Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1

Bethany House Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1

When Amish farmer Pete Treger moves to Paradise Township, Pennsylvania, he meets Cate and Betsy Miller. Both are beautiful, but older sister Cate is known more for her sharp tongue and fiery temper than her striking appearance. Betsy, on the other hand, is sweet and flirty,and seems to have attracted most of the bachelors in Lancaster County!

However, the sisters' father has made one rule: elder sister must marry first, before the younger can even start courting. Though he finds both sisters attractive, something about Cate's feisty demeanor appeals to him. Soon the other bachelors in the district convince Pete to court Cate. She hardly seems receptive to his overtures, though. Instead, she's immediately suspicious of his interest.

Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 38100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Review 1 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Fare

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read plenty of Amish romances and fiction in recent times, and I generally love them and award them a 5-star rating with absolutely no trouble. Well, let me tell you something. This is by far one of the best Amish romance I have ever read! It was so different from the others I have read, and in a good way, too! I was drawn into the book from the very beginning, and at times, I was so into the book that I forgot where I was!
This is a unique Amish story. I don't want to give away any spoilers, but it will definitely keep you guessing at every turn. While you can count on an ending being something you will enjoy, the journey is full of suspense at times. There were times I just wanted to shake some sense into Cate or slap Pete upside the head, I was fully engaged in the story at all times.
I love the way the spiritual elements are seamlessly woven into the story line. I always find that Amish fiction is consistently the best at accomplishing this. Even if the people walk away from God, they always seem to come back. And you will see that in Cate, and I found it very inspiring. And God works in the lives of everyone else as well, and by the end of the book, everyone is serving God!
If you like Amish fiction and/or clean romances, this is definitely the book for you! I can't recommend it highly enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Amish Fiction Read!

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a good read from beginning to end! I enjoyed this book so much. I haven't read an Amish fiction book quite like this one. I think that is why I liked it so much.
Cate Miller is one feisty gal. She has resigned herself to the fact that she will never marry. All the guys hang around her younger sister Betsy without giving Cate a second glance or so it seems. Perhaps her grumpy and grouchy attitude doesn't help. Maybe Pete Treger, from New York can soften Cate up, then again maybe not. Will Cate ever find someone to love and will she find happiness?
When we distance ourselves from God, things can turn out far different then what we hoped it would. Will Cate find her way back to God and happiness? Can she let go of bitterness and learn to forgive?
I am looking forward to reading more books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Courting Cate

Date:April 30, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If I had to sum this book up in one word it would be clever. Why clever you ask? Leslie has taken the skeleton of Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew and fleshed it out in her own unique way. It is kind of like Old England meets Lancaster County.
I am a big fan of Shakespearian literature so when I first heard about this book I kept wondering how Leslie was going to stay true to the storyline yet keep it an Amish based book. I was pleasantly surprised at how closely she stuck to the original.
The thought of an Amish woman being a shrew just didn’t fit with my perception of how I think they conduct themselves. The character of Cate really does start out as a shrew. It is very interesting to read about why Cate has developed such a churlish attitude. The contrast between her and her sister Betsy couldn’t be more apparent. The whole community loves Betsy but many tend to avoid Cate. Of course if you know the original story you already know that Betsy isn’t all that she appears to be. Cate’s motives are about self-preservation while Betsy’s are just selfish.
The second book in the series, Adoring Addy was just released and I look forward to snatching it up as well. It is based on the story of Romeo and Juliet. If it is even half as witty as this book it will be worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish courtship full of twists

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even if I hadn’t known Courting Cate was a takeoff on Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew, I would have figured it out soon into this compelling story, but that didn’t lessen the enjoyment. Leslie Gould manages to successfully follow in the master’s steps with her powerful characters and drama. She also weaves her own twists and surprises into the tale.
Cate may live in Paradise, Pennsylvania, but the community seems anything but that to her. She has practically raised her younger sister, Betsy, after their mother’s death. Sweet Betsy is a sought-after beauty, but Cate’s feisty tongue and spirit keeps her own suitors away. Then Pete Treger wanders into town and snags a job working for Cate’s father. He appears interested in winning her, or maybe it’s only Dat’s money he wants.
Will Cate be trapped into marriage or manage to get her own way or both? Leslie’s first book in this new series, The Courtships of Lancaster County, offers the blessings of good writing that pulls readers along through all the ups and downs until tears flow unchecked by the end. I consider this her best book yet and look forward to reading the next in the series, Adoring Addie, which just came out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Courting Cate

Date:March 12, 2013
Cate Miller was 23 years years old and still unmarried. She pushed away any guy that showed interest because of prickly personality or fear that they were only after her family's money. Cate's father, Bob, wanted her married and made a rule that she must marry before her younger sister Betsy could.
Pete Treger came to town looking for a job with Bob Miller. Pete seemed to take an true interest in Cate. Pete and Cate's relationship took a surprising turn that had Cate's world turned upside down. She learned that things aren't always as they appear. Cate also found something that was missing from her life - a trust and faith in God to help her daily.
Leslie Gould did a good job of keeping this story unpredictable. It's told in the first person, a writing style I usually don't care to read. But I enjoyed this book. Courting Cate is the first book in the Courtships Of Lancaster County Series. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.
Courtships Of Lancaster County Series:
Courting Cate - Book 1
Adoring Addie - Book 2
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany house in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courting Cate

Date:February 22, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a young girl Cate lost her mom and ended up raising her sister Betsy. Now as a young Amish woman almost past the typical age for marriage, Cates dad decrees that Betsy cannot “court” unless Cate is being courted. The only problem is Betsy already has someone courting her.
When Pete arrives and gets the job working in the showroom working for Cates dad, plans are set in motion. Ultimately, will Cate settle for a marriage of convince? Will her sister Betsy use Cate to get what she wants like always? Will dad find out before Cate marries? Does life get worse for Cate as a wife?
I enjoyed how the author kept changing course so you never know what is around the next page. This was a great novel about family and life doesn’t always work as planned and that it can be messy.
I am happy to give this book a five star rating.
I received this book free from the publisher through the Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Start to a New Series

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snowflakes
Location:Georgia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read "Courting Cate" by Leslie Gould, and while I always love Amish fiction (especially Beth Wiseman... Hi, Beth!!!), I hadn't had time to read any in about 6 months. This was the perfect book to reignite my habit. I loved it so much that I started it in the morning and read it every free chance I had and finished it before supper. It was a really interesting read, and not patronizing or simplistic like some Amish fiction can tend to be. I especially liked the authenticity with which Gould wrote about locations in New York State. I'd recommend this book to anyone looking for a fun and engaging novel with realistic characters and an interesting story line. Since I also really liked Gould's other book, The Amish Midwife, I'd say it's a safe bet that I will like the rest of her books as well, and since this is Book 1 in the new "The Courtships of Lancaster County" series, I can't wait 'til her next one. Keep 'em coming, Ms. Gould!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cate a strong caring person from a very young age

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cate Miller has raised her sister Betsy since she was very young, after the death of their mother and grandmother.Through the years Cate has become known for her sharp tongue and fiery temper. After all she was picked on all through her school years by Seth Martin and his twin brothers Martin and Mervin, or as she calls them M & M. When Cate and Seth got older he convinced Cate that he liked her and she agreed to court him, even accepted his proposal of marriage. That is until she found out he only wanted to marry her for her father's money, a well to do man in their community. After that she seemed to be even more bitter and had no desire to date, marry or have a family, she was resigned to become an old maid and start her own business.
Betsy on the other hand, was well liked, had lots of friends and considered by everyone as very pretty. There were a lot of boys wanting to court her, and she went through many. Betsy finally finds one, Levi, from a neighboring community that she wants to marry. There is one problem though, their father wants Cate to find someone to love and marry so she can have a family of her own first.
When Cate's father puts an edict into effect that Betsy can't court if Cate doesn't, and Cate must marry before Betsy can. This causes a lot of problems for the two girls. Pete Tregor, from New York, comes to Paradise, Pennsylvania and happens to be a cousin of Nan, the lady who brings the bookmobile to town and knows Cate well, you see Cate spends any spare second she has reading. Pete becomes friends with Cate, Betsy, Levi and M & M. Soon Cate finds herself being more attracted to Pete and goes on some outings with him. The attraction ends when she overhears M & M talking about paying Pete to date her, so now she realizes that Pete only likes her for her father's money also
Knowing Cate will do anything for her, Betsy tells her that she may be pregnant and needs to marry quickly. Cate will not only do anything for Betsy she will do anything to protect her family, even protect them from shame, so she talks to Pete and he agrees to marry her. They get married within two weeks. Pete was late getting to the ceremony and as soon as the service was over he tells her that they have to leave for his home in New York immediately, they couldn't even stay for the usual wedding supper, and as she's coming downstairs with her bag to leave she sees M & M hand Pete an envelope, his pay off.
After hitch hiking in the rain and getting soaked they arrive at his parents house, if you can call it that, in the middle of the night. They go to his old room and when she hears someone pounding on the door she finds Pete gone and hears her new mother-in-law, who she's never met, yelling at her to get up it's getting late. After she eats her breakfast she's instructed what her chores are to be for the day.
Cate goes from what is one of the best Amish homes there are with running water, an indoor bathroom and plenty of room to a home that is no more than a cabin with no indoor plumbing and being treated like a slave. She knows she can never divorce but when she finds out that Pete's brother is married to the woman Pete loved and is the reason he left, what will she do? Will Cate give up and go back to Pennsylvania by herself, how long can she live like this? Why isn't she hearing anything about Betsy's wedding and when it is, why does it seem everything is against her when all she tried to do her whole life is help her dad by raising Betsy and helping him in his business?
Leslie does a wonderful job of telling Cate's story, I found myself feeling her pain and wanting to tell some people off, especially Betsy, being the ungrateful person she is, after the edict is put in effect. You have to get this book so you can read everything that was done to Cate and how strong a person she is. Such a giving person, she deserves more than what she's getting and needs someone to stand up for her instead of against her, which is how she feels.
Thank you to Bethany House for providing me this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully Written!

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deborha Mitchell
Location:Redding, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My review for Courting Cate by Leslie Gould
This is the first book in The Courtships of Lancaster County series and just let me say that I can't wait for Book 2!
Leslie Gould has taken a classic tale and made it all her own. I have seen/read different versions of The Taming of the Shrew, but to experience it in Amish style was wonderful. This is a brilliant adaptation that keeps you guessing throughout the book. I found myself smiling and laughing while I read Cate and Pete's story. Yes, there were some tears, too. I applaud Leslie for a job well done. I'm not much of an Amish fiction reader, but I will definitely be reading more of Leslie's books.
I won my copy of Courting Cate and I wish to thank Leslie for making sure that I got my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I could barely put it down!

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quite honestly, I loved this book. I have to admit I've read a lot of amish fiction books and after a while they can start to feel predictable. But not this one- it has so many twists and turns that I could barely put it down. And I basically love the fact that Cate is amish, and also slightly sarcastic.
"Courting Cate" was one of those books, that when I put it down to go about my day, I kept wondering how she was going to make out and worrying if she and Peter were ever going to find their path together. The author made me feel like I knew Cate, so I cared about what happened to her. I could hurt for her, but also hope for her. This book is definitely one I would read again! The only disappointing part about it was it had to end.
I was given this book for free from the publishers in return for my honest feedback. It just so happens that I loved this one :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
lotsofblessings
Location:Blackduck,MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I truly enjoyed this book!
I had never read anything by Leslie Gould before.
Growing up I was always intrigued by the Amish.
That being said, This story is about 2 daughters who grew up without a mother. The one always giving in to the other, putting her first.
Cate reminds me of myself, feisty and quick to loose her temper... When she finds God again she becomes a different person.
Cate was burned by love and so she decided to explore a career instead...But then their father who was worried about Cate so he decided that Betsy couldn't court or marry til Cate did.
Through alot of scheming...and lies on Betsy's part she does everything in her power to find someone to court her sister
. Pete comes to town and Cate does find him intriguing, they have alot of the same interests especially reading. He seems interested in her--but is it real?
You should,really give this book a read....
I received this complimentary book from Bethany House as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of Courting Cate

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scrap
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I wonderful book that shows just what it means for us to follow God’s will for our lives and not necessairly what we want, or at times, think is always best. As they say, not to force things, well that is true, no matter the situtation.
Also enjoyed the characters-the heroine Cate reminded me of myself, and the hero, my goodness. Who wouldn’t like such a man?
Thanks to Bethany House for this wonderful read and am looking forward to more from this debut author, at least for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I thought this story was really sweet and quirky!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to pick up Courting Cate by Leslie Gould as I won a copy in an author party hosted by Litfuse. There is just something about reading a book that you have won that makes you want to dive right in and start reading. I think the very interesting thing about this book is that it is an Amish themed retelling of The Taming of the Shrew. Needless to say, it was an interesting take and I really enjoyed the book! I think if you enjoy Shakespeare as well as Amish fiction—I think you will enjoy this rendition! Oh, and I know you can't judge a book by the cover but I think the cover model is absolutely stunning!
About the Story:
Cate Miller can be very hard to get along with. She has a fiery temper that pushes away anyone that attempts to get close to her. Truth is, Cate had her heart broken and she is determined to never let love get in her way again. That is—until her father declares that her younger sister is not allowed to marry unless Cate marries first. Cate would do anything for her little sister and decides to give an Amish drifter named Pete a chance. That is—until her father declares that her younger sister is not allowed to marry unless Cate marries first. Cate would do anything for her little sister and decides to give an Amish drifter named Pete a chance.
Pete is intriguing. That much is true. But, is his interest in Cate sincere or does he have some ulterior motive? Just as Cate believes that she could finally love someone—her faith in him is shattered and her heart is broken again. Yet, when circumstances find her in the acquaintance of a bitterly hateful old lady—Cate begins to take a good look at her own bitterness. Does she really want to be a shrew?
I thought this story was really sweet and quirky for an Amish tale. Something about the author’s writing is unique and I honestly cannot wait until her next book is released. I think I have read it will be an Amish rendition of Romeo and Juliet. That should be very interesting! If you’re looking for quirky Amish books that are a little outside the norm—pick up Courting Cate and then hop over to the author’s website to learn more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Insightful Book

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
trustysis
Location:WV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is about an Amish girl, but it could be about any Christian girl with high standards and a loyalty to her family.
The things Cate does, and thinks, are common to all young girls in her position, I believe.
I could not even anticipate what was coming next, most of the time.
I thought this would be a slow and easy reading book, but it kept me up late, finishing it.
Very good book.
Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Courting Cate

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courting Cate is the first book in the Courtships of Lancaster County series. The series has a unique twist, combining Shakespeare and Amish fiction. These two subjects would seem unlikely to meld well, but Leslie Gould makes it work spectacularly. While I did not enjoy Leslie's series co-written with Mindy Starns Clark, I am glad that I gave this book a chance, because it was wonderful!
Cate and Pete are both flawed, wounded people, but they each see something in the other worth pursuing. I loved that they had an enjoyment of reading in common from the very beginning. Cate's sister Betsy is spoiled rotten, and almost takes over the story, but things eventually shift back to Cate and Pete's courtship.
I'm looking forward to the next book in this series...
With thanks to Bethany House Publishers for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Courting Cate

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cate Miller at the ripe old age of twenty-three has no time or talent for housekeeping, cooking or any other wifely duties a young Amish woman her age should have already been well versed in. If she cooks it is guaranteed to be burnt in someway. When it came to men or courting she has no time for them and would show them the door real quick.
Cate works in her father's woodwork shop doing his bookkeeping and answering the phones. If she wasn't working in the shop office she was reading a book. She has loved reading for as long as she knew how to read she could not get enough.
Now her younger sister Betsy was a bird of a different color she is the apedemy of the Amish woman. She was blessed with the gifts of cooking, sewing, quilting and a very immaculate housekeeper and gardener. She knows how to attract the young men like bees to honey. Amish men come from near and far to set eyes on the beautiful Amish lady.
The girls mother died when Betsy was a baby and Cate was only six years old. Cate took over the care of her baby sister and still felt like she was responsible for the now seventeen year old Betsy. Betsy falls in love with one boy after another. Now she thinks she is in love with Levi and wants to be courted in hopes to marry.
Their father is at whits end raising these to totally opposite in character daughters. One refuses to be courted and the other thinks she is ready for marriage and motherhood. So he puts his foot down which he rarely ever does. But the girls knew that this time he was serious and would not bend.
The verdict is that Betsy can not go on a date unless Cate has a date. Betsy can not be courted until Cate is being courted. The best for last is Betsy can not marry until Cate has gotten married. This did not set well with the girls. But Betsy is bound and determined to get Cate hitched up with someone.
When Cate was getting some books at the book mobile in town she meets a very forward Amish man. Pete Treger turned out to be a friend of the woman who drove the book mobile and he was asking the lady where Bob Miller's Shop was located. But he was not aware Cate was the shop owner's daughter. He claimed he was looking for a job and in Cate's normal shrewish way she let him know her father was not hiring. Well guess what? To her dismay her father hired man. Now she will have to avoid him when she went to work everyday. She sees him as just another bachelor to have to deal with.
What does this remind you of? You got it 'TAMING OF THE SHREW'! Cate even looks like Elizabeth Taylor the actress that play the part of Kate.
The author had not problem at all turning The Amish Cate and the other character in this story into the characters from 'Taming of the Shrew' to Taming of the Amish Shrew.
Leslie clear off a shelf or a space on your wall for the awards you will
win from 'COURTING CATE' !!
This was a very enjoyable and fun read. I read the book fairly quickly. I am so anxious to read book two in this series I can't imagine how the author can top book one. But I bet she does.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Group/Bethany House for review. I was in
no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous!!!

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always loved Taming of the Shrew and Amish fiction. So when I found a book that combined both of them I was SO excited!
Taming of the Shrew is my favorite Shakespearean work. I have always felt a connection to the character Kate, and the same is with Leslie's rendition. Actually I loved Courting Cate even more than Taming of the Shrew, because it is written in Cate's perspective. The kinship I have always felt with Cate grew by leaps and bounds while reading her thoughts and feelings. Leslie has made it onto my favorite authors list and Courting Cate has made onto my FAVORITE books list! This is a fabulous story, told in a beautiful way. The pace is set with NO lulls and FULL of great scenes; and a few twists! I didn't want to put this book down and I read way past/or right to midnight on more than one night before making myself go to sleep. Then I picked it back up and read through out the day!!! Every emotion resonated within my chest as I read through everything Cate and Pete goes through, because Leslie writes in such an emotional way. Courting Cate shows you that if you find God's love first; other loves are truer and stronger. This is a MUST READ!!! Wonderful, simply wonderful!
My songs are: "Be Be Your Love" by Rachael Yamagata, "Pass Me Not" by The Cluster Pluckers, and "Kiss Me" by Sixpence None The Richer (love this song for this book because it reminds me of "KISS ME KATE!" :) )
Esther
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Relaxing book to read

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pat C
Location:Delaware
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this book in digital form from Bethany House to read and give an honest review. I have read many Amish fiction books and I find them nice, relaxing reads and it is always interesting to catch a glimpse of the Amish way of life. This book allowed me to do that. I enjoyed the book and would recommend it to others. The characters were very believable. I am not sure whether it was this book or if I am tiring of reading Amish fiction, but.....I found I would read some of this book and then have no trouble putting it down for a day or two before picking it up again. That is usually not the case with me and Amish fiction. I would, however, look forward to reading the subsequent books to come in this series (this is Book # 1 of the series) as I continue to be fascinated with the Amish culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting take on The Taming of a Shrew

Date:December 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cate is known for her sharp tongue and prickly personality. Her sister Betsy is all sugar and spice. Cate has no intention of getting married, but Betsy has quite a few men she is interested in. Imagine their surprise and horror when their father announces that Cate must marry before Betsy can. The chaos that ensues is a mess, but God can straighten even the worst mistakes out into something beautiful.
As I've mentioned before, I'm not a huge fan of Amish fiction. But this was a really fun book. The couples featured in the book were fun and their characters were realistic. There were several annoying people, but they didn't over power the story. The emphasis on God and our relationship to Him was well done.
I received this book free of charge from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Courting Cate, Courtships of Lancaster County Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

t new Amish romance

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Courting Cate by Leslie Gould is the first installment of a new series by this author. Cate is a feisty young woman of the Amish faith. When she was just 12 her mother died leaving Cate and her father to raise her new baby sister, Betsy. Cate did the very best that she could do as a young girl being forced into the adult world too soon but she soon learned that a quick temper and a controlling manner got things done but did not impress the young men around her. As little sister Betsy grew into a pretty teenager she found that Betsy with her flirty ways attracted boys like flies to honey and Cate was alone in the house with her father. Betsy easily picked up cooking and sewing and all the ways of a woman of the home and Cate found she was drawn more to the bookkeeping of her father’s business. Cate was a reader and stayed to herself and Betsy loved the social world of attending the singings of the Amish world. That all changed when Pete came into town and Cate finds herself being drawn to him. Then their father’s edict that Cate must marry before Betsy and that Betsy may not go to social events unless Cate is also socially active brings stress onto both girls. They realize their father loves them and the community has been gossiping that he did a poor job raising his girls is stressing him.
This was a great start to what appears to be a good series. The reader can imagine all sorts of new twists and turns that could happen in the series. It will be looked forward to by this reader for sure. Thank you to Ms Gould for having the foresight to have so many facets presented into this new series. Good luck Ms Gould and write fast so we can read more on this dynamic family.
I received this book from Bethany House for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>