Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy

Multnomah Books Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy

In the midst of pain and sorrow, two couples discover God's faithfulness. In Waiting for Morning, Hannah loses her husband and daughter to a drunk driver. In A Moment of Weakness, a fateful decision tears Jade and Tanner apart. And in Halfway to Forever, Matt and Hannah and Jade and Tanner face tragic situations. 1136 pages, softcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Review 1 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Did I miss the theme?

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Received this as a birthday gift and was anxious to be impressed. I was not. After reading previous reviews I neither found the enjoyment nor take-away value I expected. This was a rehash of other works and characters - which is an increasing pattern here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great series by Kingsbury.

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kris D
Location:Findlay, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This series certainly stands up to Karen Kingsbury's quality. Wow, how does she write like this time and again. Didn't want the trilogy to end. She doesn't just bring the people to life but the situations are brought to life too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reading enjoyment

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Washington state
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury is amazing. She weaves Christianity through her stories that reflect real life, like losing a spouse and/or child to a drunk driver. I could not put these stories down! Only slightly negative was putting them all in one book, which was heavy to hold while reading, but the stories were so good, I just put the book on a table or pillow or something to hold the weight, and kept on reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THESE BOOKS ARE CAPTIVE TO YOUR ATTENTION.

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
PAM Y
Location:MASS.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I COULDN'T PUT THIS BOOK DOWN..... THE STORY CONTINUED JUST LIKE FAMILY GENERATIONS DO.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, what I expect of Karen Kingsbury.

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
lrcp
Location:NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only read one and one half of the three books but love her books, they are always spiritual and have a good storyline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

BOOK WEIGHT IS TOO HEAVY

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyful Books
Location:Washoe Valley, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
By Karen Kingsbury
“THE BOOK SIZE IS TOO DIFFICULT FOR THOSE WITH PHYSICAL NEEDS.”
Waiting For Morning, A Moment of Weakness and Halfway to Forever are three stories published into one giant novel by Karen Kingsbury, this little bit of information I did not know when I choose to review “Forever Faithful."
I chose to read Karen Kingsbury’s novel without having read what this novel was about. I just trusted that this would be another wonderful journey of being completely engrossed in the lives of the characters. I was unaware the publishers had published three of Karen Kingsbury’s previously published novels into one book.
When the book arrived, there just happen to be a slight problem with this book, the weight of the book was more than my hands could manipulate with the physical problems I have. Placing a pillow on my lap, and then setting the book on top of the pillow didn’t work either; this made the book too far away to read comfortably.
Although I don’t usually give up on reading a novel, especially one as engaging as Karen Kingsbury’s, I finally had to because of the weight of the book. I will go out and purchase each of the books individually though, as this is a publishing issue and is not reflective by any means on the writing content of these novels.
What I was able to read was very enjoyable and engaging. I really wish I could have physically been able to continue.
I received the copy of this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Blogging for Books. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Difficult Subjects Addressed

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dancing Reader
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The best part of this book is that it contains the entire trilogy. It's a huge book but complete which addresses my current reading irritation of trilogies. Thank you for that!
Kingsbury sticks with what she does best which is addressing difficult subjects and life circumstances and frames them within a Christian perspective. All three books deal with painful yet realistic challenges that the protagonists then choose their attitudes and where they will place their trust. Book 1 deals with Hannah and the circumstances out of her control that cost her the life of her husband and daughter. The lessons can be applied to anybody impacted by the choices of others - do we choose bitterness or forgiveness? Neither are easy paths although ultimately one will be more rewarding.
Book 2 is on a similar vein in that choices made by ourselves or another will impact our lives. It is about sin and forgiveness along with choice and accountability. It is about trusting the Lord and following His will even when we don't know the path. Wherever He leads us, He will be there. He has promised He will not leave us comfortless. He will come to us.
Book 3 is a revisitation of the previous characters. Because life continues on and they struggle with circumstances out of their control. It is again a message of love and trusting in the Lord. There are no quick fixes and everything is a process.
Kingsbury is a gifted writer and I respect her style and willingness to take on difficult subjects. Occasionally I found the story getting a little cheesy but overall the books are well written, target her audience, and send a positive message.
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith-building trilogy on God's Faithfulness

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookNook
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This trilogy is a fast-paced, emotional page-turner. A book that is inspiring and one that will not be easily forgotten.
It starts out with Hannah Ryan living through a fateful day that destroys most of her world. From there, I accompanied her through her journey to forgiveness and reconciliation with God and her daughter, Jenny, through her journey of finding meaning in life once again. There was a clear message in this story about the power of forgiveness. In addition, there were also other lessons in this book such as the sin of committing suicide. It was interesting how Mrs.Kingsbury incorporated Lamentations (a book in the Bible) throughout this story.
The second story, A Moment of Weakness, was a real page-turner. It stars Jade and Tanner and its main message is the importance of remaining sexually pure and the consequences of not doing so. I enjoyed how the verse, "For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future" (Jeremiah 29:11) played a crucial part throughout this story. Mrs.Kingsbury handles the subject matter in a very Biblical way and does not include anything graphic. The scripture that is the center of this story (Jeremiah 29:11) and the message Mrs.Kingsbury wanted to teach is showed clearly through the lives of Jade and Tanner.
The third and final book, Halfway to Forever, brings the four main characters from the previous stories together. It is the one that most shows the faithfulness of God and is also the most heart-wrenching. It was such a faith-builder to see the way the characters, particularly Jade and Matt, stayed steadfast in Jesus, our Rock. It brought a satisfying conclusion to this powerful trilogy, although I wouldn't mind meeting these characters again:-)
Overall, this is an amazing book on the Great faithfulness of God.
**NOTE Thanks to the publishers through the Blogging for Books program for my free copy in exchange for my honest review.
~Reviewed by aizesshomeschooljournal.blogspot.com~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forever Faithful, by Karen Kingsbury is absolutely fantastic! The complete trilogy, this 1124 page book includes all three books, Waiting for Morning, A Moment of Weakness, and Halfway to Forever.
The books present the stories of Matt, Hannah, Tanner, and Jade as they go through extremely difficult situations. Hannah’s husband and oldest daughter are killed in an accident with a drunk driver and she struggles with hatred and court battles. Jade and Tanner are separated for years at a time twice, then end up in a custody battle for their son against Jade’s husband. Then, in the third book, Matt and Hannah struggle with the ups and downs of adoption, while Jade and Tanner struggle with her fight against cancer.
I had a hard time putting this book down! The characters are well-developed and quickly seem like old friends. I found myself going through all of the emotions they were feeling: anger, joy, pain, fear, frustration, relief, and hope. The stories were written in a way that they could easily have been real.
I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys Christian fiction. Karen Kingsbury is an amazing author that draws you in right from the first word!
Kara
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Loss, Hurt, Resentment, Anger, Committing

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura in Minnesota
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This morning, not even 48 hours after receiving the book, I finished. For my review I will, try to, give a brief synopsis without giving too much away and then my thoughts on the book. Let me just say though, if you choose to read this trilogy (which I hope you will, if you like Christian fiction), have the tissues handy. I shed many tears over these stories and my puffy eyes are proof of that.
In **Waiting for Morning**, we are introduced to the Ryan family. Tom, a doctor, had married his childhood friend Hannah, and together they had two daughters, Alicia and Jenny. When we meet the family, Hannah is at home waiting for her family to return from their annual weekend camping trip prior to the school year beginning. As Hannah is waiting her mind starts wandering to reasons as to why her family is late. A feeling, that she cannot shake, comes over her and the worry/anxiety continues. Later on two police officers arrive at the door of her family home. Immediately Hannah knew this couldn’t be right, they had to be at the wrong home. NOTHING like this could happen to her family. Sadly it is true. Her husband and eldest daughter died in a horrific car accident. Their youngest daughter survived. Waiting for Morning takes us through Hannah’s journey of grief, resentment, anger, and the desire to see Brian Wesley, the man who killed her family, be placed in jail. What about Jenny though? She’s withdrawing and dealing with all this as well. Only, her mother doesn’t notice. Hannah hires a lawyer, Matt Bronzman, that is skilled at handling drunk driving cases and she also becomes involved with MADD at his prompting. It is through MADD that Hannah meets a friend named Carol. Carol walks Hannah through all this but there is one thing she isn’t telling her friend. One thing she cannot tell Hannah. Not yet. Will Hannah ever be able to forgive? Will she continue to resent God and doubt his existence? Will she return to Him? What about Jenny? Will she get the help she so desperately needs? Will Hannah and Jenny be able to move forward with their lives?
*My thoughts*: The message behind this story is one that I think many people can relate to. Not so much that we’ve lost loved ones to drunk driving but more so the heartbreak and questioning that is happening. Even the doubt. Could I remain strong in my faith if something like this were to happen? Could I continue on and forgive? I might be like Hannah and grow distant and be upset with God about these happenings. I believe that for all who are struggling the bible verse Karen Kingsbury has atop chapter one, might be related to by many: I am in torment within, and in my heart I am disturbed. (Lam 1:20a) I know I’ve felt that way before. Maybe it’s time for me to pay Lamentations a visit.
**A Moment of Weakness,** introduces us to Tanner, Jade, and their families. They are childhood friends and Tanner knows Jade is the one for him. Even at age 12, he knows this to be true. Tanner’s mom, Doris, she doesn’t like Jade or Jade’s parents. She will not tell anyone why though. Doris knows that Jade’s Mom is having an affair with another man and that she will be leaving her husband and daughter. Doris also knows that her son is meant for someone better than Jade Connor, after all she will end up like her Mother or a drunk like her Father. A little ways into the story we find out that Jade and her Dad are moving to Washington. Jade is convinced that her Mom will meet up with them there. She doesn’t know that her Mom has left them as her Dad only told her that Mom had to leave for a while but would meet up with them later. Tanner tells Jade before she leaves, that he will marry her one day! Fast forward 11 years, Tanner’s Dad has passed away and his Mother (Doris) is now living in the Northwest! Tanner is in Washington state for a summer internship and Doris is just praying that Jade no longer lives there. Needless to say Jade does still live there and happens to meet Tanner again. A summer love happens, dreams for the future are discussed, a line is crossed, distance happens due to a mission trip, and suddenly they are apart. Believing lies, Jade goes to the man her Dad thinks she should be married to. A quick marriage and she disappears from Tanner’s life for another ten years. So much has happened. Jade is going through a divorce and her soon to be ex wants full custody of their son because his wife is a religious fanatic and, in his mind, hurting their son. Jade doesn’t know what to do, so she does the only thing she can think of, she calls Tanner’s law firm. Next thing you know Tanner and Matt (Bronzman) are flying up to meet with Jade so they can handle this case. Will Tanner and Jade reconnect? Will Jade get her son back? Will the truth about Ty come out? What will happen with Doris, will her secrets ever be revealed?
*My thoughts*: I’ll be honest, parts of this story were predictable. But that didn’t matter to me. This was a story of love, loss, hurt, shame, and reconnection. The verse that plays over and over in this story is Jeremiah 29: 11-12, “For I know the plans I have for you, plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.” Such a true verse. God does know the plans he has for us. He knows what our future holds and how much time on this earth we have until we are reunited with him again. If it is His will to help us, it will happen. We must first come to Him though.
**Halfway to Forever** brings back the characters we have grown to love: Matt, Hannah, Jenny, Tanner, Jade, and Ty. (Tom and Alicia are also mentioned.) Matt and Hannah have since married and Jenny is getting ready for college. Jenny is smiling again but Hannah knows there is still something missing for her daughter. There have been talks between Matt and Hannah about adding to their family through adoption, will this work for their family? Meanwhile, Jade and Tanner have now married and are busy raising Ty while praying for another pregnancy so they can add to their family. They struggle with getting pregnant, have a miscarriage, but continue to pray with each other and the Bronzman’s. Jade isn’t feeling well, there are frequent headaches, nausea, and tiredness, what is going on? Everyone urges her to go to the Doctor. She finally goes and gets great news, she’s pregnant! An answered prayer. Around that time the Bronzman’s receive good news also and are excited. Great things are finally starting to happen for both families, or are they? A pregnancy, a soon to be adopted child, great jobs, happy families, it’s all so great but then it happens. Jade has a seizure. The adoption falls through. Tanner works more to not deal with Jade’s condition. Everyone is emotionally hurt. What will happen? What will God do in their lives? Will they remain faithful to Him? Will the Bronzman’s add to their family? What will happen to Jade’s unborn baby? What about her health? What about her marriage to Tanner?
*My thoughts*: I was a wreck reading this book. I cannot lie. I loved the story and it tugged at my heartstrings. Be still and know that I am God, was the verse that kept playing on repeat throughout. Was it predictable? Yes and no, I mean obviously there are parts where you’ll read it and say “I knew that would happen” but then there are those other moments where it takes you by surprise a little bit. Things happen in our lives, and while they are not always good, they happen and it is how we respond to those events that will speak as to who we are and what we believe. This book also furthers my desire to have a friendship like the Bronzmans and Eastmanns have. To have that other family that you can share these life events with and know that they will be there to pray with you. To have that type of friendship is something I can only dream of but I look forward to God putting people like that into my life.
I truly hope that you will check this book trilogy out. It is worth reading. The stories are good. You will need tissues. There are things that you can take away from this fiction series. Give it some thought.
*received through the publishers book review program. All thoughts and opinions are my own. *
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!
I have a new favorite author.
I usually go for the historical novels so reading this Trilogy is my first experience with the writings of Karen Kingsbury and I am impressed. Her writing style is extremely polished and her characters and story lines are gripping portrayals of the life struggles that we all face at one time or another. They are packed full of spiritual content without being preachy or boring. No fluff here! I found this compelling volume to have life changing messages for the Christian and non Christian alike. The characters are like real life friends to me and this is one book I will keep in my library and read over again. Karen Kingsbury is definitely one of the best authors I have read in a long time.
Titles included in the trilogy are:
Waiting for Morning
The emotional story of a grieving widow and her struggle with hate and revenge after a drunk driver kills her husband and daughter in a car crash. The fact that she is a Christian does not make her struggles any easier—in fact she finds herself mad at God and questioning why he allowed this tragedy in her life. I found this story to be riveting and emotional. The characters were very well rounded and believable. This is sure to touch every heart and make us think about how actions have consequences. I found it very interesting that she used the book of Lamentations as a foundation for this novel.
A Moment of Weakness
Poor judgment and bad decisions are explored in this book about a Christian couple who put themselves in a compromising position and then must spend years paying the price for A Moment of Weakness. This book has a powerful message that will captivate and educate at the same time.
Halfway to Forever
This book revisits the characters from Waiting for Morning and A Moment of Weakness combining their lives into one very gripping and moving story. Halfway to Forever explores how we all must eventually fact the hard stuff in life, but God is always there with us. I cried a bit, but the message was worth it and very powerful.
I received this complimentary copy from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through their Blogging for Books program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was ready for some fiction reading but I didn't realize there were three books in one volume when I signed up for this book! When I received it, I thought I would never read it before Christmas. I sat down and started to read. I was caught into the story immediately. Karen Kingsbury is one of the best writers I have read. She really knows how to develop her characters and is not afraid to draw you into their conflicts, their sorrows, their struggles. I felt as if I was reading about friends of my own because the characters were so well portrayed. I finished the first book in one night because I could not put it down. Went on to the second book thinking it could not be as good as the first (that is just how it always is). I was wrong! It was just as good and I finished it in two nights! The last one was even better!
This book is hard to put down. I loved the characters and how they show up in the later volumes as well. Well written. I laughed and cried...some of those gut wrenching sobs that you are embarrassed to have while reading a book. Wonderful writing!!!
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"
If you want to read the first chapter of this book for free, click here. Just be forewarned...you will have to go and buy the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get those tissues ready!! Awesome read!!

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have now read this series for the second time and I can tell you it was even better the second time through! Be ready to have that box of tissue ready at your disposal because you are going to need them. Wow, Karen Kingsbury has that gift to bring our emotions to the forefront. She can make us laugh, cry and then turn around and do it all over again.
In this Forever Faithful Trilogy we have, Waiting for Morning, A Moment of Weakness, and Halfway and Forever. In book one we witness how tragedy can bring us to the breaking point in the blink of an eye. But Kingsbury shows us we are never alone and God always and forever has a plan. In book 2, we see what can happen when we allow our feeling to overtake us and in one choice life changes forever. In the last book we see how God doesn't just bring us half way through an experience and leave us there to fend for ourselves. He carries us all the way through. Even when we cannot see what's up ahead, He can and through it all, He is preparing us for each experience.
We meet the Ryan family and we have a front seat into their living room window. The story continues with Jade and Connor. In book three the life of these very relatable characters brings us to love them even more. You feel as though you have walked the valleys with them and laughed through the great joys that has touched their lives.
I absolutely loved this book and you will too!
This book was a gift from WaterBrook Multnomah Press for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Memorable

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:San Antonio
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The entire best-selling Forever Faithful trilogy, by Karen Kingsbury now available in one volume:
Kingsbury is a great storyteller. Her characters are well written and come alive off the page with real life struggles. This trilogy is full of stories of redemption, restored relationships, and forgiveness. The joys and sorrows the characters experienced are so real the reader will feel they know them personally.
Waiting for Morning
a drunk driver...a deadly accident...a dream destroyed. When Hannah Ryan loses her husband and oldest daughter to a drunk driver, she is consumed with hate and revenge. Ultimately, it is a kind prosecutor, a wise widow, and her husband's dying words that bring her the peace that will set her free and let her live again.
A Moment of Weakness
When childhood friends Jade and Tanner reunite as adults, they share their hearts, souls, and dreams of forever--until a fateful decision tears them apart. Now, nearly a decade later, Jade's unfaithful husband wants to destroy her in a custody battle that is about to send shock waves across the United States. Only one man can help Jade in her darkest hour. And only one old woman knows the truth that can set them all free.
Halfway to Forever
Matt and Hannah...Jade and Tanner--after already surviving much, these couples must now face the greatest struggles of their lives: parental losses and life-threatening illness threaten to derail their faith and sideline their futures. Can Hannah survive the loss of an adopted daughter? Will Tanner come through decades of loneliness only to face losing Jade one final time?
Karen Kingsbury is a USA Today and New York Times best-selling author, with nearly twenty million books in print. Dubbed the "Queen of Christian Fiction" by Time magazine, Karen has written more than forty Life-Changing Drama, which encompasses the Redemption, Firstborn, and Sunrise series, as well as stand-alone novels such as Like Dandelion Dust, When Joy Came to Stay, and This Side of Heaven.
If you have never read any of her books this is a good series to start with. Fans of Kingsbury will not be disappointed. I would recommend this book.
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah as part of their Blogging for Books program in return for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JanM
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw this book, I thought, "What was I thinking. I'm never going to have time to read all that" (1136 pages).. but once I got started I couldn't put it down.
This trilogy opens with Waiting for Morning, the story of Hannah Ryan, a mom of two beautiful girls, married to her childhood sweetheart, whom life has treated pretty well. Until a tragic accident, involving a drunk driver, changes everything. Ms. Kingsbury writes with such emotion, I felt as if I were reading about a good friend. I identified with Hannah's grief and hatred toward the driver, and her struggles with her surviving daughter, Jenny. {Have some tissues handy!} A brief verse at the beginning of each chapter (most from Lamentations), confirms what Hannah discovers, that bad things do happen to good people, and that just like others, people of faith often struggle to find meaning during dark times.
Book two, A Moment of Weakness, introduces us to new characters, Jade and Tanner, best friends since childhood, who discover that decisions they once made lightly can have a huge impact on their futures.
Halfway to Forever, the third book, brings together the main characters from the previous two books. I don't want to spoil it for you, so I'll just say that the story doesn't end the way you think it will. Twists and turns will keep you reading into the wee hours of the morning, even when you have to work early the next day!
This is my first experience with a Karen Kingsbury book. I loved the honesty in her writing. She doesn't portray Christians as perfect people, but as people who serve a perfect God.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Forever Faithful

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forever Faithful is the complete trilogy all in one book. These were 3 different novels all available in one book. It starts off with Hannah's tragic journey of bitterness and anger at losing her husband and daughter to a drunk driver and seeing her go through all the emotions that go with a tragedy like that. In the end she sees that forgiveness is the only to way to let go of the anger and bitterness that is destroying her. There is of course a love story woven in as well.
The second book is about Jade and Tanner who are childhood friends but when life takes them in different directions they thought they would never see each other again. God brings them together and their romance begins to unfold but in a "moment of weakness" they give in to their desires and Jade becomes pregnant. This was a very sad story about life and its consequences but God can still "work things together for good for those who love Him."
The Final book brings both couples together in a friendship and they both go through trials that requires support and faith in God to get you through. I thought this trilogy was well done and Ms. Kingsbury does an excellent job showing that no matter the circumstances you go through you can look back and see the hand of God working. Jeremiah 29:11 was shown throughout the entire trilogy.
I received this book free from blogging for books in exchange for my review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A trilogy of life-changing fiction

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before Bailey Flanigan had to choose between Cody and Brandon . . . before Dayne Matthews was willing to risk his Hollywood stardom for a life of faith . . . before the Baxters became neighbors, friends, and household names to thousands (or millions???) of faithful readers . . . Karen Kingsbury was already writing great God-honoring, life-changing fiction. Forever Faithful is a collection of three of those stories.
In Waiting for Morning, Hannah Ryan receives some of the most devastating news a mother and wife could receive. While stuck in a dark spot, she is driven by sorrow and rage and shuts God out of her life. Forgiveness – toward the man responsible for the loss of her family and toward God – is the farthest thing from her mind. Is there hope and help for turning from her bitterness back to the God she desperately needs?
A Moment of Weakness is the story of Jade and Tanner, best friends as children before a move separates them. A few years later they find each other and give in to a moment of weakness, a choice that separates them again, perhaps forever. Nearly a decade passes before Jade becomes the victim of an unfaithful husband who tries to destroy her and win custody of her son. Is Tanner the one who can help her keep her son and bring truth to light?
Halfway to Forever brings together the main characters from the previous two stories and finds them all facing tremendous struggles. Lives of family members and their trust in God are at stake. Will their faith triumph and see them through the trials?
These individual titles have been packaged together into one volume. This is a great way for someone to be introduced to the writing of Karen Kingsbury in a multi-story series. And those who are already fans will enjoy this book from a favorite author.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forever Faithful Trilogy by Karen Kingsbury

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
frugal4utx
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series takes you into the lives of four Christians as they walk through everything from everyday occurrences and tragic struggles. If you like books that make you cry, this is definitely one for your library.
In this series you will meet Hannah in Waiting for Morning. Hannah is a young wife and mother who loves God and her family. But when an unexpected tragedy strikes, will she remember God's faithfulness or turn away from Him forever?
A Moment of Weakness takes us through the struggles of Jade, a new Christian, who must learn to trust God's good plan for her life in the face of a hard situation. Will Jade wait for God's plan or make her own?
In the final story of the trilogy, Karen Kingsbury reminds readers that in this life, Christians will have struggles. Hannah & Jade's stories continue is Halfway to Forever with a life threatening illness and a devastating loss. Will these ladies learn that even in heartbreak, God is carrying them through?
If you want a story to encourage and uplift your faith, this is it. I loved the book and hope you will also.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forever Faithful: The Complete Trilogy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What a Character

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Karen Kingsbury brings characters alive with her writings. I always feel as if I've known them--lived next door to them for years. This series amplifies her talent. Each character is flawed--just as you and I are. Each one struggles with faith in a fallen world. Why does God allow things to happen to His people?
I have a couple of caveats. I know that it's the author's style of writing, but I cringe with each sentence fragment. The third title, "Halfway to Forever," covered a good bit of the earlier material. I suppose some of that is necessary for those who hadn't read the first two titles.
However, Kingsbury's compelling plots beg for attention. Her fans will delight in this trilogy which is bound into one large volume.
Thank you to Laura Tucker at WaterBrook Multnomah Publicity for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.