Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Real Life, Real Miracles

Bethany House Real Life, Real Miracles

These real-life stories of miraculous experiences, gathered by the authors of Miracles Are for Real, reveal that God is still very active in the world. Each gripping story is sure to encourage and inspire, offering hope and a sense of wonder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Real Life, Real Miracles
Review 1 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great stories!

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for some inspirational stories? This book has many that will amaze you and all point you to the Lord of miracles. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I thought the compilation of stories was varied enough that any one reading this book will find a story that will touch them in some way. You will be able to relate to some of the stories as well. You may also realize that you have experienced some of these same miracles just in your own way. I would recommend this book for anyone looking for encouragement or who enjoys reading about special incidents in others lives.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved The Inspiration

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:Naples,ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book to know that god is alive and well and to show more faith. He will help you and there for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A review of: Real life, real miracles

Date:January 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Mass.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First the good:
Some books are difficult to read because they’re not written in a way that makes reading them easy. This book is not one of those, instead it’s very easy to read and the stories do keep your attention.
Now the not so good:
The book is supposed to be a collection of, what the author calls real life “miracles”. Some of the stories are a bit graphic for my taste. Like the story of a man who was stabbed. The book goes into great graphic detail. Thankfully these kinds of stories are few. Most of the stories range from the spectacular and hard to believe to the silly, like one story about a container of sour cream that never went empty even though each time they went to get some out, there was only enough for one portion. They would place the empty container back in the fridge and the next time they went to get sour cream it had enough for one more portion. God did this, we’re told in the book, because he cared for a little girl who got tired of eating potatoes. That story seems a bit silly and I don’t think God is working the miracle of the never ending container of sour cream. Some of the other stories discuss people going to a “church” service and going on stage to have a “pastor” lay his hands on them and pray over them and they’re instantly healed.
There are stories in the book that certainly show the hand of God but many of the stories are over the top and seem to be, if not total fabrications then embellished a bit, at least that’s the way it felt to me as I read the book.
I don’t recommend this book at all. There are too many strange and silly stories that make me question the reliability of the details. Do yourself a favor and avoid this book.
Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“Real Life, Real Miracles” is a Really Nice Read

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
BethStrand
Location:Oregon City, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, I admit, I often shy away from stories of supernatural intervention because they can sound a bit smug. After all, for every person who has a story of divine intervention, there is someone with a tragedy where there wasn’t any kind of apparent rescue waiting in the wings. It was refreshing to read “Real Life, Real Miracles” by James L. Garlow and Keith Wall. “Real Life” is packed with inspirational stories of rescues, both spiritual and physical, some near-death experiences and a few stories that are simply touching. For instance, “Diamond in the Rough” tells the story of a young woman whose wedding diamond was lost in a motorcycle crash and later restored to her. There are not a lot of fireworks in the story but it inspires nonetheless.
The general tone of the stories doesn’t lean towards the preachy but simply reflects the stories of real people who experienced something unusual and unexplained in their life. It’s a lovely read and a great affirmation that when God chooses to act, He isn’t limited to burning bushes or parting the waters. Sometimes a miracle is in the eye of the recipient and comes right in the middle of everyday life. Of course, there are also some very dramatic stories included, too, but I loved the gentleness of this book. There’s no hammering you over the head with theology, just a recounting of the experiences of a few people who have been blessed by divine intervention who, in turn, blessed us by sharing their stories.
This book was provided to me by Bethany House for this review. My opinions, however, are entirely my own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

UPLIFTING! A BOOSTER SHOT OF HOPE AND FAITH

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don’t think anyone hasn’t had a time they prayed or longed or a miracle in their lives. I believe many have experienced them, but don’t recognize what happened because they just chalk it up to luck or chance. Often times we miss them because we are moving at such a fast pace and fail to see God’s touch. In the life of a child of God, there is no such thing as coincidence. He is very actively involved in our lives and needs.
This book was so uplifting! I myself had witnessed many miracles in my time and they have been left a deep imprint on my life. Some brought about enormous changes; others met a momentary need in a supernatural way.
I could relate because the accounts were of people just like me that find themselves in what seem to be impossible situations with only 1 outcome – BAD. Some experiencing them probably thought these are things that “only happen to other people”. I heard a saying many years ago that stuck with me and I love: “God loves impossible situations to show Himself strong.” Then we KNOW without a doubt the help cold have only come from Him and He can receive all the glory. That is exactly what these stories are about. If God has done it for others, He can do it for us too!
I liked that these were so varied from the filling of small momentary needs to nothing short of extraordinary events of healing and protection. They certainly gave me a fresh reminder of hope for some of the circumstances my family is facing right now. It was refreshing to read something positive after all the negative stories and reports we see daily in the news.
No, God does not always “fix” all our problems, but even should He say “No child, this is my will for you”, this book gave me great comfort at seeing testimonies of His power. I would love more books by the authors like this, and would also like to contribute stories of my own “real life” miracles! I am going to keep it and read it when I a booster shot of faith
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Miracles Still Happen

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Noreen
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At some point, everyone is going to need a supernatural touch; either in their life or in the life of another. James L. Garlow and Keith Wall have written 30 chapters detailing the lives of people that have experienced miracles. I have heard many Christians say that miracles only occurred during biblical times or that they only occur in third world countries. The authors clearly show that they still occur today. We serve a mountain moving, all powerful God who still heals and restores His children. I think these true stories will encourage someone who is ill or facing a horrific situation. As I was reading through one chapter, I came across a name I was very familiar with, who lived in my old city. This was an added testimony of the validity of these stories. I wouldn't hesitate it give it to someone who is struggling and also have one for my library.
I received this book free,courtesy of Bethany House Publishers for my honest opinion and review. I was not compensated for this at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Encouragement for difficult times

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A compilation of miraculous events, this book will prove to be a source of encouragement for anyone who is going through a difficult situation, particularly if similar to the ones described in the book. It is an inspiring read that will remind us that God is continually acting in our lives, despite the obscure and difficult circumstances we have to face every day.
However, I must say that there is a lack of reference to the Bible. As a result, a continuous emphasis on the supernatural is the main focus of the book. If someone new to Christianity read this book, he/she won’t find any doctrine or fundamental instruction, and could be lead to believe that a Christian life entails only the miraculous; even if this aspect of a spiritual, growing relationship with God should not be alien to a believer, it should never be the core of such relationship.
Having clarified that, I would recommend this book as a source of current examples of how God works in us all the time, even if we are not able to understand His ways.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers, in exchange for an honest review; this has not biased my opinion on the book, nor on the authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging and Inspirational

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
nabagail
Location:Seattle
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have often thought why it is that miracles happened in the Bible but not so much today. "Real Life Real Miracles" was encouraging to me because it demonstrated that God is working miracles today. This book presented story after story about real people who experienced God's Hand in their lives. Some of the stories seemed a bit fantastic and I did wonder if the authors had any way of documenting the story beyond the retelling of it. Most often, however, I had no difficulty believing the experiences. I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A huge faith boost!

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a compilation of true stories from real people. Each one unique in its own way and unique in how God came through for each person and family.
Real Life-Real Miracles has brought my faith to new heights. As I read through each of these absolutely amazing testimonies from people just like us, I felt an assurance that God is always there with us even through the hardest of times. As one who is still waiting for healing, I have a greater understanding of what it means to stand strong and continue to believe that it is coming.
I don't want to give away the stories in this book. Let me just say that they are incredible, and it is unmistakably obvious that God is the author and protector of our lives. No matter how hard we try to solve our problems, no matter what report the doctors have given, God will have His way, if only we will trust Him.
I highly recommend this book. If you are like me or know someone how may need an extra boost of faith, get this book. See God in action in the lives of others and expect to see Him in action in your own lives as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging stories

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a compilation of real life stories that involve miracles. While some may say they are just coincidences the authors make a compelling statement with the amount of miraculous experiences people told them about. Each chapter is about a different person. The majority are experiences of complete healing from something that was otherwise impossible. While I don't think this book would lead you to a saving knowledge of Christ, if your looking to figure out if there are still miracles in America today this would be an encouraging book. This is also a good book to take your time with since you can easily read one story at a time.
I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring Reading and Wonderful Gift Book!

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jani417
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a great book for Christmas giving, this may be the one. This book contains inspiring, touching, true stories that will warm hearts and recharge faith. This would be an especially good choice for those who are grieving or under heavy stress.
While perusing these amazing stories, readers will smile, shed tears and feel like cheering. The stories are true accounts of accidents, illness, financial and emotional stress, and disasters. Each tale is related in detail and describes a resolution that can only be considered miraculous. The deaf can hear, tumors disappear, and chance circumstances turn out to be lifesaving events. There are thirty separate miraculous stories and a collection of shorter incidents included.
Some of the miracles are more dramatic than others, but all are outstanding evidence of the way God works in the lives of His children. The wonder of the miracles is not limited to one person. There is a residual effect to all who hear of these events. As word of the miraculous healings and resolutions spreads, the blessing spreads, too, providing growth of faith for all.
The authors believe that God has worked miracles in everyone’s lives. Each person is important and a part of a master plan. The beneficiaries of these miracles are very ordinary people. They include sinners, addicts, criminals, ministers, moms, dads, and children. As one man expressed it “I am nobody special. If God did this for me, He can do it for anyone.” Readers will agree. Not only can God work miracles, He does!
I was given a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers to read and review. I highly recommend this book for personal reading and gift-giving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

inspiring read

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many of the stories in this book are quite simply, hard to believe. But as the title suggests, they are miracles and when we remind ourselves that nothing is impossible with God, there's nothing left to do, but believe. I also came away thinking, even if I haven't seen real life miracles in my own life (at least not as dramatic as the ones recorded in this book) these stories can serve as a reminder that God still does miraculous things, if he chooses. And if he doesn't choose to heal someone or help a person survive an accident, he is still sovereign. The miracle then lies in the fact that we trust our lives to God, fully believing that he knows what is best for us.
The stories in this collection are not written by the people who experienced the miracles themselves, but by the authors. I would have appreciated 'hearing' the voice of these people as opposed to having the stories told in the third person prespective, sprinkled with their quotes.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Real Life, Real Miracles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*Disclaimer: I received this book via Bethany House Publishers. No I am not paid to do the book reviews I am just given a copy and allowed to read it for my pleasure as well as posting a review.
Real Life, Real Miracles by James L. Garlow & Keith Wall was a real treat. I love reading other people's stories and not just any story but one that is rich in their gratitude and love of God. This book is FULL of those kind of stories. Some stories were not {in my personal opinion} as Christ centered as others, while some were so full of God I had to tell God thank YOU for their praise report.
I would love to go in full depth of the book however to do so would be to give away the stories in the book. What I can tell you is that their stories will make you be patient with God and be thankful because although many of them have a great testimony, they had to endure a great TEST.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.