Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3

Bethany House The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3

When schoolteacher Jodi Winfield goes for a morning run, the last thing she expects is to find a disheveled little girl all alone on the side of the Pennsylvania road, clad only in her undergarments, her chubby cheeks streaked with tears. Jodi takes the preschooler home with her, intending to find out where she belongs. But Jodi is mystified when no one seems to know of a missing child, and the girl herself is no help, since she can't speak a word of English. It's as if the child appeared out of nowhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 38100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Review 1 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super as always!

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another well written Amish Fiction Romance with sound Biblical ideals. I like Beverly Lewis because her knowledge of Amish ways is authentic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love all Beverly Lewis books

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirlkam
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good, engrossing read. Beverly Lewis is a great writer about Amish life. Characters are clearly defined. A very enjoyable book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:Naples,ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a very touchign story about the Esh family losing little Sarah and being a mom if that ever happened to you the panick you would feel. I love how they minnomites live and treat others around them. Very Touching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Value

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:Dallas TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I collect all the Amish genre books that I read, so I needed The Guardian by Beverly Lewis for The Hickory Hollow series, but they were like $15 to $20, but I received the book much lower that that. The value for your dollar was great, as well as the other books I purchased at that time...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Guardian

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodi Winfield is a teacher taking a little break while house sitting. She finds the area beautiful and she is looking forward to an early morning jog. It is dawn as she sets out and to her shock she finds a little girl curled up asleep under a tree off the side of the road. The child is dirty and and under dressed. She is not really sure what she should do first.
Jodi finds herself in the middle of an Amish Community. It was as if she had been taken back to a different time. The local Amish were welcoming to her and their lifestyle intriguing. She just can't seem to get enough of their company. She finds even more appealing to her is their trust, hope and faith in God which started a peaceful healing in herself.
I found this story so moving. It has been some time since I have had to keep a box of tissue by me while reading a book. The author has a way of reaching deep into your heart stirring your emotions. One of my favorite characters was Maryanna Esh it seemed the author had given her a strength that could only come from God. She also had an abundance of patience! I found that waiting on book three had been well worth the wait. Looking forward to reading book four of Home to Hickory Hollow, THE SECRET KEEPER.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group for review. I as in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another fabulous Berverly Lewis tale

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beverly Lewis is known for her many stories featuring the Amish. Her latest book, The Guardian, is a true gem. I have read quite a few of her books and this one is my favorite so far.
Jodi Winfield is enjoying house-sitting for her cousin and his wife in beautiful Lancaster, Pennsylvania. It is the perfect way to pass the summer before she begins her new teaching job in the fall. While out for an early morning jog one day, she comes across a little girl sleeping along the road. The child speaks no English but seems to trust Jodi completely. With help from her cousin and even the little girl herself, Jodi is able to return little Sarah to her family in the Amish community of Hickory Hollow, but not before she and Sarah have become quite attached to each other.
Maryanna Esh is delighted to have Sarah returned to her after the little girl fell out of the back of the buggy the previous night without Maryanna noticing. She is a little unsure about the English stranger who returned her child, but finds herself drawn to her nonetheless. As Jodi returns to visit the Esh family again and again, the women find themselves becoming close friends. Each has known the pain of loss, but dealt with it in very different ways.
Jodi finds the Amish countryside healing and begins to reopen her heart to God, and to other possibilities she has refused to think of for a while. And Maryanna allows herself to consider remarrying, not only for the sake of her children but also for love.
I have found that you should be able to walk away from any book worth reading with at least one quote from it that you want to remember. So I will end this book review of The Guardian with my favorite quote from the story:
" 'I've learned that sometimes I have to give up my right to know and simply believe that God's knowing is enough.' "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved the characters - wished they were real

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Guardian by Beverly Lewis is book 3 from the Home to Hickory Hollow series.
Jodi Winfield is engaged to be married. Her fiancé, Trent Norton is planning on going to Japan to teach English as a second language for a year, before Jodi and Trent get married. Jodi is house-sitting in Lancaster, Pennsylvania while her cousin and his wife are on vacation. During one of her runs, she finds a young girl, who doesn't speak English, on the side of the road. She brings her to the house and cleans her up. After numerous attempts at contacting the police, she manages to get in contact with her cousin who is a police officer. He tells her to go to the Amish community and bring the girl to the Bishop's house. The little girl ends up bring her right to her own house. There Maryanna is overjoyed at finding her daughter. Jodi and Maryanna develop a close friendship that I think is God ordained. More adventures happen that you will need to find out.
I liked this book. I have not read a book written by Beverly Lewis that I did not like. I did find it started slow. It took me close to reading the first 10 chapters, before really getting into the story. At the end though, I cried and found myself wishing these characters were real so that I too can visit with them.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of God's redeeming love

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Jodi returns Sarah to her family, she is drawn to the simple life of the Old Order Amish. Amazed at how well the Amish children take to her, the bishop offers her a temporary teaching position at their one-room school house - just until the Amish teacher is available. Jodi moves in with Sarah's family during her teaching time and slowly begins to seek God once again after her sister's death.
This book is a wonderful story of God's redeeming love and grace. How many times do we feel like God has forsaken us? Left us alone in our grief? Depression? Loneliness? Beverly Lewis has reminded us that God has a reason and a purpose for everything we go through.
I received a complimentary copy of The Guardian from Bethany House Publisher for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lovely

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foutchy
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lewis is my favorite author when it comes to Amish Fiction and this book certainly did not disappoint. Jodi is a young English schoolteacher who finds a young Amish girl all alone on the side of the road. I don’t want to say too much else about the book to give anything away but this book was great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Endearing

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
msh09
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodi Winfield is an Englischer house-sitting in Lancaster County. On a morning run she finds a small, lost Amish girl named Sarah. The book grabs you instantly and I had a difficult time putting it down for awhile. During the point in the book when Jodi is trying to figure out what to do with the child, I found the story unbelievable. I just can't imagine that a person wouldn't dial 911 if they found a lost child. Other than that, I LOVED the book and would definitely recommend it.
Jodi finds Sarah's family and becomes entrenched in their lives. It is endearing how the relationships build. Another hit for Beverly Lewis!
I received The Guardian by Beverly Lewis from Bethany House in order to provide a review. This review is my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Visit To Hickory Hollow

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodi Winfield's cousins ask her to house sit in beautiful Hickory Hollow, Lancaster County, PA, nestled in an Old Order Amish Community. Shortly after she arrives, she finds a disheveled little Amish girl, alone, on the side of the road. In her efforts to find the child's family, she is introduced and welcomed into this cloistered world.
Jodi, engaged to Trent, is planning their wedding. There is one problem. Trent desires children, but Jodi, after the recent death of her sister Karen, has no desire to become a mother. Both ponder the wisdom of marriage with such opposite views.
The Hickory Hollow school is in need of a teacher for two months. When the school board observes the adoration of the Amish children with Jodi, the board asks her to substitute for two months. Will accepting this position change her mind on the subject of motherhood?
The Guardian by Beverly Lewis is the third book in the Home To Hickory Hollow series, but stands alone in its plot. Beverly Lewis is brilliant in her weaving of the characters and sub-plots. With each chapter, I became more intrigued with the residents of Hickory Hollow. What I thought was the main plot, was only a sub-plot in the mystery of this novel. It captured me from the first chapter until the last page. The Guardian not only entertains, but also gives the reader insight into the Amish community. You will enjoy a few hours of escape to Hickory Hollow, and look forward to your next visit with the fourth book in this series, The Secret Keeper, which is due on September 3, 2013.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Filled with Spiritual Wisdom

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodi is a young woman struggling to piece together her life after losing her sister. While her parents and fiancé all love her deeply there is something missing in her life. Since the loss of her sister—Jodi has given up on God. She has stopped talking to Him and that causes a void in her life that she can’t seem to fill.
Coming September,2013!
When a young Amish girl, Sarah falls out of the family buggy—it is Jodi that finds her and returns her to her mother. Sarah is drawn to Jodi and though her mother, Maryanna is worried about developing a relationship with Jodi she can’t say no to her youngest daughter.
Jodi begins to spend more time with Sarah and her family and her heart begins the slow process of mending while her faith begins to be renewed. Only time will tell if Jodi’s heart will mend enough to draw her closer to her fiancé and to her parents.
Maryanna is also dealing with her own silent grief—the loss of her husband, Benuel who was truly her best friend. She feels that she can never love another but also worries that her children are suffering without the firm guidance of a father figure in their life.
Local widower, Joshua is very interested in Maryanna. Having have lost his wife and unborn child in recent years, he is finally looking towards the future rather than living in the past. The problem is that Joshua was Benuel’s best friend and their neighbor which gives Maryanna a little inside look into what could be viewed as eccentricities.
I thought the story really wrapped up beautifully. Perhaps a bit predictable but we really wouldn’t have wanted it to end any other way. Mrs. Lewis seems to know what her readers expect of her and she delivers her stories beautifully. Filled with wisdom and encouragement in the faith her stories do not disappoint. I loved everything about this story, all the way down to the beautiful cover. Definitely a 5 star story and I cannot wait until my next trip to Hickory Hollow in “The Secret Keeper” which is due to be released in September 2013!!!
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently requested to review "The Guardian" by Beverly Lewis. I've read several of her books, and I like Amish fiction, so I was happy to see this book come up!
This book starts with a little Amish girl, Sarah, falling out of her family's buggy one evening. She is found the next day by an "Englisher" named Jodi. As Jodi returns Sarah to her family she forms a connection with Sarah's family, and as she gets to know them some of her hurts over her sister's death start to heal.
I enjoyed this book. Beverly Lewis's books are always laid-back and relaxing to read, and her characters are likable. Her descriptions in this book, especially, make me want to visit Amish country! I would recommend this book (or any of Beverly Lewis's books) to anyone looking for some good Amish fiction!
Note: I received this book for free from Bethany House in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another visit to Hickory Hollow

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best way I can think of to describe my reaction to The Guardian is a sense of peacefulness. The main characters have issues and conflicts to deal with, but the way their stories play out is through a growing sense of peace and understanding about their lives.
In contrast to what is often the case in Amish fiction, there is no Amish character trying to decide whether to leave the Plain community or no English person thinking of becoming Amish. Instead, the relationships between Jodi, Sarah, Maryanna, and others provide unexpected opportunities to learn from each other and grow through their differences and their similarities. Two women -- one Amish and one English -- have both experienced great loss and have a great deal to learn about love, priorities, and moving on in life. Although their lifestyles are quite different, they find themselves sharing their hearts in ways that help them both begin to heal. And I can't imagine reading this story without absolutely falling in love with little Sarah Esh, who comes alives on the pages through Beverly Lewis's skillful writing.
I highly recommend The Guardian to anyone who enjoys great Amish fiction and anxiously look forward to book #4, The Secret Keeper, due out in September.
This book was provided free of charge by Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love Conquers All...

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Guardian, by Beverly Lewis, is actually the third book in her series Home to Hickory Hollow. I was sure to borrow the first two books from our local library: The Fiddler and The Bridesmaid.
Let me begin by stating that you do not need to read the preceding books before this novel to be able to enjoy it. There is an independent feel to each book. They share similar characters and a similar location, but are developed well enough to read on their own.
The Guardian, like many of Beverly Lewis's books, takes place in the heart of Amish country. The backdrop is near Lancaster, PA, in the small town of Hickory Hollow. However, one of this book's main characters is not Amish, she's an English school teacher named Jodi Winfield.
Jodi is only in Lancaster for a few weeks, looking after her cousin's home and their cat. Jodi has recently been struggling with the death of a beloved sister and her heart is torn in pieces. She finds herself angry with God and it's affecting her relationship not only with her fiance, but also with her parents.
While jogging one morning, Jodi happens upon a little girl in her undergarments. The little girl is scared, shows signs of a recent accident, and cannot speak English. Ultimately, the little girl leads Jodi to the heart of Hickory Hollow, where she is reunited with her Amish family.
The other main character in this book is Maryanna, an Amish woman and the devoted mother of the little girl's mom. She's a widow, struggling to raise her children without the guidance of a father figure in her life. It's been three years, but she isn't sure she's ready to marry again. However, everyone around her is encouraging her in that direction, especially for the sake of her children. Will the one man who loves her most, a neighbor who's also a widower, be able to win her over?
These two women's lives become interwoven in this novel, as they quickly become friends. Jodi not only finds rest for her weary soul and comfort for her aching heart, but Maryanne recognizes her own heart's longing to be loved.
The book is far more developed than this short review. There are parts I haven't shared that I'm sure you'll find exciting.
Beverly Lewis has done an excellent job of switching up this novel. I really enjoyed it.
I received a free copy of this book to review for Bethany House Publishers. All thoughts in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luella Harris
Location:Mission Viejo, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always hate to start one of Beverly Lewis' books because I know that it will soon be over. She is my favorite Amish writer. I have a hard time putting her books down. This book was a little different than her other books, it was not one of my favorites but it was still really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

the guardian review

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"The Guardian" by Beverly Lewis is the third novel in the Hickory Hollow series. These do not need to be read in order. In this one, Maryanna, a widow with four children, is traveling home in the late evening when Sarah, her youngest, a five year old, falls from the wagon and is knocked unconscious. With all of the men in the Amish community looking for her, she falls asleep and is found by Jodi, a house sitting elementary school teacher who is out for a morning run. Jodi is also dealing with grief; her sister died from leukemia six months before. Maryanna's neighbor, Joshua, a widower, is smitten with Maryanna and looking for love with his neighbor; Maryanna is having none of it.
This novel is primarily about dealing with grief. In all the characters, their are three widows, two widowers, and a grieving sister. The plot is kind of loose with no real dilemma, but more of a how-to-deal with grief and how-not-to. This is not one of my favorite Lewis novels. But it is a Beverly Lewis, so it is still pretty good. I received this book from www.netgalley.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book

Date:May 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
simplysherryl
Location:Florence, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a heart warming and touching story. I found that I just wanted to keep reading. Strength, faith and community are pulled into one wonderful book.
This is an easy, light read. One that can be completed in a weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2013
The Guardian by Beverly Lewis is the third book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series. This is one of my favorite series by Beverly Lewis so far!
Jodi Winfield is house sitting for her cousins. Her sister died only six months ago and ever since then she has been very angry at God. She has stopped praying and going to church and has decided to never have any kids. But her fiancé, Trent, suddenly has a desire for children, and Jodi doesn't know how to deal with that. How will their relationship ever survive all of the issues popping up between them?
Things begin to change when Jodi finds a little girl while out jogging. She is asleep in only her undergarments and looks to have been crying. Jodi is surprised by how she immediately takes to her and lets her take her home to clean her up. Since the little girl speaks only German, will Jodi be able to find her family?
This is a wonderful story of God's love and sovereignty amidst the Amish and the Englisch. ;-) It will delight you from beginning to end and will leave you feeling satisfied with God's perfect timing in life.
I thought the ending was a little rushed, but overall it was a very good read.
I was given this book free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Guardian, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Guardian by Beverly Lewis

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodi is not Amish. She is house sitting for her cousin in Lancaster. While jogging she finds a child who doesn't speak English. She takes her home, feeds, baths and puts some thrift store donations clothes on her. Jodi is engaged and he is going to spend a year in the Mission Field, overseas. Jodi is doubting her faith and then discovers her teaching job has been done away with due to budget cuts. She makes friends with the little girl's family and even becomes a teacher to the Amish school at the request of the Bishop. You will see how each one of the main characters grow in their faith and love. Friendships are formed and Sarah's mother & Jodi become "sisters of the heart". Beverly always writes heart rending stories, faith, love, and makes the characters come alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>