Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2

Bethany House A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2

Joining the communal society of the Amana Colonies isn't what Jancey Rhoder planned for her future, but when unforeseen circumstances force her family to make some difficult decisions, she chooses to give up her teaching position in a Kansas City orphanage and move with her parents to Iowa.

Her besotted suitor, Nathan Woodward, isn't at all happy about the move and is determined to get Jancey to change her mind. And Jancey herself isn't sure what she's gotten herself into when the simple life of the Amana Colonies means she'll be assigned a job and may have to give up teaching for good. Will Nathan woo her back to the city, or will she be forever changed by the mysterious events and new relationships that await her in the quiet villages of the Amana Colonies--and decide to make this unique place her forever home?

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Review 1 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Simple Book

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I began reading this book during the end of a semester of graduate school. Usually when I am reading a really good book, I cannot put it down and I will read it instead of focus on what I really need to get done. I guess I should be thankful that was not the case with this book. It was boring and it was easy to not read it every day. With that said, this was my first Amish book. I wanted to give it a chance and I read it with an open mind. However, it was not for me. I found it really simple, as the title states, and dull. It did not catch my interest and it is a story that I will quickly forget. First of all, I didn’t care for the main character Jancey. She actually annoyed me many times. She would make so many dumb choices and as a reader it would aggravate me. For some reason the way that Ritt was introduced made me view him as a teenager/young boy, not a man that could be a potential for Jancey. So after that it was weird reading about them having feelings for each other. I just didn’t believe the relationship.
There were a few things in the book that I did not like at all. I understand that the Amana Colony is a community of Amish people, but their lifestyle seemed very cult like and that bothered me. I do not like the fact that everyone has to follow all these strict rules. For example, there is a bell that rings constantly telling people when to eat and go to sleep. They also are not allowed to talk in the dining halls and men and women cannot sit together. I do not agree with these rules and I do not like reading about it. It would make me angry and it took away from the book. I also was angry when I read that Jancey could not be a teacher in the village because that is a job that men had. The people in Amana also had to ask the elders in the community for permission for many things and again this is something I do not agree with.
I am feeling generous with giving the book 3 stars. Technically I would say it is more 2.5 stars, but it wasn’t a horrible book. It was just boring and I didn’t agree with a few parts of it. Overall it was somewhat well written. If you love Amish books, you might enjoy it. If you do not read Amish novels, then I would not recommend it to you.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simplicity, living life more simple. Usually this is the key feature of Amish fiction but this book is not Amish. However Jancey has to adjust to a more simple life. I really enjoyed this book. It was a slow beginning but hang in there because it does pick up and you will enjoy it. My mom and I were just talking about living life more simple, homemade vs store bought food and life back in the day. It was a hard life and something were not so simple but I think living with less is the key to happiness. Can Jancey find happiness in Amana County with a new love? Or will she long to return to the city and resume her life with a long time boyfriend?
I have requested A Hidden Truth book 1 in Home to Amana series. There is a few in this series and if you really enjoy them she also has Daughters of Amana series too.
thank you Bethany House for allowing me to review this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Home to Aman

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jancey Rhoder is leaving a life of leisure in Kansas City and following her parents to the Amana Colonies in Middle Amana, Iowa to live the simple life. Her mother's wish is to return to her birthplace to live out the short time she has left. Jancey can't fathom not being by her mother's side.
Jancey's father tried to convince her to stay and marry Nathan Woodard one of his business associates. She is not so sure she is ready to marry and informs Nathan she will be moving away with her parents. He tries to talk her into staying but her mind is made up. Is the old saying, "Out of sight out of mind.", really true?
Will Jancey be able to adjust to the simple life? She is determined to learn all the rules and follow them. Yet she pushed the rules almost beyond the limit. She is appointed a job of doing housekeeping at the mill workers dorm. Housekeeping was something she had never done before, but was willing to learn. In Kansas City she had been a volunteer at an orphanage where she was an accredited teacher. She loved teaching.the children.
This author writes of a strong willed young woman wanting to to fit in to the simple life. The lessons in this story are many which are meekness, love, hope, trust and faith in God's.
There is a villain and a hero. The story will keep you guessing until the very end as to whether Jancey goes back to Kansas City or stays in Middle Amana.
I have enjoyed this series and ready to read more of Home To Amana. Judith Miller is undoubtedly one of my favorite authors.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ENTERTAINING AND INTERESTING!

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book centers around one of the most interesting historical religious groups I have found, the Amana colonies. Jancey Rhoder is a young, privileged, very happy young woman. The time is 1881, and although she was privileged to receive a very good education, she is content to teach at an orphanage in Kansas City Missouri. The only child of wealthy parents, she has stylish clothes, a beautiful home and a handsome young beau who wants to marry her.
Her perfect world is turned upside down when mother whose health is very bad, takes a turn for the worse. Her parents decide they want to return their home and roots at the Amana Colony in Iowa where they both were raised. She becomes torn between staying with the children and job she loves or going to be with her dying mother. Nathan Woodward, her boyfriend adds to her confusion by trying to pressure into marrying him and staying. The new development in their relationship reveals a selfish, darker side of him that Jancey had not seen before.
Her heart wins out and she moves to the Amana Colony with her parents. While it is very normal and comfortable to them, their daughter must learn to live not only in severe simplicity but with a multitude of rules and conduct guidelines. Though it is a bit of a social shock she works hard at adapting and accepting a new way of life. She is caught totally off guard when she finds herself falling in love with a young man in the colony that is everything Nathan isn’t.
Trying to live the Amana life but making decisions based on her old way of life puts Jancey in some very difficult and even dangerous situations. To complicate matters Nathan shows up to work with the Amana men and to try and convince her to marry him. Living in the colonies away from all the trappings the world she had once enjoyed, Jancey finds herself renewing her relationship with God and turning to Him for the answers she needs. I loved learning more about life in the colonies and how peaceful it was. This book has suspense, romance, mystery, and surprises! A book you WILL want to read!
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Simple Change by Judith Miller is a well written wonderful story that begins in 1881 in Kansas City, Missouri but most of the story takes place in the Middle Amana Colony in Iowa. Jancey Rhoder is very happy teaching the orphans at the Kansas City Charity Home and is more or less comfortable with her suitor, Nathan Woodward. Her mother is quite ill and the doctors cannot determine exactly what is wrong with her and can offer no hope for recovery. Her mother and father lived in the Amana Colony until they married and moved to Kansas City. Now her mother wants to return to Amana to spend her last days, and her father is agreeable to the move. Jancey is torn because she wants to spend as much of her time as possible with her mother but she does not want to leave the children she teaches. Nathan definitely does not want Jancey to move but she is not too concerned about how he feels. The family moves to Amana and Jancey finds it a very different kind of life but she is not unhappy and fits in quite well with the women in the Colony. She cannot teach in Amana for women are not allowed to teach school but she is able to help a couple of the young girls with their reading skills which helps her adjust to not being able to teach at a school. Ritt is the son of the family that owns the house where Jancey and her parents live and since he and his family live upstairs, they have many occasions to meet and they quickly become friends and find that they are attracted to each other.. Nathan shows up for an unexpected and unwelcome visit and sparks start to fly in more ways than one.
The author did an excellent job developing the characters, plot,dialogue, and all other elements of the story. The characters simply came alive on the pages of the book and by the time I finished reading, I felt as if they were friends, or at least some of them were friends. It was evident that the author did her research on the Amana Colony and it was very interesting to read about the daily life of the people living in the Colony. A very enjoyable way to have a history lesson. Descriptions of scenes in the book were very well done and with each I felt as if I were living and working in the Colony right long with the characters. The fire scene was so real that I could almost feel the heat from the flames.
I highly recommend this book to everyone that appreciates a great story with a happy ending.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I'd like to read more from this author

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael Kenney
Location:Lachute,QC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Here’s a novel about the intriguing life of those in the Amana Colonies, specifically Jancey Rhoder, who moves there with her father and dying mother. This book gives readers a close look at the habits and beliefs of this religious group through the eyes of a newcomer who is trying to fit in. Jancey does not regret her decision to come, it is those she must make once she arrives that causes her inner turmoil and builds her faith. Three men hold a piece of her heart, but which one will prove worthy enough to build a future with? Strange discoveries, new opportunities and unfortunate accidents lend just the right touch of intrigue to this book.
Written in a first-person narrative style, this novel makes for an interesting blend of well-written narrative and personal soul-searching. The dialogue seemed rather formal at times, but perhaps that was intentional. The research that must have gone into this novel makes it enriching and informative, without reading like a travel guide. I am looking forward to seeing what other stories this author will spin in this delightful and restful setting.
Thank you to Net Galley (https://www.netgalley.com) and Bethany House Publishers who provided me with a copy of this book to read and review. I believe the book was published on August 1: so you won’t have to wait to buy it and to read it for yourself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting storyline, missing important elements

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daisies
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. The basic premise is, a young woman’s life is uprooted when her mother’s illness draws her parents back to their Middle Amana Colony for what may be her final days. They had previously left because they did not want to observe the practice of being separated for a year before they could be married. (I thought this part should have been explored a bit more. There wasn’t really much at all about this experience or how it affected their lives, leaving their families and everything they had known). Their daughter Jancy must choose between the life she’s always known, including teaching at an orphanage and a possible marriage, and an unknown new life if she follows her parents to Middle Amana, either temporarily or permanently.
I loved Jancy’s devotion to her parents and the way she sees that some things are more important than what we want for ourselves. She never wavers in this! She’s very loyal, trustworthy and upstanding. I also liked the mystery aspect of the story. Beverly Lewis does this a lot, and I think it is one of the things people love about her books. The mystery and intrigue really bring depth to the story, and the “outsiders” help give opportunities to teach us about the ways of the colonies. Mysteries, as long as they aren’t TOO stressful, always bring excitement to a story and give our brains a workout.
That said, some of the explaining of their rules and ways still seemed a bit clunky and over-explained. I feel like her writing style is similar to Wanda Brunstetter’s, which I’ve finally figured out is just not my personality style. A bit too stiff and overexplain-y for me, but still my second favorite Amish author, after Beverly Lewis, who writes in EXACTLY my style. I like books to read like real people talk to each other, not as if we’re being taught something. It’s fiction, not non-fiction.
I was also disappointed that there wasn’t a Gospel message in the book, and nothing that helped people see the difference between a works-based religion as we see here, and a true, born again Christianity as the Bible teaches. This is a HUGE problem for me. How can I root for Jancy to stay in the colonies when no one reads or studies the Bible or shows any evidence of following Christ? They don’t even have Bibles in the colonies in a language the people can read. I expect, and should expect, a Christian novel to have a clear message about what it means to repent of our sins, follow Christ and live a Godly life!
A good storyline and interesting characters, although we needed to know more about the parent’s past. I enjoyed the book and would read others by her and about this religion, but sharing the gospel and dispelling confusion about what Christianity is, is too important to ignore. I care too much about people and their eternal lives to ignore it.
“Then Peter said to them, “Repent, and let every one of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.” Acts 2:38
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always know I'm in for a treat when I open up a Judith Miller book. I know I am going to get a read that is steeped in history with engaging characters and surprising plot twists that leave me gasping "Wh-a-a-a-a-t?!" And that's exactly what happened in A Simple Change. There I was reading along, enjoying the story, kind of plotting out what was going to happen next (I am such a back-seat reader!) and then wham, the story takes a sharp turn and dive into the unexpected. So then I had to stay up past midnight (and I am not a night owl) to delve into this new development. Talk about hooking your readers and reeling them in!
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Interesting

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeAnne
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In A Simple Change by Judith Miller Jancey is shocked to hear her parents have decided to return to the Amana Colonies in Iowa. They were well to do in Kansas City, and Jancey loved teaching the children in the orphanage. But with her Mother ill and wanting to return to Amana she had to decide if she would go with them or not. She had never even been to Amana before but she could not stand to be away from her Mother in what may be the last few months of her life. But life in Amana may not be just what she thought it would be. After getting her nose into something a little too deep, and making a huge discovery, she must unravel the mystery and find the truth. Before I found out about this book I did not even know what Amana was! So I really enjoyed getting to see what life was like in Amana back in 1881. I think that Judith Miller did a really nice job with this book. It was really neat to see how Jancey tried to adjust to her new life and all the new rules there. And I really enjoyed getting to see how Amana was from the point of view of a person just joining them for the first time. But just because Amana is different than the city does not mean nothing happens! There are twists and turns that Jancey mush have never seen coming! I must tell you that it got to the point I did not know how the story would end! I recommend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction!
I received this book free from Bethany House for my honest review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Book

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Noreen
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have read many of Judith Miller books as well as many books on Amish Life; I was surprised at the twist in this story. I had never heard of Amana villages and communities before this story.
Set in the late 1880's, the story is of a family who belong to a group of separatists called Amanians. Often mistaken for Amish, Amanians have similar ideologies and beliefs; living in communal villages, keeping separate and being self-sustaining. The story begins in Kansas City where the Rhoder family lives a very affluent but humble life. Jancey Rhoder, the daughter of a well known business man, has a comfortable life-volunteering at the local orphanage but her mother and father choose to move back to a simpler lifestyle in the Amana village, where they were married and started their family. Jancey doesn't know whether she should remain in Kansas City and continue teaching in the orphanage or move with her parents in order to care for her ailing mother. It doesn't help that a suitor of Jancey's is pressuring her to remain; are his reasons purely selfish or do they have a future? Jancey chooses to stay with her parents and wonders if she will find happiness in this new life. Time proves that a simpler life can be better and a certain friend in the community makes that choice easier. There are twists and turns to this story that make it intriguing. I found many similarities between the Amish and these colonists. Judith has done another great job keeping us spellbound until the end. I look forward to reading the next book in the series. Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing, provided this book to me for my honest review; I did not receive any compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story, Little Excitement

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Boise Goat Lady Robinson
Location:Boise, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Young love is being discovered by Jancey as she moves to a new community with her family in the Amana Colonies. Leaving an old friend and suitor at home, she tries to interpret her feelings between two young men. She has to find out that one is a deceiver and has other motives for wanting to be her husband...but the one she has the greatest love for proves to be God's Man and "her man" too! Her mother lives to see a wonderful scene right in her own bedroom...A sweet tale in the Amana Colonies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall...good story

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
daischop
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, when I initially selected this book I was along the thoughts that this was another Amish story, never delving into wonder what the Amana's were. Now I do. This story more than anything has made me want to research and understand this particular group of people. It made me all the more curious as to what was going to happen. I believe the story satisfied my curiosity to a certain degree, but also made me yearn to know more. But, that's just based on the Amana colonies. Overall, the book was good.
It had me in a cross between boredom to fascination, and I realize that does not make a lick of sense. But it intrigued me, because I wasn't really sure what was going on. Again, it goes back to situation that I had no idea who the Amana people were. I felt that the book informed me, but only on a need to know basis in relation to the story as to where it was in the plot. For once, I wanted to know more.
Jancey is in a quandry as to what to do. Her parents are returning back to their home in the colonies, and have invited Jancey to come along also. Problem is Jancey has a love interest, who at this time, has more of an interest in her than vice versa. She does end up moving to the colonies, and in turn must make a huge adjustment to their ways. She learns and learns to love the simplicity, while making friends and a new interest in love. Meanwhile, her love interest from her old home comes to the colonies, determined to win Jancey. Unfortunately problems arise that neither one of them anticipated.
All in all, I finished the book and would most definitely recommend reading it.
I received this complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers to provide an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2013
A Simple Change by Judith Miller is the second book in the Home to Amana series. It's a well written story, but I found myself bored with the same ole story line the author has been using for her last few Amana books. Why do the main characters always go against the rules and then be all stressed out about it?! The first time I was fine with it, but now I just want something different.... The one redeeming feature is that the author writes really well so even though it is the same basic story she does make it interesting. :-)
Jancey Rhoder is a volunteer teacher at an orphanage. She loves her job and can't imagine not teaching, but when her father tells her that they have requested to move back to the Amana colonies Jancey is shocked. She quickly decides to give up everything she has ever known so that she can still be with her sick mother. Her boyfriend, Nathan Woodward, isn't so pleased about her leaving. Jancey isn't sure that she loves him and thinks time away would prove beneficial for them both.
Once at the Amana Colonies, Jancey settles in and tries to remember all the rules in her new life. She misses teaching but tutoring her neighbor's daughter helps her adjust especially since Ritt Hetrig sits in on the lessons. Jancey is attracted to Ritt, but he is worried she won't want to stay in Middle Amana permanently.
If you like Amish books you will probably like this series. :-)
I was given this book free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great lessons

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:Greer, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book description: "Joining the communal society of the Amana Colonies isn't what Jancey Rhoder planned for her future, but when unforeseen circumstances force her family to make some difficult decisions, she chooses to give up her teaching position in a Kansas City orphanage and move with her parents to Iowa.
Her besotted suitor, Nathan Woodward, isn't at all happy about the move and is determined to get Jancey to change her mind. And Jancey herself isn't sure what she's gotten herself into when the simple life of the Amana Colonies means she'll be assigned a job and may have to give up teaching for good. Will Nathan woo her back to the city, or will she be forever changed by the mysterious events and new relationships that await her in the quiet villages of the Amana Colonies--and decide to make this unique place her forever home?"
My review: This is the second book on the Amana Colonies by Judith Miller that I have read. I enjoyed the book, and I enjoyed reading a little more about this group of people. Jancey is a transparent character who has the same struggles we all have at some time. The theme of waiting on God runs throughout the book, and this is what Jancey struggles with the most. Ms. Miller also includes a vivid picture of how greed can destroy an individual. These are both great lessons to learn. While I do not think that this particular lifestyle is Biblical, this was an interesting book to read. It gives the reader plenty to think about. I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"A Simple Change" is factual as well as dramatic.

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
LGLmom
Location:Green Isle, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge fan of historical fiction. I long for a simpler life and community and I love the idea of the Amana colonies. I read anything about that subject on which I can get my hands. "A Simple Change" was not disappointing.
"A Simple Change" is about Jancey Rhoder and her family who move to the Amana colonies in 1881. Jancey's parents grew up and met in the colonies but moved away to avoid the one year waiting period for them to get married. Jancey was born and grew up in Kansas City, Missouri the daughter of a successful business owner. Her parents want to move back to the colonies so her ill mother can live out the rest of her life in a more peaceful place. Jancey, a volunteer teacher at an orphanage in Kansas City, chooses to move with to stay close to her mother.
What ensues is a less sedate life than Jancey expected. She immediately obtains a suitor, gets caught up in a mystery and has her former suitor travel to rescue her. Along with all that Jancey has to decide if she's going to remain in the colonies after her mother passes. She is educated and longs to be a teacher again but her job in the colonies is cleaning and laundry.
"A Simple Change" was full of drama and intrigue. I finished it well before I expected to considering it is over 350 pages. I loved it. There are some editing tasks that still need to be done but that didn't deter me. It is written in first person which is not my usual preference but I barely noticed it. If you have an interest in historical fiction, particularly the Amana colonies, I would highly recommend this book as it gives factual information about the colonies included with the dramatic fiction.
*I received a complimentary copy of "A Simple Change" from Baker Publishing for my honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Simple Change, Home to Amana Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Making a Home in Amana

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Judith Miller has other books about the Amana colonies. I thought this one was particularly interesting as it brought a young woman, Jancey Rhoder, from the outside world into the colonies with her parents. Her past work experience as a teacher was challenged by the move, but God provides an outlet. Meanwhile, the Kansas City suspense of the book unravelled well. I’m unsure that a young woman in similar circumstances, not fiction, would have made the same choices. But, it was an entertaining read and a decent view into the world of the colonists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.