Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print

When Laura Marquardt first meets Brandon Reid, their encounter is anything but pleasant. But when the two are seated together at a dinner party, they soon find that they share similar interests--Laura desires to educate blacks, and Brandon, as a white officer over colored troops, eagerly supports her cause.

When Laura's sister, Carissa, marries her Confederate beau, Laura finds herself in a difficult situation when she overhears plots to kill Union soldiers. Though in her heart she feels she should share this information with Brandon, Laura fears she will betray her sister's trust and possibly endanger her sister's life. And when Brandon's motives for pursuing her come into question, her heart is even more conflicted. Where is God leading her?

Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 2295%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Review 1 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"Touching the Sky" by Tracie Peterson is the second book in the "Land of the Lone Star" series. This book features the story of Laura Marquardt, a strong and independent Southern woman, and Brandon Reid, a captain in the Union army. The Civil War is over and the nation is slowly being reunified. However, there are plenty of Confederate supporters for whom the war is not yet over.
Despite the Marquardt family's support of the Union, Laura's younger sister, Carissa, makes a hasty decision to marry a Confederate soldier, Malcolm Lowe, which results is disastrous consequences for all involved. Malcolm is being investigated by the army for murder and conspiracy, spearheaded by Brandon Reid. A chance meeting leads to courtship with Laura, who assists him with his investigation.
A side storyline is Laura's desire to help freed blacks learn to read. She longs to help them gain an education to help better themselves in their newfound freedom. Laura begins by teaching an employee in their home and then progresses to several adult women and a couple of children. She is supported in her endeavor by both her father and Brandon.
This was a very enjoyable novel. Peterson really delivered with this second book. The characters are well flushed out and the plot flows smoothly. There are even a couple cameo appearances from two characters from the first book in the series, which made for a nice tie-in. Overall, this book was well done. I'm very much looking forward to the final book in the series!
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sequel Worth Reading

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Touching the Sky (Land of the Lone Star Book #2)
Tracie Peterson
Book Summary: Her heart is caught between the man she loves and the sister she's desperate to protect. Though their first encounter is hardly auspicious, Laura Marquardt soon discovers herself drawn to the dashing Captain Brandon Reid. As an officer over the colored troops, he eagerly supports her desire to educate blacks and seek harmony in a town where the defeat of the South is a bitter reality. When Laura's sister marries her Confederate beau, Laura finds herself in a difficult situation after overhearing a discussion with frightening consequences. In her heart she feels she should confide in Brandon, but Laura fears to do so may endanger her sister's life. Yet as the stakes continue to rise and Brandon's motives for pursuing her come into doubt, Laura questions where to turn...and wonders if her own dreams of love may be forsaken.
Book Review: I really enjoyed this story the best. The female lead was most enjoyable for me. The younger sister and the dilemma with her husband. The entry of the confederate officer was fun to watch knowing that he was the good guy. The drama with Laura's sister was realistic and intense. You could taste the dust of Texas and the challenges of the west in 1860's. From the opening intensity to all the drama with Laura's sister it was a page turner. I really enjoy the crafting of the story by Tracie Peterson. The development of characters, even secondary characters and the entire plot are pure enjoyment. I am always anticipating the next book before I finish the one I am in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book didn't meet my expectations

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emmy Sue
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I signed up for book reviewing for Bethany House Publishers, and the first free book I received in the mail was Touching the Sky by Tracie Peterson. I've always been a huge fan of hers, so I was looking forward to this read. I thought it would be a breeze, I'd finish the book in two to three days, and WHAM! I'd have an amazing, glowing review. Wrong! I found myself disappointed with it. It was really lacking in character depth and originality. The characters' dialogue was very stilted and unnatural too. The storyline was a bit too predictable. (Might have some spoilers here!) A young woman, Laura Marquardt, is raised in the South in the late 19th Century. She lived through the War, and is now watching the aftermath play out. She wants to help the recently-freed slaves to better themselves by teaching them how to read, so she does this without asking her father's permission. A mistake that doesn't have the repercussions that I was expecting (okay, so it's not completely predictable). The romance part of the story was sweet, and I did enjoy that.
Her sister marries an ogre (I would say literally, but we're not talking about Shrek), so she wants to save her from the abusive marriage. Laura seemed a little too heroic and daring. I would have like to see more of her flaws. Because of this, I couldn't relate to her very well.
There was also the problem of over-using the phrase, "She couldn't have been more shocked if he had punched her in the face." I especially thought it in poor taste since the villain of the story is an abusive husband.
What I really liked about the book was near the end. Peterson writes that fear isn't taken away once we know Christ as our Savior, but the fear is outweighed by our trust in Him, and He helps us through it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's June of 1865 in Corpus Christi, Texas, the war is over and life here would forever be changed. Laura Marquardt and her family were Union supporters during a war that pit family against family and neighbor against neighbor. Now that the war is over they would like to put their differences behind them and get on with life. The Union military had a unit of black soldiers to try to help keep the peace because there's a group of former Confederate soldiers who have a vendetta against the Union and their supporters.
Captain Brandon Reid finds Laura in an alley and accuses her of being up to no good and tells her to be on her way. He is in for a surprise when he attends a party at the Marquardt home and who should the angel be that is playing the piano and singing beautifully but Laura Marquardt, a strong Union supporter.
Laura has a sister, Carissa, who is the real social butterfly of the family and has drawn the attention of Malcolm Lowe. Malcolm has a secret reason for courting Carissa, he's the leader of the group trying to restart the war because he's mad that they lost. Laura is concerned about Carissa when she announces that they will be married and soon, she doesn't think Malcolm is the man that he pretends to be. Carissa refuses to be talked into waiting until she knows him better so they get married with her parents blessing.
Events cause Laura to wonder what Malcolm is up to so she watches and listens closely when he's around.
After the wedding Malcolm seems to keep Carissa hidden, there are no visits, they don't go to church, etc.
When Laura and her Mother finally see Carissa after a couple of weeks, Laura notices bruises on her arm. Carissa claims it's from moving furniture. Several weeks later, after not seeing Carissa again and being told to leave them, the newleyweds, alone by Malcolm, Laura takes her Mother and goes to visit Carissa. There is no answer and the front door won't budge, they go to the back door where there is still no answer to the knocking but the door is unlocked so they enter. As they are walking through the house calling to Carissa Laura notices there is a steel bar bolted on the inside of the front door. When they get no answer from Carissa, they threaten to come upstairs looking for her. Carissa comes out and her whole body is covered with bruises. She says she fell down the stairs, Laura doesn't fall for that story, so they take her home to recover.
Captain Reid officially retires from the military but silently continues to work with them to try and find out who's behind the murders of the black soldiers and Union officers. As he's doing this he starts seeing Laura, without telling her about the army's suspicions of Malcolm Lowe and his role in the investigation.
Just what is going on in the Lowe marriage and how will it involve Laura? Will Captain Reid ever confide in Laura what he suspects and what he is doing? What will happen to the Lowe's, will their marriage survive?
This is a view of what life was like for one family after the war and how it affected people living in the same town that shared two different views. Tracie really held my interest and did a great job with this story. It's about sister helping sister and finding faith in God when you think he won't help you because you did too much wrong in your past.
Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than I expected

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
truebeliever17
Location:Des Moines, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After feeling only so-so with the first book in this series, I have to admit I went into #2 not really excited. Thankfully, it exceeded my expectations. I really enjoyed the different characters and as much as I enjoy romance, I also loved the drama/action that was in the book as well. I found myself anxiously turning pages to find out what would happen next. I would definitely recommend this book!
Disclaimer: I was sent a free copy of this book by Bethany House Book Reviewers so that in return I would give an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great read by Peterson

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Relaxing Sunday Reader
Location:Marion, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprised at first that the characters in the first of the series were not the same ones as the second, which is not something I have experienced before with series books by other author's. However, that is the one and only complaint I can make about this title. The story was an enjoyable read, that contained a few surprising twists and turns that added to the suspense of the story. I am now anxious to get a hold of a copy of the third book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have yet to read a Tracie Peterson book I didn't like and Touching the Sky was another winner for her. I loved reading about the black union soldiers and how they fought for the Union. I wish that she had put more of that in the story, but that aside, the main characters of Brandon and Laura were wonderfully written, the plot line about the conflicted that still raged in the aftermath of the Civil War was also amazingly done. I just loved the whole thing.
I don't often say this about a author, but whatever book you read of Tracie's you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Touching the Sky

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
lpeavy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Touching the Sky by Tracie Peterson
Laura Marquardt is a southerner living in Texas at the end of the Civil War. The war has left her town of Corpus Christi with several dilemmas. Although the war is officially ended, attitudes towards the Union Soldiers and government that have recently come over their town are less than friendly. Laura’s family, though living in the south, were Union supporters during the war and are desirous to see peace in their town.
Captain Brandon Reid is head officer over a company of colored troops bringing restoration to the divided southern communities in Texas. After a rocky first meeting he finds himself captivated by Miss Marquardt and seeks to know her better. However, his position as Captain is about to change. He has been asked by his commanding officer to take a deeper look into the sinister happenings in Corpus Christi. Someone is killing Union soldiers as they sleep. When reports that black powder, highly explosive, is being smuggled across the border of Mexico, Captain Reid knows they have to find the culprit.
During the beginnings of their romance Laura overhears some dangerous plans of her sister’s Confederate beau. Laura finds herself torn and not knowing who she can trust. Meanwhile, Captain Reid asks himself how to continue to be honest to Laura when his motives are called into question.
I truly enjoyed this book by Tracie Peterson. It is the second in her Land of the Lone Star Series. I found the characters to be insightful, well developed, and the kind of characters you can easily connect to. Laura’s devotion to her younger sister is something that anyone with a sibling can connect with and their close knit family is delightful. The story line had its twists and turns. Although I would consider this book an easy read I still enjoyed the creative plot line that kept my attention. I couldn’t put it down.
Then only thing I would say that I was surprised about is that in the book there were very few “good” confederates. A good southerner sided with the Union army during the war. Many of these characters are rude, unfriendly, and dangerous. Towards the end of the book I felt this was somewhat redeemed with a couple of former confederate soldiers choosing to do the right thing. However, I would not consider this to be a deal breaker because it was only a minor thing.
So check out this book! If you do make sure you let me know what you think!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Romance and Intrigue in Post Civil War Texas

Date:July 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BethStrand
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Texas has always been a great setting for novels but post civil war Texas is fraught with tensions that make it even better. Add the unmarried daughter of a Northern sympathizer, an unsolved murder of six Union soldiers, a handsome captain working undercover to solve the murders and a smattering of flirtation and you have the makings of a very fun read. “Touching the Sky” is one part historical fiction, one part mystery and one part romance that adds up nicely. I’ve only read Tracie Peterson writing fiction in a modern setting before and I would have to say that the one weakness I found with this book is that her historical setting is occasionally marred by too-current of language or interactions. If I were grading, I’d give her story an “A” for originality, characters and setting but a low “B” for historical consistency. However, if you’re really in it for the romance and the characters, it’s easy to forgive the few slips and just enjoy the story. It’s not “Gone With the Wind” but it will take you to another time and place and give you an enjoyable reading experience. Oh, and just a warning, this book could leave you with a craving for Southern cooking!
This book was provided to me by Bethany House for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was hard to put down!

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momtothree
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Touching the Sky is book 2 of the Land of the Lone Star series by Tracie Peterson. If you haven't read book 1, Chasing the Sun, you can still pick this book up and not be lost from the get-go. It's the second book in the series, yet could be a stand alone book as well. I enjoy reading in the historical fiction category and this book does not disappoint! Not only do you get a sense of what trials the people had to go though at that time, but you get to know and care for the characters that are developed. Ms. Peterson has a way of drawing you in to her characters and making them real. As you read the book you come to care for the characters and want the best for them. It's a love story with mystery and suspense intertwined. This book is full of twists and turns so that you will not want to put it down!
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching the Sky - A Must Read

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1865 in Corpus Christi, Texas you would think that people were glad the war between the North and South was over. Some were glad although they were still suffering the after effects of the war.
Laura Marquardt hurried along the street when she was confronted by some scruffy looking Confederate soldiers. She recognized one of the men. She thought if she was polite they would not see her fear. But they cursed her for being a Union supporter and a traitor to the South and accosted her. A couple of Union soldiers came upon them and ordered them to release the lady. The rebels did not cotton to taking orders from Black Union soldiers so they just laughed and ran. A White Union officer by the name of Captain Reid approached and boldly took matters in his hands. Without any further ado he dismissed the soldiers and proceeded to reprimand Laura sending her on her way not even allowing her a chance to explain the situation.
Laura and Captain Reid crossed each others paths again at a social gathering for Local Union Supporters. It became very clear to the Captain that he had wrongly misjudged Laura Marquardt as being a disgruntled Confederate sympathizer. Laura in a rather playful and straightforward manner set him straight about which side she supported. Finding they have the same goal which is to bring the North and the South together as one peaceful nation. Then there is a spark between the two of them that refuses not be ignored.
They come together to bring to justice several renegade Confederates one in particular a suspected murderer.
This is a story filled with intrigue and romance. Women had to be courageous back then and that is exacty how the author portrayed Laura and her sister in this novel.
I loved what the author wrote about the meaning of the books title, TOUCHING THE SKY.
I have read book one in the LAND OF THE LONE STAR series,CHASING THE SUN. Now that I have read book two I am anxious to read book three,TAMING THE WIND,expected publication date September 1st 2012 by Bethany House Publishers.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Great Historical from Peterson

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen Lange
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura Marquardt's family, though residents of Corpus Christi, Texas, are staunch supporters of the Union. The Civil War is over, yet unrest simmers just below society's surface. Laura is thankful that strong ties in the north have kept their family finances intact. She is not pleased however, with the "spinster" label that some, including her younger spoiled sister Carissa, pin on her. At 21, Laura is anything but a spinster.
Union Army Captain Brandon Reid oversees troops stationed in Corpus Christi. A chance encounter with Miss Marquardt leaves both Brandon and Laura with unfavorable opinions of the other. Shortly after their unpleasant meeting, they speak again and discover that their terse introduction was due to a simple misunderstanding.
Brandon's tour of duty with the Army is finished, but he agrees to stay in Texas to quietly investigate a series of mysterious crimes. He seeks Mr. Marquardt's permission to court Laura and their courtship begins just prior to Carissa's marriage to former confederate soldier Malcolm Lowe. Unfortunately, Lowe is Brandon's key suspect, but he cannot divulge this info to Laura. In addition to a tricky undercover investigation, Brandon is concerned that Laura will misinterpret his courtship motives. He truly cares for her, but will she understand when everything comes to light?
Touching the Sky is Book Two in the Land of the Lone Star series, but it can stand alone. I prefer this, as I am not a fan of cliffhangers or trying to get up to speed on a previous book. This post Civil War tale has enough strife, intrigue, love, and forgiveness to satisfy historical and other fiction fans. I've long enjoyed Ms. Peterson's stories, and this one is no exception. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

After the Civil War in Texas, a great read!

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel takes place in Corpus Christi, Texas, shortly after the end of the Civil War (1865). Texas, at that time in our history, was a state of many conflicts: between Union and Confederate supporters, the different cultures, races, and religions—and those who would prefer it to go back to being a Republic without the support of the American states. In the minds of some ex-Confederate soldiers, the war was NOT over and they intended to take back their state and get rid of all the Unionists.
This is a historical time in our history and one that merits study and understanding of what was going on in this defeated state; there was much resentment and agony over what had happened and for a proud people, and it was extremely difficult at times.
Amidst the conflicts resulting from the war and the former way of life, arises mystery and romance (of course). The stories of the various characters weave an interesting tale of people from various stations of life and meshes them together in an exciting story. The focus is on the Marquardt family, father, mother, and two grown daughters; a family which is staunchly Union in belief that unity between the states is the most practical and desired way of life. They have lived in Corpus Christi for many years and have no desire to leave. It is a struggle to mend the relationships which were severed during the war and to rebuild trust with former friends and associates.
The younger daughter, Carissa, is flighty and eager to be married and finally does so to a very unsavory character. Laura, the elder daughter, has much insight into what is going on all around her and does her best to dissuade her sister from marrying this man. Laura, on the other hand, meets a nearly “perfect” Union soldier who is stationed in the city, and in spite of her determination not to “fall” for him, things begin to come together for them. Many conflicts arise with Carissa, and Laura does her best to help her sister cope with her new life.
The intrigue and danger arising from a group of rebels greatly affects this family. Laura also desires to help those less fortunate around her, specifically the former slaves, and decides that God is leading her to teach them to read and write. Despite her father’s misgivings about this, she begins covertly to teach first a household maid, then the maid’s two young sons, then others who begin asking for help with this learning. Eventually, both Carissa and Laura face a danger greater than either of them could ever imagine. “Touching the sky” is an expression used by the maid in the household, meaning to reach for something that is quite impossible. It is a fitting title for the many endeavors facing this family. Touching the Sky is an exciting story with a surprising conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Murder Conspiracy, Romance and Restoration

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracie Peterson in her new book, “Touching the Sky” Book Two in the Land Of The Lone Star series published by Bethany House brings us into the lives of Laura Marquardt and Brandon Reid.
From the back cover: Her heart is caught between the man she loves and the sister she’s desperate to protect.
Though their first encounter is hardly auspicious, Laura Marquardt soon discovers herself drawn to the dashing Captain Brandon Reid. As an officer over the colored troops, he eagerly supports her desire to educate blacks and seek harmony in a town where the defeat of the South is a bitter reality.
When Laura’s sister marries her Confederate beau, Laura finds herself in a difficult situation after overhearing a discussion with frightening consequences. In her heart she feels she should confide in Brandon, but Laura fears to do so may endanger her sister’s life. Yet as the stakes continue to rise and Brandon’s motives for pursuing her come into doubt, Laura questions where to turn…and wonders if her own dreams of love may be forsaken.
I have to say I enjoy the Land Of The Lone Star series by Tracie Peterson because Historical Fiction is what she does best. If you have read my reviews before you know that I like history and ”Touching the Sky” is set during the beginning of the Reformation Period right after The Civil War. The North is in charge in the South. Northern black troops some made up of ex-slaves from the South, are patrolling the cities and some Southerners are none to keen on this set of circumstances. Laura is trying to keep things together but she overhears a conspiracy from her brother-in-law. Now she is torn whether to protect her sister or tell the Northern Captain that she has fallen in love with. “Touching the Sky” is a lot of fun with plenty of action and suspense. It is a wonderful romance and the history is perfectly accurate. Ms. Peterson is an amazing writer and she has given us a great story with plenty of believable characters that we root for to win. I liked this book and I am looking forward to see how she will end this series in the next and last book.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours a day non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tracie Peterson does it again!!!! AWESOME BOOK!

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Mt. Pleasant, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I want to say, I love Tracie Peterson as an author...I have read several of her books and have never been disappointed. When I got this book I did not realize at the time it was a series. I was a little apprehensive about reading it because it is a series and I was afraid I was going to miss something. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the book is a stand alone book...if you read the first one great...but if not...you feel just as much a part of the book. The setting of the book starts shortly after the civil war ended and in the town of Corpus Christi. The plot was even better than I bargained for and I was so enthralled by the story that I simply could not put the book down and read it in one day. One of the main characters is a strong, christian woman named Laura...her sister is Carrissa...though both were raised in the same home...they are totally different in so many ways...plus the war has taken its toll on the whole family. The family were Union supporters...and yet the Conferates are not happy about losing the war....this story lures you in and it helps you to see how far America has come. Laura has a dream to educate blacks, both young and old...and her desire for peace between all is shown throughout the book. During this time...though there are hard times...Laura does find her mate...but I won't tell you more...I don't want to ruin the book for you. It is full of drama, love, and history. I don't believe anyone who reads it will be sorry...My hat is off to Tracie Peterson and I look forward to reading book 1 (Chasing the Sun) and book 3 (Taming the Wind)...which I do believe will be equally entriguing! Hope everyone who reads this book will enjoy it as much as I did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing TOUCHING THE SKY by Tracie Peterson

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewing TOUCHING THE SKY by Tracie Peterson
Reviewing TOUCHING THE SKY by Tracie Peterson.
This is an excellent book that will have your heart 'touching the sky'.
Throughout, it shows the beauty of real courtship, how to handle touchy situations with grace, and still stand up for what you believe. There are scriptural principles woven throughout for us all to learn by i.e. 'I cannot remain silent...if I say nothing and people are killed, their blood will be on my hands' ... and a true statement ...'if we continue to pick at our wounds, they will never heal.' Those are just a couple of the instances woven throughout the book, to learn by, and teach our acquaintances.
Another thought to ponder: 'The woman of the house commands the emotions of the family' ... something for each of us to teach our daughters and friends.
I also appreciated a warning in the book about all courtship -- one of the characters in the book claims their mate changed from when they courted, and he replies 'no, I have always been this man...you just never bothered to notice...you were too busy batting your eyes and playing upon my manly nature.' How many heartaches could have been avoided in courting today if this were heeded.
Another point you will enjoy as much as I did was all the 'secrets of the fan' ... you'll have to read the book to find them out, but it is well worth it.........
I highly recommend this book. I received it free from Bethany Publishers for review and am not required to give a positive review.
Posted by IBELIEVE2
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I highly recommend this book!

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kasi Bland
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The War Between the States is finally over... or is it? Touching the Sky by Tracie Peterson is a stirring book set in the war-torn state of Texas. Even though the war is over, tension is still high all over America- especially for a family of Union supporters in the state of Texas.
Laura Marquardt feels all alone now that the war is over and most of her friends are married or were killed in the war…until she meets Captain Brandon Reid, an officer of the colored troops. Laura is drawn to Captain Reid for more than his striking looks. He supports her efforts to teach black men, women, and children to read and he loves God above all else. In the meantime, Laura is astounded when her parents encourage her sister’s relationship with a former Confederate soldier. Laura’s sister wants to be a dazzling bride and have a beautiful wedding now that the war is over. Laura feels that her sister is making a terrible mistake when she rushes into marriage. Despite Laura’s warnings and pleadings, her sister plunges into marriage to a man whom she barely knows. When Laura overhears a conversation between her new brother-in-law and some other “questionable” men, she knows that she must find someone she can trust…Brandon Reid.
I LOVED this book and I highly recommend it! I especially appreciated the way that Tracie Peterson emphasized the importance of always following God’s will. Laura’s sister only cared about making herself happy. Laura only cared about making God happy. In a few short months, Laura’s sister realizes what drastic results one will have when they seek THEIR will instead of God’s. I give this book five stars- ten if I could! Thank you, Bethany House Publishing, for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another well-written read from Tracie Peterson!

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second installment of the Land of the Lone Star Series is a compelling story, one that deals with deep themes of hatred and forgiveness, spousal abuse and racism. And yet, like the first book in the series, it is also a book of adventure, and features characters that readers will be sure to grow to care about. Laura is a determined, spunky young woman who has a heart for fairness and justice and serving God. The development of her relationship with Captain Reid is a sweet one to behold, and their interactions are filled with humor and lighthearted moments, along with some intensely emotional scenes as well. I couldn't help but admire Laura's selflessness, her ability to put the needs of others ahead of her own, whether fighting for her sister to be safe, or doing whatever she could to teach former slaves to read. I enjoyed reading a book set in an era right after the end of the American Civil War, as I've never considered what it must have been like for citizens who had just finished fighting each other to have to learn to live together peacefully again! What I most appreciated about the story are the themes of faith woven so effortlessly into the plot, especially how Laura is so bold in sharing her beliefs with all, that God cares about every detail of our lives, that he desires unity among his children, and that he will sustain us even through bad situations.
Tracie Peterson has penned another well-written read, and I award this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All the books I receive have great plots

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
gugum
Location:Beaverdam, Va.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the above books have great plots and I have a really hard time putting them down once I start reading. I think it would be hard for me to say that any one writer would be my favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Series #2, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lucy Colt
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved the book but i love to read Tracie Peterson's books!! can't wait for book #3!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>