Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Rebellious Heart

Bethany House Rebellious Heart

In 1763 Massachusetts, Susanna Smith has grown up with everything she's ever wanted, except one thing: an education. Because she's a female, higher learning has been closed to her, but her quick mind and quicker tongue never back down from a challenge. She's determined to put her status to good use,reaching out to the poor and deprived. And she knows when she marries well, she will be able to continue her work with the less fortunate.

Ben Ross grew up a farmer's son and has nothing to his name but his Harvard education. A poor country lawyer, he doesn't see how he'll be able to fulfill his promise to make his father proud of him. When family friends introduce him to the Smith family, he's drawn to quick-witted Susanna but knows herfamily expects her to marry well. When Susanna's decision to help an innocent woman no matter the cost crosses with Ben's growing disillusionment with their British rulers, the two find themselves bound together in what quickly becomes a very dangerous fight for justice.

Average Customer Rating:
4.589 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
54 out of 5696%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rebellious Heart
Review 1 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too Intense

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mrs. White
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is historic fiction, based in Massachusetts in the year 1763. It is loosely based on the life of Abigail and John Adams. I have to say, as I began reading the book, it was very intense. It was too intense and I couldn't continue. The court scene was a bit graphic and scary for me. It was overwhelming. Jody does an excellent job writing, but the details in the story made it impossible for me to read the entire book.
* Disclosure - I received this item for review purposes.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and romantic

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fabulous book that is rich in historical detail, compelling characters, suspense and romance! The emotions of the characters were portrayed in a way that made it easy to connect with them and their struggles, and I loved that Susanna and Ben brought out the best in each other. Susanna was facing dilemmas on several fronts- her relationship with her mother, political controversies, sacrificing love for wealth, law versus compassion, and the undeniable chemistry she has with Ben. The mystery of the murdered young women adds an element of suspense that kept me reading straight through until I was done. It was satisfying to see Susanna's perspectives and opinions develop as her eyes are opened up to the world outside her household and her discovery that making the right choice doesn't always have easy consequences, but it is worth it. I'm looking forward to reading more by the author!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
alishajoy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing for review. Oh, my gosh!!! This book was SO good. I started reading it & it took me a while to get into it, but once I did there was no going back! This book will make you feel so many emotions at one time & I have to commend the author for being able to take something that was set in the 1700′s and make it very interesting & intriguing. I loved all the characters & even the conflict that each character went through. I can’t say enough how much I loved this book!! It was so good and I recommend anyone who’s into romance, historical fiction, or suspense to pick this book up!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2013
Susanna Smith and Benjamin Ross both seek an advantageous marriage to improve their station in life. Susanna comes from a financially comfortable family, but was denied access to higher learning. She's determined to marry well so that she can maintain her school for girls. Ben is a good lawyer, but his humble background has always deprived him of the respect that his actions merited. A wealthy wife would propel him into the world of the elite and open opportunities that would otherwise be closed. When Susanna helps a runaway slave, she finds herself turning to Ben for advice and protection. Yet, he is far from safe. Many Colonists resent the British and Ben's ideas seem almost rebellious. Will Susanna and Ben obtain desirable matches? Or will they find a love worth more than aspirations?
Rebellious Heart by Jody Hedlund is a stand-alone novel of drama and romance. I loved that this book was based on a real-life couple from Colonial times. The storyline hooked me from the beginning and carried my interest throughout the book. Ben and Susanna both underwent deep character development, but the plot never stagnated as they dealt with their issues. Overall, Rebellious Heart was a great read. I was slightly disappointed with the ending. While it was sweet, I felt it left certain things unresolved. I'll definitely keep the book and read it again. However, some readers may find the lack of complete resolution off-putting.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rebellious Heart hits the mark

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is that it was a good thing that I read Rebellious Heart by Jody Hedlund while I was on vacation sitting by pool because it afforded me time to keep my pages turning with little interruption. In usual “Jody Hedlund style” we are given a wonderful Historical Fiction novel inspired by the courtship of John (2nd president)and Abigail Adams. She creates two characters that mirror a lot of the same situations that John and Abigail faced- parental disapproval, the Colonial time frame, etc. As always with Jody Hedlund books we get strong characters, an interesting storyline as well as some pretty exciting moments along the way.
Susanna Smith is a smart and well bred young woman whose been raised to understand that she need to make a profitable connection when it comes to marriage. And so when she first meets Benjamin Ross as a young girl she informs him that he is a “nobody, a Farmer and a shoemaker’s son and she would never marry anyone that is from the middling class, her mother wouldn’t allow it.” Thus sets the stage for Benjamin Ross ,years later, a poor country lawyer when he meets up with Susanna again. HIs thoughts of her are that she is still a snobby rich girl thinking herself above everyone. But as Benjamin gets to know Susanna a bit better by happening upon her at a party, he finds her socked away in a room “reading Milton”. He slowly comes to see that Susanna has grown up a bit since he’s seen her last and not only is she a beautiful woman, but she’s smart and kind as well, with a bit of gumption thrown in . Susanna’s heart is huge and she ends up getting involved in helping a runaway indentured servant escape a very cruel master. There is much danger involved with this situation as of course it is illegal to harbor an indentured servant. Susanna gets in a bit over her head and Ben comes to her rescue more than once. As he helps her escape one bad situation after another their relationship as well as their understanding and respect for each other just continues to grow.
I have to say that I really enjoyed this book. It was nice to read a book in this time frame, just pre-revolutionary war as I haven't read many historical fiction that have been written during that time. The characters were interesting and compelling and when I realized, after I finished the book, that it was loosely based on the courtship of the real couple - John and Abigail Adams -that made it even more captivating for me. I think that those that enjoy a great and well researched historical christian novel with engaging characters, some twists and turns and a stand up and cheer ending, will definitely enjoy this one, please pick up Rebellious Heart- great read!
5 stars
I was given a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Colonial historical romance

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The love story of John and Abigail Adams, so I was thrilled to discover after reading a few pages that this book is a fictional retelling. The author cares deeply about the history and clearly states what is true and where she had to guess. Rebellious Heart is an engaging tale of Susanna Smith's struggle to become her own person. Society has rigid rules that she's always abided by...but now some of them don't fit as well as they used to fit. Add in a lawyer who seems to only spar with her and murders that have the community and region on edge, and this is a rich story set against the Colonial backdrop. A wonderful read for historical fiction fans who love a strong taste of real history in their novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific!

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When poor lawyer Benjamin Ross finds Susanna in a the library reading, during a party he can't help but be impressed at her intelligence, even though he remembers her as a stuck up rich girl. He soon finds that she is a smart woman, with a heart for the less fortunate who runs a school for the daughters of widows.
Though at first they seem an unlikely team, Ben and Susanna come to admire and respect the other as they work together to prove a man everyone believes to be guilty, and innocent man.
Both Susanna and Ben are strong, compassionate, and God-fearing. They both are well developed and admirable characters. Susanna was more concerned about what she could do to help others, than other people thought of her. Ben was an honorable man with a keen mind, who was willing to listen to counsel from the mentors in his life.
This book had so much going on, full of mystery, suspense, and drama. The dialogue between Susanna and Ben was one of my favorite things because it was so natural and showed rather than told the slow but steady growth of their relationship. I also loved how they wrote letters to each other with code names.
The setting was well researched, and I felt that this book did a great job of showing the social and political tensions leading up to the Revolutionary War.
Overall this was a terrific novel, in which the historical setting was brought to live before my eyes. Furthermore, Ben and Susanna were definitely the kind of heroes that I could cheer for, totally worth knowing and emulating. A wonderful book that celebrates the faith, courage, and intelligence that this country was founded on.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional read

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly, I'm running out of superlatives for all the topline historicals coming out in the Christian market this year. I'm speechless -- nearly :-)
Once again, Hedlund's stunning portrayal of volatile time in American history left me feeling as if I'd lived each minute right along with the heroine. This author has the incredible ability to take her readers into the past and she makes that journey a fascinating one. Especially for this Canadian who has to admit that our Empire Loyalists who settled parts of Ontario and Nova Scotia were considered enemies of the Americans and fled the states. History is all about perspective, isn't it?
One of the most striking aspects of this book is Susanna's struggle with her core beliefs of basic values. In the beginning of the book she is almost childlike in her simplistic 'black and white' viewpoints. Ben challenges her to think beyond the constraints of the time and watching her wrestle with issues like loyalty and justice really made this read an exceptional one for me.
And oh,, the romance! I'm amazed I don't have scalded fingertips from smoldering pages. Toe-curling doesn't begin to describe it! Add in a sinister villain and some breath-taking suspense and you've got an exceptional read that shouldn't be missed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling and enjoyable historical romance

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Rebellious Heart is a stand-alone novel by one of my favorite authors, Jody Hedlund. Set in the Boston area prior to the American Revolution, this captivating story is inspired by one of history's most famous couples, John and Abigail Adams, the second U.S. President and his First Lady.
When it comes to historical fiction, Jody Hedlund is among the best. Rebellious Heart grabbed my attention from the first sentence - "He's guilty of murder!" - and it isn't long before Jody takes the reader on a wild ride from one riveting scene after another. So many elements combine to make this a fascinating read.
Outstanding characterization -- Ben and Susanna are charismatic lead characters, and there's a strong cast of supporting characters as well. Ben Ross is a poor country lawyer, secretly involved in sedition against oppressive British laws. He fights against injustice "to give the downtrodden, like himself, a fair chance in a world in which those with the most power and wealth made the rules" . . . and he thinks he needs a wife with the right connections and social standing in order to increase his prestige.
Susanna Smith, the witty and intelligent daughter of a wealthy parish minister, yearns for the kind of education denied to women at the time and feels she also has to marry well in order to achieve her goals. It is great to watch Susanna grow from the young child who told Ben, "I could never marry you. . . . You're a nobody" to a courageous woman who wasn't afraid of doing what was right in the face of injustice.
Fast-moving narrative -- There's not much time for a deep breath because Jody keeps the action flowing with the extreme cruelty of British Lieutenant Wolfe and his efforts to expose the molasses smuggling operation . . . to secret passageways, hidden tunnels and nighttime flights of escape.
Romantic tension -- Oh yes! I want to save the element of surprise about the scene between Ben and Susanna in Arnold Tavern when Lieutenant Wolfe walks in, but it's worthy of rereading a few times. And then there's the scene where Ben measures Susanna's foot so his father can make new boots . . .
Ethical issues -- I thought the book's cover a little unusual at first, but then realized that it beautifully depicts an unsettled Susanna as the political situation in Colonial America causes her to wrestle with a belief ingrained from childhood, that of giving unquestioned obedience to those in authority over her. Compelled to help Dotty, an abused servant fleeing for her life, it comes down to a matter of justice vs. mercy. "Perhaps this very situation was beginning to happen between the colonies and Great Britain. They were indeed living under the authority of someone who could perpetuate abuse without recourse."
Historical detail -- The Colonial setting of the Boston area, Braintree and Weymouth is vividly conveyed, and Jody doesn't hold back on the realism of the times. The fact that Ben and Susanna were inspired by John and Abigail Adams created much interest and made me want to read more about them. It was fun to imagine what their courtship might have been like, and I loved their witty sparring. Jody provides an Author's Note at the conclusion which gives much interesting detail.
The narrative ends with these encouraging words spoken by Susanna's Mother: "You will never be content living an ordinary life. I believe you were born to do greater things. . . . You will do those great things beside a great man."
Rebellious Heart is a compelling and thoroughly enjoyable novel, one that I highly recommend.
This book was provided by Jody Hedlund in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good historical fiction!

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rebellious Heart was a good book. I liked the main characters, and the plot was even a little exciting. The climax was dramatic. The only problem was that it could have been a little less romantic, but I guess that is why it is called historical romance.
An interesting thing is that the story is based on the life of John and Abigail Adams. All of the stories I have read by Jody Hedlund have been based of actual historical events and people. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an excellent story! I have read all of Jody Hedlund’s other books and have found them immensely enjoyable. This one is no exception. This story takes place in Massachusetts in the year 1763. It is a fictional tale showing what the early years of courtship and romance might have been like for John and Abigail Adams, the future President of the United States and his first lady.
Ben Ross (John Adams) is a young lawyer, who has returned home to start his law practice. He has grown up the son of a poor farmer, but aspires to much more. He wants a good reputation and social status and has decided he will marry a woman who has both, along with wealth, to gain a foothold in society so as to launch and then expand his law practice. He renews his acquaintance with Susanna Smith (Abigail) due to his best friend’s romantic interest in Susanna’s sister, Mary. Ben and Susanna are together often to act as chaperones for the couple. Ben also has realized the price of being British subjects has come at too high a cost. He resents how the colonists are treated by the Crown and has begun to do something about it. However, the more time he spends with Susanna, the more he begins to admire her keen mind, compassion and pertness. Ben knows Susanna would never agree to a courtship between them because she has been groomed by her mother to make a good match, and Ben doesn’t have the social standing or the wealth to be considered such. Can Ben really capture her heart?
Susanna Smith comes across a runaway girl hiding in the orchard. She soon befriends the runaway, but at what cost? She entreats Ben to help her find legal recourse for the young woman. Soon Ben and Susanna have the local British soldiers breathing down their neck, trying to find this runaway girl. She is an indentured servant and has escaped with time left to be served on her contract. Harboring a runaway indentured servant has severe penalties for both the discovered servant and the concealer. Susanna begins to see Ben as courageous, brave and intelligent. She wants a future with him, but knows her mother won’t approve. Susanna also begins to doubt her blind loyalty to the Crown and sees the rebellious colonists in a new light. Will she be brave enough to do the right thing in God’s eyes even if it is against the law of man?
“He’s guilty of murder.” This is the first sentence of the book and once you start reading, you won’t be able to put this book down. I just love how Jody recreates fictional accounts of historical figures’ lives and how they might have been lived. She imbues her characters with real thoughts and emotions that just jump off the page they seem so real. I really enjoy the Author’s Note she includes at the end of the story where she tells of her research and what events and characters in her fictional story actually took place and what some of their thoughts were in real life. She has a talent I find fascinating, and she definitely has the God-given gift of storytelling. You don’t want to miss reading this great book! I highly recommend it. I can’t wait to see who Jody writes about next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable characters

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I so enjoyed this story and especially the two main characters of Susanna and Ben! The author did an excellent job of making them have character and heart. Susanna is written as a strong woman with determination. The character of Ben is also written very well. You cheer for him as he struggles with his priorities and making a living for himself. When the two of them begin working together for a cause the conversations and interactions between them are excellent and such fun to read. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction and stories with strong female characters. I loved the book and look forward to reading it again!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Rebellious Heart by Jody Hedlund is an exciting novel, transporting the reader to 1763 in Braintree, Massachusetts. I had a difficult time putting down this meaty novel and searched for opportunity to be captured by its pages. If you enjoy historical fiction laced with romance, you will want to read this book by the same author of The Preacher's Bride, A Noble Groom, and The Doctor's Lady.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Stunning Tale, Rich in Detail and Passion

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently read Rebellious Heart, by Jody Hedlund. From the first scene in a New England Courthouse in 1763, I was completely captivated by the characters. I couldn't read fast enough. I truly felt like I was standing alongside Ben Ross and Susanna Smith as they walked through their passionate, though perilous, adventure.
I loved watching Jody weave this tale. Many times I stopped and marveled at how she brought in certain elements to deepen the story, add character sympathy, and transform Ben and Susanna--not to mention other key players. Her storytelling caused me to dig deeper into my own current work-in-progress and look for ways I can strengthen it--which, to any writer, is the true test of a story.
There wasn't a dull scene or unimportant conversation in Rebellious Heart. My eyes slid across the words without tripping and I don't even remember turning a page! I even used up my own precious writing time to keep reading. This is a fantastic story--definitely on my top ten list of all time.
Jody is fast becoming one of my favorite, must-read authors. My only disappointment is that the rest of the day is stretching before me and I'm done with Susanna and Ben's story. Now I need to clean my house and think about what's for dinner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspenseful, romantic, and fascinating!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
JillKemerer
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every time I read a book by Jody Hedlund I say, "That was the best one yet." Rebellious Heart is no exception!! I loved this book!
Set in colonial America, the story follows Susanna Smith and Ben Ross as they work together to help an escaped indentured servant. Both have compelling reasons for marrying into wealth, thus keeping them from marrying each other. I think this was Ms. Hedlund's most romantic book to date!
The fall setting, suspenseful theme, and fascinating historical details all added up to a perfect read for me! I can't wait to read her next one!
(I was given an advanced reader copy of this book with no obligation to review it. All opinions are my own--and I loved it!!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book from Jody Hedlund

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mixed Nutts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susanna Smith was raised to be obedient and merciful. Unfortunately, her personality doesn’t lend itself to proper obedience and acceptable mercy. When she finds herself needing to choose between obedience to not only her parents, but her king, and helping a runaway abused indentured servant, Susanna chooses to follow mercy.
In the process of sheltering Dotty, Susanna seeks the legal aid of Benjamin Ross, a local lawyer of poor beginnings. Ben is a passionate man who seeks freedom and justice for even the most down-trodden in society. Having been judged his whole life because of his family’s social standing, rather than their achievements and faith, Ben carries a chip on his shoulder toward the wealthy Susanna. Much to his chagrin, he also carries a great attraction to not only her physical beauty, but also her quick mind and generous heart.
Tough decisions and tougher consequences are faced in Jody Hedlund‘s newest book, Rebellious Heart, published by Bethany House. Once again, Jody has pulled from the pages of history and fictionalized a great couple from our past. In this case, John and Abigail Adams.
One of the things I most appreciate about Jody’s writings, and Rebellious Heart is no exception, is her ability to explore deep subjects while weaving a beautiful, romantic tale with fully developed characters. I always find myself thinking of the issues brought up in her stories as I close the last page, but I never feel preached at.
Of course, I can’t let this review go by without mentioning the innocent sensuality found in Rebellious Heart. From foot measurements to stolen moments in a closet, the physical attraction between Ben and Susanna parallels and augments their growing emotional relationship. I appreciate that more than a passing nod is given to the physical side of the developing love and the fact that the two stay innocent within that deepening attraction.
I give Rebellious Heart five stars.
I received Rebellious Heart from Bethany House Publishers at no cost in return for an honest review. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Great Story by Hedlund

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen Lange
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Hedlund's books have it all - action, intrigue, history, and a bit of romance. Rebellious Heart is no exception. It immerses the reader into life in Colonial America, and addresses tough issues related to indentured servants and the political unrest simmering above and beneath the surface.
Rebellious Heart is loosely based the courtship between John and Abigail Adams. While the details were fabricated, I found this to be an interesting take on our nation's history. A story of this nature, while subject to the author's imagination, brings the past alive in an intriguing way.
This book was engaging from beginning to end. I enjoyed getting to know the characters whose struggles were not so different from our own. The plot, rich with detail and purpose, offers an adventurous look at a pivotal time in America. Rebellious Heart is in my opinion, another wonderful book to Jody Hedlund's credit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent historical fiction

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this story. The characters were fun and witty. There was suspense, romance, danger, a wise and unconventional grandmother, plenty of wit, and it shows a side to pre-revolutionary war colonial American politics that I haven’t read a whole lot about.
The story takes place mainly in Braintree, Massachusetts in 1763. The war at this point is over a decade away but already people were grumbling against the taxes, many were unhappy with having to feed and quarter British soldiers and smugglers honed their sailing skills.
The mystery was well written and I could feel the icy fear of the girls as they ran through the forest. The author did a great job of balancing out the evil with good.
Oh and the romance was really rather scandalous considering the time period; but quite good and it somehow managed to be proper for the most part. Bit of a contradiction I know, but it’s still true. The author has a knack for writing a great kissing scene without it being too much.
If you like historical, clean romance set in pre-revolutionary war America then you should read Rebellious Heart.
Disclosure: I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating Historical Romance

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Rebellious Heart” is a new passionate historical hitting store (and personal) book shelves now and I think many readers are going to be swept away in this dramatic retelling of life several hundred years ago.
Sometimes it can be hard to read about experiences from a different period, romanticized or not, because of the accuracy the author puts behind the words. To know that such horrible things could and would happen to people during such a time makes it difficult, but also fascinating.
Talk about a love story! Susanna and Ben certainly cross more than a few lines for the expected and acceptable of their society standings of their day and in more ways than just their romance. But oh boy, the attraction and sizzle on the page when they were even in the same room together. Talk about great tension!
I didn’t find this one title my favorite, and I can’t really put my finger as to why to be honest. The story was good, the characters well fleshed out, and plenty of action to fill the 360 pages. Maybe it was the slightly disturbing history, maybe it was the combination of a deadline I needed to reach - either way, I still give high marks to the book and encourage historical reader fans to pick it up.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rebellious Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical fiction!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it when a book far surpasses my expectations, and this book did just that. This is an exciting, fast paced adventure with imperfect characters that have you cheering them on immediately anyways. I appreciated that Susanna wasn't comfortable with her deceptive role in helping the indentured girl escape detection and she was very aware of the danger she was placing the live around her in by aiding the runaway. It wasn't an easy decision for her.
There is a lot of interesting details about the time period, what it was like to live in the young Massachusetts Colony under British rule. Jody Hedlund obviously did her homework. I shows in the writing. There were a few words I'd never heard before but I got the idea of what the item was by the rest of the description, and that never interrupted a vital part of the story. My only small complaint was that there was to much romance in this story, but in my opinion it did stay very clean.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.