Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2

Bethany House Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2

Ana Kavanagh's only memories of home are of fire and pain. As a girl she was the only survivor of a terrible blaze, and years later she still struggles with her anger at God for letting it happen.

At a nearby parish she meets and finds a kindred spirit in Eoghan Hamilton, who is struggling with his own anger--his sister, Cara, betrayed him by falling in love with one of his enemies. Cast aside by everyone, Eoghan longs to rejoin the Fenians, a shadowy organization pushing for change back in Ireland. But gaining their trust requires doing some favors--all of which seem to lead back to Ana. Who is she and who is searching for her? As dark secrets from Ana's past begin to come to light, Eoghan must choose which road to follow--and where to finally place his trust.

Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Review 1 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eoghan Hamilton has been betrayed in the worst way possible - by his own flesh and blood twin sister, Cara. The man she married is his sworn enemy and seeking to kill him, and nothing short of a miracle will convince Eoghan that Rourke Turner is a changed man and worthy of his sister. Alone in the world and steadfastly avoiding his sister despite their close proximity in New York, Eoghan has managed to keep his distance for 2 years. His budding friendship with one particular young woman named Ana threatens to destroy his anonymity, along with the hope he harbors that one day he can get Cara away from Rourke.
Having crossed the continent from Ireland to America to escape a murderous uncle, Ana knows all too well what it means to keep her distance from family. Changing her name and traveling to a new country as a young orphan was difficult, but trying to stay alive after her location is discovered is even harder. Is her uncle truly a changed man, or is he seeking to finish what he started years ago in the fire that killed her family?
It was really nice to catch up with the characters from the first book in the series, Safe Harbor. There was definitely a lot of build up from the first book, but it can be read on it's own. Ever the mystery writer, Ludwig gives us everything we want in a historical romance with a mysterious air about it. The setting is a huge part of the story, but believe me when I say you will be reading their lines with an Irish brogue! I usually don't entertain such nonsense with my storybook characters, but the author made it so clear in her writing I just couldn't help it. Whether you believe in love or not, the time, place and unforgettable characters will make you a fan.
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting climax!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked the first book in this series, and I could not wait for the library to get this book. They finally got it, and I read it. It was not as good as I thought it would be, but the climax was really exciting. Although some other parts of the book dragged a bit, the climax was worth waiting for. The end kind of left me hanging, and now I have to wait for the next book to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ludwig Does Not Disappoint

Date:October 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Elizabeth Ludwig's second book in the Edge of Freedom series, she once again brings to life characters from events that happened over a century ago.
In Dark Road Home, Ludwig brings back Cara Hamilton and her now-husband, Roarke Turner, who are searching for Cara's lost brother, Eoghan. But when Cara's friend, Ana, finds him working for a priest at a local parish, Ana keeps his secret, afraid of the danger that seeems to be lurking around Eoghan.
But little does Ana know that she is in danger herself and a part of the danger that surrounds Eoghan. Will she be able to face her own demons and find God in the midst of suffering? And will Eoghan be able to leave his past behind and accept his sister and her husband again?
I was able to review the first book in this series, and I was not disappointed by Ludwig's second. Her characters are charming and engaging; her settings are believable; and her plot makes it hard to put the book down until the end.
Above all, Ludwig seems to have a strong grasp on bringing the reader's focus back to God and strengthens her characters only when they find strength in God.
I would highly recommend this book and look forward to reading the next in the series.
*This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Danger from Cover to Cover

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dark Road Home is filled with suspense and danger from cover to cover. The main characters' stories vary in specific details, but their past and current lives are intertwined in unexpected ways. Elizabeth Ludwig has obviously done extensive historical research that gives real life to her tales of these Irish immigrants and some of the struggles they encountered before and after their move to America. In the midst of the intrigue is a beautiful story of unexpected love and renewed faith.
Like book one in her Edge of Freedom series (read my review of No Safe Harbor) Elizabeth fills the pages with mystery and questions. At times, it was hard for me to keep up with all the characters, what their roles are, and how they fit together. Pieces of the puzzle come into focus one by one and by the end of the story, many of the questions are answered. But she leaves enough suspense to make me anxious to read Tide and Tempest, due to come out next spring, for even more answers.
Thanks to Bethany House for providing this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who can be trusted in a world where even your own family could be the enemy?
Ana Kavanagh is the sole survivor of a fire that took her widowed mother and her sister from her, a priest helps her make her way to America with a new name leaving her past far behind, or so she thinks...
Ms. Ludwig has penned a riveting novel fraught with danger, and tangled loyalties. Dark Road Home brings back many of the characters from No Safe Harbor including Cara and Rourke, keeping up the momentum from the first novel in this fantastic next chapter in the saga.
Politics, conspiracy, and family secrets, all come together in this suspenseful read. I really liked getting to know Eoghan after reading so much about him in No Safe Harbor, and what his side of the story was and how it affected him. Ana was a strong young woman who had been through so much in her short life, yet it was so clear that God was with her every step of the way even when she didn't see it.
Overall, a well written story that was meticulously researched, with a rich setting that brought the story to life. Not only did this book have great plot twists but I also thought there was great character development in both Eoghan and Ana, as they both learned to put their pasts to rest. I would definitely recommend this book, especially to people who like to read about Celtic history!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Darlene Franklin
Location:Purcell, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed this book very much. Ana's courage touched my heart, and Eoghan's struggle to let go of the past was believable. I can't wait to finish this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Lovely Read

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On a bluster fall day, settle down with Elizabeth Ludwig’s Dark Road Home and a cup of Irish Breakfast tea. I predict that you will have a lovely afternoon.
The second book in the Edge of Freedom series is as satisfying as the first. This story centers on Ana, another of the Irish lasses living in the Ashberry Street boarding house that was first introduced in No Safe Harbor. Ana has tried to escape the intrigues and violence that simmered in her native Ireland, but trouble still finds her in the shape of a mysterious uncle and a love interest that both threaten the peace she so desperately seeks.
Mystery, suspense, and a love story that seems destined to end in heartbreak will keep you reading Dark Road Home. Elizabeth Ludwig creates characters you’ll wish to have as your friends and dialogue that will have you hearing the lilt of the Irish as you read.
No need to worry if you haven’t read the first book in the series, but you’ll want to after reading Dark Road Home, and you’ll eagerly await her next release.
In exchange for an honest review, Bethany House and the author provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Elizabeth Ludwig’s novels

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Elizabeth Ludwig’s novels--books filled with tension, a touch of romance, and a mystery to solve. What more could a person want? This is Book Two in the Edge of Freedom Series and it continues the story of women in Amelia Matheson’s boardinghouse.
Ana Kavanagh has a bundle of secrets and scars to hide. She lost her family in a fire that severely burned her hands and sends her in disguise to America. An uncle is trying to steal her inheritance—but she’s in the way. She becomes a pawn in a game between her uncle and The Celt.
Eoghan (pronounced Owen) Hamilton is another pawn—or maybe something more. He likes what he sees in Ana, and she becomes more precious to him than even the Fenians, that radical Irish tribe fighting for control of their homeland.
Who will win this deadly game?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intrigue and Interesting Characters

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ana Kavanaugh has settled into her life in America, far from her childhood home of Ireland. Her memories of her childhood are marred by the horrific fire that took her mother's and sister's lives and left her scarred. She was fortunate to be swept away by a loving priest, who sent her across the ocean to be given a new name and a new life. Why did she need to leave her home though? What was the fire hiding, and what was behind it? Eoghan Hamilton has been banished from Ireland, and was under suspicion of murder, which led to what he felt was betrayal by his twin sister. When Ana and Eoghan's paths cross, their lives become intertwined as she discovers he is the lost brother her friend Cara has been looking for. Can the hurts in their pasts be resolved? Can Eoghan and Ana escape the people who are out to hurt them?
Dark Road Home is the second book in the Edge of Freedom series. While I found myself wishing I had read the first book, this book was written well enough that I was able to enjoy it as a stand-alone novel. The story quickly sucked me in, as both Ana and Eoghan were trying to reconcile the pain of their past experiences with God and the church against the loving, caring people they were encountering in the church where they were both drawn into serving. Knowing that each of them had been badly hurt by people they thought loved them, their struggles with the church felt real and honest. It was not an easy thing for them to heal or trust. The ending of the book, however, was not satisfactory as a stand-alone novel; I definitely feel the need to read the third book!
This book was a fairly quick read, and I give it 3.5 stars. I think if I'd had the background of the first novel and known more about the supporting characters' backgrounds, it would have been even more enjoyable. But there was enough heart to the main characters, and enough intrigue and suspense to draw me in even without the benefit of the first book.
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Historical Romantic Suspense

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie L
Location:Winterville, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me say you have to read the first book in this series, No Safe Harbor. This book continues on with the same plot of hatred between the two warring Irish political groups in America, this time focusing on Cara Hamilton’s brother, Eoghan Hamilton and Ana Kavanagh a friend of Cara’s. Both Eoghan and Ana have things in their past they want to hide from each other. But at the same time they are drawn to each other like magnets. Eoghan has honest feelings for Ana, but he’s so involved with the Fenians, an political organization pushing for change in Ireland, that he gets involved with one of the leaders who is seeking out information on Eoghan’s brother-in-law. And he needs to get close to Ana to get information, all along he’s being used by another scoundrel who wants to find Ana and do her harm. I can’t say anymore without giving away more of the story that you need to discover for yourself. But rest assured, throughout this novel God is working in both of their lives, slowing breaking down the barriers they have put up against Him and letting them learn that God loves them, no matter what!
If you like historical novels, especially Irish immigrant-political mysteries, with some sweet romance, then you’ll be sure to like this series. If you’ve already read the first book, then hurry out and get this one! It’s a “hold-your-breath” - “don’t-see-how-they-will-get-out-of-this” type of book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and Bethany House Publishers for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This second story in the series is a great continuation of the first novel, No Safe Harbor. The two main characters in this novel are Ana Kavanagh and Eoghan Hamilton. The story is set in New York City in the 1800s. Several characters from the first novel make return appearances in this second novel.
Eoghan Hamilton wakes up after a few too many ales on the steps of a local church. The sisters and father at the church think he is homeless and offer him food, shelter and a job. Eoghan accepts, but continues to think of ways he can redeem himself in the eyes of his fellow compatriots, the Fenians. Eoghan longs to be a part of this political force again, seeking Irish homeland rule. However, the more Eoghan is asked to do, the more he begins to wonder why he is pursuing this path. He meets Ana while she is volunteering at the church and is immediately drawn to her. She slowly begins to share part of her past with him, and he wants nothing more than to protect her. Could he really find it in himself to love her? He reconciles with his twin sister, Cara, who has married his enemy. Is this reconciliation for real or is there another purpose? Can Eoghan really ever trust a Turner?
Ana Kavanagh has secrets she has shared with no one. Why is she drawn to share them with Eoghan? She has turned her back on God because He turned His back on her. She wants nothing to do with the church, but to see Eoghan; she must go to the church because that’s where he works. What else is going on in Eoghan’s life Ana wonders? Could he ever care for someone with her scarred hands and heart? As the story continues, Ana begins to look forward to going to volunteer at the church and not just to see Eoghan. Her heart slowly comes to realize that God didn’t turn His back on her, and He welcomes her back into His presence with open arms.
The characters of Eoghan and Ana are developed so well that readers can feel their emotions and thoughts. They both battle with returning to the God of their youth or relying on themselves. I think a lot of people today face a similar battle. The plot moved the story along at a good pace and set in motion the plot for a third book. I can’t wait to read that one! The book had plenty of events going on to keep the reader’s interest. I recommend both books in this series and hope you will enjoy these stories as much as I have. I’m looking forward to what will happen next in this exciting series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eoghan Hamilton has been betrayed in the worst way possible - by his own flesh and blood twin sister, Cara. The man she married is his sworn enemy and seeking to kill him, and nothing short of a miracle will convince Eoghan that Rourke Turner is a changed man and worthy of his sister. Alone in the world and steadfastly avoiding his sister despite their close proximity in New York, Eoghan has managed to keep his distance for 2 years. His budding friendship with one particular young woman named Ana threatens to destroy his anonymity, along with the hope he harbors that one day he can get Cara away from Rourke.
Having crossed the continent from Ireland to America to escape a murderous uncle, Ana knows all too well what it means to keep her distance from family. Changing her name and traveling to a new country as a young orphan was difficult, but trying to stay alive after her location is discovered is even harder. Is her uncle truly a changed man, or is he seeking to finish what he started years ago in the fire that killed her family?
It was really nice to catch up with the characters from the first book in the series, Safe Harbor. There was definitely a lot of build up from the first book, but it can be read on it's own. Ever the mystery writer, Ludwig gives us everything we want in a historical romance with a mysterious air about it. The setting is a huge part of the story, but believe me when I say you will be reading their lines with an Irish brogue! I usually don't entertain such nonsense with my storybook characters, but the author made it so clear in her writing I just couldn't help it. Whether you believe in love or not, the time, place and unforgettable characters will make you a fan.
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Historical Suspense

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, let me recommend that you read the first book in the Edge of Freedom series No Safe Harbor; in order to understand the continuing plot of hatred between the two warring factions of Irish immigrants (the Fenians and the Unionists) living in America.
The story now focuses on Cara Hamilton’s brother, Eoghan, and her friend Ana Kavanagh. Both Eoghan and Ana have secrets from their pasts that they want and need to keep hidden. Despite this need there is a strong attraction between them.
Eoghan recognizes his feelings for Ana. But his involvement with the Fenians, as well as his associations causes him to want to keep his distance. There is also the issue of one of the leaders who is seeking information about Eoghan’s brother-in-law, Rourke Turner; which causes him to get close to Ana as he seeks the needed information. What Eoghan doesn’t know is that he is being used by someone who intends to harm Ana.
There is so much more I could say, but I do not want to give anything away that will ruin the story for you; although I will add that I was so riveted to the story that I didn’t want to put it down. Now I am anxious to read the next book in the Edge of Freedom series to see how Elizabeth Ludwig concludes this series.
**Dark Road Home (Edge of Freedom #2) by Elizabeth Ludwig was provided for me free by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense plot with layers of depth!

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Summary...
Irish immigrants Ana Kavanagh and Eoghan Hamilton both vowed never to cross the threshold of a church again, but for different reasons. Beaten and bruised by the Fenians and bitter over his sister's betrayal, Eoghan wakes, gazing up at a steeple, robbed of his last coin. Father Ed offers a meal in exchange for some work around the church. Ana blames God for the fire that ravaged her home, killing her mother and sister, and leaving her an orphan far away from her home. When Ana's friend practically drags her to the church to help feed the women and children staying in the mission, Ana discovers Eoghan's identity. While Eoghan barters to get back in the good graces of the Fenians, Ana hopes to reunite Eoghan with his sister. Neither of them are aware of the rippling effect one circumstance has on the other.
My Review...
Typically, I'm not a huge history buff, but the author did a great job sparking my interest in 19th century life for Irish immigrants living in New York.
As circumstances brought Eoghan and Ana together, each had to decide whether to stay bitter or forgive. This was especially true for Eoghan. Faced with a life or death situation, he was forced to choose who to trust. Their faith journey was totally realistic and organic to the story.
What an interesting, intense plot with layers of depth! This isn't a book you'll breeze through in a couple of hours. I savored it over a few nights, soaking up the history and the author's delightful way with words. This was a new author to me, and I'll definitely be keeping abreast of future books by Elizabeth Ludwig!
To note...
I definitely recommend reading the first book in the series, No Safe Harbor, before Dark Road Home. The plot started with No Safe Harbor and continues, I suspect all the way through the third book in the series. Also, had I read No Safe Harbor first, I believe that my questions about the Fenians would have been resolved sooner.
Disclaimer: Sending a big thank you to Elizabeth Ludwig and Bethany House Publishers for providing me with an advance review copy of Dark Road Home. The opinions expressed in this review are my own, and I received no monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Darkly Mysterious and Romantic!

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Something about a dark Irish rogue and his bonny lass on the streets of New York in the 19th century, had me turning pages in bulk in not much more than one sitting.
Book two in the “Edge of Freedom” series had me as strongly captivated as the first title. Definitely a sequential series with strong and vibrant characters, I was literally sucked into the underworld of Irish mobs, cloak and dagger danger and a romance to patter the heartbeat.
Eoghan and Ana are strong characters on the page. Maybe it’s their Irish heritage. Or their determination to protect their own and their fierce devotion to what they believe to be right…it’s probably all three. Along with captivating dialogue and vivid descriptions that burn across the pages as brightly as Ana’s childhood nightmares.
I loved that I got to see into our villain’s mind - that the reader always knows he’s just around the counter, waiting, waiting…and the reader is trusted with the intelligence level of the story as much twists and writhes its way through the story making a bit of a complicated tapestry.
The story definitely isn’t over yet and I’ll be waiting with baited breath for book number three; I can’t imagine it being anything less than stellar as “Dark Road Home” has proven to be.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read!

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
LauraV
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second in a series, but stands alone well (I didn't read the first). It is the story of a girl, Ana, who flees to America to escape a terrible past. There, years later, she meets a man, Eoghan, whom she falls in love with, but her past catches up with her. Eoghan also has fled to America to escape his past. Due to their terrible pasts, they are forced to fight for their lives and experience traumatic events.
This book is a quick and easy read. Hard to put down. Very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dark Road Home, Edge of Freedom Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intrigue and Suspense

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Dark Road Home" is the exciting second novel in Elizabeth Ludwig's "Edge of Freedom" series. Ludwig takes readers back to the bustling streets of historic New York City and builds upon the plot of "No Safe Harbor." There are many characters and plot intricacies that continue from the first novel and are essential to following the continuing story. I definitely recommend reading the two novels in order. It has been several months since I read "No Safe Harbor," and I had some trouble recalling the motives of certain characters and the dynamics of several relationships (both good and bad).
An air of mystery and lurking danger wafts through the pages of "Dark Road Home" and creates an engaging plot. Most of the climatic action occurs near the end of the novel, but mysterious and threatening encounters add the right amount of suspense for my taste. Once again, Ludwig offers a well-rounded view of the plot, telling the story from the perspectives of the two main characters as well as one of the antagonists. She also incorporates tenderness and messages of faith to lighten the "dark road." Some of my favorite, more tender scenes of the novel occur at the Catholic Church's shelter where Ana and Eoghan find love, healing, and faith.
Just when a happy and peaceful ending seems imminent for Ana, Eoghan, Cara, and Rourke, Ludwig throws in a new twist that shows the danger that has been lurking since the beginning of the series is far from over. The conclusion of "Dark Road Home" gives the impression that the stakes are being raised and more lives will be on the line in book three.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House through Net Galley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.