Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Change of Fortune

Bethany House A Change of Fortune

Lady Eliza Sumner is on a mission. Her fortune was the last thing she had left after losing her father, her fiance, and her faith. Now, masquerading as Miss Eliza Sumner, governess-at-large, she's determined to find the man who ran off with her fortune, reclaim the money, and head straight back to London.

Mr. Hamilton Beckett, much to his chagrin, is the catch of the season, and all the eyes of New York society--all the female ones, at least--are on him. He has no plans to marry again, especially since his hands are full keeping his business afloat while raising his two children alone.

Eliza's hapless attempts to regain her fortune unexpectedly put her right in Hamilton's path. The discovery of a common nemesis causes them to join forces and, before she knows it, Eliza has a whole retinue of people helping her. Eliza's determination not to trust anyone weakens when everyone's antics and bumbling efforts to assist her make her wonder if there might be more important things than her fortune and independence. When all of Hamilton's and Eliza's best-laid plans fall by the wayside, it will take a riot of complications for them to realize that God just might have had a better plan in mind all along.

Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
1
38 out of 4486%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Change of Fortune
Review 1 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Classic Story

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Change of Fortune
Jen Turano
Book Summary: Lady Eliza Sumner is on a mission. After losing her family, her fiance, and her faith, the disappearance of her fortune is the last straw. Now, masquerading as Miss Eliza Sumner, governess-at-large, she's determined to find the man who ran off with her fortune, reclaim the money, and head straight back to London. Much to Mr. Hamilton Beckett's chagrin, all the eyes of New York society--all the female ones, at least--are on him. Unfortunately for all the matchmaking mothers and eligible daughters, he has no plans to marry again, especially with his hands full keeping his business afloat and raising his two children alone. When Eliza's hapless attempts to regain her fortune put her right in Hamilton's path, sparks instantly begin to fly. The discovery of a common nemesis causes them to join forces, but with all their plans falling by the wayside and their enemies getting the better of them, it will take a riot of complications for Hamilton and Eliza to realize that God just might have had a better plan in mind all along.
Review: This was a great book! I loved Hamilton and Eliza. There were many great secondary characters in this well paced story. From page 5 I was hooked. I read almost half in a couple of hours. The suspense was tempered right along with the witty dialogue. Agatha was fantastic! I can not wait to read her story. There was so much happening that it made for a fast and easy read where I did not want it to end. The children Piper and Ben were realistic and likable. I wonder why I have not devoured the rest of this series. I do believe that Ms. Turano is a very gifted writer who was able to keep my attention, have a number of characters that were dear and enjoyable without loosing the central focus of her story while being believable. I am so thrilled this is part of a series.
I would like to thank LibraryThing and Bethany House for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enter Miss Eliza Summer, or as she is known in England, Lady Eliza Summer. Eliza has come to New York City to take back her family fortune, and then return to England to restore her family's good name. She never intended to find a gentleman of quality in this city nor to begin to develop an attachment to him or his children.
Hamilton Beckett has had enough of women that have secrets, and he certainly has no intention of falling in love again. That is until he spies a feisty young woman in dress that no woman in her right frame of mind would wear. But Eliza Summer turn out to be more than he could have ever imagined.
A Change of Fortune is a fabulously written book set in the eighteen eighties and engages the reader from beginning to end. I love Hamilton and Eliza, loved the scenes that they had together. I laughed out loud in several places. Some of their adventures were a bit over the top, but most had a very realistic feel that made me truly see these characters for who they really were and why they belong together. I also like the fact that Eliza was struggling with her relationship with God and she did so throughout most of the book.
Piper stole the show. I am very glad that the author included her in a great part of the storyline and not have her just show up here and there. I thought she brought a measure of life to the story.
There was only a couple of things I really had a problems with. Agatha was one of them. I agree that her character was too modern. The constant rolling of her eyes and her out and out rebellion toward her parents, and her snorting and her snarky remarks. After a while it got to be way too much. The other item was Ben and his biting. To me it seemed that this idea was brought into the story to be comical aspect. And okay maybe it’s because this topic hits to close to home, but there is nothing funny about children that bites. It is a very serious thing and can lead numerous problems.
At the end of the day though I really enjoyed this book. I know the plot was a little scattered, but I will be recommending it to the ladies who come to our church library with a warning about Agatha and Ben.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

suprisingly funny

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book took me by suprise. You get thrown right in. Two determend women. Real good read. I will read the rest of the books also. Really amusing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Change of Fortune
This review is fromChange of Fortune, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of Fun

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"He'd sworn he would never become involved with a woman who had secrets, and yet, here he was, unable to help himself in regard to Eliza," says Hamilton Beckett. And so the story goes - its full of fun, secrets, attractions, suspense, intrigue, delightful characters, surprises, and all the pomp and propriety of late nineteenth century New York City. I thoroughly enjoyed "A Change of Fortune" as a light read, best done in long sittings because all the fun and sudden twists just leave you wanting to read more. There's certainly lots to laugh at as 'Lady Eliza' bumbles her was through pretending to be a nanny. Her and her sidekick Agatha get up to some amazingly unladylike antics and yet somehow still manage to feign the decorum expected of their place in society when it really counts. I think you'll enjoy this entertaining book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amusing!

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Change of Fortune is a light read; fun, not extremely romantic, but cute in it's own way. My first book by Jen Turano, and so I went into it with very little expectations. It was well worth the few hours it took me to read it, and it got me excited to leap into the second book.
This story is chalk full of eccentric characters and their antics got me laughing more then once. Eliza, our heroine and recapturer of lost fortune, is humorous and brave, and although she can be a little stupid at times, you can't help but love her. Hamilton can be a little dense in terms of how to woo a woman, but he is charming and handsome and so we must forgive his little blunders. It certainly helps that he has an equally charming brother to guide him along. Mix in a couple of kids that seem to smart for their own good, a matchmaking mother and a divine looking detective who can't help but get the ladies all aflutter and you've got yourself a book worth reading.
I'd recommend this story to those lovers of historical romance who'd like something fast paced and funny to help pass the time away. Not on my list of favorites, but amusing all the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Change of Fortune

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
lpeavy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eliza Sumner is in a quandary. She is living a double life, governess to a well situated family of New York but in secret she is Lady Eliza Sumner, member of the British Aristocracy. Why is she hiding? Her fortune has been stolen, her fiancée left her without regard, and now she is determined to get even with the man who destroyed her life. But she had not counted on Mr, Hamilton Beckett.
Hamilton Beckett is one of the most eligible Bachelor’s in New York, much to his dismay. He attempts to keep his mind on his business and with his own revenge. Not to mention, he is responsible for raising his two children alone. When these two paths cross hilarity and trouble ensue.
Jen Turano set her book in New York City in 1880 and I was immediately lost in the descriptions of beautiful dresses and elegant manners. But what I had not expected was to laugh out loud as much as I did. Turano’s characters are funny and quick witted. Her ability to create a hilarious scene had me in stiches (that on more than one occasion woke my husband from a nap). Though the story line is at times a little predictable this is still a very funny read with a lot of heart.
*Bethany House is great to provide me with a free copy of one of their books. In return I am not required to like it but to review it honestly to the best of my ability. All opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a delightful story with humor abounding

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saturday, June 8, 2013
A Change of Fortune by Jen Turano, ©2012
Ladies of Distinction, book 1
Mrs. Watson released a sigh. "My dear, I don't wish to cause you distress, but quite frankly, you are not the type of woman with whom one wishes to enter into conversation at a dinner party."
Eliza swallowed a laugh. Apparently her attempt at disguising her appearance and her true identity could be deemed a success.
--A Change of Fortune, 10-11
Free eBook - Gentleman of Her Dreams, a Ladies of Distinction novella by Jen Turano, is free in the Kindle store, NOOK Book, and from Kobo and ChristianBook, courtesy of Christian publisher Bethany House. This novella is a companion to A Change of Fortune, Jen Turano's full-length debut novel.
In 1880 New York, Eliza Sumner has taken a position as governess to the Roger Watson family. She is called into service for the dinner, not serving, but rather as a substitute guest in place of Agatha, the Watsons' eldest indisposed daughter. Mrs. Watson has Eliza seated between Mr. and Mr. Beckett, two brothers who are the guests-of-honor, with the intent of turning the attention of the eldest Beckett to the honor and merit of Agatha. She tells them of the last minute switch, and that she is the family's governess. Instead of the mission she has been assigned, she is informed of other guests around the table, and becomes part of their discussion.
Follow the escapades as Eliza and her new friend, Agatha, take off to retrieve Eliza's treasure and good name. The Mr. and Mr. Beckett are on a venture; will they too join in the intriguing entanglement to assist her in her situation? Speaking of situation, Eliza, through trying circumstances, loses her position. As a damsel in distress, now what will become of her?
This is a delightful story with humor abounding, focusing on the retrieval of Eliza's rightful titled securities. But in the end will their quest become the same?
Many are the plans in a person's heart, but it is the LORD's purpose that prevails.
--Proverbs 19:21
A Change of Fortune is the first in a four book series published by Bethany House.
Jen Turano is a graduate of the University of Akron with a degree in Clothing and Textiles. She pursued a career in management for nine years before switching to full-time motherhood after the birth of her son. When she's not writing, Jen can be found watching her teenage son participate in various activities, taking long walks with her husband and dog, socializing with friends, or delving into a good book. She lives in suburban Denver, Colorado. Learn more at jenturano.com.
Lady Eliza Sumner is on a mission. Her fortune was the last thing she had left after losing her father, her fiancé, and her faith. Now, masquerading as Miss Eliza Sumner, governess-at-large, she's determined to find the man who ran off with her fortune, reclaim the money, and head straight back to London.
Mr. Hamilton Beckett, much to his chagrin, is the catch of the season, and all the eyes of New York society--all the female ones, at least--are on him. He has no plans to marry again, especially since his hands are full keeping his business afloat while raising his two children alone.
Eliza's hapless attempts to regain her fortune unexpectedly put her right in Hamilton's path. The discovery of a common nemesis causes them to join forces and, before she knows it, Eliza has a whole retinue of people helping her. Eliza's determination not to trust anyone weakens when everyone's antics and bumbling efforts to assist her make her wonder if there might be more important things than her fortune and independence.
When all of Hamilton's and Eliza's best-laid plans fall by the wayside, it will take a riot of complications for them to realize that God just might have had a better plan in mind all along.
***Thank you for sending me a copy of Jen Turano's A Change of Fortune: Ladies of Distinction, book 1, from Bethany House Publishers. This review is in my own words. No other compensation was received.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun Book

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
B loves romance
Location:Roberts, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought A Change of Fortune was a very fun book to read. The plot was fun and the characters very endearing. It also had some fun dialogue, especially on the part of Eliza's friend Agatha. I laughed a number of times while reading this book. That being said, the chemistry between Eliza and Hamilton was a bit lacking. However, the chemistry between Zayne and Agatha was intriguing. I'm hoping Ms. Turano writes a book about those two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

•°o•:*:•.Funny, Exciting, Romantic.•:*:• o°•

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author, Jen Turano knocked it out of the park with this one! I was laughing out loud all the way through it, and could not put it down!
This is Book #1 in The Ladies of Distinction Series. It has everything without being to over the top.
Eliza Sumner is on an adventure to reclaim her fortune. She does not see it as an adventure, but a necessity. She has devised a scheme to travel from 1880s London and exist undetected in New York in order to track down the man who has be smeared her good name and destroyed her life. However, things quickly go awry when she is called upon to attend a formal dinner gathering she was not prepared for. She meets the Beckett brothers who have agendas of their own and havoc soon follows. Their lives become intertwined in mystery and intrigue along with another young lady who joins their unlikely group. The delightful upcoming journalist, Agatha is insistent upon thrusting herself into Eliza’s troubles and is a force to be reckoned with, and charming in her own rite.
The book takes place during the women’s suffrage movement. So women of the day are becoming more assertive. While some accept this, others like detective Theodore Wilder, are not so inclined and he foolishly voices his narrow minded view regularly. The reactions are comical for this beautiful Adonis of a man, who is well aware of his own appearance and affect on the opposite sex. He is a lesser character in the book, but very useful in adding depth to the story and showing views of the time.
Without telling you who they are, I will say, Piper and Ben added so much to the story, and their antics and precociousness are delightful and witty. The author really has a talent for comedy, which I greatly appreciated.
Yes, there is romance as well, and it develops at a nice enough pace, even though some pesky, interfering, but well-intentioned mothers are trying to force it along.
God is present in a real way as some characters struggle with their trust issues, and others just naturally pray and seek God as a regular way of life. That was very believable and in tune with real life, I thought.
I was left wondering about Grayson, and the details of his background story. I won’t give anything away about him, but hopefully we will see more in a follow-up book.
I would highly recommend Jen Turano’s debut novel, and look forward to her next one: A Most Peculiar Circumstance, in which Private investigator extraordinaire Mr. Theodore Wilder returns to us. Scheduled for release in June 2013 according to her website: JenTurano.com. Book #3 will be A Talent for Trouble as seen on her FB page.
5 out of 5 stars
Things that are included: *10 Discussion Questions at the end.
I received this copy free from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
313 Pages
April 14, 2013
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A lighthearted, funny read

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a lighthearted, funny novel that I almost really liked. A lot of what happens is entirely not believable, and how the characters interact with one another, such as a nineteen year old with her parents, is much to contemporary. I nearly expected a cell phone to be whipped out of a pocket, or Facebook to be mentioned. The humour is it's saving grace.
That being said, it wasn't a bad way to spend an evening. I laughed out loud at the puce coloured dress bit and a few other places too. It could be called a 'rolicking adventure', but there again, although funny, the situations they find themselves in are sometimes beyond ridiculous. I think Jen Turano definitely has great potential as an author, and I am curious to see what she does next.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic debut novel!

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Change of Fortune" is Jen Turano's debut novel and I cannot wait to read many more by her! I started this book and had it finished within 24 hours, it was so good I did not want to stop reading! Lady Eliza is masquerading as a governess in New York City after traveling from London in search of a man and woman who have destroyed her father's reputation and stolen the family's money. However, Eliza has one mishap over another including ripping her dress at a dinner party, getting trailed by the older sister of her charges and landing them both into jail and then being dismissed from her job to being taken in by a man whom she is attracted to and shares a common enemy ywith. Eliza is not in search of a husband, but as she spends more time with Hamilton she cannot fight her feelings. However, as Hamilton gets to know Eliza better, he develops feelings for her, but also feels that he cannot compete with her former lifestyle. As Hamilton, Zayne, Agatha and Eliza all work together to seek justice and find answers, Hamilton's children are placed in danger and Eliza learns what really matters most.
I was immediately drawn into the story and into Eliza's life! I absolutely loved every word of this book! It had me laughing out loud as the various mishaps the characters had, and it had me wondering what would happen next during their many adventures. I loved the characters and the dialouge between the characters - that is probably what I loved most about this book! This is an incredible debut novel as it captivated me right from the start to the very end, the time period and the characters came alive and it was just so well-written and enjoyable to read! I am hoping her next book may be about the same characters as I would love to know what happens with Agatha and Zayne, Grayson's story and how Ming became his daughter, as well as spend more time with Gloria, Theodore, and the entire Watson family, and of course Hamilton, Eliza, Piper and Ben! I am highly recommending this book - you will not be disappointed!
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
LETHER
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel is very eventful from beginning to end, and also funny. Life can be chaotic as with Eliza’s life, nonetheless God’s plan will prevail. When we experience a stream of bad luck and seems as though nothing is going our way, rest and be assured God is working things out. God’s blessings can even surpass our expectations. As we see in this novel God aligns people, events and situations so that his will can be done. This an amazing story of learning to trust God, even when we don’t know the outcome. Trust God to have our best interest at heart even when times are dismal. It is during those times that we distance ourselves and we are not in accordance with God as Eliza did at the beginning of the novel. In the end, she realized he was at work. I admire the courage of both Eliza and Agatha. Eliza determined to find those responsible for stealing her fortune and ruining her family name and Agatha for being a good friend and sticking with her, regardless of what they encountered, even landing themselves in jail. Lawrence, well, he was honest about his feeling about Eliza and got exactly what he deserved. I am happy Eliza found true love and a gentleman. Thank you Bethany House for allowing me to share my opinion. Also for giving me the opportunity to select a great book and providing copy free of charge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insanely engaging!

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so much fun to read! As unbelievable as the events and characters' actions could be, I was thoroughly hooked from page one. A Change of Fortune has just the right amount of intrigue mixed in with the most fabulous sense of humor. I never would have guessed this is a debut novel!
There are so many fantastic characters besides the hero and heroine. They're the stars of the show of course and rightly so. Eliza is extremely fearless and adventuresome for a woman in 1880 but the author pulled it off well. Hamilton is, well...a truly dashing fellow!
I laughed and laughed. My fingers couldn't turn the pages fast enough! The writing style reminds me of Deeanne Gist, one of the best writers in Christian Historical Fiction.
I had to contact the author on another website that hosted her for an interview and ask if there will be more stories coming with the other characters in this book. Jen assured me there are THREE more books to come! YES!!! I can't wait :)
Don't miss out on this lively and extremely well-written novel. Grab a copy today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved, loved, loved this book!!

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, loved this book! A Change of Fortune by Jen Turano is an fun book that I could not put down. Lady Eliza Sumner and Mr. Hamilton Beckett instantly reached into my heart and did not let go even after I read the last page. The cover of this book totally captures the personality of Lady Eliza. I hope to see these character re-appear in a series, as well as future love stories for Mr. Zayne Beckett, Miss Agatha Watson, Grayson and Arabella. I have heard that Theodore Wilders story is due out in May 2013. I love these character so much that I hope Jen will also write love stories for the children of these families.
I don't like to read spoilers, so therefore I do not write them, but I highly recommend this wonderful book by Jen Turano. I look forward to more great books from the pen of Jen Turano in the future and I am a now a lifetime fan. I give this one a 5++ out of 5 stars.
I received this book from Bethany House for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Loved It!

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could neither put this book down nor stop smiling!
Lady Eliza Sumner has had her fortune stolen away from her by her father's most trusted advisor and her former governess, so Eliza has found herself in America and on a mission to reclaim what rightfully belongs to her family. Along the way she make many lifelong friends as well has the handsome Hamilton Beckett, who also happens to be the most eligible bachelor in town!
Eliza came to America to reclaim her fortune, but is it possible that she found so much more?
I absolutely loved this book, and will definitely be adding it to my favorites shelves! Ms. Turano has written a wonderfully entertaining tale full of adventure, mystery, laughter, and romance, with page turning action that doesn't slow. There were so many memorable moments, be they emotional, cute, witty, or just funny!
Eliza was a plucky character, who also had a softer side, and made for an excellent main character. I loved how Hamilton saw Eliza even when she was in a horrendous disguise and a puce dress. And Piper and Ben were just so cute! Agatha was a such a fun character with big ideas and heart that craved adventure.
There were so many twists in the plot, and so many wonderful larger-than-life-lovable characters that I can't wait to find out more about! I would love to read about Greyson and his adventures, because I'm sure he has many stories to tell, and a few more secrets to reveal! I finished this book hungry for the next one, counting the days until I can revisit all the of the wonderful characters and their world! It has been a long time since I have enjoyed a book so well. A book that I would most certainly highly recommend!
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Ms. Turano for letting me read your amazing book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

...Much to be desired...

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was lacking in so many ways. The basic plot was simple and the character's personalities were unbelievable. There was an excessive amount of dialogue and scenarios that were too contemporary. While I read this book I felt as though I was being spoonfed every little detail the author wanted me to know. I did not feel as though I could think and ponder and dive into the pages to understand the characters. It was all handed to me to read with little brain power expensed. This book tried to do to much and did not succeed in the least. None of the characters or the dialogue or text fit the historical time period which the story was set. Aside from the chaotic plot and the mix of characters, I was thouroughly disappointed with the lack of Christian values in this book. The whole point of the book was for the main characters to get justice and revenge for a deed that was done to them. Eliza had turned from God because she doesn't see His presence in her jumbled life. However, the author spends little time developing this very crucial piece to the plot. In fact, there is only one scene that even addresses this issue, and the character has a complete change of heart in a matter of 2 very unbelievable pages. All in all I felt as though this story was a chaotic jumble from begining to end. There was potential, and I hope that should the author write another book, there would be less characters, less strange dialogues, less focus on revenge and more on God's saving grace. This book left much to be desired. I recieved this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest review of this book. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Loving Story

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Historical novels can often have a hard time capturing and keeping a snarky, fun-loving, sarcastic heroine without making her seem too soon for her time. So kudos to “A Change of Fortune” for very much succeeding in creating a cast of memorable characters.
It’s a fun loving story with characters that don’t take themselves too seriously, but also have serious situations working against them to create constant conflict. From being arrested to a little girl who speaks her mind, to a scheming match making mother, plenty of light comedy and potential for romance to go around…the story doesn’t get dull.
Eliza has such a fun voice on the page. Determined to take her fortune back, I loved that as a reader, I didn’t have to watch her lie to our hero, but simply told him who she was and why she had crossed the ocean from England.
Dialogue is a blast. The simple writing of it keeps the book filled with giggle moments and also moments of pure seriousness. When a character starts waving a gun around…yeah it might be time to cut the humor. It’s a really good blend of comedy/romance/suspense/historical. I think it will easily appeal to lovers of historical fiction, but also those who enjoy the contemporary comedies.
Enjoyable. Cute. Humorous. Good writing. It’s a combination for a memorable debut and leads the way for what I hope is a great series.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, clean, and engaging romance!

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's 1880, and Lady Eliza Sumner is following her red hair right into trouble as she single-handedly tries to catch the man who embezzled her father's fortune, leaving her alone and destitute. Having followed him to New York City from England, she is serving as a governess (Miss Sumner) while she tries to locate him. Just as Eliza finds him, she also stumbles (literally) into Mr. Hamilton Becket, a wealthy widower and one of New York's most eligible bachelors. They team up to try to restore her fortune, while Mr. Becket tries to keep her out of trouble. Sparks fly between them, in more than one way, as they disagree on how to handle the situation. But, Hamilton's mother and his two motherless children have plans of their own.
A Change of Fortune was a fun book to read. It has humor, adventure, mystery, and of course, romance. I enjoyed the personalities of the characters, their developing relationships, the many humorous predicaments they faced, and the witty dialogue. I'll be honest and admit that it's light reading, a fluff book ... but a very enjoyable fluff book!
As a Christian romance, it kept the physical side of the romance to a minimum. I appreciate that, as I've picked up a few Christian fiction books since I started reviewing books that shocked me by their content. The content of A Change of Fortune is perfectly clean; I'd even let my 13 year old daughter read the book. The characters in this story are all on different spiritual paths, and their relationships with God are occasionally discussed, but this isn't a very "preachy" book.
There were several plot twists that I hadn't expected, as well as some relationship developments that were somewhat predictable. But even if I saw the secondary romance building, I still enjoyed the story and the progress of the overlapping romances. Of course, Eliza and Hamilton get their happy ending along with their restored faith, and the other budding relationships leave the door wide open for a sequel, or two. I'm looking forward to more historical romance (with a comedic twist) from Jen Turano.
** This book was provided free, by Bethany House publishers, for review purposes. No other compensation was received in exchange for this honest review. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Stolen Fortune, Adventure and Romance

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen Turano in her new book, “A Change Of Fortune” published by Bethany House Publishers takes us into the life of Eliza Sumner.
From the back cover: Lady Eliza Sumner is on a mission. After losing her family, her fiance, and her faith, the disappearance of her fortune is the last straw. Now, masquerading as Miss Eliza Sumner, governess-at-large, she’s determined to find the man who ran off with her fortune, reclaim the money, and head straight back to London.
Much to Mr. Hamilton Beckett’s chagrin, all the eyes of New York society–all the female ones, at least–are on him. Unfortunately for all the matchmaking mothers and eligible daughters, he has no plans to marry again, especially with his hands full keeping his business afloat and raising his two children alone.
When Eliza’s hapless attempts to regain her fortune put her right in Hamilton’s path, sparks instantly begin to fly. The discovery of a common nemesis causes them to join forces, but with all their plans falling by the wayside and their enemies getting the better of them, it will take a riot of complications for Hamilton and Eliza to realize that God just might have had a better plan in mind all along.
Let me start out by saying that I think “A Change Of Fortune” should be made into a major motion picture. Jen Turano has given us one really fun book filled with some great characters and a rollicking plot. Lady Eliza Sumner is a Lady, that means she has never worked and on top of that she is a bit clumsy. So what happens? Her fortune is stolen so she has to come to New York to steal it back hiding in the role of a governess. Eliza is not a very good thief so, naturally, she winds up in jail and has to be bailed out by new friend, Hamilton Beckett. Now they must join forces to try to reclaim Eliza’s fortune. Along the way romance develops and the book picks up from there. Eliza and Hamilton are extraordinary and well written. This is a just plain fun, exciting story that entertains while giving us an adventure. Ms.Turano has batted in a winner and I enjoyed it a lot. I am so looking forward to more from this very talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Change of Fortune
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

An Unfortunate Change

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cammy M
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
“A Change of Fortune” by Jen Turano is a whirlwind of a book taking you from one place to another so fast that you don’t know where to look. Lady Miss Eliza Sumner is at her wits end. Having lost everything in a scandal after her father’s death she travels to America in search of what is rightfully hers. In the process of tracking down her nemesis she finds herself in the company of friends including one Hamilton Beckett a handsome widower with a common adversary. Together with her new found friends Lady Eliza expedites one bumbling escapade after another in attempt to regain her fortune. But will they succeed?
How can I convey what I feel about this book without seeming unkind? I enjoy light reads and I can get over the fact that it is not true to the time period but I cannot get over the quality of the writing. It doesn’t add to things that I am learning about imagery in school and this book seems to hit all the pitfalls we are warned about in class. My review may be harsh but I have to be honest with myself as well as with all who read this review.
The story lacked tact. When I read reviews mentioning the unrealistic use of mumbling and snorting I believed it wouldn’t bother me; it never had before. It probably wouldn’t have either if the use of those words, amongst others, were not so excessive. The use of any specific word or phrase in excess whether it coheres with the time period of the writing or not is a pet peeve of mine and in my opinion only assists in the degradation of the text. The eye rolling (also noted by other reviewers) I place in a different spectrum. I have been brought up in the mindset that eye-rolling is like swearing, extremely disrespectful whether one means ill by it or not. Needless to say the multiple rolling of eyes took away greatly from the characters for me.
As I said before, I love light reads but I still desire to take away something positive from the books I read. What I take away from this book is that: it is okay to do the wrong thing if you have a good reason, to roll your eyes at people and to treat people disrespectfully, and that it is okay for one to take eye for an eye tooth for a tooth. Christian morals were mentioned but never acted out. In fact the whole book held an atmosphere of “do as I say not as I do”.
Ms. Turano please, I implore you, read some classic books along with an assortment of books from popular authors today. Read how their conversations flow, how the characters emotions are unveiled and how they combine the serious and intense with the fun, romantic and witty. These are the things I found stilted in this tale. As much as I am happy for your success I really hope that this is not an example of where the future of writing is headed. It has never been more evident to me that the art of language and the written word is being lost in the rush to publish a book. I don’t want to discourage you, I truly admire your stamina and courage, just don’t quit seeking to improve. As the saying from Tim Duncan goes, “Good, better, best. Never let it rest. Until your good is better and your better is best.”
This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers for the purpose of reviewing. All thoughts in the review are my own.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.