Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Cassidy - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Cassidy - eBook

For Cassidy Norton, life as a seamstress in Token Creek is bliss, and what time she doesn't spend expanding her growing business, she spends with her friends and church family. But she hasn't always lived in Montana, and her past is beginning to creep up on her. Will she choose to share herself with the people she's grown to love? Will she have the strength to make all of her dreams come true?
Average Customer Rating:
3.627 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
13
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cassidy - eBook
Review 1 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassidy Norton spends all her days either working in her clothing shop, or spending it with friends from her church family. Despite the hustle and bustle of the small frontier town in Montana Territory, 1880, her life is full, rich and always interesting.
She hasn't always lived in Token Creek, and despite her close friendships with several people and families, she feels like she is keeping a secret by not telling her friends the full story of her past. Thinking she is safe with the people in a town she has grown to love, will the past catch up to her? Or will her reluctance to be honest and forthright cost her more than she is willing to pay?
While this western romance was an easy, fun read, I didn't understand why the author used the phrase "that lady"or "that man" instead of "she" and "he". It's simplicity is much different than I'm used to reading, but it seemed stilted somehow, and odd as far as dialogue goes.
The characters were as big as life, and the story moved along at a comfortable pace. The plot was interesting, and caught me by surprise several times. The characters grew in faith, fell in love, and grew closer together. Human emotions such as fear, love and forgiveness were explored, and the church family should be an inspiration to believers everywhere. A book I will read again and lend/give as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
coolJJ
Location:Bridgeport, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a good read! I like Lori Wick's books. She is a Christian writer and that is what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassidy Norton spends all her days either working in her clothing shop, or spending it with friends from her church family. Despite the hustle and bustle of the small frontier town in Montana Territory, 1880, her life is full, rich and always interesting.
She hasn't always lived in Token Creek, and despite her close friendships with several people and families, she feels like she is keeping a secret by not telling her friends the full story of her past. Thinking she is safe with the people in a town she has grown to love, will the past catch up to her? Or will her reluctance to be honest and forthright cost her more than she is willing to pay?
While this western romance was an easy, fun read, I didn't understand why the author used the phrase "that lady"or "that man" instead of "she" and "he". It's simplicity is much different than I'm used to reading, but it seemed stilted somehow, and odd as far as dialogue goes.
The characters were as big as life, and the story moved along at a comfortable pace. The plot was interesting, and caught me by surprise several times. The characters grew in faith, fell in love, and grew closer together. Human emotions such as fear, love and forgiveness were explored, and the church family should be an inspiration to believers everywhere. A book I will read again and lend/give as gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series!

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jenny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great series and a new favorite author of mine! It definitely captivated my attention and even had some slight suspense woven in. I am looking forward to collecting the rest of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Alfaro
One of Lori Wick's best series. Great overall read. if your looking for a quick read at the beach would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Grace
I loved this book, the ending had suprise also. I started with book #3 Jessie & bought the others. It is really worth it not only will you get clean enterainment also some faith increase in the message & lives they live, very uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Mustoe
This is the first book in the excellent series of the "Big Sky Dreams" books. I highly recommend it, along with the two booksthat follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Munson
Cassidy, Sabrina and Jessie. I loved all three books. What was so very special in each book, was the Christian message. So many times it made me think about how I was doing in my walk with the Lord Jesus Christ. I haven't read too many of Lori Wicks books, but after this I plan on reading all of them. Great writing!! Keep them coming. We need more books such as these. Felt like I knew these people after reading the stories. Other author I like are Tracie Peterson and Lauraine Snelling, because of the history research involved, but Lori Wick really gets to the heart of the Christian message through these wonderful stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Loretta Sanders
I love this book. The little town of Token Creek is so special. In reading the book you feel like its your hometown also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
The overall story of Cassidy was very romantic and contained some good action and suspense and I liked it. I did not like it as much as some other Lori Wick books I have read however. There was an awkwardness in the writing that I did not understand, every so often it would say "that lady" instead of "she" and it always made me stop and pause losing where I was because it stood out so much. I do look forward to reading Sabrina soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sally Fowler
I have read everyone on Lorie's books and continue to be amazed that she continues to come up with all her story plots. In this book the main character came to life, as a changed woman. In an attempt to leave her painful past behind. She came to life in a new and strange town. Having moved every 18 months for many years, I could identify with he reluctance with making new friends and wondering if they too had ulterior motives. She wanted to be accepted for who she was then, not for her past. There is some of that in most people.Keep up the good work Traci!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becca S.
I've read some of Lori Wicks books, and I've LOVED all of them! Even the ones that a lot of people didn't like, like Moonlight on the Millpond. I LOVED LOVED LOVED that book, so when I borrowed Cassidy, I was expecting it to be like the others, where I can't put it down no matter how hard I try, but I was greatly dissapointed. I found it rather boring. Actually very boring. I'm used to Lori's books being a little boring at the begining, so when this one was boring, it didn't surprise me. But I expected it to get more exciting which these books normally do when they get about a quarter way through the book, so I kept reading, but it didn't get more exciting. I'm not trying to condemn Lori, I know it must be hard being a famous author and having to keep getting new ideas that will interest both young and old, but I'm really surprised this one even got published.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Greer
I started this book thinking it would be great because I've read several other books by this author. But it was so boring I quit reading after about 35 pages. I am going to go back later and try to finish this book. I hope it gets better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
I thorougly enjoyed this book. I do like books that are from days long gone in our country. Just to find out how things end, I wanted to keep reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Johanna
I am a huge fan of Lori Wick (Pretense is my favorite book; I've read it at least 5 or 6 times). But this book is as dry as toast. I am about halfway through it and, while I've already figured out who Cassidy's "Mr. Right" is, there is very little evidence that they have any feelings for one another. This book is so shallow to me. I feel that part of the reason is because there are TOO MANY characters. I have counted at least 15 to keep straight and, to me, that is too many. I'm constantly reading a name and thinking "wait, who is that again?". I have been disappointed with the last few of Lori Wick's books so I don't expect that "Sabrina" will be any different. I just wonder what happened to the Lori Wick who wrote books I couldn't put down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kylee
I thought Cassidy was a wonderful book. Lori Wick still has her touch when it comes to writing. It was just down my allie! I loved the setting, characters, and the events!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sue Galucki
This book is not on par with Lori Wick's early novels. While her main characters are wholesome and heroic and there is a solid Christian message, the story drags. I am disappointed because I expect more exciting story lines from her after all these years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bethany
I used to love Lori Wick. She has series that I have read 3 times. Aside from "Sabrina" I have read every one of her books. She was my favorite author for a time, back when I was 12. However, as I've grown older I have started to expect more depth in the books I read. Her books lack substance. And not just the new ones. That may be what makes them such a great "light read". I really wasn't expecting anything spectacular when I read "Cassidy", so I wasn't disappointed. Still, I expected that it would at least have a plot. I wouldn't call this a story. It's more like a narrative. Just a series of events. This happened, she was happy, then that happened, she acted brave, he said that, she smiled. THE END. btw. This book has way too many happy people! Will I still read "Sabrina"? Probably. I don't expect it to be any better than Cassidy, but I've read so many Lori Wick books that it seems like a shame to stop now. If nothing else Cassidy was a great laugh.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Lacko
I like how this book had some mystery to it. It makes you wonder what is in Cassidy's backround that she has run away from. When you find out it is suspenseful. I found this book very enjoyable and I would recommend this for anyone who likes a little mystery and romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cassidy - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deana
I really enjoyed reading this book. It definitely wasn't as good as her others such as the English Garden Series or the Tucker Mills Trilogy. You sort of knew all along who she was going to end up with, but it was still worth reading. Sabrina was another good one. You need to read the book all the way through before writing a review. A lot of times Lori leaves the good stuff until the end. Great Job Lori!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.