Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Bethany House Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3

The threat of an Iranian blockade of the narrow Strait of Hormuz is escalating global tensions. Sanctions against Tehran have begun to bite, and it seeks to retaliate by cutting off vital shipping routes for crude oil. The specter of a preemptive Israeli strike has US officials on edge as they struggle to keep the world from plunging into the abyss.

Stymied in its efforts to uncover the sources of funding that bolster the Iranian nuclear program, the State Department calls on Marc Royce to investigate. With little to go on, he'll have to rely on an old ally. Kitra Korban has ties to people with the means to get things done, so long as no questions are asked. But Iran is on the brink of nuclear capability, and time is running out.

Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Review 1 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blue Rose
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. You just can't go wrong with T. Davis Bunn. I've read all of this books. Delivery was good, the book was in great shape..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A smart, all-too-real thriller

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marc Royce became one of my favourite characters with his debut in "Lion of Babylon", solidified this position in the excellent follow-up "Rare Earth", and now again holds firm in his stature with his excellent performance in "Straight of Hormuz". Royce is such a finely crafted character that he truly seems alive, a real hero that both men and women will enjoy reading about as he dashes across the pages putting his life on the line. I honestly found this book impossible to put down once I'd cracked the cover. From the first few pages to the final chapter, the intense, action-filled plot pulled me into the story and held me captive. The international intrigue and conspiracies woven into the story make for some solid entertainment, and the themes appear ripped from the headlines, capturing the tension in the Middle East that marks our world today. I enjoyed the manner in which Kitra especially seems to grow as a character in this story, finding a new confidence in herself as she steps into a new (and fun) role in the plot. The interactions between Marc and Kitra add just the right touch of romance to the story, and I turned the final pages satisfied with where we, the readers, are left in their relationship (though I admit I'm hoping for a return of these characters one day in the future!). As usual for Bunn, faith permeates the pages of the story, though it is done so subtly that people of many different faiths are likely to appreciate this book while being drawn to the truth of Jesus.
Davis Bunn has succeeded in becoming one of the few authors on my list whose books have achieved a "must have" status. If you are anything like me, then plan on getting "Straight of Hormuz". I highly recommend this book and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast Paced, Cant' Put Down Thriller

Date:December 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I had never read anything by this Davis Bunn before but this sort of book is right up my alley and I was immediately intrigued by the synopsis. I have to say that after finishing Strait of Hormuz I cannot wait to pick up some more of Bunn’s stories. Let me also say that this is the third book in the Marc Royce series but I had no problems reading the story on its own. I always suggest reading a series in order though for the best reading experience.
Bunn was never stingy with the action and intrigue which is just how I like my thrillers! There were more than enough twists and turns to keep me up reading long into the night. The romance between Marc and Kitra was just right, not too much to distract from the story and enough so it didn’t feel ignored.
This is a definite must read for action/thriller fans and a wonderful introduction to the author me.
***I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honestly, it didn't move as quickly as I was hoping it would. It's not a bad story and it's not poorly written, it just didn't capture my attention like I was expecting. I'll definitely be reading it again when I get the chance. I haven't read anything else by Davis Bunn so it might just be that I'm not used to how he writes. I really don't know. I tried to be super into the book but I just wasn't.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome thriller from Davis Bunn

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK
Another Marc Royce from author Davis Bunn. This assignment takes Royce from Asia to the Mideast, and on to Switzerland with nothing at all and no one to help. What is he doing there? Well, this time Royce is going undercover to investigate money laundering in the top of the arts, art. Davis Bunn starts this book off with a bang! This is a page-turner for sure.
I love anything Davis Bunn writes! As with all of his books, there is so much going on in Strait of Hormuz, so many twists and turns that your head is spinning with excitement when you read the last page. And I like that Bunn always weaves faith and the Bible through the lives of his characters. If you are looking for a fast-pace, nailbitting thriller/suspense with a touch of romance and a lot of excitement and entertainment, Strait of Hormuz is for you. And guys, this is a great book for you too! And even though all three books in this series is a great standalone read, you will enjoy all of the better if you read the three in order. So check out The Lion of Babylon, Rare Earth too!
I received this book from the publisher Bethany House to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Continues to hold the reader captive

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
George
Location:Columbia SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This conclusion of Mr. Bunn's series is fascinating and intriguing - holds the reader's attention wondering what comes next
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true page-turner!!!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn is one of my favorite authors, so you can just imagine how excited I was to get my hands on a copy of "Straight of Hormuz". Of course, with that excitement came a great amount of expectations, and believe me - this book didn't disappoint!
This is the third book of the Marc Royce series but can easily hold its own, but do yourself a favor and start from the beginning with "Lion of Babylon" (if you haven't already). Bunn takes us on another political adventure that will keep you turning the pages and will leave you unable to put the book down and needing to know what happens next. This fast paced thriller will keep your heart racing and and wondering how, when and why. Oh my!!
Bunn has written across different genres with a fantastic Christian message in each of his stories, including the Marc Royce series. If you enjoy political thrillers, mysteries, or just a great page-turner, you'll certainly enjoy this latest book from Davis Bunn. I give him 11 stars out of 10 for this one!
Highly recommended!!!!!
I received an e-copy of this book from NetGalley compliments of the publisher. I was not required to write a favorable review, but instead one that reflects my own opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Danger and Adventure abound

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Strait of Hormuz" is the third book in the Marc Royce Adventure series by Davis Bunn. Filled with danger, adventure and a twinge of romance, "Strait of Hormuz" will be another hit with Davis Bunn fans. Beginning with a new assignment for Marc Royce, he is joined (or saved rather) by an operative with the Mossad, Kitra Korban, who was sent to keep an eye on the undercover operation. When a gallery explodes and a man is killed, the turn of events lead Royce and Kitra on a mission to save the world from an Iranian plan to cut off shipping routes from the Strait of Hormuz.
As always, Davis Bunn incorporates action and suspense to make a story that is hard to quit reading until the end. "Strait of Hormuz" can be read without reading the previous books in the series; however, in order to completely enjoy the story and appreciate the romance and intrigue, you may desire to read them in order beginning with "The Lion of Babylon" followed by "Rare Earth". There are references in the book to events covered in the others.
I did not follow the plot well until the end of the book as I was focused on what was going on with the characters. I'm sure that reading the book out of order may have had something to do with it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book!

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strait of Hormuz was a good book! I liked the main characters and all of the settings were interesting. Davis Bunn describes all the places in this book like he has been to them. Maybe he has! This book was exciting in parts, but the end was not the best. It should have been more exciting and much longer. It only lasted a few chapters! I probably would have given this book five stars if the end had been better. Other than that, this was a great book. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully written!

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Haley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The adventure in this book literally started on the first page and never stopped til the last. Strait of Hormuz is wonderfully-written and the action scenes are thrilling. It was a great book and I recommend it to you!
*I would like to thank Bethany House for providing me with a free copy of this book to review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strait of Hormuz is Completely Engaging

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn spins an engaging tale with this Marc Royce adventure. Marc Royce finds himself in Switzerland without backup and without much information. He is there to follow a money trail for a vague international threat. He doesn’t even know who the enemy is. On top of that, there is a leak inside the U.S. intelligence.
As he was about to be blown-up at an art dealership, a woman he knew from Israel named Kitra shows up in the doorway to save him. After being pushed through the doorway by the force of the blast and being dropped into a lake by Marc himself, she becomes a partner in his investigation, and they proceed to uncover this international threat under the direction of Ambassador Walton, the boss who had fired Marc years ago. The action and adventure of this mission is thrilling and fast-paced. I enjoyed following the unveiling of the mystery as well as the various characters that join them along the way. These characters are each unique and well-developed.
The development of Marc and Kitra’s relationship grows throughout the duration of this book as they come to terms with their individual lives and with searching for what God’s will is. It brought joy to see them turn from avoiding the situation to praying for clarity.
This adventure was fun and engaging to read. I always look forward to Davis Bunn’s books.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Marc Royce in Fine Form

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peter L
Location:Boise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marc Royce is once again thrown into the melee of action, caught between two governments and his desires to be happy, while trusting God's divine plan to find that happiness. This time, the stakes are higher than ever, when boats filled with an unknown substance are headed for innocent coastal cities. But not all is as it seems, and he uncovers a secret that could throw the world into war. Forced to work side by side with the woman who represents heartbreak, together they must stop the enemy before millions die.
Davis Bunn's success as a writer and philosopher is in full power as he pens another page turner.
[Bethany House Publishers sent me a free review copy of Strait of Hormuz, in exchange for my honest opinion of the book.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Action packed international suspense

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marc's mission from the State Department is to find out who is funding the Iranian nuclear program. He has a lead - the money trail involves the sale of high-end art. He is nearly blown up in a gallery in Geneva just as he sees Kitra, the Israeli nurse with whom he had a brief relationship in the previous novel. She had had a mysterious phone call instructing her to go to Geneva and warn Marc of danger.
The two work together, even though their relationship is strained. They try to follow the money trail, teaming up with Swiss law enforcement. Adding to the tension is a time constraint. A ship with unknown cargo has left North Korea and its whereabouts unknown. The U.S. military leadership is bent on making a big mistake by boarding the ship when it surfaces. Marc is convinced it is a decoy, but he has to find the real shipment and prevent its use before it is too late. The action moves to the Middle East as the novel progresses.
This is a fast paced international thriller. People from several nations work together to keep Iran from completing their terrorist act. There is lots of action along with the troubled progressive romance between Marc and Kitra.
There were a few concerns I had about the novel. One is that Kitra and the female high-end art broker who is helping Marc are left alone to attend a gallery event. They had already been attacked once and I was surprised Marc did not arranged protection in such a public place. Well, of course, they are attacked again (duh) and Marc has to rush to save them (he was talking with his law enforcement friends). Another issue is that a very wealthy person provides Marc with all the extras he needs. That just seemed a little too convenient. I also had some difficulty getting a sense of the locations, perhaps from lack of description.
These are issues that I felt detracted from the novel but it is still an exciting one. Faith is a prominent aspect of this novel, from the individual faith of Marc and Kitra to the collective faith of the Christians gathering for worship that are from many nations. It was very interesting to learn of the plight of Arab Christians in the Middle East. People who like international political thrillers will like this one.
I received a complimentary egalley from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been so excited about the direction that Davis Bunn has taken in his writing career over the last couple of years. From the early years of writing his Regency era romance stories, to his contemporary novels such as "Elixir", I thoroughly enjoy his latest foray into the action adventure genre with these Marc Royce novels.
Marc Royce is back in this, the third and final installment in this action-packed series by Davis Bunn. Marc has traveled all of the world in the previous books and finds himself in Switzerland in this new novel. Expecting to meet up with an informant, Marc finds the gallery owner dead. Now, seemingly without backup, Marc has to continue on with this undercover op. Unbeknownst to Marc, though, an important figure from his past is back to help him struggle through the current operation. Without the official backing of his own government or any other government agency in the different countries he must use all the back channels he can to discover the threat that has him zeroing in at the Strait of Hormuz. Are there really nuclear weapons being shipped through the Strait? What is the final target of the terrorists? Who is providing help to Marc along the way? Are these people friends or foes? Begin your own undercover op when you BUY THE BOOK!!!
Mr. Bunn provides us with a fitting end to this great series. While the body-count and action scenes aren't as plentiful as in the first couple of books, there is still a great story-line that is easy to follow. The character of Marc Royce continues to be a very godly man, using his spirituality to help in his decision making throughout the different situations in the book. I appreciate seeing how a "manly man" can still be humbled before God and drawn to a personal relationship with Him. This book, and the character traits that Mr. Bunn has given to his character, should be read by everyone.
Is this a "guy's book"? This is a tremendous book with foreign goverments, terrorists, global travels and more. With the addition of seeing a strong man bring his faith to his daily walk, this book is definitely a "guy's book".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A captivating story filled with suspense and action, with both the physical and spiritual battles as part of the plot is presented in this exciting novel. Here is the conclusion of the story of the characters first introduced in Lion of Babylon followed by Rare Earth, both authored by Davis Bunn, and what a conclusion it is too! A plot that has political intrigue with Israel and its allies on one side and unidentified enemies on the other ramps up the tension. The threat of war starting seems so viable that all that is needed is physical evidence, the one thing no one has to pass on to their superiors.
The forces in the cloak and dagger world that at first seem easy to mark as enemies might not turn out to be the true threat at all. So how does Marc Royce work, along with intelligence agents from other countries, to find the parts of nine bombs that have gone missing? The moment he enters a gallery, hearing unnatural sounds and then is hauled into the local police station for questioning after a bomb detonates, Marc finds himself in the middle of a tug of war between Swiss intelligence and local police. Not only is the tug of war local, it is across the ocean in Washington where one man wants Marc to ferret out the bombs while others in power want Marc to be off the case and ordered to return to home base.
Throughout the three novels, a romance is blossoming between Marc and Kitra, one a citizen of Israel and the other America, with neither willing to give up their jobs for the other. As the reader advances through the plot, the climax heightens and I guarantee the heart races, wanting to know how all the clues collected come together to form the complete picture of the looming threat many are sure is fast approaching.
I cannot recommend high enough Strait of Hormuz. As I was reading, I couldn’t help but occasionally see how the fictional scenes of political or military one-up manship were a mirror to reality. At times it was like watching a chess game, wondering which pieces (characters) were going to be caught or killed or if they were going to advance and help bring an end, if possible, to the threat of the annihilation of Israel.
While the audience could read this separately from the previous novels, I think the story will be appreciated more if read in sequence. However, if all you read is this one book, the intrigue along with action and adventure will be worth the time made to spend curled up reading Davis Bunn’s work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Marc Royce Page-turning Read!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mama Pris
Location:Coeur d Alene, ID
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strait of Hormuz is a wonderful finale to the Marc Royce adventure series by author Davis Bunn! I was up reading late into the night to find out what would happen next! It was gratifying to become reacquainted with characters we came to know and love from Davis Bunn’s previous novels, Lion of Babylon and Rare Earth. I enjoyed this one every bit as much (if not more!) than the previous two!
You can read this book as a stand-alone title, but I recommend you read all three!
I give this book a 5 out of 5 star rating. I loved it!! If you are a Davis Bunn fan (or if you’re new to Davis Bunn novels) be prepared for a wonderful page-turning adventure!
I received a complimentary copy of Strait of Hormuz from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Has Marc Royce finally met an enemy he can’t beat?

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strait of Hormuz, the third in Davis Bunn’s Marc Royce series has all the elements of a good story: the beautiful woman, a mysterious older woman, a daunting enemy, and lots of action. Bunn squarely nails every element! Marc Royce has become one of my favorite characters. This time he’s in Switzerland with only sketchy information, no backup, and no weapon other than his wits. He arrives at the location for his “meet” and turns around to see an old love. Suddenly aware he rushes out with her and throws her in a nearby lake – then the building blows! What a way to rekindle a romance.
Davis is running a contest with the launch of this book – enter and enter often. These books are must haves – just don’t start them in the evening – you’ll be up all night!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

International Intrigue at Its Best!

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
GreatBooksUnbound
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third installment in Davis Bunn’s Marc Royce series, Strait of Hormuz opens with Royce being sent to Switzerland to follow up on a lead, but when he arrives, his lead is dead, a bomb is about to go off, and the woman he cares about walks into the building right before detonation. Readers are dropped straight into the action and hit the ground running as they follow Marc Royce into the fray.
The sense of urgency established in the first chapter builds by degrees as the reader joins Royce in his pursuit for answers in the midst of political posturing between competing intelligence agencies and rival governments. On this mission, Marc is searching for a missing freighter carrying what is believed to be guidance systems for long-range missiles. U.S. officials fear that the components are headed for Iran, and recent Intel indicates that the Atlantic Coast of the United States may be the target.
The United States wants to intercept the cargo before it reaches the Strait of Hormuz, the channel of water linking the Persian Gulf with the open ocean, but the ship has gone off the grid. Marc’s job is to discover the ship’s destination and find the people responsible for its movements before military intervention is necessary.
Royce’s trip to Switzerland was supposed to connect him with the man facilitating the financial transactions for the movement of arms. Instead, it leads him to an ally inside Israel’s intelligence agency and an informant with connections to Iran. These unlikely allies work together to prevent a serious international incident and, in the process, find they have more in common than they ever imagined. Trapped inside a world that would divide them by geography, politics, and culture, these patriots transcend those arbitrary barriers to form a cohesive team.
This unique collaboration allows them to find answers to the questions their governments aren’t asking and puts them all on the front lines of a deadly assault aimed at America’s strongest ally in the Middle East. Tension mounts as the team is forced to work against time and outside official governmental parameters to stop a biochemical attack on Israel and to apprehend the man responsible for its implementation.
Davis Bunn’s skill at weaving faith and integrity into the fictional world of covert ops without sacrificing the adventure and intrigue inherent to the genre is unparalleled. Fans of Bourne and Bond could easily identify with Marc Royce’s world and would, no doubt, come to respect a man who values progress over politics and pursues justice rather than glory. Royce’s keen intellect, combat skills, and decisive command make him an admirable warrior while his sincerity and compassion make him an attractive hero. This combination accounts for the character’s overall appeal to both male and female readers.
Also appealing is the view of the world we see through Marc Royce’s eyes. This series depicts more than the age-old conflict of nation rising against nation. It casts a vision for a world where leadership is defined by sacrifice, unity is prized over power, and peace is found in rising above national differences. In Strait of Hormuz, Davis Bunn offers readers a model of hope for a world in turmoil and a picture of warrior who perseveres in spite of the obstacles.
I highly recommend this book and the other books in the Marc Royce series.
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
~Vickie Price Taylor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Marc Royce – A Man of Faith and Action

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrandaddyA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read my first Davis Bunn book in 2000. I was hooked. As I read Lion of Babylon and Rare Earth, the first two books in the Marc Royce series, I found it difficult to wait for the next book to be released. Although Strait of Hormuz is billed as the final book in this series, I would welcome additional installments of exciting adventure with Marc Royce and Kitra Korban. Davis Bunn has an awesome knack for painting word pictures. As the action unfolds in each of his books, he makes it so easy to visualize what is taking place. It is easy to see that he has spent a lot of time researching the details. Strait of Hormuz is chocked full of suspense, international intrigue, strategy, extremely high stakes, and a faith that won’t give up.
I love the way Davis Bunn brings Christian faith into the interaction of individuals of various nationalities as they come together in worship and prayer. Faith plays a very vital role for Marc and Kitra throughout the course of events. It is an integral part of who he is, not just a safety net when trouble rears its ugly head. Combined with his training, skills, knowledge, and experience, Marc’s faith helps him keep his perspective and sort out the real issues. Christians are often displayed as wimps but that’s not who Marc is. He is very much a man of action. The book has lots of action and keeps the reader on edge just waiting to see what will happen next: explosions, car chases, attacks, fights, numerous threats, and romance. I highly recommend this book.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Strait of Hormuz, Marc Royce Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hold on to your hat, Action and Thrills Ahead

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Russ in Arlington
Location:Arlington, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marc Royce is off on another action packed, suspenseful, thrill ride. Wow, what a treat. The Strait of Hormuz is the blockbusting third book of Davis Bunn’s, critically acclaimed, Trilogy that started with Lion of Babylon and then Rare Earth.
The action starts on the first page and I was hooked, I had a difficult time putting it down. The story opens with Marc in Geneva on an important and dangerous mission for Ambassador Walton who believes that America’s Intelligence has been compromised. Royce arrives to find his contact has been killed and he has walked into a deadly trap from which he must rescue a woman he had once loved and broken up with. Royce and Kitra Korban must work together to prevent terrorists from starting a World War that could destroy the United States and Israel. Authors who are able to develop characters who feel like real people that you might know well, are rare, and the ability to imbue those characters with Christian values is even more rarely found. Davis Bunn has an abundance of talent and is able to write these characters and packed action scenes that are incredibly realistic and engaging, keeping his reader on the edge of his seat for the whole ride.
If you like action packed, adventure, and suspense, you’ll love this whole series and especially The Strait of Hormuz. These books can be read by themselves but the real gem is in reading all three in order because you’ll get to know the characters and understand their history. Marc Royce is the hero America needs and Kitra Korban is the “girl next door” only with more complexity and interest. Bunn creates characters and stories that are so real you feel like you’re right there and these are people you know. I always look forward to Davis Bunn’s next book because he has been right at the top of my list of favorite authors since I discovered his work more than 20 years ago. This book and this series is a great way to discover this talented author for yourself, and if this is your first discovery of him, you’ll have a lot of really good books to read while he’s writing the next one. I hope the next book(s) have more of Marc Royce and or Kitra Korban.
I was generously provided a copy of this book by the publishers in exchange for my honest review. I loved it, I hope you will too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>