Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Noble Groom

Bethany House A Noble Groom

Recently widowed Analisa Weiss has the feeling her husband was murdered but can't prove it. Alone with her young daughter in 1881 Michigan, she has six months left to finish raising the money needed to pay back the land contract her husband purchased, and the land is difficult to toil by herself. She needs a husband. With unmarried men scarce, her father sends a letter to his brother in the Old Country, asking him to find Analisa a groom.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 out of 6498%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Noble Groom
Review 1 for A Noble Groom
This review is fromA Noble Groom - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended Historical Fiction

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have now officially discovered a new historical fiction author (new to me, that is), and I cannot recommend her highly enough! I was enthralled with this book from the very beginning, and it just seems that I read this book so fast. So much happened, and I connected with this story in the way I like to connect with historical fiction. Indeed Jody Hedlund is the kind of author that truly makes me love historical fiction. The story is well-researched, and even though liberties are taken, she can back up her story with evidence.
But let's get past all that. Carl and Annaslisa are delightful characters that just jump off the page from the moment you are introduced to them. I never found the story sappy. I had a vague idea of how the story would end, and the author added enough realism in the story to keep it true to form. I think if a guy like Carl came into my life, I would react similarly to Annaslisa. The strength of both characters comes through, and there are some delightfully funny portions of the story as well.
The best thing is that this is a Christian book, but it is never preachy. The characters all doubt God's existence and love, but in the end, they place their simple trust in Him. You will find nothing inappropriate, and I hope that the author writes a sequel. She certainly left the book concluded but still open to another story. I would highly recommend this book to those who love historical romances. But if you don't like romance, I think you still might like this book since the romance is quite minimal (but awfully sweet!).
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful, Refreshing read..

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read each of Jody Hedlund's books, but I have to say that "A Noble Groom" is by far her best work. The story so vividly describes the struggles of immigrants. The author, as always, builds believable, relatable and endearing characters. I loved the gentle romance that budded between Annalisa and Carl. Both characters had very different views on love. There is a strong Biblical thread throughout this story, but I think the scene that won my admiration was found in Chapter 15 starting on page 253. Annalisa and Carl share their first kiss and due to dire circumstances Annalisa considers seducing Carl which under the law of the day would force Carl to marry her. Every urge in Annalisa was to succumb to fleshly desires, but because she loves God and Carl she flees the temptation. Her solution to her problems would have been easy, one sin, to seemingly "fix" everything. This situation is so relatable to our lives today. How many times do we believe that by doing one wrong, we can make good and order of our lives? When we do, the consequences are heavy, and we have taken control of our lives out of God's hands and into our own. This was the theme I detected throughout this book. Both characters struggle between doing what is right in God's eyes and doing what is easy and safe in their fleshly eyes. Thank you Jody Hedlund for writing this story, dealing with some very difficult issues (domestic abuse, emotional abuse, sexual desires) and dealing with them tastefully and most importantly, Biblically. This book has taken its place in my personal Top 10 books. It met all my expectations for a great book. So many times, Christian authors "water-down" the presence of Christianity in their books, so that the book is basically "moral" but does not challenge or convict the reader. In my opinion, the mark of a great author is to leave no doubt that the Gospel was presented and the reader takes away a new perspective in their Christian walk. Jody Hedlund nailed it all in this book. "A Noble Groom" has Bible based views on romance and the difficulties faced in this world. It also had an intriguing, unpredictable plot, filled with suspense. I strongly recommend this book and I look forward to future books by this author!
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2013
This is kind of like the mail order bride books, except with a twist. Make that a couple of twists. After Annalisa’s husband suddenly dies her father decides she needs a new husband and quickly. He takes matters into his own hands and writes a letter to a cousin to send an available male. The cousin receives the letter but sends someone else instead. The mystery man arrives just in the nick of time, but he’s got some secrets that he’s not telling.
I loved the new take on this age old tradition. Carl is such a breath of fresh air for this community. The men are very dominant and angry but Carl slowly begins to change things. It was a nice reminder that one person can make a difference.
I was struck by just how stark living conditions could be for people trying to eke out a living from the soil. No wonder tempers were short. Poverty was constantly knocking at the door. Men were designed to be providers and in this situation it is easy to see how they would feel like failures and become hardened.
The budding trust and affection between Carl and Annalisa was beautifully written. My heart broke when Carl’s secrets began to come to light. Jody Hedlund has once again put together a novel that touches on all your emotions. I think you will laugh and cry with the characters but most importantly when you close the cover for the last time you will sigh with contentment.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new twist on the 'mail order bride' story

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Noble Groom" is a new twist on the 'mail order bride' story type. Set in 1880 in Forestville, Michigan our heroine is a new widow who isn't very eager to enter into what would be her second arranged marriage. Her first husband was abusive and a gambler. Annalisa is expecting their second child, and will likely lose her farm if she doesn't get a new husband.
Annalisa's farm is part of a community consisting entirely of immigrants from Germany that are working together to make it through homesteading newly broken American ground together. As a community they decide to write to their families back in Germany to get her a husband. Annalisa is fearful that a new husband may be even worse than her last … but has long ago given up on her girlhood dreams of marrying for love.
While she waits for her prospective cousin/groom to arrive from the Old Country a young man named Carl arrives offering to help. He claims to have been a school teacher, and he knows very little about farming - but his charming and gentle ways give Annalisa new hope that all men aren't like her former husband. But do her feelings lie deeper than that for this man? And is he really a former teacher? The story is worth the read to find out!
*This book was sent to me by the publisher for review with no guarantee of a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Historical Fiction!

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In A Noble Groom, Jody Hedlund sweeps the reader away to the lush, dense wilderness of Michigan, the murky waters of Lake Huron, sawmills, and a vast array of immigrants looking to start a new life.
Annalisa, a beautiful, recently widowed German immigrant, is being harrassed by an unscrupulous landowner who wants to use her acreage for a sawmill. Determined to hold on to her farm, Annalisa agrees to her father's plan to send for one of his relatives from the Old Country to marry her.
Nobleman Carl von Reichart has been accused and convicted of a serious crime he didn't commit, and flees to Michigan in fear of his life. He secures a job on Annalisa's farm, and as the sparks begin to fly between them, terrible secrets and a groom en route from Germany stand between their blooming relationship. Where is this groom?...and will Carl's secrets alienate Annalisa's affections forever?
This is probably my fave book of Jody Hedlund's to date! With never ending excitement and suspense, loveable fleshed out characters, and an intriguing storyline, this is one not to be missed! Nicely done, Jody Hedlund!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best book I've read recently!

Date:June 26, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life as a German immigrant is hard, but when Annalisa Werner's husband dies, she is left to contend with the man who wants her land, the rigors of a struggling farm, the responsibility of raising her daughter and the preparations for her unborn child. Her father arranges for a distant cousin to marry Annalisa and take over the farm. Love is not needed. Carl Richards lived an easy life as a nobleman's son until he was falsely accused of murder. He travels to America as a fugitive and finds shelter and food as hired help for Annalisa. Their views on love and marriage are as different as their past lives. As Carl and Annalisa work together to grow a harvest to save her farm, they both find that they have much to learn about love. Can this relationship survive the revelation of Carl's past and the arrival of Annalisa's groom? Read more in A Noble Groom by Jody Hedlund.
A Noble Groom is the first book I've read by Jody Hedlund and I'll definitely be on the lookout for her books in the future. I love it when I'm surprised by a book. I expected a romance with a medium-level of tension. The progressively playful banter and spark of attraction made for a sweet blossoming of love that maintained my interest throughout the book. However, quite unexpectedly, I found high drama interlaced with healing and growth. This marvelous combination was an excellent complement to the story line. I confidently recommend A Noble Groom to any fan of Christian romance.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ms. Hedlund at her finest!

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this amazing story by Jody Hedlund we find ourselves being carried away to 1880 Forestville, Michigan. There we are introduced to a Community of hardworking German Immigrants who have come over from Saxony Germany. Leaving behind a life of working for the evil Baron von Reichart whom they blame for the loss of a loved one.
Annalisa Werner finds her husband dead in one of their fields and she fears someone has murdered him but truth be known she doesn’t really care that he’s dead since he was so mean. Annalisa doesn’t want to loose her land and she knows she can’t work it by herself so she knows she has to have a husband. If only Annalisa could have a choice in the matter, she does not want to be in a loveless marriage again.
Carl von Reichart aka Carl Richards, only son of the Baron, has never had to work hard for his allowance from his father. He was able to go to the best Universities in England to learn to be a scientist. When he is framed for murder and sentenced to die, he prays that God will deliver him and to his amazement his father sends a servant to help him escape to America. The servant has gotten a request to find a suitable husband for a young widow in America, he sends Carl with a letter explaining that his nephew will be coming soon and in the meanwhile Carl will be helping Annalisa around the farm. The letter left out one important fact…Carl is the son of their sworn enemy, Baron von Reichart.
When Carl meets Annalisa he is determined he is going to do whatever he can to help her, and the more time he spends with her and her little girl the more he dreams of what a life with them would be like. When Annalisa’s groom doesn’t show up when expected it seems maybe Carl’s dream will come true. Will Carl have to watch his dream die when the truth of who he really is comes to light?
Ms. Hedlund is a terrific writer and it really shows in this great story. From the very beginning I found myself running the gamut of emotions, sadness that during this time women had no say in who they married. Happy when it seems that things would work out for her and Carl and then fear for what almost happened at the end. This truly was a satisfying read! I can’t wait to see what comes next from Jody Hedlund’s magical pen.
***Thanks to Bethany House Publishers and Net Galley for supplying a copy of this in exchange for my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fish out of water meets Cinderella

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are certain themes in writing that I am just always drawn to again and again. It’s familiar and yet interesting and the author brings their own spin to the situation. In A Noble Groom by Jody Hedlund our familiar themes are “the fish out of water” theme, (which I always happen to love) as well as the ill treated damsel in distress (perhaps a little Cinderella here). When you combine the two- you have Carl Richards (fish out of water) meeting up with new widow and mother Annalisa (Cinderella) and the two together give you a great story filled with humor, poignancy, much growth and self-discovery for both characters and of course a bit of romance (Cinderella, remember?) thrown in for good measure.
I have to say that Carl is just a generally lovable character. He isn’t quite who he seems to be, but shows up at just the right time to help poor widow Annalisa Werner to help her work her farm in Forestville, MIchigan to pay off her land debt or she will quite literally “lose the farm”. Carl is running from a complicated situation from his home country of Germany and seeks sanctuary from the troubles at home, as well as a job. It turns out that he is the worst farmer in the history of the world, little strength, no know-how and unaccustomed to long work hours, but he somehow manages to hang in there and learn how to help on the farm and in turn help out Annalisa. She is a new widow whose now deceased husband wasn’t the best guy around and so she is unused to being around a man such as Carl. Carl is thoughtful and kind and cares about her welfare as well as her thoughts and opinions on things. The tough situation here is that Annalisa needs a new husband to run the farm and one has been arranged for her, by her father through relatives in her homeland of Germany, but this likely groom has been detained, indefinitely. And so while she waits for his arrival, she can’t help but draw closer to Carl. as she watches him tend to things on the farm, laugh at himself when he constantly makes mistakes and lovingly watch out for her daughter Gretchen. I mean what woman wouldn’t fall for him? But the dark cloud hanging over them was that any day “the groom” would be showing up sending Carl on his way.
I have to say this was “that book” for me where I found myself in every last free moment running to, so that I could finish it. The characters were characters that you cared about and really were wishing the best for. Jody Hedlund did a wonderful job in slowly opening up the character of Annalisa as she was a bit closed off and downtrodden at the beginning of the story with her financial difficulties and being under her father’s thumb, etc. But as the character of Carl works his magic with his kind ways and loving nature she truly becomes stronger and more open and loving. It was really neat to see that progression. Carl exemplified that person that we all should be- someone who is able to laugh at themselves when they make mistakes, someone who looks out for the interests of others and someone who learned about what it was truly like to walk a mile in someone else’s shoes. He gained understanding and a deeper faith in God through his experiences on the farm.
I really recommend this books for those who love a great historical fiction Christian romance. You will love the characters, how they grow from the hardships they face and how they trust God through all of it. I hope to see this book make many awards lists in the future! Great read!
I was graciously given a copy of this book by Bethany House publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed ar my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun story of German immigrant's life in Michigan

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first saw the cover of A Noble Groom and read the description I wanted to read this book. But the cover is a bit misleading. Carl von Reichert is the one pictured and he never looks remotely close to being that spiffy in America. He arrives with travel worn clothes and lice. I still liked it though.
I enjoyed this story but was expecting a slightly different slant considering the cover. Karl is a good book hero: he works hard, is kind and considerate, perseveres, willing to learn – even “menial” tasks (at least tasks one would expect a nobleman to view as menial). But it was easy to believe his work ethic and non-snobbishness since he was rescued from certain death and given a new chance at life.
There were a few plot twists I wasn’t expecting and I still haven’t decided if I like one of them. But I did really like getting a glimpse of the life of German immigrants in Michigan and the difficulties they faced. The author’s historical note at the end was very informative.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Noble Groom by Jody Hedlund is a wonderful historical romance novel that is set in Michigan and takes place from 1880 to 1881. Annalisa Werner is a recent widow with a young daughter and another baby on the way. She feels that her husband was murdered but she cannot prove it. She cannot take care of the farm alone so she agreed to let her father write to his brother in Germany asking him to send a man to America to be her husband. Carl Richards, a nobleman in disguise, arrived at the farm after fleeing England where he was accused of a murder that he did not commit. Many thought he was the groom and were set for a wedding but being a Christian and an honest man, he told them that he was not the anticipated groom. He knew absolutely nothing about farming or any kind of manual work but he agreed to help Annalisa until her groom would arrive. Annalisa’s late husband was cruel and unloving and she thought that was the norm and did not expect to have a happily ever after marriage. As can be expected, Carl and Annalisa began to care for each other but she had a groom coming and he wanted to leave the farm and go to Chicago to teach.
The author did a great job in developing all elements of the story. The characters came alive on the pages of the book and the plot had several twists and turns that provided a good deal of suspense. The dialogue had German words scattered throughout the book and it is very evident that the author did a great deal of research before writing this story. Not only was I entertained by the reading of a very good story but I also learned some history at the same time. I was very impressed with the way the author showed exactly how hard life was for the German immigrants in the late nineteenth century. Her development of Carl’s character added so much to the book with one example being how his strong beliefs in God helped Annalisa regain her faith. She kept the suspense going through the entire book with destructive fires, childbirth, lice, murder, Carl’s fear of his identify being revealed, attempted extortion, lack of rain, and waiting for a groom to arrive. I thoroughly enjoyed the descriptions of some of Carl’s “inventions” that made life and work easier for Annalisa.
I highly recommend this book to everyone who enjoys a well written and heart warming historical book that also shows God’s love and forgiveness throughout the story.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to give a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful, Spell-Binding Tale!

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jody Hedlund has once again woven a spell-binding tale that left me breathless as I eagerly turned each page. I have loved each one of Jody Hedlund’s books equally and it’s hard to choose a favorite, but A Noble Groom is definitely near the top of my “All-Time Favorites” list.
I was entranced right from the start as we find Annalisa, who has been recently widowed. With a daughter and another child on the way, Annalisa needs help in order to run her farm in Michigan. Her father sends to their home country – Germany – for a suitable man to become Annalisa’s husband and help her run her farm.
While waiting for her “mail-order groom,” another German man by the name of Carl comes to their community. Carl finds himself helping Annalisa while she waits for her groom, and while he struggles with the chores, he finds himself wanting to prove to Annalisa that he is able to do what is required.
I loved this cast of characters and they easily found their way into my heart. As a Michigander, I am eager to read books that are written about my state, and this one had a lot of interesting history to go along with the fantastic story. I enjoyed learning more about the German immigrants in the state of Michigan, as well as some of the difficulties in farming in the 1800’s.
This book had a great mixture of love, struggles, mystery, and adventure. There were several events that left me wondering how things would ever get figured out. There were moments that took my breath away. There were moments that pulled my heart strings. Overall, I loved each page of this book and was only disappointed when it ended and there was no more to read.
Do yourself a favor and go read this book!
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions stated are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far from Germany soil Annalisa Werner, her husband Hans and daughter Gretchen settle in America. When Hans is found dead it is decided that Annalisa must have a new husband. Her land is of great value to others and there are some who would go to great lengths to obtain it.
Disguised, on a mission and looking for an escape Carl refuses to marry a girl without love.
Uri takes care of that which is entrusted to him and is wary of anything and anyone.
At a time when nobility captures the heart of its readers, bringing with it a story that has many charming elements. Romance, faith, hope, hardship and love come together promising an extremely hard to put down read that captured my attention from the beginning and held it until the end. Twists that were unexpected glazed the progressive storyline, dialogue was easy to follow, characters were well developed and very likeable, I really connected with Carl's character whom was down to earth, and scenery was authentic. I was entertained by this well written and faith challenging book and will recommend A Noble Groom to others! I received a complimentary copy from Bethany House Publishers for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really enjoyed the character development

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmichaels
Location:Washington State
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the beginning of the book, Annalisa is going to confront her husband about stealing money from her jar to pay off the property in order to support his gambling habit, but she is worried about how he will respond. She doesn't think it will help to say anything, but she is willing to risk it to provide for her daughter. In her culture, women and girls are worth about as much as cattle and she knows very few women who are treated well or who actually like their spouses. When she finds her husband dead, culture being what it is, she is at the mercy of her father. While her father does love her, for a girl, he doesn't take into account what she wants, only that she needs a new husband and he writes his brother requesting a man come to marry Annalisa. Annalisa meekly accepts her fate and is willing to be obedient and marry a complete stranger.
Enter Carl, who has narrowly escaped an execution for a crime he didn't commit. His servant sends him to his brother, not as the requested groom, but as someone who needs a place to stay for a bit. Carl agrees to help Annalisa with her planting and her farm until her groom arrives. As a nobleman, he is not used to hard labor and helping Annalisa makes him re-evaluate his father's beliefs of nobility, and he works hard to help Annalisa even though he is inept at the beginning.
Carl is nothing like anyone Annalisa has ever met before. He is kind, whimsical, laughs, and plays with her daughter. Annalisa begins to re-think a daughter's role and to become her own woman with thoughts and desires of her own.
I really enjoyed seeing the growth in both characters and the story was very well written. I especially liked that Annalisa finds her backbone even though culture dictates that she accept whatever she is told to do. This was a very enjoyable book!
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House. The content of the review is entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Noble Groom

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed Jody's newest book about German immigrants trying make a new life in Michigan in the 1880's. Freedom to own land through their own hard work was extremely important to these new Americans, since their hard work was to the nobility's benefit back in Germany. The chance to change the old system was why so many parents sacrificed to bring their families to America.
I liked Annalisa and Carl very much. Annalisa's growth as she becomes self-confident was particularly touching. Carl grew from an arrogant man into a humble one, no better than his neighbors, and learned to face the consequences of his choices.
With thanks to Bethany House Publishers for my free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Read!!!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Hayden, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying I can tell how time and research Jody Hedlund put into this story. I started the book knowing next to nothing about German immigrants in Michigan during this time period and the author did a wonderful job of informing without taking away from the beautiful story. This was my first read by this author and now I cannot wait to dive into her previous three novels.
A Noble Groom is the story of Annalisa Werner, a young widow with a lot on her plate and Carl von Reichert, an entitled nobleman with secrets to keep. When her husband is found murdered, Annalisa is left with a infant daughter to raise, crops to be planted and a short amount of time to pay off the large loan on her farmland. Carl is sent by her uncle to help keep the farm afloat while hiding from false murder charges.
To say Carl is unused to manual labor would be an understatement! He starts the novel with a great deal of pride in his status and feels as though farm work and these people are beneath him but, he grows so much during his time with Annalisa.
Annalisa has always been meek and obedient, everything she thinks a woman ought to be. She may tell her daughter plenty of fairytales but she’s given up on real love. Carl’s views on women and his treatment of her and her daughters are completely different from anything she’s ever known. She grows a great deal as a character as well and eventually finds the strength to stand up for herself and open herself up to love.
This is an absolute must read and just may find itself on my best reads of 2013 list!
*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprised

Date:May 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first read by author Jody Hedlund. I was very impressed with her writing. Her historical references were amazing. I loved the relationship that was built between all the characters.
I also loved how she didn't sugar coat things either. Sometimes in historical fiction the author forgets what the real struggles were of the time. Jody didn't. She had a well written story with characters that struggled with their own issues as well as growing from those same issues.
I look forward to going back and reading other books by Hedlund as well as reading her future ones.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A picture of what Christ does for us

Date:May 19, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I've ever read by Jody Hedlund and I have to say I think I have found another author I want to see more from.
As I reflected on this book I realized what Carl does (become a peasant when he truly is a nobleman) and helps Annalisa is a perfect picture of what Jesus did for us. Carl defends Annalisa from her enemies, as Christ does for us.
Christ humbled himself so we can become His, His bride, his treasured possession.
Unlike Christ, Carl didn't want to humble himself and he didn't even want to fall in love but God used what was intended to harm Carl and Annalisa for both of their good and for God's ultimate glory (Genesis 5020).
I also think that Annalisa's attitude toward marriage is still believed today in too many marriages. We think this is the best it will ever get and marriage can't be some exciting, romantic adventure, but those are lies. Marriage is a symbol of our relationship with Christ, which should be exciting, and full of wonderful adventures.
If you are looking for a new historical romance I recommend this book.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Strong Heroine

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Not every group that came to the New World wanted an all-new life – many just wanted to escape tyranny and to possess their own land. A Noble Groom tells the story of a group of German immigrants who settled on former forest land in Michigan. Previously miners and new to farming, these hardworking people had to clear the land of stumps and learn how to become farmers. It was a difficult life and everyone knew that when Annalisa’s husband died, she’d need another husband or she would lose the farm they’d worked hard to develop. Her father wrote to his brother back in the Old Country to send a young man who could become Annalisa’s groom. When Carl Richards turns up, he’s not there to marry Annalisa; he’s a man in hiding and he doesn’t dare reveal his true identity or his life would be endangered. He agrees to help Annalisa on the farm until the real groom has earned the money for the trip.
A Noble Groom paints a clear picture of a group of people struggling to survive. Although they faithfully went to church and had a good example of Christian living before them in the Pastor and his wife, the love of Christ had not changed the lives of these people. They came to America seeking freedom but their hearts were still on bondage. I appreciated the courageous spirit of Annalisa, and the kindness of her noble handyman, who demonstrated Christ’s love in his actions and manner, even if he was living a lie. The story of how events played out was an interesting and engrossing story, with a unexpected ending.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Harsh conditions create tender affection

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Svlemommy
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. Like any Christian romance novel, you can figure out what's going to happen pretty easily, but this one is still fun to read.
The story is centered around a family of German immigrants and a daughter, Annalisa, whose husband dies suddenly. She has to save her farm and to do this she needs a husband. Her dad "orders" her one from his brother in Germany. However, a man shows up with a note saying that he's there to "fill in" until the real groom can raise enough money to make the voyage.
The conditions in the family were harsh. Women didn't eat with the men. Women didn't do anything their husband or father didn't say was okay. People looked the other way with abuses. I have a hard time with believing a father wouldn't stand up for his daughter. Then again, I am not a German immigrant in the 1880s so I don't know what conditions were really like back then.
The love story is sweet and gut wrenching at the same time. The description hints that Carl is hiding something and I honestly kept expecting it to surface at any minute.
Annalisa fights not only nature but a ruthless businessman to save her farm and family. She is a strong woman and it was good to see her soften as the book went on.
I received a copy of the book from Bethany House for the purpose of this review. No additional compensation has been received and I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Noble Groom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good first impression

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first book by Jody Hedlund. I really enjoyed the book. I liked the characters and was interested in their story. It was a great illustrations of immigrant's lives in America during that time period. I did think the book was a little slow paced. Although there was some drama, it wasn't exactly a book that I had to stay up all night reading. The book was a little cookie cutter historical Christian romance, but it had its own little twist that made it interesting. I also liked the way the author included God because it was done in a way where the book wasn't too preachy. There was still some passion between the characters, but it was done in a clean way. Because I was able to put the book down I gave it only 4 stars. It was still good, but it will not be one of my favorites. I would definitely purchase another book by the author. As my review title states, it was a good first impression of the author.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.