Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT

Bethany House The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT

Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan were destined to be together...until the tragic deaths of Emmalyne's youngest sisters. Family tradition mandates that the youngest daughter should remain single to care for her parents in their old age, and now that daughter is Emmalyne. Her father unyielding, Emmalyne surrenders to her duty, heartbroken. Tavin leaves town, equally devastated.

Years later, Emmalyne's family moves, and she and Tavin meet again. Their feelings for each other are as strong as ever, but their painful past and Emmalyne's father still stand between them. Soon both families are in the midst of the growing conflict rising between the workers at the granite quarry that Tavin's father owns and operates. When a series of near-fatal accidents occur, Tavin must figure out who is behind the attacks before someone gets killed.

Average Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 2896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Review 1 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An enjoyable Read

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wilani
Location:Franklin, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book even though there were some very sad moments in the book. It was refreshing to see a heroine trust God even in the difficult times and obey. When people move away from God and make wrong decisions. They affect not only themselves but also others. Yet God is still the God of miracles and can bring healing. Tracey is an awesome author and I want to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Set in St. Cloud, Minnesota, "The Quarryman's Bride" by Tracie Peterson features the story of Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan. Emmalyne's father rules his family with an iron fist, showing very little love and compassion. After her younger sisters are killed in a tornado, she is torn apart from her fiancee, Tavin, when her father declares she can no longer marry but will be required to care for her parents, as is tradition for the youngest unmarried daughter. Tavin attempts to convince Emmalyne to elope, but she refuses out of a desire to honor her parents.
Eleven long years have passed. Emmalyne has faithfully served her parents and Tavin has performed a number of different jobs, traveling to different parts of the country, in an attempt to forget his love for Emmalyne. When Emmalyne's father returns to the quarry business he left eleven years ago, circumstances reunite the couple and they rediscover their love for one another.
Mental illness is a side plot that runs through this story. Emmalyne's mother suffers from depression and Tavin's sister suffers from severe mental illness occurring after the death of her husband. It's a great look at a common, but much neglected topic in Christian literature.
Overall, the story was good. The second book in the trilogy, it wasn't quite up to par with the first book in the series. There are enough twists and turns to keep the reader engaged in the story.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Historical Romance

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an extremely difficult book for me to review. First of all, it is a historical romance, and it written by one of the my favorite Christian authors. I was enthralled with the Christian message and sound Biblical theology, and I the exceptional writing captured my mind and spirit. I was able to connect with much of the story, and I found myself actually caring about what each character was experiencing within the story. Though a sweet, clean romance, there are some realistic portions where the author deals with mental illness, union activities, and the questioning of God's goodness. The book has most of the elements to make it an outstanding story.
I struggled to separate my dislike of a few of the story elements from the actual review of the book. I did not like the ending, and I wished that happy endings were not so expected in romances. I was hoping for an open-ended conclusion and possibly a sequel in order to solve the love triangle. Redemption is an part of the story, but I just felt that some of the story seemed contrived. An organic story where things don't always happen like they should would have resonated with me better. I just never liked Tavin. Gve me the doctor any day!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Family tradition was a sad part of this story.

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Location:Conway, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good historical and romatic read. Story did have a happy ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Quarryman’s Bride is the second book in Tracie Peterson’s series the Land of the Shining Water. It is set in Minnesota in the mid eighteen eighties with a great deal of references to the cities and the landmarks in the area. There seemed to be a lot of research done in that area. While the story itself was a good one and it kept my interest it would not be what I would call a page-turner where I’m up at all hours of the night because I have to know what is going to happen.
The story is set around Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachan who are young, very much in love and all set to marry when tragedy befall the Knox family and Emmalyne father refuses to let them marry.
Emmalyne and Tavin are a cute couple when they are together, although Tavin in the beginning really annoyed me. When Emmalyne’s father breaks their engagement, Tavin doesn’t put up much of a fight, he just seems to let her go. That seemed kind of odd given the fact that he was supposed to have this great love for her. Emmalyne in my opinion did the only thing that she could do, which was stay home and take care of the family as her father wanted. Although throughout the book she does question what it means to honor your father and mother and if she did the right thing in staying with her family instead of running off and eloping with Tavin which is what he wanted. It raises some interesting questions about where that line is drawn in obeying God and obeying your parents.
Emmaylne’s father Luthias and Tavin’s father Robert were the great contrast in how human beings handle tragedy in their lives. Luthias, who turned away from God and his family, becoming selfish and bitter, while Robert embraced God’s love and lets Him help him through it.
I really thought the author did a marvelous job in how she handled the two characters that were dealing with deep depression. The confusion of the two families on how then handled it, the discussions about how mental illness was handled by most doctors of the time, but what I found most interesting was Dr. Williams and the “new” ideas that he brought to the table.
There were a couple of loose ends that I wished the author would have addressed, but all in all it was a decent book and I will definitely recommend this book to other readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Kind of boring...

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Quarryman's Bride was not one of Tracie Peterson's best books. She tried to make several places exciting, but they did not last very long and were not that exciting. This was not the the worst book I ever read, but it definitely was not the best. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys slow-paced historical Christian fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Events Throughout

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book two in this series by Tracie Peterson. The first book is The Icecutter’s Daughter and the third is The Miner’s Lady. This is not one of my favorite by this author. The characters are interesting but not intriguing. I found the story line a bit unbelievable at times. Who is engaged and then leaves with their family anyway! I just don’t see that from a young person. Once you get past the basic story though and follow the different events the story does get better. I gave this book 4/5 stars. I do think you will enjoy the book I just don’t see reading the book a second time!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book and gorgeous cover!

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Isn’t this cover gorgeous?! I love it, it’s one of the reasons I decided to read.
I always say not to choose a book based on the cover but sometimes it works out! This is one of those times!
I really enjoyed this book. It was the first I’ve ever read by the author but I’ll definitely be picking up more of this series in the future.
This story deals with a lot of grief and loss as well as mental illness. I thought that it was fairly realistic and didn’t lead to false illusions to what can happen when a person suffers from a mental break and while I was very sad for how some of the story concluded; I felt that it was realistic and that folks could connect to this very human and realistic element.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A sweet historical with some important lessons

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been enjoying Tracie Peterson's books for several years. Hers were some of the earliest Christian Fiction that I read as a young teenager looking for good and clean books to feed my reading habit. I have never been disappointed in any of Tracie's historicals and The Quarryman's Bride lived up to and even exceeded my expectations.
The characters were interesting and varied. All of them had problems of some kind that they had to work through and attempt, with God's help, to overcome. There is redemption and happy endings for some but not others, I really appreciated the touch of reality in that.
Emmalyne sometimes seemed a little too good but I think that was because she actually tried to do the truly Christian thing. Her father makes things very difficult for her but when she realizes her bitterness towards him she tries change her heart and attitude through prayer and actions. Her care tender of her mother is admirable and touching.
Tavin was a little bit of a different hero in Christian Fiction. He has quite a temper and isn't the usual easy-going, understanding guy. He is honest and the other characters know where they stand with him, if he likes them they know it and if he doesn't, well, they figure it out pretty quick. He is also faithful to Emmalyne, even though he harbors resentment for her obedience to her father, he doesn't rush out and marry someone else, instead has buried himself in work for over ten years.
The Quarryman's Bride was well researched. I learned little details about quarrying and the transport of the finished product. I love historical fiction but get impatient when an author spends more time describing fashions than actual history. To me, historical fiction should impart historical fact and information in an entertaining and easy to read manner. The Quarryman's Bride did this very well, I learned but it wasn't a bunch of dry and boring dates.
Another thing I liked about this book is the location. We have all read the stories in New York, Texas, California etc. so it was really nice to read about place that doesn't really get much page time in fiction. Tracie's descriptions of Minnesota, specifically the St. Cloud area, are lovely and informative. That little movie-screen-in-my-head was whirring busily with this book, it took a few seconds to readjust my thinking to my own home and yard.
To sum up, Tracie Peterson has another winner and a fun read in The Quarryman's Bride. If you enjoy historical fiction that check out this book.
(I received this book from BethanyHouse in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
love to read
Location:Helotes, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Second in Tracie Peterson's series, I liked this book better than the first. I liked the characters and the storyline. I especially liked the theme of no situation is too impossible for our God and it is never too late with our God, his timing is perfect. If you read this book I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Settle in for a good story

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristine Morgan
Location:Littlefork MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tracey Peterson's The Quarryman's Bride is a very good story about a young woman who chooses to honor her G-d at the expense of her own love. Emmylyne and Tavin are only weeks from their wedding, when tragedy strikes and Emmylyne's 2 little sisters are killed. Now she is the youngest remaining daughter and her father demands that she follow family tradition and remain single to care for her parents. Following Biblical command to obey her parents, she bids Tavin farewell and moves to Minneapolis with her parents.
Eleven years later she and her family return, but they need G-d to perform a miracle. Tavin has also been gone and returns home within days of Emmylyne...does G-d have a plan for them?
I love this story, first because it is set in Minnesota and second because it is a wonderful story of the power of forgiveness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
This review is fromThe Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Waters Series #2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not just a happy little love story

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is a deep, gritty story of a girl torn between love and duty to her parents. When she makes the choice to do her duty, she has only a life of servitude ahead of her. She makes the best of things and her faith in God is what is sustaining her - that and not thinking of what might have been. But what will happen when Emmalyne and Tavin are suddenly living near each other?
For Tavin's part, he has to work through the bitterness and hate that has overtaken him and learn to forgive those who have wronged him before he can hope to find peace. The author did a good job of this without either making it seem trite or making him into a horrid character no one could like or identify with.
This is the second book in the Land of Shining Water's Series. They are stand alone stories so they don't need to be read in any particular order.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
- See more at: http://papertapepins.blogspot.ca/2013/07/the-quarrymans-bride-by-tracie-peterson.html#sthash.2WmGgwyu.dpuf
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emmalyne Knox is torn between the love of her heart, Tavin, and the duty she feels to her family thanks to an age old tradition. When a tornado destroys the Knox's home town and kills two of Emmalyne's younger sisters, her father becomes unrelenting in his harshness and bitterness. Tavin and Emmalyne were to be married soon, and due to this tragic event they are torn asunder through guilt and pressure of her family.
11 long years pass before Tavin and Emmalyne are reunited. But this reaquaintance isn't wonderful. Many buried feelings of hatred and despair have built walls around their hearts. Through the grace of God and time, Emmalyne and Tavin realize that their love is even stronger today than it was 11 years ago.
Go on a journey with Emmalyne and Tavin as they forge through their battles and the daily battles each of their family members face.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Love Worth Waiting For...

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Quarryman's Bride, by Tracie Peterson, is the second novel in the series, Land of Shining Water. This novel is the story of young love, sacrificial obedience, soul searching, and reconciling redemption.
Set in late 19th Century St. Cloud, Minnesota, tragedy strikes, tearing two families apart. Emmalyne Knox is forced to chose obedience to her father's wishes, over a life filled with love to the man of her dreams. Their wedding is called off, only weeks before the date, when her father uproots his family, moving to another state. After the passage of eleven years, the family unexpectedly returns to St. Cloud where Emmalyne is forced to revisit her past, though events have changed the lives of people she once held dear. Circumstances cause Emmalyne to examine her heart and the feelings she has toward her father. She is also forced to confront her greatest fear, seeing the man she left behind all those years ago. Is there any hope that love has remained constant, through heartache and time?
While I enjoy reading novels by this author, I did feel that the book moved very quickly at the beginning; I struggled with the hasty transition. However, she worked to redeem herself after the eleven year lapse between chapters one and two. The book was not entirely predictable, though some parts seemed a little forced and didn't seem to flow. The book lent itself to being a good love story. There are some historical references throughout, as well as some minimal insight into the time period, but nothing extensive. Overall, I thought it was a nice book and an enjoyable read. I would recommend it.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for the purpose of review. All thoughts in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane Maurer
Location:Denver, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book with the expectation of an in-depth story and was not disappointed. I did feel though that the gospel was given clearer in this book than some others of Terrie Peterson's. We need more of that these days because society is so "loose" morally that behavior and thoughts based on God's Word is what we need to promote. Thank you, Terrie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hopeful Story of Reconciliation

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Quarryman’s Bride" is the story of Emmalyne Knox, a young woman who chooses to sacrifice her personal dreams for the future in order to honor her parents. In doing so, however, she finds herself a victim of abuse and neglect. With great courage, she entrusts her circumstances to God, believing He will use her life to bless the people He has placed her among. Hers is a story of trust in, faithfulness to, and reliance on God.
In contrast, Emmalyne’s former love, Tavin MacLachlan, also a victim of her circumstances, reacts to their broken engagement by running away from everyone he knows and loves—Emmalyne, his family, his God. When trouble at home calls him back to help his family, his own spiritual and emotional healing begins.
I love this story! I love seeing how an author, like Tracie Peterson, can show, even through fiction, how God can work in the lives of people who place their trust in Him and how He also can work through life events to bring the runners home.
Note: victims of abuse may find the opening chapters of the book to be stressful. They also need to know that the outcome presented in the book is only possible when all people involved choose to listen to, trust in, and follow God. However, the story offers hope of reconciliation, something all people need.
I thank Bethany House Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect when I started The Quarryman's Bride by Tracie Peterson since I had never read one of her books before. I feel like Christian romance can be highly variable on quality, depth, likability of the characters, etc. But I was pleasantly surprised with this book!
Emmalyne and Tavin are engaged to be married until tragedy strikes Emmalyne's family and she follows her father's wishes to have her stay unmarried and take care of her parents in their old age. Eleven years later Tavin and Emmalyne meet again, and the story develops from there . . .
When I first started this book I was afraid that the main characters were going to be too perfect (which is a pet peeve of mine in fiction), and that the tension in the relationship with Emmalyne's father was going to be too tense (sometimes I feel like those tense relationship story lines go overboard).
But I quickly started to feel like I could relate to the hero and heroine (they weren't too perfect), and I really enjoyed the development of the relationship between Emmalyne and her father. I also felt like the author really did her research on what it would take to quarry granite in that time period, and her descriptions were all well thought-out.
I liked this book, and I finished it in about three days - it was an enjoyable read! I would recommend it. I will say though that I hope the author plans to write another book on the doctor, because I want to know what happens to him! I'd love to read another one of her books.
Note: I received this book for free from Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Following God's Commandments

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved how Emmalyne Knox followed the Lord's Commandments, no matter the heartache that presented itself. With her heart broken she takes care of her Mother, and Brother and Father.
At first I did not like the Father, what a grumpy personality. He sure is a "Me Person". Some of the things that have happened in his life are really tragic, but he needs to find his way back to God. Both his daughter and his wife feel he doesn't "Love" them, and he treats them that way.
We meet more tragedy in this small MN community, it comes from different directions, and seems to be linking back to the Unions??
We also meet Emmalyne's former Fiancé, Travis MacLachlan. We read and can hear the deep brogue spoken, almost like we are there, through the author's writing. I loved hearing it.
Will Emmalyne ever have her own personal happiness? Their is the new Dr in town who likes what he sees in her. Will her Mother ever be able to live again, so much grief and heartache. Will her Father ever come back to his Lord, and live a happy life? The answers are here in this wonderful read. I recommend you pick it up, you won't put it down until finished.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of restoration and forgiveness!

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Emmalyne Knox was seventeen, she was engaged to her childhood sweetheart Tavin MacLachlan. But when a tornado whips through their town of St. Cloud, Minnesota her whole life is turned upside down. Not only are her two younger sisters killed and the
family home destroyed, but she is forced into the “Tradition” by her father, Luthias. According to the “Tradition” the youngest girl must not marry and stay with her parents to care for them through their old age.
When Tavin learns that Luthias plans to relocate his family to Minneapolis, he tries to convince Emmalyne to elope and is angered when she decides that it would be best to honor her father’s decree. With broken hearts and anger between them they go their separate ways.
Eleven years later the Knox family returns to St. Cloud, because Luthias was offered a job at the quarry that the MacLachlan’s own.
When Emmalyne is back in her place of disappointed hopes, she learns that Tavin has also returned; but he is not the same loveable Tavin she knew. Instead, he is angry and bitter and too much like her father. In her despair, and with the help of a caring friend, Emmalyne turns to her childhood faith in God and finds hope for herself and her family, despite her hard life.
Once again Tracie Peterson masterfully shares the struggles of the human heart through her characters experiences and shows us how hope in God can change our hearts and maybe even our lives. The Quarryman’s Bride is a stirring story of love and loss and healing.
The Quarryman’s Bride by Tracie Peterson is the second book in her The Land of Shining Water series. It is not necessary to read the first book in the series The Icecutter’s Daughter to enjoy this one, as each book is meant to be a stand alone.
**The Quarryman’s Bride by Tracie Peterson was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Quarryman's Bride, Land of Shining Water Series #2, LGPT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Message and Engaging Characters

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
Location:Sunbury, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The latest book I had the privilege of reading for review was called The Quarryman's Bride by Tracy Peterson. I recently read an earlier book in this series, The Icecutter's Daughter, but both books stand alone and are not related except for the time period and geographic region.
The main chacter, Emmalyne Knox, is forbidden to marry her fiance, Tavin MacLachlan, after her youngest sisters' tragic deaths leave her as the one made to remain single and care for her parents according to family tradition. The family leaves town, but eleven years later they return and Emmmalyne and Tavin meet again. The odds are still stacked against them... Tavin's anger, Emmalyne's harsh father, a decade of wounded hearts, danger at the granite quarry, and a charming local doctor could all keep them apart.
This book was really good! I read it very quickly because I did not want to put it down! The characters were engaging and yet showed growth throughout the novel. They captured my attention and emotions. The story had many twists and turns, so it was not always very predictable. Tracy Peterson did an excellent job of incorporating a strong Christian message into the storyline. I felt that a lot could be learned from this book as well. I would definitely recommend this book!
(I received this book as a gift from the publisher, Bethany House, for the purpose of writing a review. The opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>