Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked

Bethany House Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked

With gripping honesty, Lynn Austin pens her struggles with spiritual dryness in a season of loss and unwanted change. Tracing her travels throughout Israel, Austin seamlessly weaves events and insights from the Word...and in doing so finds a renewed passion for prayer and encouragement for her spirit, now full of life and hope. Softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Review 1 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the read!

Date:February 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
lotsofblessings
Location:Blackduck,MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS
The author let us take a tour of Israel with her, somewhere I probably will never see!! She has a great knowledge of the Bible and of Israel! She makes you feel like you are there with her!
If you are struggling in your faith this is a good book to read, Lynn talks about the dryness and what she did about it!! So this book would be great if you are going to be going to Israel this would be a great tour guide!!
I also like how she starts out with a verse and ends with a prayer in each chapter!
I've read some of her other books and have always enjoyed her style of writing!!
I could relate to some of the things she talked about, such as grown children moving away, when you think they will always be close around! Somethings you have to get used to and resigned too!
Just like we need water to survive physically we need God to survive spiritually!!
Chapter 11 Sabbath Rest
On the Sabbath we remember to rest on God, trusting Him for all our practical needs such as our daily bread and for strength in our trials. The Sabbath helps us to remember to rest in God!!Trusting Him for our salvation, knowing that none of the work we do will ever gain us entrance int heaven!!
Thank you Lord for my children and reminding me that they aren't mine but yours, and that you want what is best for them and are fighting for their souls!!!
Disclosure: This book was given to me for free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Take a trip!

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received a review copy of this book from Bethany House, but all thoughts are my own!
I love the idea behind this book. I've never read anything quite like it. As I made my way through the pages, I realized that I was beginning to feel like I was also on a trip. I've never actually been to the places mentioned in the book, but after reading, I feel like I have!
If you've been, read about Austin's journey for another visit...If you've never been or are kicking around the idea of going, I think you'll enjoy hearing about the story of someone who has!
I grew up watching Reading Rainbow - as I read Austin's book, I really did go on a journey of my own, right from the comfort of my own home!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't read a lot of non-fiction. I would much rather read something with a good storyline, characters, a plot. But when I read the description of Pilgrimage, I was instantly intrigued. For years I have had something of an obsession with Israel, and the opportunity to read and review a book about an author's spiritual journey during her time there? I just couldn't pass it up.
Within the first chapter, Lynn Austin had caught not only my attention, but also my heart and soul. It seemed like the book had been written just for me. The issues she was struggling with-- adapting to change, feeling adrift in her relationship with God, desiring a deeper faith-- I was struggling with too. And as I read, I was traveling with her through Israel, seeing the sites and feeling old familiar Bible stories come alive in new ways. As I read the scripture verses she included, I learned with her all the lessons God was teaching her. And I can honestly say my faith has been positively impacted by Pilgrimage. My copy of the book is highlighted and marked so that I can flip through and easily find the passages that influenced me. And to me, that is the mark of a truly great book-- if it impacts you enough that you don't want to forget what it taught you.
I recommend Pilgrimage to everyone. It may not touch each of you in the same way it touched me, but I believe that it will still impact your life and you will walk away from it changed in at least some small way.
I received this book free from Bethany House publishers as part of their blogger book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
nabagail
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Lynn is just about my most favorite author. I can hardly wait to get my hands on her latest novel. That being said, I have to be honest and say that I had a difficult time picking "Pilgrimage" up and finishing it.
Since I have been to the Holy Land, I was able to relate to her vivid descriptions. I appreciated her honesty and her ability to tie her emotions together physically and spiritually and relate them to the land of Israel.
The book, however, felt dry and flat and lacked the continuity of her novels. Perhaps, that was an unintended consequence of writing about her spiritual dryness because "Pilgrimage" left me feeling dry and flat. If she wanted to convey that sense, that feeling, she did an admirable job. I truly struggled with writing a review, an honest review. I am certain that this was something of an Opus Magnum for her and encourage Lynn to not give up with this genre of writing. She is such a gifted writer and her novels have brought me much encouragement and insight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books I've ever read

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
BTNSBJ
Location:Ashland, Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review.
This book, 'Pilgrimage' by Lynn Austin was one of the best books I've had the privilege to read. The author figuratively takes you along w/her on her trip to the Holy Land. It is her journey to a much deeper faith in the land where Jesus walked. She records in great detail everything she experienced on her trip, from the flight over to the trip back home and everything in between.
What I loved most was how she made the reader feel as if they were right there traveling beside her. You could almost see the lush green palm trees, the rocky terrain of the wilderness and the beautiful oasis hidden from view.
Lynn does a tremendous job of tying everything she saw while there in w/Biblical accounts of the same places, so you got a more detailed idea of what Bible times were really like. She gives wonderful examples of what modern day life is like for Jews living there and ties all these things in w/her own walk of faith. It is an amazing account of a most sought after trip of a lifetime and now makes me want to experience it for myself one day. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A ritual happens around this time of year between now and the New Year…resolutions. Some are goals like reading through the entire Bible from Genesis to Revelation, but how many continue reading, especially when they come to the book of Leviticus? Another resolution many make is in regard to their physical appearance, not that that is a bad idea either. Something I didn’t even think to do was ask the Lord if I should make a resolution in the first place. Do you ask the Lord about making a resolution or is it just because it is the time of year to do so? If and what you resolve to do, do you then tell people what it is when they ask? When people ask me, I jokingly say, “I gave that up for Lent!”, and then tell them I don’t make them anymore.
Lynn Austin has been a favorite author of mine for some time, yet I am always drawn to want to know the person behind the writing. Lynn Austin has shared herself in a very transparent, elegant, nonfiction book released this year called, Pilgrimage. Within the pages, Lynn shares where her heart hurts, what her daily struggles are and what the Lord showed her when she recently went on a tour in Israel. Lynn Austin doesn’t share this to garner pity or empathy, at least that is not the sense I got as I read the book. What I gleaned was the heart of a sister in the Lord and her journey here on earth with the trials and triumphs she has experienced. I sense she wrote the book as a journal to remind herself in days to come of all the Lord has revealed to her about Himself and to encourage us, her fellow travelers.
As you read each chapter, you may find yourself agreeing with what she shares or empathizing because you have experienced something similar. There is a call to remember like King David all the Lord has done when we are in a dry place spiritually speaking or a heart broken area. All who read this will be able to come away with encouragement, hope, to drink deeply of God’s Word, to gain a rekindled fire for prayer or maybe to practice reminding ourselves what the Lord has done for us and for others.
So before you think of making a resolution or just going into 2014 with whatever you have already planned, please take a little time to read what Lynn Austin shares. Then go to Lord, dwell in the Word and see what adventure He may have for you in 2014 that you would never have thought of before hearing His voice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an amazing read!

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookgirl28
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn Austin’s Pilgrimage is an open and honest peek into her own faith struggles as she travels to Israel and walks the paths of Jesus. This book is refreshing and eye opening all at the same time. It is much easier to picture these biblical places now after reading Mrs. Austin’s vivid descriptions. I can picture myself there walking the mountain paths and peering across the landscape of modern Jerusalem. Verses and passages in the Bible that never seemed clear before make much more sense knowing the terrain, culture, climate etc. of the land where Jesus is from. Austin is very open and raw about her struggles in this book which makes it easier as a Christian to know that we all go through dry seasons, doubting, questioning God’s purposes and plans for our lives. This book has been so refreshing and I have really enjoyed not only the content but the writing style as well. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for review purposes only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerfully good book!

Date:December 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
cmwinner
Location:Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a powerfully good book!
Lynn Austin writes about her journey to Israel. At the time she was going through some struggles in her life. Throughout each of the chapters she talks about what she saw and both the historical and the Biblical history behind every place she saw. I learned some interesting information about some of the things I read about. She also talked about the lessons she learned from each place and how it could help her in the struggles she was going through. There was an application portion as well of how we could apply it to our lives. Each chapter ended with a prayer.
This book is very well written and I highly recommend it. There were many areas in the book where she talked about the lessons she learned from what she saw and how she could apply it to her life, where I got thinking about how I could apply it to my life. I think there is lessons that can be learned in this book for almost anyone. It states on the front cover of the book "My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked' That is so true. There is much that can be learned in this book that will help to anyone to have a deeper faith, whether you can take a trip to the Holy Land or not.
I know that some of these chapters have got me thinking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling and Stirring

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've decided to accept the churning waves as an invitation from God to draw closer to Him, to dig deeper into His Word, to seek Him with all my heart and soul and strength. Most of all, to begin to pray to Him in a better way. Perhaps I will find a compass or a book of sailing instructions, or at least a life preserver. Maybe, just maybe, this pilgrimage to Israel will get me started on that new journey." (p. 14)
Historical fiction author Lynn Austin embarks on her first non-fiction work, "Pilgrimage", where she documents her experiences on a two-week trip to Israel. Austin traveled with a tour group starting in the southern end of Israel and eventually worked their way toward the north. She shares historical information about the places they visited combined with relevant Scripture passages and her own personal insights as to what those things meant to her.
The book gripped me from the start. Austin candidly explained that some recent personal changes resulted in a certain measure of spiritual upheaval. As she entered into this particularly dry season, she was looking for some times of refreshing and seized the opportunity to tour Israel when the chance presented itself. The story of how her journey began was compelling and relatable. The historical information and Scripture passages, combined with her personal insights added wonderful depth to well-known passages and gave a greater context for how to read the Bible. When she explained the Jewish concept of Sabbath and the Passover meal, it made me want to study my Bible more in the context of the Jewish faith in order to glean further insights.
The book included a number of illustrations depicting various landmarks and items around Israel. They added a nice touch to the book itself and helps the reader to have a better picture of some of the things that she is talking about.
I've been a fan of Lynn Austin for a long time and really enjoyed this non-fiction work. She did a spectacular job of really making Israel come alive by weaving together history, Scripture, and her own insights. I highly recommend this book!
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A personal journey through Israel...

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SUMMARY:
In a time of her own spiritual struggles, monotony and mindless motions, Lynn Austin receives the opportunity to tour Israel. Learning through tours of the sites of the people from Biblical times, she realizes how difficult those people lived as well how much faith and trust were needed. With this new enlightening knowledge, Lynn reflects on her own life concerning worship, trust and faith.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Written in a journal-like form, the author attempts to invite the readers to consider their own personal faith in God; however, perhaps too much focus is given to her own life rather than generalizing for others to find a renewed focus on God. The concept is wonderful, the opportunity must have been fantastic…definitely an idea worth expounding upon even further. Often things (including God) are taken for granted; sometimes it takes a new environment to remind us what we all are blessed to experience within our own lives, including our faith.
RATING:
3.5 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Pilgrimage from Bethany House Publishers for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

vicarious journey

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can not recommend this book enough. I have enjoyed Lynn Austin’s writing for years, especially her five book series based on Biblical books of Chronicles and Kings. She made those Old Testament characters come to life. Therefore, it was with great anticipation that I read PILGRIMAGE, and it exceeded my expectations. In this non-fiction account of her most recent trip to Israel, she shared her own faith journey, her thoughts and emotions while seeing and experiencing her Israel tour, appropriate Bible verses, and her own, heart-felt spiritual insights as her trip unfolded. I have never been to the Holy Land and read within arms-reach of my computer to enable to see pictures of the places she described. I loved sharing her thoughts and feelings as I vicariously joined her in her journey. The book is written in an almost conversational, very readable style, and I appreciated my time on this pilgrimage with her. I received an advanced copy of the book through The Book Club Network for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.