Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook

Bethany House Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
Review 1 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very encouraging!

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading stories about parents who were forever changed (for the positive) by their children. It amazes me how much we can learn from such tiny beings! I really enjoyed Amy Julia’s story about her daughter Penny. Shortly after giving birth to her daughter, the doctors told her that they thought Penny had Down syndrome. Amy Julia talks openly about her feelings and questions, her concerns and frustrations. They learn to trust that God will always be there. While reading this book, there were times where I would wonder how I would feel if I had been faced with this situation or any similar situation. I think I would have gone through many of the same questions and emotions that Amy Julia Becker talks about in this book. I especially loved the last paragraph in the book.
“We weren’t a perfect family, and we never would be, at least not by the standards I would have set out for us years earlier. But we were coming closer to our telos, our true perfection, because we were learning what it meant to be human, what it meant to be whole.”
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully inspiring story

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
seabe
Location:Fallon, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a powerful story of sorrow, joy, anger, grief, love and acceptance of a little girl for who she is and not just her diagnosis of Down’s syndrome. It is a wonderful story for everyone to read and will remind us to accept people for who they are and to not focus on their disabilities or differences
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for writing a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful inspiring book

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow this book is a real tear jerker, page turner stay with you long after your done book. I really enjoyed this book and read it super fast. While I finished it many weeks ago I remember it like it was just a few minutes. Amy really does such a great job at making you feel like you are walking this journey with her. You feel all her emotions, doubts, prayers and hopeless feelings. You feel all her joys, happiness and her love for Penny. I can see why this one top 10 best religion books in 2011 it was amazing and inspiring book to read
thank you Bethany House for sending me a review copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
melz
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Good and Perfect Gift written by Amy Julia Becker, tells of her and her husband’s journey with their daughter, Penny, who was diagnosed with Down’s syndrome at birth. This is an incredible and emotional read as Mrs. Becker takes you through her journey of acceptance step by step. The honesty she portrays is heartfelt. The questions that she asks of herself and of God are so reflective of how we as God followers struggle to understand His ways as well as the struggle we can go through in having continuous faith in Him.
The Beckers’ story shows faith, love, and courage. I recommend this book highly to everyone.
Note: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ FOR MOM'S AND TEACHER'S

Date:December 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny
By Amy Julia Becker
As the “NEW” list of books for review from Bethany House Publishers opened up on my computer screen, the cover and title of “A Good and Perfect Gift” caught my eye.
The verse James 1:17 “Every good and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.” came to my mind. I thought about James 1:17. Every good and every perfect gift is from God. I took some time to read the back cover of the book, but already knew this would be the book selection I would choose.
“Things don’t always go as planned –especially when it comes to our children. When her first baby, Penny, is given a frightening diagnosis, Amy Juilia’s world comes crashing down. Could she continue to trust God’s goodness through what felt like personal tragedy? But challenging surprises often lead to unforeseen joy, and disappointments can turn to blessings.”
I am a Christian, Mother, Teacher and Teacher of children with Special Needs. I have always been called to work with children, but now I am older I am in a different season of my life.
Amy and her husband Peter had a daughter born with Down syndrome. This was not something that was planned for during the pregnancy, but came as news upon delivery.
Could she continue to trust God’s goodness through what felt like personal tragedy?
From a Christian perspective, Amy struggled with many of the same fears and testing of her faith that many believers go through during times of what seems, “personal tragedy.” Although, I am not in agreement with Amy’s Presbyterian perspectives of walking the labyrinth to pray, or infant baptism, when it comes down to the question of, “Did she learn to continue to trust in God’s goodness?” The answer is a most definite, “YES!”
As a mother, Amy worried about the development of her daughter Penny along with how Penny compared with other children. She worried about Penny at present along with Penny’s future. After having raised my own children who are now grown, I know as a mother, we always worry about our children. Motherhood is one of the most difficult blessing we will ever be given in our lives. God makes no mistakes. “Every good and every perfect gift is from above”
As a teacher in both general education and special education I loved my students! Each student had unique strengths they brought with them. As I read the book “A Good and Perfect Gift”, I am encouraged to see a mother truly seeking to understand her daughter, a family understanding the value of early intervention. I can’t wait to share this book with other women to encourage them to read Amy’s book. To see another mom who is going through similar struggles and looking in her daughter’s eyes.
It would be wrong to leave out the underlying support of family and friends that knit Amy Julia and Penny together. Peter, Amy’s husband, Amy’s parents and sisters as well as friends, therapists and physicians; God does not leave us or forsake us. He provides strength when we are week. It says in Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”
I highly recommend reading, “A Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.” You will not be disappointed.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Joy in the midst of great challenges

Date:November 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
90% of mothers who find out they are carrying a Down Syndrome baby abort. 90%! May God have mercy upon their souls. May God have mercy upon us as a society for devaluing life so much, for being so amazingly selfish, to think a child with Down syndrome wouldn't be "normal" or bring joy into your life.
Amy Julia Becker relates her travels down this pathway. One of the stunning facets of this story is they didn't know their baby was a Down baby until after little Penny was born. The news comes as quite a shock and this book is about all the adjustments––mentally, emotionally, physically and spiritually this mother had to go through to receive this good and perfect gift.
This is not a "perfect" book about a "perfect" family with "perfect" children. The author is very open and quite honest about her struggles with her faith in God. Yet I found this is what makes this a real story. She has doubts. She has questions and she asks them of the Lord. And then she waits. Her husband, Peter, has his own struggles, but they seem short-lived and then he proves an anchor for her.
I found this a very heart-warming book, full of fears and joys; in other words, full of real life and faith. I highly commend this book to you.
Postscript––I read a couple of reviews of this book that were fairly critical of the author and her depiction of life with a Down syndrome child. I couldn't help but wonder if they were envious of Amy for her faith or her sense of blessing, or even the specific nature of Penny's level of disability. I got the clear impression that if they could, they would have stripped all that away from her and given her a much more difficult situation (as if it weren't challenge enough, especially when you have no "forewarning"). I pity small-minded, small-faithed individuals like this. I've not met every couple with a child like Penny, but the ones I have met, have all been in the Becker's situation––filled with life and joy and happiness, along with all the challenges.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than a book about down's syndrome

Date:November 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
rslatham
Location:Bon Aqua, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Bethany House for review. I don't believe I would have naturally picked up a book about a baby born with Down's Syndrome,but I am so thankful I chose this book to review. a good and perfect gift is a beautifully written book about much more than a child with down's syndrome. It is about a journey of faith, expectations, and gifts from God. Becker describes her journey with honesty. Her fears, desires and joys are brought to the reader as she examines them herself in light of her faith.
This book touched my heart. I can see myself in one of her characters, the friend who just doesn't know what to say about a child with down syndrome, but desperately does want to say something helpful and encouraging. Becker has opened my eyes into a world that has not touched my life and reminded me that we all have areas where our expectations may differ from what God has for us.
I wouldn't look for this book on a shelf about children with down's syndrome, rather I hope this book is shelved with faith books. Our personal lives may differ, but everyone can get something from the way Becker has embraced the gift of her little girl Penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Good and Perfect Gift, A: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny - eBook
This review is fromA Good and Perfect Gift: Faith, Expectations, and a Little Girl Named Penny.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent memoir of Down Syndrome

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
janelleshillito@yahoo.com
Location:New Yrok
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Down syndrome is a life changing diagnosis. It is something that you often do not want to think about, especially when you are pregnant. It is one of those "what ifs" of life, yet for many it becomes a reality. The book, "A Good And Perfect Gift" by Amy Julia Becker is a memoir of one family's life after a diagnosis of Down syndrome in their daughter.
October 2005, Amy and Peter excitedly awaited the birth of their firstborn. A little girl, who was to be named Penny. After an uneventful pregnancy and delivery, Penny was brought into this world. Yet with all of the joy and excitement came a life shattering diagnosis. This baby has Down syndrome.
As you read this book, you are drawn into the story. The realization of how hard Downs can be emotionally, is shocking. This family had no idea that Penny was going to be born with an extra chromosome. All of the expectations of a new mother had vanished. Amy and Peter were left with pieces of their dreams and had to slowly piece together a new dream. A dream that included a special little girl.
I have personally never know anyone with Downs and I was not very familiar with Downs. I was unaware of all of the complications that can occur or how if affects the person mentally. Reading "A Good And Perfect Gift" was eye opening to me and allowed me to have a greater understanding of the syndrome.
I would highly recommend this book to everyone. It was very easy to read yet informative and insightful. This really gives you a good idea of what Downs looks like and how to respond to those parents who have a Downs child.
I received this complimentary copy of "A Good And Perfect Gift" by Amy Julia Becker from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my reading and review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.