Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1

Bethany House A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1

Marty Dandridge Olson is a widow looking for a way out of Texas. Widower Jake Wythe has secured a job as a bank manager in Denver, only to discover that the bank board wants him to be a married man. With Texas in his roots, he advertises for a Lone Star bride, and Marty answers the call. They both agree they are done with romance and love and will make this nothing more than a marriage of convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.233 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 3093%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Review 1 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Sensible Arrangement is the first book in Traci Peterson’s new Lone Star Bride series. We first meet Martha Olsen in Chasing the Sun, her sister Hannah’s story.
Martha “Marty” Olson answers an ad from a banker in Denver Colorado for a bride and she is more than ready to leave Texas and all its painful memories behind forever. Losing her husband devastated her and banker Jake Wythe wants that theirs will be a marriage in name only which suites Marty just fine.
Jake has had his heart shattered not once, but twice. The board of directors at the bank that he manages insists that he be married, so he decides that a mail order bride from his home state of Texas is the best solution because one day he plans to return to Texas and buy his own ranch.
I really enjoyed reading about Marty’s journey. I really found myself identifying with her in so many ways. Like so many of us, she takes the long way around. Thinking to bury her great pain with a new life, trying fit into a lifestyle that contradicts all that she believes in, running away from God rather running toward Him. Eventually her true nature came out and God shows her how to deal with her pain by letting him help her.
I found Jake to be a little less intriguing than I would have liked. He was a little too predictable, however I really enjoyed him more toward the end when he was finding the truth about himself and his feelings about Marty.
As with all of the authors previous books, we get some real historical facts blended in with the story and well as good amount of God and his love and salvation. I enjoyed the book tremendously and would not hesitate to recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read

Date:May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracie wrote a very entertaining book, it starts out with some excitement then calms down and has you pulling for Marty and Jake to have more than a "in name only" marriage. Most people have kept a secret, told what they call a "white lie", or stretched/twisted the truth but have you really thought what not trusting the person you are hiding this information from can do to your relationship? As Tracie does with Marty, the longer you keep this information the more damage it "could" do. I like the way Marty stands up against her "society friends" too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mail Order Bride, Marriage Of Convenience & Romanc

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracie Peterson in her new book “A Sensible Arrangement” Book One in the Lone Star Brides series published by Bethany House Publishers takes us into the lives of Marty Dandridge Olson and Jake Wythe.
From the back cover: Marty Dandridge Olson is ready to leave behind the pain of the past.
Answering an advertisement for a “Lone Star bride,” she leaves her Texas ranch and heads to Denver to marry a man she doesn’t know.
Jake Wythe is the man waiting for her.
Burned by love, he marries now simply to satisfy the board of Morgan Bank, which believes a man of his standing in society should be wed. Together Jake and Marty agree they are done with romance and love and will make this nothing more than a marriage of convenience.
When missing money and a collapsing economy threaten his job, Jake’s yearning to return to ranching grows ever stronger, much to Marty’s dismay. But a fondness has grown between them, as well, further complicating matters.
What will happen when their relationship shifts in unexpected ways…
and dreams and secrets collide?
Texas, Denver and Mail Order Brides, these are the ingredients for a wonderful read. Marty just wants out of Texas, Jake just needs to fulfill the work requirements of the bank so their marriage is what is known as a marriage of convenience. However when God gets involved nothing goes as planned–at least not their plans, His plans work out quite well. Both Marty and Jake have their issues and they both have to deal with them in order to really enjoy their present and move into the future together. “A Sensible Arrangement” is a wonderful romance and the history is perfectly accurate giving a picture of simpler, slower times. Ms. Peterson is an amazing writer and she has given us a great story with plenty of believable characters that we root for to win. I liked this book and look forward to the next one in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Book!

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
cmwinner
Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several of Tracie Peterson's books and was eager to read a new one. She is always great at capturing your attention and keeping it throughout the whole book. I found it hard to put it down at night when I needed to go to bed!
Marty is a widow he doesn't want to live in Texas anymore. She is angry with God over the death of her husband. She answers an add in the paper to be a "Lone Star Bride" and moved to Colorado without telling her family.
Jake is a man that has been hurt deeply by his first wife. He doesn't want to re-marry but is pressured into it do to his new position at the bank where he works. Both of them agree this will be a marriage of convenience.
I love reading about how they both need to go to the high society events and how uncomfortable it makes both of them feel. The servants that work for them are great. Alicia's back story is heartbreaking, but it's great to see her grow and how Marty is able to help her. Mr. Brighton and Mrs. Landry kept me laughing throughout the book!
I did learn some about how the fall of silver in Colorado in 1893 and the effect it had on the city.
The only downside to the book was that it ended to abruptly!! I wanted to know more about what happens to Marty and Jake! Where do they go??? What happens with Alicia?? What happens with the orphans that Marty was working with??? I need to know more!! As this is the first book in a series, I certainly hope the next book in the series brings us back to these people!
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers for purpose of this review, I was not required to write a positive review, the opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learning to Love Again

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracie is one of my favorite authors and I've always enjoyed her stories. Her newest book, which just happens to be her 100th novel, A Sensible Arrangement is the first in Tracie's newest series the Lone Star Brides. It was certainly worth waiting for.
Denver, Colorado, 1893
Jake Wyeth, a bank manager, needs a wife in order to satisfy his boss at Morgan Bank. He has decided that a marriage of convenience will satisfy Mr. Morgan's desire for him to blend into the highest echelons of Denver's society. Marty Olson wants (needs, really) to escape from the loneliness of her Texas ranch where her husband died. She has resolved that answering Jake's ad for a mail order bride is just what she needs in order to escape the memories. Although, she has decided to keep the plans for her upcoming marriage to Jake a secret from her sister.
Both Marty and Jake have been hurt in the past, and although they have become friends, they each find it difficult to love and trust again. As Marty acquaints herself to life in Denver's society, she begins to see through their charade and their uncaring attitudes toward those less fortunate then themselves. At the same time, Jake finds himself immersed in his job at the bank and the seemingly inevitable failure of the economy; and therefore Morgan Bank.
As Marty struggles with her disappointment in God's sovereignty over the death of her first husband, the servants in the house, especially Alice (Marty's lady's maid) and Mrs. Landry (the staff overseer), help her rediscover her faith and the power of prayer. As Marty and Jake's feelings for each other grow, I wondered if Marty's lies would ruin there tender relationship.
Tracie Peterson, as I have already mentioned, is a favorite of mine. I loved how she brought Marty, Jake , Mrs. Landry, Anna, and a whole host of other characters to life. I cheered the characters on, scolded them, and cried with them. And now I look forward to meeting them again in her her next book in the Lone Star Bride series, A Moment in Time.
**A Sensible Arrangement by Tracie Peterson was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Pleasant Read...But with Unfinished Ends

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
From the ranches of Texas to the mile-high city of Denver, "A Sensible Arrangement" lays the foundation for Tracie Peterson's new "Lone Star Bride" series. This novel introduces several story-lines that will continue into the next novel. Peterson incorporates romance, faith, and history to create a pleasant read despite unfinished ends. A bit of mystery is incorporated into the historical element, which centers on the economic downturn of the late 1890s. Peterson paints a dimensional picture of the growing city of Denver, from the upper crust of society to orphans. A western story set in a city is quite refreshing, but there is still a touch of wild-west style excitement and Texas twang.
The main premise of "A Sensible Arrangement" is the marriage-of-convenience between the two lead characters, Marty and Jake. Their relationship is relatively predictable, but fraught with emotional challenges that add some complexity. The subplots held more interest for me than the love story. Marty's work with orphans reveals the plight that homeless adults and children faced in the midst of an economic downturn. There is definitely the potential for this plot to develop more throughout the series. The more exciting subplot is the crime mystery involving Jake's bank and the father of Marty's maid, Alice. Pieces of the mystery are revealed along the way, enough to keep you guessing about who is behind the crime. I kept reading in anticipation of the solution, only to find that the mystery will continue. As that part of the story threads through other novels, I am eager to learn more about Alice who has the potential to be a dynamic lead character.
"A Sensible Arrangement" is an enjoyable weekend read with some excitement and many lessons in honesty and faith. The historical details set it apart from similar novels and set the tone for the rest of the "Lone Star Brides" series. Peterson leaves readers primed with anticipation for the next novel, "A Moment in Time"
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from LitFuse. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Gu
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book from Tracie Peterson!

Date:April 28, 2014
I read several of Tracie Peterson's books a while back and thoroughly enjoyed them. When I saw that she was releasing A Sensible Arrangement (her 100th book!!!) this month, I was excited to start a new series with her.
Two of my favorite story lines in historical fiction are mail order bride and marriage of convenience stories. Combine the two, and double the fun! From the beginning, I liked Marty. She's feisty and has a serious streak of independence. It wasn't clear until much later why she would be interested in leaving her family in Texas and become a mail order bride, but once we finally learned the reason, it made sense. Marty has a terrible problem with lying. While I often wanted to shake her and force the truth out, I actually liked that her vice was something that most people have dealt with but generally overlook. I thought it made her more relatable and showed how a seemingly insignificant sin can have such far-reaching consequences.
I enjoyed getting to know Jake as well. He was intent on being a good husband—even if romance wouldn't be part of the equation. He definitely had a lot going on at work, and that part of history was definitely interesting! As Jake and Marty became closer friends, their relationship developed more. I just wish we could have seen more of that!
There were several things that weren't resolved, but I'm assuming that the next book will take care of some of that. And I, for one, am looking forward to reading it! A Sensible Arrangement is another great read from Tracie Peterson! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story about a Texas Bride!

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Sensible Arrangement is the first book in a new series written by author Tracie Peterson. I found the plot quite interesting and having an arranged marriage with a widow and widower was new for me. Tracie always knows how to capture the attention of the reader and reel them in with a fine story.
Marty is a widow whose husband was gored to death by a longhorn steer. She has basically given up on God and sees no reason to trust Him with her future, much less her daily life. So she answers an ad for a bride and moves to Colorado, not telling her family what she is doing. That was one of the big problems I had with Marty. She lies constantly throughout the book. And at the end she realizes that lying is just as much a sin as anything else, but it really bothered me reading about her deceit.
Now Jake was a different story. Very upright and quite dashing. His first wife was dishonest and he can't stand it now so I was waiting to see how it would play out when he realized what Marty was doing. Of course, it was a marriage of convenience anyways so there were no feelings involved, NOT! :)
I liked how the author put real events and history in the novel. Finding out about the impact silver had on Colorado and the common person made for a good story. Oh, and the servants were so entertaining! I loved Brighton and Samson the most, excluding Alice. My only complaint? I wish the story hadn't ended so abruptly! I felt like I was left hanging with not everything solved. Hopefully that will be taken care of in the next book. There will be another one, right? lol:)
I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2014
Marty Olson is a widow who lives in Texas. Her surroundings serve as constant reminders of her past and she desperately wants to run from the pain. She responds to an advertisement placed by Jacob Wythe to marry for appearances only. Jacob lives in Denver so this opportunity will allow Marty to start a new life.
Jacob is rising quickly in the banking industry but the Morgan Bank board has made it clear that a man in his position should be married. Jacob places an ad for a “Lone Star bride” as his heart is still in Texas. He grew up on a ranch and misses his life there. He plans to save enough money so he can one day return to the life he loves. When Jacob places the ad he is looking for nothing more than a woman who will attend social gatherings with him. In exchange he will take care of her every need.
When Marty arrives in Denver the two are married. As their lives become more intertwined, they find themselves embarking on an adventure that neither of them planned. Will the pain of Marty’s past and her secrets push Jacob away or draw him closer to her? Will Jacob’s desire to return to Texas prove to be too much for Marty?
I really enjoyed this book but I have to say that the ending leaves you with many unanswered questions. The second book called “A Moment in Time” will be released in June so I look forward to seeing how the pieces come together. This book had elements of faith, adventure, romance and mystery. I found myself not wanting to put it down as I wanted to know what happened next. I would definitely recommend this book.
*Thank you to Bethany House for providing me this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Sensible Arrangement by Tracie Peterson is a most delightful book and one that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. Marty Olson answers an ad for a “Lone
Star Bride” and leaves her Texas home to travel to Denver to marry Jake Wythe. Jake is a banker and his boss insists that his top employees be married. Both Marty and Jake have been married before and this marriage is to be one of convenience only. After the wedding, Marty is almost overwhelmed with all the demands of Denver high society. Jake hates the society scene as much as Marty but to keep his boss happy and maybe even to keep his job, they have to put on a happy face and attend all the society functions. The state of the economy threatens Jake’s job and this causes him to think even more about returning to ranching in Texas. Even though Marty dislikes all the things she is expected to do as a member of high society, she does not want to return to Texas. Will all the demands of high society and the problems with the economy draw the couple together or will the marriage remain one of convenience?
In this one hundredth book by Tracie Peterson, she did an excellent job in the writing of all elements of the book just as she did in the first ninety-nine. Marty and Jake were so well written that I could not help but care for them. By the end of the book I felt as if they were lifetime friends. There were several different plot lines going on in the story but Tracie tied them all together in a very satisfactory way. This story is filled with history, politics, banking business, mystery, romance, and even a failed stage coach robbery. There were several times that I would laugh at what was happening but the funniest situation was when Marty told Jake her greatest desire. At the beginning of the book, Marty felt as if God had deserted her but through the help of her household servants, she accepted God’s forgiveness and love. In spite of all the problems, the story had a wonderful ending. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
I highly recommend this book to everyone that likes an historical novel filled with romance and set in the American West at the end of the 19th century.
Bethany House provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I truly love this book!!!

Date:April 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
And I LOVE this author!!! Tracie Peterson has always been one of my all time favorite authors! And this, her 100th book, is one of my favorites of her works. It has made it to My Favorite Books list! Tracie's characters touched my heart immediately and Jake, the hero of this tale, stole my heart completely! I love how she made Marty's character a tough woman that can take care of herself, and others, instead of becoming the victim always in need of rescue! Yet, though she is toughened by loss and the ways of ranch life in 1892, she still has a huge heart and loves very deeply. OH but the cliff hanger! I must know what happens next and can't wait for A Moment in Time to release in June!!! Mystery's are mixed within A Sensible Arrangement's plot as missing money and strange threats abound! I truly enjoy how Tracie weaves The Word and God's messages throughout the story. Showing how He loves us through it all, even our anger and hurt. This is a fabulous read, with an easy pace, and filled with great characters, an intriguing plot, secrets, pain, forgiveness, lies, love, uncertainty, friendship, repentance, fears and more! I highly recommend it!
Songs: "Onward Christian Soldiers" by Various Artist, "Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow" by 101 Strings Orchestra, "Mascagni: Cavalleria rusticana - Intermezzo sinfonico" by Herbert von Karajan
Songs etc. may be changed or added in the future.
John 8:32
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love is the Treasure

Date:April 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reading Rover
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Sensible Arrangement Tracie Peterson
Texas Widow, Marty can’t wait to leave Texas and it’s reminders behind!
A Mail-order Bride to a Banker in Colorado, her quiet entrance is marred by her saving the Stagecoach from Bandits. We off to a hilarious start-but Marty finds her life controlled by the owners of her new Husband’s Bank. But it all starts pressing her when she discovers her Husbands desire to return to Texas-ans Ranch, just what she was trying to leave behind forever! Interesting period economic/political information-and there are extreme economic events which cause many changes in their lives. But all is well for the new couple, because, what they have come to value most, is not overcome by the Economy-each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lacking romance

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Widow Marty Olsen is leaving her Texas ranch to be a mail order bride for Jacob Wythe, a banker in Denver. He’s a widower looking for a sensible wife for a marriage of convenience, because the board members of the bank feel a bank manager should be married. They need to keep up appearances, after all.
My real problem with A Sensible Arrangement was that I expect a marriage of convenience story to have a strong romantic element. While in real life these situations were undoubtedly the challenge of two complete strangers learning to build a life together, in Christian fiction (and general market fiction), a marriage of convenience is two strangers falling in love. This was a real weakness in A Sensible Arrangement—I never felt Mary and Jacob spent enough time together to develop a lasting relationship.
If you leave aside the fact that A Sensible Arrangement wasn’t a romance, it did have several strengths. Marty was a particularly interesting character. She was a strong and independent woman who makes her own choices (as illustrated by the fact she left a steady existence for the uncertainty of being a mail-order bride in faraway Denver), yet she was a compulsive liar who constantly tried to reconcile her lack of truthfulness towards Jacob as being for the best. I did find her lying somewhat tiresome, as I didn’t understand her reason for lying for most of the novel (and when it was finally revealed, it seemed a little illogical).
The Christian elements were strong, with a clear message of salvation, and a sobering comparison of Christians as opposed to people who go to church for social reasons (I suspect not a lot has changed in this regard since the 1890’s). The background to the plot was the collapse of the banking industry in Colorado due to changes in national legislation, and I thought this was interesting. We’ve all heard of the 1929 crash which started the Great Depression of the 1930’s, but I hadn’t known there were others.
A Sensible Arrangement is the first in the start of the Lone Star Brides series, but I suspect it draws on characters introduced in previous novels as the backstory has that quality of delivering a lot of information in only a few words. It’s Tracie Petersen’s 100th published novel, and it shows in the strong writing and the way she seamlessly integrates the history into the plot.
Overall, while I enjoyed the historical aspects and the relationships between the minor characters, I wasn’t convinced by the romance between Marty and Jacob. I’m sure Tracie Petersen fans will enjoy it.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very enjoyable story!

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Tracie Peterson for quite some time. She was one of the first authors I read when I jumped into historical, Christian fiction. The characters that are in Tracie's stories always vary in personality and traits and they all mesh well. A Sensible Arrangement isn't any different.
There is something unique however, about this book, it is Tracie Peterson's 100th book! I just have to say, how awesome is that?! Each story is fresh with a new group of unique characters. That is fantastic talent!
Back to the review.
A Sensible Arrangement portrayed what I thought was a very realistic look of a marriage of convenience. Marty is a girl, who had happy marriage, but it was taken from her when husband was killed when he was tending the stock on their ranch. For four years, Marty has taken care of her small spread and watched after by her sister and brother-in-law, who has a ranch next to Marty's. However, since the death of her husband, Marty has grown weary of her ranch...well, really, Texas in general. All that seems to remain is heartache, so when she notices an ad in the paper for a Texas bride, she jumps at the chance. The way that Marty handles it is real too.
Marty isn't looking for love, just an escape. She worries about how her family will take the news, so instead of telling them that she is going to marry a man she never met, she lies. The questions she has going through her head, her observations all were spot on to how I would be in that situation. And, what I loved about Marty, she doesn't change who she is.
Jake was a good character and one who I enjoyed seeing again. Jake was originally in another series by Tracie Peterson, Striking the Match, that was also set in Texas. Jake has moved from Texas and is now working as a banker in Colorado. To further his position in the bank, he knows that he needs to show himself as a man who is settled, to the public eye, which means he needs to be married. Which brings us to his ad in the paper in Texas.
Jake is interesting. He is a man that would love to just live a simple life, but, his boss has taken an interest him. He now has a house on the hill with the people of the upper-crust, which isn't really his cup of tea, but because his boss requires it, he does is. Jake is very dedicated to his job and wants to do his best. However, with the struggling economy, the bank Jake works at has a lot to deal with, along with some mysteries that pop up.
This is the first book in the Lone Star Brides series and I can't wait to see what happens in book two. A Sensible Arrangement left me with questions and I'm ready to see how things will play out.
Thank you to Bethany House and Litfuse, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So much better than I anticipated! WOW!

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have ever read by Tracie Peterson and now I’m going to have to go track down as many as I can get my hands on because it’s SO GOOD!
WOW!
An amazing story! Such inspiring characters!
A great, great read!
From page one I was hooked. (And I’m not much for historical fiction – I enjoy a few select authors but mostly I’m more fond of modern stories.)
I found myself attached to the characters immediately and I laugh at the few other silly reviews I’ve read that say the characters were very flat and unlovable.
Marty is precisely the kind of woman I would expect to read about who hails from Texas. She knows how to take care of herself and she is not afraid of a challenge.
I love how well God is interwoven into the story – even though Marty is not very fond of Him through most of the book. And it’s very refreshing to see everyone around her trying to win her back to Him. Most of the books I’ve read about people who have lost their faith in God, show the journey back but not always by way of others trying to win them back to the Kingdom.
Tracie Peterson does this well and she does it without sounding preachy.
The book is definitely a new favorite of mine and I can’t wait to read some of her other novels!
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WILL THE REAL MARTY OLSON PLEASE STAND!!

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fun and a bit serious story, Tracie L. Peterson certainly can write a great tale of excitement, drama, romantic mystery, and shadowy incidents, mixed with dreams of being somewhere else in time and geography. There is an old adage of “be careful for what one wishes for” throughout the message of this book.
Widowed and childless Marty Olson wanted to escape from memories of tragically losing her beloved husband, and leave Texas forever where she owns and lives on a ranch. Jake Wythe, a Denver banker, singed around the edges one last time from romance, places a newspaper ad for a Texas woman to marry in name only. Jake is in need of a wife to satisfy the bank board members determined notion that his promotion puts him in a higher level of Denver society. Marty answers the ad on complete acceptance of Jake’s terms. Unknown to Marty, Jake, a native Texan longs to return to the Lone Star state and run a ranch.
Marty is quite adept at telling little fibs that create larger problems that spin into a web of hurt and misunderstanding for loved ones and new friends. She does not tell her sister and family the truth about going to Colorado – only that she plans to visit friends. This time, a lie of omission. Shades of Annie Oakley! Marty takes a stage coach into Denver and becomes a pistol-packing damsel to save the lives of the passengers and drivers from a stage robbery. Our heroine soon becomes the talk and news sensation of Denver and awes the society she has joined as Mrs. Jacob Wythe. The character quality in Marty’s habit was disturbing to me, however I surmised Ms. Peterson had sensible reasons for this flaw. We will find Marty’s redeeming qualities in other area of her character concerning orphans.
Much is going on with the newlyweds – will love blossom now that Marty and Jake are secretly attracted to one another? How does Marty, married to a rich banker, handle being included with society wives and living a lie as a new bride? Is Jake suspected as being part of the scheme of missing funds at the bank? The stories developing around the household servants are entertaining and humor provoking. It seems the only real friend Marty has in Denver is Alice, her lady’s maid. But, what does Alice have to do with information about the missing funds? Why was she attacked to be robbed of something she knew nothing about?
The plot continues to thicken. Marty becomes anguished over Jake’s intentions of returning to Texas and how she can keep the truth of her ranch from him. We learn throughout the story that God is in control. The truth will out, but what happens? There are some loose ends in the story, however I believe there is purpose in this gifted writers tactics. Ms. Tracie Peterson has successfully written many books, of which The Sensible Arrangement is my first read. You have made an impression on my reading tastes, Ms. Peterson, I anticipate reading the next book in this series as well as the many others you have written. Your faith in our heavenly Father and His love for you brightly shine through your pen hand. You are indeed blessed.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Easy and Enjoyable Read

Date:April 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Sensible Arrangement is the first book that I have read by Tracie Peterson. I found it to be an easy and smooth read, with interesting characters.
Jake and Marty agree to a marriage of convenience early on in the book and Marty travels from Texas to Colorado as a mail-order bride. There’s a little bit of tension between the two as they get to know each other, but otherwise, they fall into a fairly easygoing friendship. We follow Marty as she learns her duties in high society and tries to find a way to be useful. We watch Jake as he works as a bank manager in very stressful financial times.
Marty was a complicated heroine. I liked her, but there things that really bothered me about her, too. She struggles with a very large personality flaw…she lies. She has a real problem understanding that lies and lies by omission are damaging to others. Marty also has big anger problems toward God. The dialogue between Marty and her ladies maid, Alice, is a wonderful explanation of why bad things happen and what role God plays in that. The author handled this so well. There is also some mystery and danger in this book, especially toward the end.
I have to admit that I expected the book to tie all of the loose ends up, but it didn’t. I feel that this must be in preparation for the next book in the series. I definitely plan to read the rest of the series and I still felt satisfied at the end of the story. Even though there are some questions left unanswered, it is not a cliff hanger ending and I appreciate that!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To one and all I am happy to share with you this review of Tracie Peterson’s 100th book. Congratulations to the author! Here is a brand new series that begins with the introduction of two characters, Marty, who is a young widow living in Texas and Jake, living in Denver, but born in Texas. Jake’s highest dream is to return to his beloved place of birth, but he has to work in a bank to save money to purchase a ranch. Marty is a young woman who without forethought or prayer answers an ad Jake places for a Texas wife, both parties agreeing it is in name only.
The setting is the late 1800s, and there is a mystery along with the romance and how Jake and Marty are struggling in their faith due to deep heart wounds. To make it seem safe, both appear to put boundaries on their relationship. Will it indeed work to protect their hearts from further devastation? In the tale, other characters are introduced that are of a mixed fashion. For instance, a couple of the high society people don’t care a whit about those less fortunate. While others like Jake’s servants seem to be examples of faith and trust as they have learned to hold loosely to the things of this earth.
My favorite novels by Tracie are her Alaskan series which now share a place in my heart with this new series. I wondered the further along I read if the conclusion was going to end up with the story being developed to a point like a well-wrapped gift. While I won’t tell you how it ends, I can share that I thought it was a great ending!
I loved how no matter what station in life mankind has here on earth the soul questions and the deepest of heart longings know no boundaries. The characters are like a reflection of many people we might know in any society. The heart longs to be loved and not rejected; more so, within all hearts God wants us to know Him individually. When life rips away the ones we love or things we hold dear, how do we react or respond? As you are introduced to some of the interesting characters in the novel, don’t be surprised if one of them might remind you of someone. I loved this book and can’t wait for the next novel to be released in June 2014 titled, A Moment in Time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Fun Story!

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChooseWisely
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A Sensible Arrangement is Book 1 in the Lone Star Brides Series by Tracie Peterson. Had I not know this before reading the book, I would have been terribly disappointed in the ending. It absolutely left me wanting to know what happens next!
Tracie Peterson is a trusted name in Christian fiction. I was first introduced to her when I read her Yukon Quest Series. I love how she continues a story through several books and characters. The characters in this book are memorable and interesting. In A Sensible Arrangement, we meet Marty Olson who has answered an advertisement for a marriage of convenience to Jake Wythe. Marty needs a way to leave her past and loss behind and Jake needs a wife to help his career. I love stories where a couple falls in love after they marry. It’s always a fun read.
My favorite part of the story is when Marty saves the day in an act of heroism that I totally didn’t see coming! I laughed out loud. I definitely enjoyed this book. However, I do wish the relationship between Marty and Jake had been visited longer. Their interaction seemed limited.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a series, and the opportunity to follow characters over time. I am anxious to read the next book in this series, A Moment in Time. I was given a complimentary copy of this book by its publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Sensible Arrangement, Lone Star Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loveless Marriage

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the compelling feeling through out this book to keep turning the pages, find out what is going to happen. Then when I was looking for all the answers, the book ended….what? Well I shouldn’t have feared there is another book coming in June that continues the story. Now that I have reassured you and I and we will find out more. I fully urge you to pick this amazing historical read, I had the feeling that history has repeated itself so many times, with the economy in highs and lows.
We meet the high society of Denver, and never would I want to be one of them. This is also a mail-order bride story, two people who have been hurt in the past by love, and want a rather loveless marriage of convenience. So Marty Dandridge Olson and Banker Jake Wythe get married, so different, but entertaining. What a surprise Marty is in for when she arrives at her new home. She wants to be friends with the servants, and that is totally unacceptable.
Love how she shows her compassion and hires an indigent young woman with no experience. Also how she is rewarded by her actions by God, and this woman has a hand on leading her back to Him. There is some danger that seems to come with Alice, and somehow it all comes back to all involved. You will never know what are going to happen next, and your going to love how Marty speaks her mind at the snob ladies group.
Don’t miss this one, and your going to be putting A Moment in Time on your TBR list for more about Marty and Wayatt and of course Alice.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>