Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monarch Books The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)

Monarch Books The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)

* For centuries, some Christians have followed worldly paths and ignored uncomfortable core New Testament teachings. How can we avoid pandering to society's way of thinking? Identifying 30 areas of conflict, Instone-Brewer examines issues where Jesus challenged the assumptions and practices of his contemporaries---and urges us to faithfully apply these ethical ideas to our modern culture. 160 pages, softcover from Kregel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Review 1 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very informative and easy to read

Date:August 5, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was unsure of this book when I first saw it, to be truthful. There was something about the title that made me question what the book was going to be about. However, since I knew it was from a Christian publisher, I felt that I had better give it a chance!
It was very interesting to read about how Jesus was caught in scandals during his day. I never stopped to really think about the cultures at his time, such as why he was single and the disgrace that came with that at the time. Or how about not having a father....one that everyone could see and say that Jesus came from that family. Instead, all he could say was that Mary was his mother. That was disgraceful to take her name.
I never saw what Jesus did as scandalous. I saw it more as going against the world. However, when I stopped to think about it, "scandalous" describes how the world viewed him.
The book itself is an easy read with nice and short chapters. It's written in a way that is informative and not boring. I really enjoyed the cultural information that he included in the chapters, as well. I felt that I better understood more about how Jesus was viewed in the eyes of those who judged him and hated him.
_________________
I received this book free from Kregel Publications in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Teach this book as a bible study

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fighter4Life
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although Western culture has been shaped for centuries by Christian teaching, a closer study of the Bible reveals that we routinely ignore the uncomfortable heart of New Testament ethics. It's too extreme, too confrontational. Even Christians pander to the world's way of thinking, making the astonishing bland.
Review by LLeweLLyn L. Cooper
If you had no prior knowledge of this person, would you want to know more about him and what he stood for?
In my pre-Seminary, “Power to the People” days, I might have wanted to know him. But now, as an aspiring minister and married father of three on the wrong side of thirty-something…oddly I do even more. The Jesus who most likely died before he was my age has oddly grown more radical as I have grown more (clutch the pearls) conservative. This is the Jesus we meet in Rev. Dr. David Instone-Brewster’s new work from Kregel Publications The Jesus Scandals. In the book which was provided free of charge in exchange for this review, Instone-Brewer leads the reader not to, but away from conclusions about the “sweet little baby Jesus” so many people Christian and non- alike have come to mistakenly know.
In The Jesus Scandals, Instone-Brewer identifies thirty areas where Jesus challenged the assumptions and practices of His contemporaries with insights that provoked shrill opposition and that continue to generate debate today.
The author, Instone-Brewer (pictured above) is Senior Research Fellow and Technical Officer at Tyndale House, Cambridge. He is a Baptist minister and a rabbinic scholar. His ministry and writing seem to focus on the practical as well as the pastoral as evidenced by his many academic and popular articles, and his previous book Divorce and Remarriage in the Church: Biblical Solutions for Pastoral Realities.
Scandals is more than practical and pastoral, it is numbing. Still, what will sell this book(and because of its easy readability and precise scholarship, it should sell) will be how applicable it makes the bible subjects and stories that so many of us –even in professional ministry, have glossed over in favor of the old party line. How practical and applicable is it? As I write this, there is in my home state a bill in the Alabama Legislature to require a 30- day waiting period for couples to obtain a divorce. This legislation is a reversal of a law enacted around 1969 which made divorces much easier to come by. Instone-Brewster’s chapter on and entitled “No-Fault Divorces “ shows the historical and biblical parallels and precursors and how the cultural and spiritual causes surrounding all of the legal maneuvering are still in operation and therefore still creating the same challenges and still calling for the same solutions.
Scandals makes clear the fact that Christianity is a living religion. It is not a set of rules and regulations written in stone which are unchanging and unbreakable. Christianity is, for good or for loss, the trail that is continually left by the living Jesus Christ, so that even our sense of history has to be re-examined in light of what we learn as we go forward. Unfortunately, as with NCAA policy in the Sandusky case, divorce law in the cases of the Kardashians and the Cruises, and church polity in the several Catholic church cases, it took Scandalsto open our eyes; hopefully Instone-Brewer’s Scandals will reveal –as his subtitle suggests—“why he shocked his contemporaries and still shocks today.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Start a Bible Study with this Book

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fighter4Life
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book
Although Western culture has been shaped for centuries by Christian teaching, a closer study of the Bible reveals that we routinely ignore the uncomfortable heart of New Testament ethics. It's too extreme, too confrontational. Even Christians pander to the world's way of thinking, making the astonishing bland.
Review by LLeweLLyn L. Cooper
What if I told you that a well-known and long established leader was born illegitimately, broke the local laws on a regular basis and rationalized it based on the fact that he considered himself the son of God? What if I told you that government operatives infiltrated his organization and singled him out to be tried and after being found not guilty by the local authorities, he was still publicly executed? Perhaps in an age of Sandusky, Tom-Kat and Kardashian quick divorces and Catholic cover-ups this might not come as a surprise. But I think that it would be at least noteworthy that now people tattoo this leader’s name and symbol on their bodies, put bumper stickers representing him and what he stood for on their vehicles and other objects, and that his name and symbology is now often synonymous with well known Rappers such as Li’l Wayne and Kanye West and according to recent National News, more people are studying him and his teachings in neighborhood bars than in the local church.
If you had no prior knowledge of this person, would you want to know more about him and what he stood for?
In my pre-Seminary, “Power to the People” days, I might have wanted to know him. But now, as an aspiring minister and married father of three on the wrong side of thirty-something…oddly I do even more. The Jesus who most likely died before he was my age has oddly grown more radical as I have grown more (clutch the pearls) conservative. This is the Jesus we meet in Rev. Dr. David Instone-Brewster’s new work from Kregel Publications The Jesus Scandals. In the book which was provided free of charge in exchange for this review, Instone-Brewer leads the reader not to, but away from conclusions about the “sweet little baby Jesus” so many people Christian and non- alike have come to mistakenly know.
In The Jesus Scandals, Instone-Brewer identifies thirty areas where Jesus challenged the assumptions and practices of His contemporaries with insights that provoked shrill opposition and that continue to generate debate today.
The author, Instone-Brewer (pictured above) is Senior Research Fellow and Technical Officer at Tyndale House, Cambridge. He is a Baptist minister and a rabbinic scholar. His ministry and writing seem to focus on the practical as well as the pastoral as evidenced by his many academic and popular articles, and his previous book Divorce and Remarriage in the Church: Biblical Solutions for Pastoral Realities.
Scandals is more than practical and pastoral, it is numbing. Still, what will sell this book(and because of its easy readability and precise scholarship, it should sell) will be how applicable it makes the bible subjects and stories that so many of us –even in professional ministry, have glossed over in favor of the old party line. How practical and applicable is it? As I write this, there is in my home state a bill in the Alabama Legislature to require a 30- day waiting period for couples to obtain a divorce. This legislation is a reversal of a law enacted around 1969 which made divorces much easier to come by. Instone-Brewster’s chapter on and entitled “No-Fault Divorces “ shows the historical and biblical parallels and precursors and how the cultural and spiritual causes surrounding all of the legal maneuvering are still in operation and therefore still creating the same challenges and still calling for the same solutions.
Scandals makes clear the fact that Christianity is a living religion. It is not a set of rules and regulations written in stone which are unchanging and unbreakable. Christianity is, for good or for loss, the trail that is continually left by the living Jesus Christ, so that even our sense of history has to be re-examined in light of what we learn as we go forward. Unfortunately, as with NCAA policy in the Sandusky case, divorce law in the cases of the Kardashians and the Cruises, and church polity in the several Catholic church cases, it took Scandals to open our eyes; hopefully Instone-Brewer’s Scandals will reveal –as his subtitle suggests—“why he shocked his contemporaries and still shocks today.”
Author Dr. David Instone-Brewster
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Isus samanta de scandal

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emanuel Pavel
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In orice timp scandalurile au o mare cautare. Cu cat numele e mai sonor, cunoscut, cu atat interesul, curiozitatea este mai mare. Scandalul este o rampa de propulsare pentru unii si o vale a disperarii pentru altii. Odraslele celebritatilor au fost mereu urmarite, tachinate iar unele chiar s-au balacit cu placere in scandaluri. O carte despre scandalurile din viata Fiului lui Dumnezeu, Isus Christos, incita, apare surprinzatoare dar nu cadreaza cu scenarii cunoscute prezentate in cuprinsul unor publicatii de can-can ori emisiuni de diverstisment.
Prin “The Jesus Scandals - Why He shocked his contemporaries (and still shocks today) “, Kregel Publication mi-a oferit ocazia de a interactiona cu scrierea unui iscusit profesor si fin cunoscator al culturii evreiesti – mediul in care s-au propagat mai intai vorbele, actiunile, atitudinile prin care Isus a deranjat, producand fracturi in forma si fondul religiozitatii evreiesti.
more at http://blog.punctul.com/2012/07/17/9921/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Jesus Scandals

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
David Instone-Brewer in his new book, “The Jesus Scandals” published by Monarch Books explains Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today) .
From the back cover: David Instone-Brewer unravels history to discover what has been lost over the centuries – what Jesus’ contemporaries really thought about him and his teaching.
Jesus scandalized both friends and enemies. Topics covered include:
His parentage and accusations of alcohol abuse and fraudulent miracles
The dubious status of his followers – poorly educated, ex-prostitutes and the certifiably mad.
His anti-religious teaching on temple practices, eternal torment, easy divorces and judgement in this life.
His thoughts of suicide, shameful execution and impossible resurrection
Faithful to the Biblical text, this carefully researched book can be read as a whole or as stand-alone chapters. Useful for house groups and as discussion starters.
Why look for scandals? Rev. Instone-Brewer tells us, “scandals are our best guarantee of historical truth in the Gospels. When disgraceful, embarrassing and shocking details about Jesus are recorded by His friends and supporters, it is much harder to disbelieve them.” Rev. Instone-Brewer looks at thirty areas of the teachings of Jesus and presents them down into short, easy-to-study chapters. Each chapter covers an area of the ministry of Jesus or His teaching that was found scandalous in His day. The scandals are divided into three parts: Scandals In Jesus’ Life, Scandals Among Jesus’ Friends, and Scandals in Jesus’ Teaching. Before he died my pastor back East would continually tell us to fall in love with Jesus. ”The Jesus Scandals” will help you to understand Jesus more and the more you understand Him the greater will be your love for Him. Not only will you understand Jesus more but you will understand the settings of where and why Jesus spoke. ”The Jesus Scandals” will enhance your understanding of Biblical times. If you have read the Bible read this book. It will give you a fresh perspective and a desire to go and read the original source again. All in all I say this book is a resource that will be used over and over again. I recommend this book highly.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought Provoking Read

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ministry Design Coach
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author, David Instone-Brewer, has taken thirty areas of the teachings of Jesus and broken them down into short, easy-to-study chapters. Each chapter covers an area of the ministry of Jesus or His teaching that was found scandalous in His day. The scandals are divided into three parts: scandals in Jesus' life, scandals among his friends, and scandals in his teaching. He brings to light social and community insights that are very helpful in understanding the text.
This book should be suitable for small groups as well as for individual study. Each chapter can stand alone and produce numerous discussion questions. I recommend you purchase a copy for your own perusal before using it in your study groups or recommending it to those you are discipling one on one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

scandalous aspects of Jesus, his friends, teaching

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Why write about scandals? David says they are the inconvenient truths of the gospel. Some may try to dismiss the gospels as fiction. But these scandals would never have been invented for fiction. They reveal the truth of the authors.
The chapters of the book are self contained and can be read in any order. They are short and can even be used as devotional talks.
The scandals regarding Jesus himself include: illegitimate birth, accusations of alcoholic abuse, welcoming children, paying the pagan image bearing temple tax, and a shameful execution among others.
There are scandals regarding Jesus' friends: Mary Magdalene, Judas Iscariot, ordinary disciples, and prostitutes.
There are scandals regarding his teachings: hypocrisy, polygamy, divorce, oaths and curses, forgiveness and more.
David's area of expertise is early rabbinic Judaism. He wants his readers to understand Jesus and that requires knowing something about the Jews of the time. He adds Roman and Greek culture as well. He has added lots of background information on each topic. (For example, I learned the legend behind the tradition of coloring Easter eggs.)
David tends to add his own philosophy here and there. Some of his opinions may be troublesome to readers. For example, when he writes of the scandal of Jesus welcoming children, David goes on to give opinions about children taking communion. “...I am sure,” he writes of Jesus, “he'd welcome even the smallest and least educated child at his table.” (48) As one of the Reformed tradition, taking the warnings of Paul on taking communion wrongly, I did not appreciates David's added comments.
When people write write, they have presuppositions. David lays his out right away. “My personal presuppositions are that Jesus is who he claimed to be in the Gospels, and that these accounts represent what actually happened.” (9) He does stay true to the gospel, although he did lose me when he tried to explain how eternal punishment is true and destruction is true. Punishment of hell involves torment followed by destruction (i.e. annihilation). The torment must be of limited time, yet that allows “eternal torment” to be true. (See his discussion on pages 181-182.)
The strength of this book is showing that no one would have made up a story about Jesus as we see in the gospels. There is just too much about him, his friends, and what he taught that would have been scandalous in the first century culture of that area. The gospels must be true.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Kregel Publications for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for study groups

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and still does today) is a great book for small bible study groups and individual bible study. Why? Because Dr. Instone-Brewer has taken thirty scandals that not just shocked Jesus' contemporaries, it also challenged them and their religious beliefs.
These scandals may also shock you, challenge you and your religious beliefs as well.
I found several things in the book that caused me to re-examine how I look at things like divorce, Easter, and even finances.
Instone-Brewer takes a look scandals in Jesus' life, among His friends, and in His teachings, using historical references from Jewish historians and plenty of bible references.
Looking at these scandals from the eyes of the Jewish people of that time makes reading the New Testament more understandable. Sometimes it can be difficult to understand why Jesus would say something like forgive someone seventy times seven. Read "Bitterness and Hatred" to find out why.
There is just so much I want to say about this book but fear of spoiling it for you. So all I will say is READ IT! It is worth your time. It will open up the New Testament for you in a marvelous way.
Reading this book will give you a better understanding of those who wrote the New Testament, who the writers were trying to reach at that time and it will give you a better understanding of how it applies to your life.
Dr. Instone-Brewer's compassion and love for Jesus and the church comes through each page in this well-written, easy to understand book.
Kregel Publications provided me with this free review copy. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jesus Scandals: Why He Shocked His Contemporaries (and Still Shocks Today)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT STUDY BOOK

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jesus often shocked his listeners with his teachings. His views were seen as radical by his contemporaries, and clashed with the teachings of the Jewish leaders of that time. His very birth was scandalous, and he was not shy about spending time with those considered less than desirable. He had compassion for those who no one else wanted. His very ministry, his life, death, and resurrection was a scandal.
Dr. Instone-Brewer has taken thirty areas of the teachings of Jesus and broken them down into short, easy-to-study chapters for the average Bible student. Each chapter covers an area of the ministry of Jesus or His teaching that was found scandalous in His day. Chapters include His illegitimate birth, his bachelorhood, Judas Iscariot, and His views on polygamy. I particularly enjoyed the chapter on Mary Magdalene. Because I believe in avoiding spoiler alerts whenever possible, I'll just say that not only do I appreciate the fact that Dr. Instone-Brewer set the record straight once again, but he also explained why we dye Easter eggs. Yes, it's all in that one chapter. In the chapter "Second-Rate Disciples", I so appreciated the idea that perhaps Jesus was making a joke at Simon Peter's expense when he said he would be a "rock". Again, no spoiler alert; you'll just have to read it for yourself. But I have always felt that Jesus had a sense of humor while He walked upon the Earth, and I'm sure we'll discover some day that He still does. That has nothing to do with the book; just a personal observation.
This book would be excellent for a study group, as well as for individual reading. I thoroughly enjoyed it and have to give it 5 stars.
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of Kregel Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Kregel Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.