Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Wonderland Creek - eBook

Bethany House Wonderland Creek - eBook

Alice Grace Ripley lives in a dream world, her nose stuck in a book. But the happily-ever-after life she's planned on suddenly falls apart when her boyfriend, Gordon, breaks up with her, accusing her of living in a world of fiction instead of the real world. Then to top it off, Alice loses her beloved job at the library because of cutbacks due to the Great Depression.

Fleeing small-town gossip, Alice heads to the mountains of eastern Kentucky to deliver five boxes of donated books to a library in the tiny coal-mining village of Acorn. Dropped off by her relatives, Alice volunteers to stay for two weeks to help the librarian, Leslie McDougal.

Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 3897%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wonderland Creek - eBook
Review 1 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightfully whimsical

Date:July 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In an effort to escape the embarrassment of a break-up with her longstanding boyfriend and the loss of her depression-cut job, Alice takes the boxes of book donations she has been collecting on a journey down to a little mining town in Kentucky, where she has offered out help out the librarian there for a couple weeks. Unfortunately, the librarian is not the woman Alice was expecting, and the people do not want her there. But rather like the Alice in Carrol's fantasy novel, she is trapped in this strange Wonderland indefinitely, or at least until her aunt and uncle return from their two-week vacation at a spa. But how's a girl to survive without running water, electricity, cars, and telephones until they come back?
I got a big kick out of this book. I'm not sure it was meant to be as funny as I found it, but I could relate frighteningly well with the heroine, and that, more than anything, was what brought out the humor in the story. Alice believes in the protection and preservation of books, and I can wholeheartedly agree with her protective stance regarding folded page corners, creased spines, and damaged covers. It is a crime. As Alice points out, organization is key - how else can you find the book you're looking for and make sure it isn't lost? A jumbled, unorganized library is a crime. And while I have never read a novel during a funeral, I have been known to get caught up in a book basically everywhere else, including 11th grade geography.
So maybe my life, like hers, is lacking in excitement, but isn't that what books are for? I mean, who wants a body to fall down in front of you spurting blood from a bullet hole in the chest? It is much better to read about such things than to experience them. Except that poor Alice, on her first morning trapped in this bizarre Wonderland, gets to experience it first hand. From then on, she is too busy dealing with the body to read, and suddenly, she is experiencing life.
Alice does start out rather selfish and oblivious to the world around her. As much as I love reading, it isn't my life, and it shouldn't be anyone's life. We need relationships. We are to be in the world but not of the world - and, while books can certainly drag us away from the world, at the same time they are of the world. The author does a fine job balancing a love of books with the importance of living life, not just reading about it.
This book is a delight. While amusing, it does not lack in heart. Written in Alice's first person perspective, we get a clear picture of her personality, but even better, we can see her growth and faith journey every step of the way. With a relaxing but steady pace, it has a whimsical air perfect for a leisurely day of reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

•°o•:*¨¨*:•. LOVED IT.•:*¨¨*:• o°•

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I stepped outside my normal Regency era genre when I found this book in a thrift store. I am so glad I did!
Immediately different for me was that this book was written in First Person. This was a fun change of pace. It centers around Alice Grace Ripley; a 22-year old with not much going in her life. She has a steady boyfriend and equally steady job at her local library which feeds her CONSUMING passion of books. It takes place in 1936, during the Great Depression, opening in Blue Island, IL.
She fully expects her life will continue down this simple path and she will eventually marry the young man she has been dating for nearly a year. But, things take a drastic change when several circumstances in her life change and she decides to hand deliver books she has been collecting from a book drive, down to Acorn, KY. She has been corresponding with the librarian, Leslie MacDougal, after reading an article about the poor conditions and great lack of access to books. Upon arrival, she finds she was not “expected” and is thrown into the adventure of her life. She is forced into many situations outside of her comfort zone, which help her to grow in so many ways. God has His hand on her in ways she can not understand. A wonderful character we meet is Lillie: a 100-year old former slave who is filled with wisdom and spice! Here is a taste (p.152-3): “I got a feeling the Good Lord has a special job for you today, back in those hills,” she said.
The hair on my arm rose. “A job? What kind of job?”
“I don’t know, but I’m thinking He wants you to be a blessing to somebody today.”
I stared at her. I had no idea what she was talking about.
“Okay now,” Lillie said with a grin. “I’m gonna go on out and have a little talk with my horse. Belle is my horse, you know.”
“What do you need a horse for? You’re a hundred years old.”
“I use to ride all through these hills on horseback, delivering babies and tending folks. Not on Belle, though. Somebody give Belle to me a few years back to thank me for saving his life.”
“Some thank-you. She’s as mean as a snake.”
“Mean? No…Mack says she’s as sweet as can be. I never did get to ride her, though. Now, if I had me a wagon, I suppose I could hitch her up to it…”
“She hates me.”
“Horses don’t know how to hate, honey. Only people are that stupid.”
There are wonderful relationships that develop in this book and a not-so wonderful relationship; rather a feud between two family clans that has been brewing for 60 years over a lost treasure. Between the feud, and the devastation of the closed coal mines, there are wedges between so many families, and Alice (Allie) is desperately trying to make sense of it and do what she can to soften feelings. Along the way, she meets Maggie Coots who came to Acorn as an outsider (or a flatlander as they are called…people not from the hills). Maggie has lived her for years, but unlike the rest of the town, she is more refined and civilized in the ways of more modern society. She enjoys having Allie stop in for tea and scones – yep, tea and scones! This was wonderful for my Regency era heart! But, maybe that’s just me (smile).
I loved reading about how people learned to get by without modern conveniences because they understood the debt they would be in if they suddenly had bills they could not pay.
Allie is so young, and she has a lot to learn about the difference between her plans and God’s plans. It was great fun discovering God’s plans with her, as she learned and grew and enjoyed some romance along the way.
I give it 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to others.
You can read more about this author at: https://www.facebook.com/LynnAustinBooks
OR http://lynnaustin.org
Included at the end of the book: Discussion Questions
This copy was purchased by me and I am offering my honest opinions for no compensation.
388 Pages
Bethany House Publishing © 2011
Read Aug.30-Sept.1
Reviewed September 3, 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy Perriman
Location:St Joseph, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ive read other books by this author that I really liked but this one is one I could have passed by without any problem. Just a different slant that I did not care for much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
G. Barnett
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn Austin is my favorite author. So far, Wonderland Creek is my favorite of hers. I wasn't sure if I was going to like it at first as it is so different from the others. But I could hardly put it down which is hard as I read before bed. This book is written in the first person. Found myself laughing out loud so many times at Alice and Miss Lillie. Very cleverly written. We watched Alice grow from a shallow, spoiled young girl to a capable, loving, caring and godly woman. I find myself thinking about the characters almost a week after finishing the book. I would so love for Lynn to write a sequel so we can read more of Alice and Mack. If you love Lynn Austin, Wonderland Creek is a must read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product should be on the best sellers list

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
orla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a very interesting book. the print was dark enough, story great, I could not put it down. I would like to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a definite 'hard to put down' story!

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sister
Location:Sweden
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a fan of Lynn Austin, so every book is a winner! It was so hard to put this book down. Every free moment was filled with reading another chapter. A very good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Lynn Austin book that she has done in a while in my opinion. The time and the setting were new, not something that's been done to death, and the fact that the heroine is a out of work librarian made the story that much more enjoyable for me.
The only small complaint I have is that there was no solid resolution for the end of the story line. It just sorta faded into the background. The last chapter picks up several months later and moves forward, it seemed to be bad editing for this part.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond my already high expectations!

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
aioaddict
Location:Nebraska
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book!!!!!!! Lynn Austins books are always fantastic, but this one was even better than I expected. She does a great job of having a twist of adventure, mystery, romance, and history all in one great story. If you're looking for a great read...this is it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story That Develops Wisdom

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Wonderland Creek begins we are quickly introduced to our main character Alice Ripley. Alice lives in Blue Island, Illinois and the year is 1936. She is a young woman age 22, living at home with her parents, a lovely petite blond, working in a library, and has a boyfriend named Gordon. Alice though loves books so much, that her every waking moment is with the thought of the current book she is reading, or the book she just read, or even the book she hopes to read. Alice is the perfect definition of a book lover gone to the extreme. She has literally tripped over and bumped in to objects because she was busy reading a book while walking. Her life thus far has completely revolved around books and reading, and of course her family (although I state that lightly because her nose is always in a book.)
I loved it that her character loved books and reading; but she is also a dreamy, immature, selfish, insensitive person. She keeps everything at a distance from her immediate attention, except for her precious books.
But, life changes dramatically when she looses her job at the library because of the economic times of the depression. When her wealthy aunt and uncle decided to take a trip to a spa in the Appalachian mountains, Alice decides to travel with them as far as the community of Acorn, Kentucky. Alice had been mailing donated books to the small library in Acorn, but now Alice has decided to deliver the 5 boxes of donated books in person. As soon as the books and her belongings are unloaded from her uncles car, he leaves her in a trail of dust and will not return for 2 weeks. Alice finds out quickly that Acorn, Kentucky is backwoods---rustic, without modern conveniences. The Acorn library is minuscule. Acorn has been hit hard by the closing of its main income provider, the coal mine. Its former employee's are having a difficult time surviving. Alice has been thrust in to a situation where she is "needed" to help out not only with the library, but with the inhabitants of Acorn.
When I first began reading Wonderland Creek I must admit Alice drove me crazy. She was just such an immature ding-a-ling. I sure hoped her character would evolve in this story.
I was pleased with the new characters I met once Alice arrived in Acorn. Such a fresh aroma of various people that live in this remote area of eastern Kentucky. One such character was made memorable by her own story of long ago.
I really loved this story and the more I think about it the more I love it.
I was impressed with the "other" characters that joined in to Wonderland Creek with their various life stories. Especially one dear one, that had lived through so much, and yet had a heart filled with wisdom that exuded the most bountiful of riches.
And eventually, I could state Alice grew on me.
Thank you to Bethany House for my free review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Lynn Austin Winner!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was quite a departure for Ms. Austin. Written in first person narrative, it was filled with humor and quirkiness. It was done really well!! So does this qualify as chick lit? Lynn Austin? I don’t think so. I typically look to this author for stories that are filled with history and depth. Though well cloaked in humor and wit, the richness and maturity that are typical of a Lynn Austin novel were there. Wonderland Creek was not at all what I expected....it was better! Being an avid reader, I had an immediate soft spot for the heroine, Alice (aka Allie), who is so glued to books that they nearly become her reality. Her journey throughout the story is at times hilarious, at times thought provoking, always wonderful. The banter between characters is brilliant, in a Lucille Ball, will-never-go-out-of-fashion kind of way. So clever!! This is not a fast moving story. It is filled with conversations and relationships that are slowly developed and understood. Much to the frustration of Alice, who came from the big city of modern conveniences to small, seemingly backward Wonderland Creek. Here everything must be done by hand or by horse. Lillie, Alice’s host, is a beautifully crafted and colorful character who has much to teach Alice. Mac, the local librarian is humorous right out of the gate and continues to be so throughout the book. But these simple folks have insight on real life that sophisticated, well-read Alice can and does learn from. Filled with laughs, adventure, history, a touch of romance and a lesson or two, this book was a delight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great engaging read!

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyfull
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderland Creek is a great book to get wrapped up in and enjoy the adventure! Alice, the main character in the book is an avid book worm and loses herself in the stories she reads. By doing this she lets real life and real opportunities pass her by. She comes from a privileged family and the story takes place at the time of the depression.
When Alice decides to donate some books to a disadvantaged town she could never have imagined the adventures and mystery she would get herself wrapped up into. Things that would happen to her that go beyond the basic plot in a book and she finds herself with very little time to read at all.
She learns a great deal about herself and life and what challenges build a person's character. There are a few men that cross her path but is she willing to open her heart and let them in?
The book is well written and has an easy flow to it, while not overly gripping I did find myself eager to read on and find out what happens to Alice and other characters in the book. It is also a novel to remind the reader to appreciate what they have in life and how easily it can all be taken away.
This is the first time I have read a book by this particular author and I'm hoping to read more of her books.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion of the book.
The views and opinions are solely my own and were in no way influenced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVED-LOVED-LOVED IT!!!

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderland Creek
By Lynn Austin
Alice Grace Ripley loves-loves-loves books! She loves books so much that was not only her strength, but it was also her weakness. Alice, young beautiful, Pastor’s daughter, well educated, trained to be a teacher, but working as a librarian and living in a world of books and happily-ever-after’s during the Great Depression.
Loss allows Alice to escape and try a longed for adventure of her own as she travels to the mountains of Acorn, Kentucky with five boxes of donated books. What Alice discovers is a tiny mining town with no running water, no electricity and where librarians ride horses up mountains to deliver books to families.
Wonderland Creek grabbed my attention right from the beginning! I love-love-love books! I found myself sitting like Alice, wanting to pull “Wonderland Creek” from my “book bag” at an “inappropriate” time, just to find out what was going to happen next!
Lynn Austin is one of my absolute favorite Christian Historical Fiction writers and her book “Wonderland Creek” will hold your attention better than any movie or conversation.
The wisdom of God’s word intertwined with the joy of the novel is what Christian Historical Fiction is all about and Lynn Austin has successfully captured both of these in “Wonderland Creek.”
Please visit Lynn Austin to learn more about her books.
Lynn Austin
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Lynn Austin, a former teacher who now writes and speaks full time, has won seven Christy
Awards for her historical fiction. One of those novels, Hidden Places, has also been made
into a Hallmark Channel movie. Lynn and her husband have raised three children and
make their home near Chicago, Illinois. Visit Lynn’s Web site at www.lynnaustin.org for
more information
I received this book for free from Bethany House.
God Bless Your Day Today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My New Favorite

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was left completely wonderstruck. Wonderland Creek is now one of my most favorites books ever!
Alice is a young woman during the depression who eats, sleeps, pretty much lives on and in her books. Alice's world is turned upside down when she loses her dream job as a librarian due to the economic pressures, and to top it all off her funeral director boyfriend dumps her. Alice, in an effort ot get away from her woes, heads to the mountains of Kentucky to deliver boxes of donated books, to a small library. Little does she know that she just might be in for the adventure of her life!
I loved this book from the first line to the last page. It had me glued to the page, savoring every word, and laughing out loud when I found myself relating to Alice in an all-too-scary-way. Yes, Alice was very melodramic, but I loved her for it, and could hardly contain my laughter at some of her humorous musings.
I really loved the Christy-like setting, up in the mountains without the modern inconveniences like electricity, and running water, where you're more likely to meet a person's shotgun before you actually meet the person.
Leslie or "Mack" was in my mind the perfect hero, perfect in that he was not perfect enough to be perfect, which just ended up making him perfect! Now if you're still with me after that baffling chain of thoughts...OK! I love his sense of duty and his commitment to making things right. I could go on and on about Mack but for your sakes, I won't ;)
I think that nearly every character had a place in my heart by the time I turned the last page, I especially loved Miss Lillie. What a woman, indeed!
This book had everything. Excellent characters, a killer plot, sweet romance, a rediscovery of lax faith, a mystery that keeps you on your toes, evil villians, beautiful setting, and lots of books! I couldn't have asked for a better story. It completely blew me away! Especailly the suspense of trying to figure out who was behind everything and why. Oh, and did I mention buried treasure? Wonderland Creek has that too!
If you are anything like me, this is a must-read! I HIGHLY recommend this book. It is now pretty much my number one favorite book :D Thank you for listening to my somewhat overlong ravings, I'm going to go out a buy this book as soon as I can :)
Final Rating: 5.6 out of 5!!!!!
I checked out this book at my local library and reviewed it just because I loved it so much :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good reading

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:DuBois, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like all of the books I have read by Lynn Austin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely well written

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Mpls, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very well written. The story grasped me immediately and drew me in. I love the characters, how they think and Alice's experiences. I sort of dreaded starting this book because it was 400 pages but I read it so fast and got so engrossed in it. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderland Creek by Lynn Austin
*4½ stars*
Alice Grace Ripley is 22 years old and has spent most of her life with her nose stuck in a book. She never had an adventure in her life and she thinks all the exiting things are only happening in a book.
Her boyfriend has had enough of Alice’s dream world and breaks up with her. Then she also loses her job, because of the cutbacks to the Great Depression. Allie’s heart is broken. Her parents give her a week to mourn her losses and then expect her to go on with life.
Allice has collected donated books for a library in Acorn, Kentucky. She decides to travel from her hometown in Illinois to deliver the boxes of donated books in person at the library in Kentucky. And then her first real life adventure begins with shootings, fake deaths and many surprises. Meeting the librarian was only the first of many surprises she’s going to face in the next couple of weeks.
Acorn, Kentucky is not wat Allie had expected it to be. The coal mining town is so small, it doesn’t even has a hotel, restaurant, shop or church. There’s no electricity or indoor plumbing. There has also been a feud between two families that live in Acorn. Alice learns what it is about and she hopes to find out where the hidden treasure could be.
The library has only a handful of visiting customers, because most people live too far away on the mountain. Alice must learn to ride a horse. Together with the Packhorse Librarians she’s going to deliver books to the people that are living on the mountain.
The story had some interesting characters with depth. Some happenings were a bit extreme, but that didn’t matter much to me. I just loved the story. It made me laugh and cry at the same time. It shows us that we are capable of far more things then we’d have imagined.
I loved to see Alice’s growth in faith. Her father is a preacher, but she never really understood what she believed. When she meets Lillie, a one-hundred-year old former slave, she learns far more about Jesus, what He did and about His love.
There’s also a bit of romance in the story. It’s just enough to be satisfied.
This book was a wonderful read. I hated to see it end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Will Make You Want To Keep Reading

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
AJH
Location:CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Mom is a huge fan of Lynn Austin, but I had not read one of her books. So when this one came out I decided to read it. I love a girl who loves to read, cause well I love to read :) I will say some of the characters would make me so mad at them I wanted to just not read, but for some reason I could NOT put the book down and I had to keep reading to see what lesson would be learned, would the mystery be solved, why were people hiding secrets, what are the secrets, will there really be real love in the end? So needless to say I read to the end and I was VERY happy to have done so. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the reason you can't put it down is because you do want to be a part of this story! Never stop reading a book, finish it, you might just be surprised!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lynn Austin does not disappoint with latest.

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Pike
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I eagerly await Ms. Austin's books each year and was again treated to another page turner which I read in about 4 days. Her research is exhaustive but it doesn't sound like she is reciting encyclopedic knowledge verbatim, instead she weaves descriptions about life in Kentucky during the Depression into the story along with well-rounded characters, romance, mystery, and suspense. Alice Ripley's journey from sheltered, selfish city girl to someone who is eager to reflect God's love in actions is vintage Lynn Austin and brings to mind another of her novels "A Proper Pursuit".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Alice in "Wonderland Creek"

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alice Grace Ripley has spent most of her life with a nose stuck in a book. But a real-life adventure is about to catch up with her.
After being let go from her job as a librarian and losing her boyfriend, Alice leaves her hometown of Blue Island, Illinois, for the hills of eastern Kentucky. The Depression has hit hard all over the nation but especially in the coal mining towns. Alice ventures to the town of Acorn, Kentucky, to deliver books to the small library there. What she finds is more than she ever bargained for.
‘Wonderland Creek’ is the perfect name for this novel and the perfect name for the creek in the book, considering that ‘Alice’ is dropped into a chaotic new life that she was not expecting, complete with crazy characters. Once Alice arrives in Acorn, she is off on a whirlwind adventure – attempted shootings, fake deaths, feuds, buried treasure, and primitive conditions – that sometimes left my head spinning.
I have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, this novel had me laughing out loud at times, and I identified with the main character, Alice, more than I care to admit. The characters were complex and had depth, but the happenings were sometimes so crazy that I felt as if someone was pulling my leg.
I am not sure how I felt about the character of Lillie, either. I liked her, and I appreciated her strength and faith, but she was such a contradiction. She had a wonderful love for Jesus, but she and Mack lied throughout the entire book! I am not saying that I wouldn’t lie in a very serious situation (I probably would if my daughter’s life or my husband’s life was in danger), but she lied (or omitted the truth) about so many things that it became manipulative (and annoying) rather than ‘helpful.’
As for the romance, I liked how it unfolded. It seemed realistic, since it was understated, so much so that I was still wondering close to the end which character she would end up with.
I always enjoy when a character takes steps of growth during a novel, and Alice definitely does in Wonderland Creek. She grows in her compassion for and understanding of people, and she grows in her faith.
The best part of this novel for me was the historical aspect. It was fascinating to read about the Packhorse Librarians who were commissioned under President Roosevelt’s New Deal. I had never heard of this before, and I really enjoyed learning about the program and how it helped those who lived in hard-to-reach areas during the Depression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wonderland Creek - eBook
This review is fromWonderland Creek.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Characters, Interesting plot

Date:November 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
mfuller
Location:Beaverton, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I liked this book. I am not a huge fan of Christian romance novels, but this didn’t feel like one. There is some romance, but it isn’t the center of the book. It took me a few chapters to get into the storyline, mainly because I rarely like books about people who love books or librarians because it feels forced, so when the story opened with a young librarian with her nose stuck in a book I almost wrote it off as a big cliché. I am so glad I didn’t because I really liked this story… A lot.
There is plenty of action, and a little romance, but it is the characters that really drove this story. I wanted to meet them, and I really felt like I could remember who everyone was! There wasn’t a single time in this story where I forgot who was who, or why they were important. This is unusual, because there are quite a number of people we meet along the way. Some of the characters I will remember for quite awhile (especially Lillie.) I will admit that the storyline ends extremely neatly with all loose ends tied up but I didn’t mind because I was not able to predict all the twists along the way. A Review copy was provided from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>