative reporter she sure was naive. Some of the stuff she was doing I couldn't believe it. I kept thinking "Darcy, you are an undercover investigative reporter you should know better". The author repeated herself a lot. Then, the story finally started moving. Wasn't as good as the first two. I hope Kayden and Jake's story is not disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye-opening Mystery

Date:January 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
knitwritelove
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I blew through all three Alaskan Courage books in no time, reading one after another in rapid succession. I enjoyed each one, and I must confess that I wondered if they would continue to be as good as the first one. I was not disappointed!
With Stranded, I was pulled into the mystery right away, of course, and enjoyed the setting aboard a cruise ship. It was unlike any novel I’d read, and the twists and turns of the plot kept me guessing. And what Darcy uncovered was quite a surprise. It was intense, real, and made for a wonderful story. In fact, it was so real that I don’t want to set foot on a cruise ship anytime soon!
My inner editor picked up on some pet phrases that have been carried throughout the series, but the story kept me so engaged that I didn’t mind. The characters were interesting — not a single flat character in the bunch! Piper remains my favorite, but Darcy was fun to get to know. And I really enjoyed getting the inside scoop about Jake. He’s so cool! I’m looking forward to digging into his character more as the series continues. I can’t wait for the next book! And I wish the McKennas were real. ;)
———
+My copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I just discovered Dani Petrey and I love her books

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jana
Location:Keller, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just discovered Dani Petrey and I love her books - comparable to colleen coble, Dee Henderson and Terri blackstock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Right mix of Romance and Suspense

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Stranded, by Dani Pettrey, reporter Darcy St. James is worried when one of her friends goes missing from a cruise ship so she puts herself into her friend's position. Soon, Darcy learns that multiple women have disappeared due to very similar circumstances. Gage McKenna is leading adventure excursions for the cruise ship and finds Darcy working aboard the same ship. Together, they investigate to try to get to the bottom of what seems like a sinister plot to kidnap women.
I enjoyed this book, as I did all of Dani Pettrey's books. I've read the two previous books in the Alaskan Courage series so it was nice to read about the same characters and see their relationships continue to develop. I thought this book had a good mix of romance and suspense. It wasn't near as cheesy as the book before it, Shattered. After reading Stranded, I can't wait for the next book in this series!
I was given this book for free from Bethany House Publishers through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good read!

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana Crawford
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all in the series so far and all have been excellent in my opinion. Dani Pettrey has taken a spot now as one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Keeps you guessing

Date:November 24, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the third book in a series. I really enjoyed the first two and was very excited to read Stranded.
This book has a great plot and characters. It was great catching up with the McKenna family and seeing how they were doing. Darcy St. James showed up in book two and was a spunky character I really enjoyed.
Dani wove a suspenseful story and had me wondering how were the bad guys and who were the good guys. I just wasn't sure who I could trust.
For whatever reason, I didn't find myself flipping (or tapping on my e-book) the pages as fast as I did with the first two books. As I said it was a very good story but it didn't give me the heart pumping, nail-biting read I have come to expect from the first two books.
If you pick this book up first, don't worry, you won't feel lost if you haven't read the others. Although you will understand the other characters better if you have read the first to books (Submerged and Shattered).
If you enjoy romantic suspense I think you will like Stranded. So give it a chance and grab your own copy.
An ebook of this book was given to me by the publisher through NetGalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoy this series.

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Tampa FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying the writing style of Dani Pettrey and the characters in the three books of this series. Look forward to more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kept My Attention

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book three in this series but I do not think you need to read the others to enjoy this book. I liked the adventure as well as the romance. This is a well written and very enjoyable book and that is why I gave it 5/5 stars. The intrigue will keep you turning the page to see what will happen next. The characters are well written and when the two main characters are interacting you can feel the tension and romance! I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian books that have detective work and some romance.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow Start but Important Contemporary Issue

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book tackles a serious kidnapping problem in contemporary society. To me it brought to light how innocent persons could get caught in this snare. I had not viewed the problem in that way before. I chose the book as I read the prior books in the series and I was ready for a new adventure for the McKenna family and their friends. Gabe McKenna and Darcy St. James are the stars of this book. I have to say that I thought it moved a bit slow for the first 25% of the book. Near the middle it finally picked up steam as the plot got better and the subplots of Gabe's salvation and Jack's story came to light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very interesting book.

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Madison, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book as much as the other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent edition to the series.

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stranded captures the feeling of the series and drew me in right away. It is an enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Adventure in Alaska

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Dani Pettrey delivers a gripping suspense story in Stranded, book three in her Alaskan Courage series. Darcy St. James, the McKenna family, and their friends and associates make a return visit as they work to solve a life-or-death mystery where time is of utmost importance.
Throughout the series, Dani has created characters you can care about as friends. Darcy, Gage, Kayden, Jake, and the others face real-life challenges and dangers. As the plot continues, secrets are revealed, relationships grow, and faith is tested while the characters learn more about each other and about themselves.
This is Dani Pettrey's first series, but she certainly doesn't write like a rookie. And I'm excited to know that she plans at least a couple more stories in the series. Stranded could be read as a stand-alone, but I think you will enjoy it more if you read Submerged and Shattered first.
Fans of great Christian suspense authors like Dee Henderson, Terri Blackstock, Irene Hanson, and Lynette Eason should have no problem adding Dani Pettrey to their list of favorites.
Thanks to Bethany House for providing a copy of Stranded in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding new author to me.

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stranded, Alaskan Courage Book Three by Dani Pettrey
Darcy St James returns to Alaska and a job she gave up to help out her friend and former coworker Abby. They are former partners as investigation journalists. Abby has stumbled upon a big case and needs Darcy’s help but when she goes to help Abby has disappeared from the cruise ship. The last person Darcy expects to meet is Gage McKenna. When she last left Alaska she left a part of her heart and never expected to see Gage again. Together they face danger and fight for their lives. This is the first book I have had the pleasure of reading by the author Dani Pettrey and the first in this series, I find it to be well written. It is a fast paced book that grabs and holds your attention. I had a hard time putting it down. Although it is part of a series it can be read as a stand alone, I had no problem following. I give this outstanding book five stars and can not wait to learn all about the rest of the McKenna’s in the first two books. This author is sure to find her way to my favorites. I want to thank the author Dani Pettrey and publisher for bringing good clean Christian books like this one to readers like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEYOND AWESOME MYSTERY!!!! LOVED IT!!!!

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tablet
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mystery lovers, grab a huge cup of steaming coffee (or tea :)!!) and settle in a comfy, cozy place because you will not want to put this book down until you have turned the last page.
Dani Pettrey has done it again with her new book, "STRANDED", the third book in her Alaskian Courage Series. This is a fabulous mystery with just the right amount of faith, mystery and romance. This book will grab you from the first page and will stay with you long after you have finished it..
Join Darcy St. James and Gage McKenna as they investigate the disappearance of Darcy's friend, Abby, from the cruise ship Bering. Darcy comes on the ship as an "Adventure Journalist" to help Abby with an investigation she was doing. The day Darcy comes on the ship, Abby disappears.
As Darcy gets closer to the truth of what happened to her friend, the closer she brings danger to herself and to those close to her.
Dani's characters and story line are indepth and so awesomely developed that you feel like you are part of the story and all the action going on. You feel and see and experience what her characrs feel see and experience.
I could not turn the pages fast enough in this book to find out what happened next. I am already looking forward to the next book in the series.
Dani, your books are awesome!!!! I will be reading ALL of your books to come.
Many thanks to Dani and Bethany House Publishers for sending me a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review and opinion, which I have given. tab :)!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stranded, Alaskan Courage Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stranded Not the Best But Still a Must-Read

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her third book in the Alaskan Courage series, Dani Pettrey once again manages to mix together romance, mystery, and danger in an intense, hard-to-put-down package.
Bringing to life once again the McKenna family, Pettrey also brings back Darcy St. James, an investigative reporter, whose love for the Lord has made her step away from a life of deceit to focus on sporting events instead. But when her former partner invites her to handle one last assignment, Darcy finds herself once again heading to Alaska and back into the war path of Gage McKenna.
While the romance between Gage and Darcy seems pretty predictable, it is still a fun read. The one problem I have with the romance part of this story is that Pettrey seems to think it's okay for her characters to get involved with someone who is unsaved simply because they will eventually get saved. I would much prefer to see some of her characters have fallen away from God and then come back to Him through events and people in their lives.
As far as the suspense parts of the book, I did think that some of the parts at the end were a bit rushed. It seems like Darcy could have been in more danger than that and perhaps we could have seen more on the side of the women being traded.
Despite these things, I still found it hard to put this book down, and I look forward to the next book in the series!
*This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.