Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Meant to Be Mine

Bethany House Meant to Be Mine

Ty Porter has always been irresistible to Celia Park. All through high school--irresistible. When their paths cross again after college--still irresistible. This time, though, Ty feels exactly the same way about Celia. Their whirlwind romance deposits them at a street-corner Las Vegas wedding chapel.

The next morning they wake to a marriage certificate and a dose of cold reality. Celia's ready to be Ty's wife, but Ty's not ready to be anybody's husband. As a professional bull rider, he lives on the road and can't bring himself to settle down.

Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 out of 4198%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Meant to Be Mine
Review 1 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Different

Date:June 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Location:New York, NY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Have you ever wanted to read the story after the I do? Well this is the story for you, but instead of a happily ever after scenario you get broken vows, a secret baby, and two very hurting people. Meant to be Mine's story plot is not your typical texas romance, but holds its own on the unique department.
The things that I did not particularly enjoy were the fact that gambling and having a girl friend while being married to another woman was looked upon as ok for a Christian. For the sake of testimony the author should have just left out that they were believing christians but rather fallen christians. The godly influence Meg and Bo provided in the story was very uplifting.
The romance that was rekindled between Ty and Celia was sweet and progressive not at all rushed. The road to rebuilding each other's trust was a bumpy, spiritual, and funny one. The incessant petty arguments, though very witty at times, proved quite tiring after awhile.
Addie proved quite different from the usual 6 year old with her mature and sensitive nature. She is most memorable for her beloved pink cowgirl boots. The author seemed to forget about Addie towards the end, so I would have loved for her to reappear more often, since Ty and Celia wouldn't be trying to work anything out if it weren't for her. She had the cutest daddy and daughter relationship with Ty.
We all know the gist of what the outcome is going to be for most books, so I felt that after some time the book dragged on to a slow stream; however, the sweet and sacrificial ending definitely made up for it!
I give Meant to be Mine a 3.5 out of 5 (the lack of christian righteousness was a big draw back.)
I received a complimentary copy from Bethany House in exchange for this independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best modern romance I've read so far this year

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There needs to be more books like Meant to Be Mine. Books you're sceptical about at first sight, but curious the more you read glowing reviews of them. Books whose excerpts eventually lead you to request a copy of them at the library, which leads you to savour every word in less than twenty four hours once the copy arrives. To me, Becky Wade's latest offering signals she's on her way to her writing career's apogee. Meant to Be Mine was so good ― it has been a full year since I've enjoyed reading a contemporary romance as much. Here are the reasons why.
Firstly, I am in absolute favour of character development in fictional stories and I've found that characters endear me to them with their words. If the dialogue is entertaining, my attention is held. Becky Wade has fleshed out characters who deliver just that as Ty and Celia Porter are absolutely hysterical people seasoned with just the right touch of sass and stubbornness. The girl is independent, serious, the guy is easy-going, determined... They couldn't be more right for each other. It has been a long while since I've laughed as hard at two characters who are teasingly always looking for each other Achilles' heel. Their dialogues are so witty, I think it's safe to say anyone is sure to get a laugh out of them. My only complaint? I cannot. believe. Ty. and. Celia. are. not. real. I refuse to!
Secondly, the themes flowing through it― and the way Wade conveys her message ― make Meant to Be Mine a remarkable book for me. I admit, my first impression was that this story would simply be a light one. I didn't know how profoundly it would reach out to me. I didn't know the author pondered on fear, rejection, guilt and more, weaving gorgeous reflections into the tapestry of her work. Celia, for example, mirrors my personalities on so many levels, I could relate to all her fears. Meant to Be Mine has a depth that is not preachy, but instead discerningly encourages the reader to meditate on forgiveness and the grace of God. That, is beautiful.
Thirdly, the story's convivial atmosphere :) In a world saturated with pain, many of us read to find hope ... imagination. In Meant to Be Mine, Wade takes a common premise ― rich boy, poor girl, both with secrets ― and tastefully develops it, with no flowery, absurd aspects. Once in a while, there is that story whose background may give us a sense of déjà-vu but whose author voice incites us to continue reading. This was the case for me with Meant to Be Mine. Neither Ty nor Celia is average, and neither is their story. These people are special. Flawed and quirky, but realistically so, and their romance is nothing short of delightful, blossoming at just the right pace and tying the knot of the story memorably. I thoroughly loved losing myself in a world where the hero is truly a knight in shining armour in love with a sweet girl. Loved the atmosphere... the feel of Meant to Be Mine. So creative. It made me laugh, brought me close to tears and, in the end, made me sigh in pure ecstasy.
Becky Wade's writing style is very enjoyable. I'm so glad to say I enjoyed Meant to Be Mine. My copy was borrowed from the library but I want to buy one! I've read all of Wade's books and, to me, this one, as her very best yet, deserves an award.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read!

Date:June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jenna
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. Talk about rejection of the nth degree. To think that you’ve finally getting your dream – marrying the man you are desperately in love with, only to be dumped the morning after your wedding…for another girl. Ouch.
The premise pretty much guarantees a crazy romance story – and it was! Crazy in a good way. Meant to Be Mine is a roller-coaster ride that I heartily enjoyed. With sparking chemistry, heart-tingling romance, and wonderful, down-to-earth characters, Meant to Be Mine is a winner of a romance novel. I’m so glad that Becky Wade made a series around the Porter brothers, and it makes me especially excited for the next instalment!
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Meant to be mine by Becky Wade is the stories of Ty and Celia.
Both of their paths cross and they begin to rekindle some of the flirtatious romance that was there before. In just a few days they make the decision to ''go for it'' and get married. Hours later there is regret and goodbyes and hurt that ensues.
Years go by and then their paths cross again. This time, there is a new person on the scene, one that wasn't expected but very much loved.
What makes this such a good book is it keeps you interested. The characters are filled with wit, humor, and authentic qualities.
If you enjoy romance novels then you'll for sure want this one on your bookshelf. A really good summer read.
*Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book for the purposes of a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness is Hard

Date:June 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Valri
Location:Vernonia, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this latest offering by Becky Wade very much. There are a lot of things you can takeaway from the book but I think foremost if Forgiveness. Without giving too much away, Celia and Ty decide to get married in Las Vegas on a whim one night and wake up the next morning, where Ty tells Celia he actually can't be married to her anymore and leaves. Celia is heartbroken, of course! Over five years later, Ty comes back to her to ask her forgiveness and finds out he has a child! Now they each have a lot of forgiveness to think about! They have to work on that the rest of the book and it's a long process because of their backgrounds and their personalities. It was realistic to me because people are different in their relationship to God and their backgrounds in Faith. Celia didn't have much at all so she was new to this. Ty hadn't been active in religion for a long time so he was coming back to it. They were also very different in their family backgrounds. I loved their daughter! She was darling! I would recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:June 11, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I had to sum up this book in one word, it would be "forgiveness." As I thought about what I would do in this situation, it broke my heart. I felt for Addie and for Celia. I wanted Celia to be loved and absolutely hated Ty's foolish choices. I don't think he realized how that one choice could affect so many people and change so many lives. I can easily relate to that. How many choices do we make that affect so many for good or bad?
I didn't like Ty at first. His selfishness made me want to give him a good talking to. I eventually got over my frustration with him and he found a way for me to like him. I found him humorous in some parts of the story.
My son is a huge bull riding fan, so I liked this aspect of the book. It was a nice change to the typical contemporary novels.
I have really enjoyed all of the books by Becky Wade. She knows how to grip her readers and not let them go! Can't wait to see what's next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Night Stand

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meant To Be Mine, a story of a one night stand, or married love for one night, and then not seeing each other for almost five years! That doesn’t quite sound right, but what Ty Porter tells his wife of about eight hours, the morning after their wedding, will and does break Celia Park’s heart. I can’t even imagine, the pain she felt, trying to place myself in her shoes, and the reality of what he says.
Flip ahead the five years, and that is where most of this book takes place, and we meet the result of that one night of married bliss, her name is Addie, precocious and loveable almost five year old. Enter a new or old depending on how you look at it Daddy, that you have never met. Now Ty, a professional and well to do Bull Rider, can give the little one anything she desires, but her Mom, is like a brick wall, and doesn’t want either of them hurt again.
Can Ty replace the trust he has lost, can Cellia offer what is so very hard, and Forgiveness as Christ has forgiven her? Wow! Yes it will take a lot hard praying, and trying to put myself in her shoes, it would be very hard. There are quite a few chuckles to be had, and a lot of bantering here. Ty comes from a family, which everyone would love to have, you can feel then wrap their arms around you, and they are there for you with more than a hug.
Can these two become a family and make it three? Or will the love of Ty’s life become available and finally say yes to him? How much is either Celia or Ty willing to sacrifice to forgive and make a home together? Once you start on this journey with them, you won’t be able to put the book down until you have all of the answers! Enjoy!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartache, Forgiveness and Romance

Date:June 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky Wade in her new book “Meant To Be Mine” Book Two in the Porter Family series published by Bethany House Publishers brings us into the lives of Celia Park and Ty Porter.
From the back cover: Ty Porter has always been irresistible to Celia Park. All through high school–irresistible. When their paths cross again after college–still irresistible. This time, though, Ty seems to feel exactly the same way about Celia. Their whirlwind romance deposits them at a street-corner Las Vegas wedding chapel.
The next morning they wake to a marriage certificate and a dose of cold reality. Celia’s ready to be Ty’s wife, but Ty’s not ready to be her husband. He’s a professional bull rider, he lives on the road, and he’s long planned to settle down with the hometown girl he’s known since childhood.
Five and a half years pass. Celia’s buried her dreams so that she can afford to raise her daughter. Ty’s achieved all of his goals. Or thought he had, until he looks again into the eyes of the woman he couldn’t forget and into the face of the child he never knew he had.
How much will Ty sacrifice to win back Celia’s trust and prove to her that their spontaneous marriage can still become the love of a lifetime?
I have a problem when I feel that there is going to be a lot of heartache that the characters will be going through I tend to back away from reading the story. However I enjoy Ms. Wade’s writing and really liked the first book in this series so I bit the bullet and picked up this book. I was correct there is a lot of sorrow and emotional pain that we suffer with along with the characters. However Ty and Celia are such great characters that we go through it with them knowing that, somehow, these two will get together and God will make it all right. Ms. Wade has taken what could become soap opera melodrama and kept it real and human. Ty and Celia are wonderful characters that live and breathe on the pages and we root for them all the way through the book. “Meant To Be Mine” is a marvelous story filled with great romance, forgiveness and learning to trust again. This book does not disappoint at all. I enjoyed it and I am already looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky Wade’s book shares a tale that ultimately shows readers that true love comes at a cost. If we really love one another, no price is too high. Like God sending His only Son Jesus to die for us when we were yet sinners and not looking for Him, a man and woman’s marriage is a but a glimpse of that depth of love and multiple opportunities to show forgiveness to each other. In the book, the fictional characters, Ty and Celia, get married in a quick Las Vegas chapel. When morning comes, so do the heartaches and challenges.
Five years later, Celia tells Ty about a daughter he never knew about. When she shares with him the news, it sets the course for them to come and face where their individual relationships are or aren’t with God. Secondly, it sets their hearts on a path to learn the true meaning of love and forgiveness for broken hearts that were caused by the other one’s words and actions.
As readers progress through the story don’t be surprised at the way the main characters, Ty and Celia, are learning how the other one has changed. When they married, there was a high school crush without really knowing each other. Now, as adults and parents, they go through soul searching, hoping to discover if their marriage is still intact.
As I read the tale, the more I became enamored with the deep theme of true forgiveness, the choosing to forgive another person whether we feel like we want to or not. I enjoyed seeing how the author had the main characters go through twists and turns in their relationship, which is very lifelike in the book. Relationships of any kind aren’t all smooth roads; there are bumps along the way, and God uses them to draw us first to Himself before we can give our hearts in other types of relationship. Celia learns that God helps us to forgive someone who has hurt us as she opens her heart to forgive Ty instead of holding onto bitterness.
A humorous aspect of the story is how differently Ty or Celia make up a story and tell it to their daughter while she drifts off to sleep. Ty, being a bull rodeo champion, is now faced with a totally new roll of being a Dad along with learning all about princesses and princes. Celia is trying to grasp the reality of love when the spur of the moment marriage to Ty is shattered by his confession the next morning.
Overall, the writing brought to my mind over and over again how God works all things out for our good, even when we aren’t aware of it. Don’t pass up reading this spectacular story of love and redemption!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:June 5, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh. My.
This book is amazing. I am pretty sure Becky Wade is my favorite contemporary romance author. She writes like I want to write.
This is Becky's third book, but only the second one I've read by her. I loved Undeniably Yours and wondered how Meant to be Mine could be even better. But I have to say I am pretty sure she topped it.
Meant to be Mine had my heart aching from the first pages. I don't know how she does it but she writes so real I feel it in my core. This was a book that had my mind so engaged I didn't get sleepy at all, yes, that sounds strange. I usually read before I go to sleep and I will read until I get tired. Well, I never got tired as I read this book and I finally had to just put it down and make myself sleep.
Celia is a wonderful, fun heroine. She's a struggling single mom trying to scrape by. I am sure there will be many readers how will relate to her. I love her sense of humor, she is one funny lady :)
And there's Ty...sigh. Wow, Becky describes him maybe a bit too vividly;) He's definitely flawed and has these plans that really aren't God's. He is way too charming for his own good.
I can't forget about sweet Addie, Celia and Ty's daughter. She's so sweet, I can hear her little voice in my ear as she talks to Ty for the first time after the finds out he is her daddy. So precious.
Overall I have to say this is probably the best contemporary romance I have read this year. If you are looking for something to grab your heart and a bit edgy this it the book for you.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great novel of forginess

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a good novel. I really enjoyed it. The characters are great. That Celia – she has a quick tongue inspired by a hurt that goes deep. She loves Addie so much and doesn't want her hurt by the man who caused so much hurt for herself. But Celia listens to God speak about forgiveness to her heart, well, sort of. Addie is just a dear. Her four and five year old character is so well done. She is precious. When Ty tried to create a princess story to tell her at bedtime, well, I laughed until the tears rolled. Ty sometimes irritated me. He is used to getting his way – even if he has to buy it. At other times I felt sorry for him as he was trying so hard to win Celia back.
The theme of forgiveness in this novel is huge. Celia's hurt is very deep and she struggles with it for a long time. It is so encouraging to see God working through both of these people toward forgiveness and restoration. Alongside is the idea of doing some kind of penance for a wrong done. Ty had been beating himself up for what he did to Celia. Forgiveness from God is sometimes hard to take.
The only detraction from perfection is that I felt the novel was too long. The typical barrier to romance just seemed to go on too long, the tension between the two erupting too many times. Other than that, a very enjoyable novel.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book through Litfuse for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantatic story!

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first books by Becky Wade and I have to say that I'm looking forward to reading more by this author. Meant to Be Mine is the second book in The Porter Family Series. Thankfully, it works perfectly as a standalone novel.
I want to start off by saying I loved this book! I loved how real the characters were. How real the surroundings and the atmosphere were. The book felt like how you lived and the people in the story were like that of who you interact with everyday, and I have to say when you have a story set partly in Texas, that is a good thing. There is no exaggeration of the Texas twang or culture. I could hug Becky for that! She captured the smothering heat of the summer perfectly, and I love the description she used, "Sunglasses not optional bright". I could picture the little town of Holley without a problem.
The writing of the this story was so life like, I wanted throat punch Ty Porter for a good part of this novel. Don't get me wrong, he had some good traits, but from my own personal experiences, he reminded me of someone I know who isn't as nice as Ty, and he grated on me a little, but it did open up to cheer for him when he work toward changing.
Celia, I could empathize with. She was hurt emotionally and was treated horribly and I didn't find anything wrong with her actions. She built a wall around her heart to protect her and her young daughter. She sacrificed so much to provide the best she could on her own for Addy. And I rooted for her through the whole story. I could feel her anger in this story and also felt it for her, especially in certain scenes where Addy is spoiled by big presents which weren't needed, and felt a bit like bribery instead. I did enjoy how she opened up and worked with the changes around her, despite at times it felt like she was pushed to certain things. Celia was fun and caring girl and loved her daughter with all of her heart.
This story reached out to me. I could understand and empathize where Celia's fears were and I just wanted to hug her. I did have to put the book down a couple of times because my own emotions came into play, but in all honesty, I loved how a book could grab me and hold on to me like that. I also enjoyed the humor that flowed throughout the story to give it a lightness.
Thank you to Litfuse and Bethany House, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my goodness!!
Meant to be Mine is definitely my new favorite by Becky!! I was hooked from the very first chapter. Putting the book down was torture! I wanted to dive right into the pages of the book and shake some sense into Celia, then I wanted to play princesses with cute, adorable, Addie, and lastly I wanted to smack Ty. Seriously, could two people really be so stubborn? Nonetheless, I loved them both and I admired Ty trying to make things right with Celia.
(minor spoilers ahead!) If there was one thing that frustrated me the most it was probably the "we can kiss, but we're just friends" deal Celia and Ty struck up. Making out when no one was looking? Really? They're both so intelligent it drove me nuts thinking that they could make stupid decisions. Other than that, they acted within common sense. (end spoiler alert)
Celia, as Ty put it, is beautifully imperfect. She strives to take care of Addie to the best of her ability. She protects the little girl like a Momma Grizzly. I was glad to see Celia become gradually more independent and trustworthy of others. Whether she realizes it or not, she really changed from the Celia we first meet toward the beginning. It's a good change, though.
I'm not going to say too much about Ty. He made a lot of mistakes in his past and it was sad for me to think he was inflicting penance upon himself (i.e. no church, no women, etc.). He ran away from the thing he needed most: God. He probably changed for the better as much as Celia did. I'm glad they both found what they really needed.
To quickly sum up then, Meant to be Mine is a treasure, forever to stay on my bookshelf. I fell in love with the simple way Becky writes and, of course, her characters. (I desperately wish I could hug Addie!!) She takes simple Christianity concepts and makes her characters struggle. The battle isn't easy, but watching them overcome is encouraging. I highly recommend this novel to those who enjoy contemporary romance with a deeper theme/message and I also recommend to girls sixteen or older for readability and content.
I received this book from Bethany House in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Story of Love, Forgiveness, and Second Chances

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The charming Porter family is back with a couple of new additions in "Meant to Be Mine." Becky Wade creates a story of love, forgiveness, and second chances with Ty Porter and Ceilia Park in the leading roles. The scene is set for their relationship in the prologue when an impetuous marriage leaves Celia heartbroken when Ty walks away from their vows. Fast-forward almost 6 years, and Celia is a single mother to Addie and struggling to make ends meet; while Ty is still an incorrigible cowboy. I immediately sympathized with Celia and her plight after falling for Ty's charm. I wasn't won over by Ty quite so easily because he came off as cocky at times. His character grows a lot throughout the novel as different revelations and events uncover a gentle and caring man under his flirtatious exterior. The relationship between Celia and Ty progresses at a pleasing pace, neither too fast nor too slow, and their shared history adds an emotional dynamic. Towards the end of the novel, parts of the plot reminded me of a modern, Texas-Style "Pride and Prejudice." Although readers see evidence of Ty's love and sacrifice for Celia and Addie, the unveiling of his sacrifices is a pivotal point in Celia's acting on her feelings.
Some of the sweetest scenes revolve around Addie. Becky Wade paints an adorable portrait of Addie in her glasses and pink cowgirl boots. Her character feels real and well-balanced between serious, cute, and insightful. Other supporting characters add texture to the cast, especially Uncle Danny with his surfer-dude mentality and penchant for online dating adding a touch of humor. The Porter family is an endearing group who I will enjoy seeing in future novels in the series. There is clearly a story to be told about Ty's brother, Jake and I hope that Becky Wade will make him the focus of her next book. "Meant to Be Mine" is solid story of love and family that will grab readers' hearts.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this book from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Astonishingly good

Date:May 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Astonishingly good! Mind boggling, actually. I about devoured this book in one sitting because I didn't want to put it down. Wade has such a way with characters. They are real, flawed and completely relatable.
I really empathized with Celia. I felt like I was right there, in her skin, feeling absolutely everything from outrage to hurt to desperation. And I actually joined her in a good crying jag. I still have the stuffy nose to prove it!
Ty is the most frustrating/adorable hero I've ever met. He's totally incorrigible. A major flirt. Completely self-absorbed (when we first meet him) in a generous kind of way...if that makes any sense. If it doesn't, you just need to read the book to understand. But he hurt Celia terribly...really, really, really hurt her. I felt the knife plunge through my heart so I know. Watching him grow was both exasperating and euphoric.
Meant to Be Mine has one of the best inspirational threads I've ever read. Honest and raw and uplifting all at the same time. This should definitely be on your summer reading list and be sure it makes its way to the top of your TBR pile lickety-split. It's was so good I might just read it again.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you love cowboys and romance, pick this up!

Date:May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No matter where we try to hide, love can always find us if it was meant to be. For Celia Park, she has always dreamed of falling in love with Ty Porter since she first laid eyes on him in high school. Only no matter how nice Ty was to her, she would never be anything more than a friend in his eyes. But that was so long ago and now that Ty is a famous professional bull rider, and while she is trying to find a way to make her dream of owning a bakery a reality, she never dreamed fate would intervene.
While Ty was in Las Vegas for a bull riding show, Celia also happened to be there with her friend Lacey, that insisted that they get together with Ty and one of his friends. Call it double dating or simply life as it was meant to be, but for the next four days, Celia was living her dream. Ty took her out on dates and acted just like the man she dreamed he could be if only God would give them a chance. On their last night in town, sitting at a craps table in Las Vegas, Ty made her a promise. It was all or nothing. If she rolled a 7, he would marry her. Not about to pass up a sure thing and believing Ty was just kidding, she rolled a 3 and 4. Ty did more than double his money. He was going to make sure he was a man of his word.
When they got married in the cheesiest wedding chapel in Las Vegas, Celia wondered when she would wake up from this dream. She didn't realize it would happen the very next morning when Ty confessed that he was in love with another woman and he regretted making the decision to marry her. It would be the last time, she would ever believe anything Ty Porter would ever tell her again. In fact, she would make sure that their paths would never cross again. But five years and one night in a Las Vegas hotel room on their honeymoon would change things in both of their lives. Ty continued to make it rich riding bulls in the rodeo circuit attempting to pursue the one girl he had hoped to marry someday. For Celia, she gave up those fanciful dreams of falling in love and living happily ever after, even though those were the very fairy tales stories she insisted on reading to her daughter, Addie. But her version of those fairy tales wove a different story of princesses that could take care of themselves and didn't need a handsome prince to rescue them, even if her heart did.
I received Meant to Be Mine by Becky Wade compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. I can honestly say since my first novel from Becky Wade, she is one of my most coveted authors. She takes a romance lovers heart for a wild ride in each of her novels. You can't help but want true love to be the end of her novels, but she gives you something much more than that. She provides a way for you to truly care about each of her characters so much, that you simply can't lay your book down and attempt to finish anything else until you are done. Meant to Be Mine spoke to the cowboy lover in my own heart who captured mine almost 20 years ago and never let go. I can't wait for more novels from Becky Wade in the near future and easily give this one a 5 out of 5 rodeo stars!!! This is the second novel in the Porter Family Series with Undeniably Yours, conveying the love story of Meg and Bo's marriage as the first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
randomamb
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meant to Be Mine is an unconventional love story. Celia has always been in love with Ty, but they’ve never actually been a couple. They meet up in Vegas and begin a whirlwind romance that ends in marriage (after 4 days!). Celia couldn’t be happier, but then Ty reveals that he’s in love with someone else. The story picks up 5 years later when they next see each other.
This book is such an easy read! I love not having to “work through” a book. Every character is extremely realistic and Wade endears us to care for each one. One of my favorite things about Meant to Be Mine is that it’s set in my great state of Texas! I have to admit, I probably moved this book up a star when Wade first mentioned the Texas Rangers. Being that I never miss a game, I couldn’t help but love the couple in the book who have season tickets and constantly sport their Rangers gear. Apart from that, the spiritual aspect of the book is extremely well written. If you like the way Karen Kingsbury approaches religion in her books, I think you’ll like Wade’s work as well. She doesn’t force the story. For instance, at a point in the book Celia’s prayers are answered, but the answer is no. A lot of Christian Fiction tends to sugarcoat life and have everything turn out perfectly all the time, but that’s not at all realistic. Wade did a great job of keeping things balanced. The book is mainly romance, but there’s a little bit of suspense thrown in as well. I’d recommend Meant to Be Mine to anyone who likes Christian Fiction or Christian Romance. If you like Meant to Be Mine, make sure to check out Undeniably Yours, the first book in the Porter Family Novel Series!
*I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Summer Read

Date:May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Becky Wade has done it again. I cannot put down her books when I start reading them and this was no exception. Having Texas play a part in the setting was also a bonus as I am in the process of moving there. I might have stopped reading other books in my excitement of receiving this book. Between getting this book and moving 14 hours away from home, I've gotten a little behind in my reading. :)
The story line was different than what I expected but it was funny, heartwarming, and redemptive. I like how the book highlighted forgiveness. There is so much grace, freedom, and reconciliation that result from it and the book represented that well. I look forward to the next one!
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
*I received this book free from Bethany Publishing House for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Meant to Be Mine.

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Location:USA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Becky Wade has become one of my favorite authors in the Christian fiction genre lately. So of course I was excited about her latest release, Meant to Be Mine. I didn't really know what the book was about until I received a copy and read the back...I just knew that it was somehow connected with Undeniably Yours, because they're listed as part of the same series on Goodreads. It turns out that the main male character in the new book is the younger brother of the main guy in Undeniably Yours. (I'm really hoping this means that Jake's story is coming next?)
First of all, I have to say that this story might not be what you'd usually expect from this genre. It starts off with a spontaneous wedding in Las Vegas and involves a "secret baby" plotline, but I don't want to spoil anything so I won't say much else about that. (That information is included on the back cover, so I don't feel like I'm giving anything away.)
I love Becky Wade's writing style. It just seems so realistic. Her characters often think or speak in ways that I feel are really natural, instead of having that stilted or awkward feeling that sometimes happens in contemporaries. And though she's not overly descriptive, one of the things that I've noticed (with all of her novels) is that I can clearly picture the settings and characters and exactly what's going on.
I really liked Celia as a character. She was likable and I could definitely understand her motivations for her actions and all of the reservations and mistrust she had during most of the story. The bedtime stories that she told Addie cracked me up. :) Speaking of Addie, she was adorable. Ty, on the other hand...well, it took me a while to warm up to him. He doesn't exactly start off in the most positive light! And since I had just read about his brother Bo, who's such a nice guy, it made Ty's flaws seem even more noticeable. By the end of the book, though, I had come to appreciate Ty. (One thing I did love right from the beginning is the fact that he's a bull rider. Random fact: I used to love to watch bullriding, and when I was younger, my family went to a PBR event every year. We even went to a few local bullriding events.)
The pace of this book felt a little slower and more relaxed than with Wade's first two books. I guess that's because there's a sort of deadline in both of those, but here it's just about the lives and relationships of the characters. Of course, I don't mind a slower plot in the least.
I really enjoyed Meant to Be Mine. I was honestly expecting it to be a little similar to Undeniably Yours (a Texas-style love story), but it was so different. I still think Becky Wade's first book is my favorite of her three so far, but this one cemented my love for her stories. I'll continue to pick up whatever she writes...and keep my fingers crossed that the third Porter brother's story is coming soon. :) And what about Dru? I'd like to hear her story, too...
*Note: I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Meant to Be Mine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great summer read

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for an easy summer read, with a feisty main character, romance, and even some humor, look no farther. You will truly enjoy it. This book was a pleasure to read, delightful tale and yes, had some very real , unexpected problems. Becky Wade touched on some delicate subjects, gambling, drinking, taking prescription drugs for reasons other than the intended use, and having a girlfriend when legally married to another woman. However, this was done in a very appropriate manner and was very much part of the storyline. As a Christian, I did not find it offensive or inappropriate. These are very much a part of lives in our world and I loved how they were challenges for these young people to overcome. Only with God's help can you achieve success. and this was clearly the answer.
Ty Porter and Celia Park were an item in high school, in Celia's mind, although not reciprocated by Ty. When they meet again after college, the magnetic pull is even stronger than before. This time, Ty seems to feel the same way about Celia. Their whirlwind romance results in a very quick decision to be married in a Las Vegas wedding chapel.
The following morning, they wake not only to a marriage certificate but to cold reality- Celia is ready to be Ty's wife, however Ty is far from ready for this relationship! He is a professional bull rider and has no plans to settle down with this hometown girl. Living on the road is his life and he loves it!
The story jumps five and a half years ahead. Celia has devoted her life, forgetting her dreams, so that she can afford to raise her daughter. Ty's achieved all of his goals. Or, at least, he believed he had, until he once again meets up with Celia and into the face of a child he never knew he had.
Can Celia forgive Ty for the past? Can Ty sacrifice his current lifestyle to win back his lovely wife and gain a sweet daughter???
The well developed plot moves ahead quickly, with many twists and turns. Becky Wade is a champion at adding the unexpected to complicate the situation. She does deal with sensitive topics for Christians, but does so in a very real way, showing that God can win in all paths of life.
I fell in love with Celia in the first chapter and fought her battles alongside her. She was so easy to identify with, a strong, young mom, with roadblocks appearing in every chapter of her life. Her intense feelings for Ty made me dislike him and to just want him to go away!!! A good book is one in which I can identify with the characters and I sure did it!!!
Congratulations, Becky!! A great book, not what I expected, but that is exactly why I loved it!
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. and Bethany House. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.