Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Talent for Trouble

Bethany House A Talent for Trouble

Determined that something needs to change--and soon--Felicia discovers she is finally ready to spread her wings and embrace life the way she's always wanted.

Grayson Sumner--or Lord Sefton, as he's officially known--has had more than enough of spreading his wings and only hopes to settle into the life of a normal, respectable New York gentleman. Prompted by some well-meaning friends to lift the spirits of the disappointed-in-love Miss Murdock, he is surprised to encounter a young lady who seems to have become quite adventurous and quite determined to get herself into all sorts of troublesome situations.

Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 out of 4198%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Talent for Trouble
Review 1 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Humorous and Witty!

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen Turano has written another fantastic story! With lovable characters, witty dialogue, and an interesting plot, this story has it all. The story was humorous. The mystery surrounding Grayson's past added excitement to the story.
I loved Felicia's character. A lot of people can relate to her story. She is a strong woman with a deep faith and a "talent for trouble." The circumstances she finds herself in are hysterical. Grayson adds mystery to the story. He is compassionate and gruff at the same time. The romance that blossoms between them is sweet.
The message of the story is two-fold. Make sure you pray and listen for God's direction in your life. Second, God will forgive all sin, big or small. It's all equal in His eyes. If He forgives you, you can most certainly forgive yourself.
Overall, I highly enjoyed this story and look forward to reading more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A TALENT FOR TROUBLE by Jen Turano

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A TALENT FOR TROUBLE by Jen Turano is another wonderful Inspirational Historical Fiction set in 1881 New York City. #3 in the "Ladies of Distinction" but can be read as a stand alone. See,"A Change of Fortune", and "A Most Peculiar Circumstance".
This is the tale of Miss Felicia Murdock and Grayson Sumner, Lord Sefton and what a tale. Fast paced. Filled with faith, healing, forgiveness, adventure, romance, trouble, danger, and love.
With strong characters and an interesting storyline, you will not be disappointed with "A Talent for Trouble".
Received as a gift.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Talent for Trouble
This review is fromA Talent For Trouble - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommend the entire series!

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the other reviewers on my blog were gaga over Jen Turano's writing. Felicia and Grayson are adorable together. Quirky lovable characters, quick-paced storyline, wonderful love story--you'll be thumbing through this story as fast as you can read it just to find out what happens next! You'l be holding your breath as you wonder if the characters will be able to get in and out of the opium dens, they are investigating, okay. Highly recommend! My only complaint is that in paperback the print is rather light. I'd recommend ebook version if you have eye problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uproariously Funny and Entertaining!

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Felicia Murdock is young, beautiful, wealthy and to say the least a bit quirky! She had her life planned out as so many young women do, and felt it was her destiny to marry Reverend Frasier. For many years she had worked at changing everything about herself, her dress, activities, and personality to become the perfect pastor’s wife. The story opens as she is returning from the reverend’s marriage ceremony . . . to someone else!!
She is of course crushed and devastated as she was positive it was the Lord’s leading for her to marry him. After being restrained by her own devices for so long, the real Felicia bursts out even more outlandish and unpredictable than ever before. The entire community is stunned at the beautiful, shapely young woman that has been hidden by her bizarre “modest” clothing, but not as shocked as they are at her unrestrained spirit!
Totally unprepared for such a dynamo of a woman, Grayson Sumner is persuaded to spend time with her to cheer her up. She is constantly putting them in all sorts of dilemmas, problems, close calls, and even danger. Mr. Sumner finds himself overwhelmed by her enthusiasm and spontaneity but at the same time becoming increasingly attracted to her sincerity and innocence. He fights falling in love with her because his past holds some shady secrets that he feels would not only cause Felicia to reject him, but more seriously endanger her life.
This book is hilarious, suspenseful and action packed! I guess I would have to compare Felicia somewhat to a Victorian Lucille Ball! I had such fun reading it. I found it very different than most Christian fiction novels!
While I was entertained there were also many spiritual lessons within the story. One is how we often make our plans and put God’s name on them. Then we wonder why they don’t work out! Another important lesson is that we are often afraid that if others know of our failures, they can’t love or accept us. When the truth is if someone truly loves those failures won’t matter. “And above all things have fervent charity among yourselves: for charity shall cover the multitude of sins.”
1 Peter 4:8
This was my first book of Jen Turano’s and I look forward to reading more!
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Distracted by ridiculous plot

Date:February 21, 2014
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted to like this book, but the things that bothered me prevented me from fully enjoying it. There is plenty of action, but much of it seems contrived and ridiculous, which is also what the main character's personality was like to me. I liked the supporting characters much better so I will try the author's previous books that they are featured in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A rollicking read

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madcap, outrageous and funny! Lots of laugh out loud moments. A Talent for Trouble is a rollicking read that kept me grinning right to the very end. Turano has her own unique formula for delivering romantic comedy and I love it!
There's a great juxtaposition between serious and ludicrous -- especially in heroine Felicia. And I just love how the outrageous bits about her character are what Grayson appreciates the most. The two of them bring every scene they are in crackling to life. They just seem to feed off each other -- Turano has created great dynamics between the two!
A secondary plot filled with danger and a few surprising twists balance out the comedy. A thrilling, light-hearted read that comes alive with love and laughter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable afternoon read

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a summary like that, there's not a lot left to say about the book! I can tell you that Felicia and Grayson take us on a wild adventure in A Talent for Trouble. It’s amazing how much mischief one woman can get into but she certainly has a gallant hero watching over her.
One thing is for sure, Jen Turano knows how to write some fast and feisty dialogue, which is actually much like Felicia’s character. She’s not fast in a bad way. She doesn't seem to slow down and think long before she acts and that irritated me after a while. I thoroughly enjoyed Grayson’s character, though. He’s a noble man, full of good intentions and faithful in his regard for others.
There’s much to keep up with in this book and a few of the twists and turns were quite surprising. It’s the least realistic of the three so far but if you enjoy historical fiction packed with fun and faith, then you will probably enjoy A Talent for Trouble. Be sure and grab the earlier books so you can get to know the carryover characters. You’ll be in for hours and hours of fun! I'm looking forward to reading Agatha's story this year. Who is Agatha, you ask? Well, you'll just have to read the series to find out!
I was provided a copy of the book from Bethany House Publishers and the author for review purposes only. No monetary compensation has been received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Once Again Jen has totally amused and delighted me

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given the great opportunity to review A Talent For Trouble, Book #3 in the fantastic Ladies of Distinction Series by Jen Turano. After having read and reviewed the previous two books and loving them, I have been waiting for the next fun adventure. Once again Jen Turano has totally amused and delighted me. A Talent For Trouble had me smiling on the very first page. Jen has a talent for bringing her characters to life and making them seem like old friends. I love the way I was treated to the continuing stories of the much loved characters from the previous books. This entire series is on my bookshelf to be read again. I give this one 5 of 5 stars. Enjoy!
I received this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
For the past several years, Felicia Murdocch has been queen of the fashion faux pas after receiving a misguided compliment from a certain minister she had set her sights on. When the previously mentioned minister marries another lady Felicia decides she has had enough ribbons and feathers to last her a life time. With a new wardrobe and attitude in tow she is ready for a fresh start.
Lord Grayson Sumner has already put his wild days behind him and is looking to settle down. So when he is recruited to left Felicia’s spirits by his sister he isn’t entirely too pleased by her new found ability to create trouble, but he is unable to deny his growing attraction to her just the same.
I was hooked on this author’s work once I started A Most Peculiar Circumstance this summer and have been looking forward to Felicia’s story. I instantly fell in love with her sass and fashion woes, although I was happy to see she actually did have a good sense of fashion. Mrs. Murdoch was also a favorite character as I always enjoy a good, matchmaking mother. Grayson was a cool and collected hero who was perfect to offset Felicia.
The books in this series have been fun, light hearted reads that I have thoroughly enjoyed! I absolutely recommend them. While these books can be read as standalones, reading them in order really gives the full effect of the story.
***I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Humorous and Funny

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK
I have really grown to love Jen Turano's books, and I just love this one too! In A Talent for Trouble, Felicia Murdock has always dreamed of marrying an minister, and now that she has met Grayson Sumner, her dream is finally coming true. Or is it? As Felicia and Grayson are getting to know each other better, they find out that life can get complicated and especially when the past comes to life and turns it upside down.
A Talent for Trouble is a really awesome read. I enjoy the writing style of Ms. Turano and enjoy the hilarious and spunky characters and the fun they bring to readers. Felicia and Grayson were adorable, and even in their difficult situations, they came through making you laugh. And the ending. Did Felicia finally nail her preacher man? It is well worth this book just to find out what happens. And I can't wait for the next book by Jen Turano. I really encourage you to check out this author and try a taste of her humor through here writing.
I received this book from the publisher Bethany House to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Felicia has spent close to 4 years trying to be the perfect candidate for a preachers wife. Yet the man she pined for has married another and Felicia finds herself still single and not sure she knows who she is anymore. As she starts to shed the girl she has become for the girl she wants to be her friends and family think she is having a breakdown and try to help her. Her mom sends Grayson to lift her spirits yet he has no intentions other than to help out a friend. Yet he finds himself drawn to this lady who keeps finding herself in troubling situations.
Felicia can’t get her family and friends to understand she is not going crazy only shedding her old self. Yet the more she is around Grayson the more she finds herself intrigued and the more he happens to be around when she finds herself in trouble the more she wonders if true love might indeed be possible.
This book is the third in the series(fourth if you count the novella that came before the first book). I have not read the first two books. It would be helpful to have read the first two books as the characters are supporting in this book but it’s not required but may leave you wanting to learn more about them. I very much enjoyed this book.
What I liked: The people in this book are just so much fun. At first I was not sure about Felicia because she first came across as quite spoiled and selfish. As the book continues I realized that was not true at all. Grayson was just as interesting. He comes across at first as the perfect aristocrat but again as I read about him I soon learned he has many secrets. I also loved all the supporting characters. This book was just thoroughly enjoyable.
What I did not like: The only thing that was a little disappointing to me about this book had to do with the ending. I don’t want to give it away but I will say I was kind of left after the climax going wait that’s IT??? Things just worked out a little to easy. It was not near what I expected.
Overall I loved this book and highly recommend it. I honestly would start at the beginning of the series but you can read this book alone with no issues. I have never read this author before and feel like I have missed out. I love the way her characters interact and play off each other. She has a writing style I love. I can’t wait to read more from her. The next book of this series is due out next year and I look forward to reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's historical/comedy/romance, don't miss it!

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series just keeps getting better and better! The comedy, the romance, the historical settings! I have read quite a few historical fiction books over the last few years and I have to say that Jen Turano's style of writing is like a breath of air. It's fresh, it's funny, and yet it stays true to the best in Christian historical fiction. I started reading this series with book 2, A Most Peculiar Circumstance, and each lively story is eagerly anticipated and thoroughly enjoyed.
What could possibly happen when a young socialite finds herself in a saloon and an opium den on different occasions? And just what will her mother say when she finds out?
Felicia has been trying to to catch the preacher's eye for several years, volunteering everywhere she can, pretending to be quiet and demure, even dressing outlandishly because she thinks he likes those styles. But it all comes crashing to an end with the sound of bells. So she decides to change not only her wardrobe but her entire life. The world doesn't quite know what it is in for... and Grayson is starting to find out.
Grayson's life is pretty orderly now, his adventures behind him. He suffers from a heavy load of guilt and is trying to atone for his failings. Along comes Felicia and turns everything up-side-down. He is no longer sure if he is coming or going. The only thing he does know is, that girl's driving skills terrify him!
A Talent For Trouble has everything you could possibly want, seriously, they should think about turning this book, and the others, into a movie! We have beautiful young ladies that are smart and daring, a handsome man with a mysterious past, a fistfight or two, a bodyguard that never cracks a smile, escapades that involve women dressing as men and men dressing as women, ill-gotten jewels, a wild carriage ride, balls and dress fittings, matchmaking mothers and well-meaning friends, cops and danger in the slums....
See, what are you waiting for? This is a book you will NOT want to miss!
(I received a copy of this book from the Author in exchange for my review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lighthearted humorous read!

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
joelchandi
Location:ND
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an impartial review.
This is the first book I've read by Jen Turano and I thoroughly enjoyed it!! I read it very quickly and it caught my attention right from the beginning. The characters were interesting and engaging and the storyline moved along at a good pace. I think the most enjoyable part for me was the humor. This story had me many times laughing out loud! :) I see that this story is third in a series, but I did not feel lost and it stands well on it's own. Though my interest is piqued and I would enjoy reading the other two!
This is a fun, easy read with an underlying Christian theme that does not feel false or forced. I would recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“A Talent for Trouble” by Jen Turano

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a lighthearted book about Felicia Murdock set in New York City in 1881. Felicia, 24, is from a privileged household. She has spent the last four years attempting to shape herself into the perfect wife for her Pastor, Michael Fraser. Unfortunately, Reverend Fraser wasn’t aware of Felicia in a romantic way, and when the book opens, Felicia has just returned from the Reverend’s wedding–to someone else.
Four years earlier, Reverend Fraser complimented Felicia about a hideous dress she was wearing. From then on, in an attempt to attract the Reverend, she had exclusively worn dresses just like that: billowing fabric that gave no sense of her figure, a plethora of ribbons, and other gaudy decorations to the excess. Most of society thought she was either eccentric or had a terrible fashion sense, or both.
After the shock of the wedding, Felicia decides to change the direction of her life. One of the first things she does is to see her dresses for the monstrosities that they are, and get an up-to-date wardrobe. Felicia’s mother, Ruth, has decided to attempt some match making by having Grayson Sumner accompany Felicia to a tea. Grayson is an English aristocrat with a mysterious past.
From that moment forward, everything in Felicia’s life changes. Society, as well as, Grayson, are quick to notice that Felicia is quite a beauty once she gives up her baggy clothing. She also gets a lot of undue attention while continuing her mission work in the seedier sections of the city. That attention gets Felicia into some predicaments she had never faced before.
Felicia finds herself in some dangerous situations when she innocently attempts to help people. In addition, she also sets off on an adventure when, in disguise, she goes with a reporter friend to an opium den. Also, during this time, Felicia attempts to deflect the overly aggressive attention of a widowed pastor who wants to marry her to be a mother to his four children.
In the midst of all this, Grayson Sumner and Felicia often cross paths. Each time Felicia is around Grayson, her heart grows a little fonder, but Grayson also exasperates her, too. Before the story ends, there are kidnappings, body guards and private investigators–along with romance.
After I read this, I found it was part of a series. However, this book definitely stood alone, and I did not feel “lost” in this story. It is not necessary to read the first books to enjoy this one. That being said, I liked this one so much, I do want to go back and read the first two. This was an exciting and fun book. I didn’t want to put it down. I enjoyed the tale, and liked the Christian message that was a natural part of the story. This is a five star book, and comes with my recommendation.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best one so far

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was excited when I received Jen Turano's new book. I have read her past two novels and was not disappointed. In A Talent for Trouble we continue on with the stories of Felicia and Grayson. But don't worry. This book can stand on its own if you have not read the previous two.
Felicia's pain is fresh after watching the man she "loved" walk down the aisle with someone else. Grayson's past is more horrible then even he can handle. His armor is so tarnished he will never be a "noble" gentleman again.
I loved reading how these two characters developed. Turano has a knack for mixing romance, danger, and humor. Just enough of each to make a wonderful balance. I do hope that there is at least one more in this series of characters that she has been writing about. I do have high hopes for Zayne and Agatha.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding true love is never easy!!!

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just how much trouble could it be being the wife of a pastor? For Felicia Murdock, she will soon find out it is definitely more than she could ever dream of. She dreams of trying something new and she finds it is more work than she dreamed of trying to live up to her expectations of what a pastor's wife should look like. Sometimes we spend so much time trying to live up to everyone's expectations of what you should be doing, that in a sense you lose who you really are. That is just is what happens to Felicia in the latest novel from best selling author Jen Turano who is definitely on my MUST HAVE list of books. Anything that she has written, I have loved and she truly speaks to a place deep inside a women's heart in all of us. Perhaps that is why I find myself relating to her characters she creates in her novels. Yet in this case with all her best intentions, the pastor, Michael Fraiser, she believes she was destined to marry, instead marries someone else.
Now suddenly everything she believes is right is called into question and soon Felicia does a 180 from where she was at and finds the real person beneath it all. One that might even turn the head of Grayson Sumner, Lord Sefton, a respectable New York business, who is asked to lift Felicia's spirits. Soon however their personalities collide and it's the fire between them that has you rooting for a romance between the two. I mean, who doesn't want someone like Felicia who has just spent the last four years of her life transforming herself for a man, to suddenly fall into the arms of someone like Grayson!
Jen Turano definitely writes her female characters with a strength and sass that for the period in history is rewarding. Deep down inside, you know despite all that proper upbringing is a girl who is striving to just break out and be herself instead of what society dictates for her, just like Felicia. Fortunately for Felicia, her friends Agatha Watson and Eliza have just what she needs to get her out of feeling so down in the dumps. They have all kinds of outlandish plans to place Grayson and Felicia together and at times leaves Grayson being the one to rescue her when they turn ugly. All this just sets the stage for love to blossom and for the two to fall in love before the end of the novel. But it can't be wrapped up just that pretty. Soon Felicia discovers that Grayson has a secret past and once she learns the truth, will she really want him after all?
You'll have to pick up a copy of A Talent for Trouble to find out from Jen Turano. I received this novel compliments of Bethany House Publishers and TLC Book Tours for my honest review and did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. The opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own. I LOVED this novel and can't wait for more from Jen Turano. She is one of those authors when you see a new novel debuting, you have to pick it up because you know it's going to be great just like this one was. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book from Turano!

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Comments
Oh wow, from the MOMENT I saw Jen’s newest book I knew I had to get a copy! The title and cover alone are worth having on the bookshelf, that mischievous look on the model’s face as she looks into the camera….you just know there are some fun and crazy things going on in her head and you can’t wait to join in from the first page.
Miss Felicia Murdock is terribly disappointed. The man she wanted to marry, Reverend Michael Fraser, married someone else. Felicia genuinely believed that God had selected Fraser for Felicia. After four years of pining for the man, he marries someone else and Felicia is certain that she now she is 24 and has missed out on finding someone, that now she’ll become a spinster surrounded by cats. By the way, she doesn’t like cats AT ALL!
Pg. 44 She’d changed her identity in order to secure the affections of a gentleman. She’d thrown herself into charitable endeavors to please that gentleman, and…although she’d gone to more church services than she could count, she’d barely listened to any of the sermons.
She’d been completely ridiculous.
She needed to make amends, and in order to do that, she needed to honestly and quickly help the less fortunate—not in a manner that would draw attention to her actions and have everyone exclaiming how wonderful and selfless she was.
While Felicia is sulking in her room, Grayson Sumner AKA Lord Sefton, has come calling. His sister, Felicia’s friend, Eliza, has asked Grayson to cheer Felicia up and bring her over to the house for tea. Grayson hasn’t always done right by Eliza so it’s the least he can do and fetching Felicia will be easy enough to accomplish, or so he thinks. Little does he know that the moment he steps into the Murdock household, Felicia has a small moment of insanity and his journey begins.
Pg. 21 She garbed herself in highly unusual fashions, her gowns always dripping with bows and ribbons, but he’d realized shortly after making her acquaintance that underneath the yards and yards of fabric draping her form, there resided a lady who possessed the spirit of a hoyden. *Hoyden= A high-spirited, boisterous, or saucy girl.*
This is my fourth time reading Turano and even though this one starts a little slow, the story is no less captivating than her previous works.
Grayson sees Felicia as eccentric, captivating, alluring, enchanting, and compelling. Felicia finds Grayson attractive, irritating, arrogant, far too sure of himself, a grumpy gentleman, and he makes her pulse gallop. There is such chemistry between them that just enhances the story so much. If I had to sit next to them for a meal, I’d probably do like their friend, Agatha, and hide behind my menu. Since I get the pleasure of reading about it like someone witnessing a great play, it’s truly something very pleasing and entertaining!
Grayson has a troubling past and little by little his past is exposed in the story. This brings unexpected danger, but also more fun for Felicia. Will Grayson ever be able to forgive himself and make peace with God? I didn’t laugh in this one, but I smiled throughout, had to shake my head a few times, definitely snorted a few times, was utterly touched by the characters, and I truly fell in love with Felicia’s mother and three brothers (she also a dad but he’s away through much of the story so we only get to know about him in the end)….there’s also characters from the previous books in this one which just adds why this book is such a hit!!!!
This book is FULL of danger, fun, misunderstandings, forgiveness, friendship, one unexpected bodyguard that gets to care for Felicia, intervening mothers who will do anything to see their daughter happily matched, ogling men that approach Felicia, one shady business that brings destruction, a couple of adorable orphans, great dialogue and the heart of a woman longing to find herself when she realizes that God doesn’t always give us what we ask for…..oh no, He brings us what we need that aligns with His perfect plan for us *BIG smile*
So if there’s a job you want that you didn’t get, a book you wanted but didn’t win, a mate you thought would be perfect for you but he marries someone else, a calling you thought for sure that had your name on it but didn’t work out, a pregnancy you waited for that has happened yet, wanting your book to be published but so far every publisher has turned you down or money you’ve prayed for that still hasn’t come…….it’s not that those prayers haven’t been answered, they are being answered in a much bigger way than we asked for. I have struggled with the exact feelings Felicia dealt with, believing I had wasted my time on the wrong person and what happens next? Her journey is just beginning and it only gets better from here!
I want to thank the author and publisher for sending me a review copy. I was not required to write a positive review (but I always have fun doing so with this author). The opinions expressed are my own.
Discussion Questions
Felicia goes to extraordinary lengths to make herself attractive to Reverend Fraser. Have you ever changed your appearance or personality in order to impress someone?
What resulted from your changing?
Grayson has made a vow to never marry again because of his past. Do you believe that was noble of him or just misguided?
Felicia came to the conclusion that God sent Reverend Fraser to her because of a prayer she prayed, only to come to the realization that she’d been greatly mistaken. Have you ever thought God sent you something you’d asked for but then learned differently? What was your reaction to that realization?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

highly amusing - loved it

Date:October 30, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found A Talent for Trouble to be extremely amusing. I've not met Ms. Turano in person, but she must have a hint of mischief living inside her because once again she's written a lovely heroine with a mischievous side. I loved Felicia Murdock and her penchant for life. After a disappointment, she decides to be what she's always wanted to be - herself. Doing so lands her into some unfortunate circumstances, which I found funny because I can see myself doing the same things, if I had been in the same situations.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
RachelleRea
Location:Little Town, South
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a delightful book.
Felicia had me busting out laughing in the middle of campus far too often, and Grayson's reactions to her mishaps were downright hilarious, too. Early on, he lets her have the reins to his carriage, and after a wild ride, when he gets out, he actually kissed the ground.
I almost dropped my book into my cereal.
Jen Turano's writing style flows prettily without being flowery, and, as I mentioned, it's really funny.
But what I liked best about this book was that it wasn't just funny. It spoke to depth, too. Felicia is charitable at heart (which actually lands her in half her hilarious bouts of trouble), and Grayson can't seem to stop saving her. But he has a past and a secret and he's sure there's no future for them--it was sweet seeing that chivalrous side of his, too.
What I Didn't Like As Much
The only thing I could have done without was the overabundance of the author's favorite words. Characters become disgruntled often, when they are not finding something delighful or dangerous.
Why I Recommend This Book
On top of the laughter and the depth, there was a danger. Have I mentioned lately that I love books with intrigue and daring dangerous adventures? Well, I do.
And this is one of them. Which is why I loved it and why Jen Turano is on my list of favorite authors and I'm on the hunt for more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Talent for Trouble
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing, humorous, simply WOW!!!

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
TanyaK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miss Felicia Murdock always believed her destiny was to become a minister's wife. She spent four years trying to impress the local minister but when he marries another lady, Felicia seeks to change.Grayson Sumner is encouraged to court Felicia to her friends house in hopes of lifting her spirits. He has a troubled past and has vowed to never marry again but he can't help but develop romantic feelings for Miss Murdock.
I don't want to give away much of the story because it's very intriguing, though written with humor, it has lots of drama and heartbreaking moments. I loved every minute of it. Jen Turano is quickly becoming my favorite author.
Thank you to Bethany House for sending me this book for an exchange of my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.