Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1

Bethany House Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1

Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Review 1 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspenseful small-town fiction

Date:July 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I had previously read a series of Mennonite fiction by Nancy Mehl and enjoyed the books, but I think she has outdone herself with this new story. Gathering Shadows is a great start to her Finding Sanctuary series and left me anxious to read more.
Wynter, Zac, Reuben, Esther (as well as others) are well-developed characters who all make the story come alive. Although certain elements of the plot are pretty obvious from the beginning, there is plenty of suspense to keep the pace exciting all the way to the end of the book. Watching the growth of the characters in their faith and in their relationships adds an enjoyable depth to the story. The Mennonite influence is definitely a part of this story, but not necessarily the most important part.
An added bonus for me is the setting for the book. Although Sanctuary is a fictional town, most of the other towns mentioned in the book are real locations less than an hour's drive from the small Missouri town where I live. Relating to the places mentioned provides even more interest to a story.
If you think you would enjoy a visit to a small town filled with secrets, give Gathering Shadows a try. A word of warning, though -- you might not want to start this book until you have time to enjoy the whole thing. You will likely have trouble finding a good place to stop.
Thanks to Nancy and to Bethany House for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enthralling with an unexpected twist

Date:July 1, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Mehl's writing kept me enthralled from page one to the very last. I loved the unexpected twist in the end.
I also smiled at the names of Esther's kitties - Clyde, Maizie, Frances, and Sam - because I know a fellow writer who has four cats with these exact names. :)
***I received the above novel from the publisher/author in return for an honest review.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatly enjoyed this book

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Nancy Mehl has done it again. Another great book set in a small town. I love how she takes these small towns, and makes them such a vital part of the story. This book was great, lots of mystery and I didn't know who was behind all of it, until the end. What a surprise, I love suspense because I love trying to figure out whodunnit, but this was a blindside for me. Great writing, great details. Awesome story 5 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thereadmaster
Location:Davenport,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was another great book by Nancy Mehl. I loved the mix of English and Mennonite. This is a nice quiet small town that can still have problems like the big cities. Both of the main characters learn a little bit about learning to live better lives. I look forward to the next book in this series. Had a hard time putting this down.
I received this from Bethany Hoouse blogger for a fair and honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nancy Mehl's best book yet.

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gathering Shadows, Book 1 Finding Sanctuary by Nancy Mehl
Wow Nancy Mehl has written her best book yet. Gathering Shadows is out of this world, I loved it. It is Christian fiction with a little romance and suspense, set in the small Mennonite community. This is a fact paced, keep you at the edge of your seat novel that will keep you reading until the very last page. You are sure to fall a little in love with the characters especially Zac. This is a well thought out book with a realistic storyline. The author Nancy Mehl brings her faith to each story she writes. Having read many of her books I find this to be my all time favorite. If you have not read The Road to Kingdom Series you are missing out. I highly recommend this book and give it 5 stars.
I want to give a high-five to the author Nancy Mehl and publisher Bethany House for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. I was provided with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for the authors and publishers generosity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

gathering shadows review

Date:June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Nancy Mehl consistently writes good books. I have been reading the Road to Kingdom series and now she has started the Finding Sanctuary series with the novel "Gathering Shadows." Sanctuary is a small town outside of St. Louis that is home to many conservative people. Not conservative in a right wing way, but in a living life simply and quietly. Primarily a Mennonite town, Sanctuary is the perfect place to go for..well....sanctuary. Wynter works in St. Louis at a television station in the news. Her latest assignment is to put together a piece on unusual Missouri towns. Sanctuary comes up on her list when a friend shows her a picture of Mennonite children living in Sanctuary. One of them has a striking resemblance to her abducted brother, Ryan. Ryan was taken 9 years before. Wynter; Zac, her photog; and Lyndon, her father, go to Sanctuary to find the boy in the picture and come across one road block after another. Sanctuary is not only good for sanctuary, but also for those looking to stay lost.
This is a nice turn from the Kingdom books. The characters seem to be more in depth. The writing has gotten better. The writing was good in the Kingdom books, but Mehl seems to truly be growing as a writer. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review from Bethany House Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very slow for a suspense

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I certainly wasn't blown away by this book. It was just ok. It was disappointing, I was expecting more. Quite frankly, if anything it was a little on the slow side and I just didn't really like Reuben King's character. He seemed stilted and overly in touch with his feelings. Past that, the story is ok. It's a mix of the Amish fiction that's so popular right now, and contemporary romantic suspense.
There were just too many things that didn't add up and there was a lot of introspection and extra detail that happened, for example, in the home they stayed in that was unnecessary. Don't run right out and grab it up, but if you have the chance to read it you might still enjoy it.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good story, but very slow

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My Review:
This cover was very eye-catching! I really, really like the cover, that is mainly what sold the book to me. However, this book has a very slow beginning and I just cannot get into the story. I am on like chapter 6 and still trying to get involved with the characters. I know I should keep reading and really want to, but the story is just too slow for me. Now, if it was a rainy day in the middle of winter and I had a fire going, I might be more inclined to read this slower paced book, but it's not and I'm not. However, from what I've read, there is nothing remotely "bad" about this book, so the only reason I am putting it on hold is stated above.
Thanks for reading!
"I received this book from Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mystery, suspense and romance

Date:May 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wynter is stunned when a colleague shows her a old photo of a Mennonite family near the town of Sanctuary. The young teen in the buggy looked like Ryan, her younger brother kidnapped ten years ago. The photo had been secretly taken through a car window about six years earlier. Wynter was planning a piece for the television station about unique towns in Missouri and her colleague thought the photo would pique her interest. Wynter knew the first town she and her photographer would go to was Sanctuary, an out of the way town where people lived a simple life, both Mennonites and those not of the faith.
Sanctuary is not as welcoming as Wynter had thought it would be. It soon becomes evident someone doesn't want her there. They will even murder to keep their secrets covered.
This novel is a good combination of mystery, suspense and romance. Although I am generally not a reader of Amish style fiction, there are enough twists, turns and revelations in this novel that kept my interest and kept me reading. It was inspiring to see the effect the simple life lived in Sanctuary had on Wynter and her photographer, both psychologically and spiritually. It was also pleasing to see Wynter have an opportunity for romance, even if it did seem to happen quickly.
Readers of Amish style fiction will like this book as will those who enjoy a good mystery. There are themes of restoration, forgiveness, and trusting God woven throughout. All in all, a very good novel.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of an independent and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gathering Shadows a Fantastic Read

Date:May 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gathering Shadows
Nancy Mehl
Book Summary: Wynter Evans is a promising young reporter for a television station in St. Louis, but even a bright future doesn't take away her pain over the disappearance of her brother nine years ago. So when she stumbles across a photograph of a boy with an eerie resemblance to him, she can't pass up the chance to track him down. With research for work as her cover, she sets out with one of the station's photogs for the place where the picture was taken: the town of Sanctuary. Almost as soon as she arrives, she meets the town's handsome young mayor, Rueben King, and together they begin to uncover long held secrets that could tear the small town apart and change everything Wynter thought she knew about her life. As the truth of her family's past hides in the shadows, it's clear someone will stop at nothing to keep the answers she's searching for hidden forever--even if the cost is Wynter's very life.
Review: The beginning cinched it for me. I was immediately drawn in with the kidnapping of Ryan! I really liked the mystery of Wynter’s brother and who sent her the newspaper clippings. I hope to see Zac in another story. He was a great addition. There were so many memorable events and situations spread throughout the story it made the story more engrossing. It all ended up with a fantastic finally that was worth the wait. I enjoyed the relationship between Reuben and Wynter. The secondary characters like Wynter’s dad and Esther were a tremendous addition that made each part of the book they were in more treasured. The suspense throughout the story was perfectly timed enough to make me jumpy. I am waiting for the next book in this series.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Bethany House Publishers for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is a story that slowly builds in intensity as the chapters move forward. The mystery is on the page almost from page one, but doesn’t acquire suspense pacing until the last quarter of the book. And there are many layers to the story and mystery. They all weave together artfully in the end. Gathering Shadows also has the small town charm of Nancy Mehl’s prior romantic mystery series and the wide cast of appealing characters which will bring readers back for the next installments in the series. There is romance in the story, but it didn’t quite fit for me. Given more time in the story’s timeline, I think I would have enjoyed that part. Still this book will be a pleasant read for those who love a romantic mystery set in simpler settings like the Mennonite Sanctuary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4.5 stars for mystery/romance

Date:May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wynter Evans is an aspiring journalist with a Missouri TV network, on assignment in the tiny Mennonite town of Sanctuary with her colleague, photographer Zac Weikal. But she’s got another motive: she’s searching for her brother, Ryan, who was kidnapped several years earlier. Reuben King is the young and handsome mayor of Sanctuary, who agrees to work with Wynter despite opposition from some of the townspeople.
Gathering Shadows starts off as a predictable romance in an Amish/Mennonite setting, but soon turns into something more. It’s written entirely from Wynter’s point of view. As we get to know her better, her past begins to collide with the present and we start to realise there is more of a mystery than whether the mystery Mennonite boy is Wynter’s long-lost brother. Why don’t the townspeople want her in Sanctuary? And who is leaving her mysterious notes?
It’s a plot that grabbed and kept my attention, both in the mystery and the strong characters. The Christian elements were solid but not preachy. The one weakness of Gathering Shadows was the romance. It took a long time to get started, and I wasn’t convinced they spent sufficient time together to form a lasting relationship—or that there was any chemistry. However, the mystery-thriller aspect of the plot was excellent, and I’d certainly read more by Nancy Mehl.
Thanks to Bethany House and NetGalley for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Returning To Sanctuary

Date:May 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this is a new series, I loved being back in Sanctuary, and visiting with some of our old friends. This new series is awesome, and I had to keep turning the pages, as my heart went into my throat.
As you will learn from reading the back of the book, Emily, or Wynter, has been missing her brother since he was kidnapped, or murdered when he was seven. I can’t even imagine, the pain and hopelessness of such a tragic happening in a family. While Wynter has gone on with her life, and is now news reported with an St Louis TV channel, she is ever alert to finding her brother, the not knowing and seeing him in different places. She has another hunch and is now in Sanctuary, and a lot of people are not happy about her being there, and will she finally be right? Is there any possibility that this Mennonite town holds clues to what happened to Ryan?
Can a healing happen here, even if answers are not found, trying to comprehend what an event of this nature would and did do to a family. I did love how God placed his hand on all, even Zac the cocky photographer sent with Wynter. Of course, Wynter’s faith has been shattered with the pain that has happened in her young life.
Meet the honorary mayor Rueben King, which we have met before, who takes an instant like to Wynter, the career girl and rather lost soul. These people are such sweet caring individuals; they don’t even lock their doors. After some of the events that happen, maybe they should? Don’t miss this great suspense novel, and read more about the Old Order Mennonites.
I received this book through Bethany House Publishers for my read, and was not required to give a positive review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another amazing series of suspense!!!

Date:May 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Some people are willing to protect their secrets at all costs."
For investigative reporter Wynter Evans, she has never given up hope of finding her brother Ryan who was kidnapped when he was only seven from their neighborhood. That one even destroyed more than her faith in God, it quite literally destroyed the family as she knew it. Her father soon divorced her mother and moved on to start his life with another woman. For Wynter's mother, she feel into a dark depression believing that her husband was the reason for Ryan's kidnapping and can't find forgiveness in her heart. For Wynter, she is plagued by nightmares where Ryan is begging her to not give up the search to find him. So she won't.
Now if she can only convince the station manager to go out on a limb for a community interest story involving a small Mennonite town known as Sanctuary. She hopes his interest in finding remote locations that he can highlight on their news station to garner public interest will give her just the break she is looking for. She has more than one motive for gaining time away to head to Sanctuary. Besides the human interest story for her station, she has been sent a photo of a young Mennonite teen who bears the remarkable similarities of her missing brother. But before she can involve the police, she must find a way to meet with this young man to know for sure. She only hopes it is him and perhaps finding him will help restore the family she has lost.
What she didn't plan on was the town treating her arrival with less than heart warming intentions. It seems that the residents of Sanctuary would rather their town be kept remote and quite like the name suggests. It seems that people who live in Sanctuary have a reason for wanting to settle in a town that pretty much keeps to itself and protects their own at all costs. Still Wynter has to try and with the help of the town's unofficial mayor, Rueben King, she hopes he can connect the dots and find a way to meet the young man who now goes by the name of Elijah Fisher. Only it's not just the town of Sanctuary who holds secrets as Wynter's investigation into the disappearance of her brother, now leads to a threat on her life. Will she be able to uncover what she is looking for before she loses her own life?
I received Gathering Shadows from Nancy Mehl compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own opinion. This is the first novel in the Finding Sanctuary series from Nancy and for me, it was a hit. I can't imagine what it must be like for someone like Wynter who wonders if every person she sees is really her missing brother. As the search draws closer, soon she and Rueben are the targets of someone who wants their investigation to come to a halt and if they don't, they will stop at nothing to ensure secrets remain in the shadows. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and I can't wait for more in this series. If you love a great mystery coupled with romance, than you will love this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspenseful and Action-Packed!

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
LifeofLiterature
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gathering Shadows has heart-pounding action from page one. Ms. Mehl possesses an excellent writing style that allows the novel to flow quickly while also incorporating an admirable amount of detail. The main characters are likable and slightly mysterious, adding to the thrill of the plot. The events of the book all link together in a creative fashion and the novel is not predictable or boring in any sense. Twists and turns throughout the book provide significant depth to the plot as the reader navigates through the intriguing journey with the heroine. Suspenseful and delightful, this novel is highly enjoyable and greatly recommended.
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of suspense, love, and faith

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sanctuary, a quaint and charming town that presents itself as perfect. . . that is, perfect until Wynter sets foot in the town and begins asking questions about her brother's disappearance. The people of Sanctuary like to live a simple life and they often keep to themselves, but there are those that are hiding past regrets and shameful secrets. When Wynter shows up things in Sanctuary begin to unravel; clues begin to unfold and Wynter becomes determined to stay in Sanctuary until she has the true story and hopefully her brother. Unfortunately, there are those that will do anything to get her out of town. "Some people are willing to protect their secrets at all costs."-(page 39) From lies to poison to murder will Wynter make it out of Sanctuary alive and will she ever find out what really happened to her brother?
Nancy Mehl does a fabulous job of grabbing the reader's attention with the plots and twist of the story. Each chapter has something intriguing and exciting that makes you crave the next page. The author also takes you on an incredible journey of seeking faith in Christ and finding forgiveness. I always enjoy a book that has Christ intertwined into the story and Nancy does just that, brings the Lord into focus. "We should never be too busy for God, children. He wasn't too busy to give His life for us."-(page 73) An excellent mystery full of suspense, love, and faith - I don't think it gets much better!
** I was given a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish (or rather Mennonite) suspense

Date:May 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nancy Mehl crosses genres in her suspense set in a private Mennonite town. TV news reporter Wynter Evans' younger brother disappeared nine years ago, but she never gave up hope that somewhere, sometime he might still be found. When she comes across a photograph of a young man who strongly resembles the boy that disappeared, she travels to the small Mennonite community where the picture was taken, preparing to do a small human interest piece on the town while surreptitiously investigating the boy. In spite of the antagonism of a number of the occupants, Wynter finds herself charmed by Sanctuary and its helpful young mayor, Rueben King. However, the town seems steeped in secrets, and clearly someone does not want their secrets to be revealed . . .
While I have begun reading more and more suspense, I have never read much Amish fiction, so this is something new for me. The two genres are not typically paired together, but it caught my attention. While the majority of the story takes place in a Mennonite community, the mystery/suspense aspect is stronger, given that the main characters are not Mennonite themselves. It is a good taste of Amish fiction and introduction to lives devoted to simplicity without diving headlong into the genre. Wynter's interviews as a reporter help clear up misconceptions and convey some surprising facts for those of us who are fairly ignorant about the Amish, Mennonites, etc - a nice, natural way to convey the facts without bogging down in back story or explanations.
Although I initially was unimpressed - even annoyed - with Wynter's photographer, Zac became my favorite character. While Wynter has her share of change, opening herself up after years of holding everyone at bay, Zac's development is more radical yet: from sullen jerk to a fun and loveable guy. I really like how his relationship with Wynter develops once they are over their bumpy beginning. Since this is the first book of a series, I am hoping Zac will feature prominently in the next installment.
The author does a good job keeping the reader's attention with a number of surprise revelations. The mystery reminds me of a jigsaw puzzle - there are many widely differing pieces that must belong to the same puzzle - it's unlikely some pieces of a different puzzle got mixed in - but finding where they connect is a real challenge. The romance moved a bit fast for me, considering Wynter is there for less than two weeks, but it seems longer given that they spend so much time together. An enjoyable read - 4 out of 5 stars
Thank you Bethany House and NetGalley for providing a free e-copy for the purpose of review; I was not required to make it positive, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps you guessing to the End

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wilani
Location:Franklin, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you guessing till the end. A real page turner. Kidnapping, threats, poison, murder, old order Mennonite, are all part of this great book. One of the things I loved besides the solving of a great mystery, was the way faith was restored to a couple of the characters, who began to learn to trust again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Suspenseful Page-Turner!

Date:May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Gathering Shadows, author Nancy Mehl takes us on another suspenseful, roller coaster ride to the quaint town of Sanctuary, Missouri. Sanctuary is a charming, small community comprised of mostly Mennonites, two cafes, horses and buggies, a quilt shop, and two churches---the epitome of homespun charm. A seemingly perfect place to raise a family and get away from the rat race of a large city. But something sinister lies in Sanctuary and dark secrets hover over the town like gathering shadows and ominous thunder clouds.
Wynter Evans, a reporter, and her photographer, Zac, come to Sanctuary to do a quick story about unique Missouri towns. Upon seeing a young Mennonite boy who favors her brother Ryan, who had been kidnapped at the age of seven, Wynter becomes obsessed with remaining in Sanctuary to find out if this could possibly be her missing sibling. She enlists the help of Zac and Reuben King, the handsome, young mayor of Sanctuary; and as the secrets that have been lying buried for years come to light, her world as she knows it is turned upside down -- and could quite possibly cost Wynter her life. Is there a remote chance that Ryan is still miraculously alive and well in Sanctuary? As she finds herself drawing closer to the once aggravating Zac and the devastatingly handsome Reuben King, will Wynter finally open her heart to love? And more importantly---to God's love?
Nancy Mehl has truly outdone herself this time! With intricate plot twists, heartracing suspense, and a climactic conclusion...you'll definitely have a problem putting this one down. I especially loved how some less endearing characters evolved spiritually --- such as Zac, the photog, and Wynter's father. I pride myself on figuring out "whodunit" long before the author would like, but not so with this one! I still didn't know until I was 90% through the book...good for you, Nancy Mehl! On the list of my 2014 faves will go Gathering Shadows...order now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gathering Shadows, Finding Sanctuary Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 Plus stars

Date:May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Murder, kidnapping, Old Order Mennonite, oh my, which of these does not fit???? They are all a part of Nancy Mehl's newly released Gathering Shadows. I absolutely love this book! 5 Stars + !!! Meet Zac, the cocky young photographer, for instance, you kind of love to hate him at first and then, all of a sudden the young ponytail swinging fella develops a heart!!! He actually becomes one of my favorite characters. And who could not love Wynter Evans, the young reporter who just wants to get a good story and oh, yes, find her long-ago kidnapped brother......the one her family thought was dead. But now she sees him wearing Old Order Mennonite clothing and living in the sweet, quiet, quaint little town of Sanctuary. You must read this to discover what happens? Will they find the boy? Is he Wynter's brother? Or is she just chasing a dream?
I was given a copy by the publishers in exchange for my honest review and one by the author so that I might offer a giveaway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>