Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1

Bethany House No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1

Cara Hamilton had thought her brother to be dead. Now, clutching his letter, she leaves Ireland for America, desperate to find him. Her search leads her to a houseful of curious strangers, and one man who claims to be a friend--Rourke Walsh. Despite her brother's warning, Cara trusts Rourke, revealing her purpose in coming to New York.
Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Review 1 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
This review is fromNo Safe Harbor - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Christian Mystery

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is absolutely nothing like a good romance, a good mystery, and the gospel all tied together. Yes, this book hit the mark with absolutely no problem. From the very first page all the way through the end, I was mesmerized. Elizabeth Ludwig is one of my favorite authors, and this is a book that will keep you completely intrigued and enthralled. The style is readable, and the characters are 3-dimensional.
There are two things I especially relished in this book. Rarely do I get to read a mystery that takes place in the 1800's. It takes a historian to be able to do it, but the author has done it. It makes sense, and it will keep you guessing till the end--it sure did me! I also love the Christian message that is so intricately woven into the framework of the story. All too often, Christian authors preach or only nominally include the Christian message. It takes a gifted author to weave faith of God into the very fabric of the story without detracting from the story. Elizabeth Ludwig is amazing!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
This review is fromNo Safe Harbor - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara Hamilton is lured to America from Ireland by a letter from her brother. Relieved to know Eoghan is alive, she arrives in a strange, new land, anxious to find her brother. Despite Eoghan's warnings to speak to no one, she finds herself in a budding friendship with the tenacious Rourke Walsh. With Eoghan's words ringing in her ears, she proceeds cautiously with her new acquaintances. But before long, she realizes that things are not as they seem, and the land of opportunity quickly becomes the land of danger.
For every step Cara comes closer to finding Eoghan, she begins to trust Rourke a little more. But as the truth of her intentions in coming to America - and the truth about her brother - begins to surface; Rourke's real reason for getting to know Cara better threatens to be revealed as well. Will Cara and Rourke be able to find Eoghan? Or have the sands of time run out for both of them?
This wonderful novel comes to us from a well-known mystery/suspense writer, Elizabeth Ludwig. I loved everything about this book; the characters with the way they kept my interest in every detail of their lives, the setting of a young Irish woman coming to America, and the plot with it's twists and turns. I cheered with them when they succeeded, and I cried when they didn't. In the end, it was a very satisfying read, and I hope you will enjoy it every bit as much as I did.
A copy of this book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Safe Harbor

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
lpeavy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You arrive on Ellis Island just off the coast of New York in 1897. You have no family left in Ireland and the only link to the last member of your family is a letter. A letter that tells you to trust no one and to tell no one who you really are. Ludwig set’s her story in New York during the 1890’s, a time where feuding Irish families have spanned an ocean and where grudges can hold a life in the balance.
No Safe Harbor begins with a note of suspense that will not end until the last page. Cara Hamilton, the main character, has come to America to find her brother, a brother that she had thought dead. She arrives with his letter in tow, the instructions: wait for him and tell no one why you have come. She must keep her brother’s secret for his safety and for her own. But then she meets Rourke Walsh, a man with secrets of his own. But his desire to help her and watch out for her make her want to trust him with her secret. But can she?
I found this to be an excellent story full of twists and turns. It was suspenseful, romantic, and kept me guessing until the end. The characters were realistic and the subplots of other characters were woven in so well with the main plot it was never confusing. I highly recommend this book and I can hardly wait until the next book of the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the Wait

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Safe Harbor
Elizabeth Ludwig
Book Summary: She came to America searching for her brother. Instead all she's found is a web of danger. Cara Hamilton had thought her brother to be dead. Now, clutching his letter, she leaves Ireland for America, desperate to find him. Her search leads her to a houseful of curious strangers, and one man who claims to be a friend--Rourke Walsh. Despite her brother's warning, Cara trusts Rourke, revealing her purpose in coming to New York. She's then thrust into a world of subterfuge, veiled threats, and attempted murder, including political revolutionaries from the homeland out for revenge. Her questions guide her ever nearer to locating her brother--but they also bring her closer to destruction as those who want to kill him track her footsteps. With her faith in tatters, all hope flees. Will her brother finally surface? Can he save Cara from the truth about Rourke... a man she's grown to love?
Book Review: The cover of this book is what drew me in first. I really was looking forward to reading this book and was not disappointed. I liked Cara and Ana. The premise and some of the details was complex regarding the civil unrest in Ireland. I was not always clear about who was on which side. Overall there seemed to be no good side that at some point in civil issues everyone loses something tangible as in the case of this book families were separated and/or divided. I loved the characters and how complex they were on the whole. The current secondary characters set up nicely for the next in the series. The mystery dragged at times and I am hopeful that it was due to setting up the series and the future characters which would help make all of them flow together. I think the real mystery was more subtle than Eoghan on the run from his civil enemies. This is a timely novel about significant division in a nation and the sides’ people choose.
I would like to thank Library Thing and Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
This review is fromNo Safe Harbor - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third in the Husbands for Hire series the mine is being riddled by mysterious explosions and cave ins. Along comes Michael, a carpenter in search of a safe place for his son away from his overbearing in-laws. But Michael isn't looking for love, especially after being roped into a marriage of convenience in the past. But he and Naomi find themselves drawn together amidst the turmoil at the mine, made even worse by Naomi's manipulative sister coming to town. Will they ever be able to make sense of all the chaos?
If you've read the other two books, I'm sure that this is a must-read! I came into the series with this third installment, so it did take me awhile to figure out what was going on. But when I did, I found this to have an engaging plot and plenty going on, with many twists and turns.
What made this book hard for me to read was just how horrible Naomi's sister was, she was a character that readers will probably love to hate. The main characters were strong, and I really liked Michael and Naomi and they both struggled to thrive in the midst of adversity and people that made their lives miserable.
Overall, a good way to tie up the ends of a series. I think my favorite character was Michael, because he had a calm leadership about him, and a strong faith. There were some pretty humorous situations, that were just the funniest to picture mentally. A great introduction to Kelly Eileen Hake's books.
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond My Expectations!

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marisa
Location:Kenora, Ontario
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Safe Harbor was given to me by the lovely people at bethany house for the purpose of a review. They are excellent and even want negative reviews to be posted. However, this book definately exceeded my expectations. I thought when I recieved it that it would be a wholesome Christian novel that depicts a life that is completely unattainable.
When I began to read it I quickly was sucked into the twists and turns of the "historical suspense" of the book. Always wondering who Cara (the main character) could and couldn't trust. The story takes place about 100 years ago and the english (and Irish slang) was dead on, allowing the characters to really be built up in my mind.
Cara's love for God is not forgotten in this story and it is what carries her through in many instances. She is also "human" and questions God at certain times and then feels guilty afterwards as she knows He has a plan for her life.
This story was more than a story, it really was a look back into history, vigilanty justice and how God was the dictator of most peoples lives, unlike today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

YES.

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this book just when I wanted a really good read and No Safe Harbor satisfied and thrilled this reader who finished it in 3 days.
Elizabeth Ludwig, YOU have a gift.
Readers beware as you step into a territory where deception will make your hairs stand on end as Cara navigates through lies and hypocrisy – an adventure in which eyes have to be kept opened like those of a predator because no one and absolutely no one can be trusted.
At first at least.
Be still my heart. I think I almost fainted as the romance between Cara and Rourke blossomed. So, so, SO very good. It’ll course through you like the sweetest honey and leave you cheering for these characters to get a happy ending. I couldn’t help but reread some of the love scenes.
Yet all of this is threatened when bloodthirsty rises like a cruel beast in and through characters such as Deirdre and Hugh. These characters (especially Deirdre) are rotten, evil, despicable, cruel, hateful, abominable and so on, characteristics which heightened the level of suspense in the story and left this girl flipping pages late into the night.
It was a whirlwind! There are some details about the origin of the conflict between the Turners, Deirdre, the Celt and Eoghan that I did not fully grasp (might have to go back and read some passages again), but what I DID understand is that Ludwig truly is a gifted writer – she draws and draws the reader into the story and doesn’t let go, so if you are looking for your next captivating read, well, look no further!
Now what I NEED is the second book, please. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed the whole book!

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I liked the main character Cara. I thought she was well written and I liked how her character reacted to the different difficulties she encountered. I thought the story itself was great! I liked the suspense and how fast the story moved from one scene to the next. I also liked the historical aspect of the story. I thought the historical part of the book is what made this story so enjoyable. The author must have done a lot of research and it definitely showed. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I have nothing negative to say and I think anyone who likes historical, Christian romances with a little bit of mystery, will love this book!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Couldn't Put This Book Down!

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah Rose
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara Hamilton’s brother, Eoghan, is dead. Or so she believes for two years, until a letter from him arrives from America. With only his letter as a guide, Cara leaves Ireland for New York City, desperate to be reunited with her twin.
Crossing the ocean doesn’t turn out to be her journey’s greatest challenge, however. Once she arrives in America, other things nearly as wide as the sea and some far more dangerous, stand between Cara and Eoghan.
The men who attempted to kill Eoghan the first time are still thirsting for revenge. Despite Eoghan’s warning for Cara to trust no one, she believes she’s found a friend in Rourke Walsh and confides in him the reason she’s come to New York. Cara then finds herself caught in a web of deception, danger, political revolution and threats… and an unexpected, uncertain love.
No Safe Harbor had me hooked by the first page, and the intensity only built with each chapter. Cara was instantly someone I liked and empathized with, so as she was drawn deeper into the plot, I inevitably followed. At every turn, the stakes rose higher, the threats closer, and my reading time longer! When I could stand the suspense no longer, I sat down and didn’t move until I finished the entire book. It’s hard for me to find a novel that wraps an authentic historic setting, convincing characters, a sweet but risky romance, and a heart-pounding plot into one unforgettable story, but that’s just what Elizabeth Camden did in No Safe Harbor. I give it 5 out of 5 stars, and place it high on my list of recommendations! I’m looking forward to more from the Edge of Freedom series.
I received this book from the publisher for free, in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing Drama Set in History

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Safe Harbor by Elizabeth Ludwig is the intriguing story of Cara Hamilton, who leaves her home in Ireland to search for her brother in America in 1897. Although warned by her brother in a letter to keep to herself, Cara's trusting nature soon leads her to find a friend on the ship coming to America and then finds herself falling for a kind and handsome stranger in the city of New York.
But in every shadow, Cara feels the danger creeping in and wonders if her brother is even still alive. Learning to trust her instincts, Cara soon finds herself being chased by the very evil that is searching for her brother. Who is Roarke Walsh really? Is he falling in love with her or just another part of the evil?
This is an edge-of-your-seat story, with each chapter presenting a new twist to the plot. At first, Cara's nervous nature got on my nerves. But as she started to develop in the story, she became more interesting to follow.
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves mystery, romance, and history. I can't wait to read the next book in this series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great story of intrigue, animosities,& loyalties

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cara Hamilton braved the Atlantic crossing from Ireland for one purpose: To find her twin brother Eoghan. Her twin, who until a couple of short months ago, she thought was dead. With no parents or guardians to prevent her, she boarded the first ship to America she could find.
The letter from Eoghan had contained a specific warning: Don't trust anyone and don't speak to anyone until he could tell her who to trust. But he didn't meet her at Ellis Island as she expected, and the sparkling blue eyes of the handsome man who took the seat next to her on the boat from Ellis Island to New York didn't seem to reflect any danger.
Rourk "Walsh" hid his true identity close to his chest. This young woman was the sister of the man he swore to kill, the man who had killed Rourk's father. Rourk hoped she would lead him to her brother. He offered to escort her to the house where she hoped to find lodging.
He just didn't count on falling in love with this pretty redhead.
Elizabeth Ludwig has woven this story of intrigue and animosity into a love story well worth the read. Thank you so much, Elizabeth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery, Suspense and Intrigue

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
No Safe Harbor is a book you do not want to miss reading! From the lovely Irish brogues, the immense mystery plot, and not to mention sweet romance, you will find a great read in this novel. At first everything seemed suspicious. You trusted no one and suspected everyone. Then your heart began to soften to all the characters even the secondary ones. Each character played a vital role into the story. They not only proved as fun distractions in solving the mystery, but also as the backbone to the story. They all felt like one big family, maybe a rather dysfunctional one:)
What can I say about the suspense? The author crafted such an intricate web of mystery, that to this day I'm still trying to piece everything together. The story being told by more than one perspective, helped to add to the suspense.
The romance was sweet and simple. Loved how they began with a simple friendship and as they grew to know one another the relationship changed to a romantic one. The romance did not feel fictional at all. The romance was real and not your typical cheesy love at first glance love story.
Overall No Safe Harbor is your go to book. It contains a lot of mystery, intrigue, and suspense. It provides great historical lessons about the Irish revolution. I enjoyed learning about the Irish history, with all of its political intricacies, gang activity and faith in God. No Safe Harbor is a 5 star worthy book.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers, in exchange for my independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Was Hooked Straight Through To the End

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Safe Harbor, the first book in the Edge of Freedom Series, is the first book I have read by Elizabeth Ludwig.
I was drawn to the book at first by the cover and then the description. Once I started reading it I was hooked straight through to the end.
The story was full of twists and turns that kept drawing the reader further into the story. Cara Hamilton is in search of her twin brother, Eoghan, but she doesn't know who to trust, and it seemed that every second or third person she met had some kind of connection to her brother; which only added more suspense to the story, and kept me turning the pages.
I loved Cara's Irish heritage, many of my ancestors immigrated from Ireland to P.E.I., Canada, and eventually settled in northern and central Maine. I could hear the Irish brogue in my mind as I read, that sounded very much like my great aunt Mara's voice.
I found the story very enjoyable, and am looking forward to reading the next installment to the Edge of Freedom series--Dark Road Home, which focuses on Cara's friend, Ana Kavanagh.
**No Safe Harbor by Elizabeth Ludwig was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 Stars For the Start of a Great New Series

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a huge fan of general market historical suspense/mystery by authors like Deanna Raybourn and Carol K. Carr and I'm so glad that Elizabeth Ludwig wrote this Christian historical novel so I can add her to my must-read suspense author list. I've read a bunch of contemporary suspense in the Christian fiction genre but I can't recall reading one with a historical setting in recent months. No Safe Harbor was a refreshing, detailed read that I really enjoyed. I'll admit to finding it a bit hard to get into (there were a lot of characters to keep straight) but as the chapters went the suspense kept building and I found myself unable to put the book down. The gritty streets and seedy docks of New York fairly leap off of the page. Add to it politics, gangs, and revenge and you get a pretty serious tale that just isn't a "fluffy" story of boy meeting girl and fighting for love but a story where they're also fighting for their lives. This really was an entertaining book with drama to the nth degree. Ms. Ludwig has definitely left the story open for a sequel or two as not everything was tied up in a nice bow. Hopefully the next book brings more answers as to just who a few of the key characters introduced in No Safe Harbor really are and just what they will do when they reach Ireland. I for one can't wait to read what happens next in Dark Road Home!
~ My Rating: 4.5 stars ~
*I received my free copy of this title from the author as an influencer. I would not have reviewed the book if I couldn't honestly say I enjoyed it.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2012
Let me start by saying that I've been in a strange place as far as reading goes over the past month. I have read very little, picking up and putting down quite a few books because I simply haven't wanted to read. Despite that (and the fact that it took me over a week to finish this book!), No Safe Harbor by Elizabeth Ludwig kept my attention and made me want to come back to the book—even if it was just a chapter or two at a time.
From the first few pages, I was instantly intrigued. I loved the details the author included about Cara's arrival to Ellis Island, the process for admittance to the United States, and all of the emotion that evoked. Perhaps I related a bit more to it because I visited Ellis Island last year. The author definitely did her research! After arriving and attempting to settle in, though, Cara's journey takes one twist and turn after the other and gives readers quite an adventure.
While the book did start a bit slowly, I felt that the background information was helpful as I continued reading, and the pace never truly bothered me. I thought this was an interesting combination of historical, romance, and suspense—all three aspects were done so well! I anticipate that the next book in the series will be just as good and look forward to reading it next year! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Intrigue

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Safe Harbor has all the elements of a great novel -- mystery, danger, intrigue, history, romance. The characters, though, are what truly make the story great. The author does a fantastic job of developing them gradually, providing details on a "need-to-know" basis, as she builds tension and keeps you turning the pages.
From the beginning, it is obvious there is more to Cara's story and to Rourke's than appears on the surface. How their destinies are intertwined, as well as those of other people in their lives, provides an exciting story with lots of twists and turns -- and an ending full of surprises. As an added bonus, I learned a little history about New York City and Ellis Island.
I give No Safe Harbor five stars and recommend it to fans of historical fiction, intrigue, and romance. I look forward to what Elizabeth Ludwig has to offer as she continues her Edge of Freedom series.
I received this book free of charge from the Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Edge of Freedom

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ireland, 1897. Cara Hamilton has lost everyone in her family including her twin brother. She can't fathom why God would leave her so alone. Then one day she received a post from America, it was from her twin brother Eoghan. He was alive and hiding out in New York. But where in New York. All he said was for her to come, he would be waiting for her. She was not to mention to anyone why she the journey to America or admit she she knew him. Their lives were at stake.
As she gets her first look at Lady Liberty as the ship arrives at Ellis Island a kind old gentleman that befriended her on the voyage gave her a recommendation to the owner of a boarding house that helps Irish women to find employment and provides them with room and board. Cara had brought every penny she possessed to make the trip and to live on until she could be joined with her brother. As she is taking the fairy from the Ellis Island to the mainland a gentleman close to her age takes the seat next to her. He strikes up a conversation with her giving his name as Rourke Walsh. But being a lady she tries to stay to herself. He offers to safely escort her to the boarding house since he was familiar with the area. She decided to trust him to get her to her destination.
When they arrived at the boarding house she kindly thanked him and he told her he hoped to see her again. As she entered the boarding house she received a warm welcome thanks to the elderly man's recommendation and gladly paid her first months rent in advance. She also was to start a new job recommended by her new Land Lady Amelia.
Ellis Island, 1897. Rourke Walsh got word that the sister of the man that murdered his father was on a ship headed for New York to connect with her brother. His vengeance against Eoghan Hamilton was eating him alive. He and the rest of his clan wanted the Hamilton family dead. He finally spots a woman of her description and he is in awe of her beauty. He must make sure she is Eoghan's sister before taking any action.
Rourke starts spending more time with her but she speaks guarding her words. The more time he spends with her the more he is attracted to her and wants to protect her from his family. He can tell she is also attracted to him. This was not going as he had planned.
This story has all that I like in a book. It has intrigue, romance, and most importantly reconciliation with God. The author uses Cara's kindness and vulnerability to protect her from the bitterness Rourke has felt since his father's murder. I feel as if this is the most critical part of the story.
God will heal his children if only they believe and trust in his will. There is a Way. God has a plan!
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Baker Publishing/Bethany House and Litfuse Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
joni
Location:Western New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No Safe Harbor begins at Ellis Island in 1897. A lovely Irish girl, Cara , comes to America to find her twin brother who left Ireland under peculiar circumstances. He's written her asking her to come but to tell no one who she is or anything about him. She begins her adventure with a wonderful cast of characters, some good, some bad but all with their own reason for finding her brother. I found the book interesting and learned more about conditions in New York during that time period. The Irish element richly enhanced the novel and gave a reason for the characters actions. Looking forward to book 2 in this series. I received a free copy from Bethany Camp for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful Adventure

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elizabeth Ludwig begins the “Edge of Freedom Series” with a suspenseful adventure in the pages of “No Safe Harbor.” An intricate web of revenge and lies captures and holds the reader until the end.
Ludwig introduces a wide range of characters, many with hidden agendas. In the beginning, part of the mystery is discovering which characters pose a threat to Cara and in whom she can place her trust. The story is told through the perspective of several different characters, so the reader gradually gains insight into the motives of the primary and secondary characters. Danger lurks through the pages as Cara ventures into New York City in search of her brother. Initially, I was concerned the political intrigue element of the novel would be too heavy, but the pace of “No Safe Harbor” steadily propels the reader through the pages. The political unrest is the underlying cause of the threatening environment that Cara finds herself forced into. Ludwig delves into the political undercurrents without bogging down the plot. Action is interspersed throughout the novel, but really picks up near the end.
The love story between Cara and Rourke is somewhat unconventional. It is clear at the start of the novel that both main characters have divergent goals. Both Rourke and Cara withhold information from each other, but Rourke is motivated by revenge. As Ludwig reveals more of Rourke’s motives, he becomes a likable character. I found myself hoping that Cara and Rourke could find a future together, but one question lingered through each scene: how can a relationship based upon Rourke’s false pretenses ever succeed? Ludwig finds a satisfying resolution. The plot is complete enough to be read as a stand-alone novel, but hints at possibilities for future books in the series.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from LitFuse through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for No Safe Harbor, Edge of Freedom Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Top Notch Thriller

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth Ludwig in her new book, “No Safe Harbor” Book One in the Edge Of Freedom series published by Bethany House takes us into the life of Cara Hamilton.
From the back cover: New York City, 1897
She came to America searching for her brother. Instead all she’s found is a web of danger.
Cara Hamilton had thought her brother to be dead. Now, clutching his letter, she leaves Ireland for America, desperate to find him. Her search leads her to a houseful of curious strangers, and one man who claims to be a friend–Rourke Walsh. Despite her brother’s warning, Cara trusts Rourke, revealing her purpose in coming to New York.
She’s then thrust into a world of subterfuge, veiled threats, and attempted murder, including political revolutionaries from the homeland out for revenge. Her questions guide her ever nearer to locating her brother–but they also bring her closer to destruction as those who want to kill him track her footsteps.
With her faith in tatters, all hope flees. Will her brother finally surface? Can he save Cara from the truth about Rourke… a man she’s grown to love?
Who do you trust when you don’t know anybody? That is the situation Cara Hamilton finds herself in. On top of that the one person she wants to trust is the one person her brother told her not to. Cara is on a quest to find her brother, believed to be dead, but alive somewhere in New York. That is her mission for leaving native Ireland and coming to America. Now she finds herself embroiled in sabotage, attempted murder and threats. The one person who can possible save her? Of course, Rourke Walsh, the man her brother said not to trust. “No Safe Harbor” is a very exciting book. One that will keep you flipping pages trying to find out what will happen next just as fast as you can read and flip. “No Safe Harbor” will keep you asking questions, once you get the answer to one question it leads you to another and then another. This is an adrenaline laced adventure story. The characters are extraordinary and well written. This is a just plain fun, exciting story that entertains as well as makes us think. Ms.Ludwig has batted in a winner and I enjoyed it a lot. I am so looking forward to book two in this series.
Elizabeth Ludwig’s “No Safe Harbor” Kindle Fire Giveaway and 12/6 Facebook Party!
Elizabeth Ludwig is celebrating her new book with a Kindle Fire Giveaway and connecting with readers at a Facebook Author Chat party on 12/6.
One winner will receive:
A Kindle Fire
No Safe Harbor by Elizabeth Ludwig
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on December 5th. Winner will be announced at the “No Safe Harbor” Author Chat Facebook Party on 12/6. Connect with Elizabeth, get a sneak peek of the next book in the Edge of Freedom series, try your hand at the trivia contest, and win some great prizes—gift certificates, books and a Book Club Prize Pack (10 copies for your book club or small group)!
So grab your copy of No Safe Harbor and join Elizabeth on the evening of the December 6th for a chance to connect with her and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the book, don’t let that stop you from coming!)
Don’t miss a moment of the fun, RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 6th!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>