Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook

Author Leslie Vernick is a licensed clinical social worker. In The Emotionally Destructive Relationship she addresses the devastating damage that can be done through emotional and verbal abuse and offers a biblical based hope for stopping it. Learn how to recognize abuse, stop it, and survive its impact on your life by embracing God's freedom.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Review 1 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
robertanthony87
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was great.
It is a very open dialogue that proved very convicting on some of my own destructive habits.
Recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very helpful in understanding destructive patterns

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
newfy1
Location:Upstate N.Y.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this to be very helpful in understanding destructive patterns,and how they are best dealt with in a Godly manner. It also helped to see my own strengths and weakness , equipping me to deal with situation more constructively , and in a way more pleasing to the Lord . I have seen an amazing difference in relationships I once struggled in.Leslie has wonderful insight , I would purchase again , publishings from this author. THANKS Leslie - Life is GOOD!!!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a God send when I needed it.

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
teener
Location:High Ridge, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard Leslie on Focus on the Family talking about this book. I checked the local library and they had it. I always had a feeling their was something wrong in my relationship to my husband, but could never put my finger on it.
The first sentence of chapter one in this book are the exact same words I have screamed to my own husband. I knew then that God had finally answered my prayer.
If you know in your soul that something is wrong in your relationship GET THIS BOOK. It is worth every penny and them some for the sanity and perspective it will give you. I liked this book on my facebook page and recommended it to several people.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is wonderfully written and very helpful!

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Butler, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would and did recommend this to many friends whom I think would benefit from this wonderfully written and helpful book! Leslie Vernick is an awesome Christian writer! I refer to this book and the scriptures she references to over and over! This book has inspired me to do the right things in my emotionally destructive relationship! Thank you Leslie!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye Opening

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has opened my eyes and helped me to understand what is
considered unacceptable. They say hind sight is 20/20. The relationship is now over but it is now time for healing and this helps to put it into perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book ranks #1 on this topic!

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerra Dooley
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the best I've read on the topic of abusive relationships. Leslie Vernick explains the importance of identifying (seeing) the damage caused by seven destructive themes (motivations) of the heart: pride, anger, envy, selfishness, laziness, evil and fear. Then she goes on to share how an emotionally abused victim (usually a woman) can stop the destruction through the choices she makes in how she responds to each situation. In the middle of the book, Vernick includes a section on "Understanding Biblical Authority, Headship, and Submission," exclaiming that "when a husband bullies his wife, his behavior does not describe biblical headship, nor is her forced 'submission' characteristic of biblical submission." She goes on to say that "Jesus cautions those in positions of authority - parents, husbands, pastors, and elders - not to misuse those God-ordained positions for self-centered purposes." In the concluding section of the book, Vernick shares how one can survive an emotionally destructive relationship. After reading this book without putting it down, I purchased another one to give to a friend, and I will have a supply on hand to provide for other women that come to me for godly wisdom on how they can respond to this silent epidemic that is sweeping our nation today - domestic abuse - that most often begins with a few unkind words and develops into full blown emotional destruction and other forms of abuse. If you suspect a relative or friend is living in an abusive situation, please buy them this book and give it to them in the absence of their spouse or abuser.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hope
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book literally provided an overnight miracle for my marriage. We had been at the brink of falling apart and were desperate. I had purchased this ebook for myself but my husband, without my knowing, stayed up all night to read it cover to cover after we'd had an intense argument. He said the next morning that he couldn't put it down. It resonated so deeply with him and opened his eyes to the dysfunction in our relationship that had caused years of pain and damage. We still have a lot to work through, individually and together, but we have hope and clarity we've never had. I in awe that after 20 years of living in a destructive cycle that God lead us to this $10 book and changed it all overnight. I am so thankful for Leslie Vernick's ministry and for God's powerful truth to lift us from despair. This book applies to ALL relationships, not just marriage, and is an incredible eye-opener to all dysfunctional habits in dealing with other people. It gives the abuser the straight talk they need to hear and the victim the power to stop the behavior, all backed by scripture. I honestly don't think there is any human that wouldn't benefit from reading this.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT!!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Woodyb
Location:Ft.Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have been married & divorced twice.....have tried to understand what my part was in these destructive relationships. This book has been PRICELESS in helping me understand much more about myself, but in particular that both of my ex-husbands were very narcissistic & self-absorbed, both emotionally and verbally abusive. While they were both masters at making me feel good about myself, they were setting me up to use & control me for their benefit.
I have had a teenage boy living with me for the last three years. Amazing....the same behavior as both my ex-husbands......much control and anger. This book helped me see Biblical love, to draw a line in the sand and say no more!
I highly recommend this book!!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a very useful tool for counseling

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gret
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I appreciate the application for counseling. As a Christian Counselor, I find that this author has a gentle, yet well-informed manner of presenting information that is clear and useable for clients. I especially like the easy-to-remember exhortaions to "speak up, stand up and step back" when needed. I look forward to seeing the workbook.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori Marion
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to read and process. I believe it gave valuable insights based on Scripture.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource for toxic relationships

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
goja
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book was an amazing read very simple yet profound. People in destructive relationships get so caught up in the chaos/havoc we lose perspective for common sense living. This book lays out an very practical approach to restoring sanity. If you are someone who finds themselves defeated in what appears to be a disasterous relationship or someone who wonders why all your relationships end in total chaos this is the book for you! Don't give up and don'[t accept defeat God has a good and perfect plan for relationship and He will restore Sanity according to His perfect Will.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gives empowerment

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
nurse85
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book for those of us in verbally abusive relationships. I was able to get insight and feel like I'm not alone in this. It empowered me to set some boundries. My husband has agreed to start marriage counseling, and I am already seeing some progress in our relationship. A must read book if you are in a destructive relationship.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a GREAT read!!

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
mare
Location:MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG! It's like reading stories about myself and getting recommendations about what to do (with God's help).
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
C. Lowe
An excellent book. Easy to read, easy to understand. Breaks this subject down so that one can easily identify this form of abuse. Written with compassion. Makes a "could be" difficult conversation, easier. Biblical references are relevant to content. Would recommend without any reservations. Author is transparent and book is written not just out of her professional qualifications but from her own experience.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anne Dreblow
A very helpful and balanced approach to a poorly understood topic. The author writes with sensitivity and clarity and biblical authority. A book that is filled with hope.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Glisson
The Emotionally Destructive Relationship book is an outstanding book for anyone to read. This book by Leslie Vernick is written in very clear and understandable language. It is especially an excellent reading for young people who are just starting out in the work force. I purchased four copies to give to my children and their friends, this way they would be better enable to deal with who they meet each day. I truly believe this book is important for anyone who is involved with people, at either work or play to read and understand it concepts. This book teaches you how to recognize the different way in which people deal with those they are meeting each day and thus allows you a way to protect yourself from those who are emotionally toxic to you. I would highly recommend it to everyone to read and understand.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joanne
This book has given me the best review of destructive relationships I have ever found. Leslie has great insight & experience with this topic, writes in a clear, direct, easy to understand style. It has given me great insight, courage, & confidence in my situation with a destructive person. I highly recommend this resource & will reread it many times myself, & is the first book I recommend to others who are struggling. It is soundly biblically based & life-changing! I could have used this much earlier in my life.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy
This book is clearly written and accurately describes the situation in many homes. The author's carefully laid out strategy of "speak up", "stand up", and "step away" are helpful. You learn to respect yourself again and confront the situation with love. Truth sets free!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jo Franz
Leslie's most recent book is perhaps her one of her most important. (And I've grown from each one!) Here is a practical, easy to read and understand, yet deeply biblical approach to knowing whether your relationships have crossed the line from being human--where we all hurt one another at some time or another and need to apologize and/or forgive--into being abusive. Many don't understand they are in an abusive relationship and therefore continue to be abused, feeling to blame. Leslie gives hope: "growth, healing, and restoration are possible, no matter how much hurt we've experienced." Then she gives our best example to follow--the life of Christ, who modeled good communication and boundaries. I love her scriptural explanation of "Why Stand Up?" to an abuser in our lives and "What is Genuine Repentance?" with, once again, Jesus' model of "stepping back." Having survived and thrived myself, I can say from experience, the "Surviving It" section will be helpful to anyone. This insightful book only confirmed much of what I've lived through, had to live out, and continue to stand firm in--the truth of what is mine to "own" and what is not. I will be recommending this book far and wide and reading portions of it when I speak to audiences!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emotionally Destructive Relationship, The: Seeing It, Stopping It, Surviving It - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michele Gutowski
This is an excellent book, if you are currently in or have been in a broken and emotionally hurtful relationship. I wish I would have read it years ago! I could not put it down, it explained so much!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>