Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2

Bethany House Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2

Drew Farthering wants nothing more than to finish out the summer of 1932 with the announcement of his engagement to Madeline Parker. Instead, he finds himself in the middle of another murder case. The family lawyer has been killed, a cryptic message stuck to the body with an antique hatpin. Drew is content to leave solving this one to the police, but when the dead man's widow asks for his assistance, he can't help but be pulled in.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 3697%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Review 1 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder can be deep...

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death by the Book
A Drew Farthering Mystery
By Julianna Deering
When Drew Farthering walks into a murder scene he is drawn into a mystery that is drawing closer to the Village of Farthering St. John. What game is the killer playing? And what do the cryptic messages pinned to the victims mean?
With no discernible link between the victims, Drew is putting all his sleuthing skills to work. All the while he is trying convince Madeline to accept his proposal of marriage. But when Aunt Ruth comes to save Madeline's virtue she seems determined to pack Madeline up and on the next ship home.
As the danger draws closer who will be the next victim? Nick? Madeline? Aunt Ruth? Drew?
Take a small step back in time to England for a mystery that just may give you a spine tingling shiver or two. Best read in a darkened room shortly before bed for full enjoyment. And a spot of tea is just the thing.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Bethany House through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2014
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this series! The back drop is the English countryside village of Farthering St. John in the 1930's. Drew Farthering is the main character who is a solid God fearing Christian man who has a knack for solving mysteries. Would highly recommend this book and series. I can't wait to read Book Three!
Publisher gave me this book to read, give my opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!!!

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death by the Book was an enjoyable first book that I have read by this author. Although it is the second in a series,A Drew Farthering Mystery, it was certainly enjoyable being read alone. Drew is an amateur mystery solver and becomes involved in solving the murder of the family solicitor. The book reminds me of the old mystery novels with frequent twists and turns.You never really knowing who the killer is until the very end. I definitely will go back and read the first book and any further books this author writes.
I recieved this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for a honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gentleman Detective, Murder Mystery and Romance

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julianna Deering in her new book, “Death By The Book” Book Two in the A Drew Farthering Mystery series published by Bethany House Publishers gives us another adventure with Drew Farthering.
From the Back Cover: When The Village Of Farthering St. John Is Stunned By A Series Of Murders, Drew Farthering Is Drawn again Into The Sleuthing Game.
Drew Farthering wanted nothing more than to end the summer of 1932 with the announcement of his engagement. Instead, he finds himself caught up in another mysterious case when the family solicitor is found murdered, an antique hatpin with a cryptic message, Advice to Jack, piercing his chest.
Evidence of secret meetings and a young girl’s tearful confession point to the victim’s double life, but what does the solicitor’s murder have to do with the murder of a physician on the local golf course? Nothing, it would seem–except for another puzzling note, affixed with a similar-looking bloodied hatpin.
Soon the police make an arrest in connection with the murders, but Drew isn’t at all certain they have the right suspect in custody. And why does his investigation seem to be drawing him closer and closer to home?
Drew Farthering is back. And not a moment too soon. Yes, there is a sub-genre called Cozy Mysteries where there is an amateur sleuth and most of them are pretty good. However the gentleman detective set in the 1930′s around a village in England is hardly ever done. Thank God for Julianna Deering and her detective Drew Farthering. His solicitor has been murdered Drew is not sure the police have picked up the right person. “Death By The Book” progresses at a nice, steady pace as Drew sets off to find out who the murderer really is with the help of his friends before the body count rises. “Death By The Book” is a page-turner, action, suspense thriller. Drew and his friends lives are in deadly danger as they try to sort out the lies and deceptions and identify the killer before he kills them. Don’t start this book late at night because it will be very difficult to put it down. I recommend this book highly and am greatly looking forward to the next book in this excellent series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy reading... for a murder mystery!

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Victory Girl
Location:NW Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Death by the Book" by Julianna Deering is the continuing saga of wealthy and handsome Drew Farthering. Another series of murders is happening in the small village of Farthering St. John, and "Detective" Drew is assisting local law enforcement in solving the mysterious hat-pin murders.
This book is light (for a murder mystery) and I enjoyed the small and subtle ways the author allowed Drew to share his Christian beliefs. I also appreciated that I didn't guess who the murderer was until almost the end.
This is a fabulous book for a sunny afternoon, sitting in the backyard, sipping a glass of iced tea. I'm looking forward to Drew and Madeline's wedding, but am thinking if Farthering St. John has yet another string of murders, there might not be any residents left! (Maybe there will be some sleuthing on the honeymoon???)
Disclosure of Material Connection: I was provided a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderfully fun

Date:May 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thereadmaster
Location:Davenport,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fun mystery with a little romance. Drew Farthering, Nick and Madeline make a fun team of amateur sleuths. Read these stories if you like a little mystery with very little blood and guts. I had a good time reading this and had a hard time putting it down. Quite a few twists and turns. I received this from book fun.com for a fair and honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

death by the book review

Date:May 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Death By the Book" is the second book in the Drew Farthering Mystery series written by Julianna Deering. It would be a good idea to read the first one, but not necessary. In this novel, Drew, an amateur sleuth in 1930's England, becomes involved in a serial killers' web. The Hatpin Killer begins killing in the area of Farthering St. John and the clues and murders get closer to Drew by the day.
In this installment, Madeline's Aunt Ruth is introduced into the story. Aunt Ruth in a hoot. She says exactly what you are thinking. You're gonna love her. For instance the observation that rich people around Drew just keep being killed is a little on the odd side. She's the only one that points it out. As for the writing, the dialogue takes a little getting used to as it is upper crust English of the 30's. They say "I daresay" an awful lot. However, the twist and turns, the clues, all lead the brain to try and figure it out. You will never see the end coming. I dare you to figure out the killer. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review from Bethany House Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mystery AND Great Historical!

Date:May 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sincerely enjoyed the first Drew Farthering Mystery, Rules Of Murder, loving the Agatha Christie references and the English feel, so when I got the chance to review Death By The Book I jumped at it as fast I could. I was not disappointed, the mystery kept me telling myself that I would read just one more page, one more chapter. Yeah, well, you know how well I kept to that plan.
Death By The Book was the perfect mystery! I was kept guessing from beginning to end and only started to get a faint clue who the killer was literally right before the big revelation. Julianna Deering knows how to get her readers interested and coming back for more.
As I got to know Drew and Madeline further in this book I liked them even more. They are a nice young couple genuinely care for people the people around them, their interest in solving the mystery is mostly to help the innocent and maybe even guilty people involved. They also enjoy their fun much to Madeline's aunt's dismay. Oh, wait until you meet Aunt Ruth, she is a real corker!
Fans of period stories and fans of mysteries are both in for a real treat in reading Death By The Book. Author Julianna Deering has the combination down pat. Don't miss a single Drew Farthering Mystery!
(I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“Death by the Book” by Julianna Deering

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drew Farthering is living in 1930′s England and is handsome, rich and the sole heir of the Farthering Place estate. He is also in love with an American girl, Madeline, who is taking her time declaring her love in return. Madeline’s Aunt Ruth has arrived from America. She is verbally overflowing with distrust for Drew, his intentions toward her niece, and all things British. It appears that if she has her way, Aunt Ruth will break the couple up.
In the past, Drew solved a mystery that involved his own family. The police had not been happy with his involvement. But now a murder takes place that so confounds the police that Drew is reluctantly asked to help out. While still attempting to solve the case, another murder takes place, and then another. All were clearly done by the same person, but who? As the murders continue, they are getting geographically closer to Drew’s residence. Could Drew be the main target, if so, why?
This book is written in the classic style of British mysteries penned by authors such as Dorothy L. Sayers and Agatha Christie during the time period between the two World Wars. Julianna Deering, writes so well, that one forgets this is a period piece by a modern author–it seems like it was actually written during the 1930′s. This story is highly entertaining, clean and written from a Christian perspective.
Ms. Deering weaves a rousing mystery that is not an easy-to-figure-out whodunit. When I read this, I thought I had solved it, only to find out I was wrong. I enjoy mysteries that are a challenge, and this fit the bill. This is the second book in this series that I have read, and highly recommend them both. However, this 5-star book stands on its own, so can be read and enjoyed without the first one.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was okay

Date:May 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle
Location:London, Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One thing author Julianna Deering got spot on in her murder mystery, "Death by the Book", was to make the unflappable Drew Farthering's character truly loveable. She so perfectly wrote his character and dialogue that I could hear and feel his swagger. The characters were all loveable and memorable but I found that half way through, I wanted the book to hurry up. It didn't feel like there were enough clues given for me to bother trying to guess who did it. (Mind you, I didn't see the real culprit coming)
Don't judge this book by the cover, it's better than the cover, but don't expect to stay up into the wee hours of the morning feeling the need to finish it either. It was amusing but not a page turner.
Oh, BTW, I got a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Fun Read

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnitaC
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a very enjoyable book that brought Agatha Christie to my mind. Drew is spending the summer wanting madly to get engaged to Madeline. Then the family solicitor is murdered and secrets begin to be brought to light. This book was a fun read, the characters were entertaining and the plot kept me involved. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves the works of Agatha Christie.
I was given this book by bookfun.org for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't put it down...

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Loretta
Location:Dallas, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers to review. I've actually never read a historical fiction book and was hesitant. But, I cracked the cover and couldn't put it down! A well blended mix of Mystery, Historyand Romance. Flows nicely. Keeps one guessing. I would recommend this book highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Classic Mystery

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Death by the Book
Julianna Deering
Book Summary: With Farlinford Processing and the family's good name safe again following the events in Rules of Murder, Drew Farthering wants nothing more than to end the summer of 1932 with the announcement of his engagement to Madeline Parker. Instead, he finds himself involved in another mysterious case. The family lawyer has been found dead in a Winchester hotel room, skewered through the heart by an antique hat pin with a cryptic message attached: Advice to Jack. Evidence of secret meetings and a young girl's tearful confession point to the man's double life, but what does that have to do with the murder of a physician on the local golf course? Nothing, it would seem. Nothing except for another puzzling note and the antique hat pin affixing it to the doctor's chest. Soon the police make an arrest in connection with the murders, but Drew isn't at all sure they have the right man. Could the killer be one of his society friends, or is it someone much closer than that?
Book Review: I will confess that I started with this book. I heard all the hype from the first in the series and was interested. I found the book to be easy to get into and the main characters of Drew, Nick and Madeline were likable and fun to get to know. It was obvious I came into the series late, but enough details were given about the first book, but not so much to spoil reading it. I liked Madeline’s aunt who was a great catalyst for the author to use to explain to those who joined the party late, like myself some of the background. This new mystery was a real puzzle. The entire book was well written and had an authentic historic British feel to it. While I enjoyed the book very much as a mystery I did not feel a tremendous suspense that anyone was truly in danger except for people that were introduced as peripherally. It was easy to read, but it was not till the last 10 pages that the mystery twisted to become exciting. Yes, it had a tremendous Agatha Christie feel to it at times, but the suspense was not that intense.
I would like to thank Bethany House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner by Julianna Deering

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Drew Farthering is drawn into sleuthing as four murders rock the town of Farthering St. John. Each body is found with a note and a hatpin. None of the victims appear to have anything in common, and it’s up to the team of Drew, Nick and Madeline to solve the mystery.
To make matters more intriguing, Madeline’s Aunt Ruth has arrived from America to retrieve her niece to come home. Drew is trying to impress Aunt Ruth while trying to convince her that he will be a good husband for her niece.
“Rules of Murder” was the first Drew Farthering Mystery and was a hit. The characters are fun and enjoyable. The story will keep you on the edge of your seat. Julianna Deering is on a roll. Hopefully, the Drew Farthering Mysteries will continue for many more sleuthing adventures.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kept Me Guessing Till the End!

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death by the Book is the second book in the Drew Farthering Mystery series by Julianna Deering. While you could probably read this book as a stand alone, I think your reading experience would be greatly enhanced by having read the first book of the series, Rules of Murder.
Once again, we follow Drew Farthering, amateur sleuth, as he and his friends try to solve a string of murders. And I just have to say that the first page of this book was one of the best I have read all year! It made me laugh out loud and I immediately read it to my husband, who also thought it was a great start to a book.
I love the characters in this series. Drew and Madeline have a sweet romance and Drew is so patient with Madeline as she tries to decide whether to agree to marriage. Nick is a great side kick and a loyal friend. I enjoyed the return of Chief Inspector Birdsong. His witty dialogues with Drew are great. I even grew to love Aunt Ruth by the end (and I really didn’t like her in the beginning)! I also love the setting of the early 1930′s.
The author kept me guessing till the very end of the book as to who the murderer was. There were so many victims and a very creative killer. Following the clues with Drew is exciting and never dull and I so look forward to reading the third book in this series.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author, through The Book Club Network, in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than the first.

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Location:USA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read Julianna Deering's book Rules of Murder at the very end of last year. I enjoyed it a lot, though I didn't absolutely love it like most people seemed to. There were a few things about it that didn't quite click with me, though I can't really explain why. Still, I was excited to pick up the second book in the Drew Farthering series: Death by the Book.
First of all, can I just mention how awesome these covers are, in their vintagey, coordinating goodness? They look so neat next to each other on the shelf. :)
I actually enjoyed Death by the Book a lot more than the first book! The beginning was a little slow (which is ironic because it opens with the first murder), but once I was drawn in, I flew through this book. I really liked the unusual mystery: several murders with apparently nothing in common but the fact that each victim has a hatpin pinned to their chest along with a mysterious message. (The messages turn out to be literary, which was a neat touch, I think.) I really had no idea how the mystery would be resolved until about fifty pages from the end, and then suddenly I had a sneaking suspicion. I rarely, if ever, guess the correct suspect, and my hunch this time seemed even more far-fetched than usual. But, amazingly, I was right! I'm still in shock. :)
As with the first book, I love the setting of 1930s England. I like Drew and Madeline's romance, though I did get a little frustrated with Madeline's inability to make a decision in this book. I loved the addition of her aunt Ruth. I've heard several people compare her with Violet (Maggie Smith) from Downton Abbey, and I think that comparison is fair...though Ruth seems to be a milder version. :) I do have to admit that I don't feel really emotionally connected to the characters, though. That's generally a big deal to me, but with mysteries I don't mind as much because I'm there mostly for the mystery. If I do happen to connect with the characters, then great. But it's not as much of a deal-breaker for me in mysteries as it is with other stories.
I also like how the author isn't preachy at all, but subtlety weaves Christianity into the plot. And considering that this is Christian fiction, but also a detective story, I'm pretty impressed that the author doesn't shy away from murders...multiple ones, in fact.
Aside from Madeline's indecisiveness and the fact that I sometimes had trouble keeping track of the many people connected to the victims, I was pleased with Death by the Book. I'm glad that this second book seemed to improve on the first one, and I can't wait to read the third book, which comes out in July! I really recommend these books to anyone who loves a good detective story, especially one reminiscent of golden age murder mysteries.
*Note: I received a copy of this book for free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She's Done It Again!

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
2boyzmommy
Location:Moorestown, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the recent string of murders that he helped to solve, Drew Farthering would like nothing more than to enjoy some peaceful, quiet days while he tries to convince Miss Madeline Parker to accept his marriage proposal. Unfortunately, things are not that easy. Once again, he finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation that gets closer and closer to home with each new body that's discovered. Will he solve the case before it's too late?
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. It kept me guessing right up until the very end.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in return for posting an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun read that keeps you guessing!

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachel Haugaard
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the sequel to Rules of Murder, the 1st in the Drew Farthering Mystery series. I read that book awhile back and really enjoyed it as well!
I am a HUGE fan of British mysteries. :) Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, etc. are all authors I really enjoy, and I love that Julianna Deering is a modern writer who writes in the style of the mystery Greats mentioned above....in fact, as her stories are set during the time period that the above authors were writing, the characters in Deering's stories are also huge fans of their work and can't wait for the newest Dorothy Sayers to be printed. :) I love this time period in British writing....I'm not really sure what it is about it, but I love the settings, the styles and etiquette, and the humorous writing styles many authors used. Julianna Deering's books fit very well into that period, even though she IS writing these books now and not 100 years ago.
This book picks up where Rules of Murder left off. Drew Farthering lost his mother and stepfather in the previous book, but met with the lovely Madeline Parker while trying to solve the case surrounding their deaths. He had hoped to be announcing their engagement by now, but the pretty American girl isn't so sure she's ready to take that step with this young Englishman/amateur detective. Then when her Aunt Ruth arrives from America determined to keep the two apart and return her niece to America, Drew has his hands full trying to win over both the aunt and niece at the same time he's trying to solve a string of mysterious murders. The victims were all found with odd notes pinned to them with elegant victorian-style hat-pins that make the murders even more confusing. And each death is progressively closer and closer to Farthering Place, Drew's home. Are the murders somehow connected with him? Will he or someone he loves be the next victim? And at the end of it all, Drew's faith and trust in Christ gives him the strength he needs to forgive the murderer, even when his own life may be in danger.
This book is one of those mysteries that keeps you guessing up until the end....you feel like you know all along "who dunnit" but the author uses clever plot twists and clues to keep you in the dark. I enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading book 3 in the series! :)
I was given a copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good story...characters felt distant.

Date:April 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Death By The Book by Julianne Deering was an interesting and fun read about a rich England man, Drew Farthing, who finds himself trying to track down clues to solve several murders that all seem to be coming closer to home. Although he isn't an investigator, the clues left behind and the constant thoughts of " who done it" keep him involved.
I enjoyed this read, but I didn't find it a thriller read or a book that I couldn't easily put down to do other things. That's rather rare when I'm reading a mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed the story, and the clues, but I was in no way attached to the main characters of the book. I didn't find myself thinking about or dwelling on them. I really can't explain why...they just seemed distant. I didn't feel as if I knew them well or was incredibly interested in them.
I did enjoy the story itself. Having not read the first, I wonder if perhaps I would know the characters better if I had. I somehow doubt it. I read another review that explained rather well how I felt about the characters themselves. However, because I did enjoy the story ( even though it wasn't a thrilling mystery that I couldn't put down), I just may read that first one to see if it changes my thoughts on this one.
I encourage readers to give it a try as it is a different kind of read, and I enjoy books that don't follow the regular traditions of Christian fiction. I would also recommend you read them in order. I didn't know this wasn't a stand alone book when I began. If you enjoy some humor thrown in with a bunch of Perry Mason like murders...give this one a try. I don't think mystery fans will be sorry they did.
I received this book through bookfun.org for my honest opinion which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Death by the Book, Drew Farthering Mystery Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mystery

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Death by the Book was everything I hoped it would be. The author did a fabulous job creating a cast of both main and secondary characters with a sprinkling of extras. I felt immersed in the story as the main character, Drew Farthering traveled about the village of Farthering St. John and nearby towns investigating a string of murders while still finding time to court the enchanting Madeline Felicity Parker. Drew and the constable try to decipher the cryptic clues left at the scene of each crime in the form of a note, but nothing seems to be making any sense and the only leads, leading no where at all.
One of the things I loved most about the book is that it kept me guessing until the very end, even after I thought I had it figured out. I also loved the superb job the author did transporting the reader back into the days of the 1930's.
This was the first book I've read by Julianna Deering but I'll be reading her first book, Rules of Murder, very soon. I would definitely recommend this book.
I was given a copy of this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>