Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House A Match Made in Texas

Bethany House A Match Made in Texas

Where can couples find romance in 1893? Deep in the heart of Texas! Dry Gulch becomes fertile ground for a young woman who wants to help three acquaintances. But will her meddling become Cupid's arrow? And what will she do when her friends target her with a matchmaking scheme of their own? Four novellas in one volume! 384 pages, softcover from Bethany.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 3897%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Match Made in Texas
Review 1 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four times the fun!

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Match Made in Texas: A Novella Collection brings together four of historical fiction’s finest story tellers. There’s some matchmaking going on in Dry Gulch, Texas and life will never be the same for eight of the most fun characters I have read about in a novella collection in a long time.
A Cowboy Unmatched by Karen Witemeyer brings the youngest Archer brother, Neill, into the path of Clara, a lady who desperately needs a husband. Well, Neill’s not looking to get married and little does he know that someone in Dry Gulch has sent him right into the path of his future bride. Their love blooms amid trying circumstances that pulled at my heartstrings. This is a sweet story laced with Karen’s trademark faith and humor.
An Unforeseen Match by Regina Jennings is a poignant tale of two people who are scarred in different ways and each feels unlovable. I literally couldn't put this story aside. I was compelled to continue on and find out what was going to happen between Grace and Clayton. At times I chuckled at Clayton’s sense of humor and then I would turn right around and feel deep sorrow for Grace. Of the four stories, this one impressed me the most with how ordinary the characters’ situations were, and yet completely relatable, even today.
No Match for Love by Carol Cox was a fun and fast-paced read. Lucy Benson is about to go on the adventure of a lifetime. Andrew Simms is looking to hire a companion for his aunt, whom he thinks is getting a might delusional. Let me tell you, Aunt Martha is not crazy and Lucy is just who she and Andrew need in their lives. All of these characters were so full of life, they jumped right off the page and into my heart.
Meeting Her Match by Mary Connealy reveals who our matchmaker is and it was a complete surprise to me. This story brings together Hannah and Marcus, former classmates who haven’t had too much to say to each other in a long time despite living in the same town. A little different than the other heroes in this novella collection, Marcus is rather shy around Hannah. That endearing trait brings about some great laughs of the good kind. Mary is a master at making me imagine that inner dialogue a character has with themselves and Michael is a hoot! But then, so is Hannah. This was a great wrap-up to my visit in Dry Gulch, Texas and I look forward to future collaborations between these authors. At least I hope they do!
I think fans of Christian historical fiction will enjoy these four stories. Not knowing who the matchmaker is brings a fun element into play and adds a nice touch of mystery. I received a copy of the book from author Karen Witemeyer and Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Match!

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every now and then, I enjoy reading a book compiled by more than one author. I recently finished one such book, A Match Made in Texas, which is written by four different authors. Karen Witemeyer, Regina Jennings, Carol Cox, and Mary Connealy. I had a great time reading each of the four stories, which takes place in the town of Dry Gulch, Texas.
A Cowboy Unmatched (Karen Witemeyer) is the final story in the Archer Brothers series and is about the youngest Archer brother, Neill. (It can be read as a stand-alone, but I would suggest that you read the first two books about the Archer Brothers so that you don’t miss out on the fun characters of this family.)
An Unforeseen Match (Regina Jennings) was a story that jerked at my heartstrings and at the same time, made me cheer for the hero and heroine as they faced obstacles in their own lives that not only strengthened their personal faith, but eventually led to a sweet romance between them.
No Match For Love (Carol Cox) is the only story of the four that starts out in Dry Gulch and ends in North Fork, TX. The story has it’s share of romance, yes, but there is also a bit of mystery that surrounds the story, just begging the reader to solve it.
Meeting Her Match (Mary Connealy) made me chuckle as the heroine, a tenderhearted matchmaker, realizes that she has feelings of her own for the shy banker’s son. In a turn of the tables, and with a dose of humor, the hero and heroine are thrown together with a matchmaking scheme that rivals those of the heroine.
One town. Four stories. A Match Made in Texas is too good to pass up!
I obtained a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four Delightful Stories

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Four short stories by four wonderful authors! I decided the simplest way to review this was to do each novella individually, so here we go.
A Cowboy Unmatched by Karen Witemeyer – 9: The first words that came to mind as I considered how to best describe this book were sweet, funny, creative, and romantic! I loved seeing a character from some of Karen’s previous books. This book was so enjoyable! A delight.
An Unforeseen Match by Regina Jennings – 8: Even the title in this one is a play on words, since the heroine is partially blind! The characters were engaging and the story was unique and enjoyable. Especially the hero was admirable.
No Match for Love by Carol Cox – 8.5: There was some great mystery in this, masterfully presented for such a short story! It was a refreshing addition to the romance. The characters were especially lovable here.
Meeting Her Match by Mary Connealy – 9: I really loved the humor in this one! Definitely a unique story and unique characters. It made me laugh, and I always love that! Quite a superb book. So good!
All in all? This is a unique and delightful collection of short romances by wonderful authors. If you’re already a fan of one (or more) of these authors, I think you’ll definitely enjoy this collection!
**Bethany House sent me a free copy of this book in return for my honest review. I wasn’t required to review it positively, nor was I recompensed for my review. All opinions are my own. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four Stories Of Texas Matchmaking

Date:March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Witemeyer, Mary Connealy, Regina Jennings and Carol Cox in their new book, “A Match Made In Texas” published by Bethany House Publishers gives us a novella collection.
From the Back Cover: There’s a secret matchmaker at work in frontier Texas!
In the small town of Dry Gulch, Texas, a good-hearted busybody just can’t keep herself from surreptitiously trying to match up women in dire straits with men of good character she hopes can help them. How is she to know she’s also giving each couple a little nudge toward love?
A Cowboy Unmatched
Neill isn’t sure who hired him to repair Clara’s roof–he only knows Clara desperately needs his help. Can he convince this stubborn widow to let down her guard and take another chance on love?
An Unforeseen Match
Hoping to earn an honest wage on his way to the land rush, Clayton ends up on Grace’s doorstep, lured by a classified ad. He may have signed on for more than he expected though–and he may have found the one woman who can keep him from moving on.
No Match for Love
Andrew can’t fathom how refined Lucy ended up as the caretaker to his dotty aunt, and somehow her arrival has prompted even more bizarre occurrences around the ranch. When they join forces to unearth the truth, will the attraction between Andrew and Lucy develop into more?
Meeting Her Match
When the tables are turned and a tenderhearted meddler becomes the beneficiary of a matchmaking scheme, her world is turned upside down. As her entire life changes, will she finally be able to tell the banker’s son how much she cares for him?
Welcome to Dry Gulch, Texas. Not a whole lot seems to be happening in this town but that is because most people aren’t really looking. It seems there is a matchmaker who has been looking at her friends and seeing a need took an active hand in securing husbands for these women. Clara is a widow who needs help, Grace is losing her sight, Lucy is taking care of an elderly woman and Hannah is a force like no other. Each woman has her issues that she needs to be healed from if she is ever going to have a future with a husband. Each story is a gem and all the characters are priceless. Each of the authors has contributed remarkable stories. I only hope that they can all join forces again and bring us another collection like this.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four of my favorite authors in one book

Date:March 3, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Four of my favorite authors in one book.
A Cowboy Unmatched by Karen Witemeyer - the last Archer brother. I am so sad to see the end of this serious, but it's finishing with a great story. My only complaint, which is not really a complaint at all - Neill didn't get a full-length novel to call his own. LOL I loved his interaction with Clara and his protective instinct.
An Unforeseen Match by Regina Jennings - I loved the play on words in the title. The story was heartwarming as Grace struggles with her reality and the need to rely on others. I, too, would struggle as I hate asking others for help.
No Match for Love by Carol Cox - Ghosts and ghouls and things that go bump in the night...oh, sorry, it's not a ghost story, more like a comedy. I love the way Ms. Cox added a touch of suspense and intrigue to this romance.
Meeting Her Match by Mary Connealy - The helper finally gets the tables turned on her in a most unsuspecting way. After years of taking care of others in one capacity or another, this heroine (you have to peak within the pages to know her name) is shoved face first into her own romance, but she doesn't go without some struggles and a lot of misunderstandings. LOL
***I received this novel from the authors/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Bad?

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited about this book as it has stories from three of my favorite authors.
What I liked: I really enjoyed the first two stories. In A Cowboy Unmatched we return to the Archer brothers and hear about Neill. This was probably my favorite story of the book. The 2nd story was also good. I liked how the four stories were connected. They were independent from each other but the matchmaker/good Samaritan connected them all together.
What I did not like: The last two stories where okay. The last story finally told us who the good Samaritan was. I was looking forward to this one the most. I was very let down. I really did not like the story. The plot really bothered me. I will not give it away but it was meant to be cute and funny but to me it was not.
Over all I still gave this book a four star rating because the first three stories where good and I liked how they were connected. The last wrap up story was just disappointing to me. If you like short stories like this I still recommend it. I love these authors and the writing over all was very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun stories!

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first story by Karen Witemeyer! I was anxious read about Neill Archer, the youngest brother from her book Short-Straw Bride (which was wonderful). A sweet relationship developed quickly between Neill and the strong Clara, and the action from the plot was non-stop. There was a nice balance between moments of character development and romance, and the excitement really moved the story forward.
The second story by Regina Jennings turned out to be my favorite. The unusual premise was so interesting and the main characters so vivid. Again, several sweet moments between them as their relationship developed, and the personality clashes kept things lively. Great romantic tension and chemistry!
The third story by Carol Cox was okay, but the characters were not developed enough for me to feel an emotional connection to their story. There didn't seem to be any reason for the main characters to fall in love other than that they were there and convenient. The attraction was stated, and then all the focus was on the mystery. A three star rating for me on this one, but the other stories were strong enough to carry the five star rating overall :)
The last by Mary Connealy was a story of unrequited love full of emotion and tempered with a huge dose of humor, as usual. It was fun to read the story of the matchmaker and how the town conspired to make her match.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2014
“A Match Made in Texas” is comprised of four romantic novellas. The stories take place in 1893 in Texas. Each story is unique in that the characters are facing their own set of challenges. While dealing with their challenges, the characters also find themselves being given an opportunity to find love (or maybe love finds them). I really enjoyed this book and I felt that the first two stories were well developed (given the length of each story). I also enjoyed many of the characters, especially Clayton and Grace.
The first story centers around the lives of Neill Archer and Clara Danvers while the second story focuses on Clayton Weber and Grace O’Malley. Clayton and Grace’s story was definitely my favorite of all of the stories in the book. The third story tells about the lives of Andrew Simms, Lucy Benson and Andrew’s Aunt Martha. I loved Aunt Martha as she was a stubborn older woman who had a lot of life in her. She definitely made me laugh. This story also contained an element of mystery. I liked the story but found the romance part to be a little too rushed. The last story finds the “mystery matchmaker” now being the focus of everyone’s attention. This story is about the lives of Hannah Taylor and Marcus Whitfield. I felt this should have been the strongest of all four stories as this is the one that ties all of them together. However, I found the story line to be rushed and not very well developed. I liked it but it was my least favorite of the other stories. Overall, I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to others. I look forward to reading some of the other works from these authors.
*Thank you to Bethany House for providing me this book in exchange for my honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four wonderful novellas!!!

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tamila
Location:New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Match Made in Texas is a wonderful collection of four novellas!
THE COWBOY UNMATCHED by KAREN WITEMEYER
Clara Danvers is a widow expecting a child, who desperately needs help fixing up the run down house and barn before the birth of her child. But her wealthy father-in-law is determined to take the baby from her.
Neill isn't sure who hired him to repair Clara's roof, he only knows Clara desperately needs his help. Clara thinks he is there to fill an ad for a husband.
AN UNFORESEEN MATCH by REGINA JENNINGS
Grace O'Malley has been a school teacher for many years in Dry Gulch, Texas but as her eyesight begins to decline, the school board has had to let her go. They have set her up on a ranch about two miles outside of town and made arrangements for someone to deliver food to her daily. She can only make out bright lights and some shapes.
Clayton is just passing through Dry Gulch long enough to earn some money to buy a new horse, when a mysterious ad lands in his hands. It's an answer to his prayers for a chance to earn some money so he can be on his way to the land rush.
NO MATCH FOR LOVE by CAROL COX
Lucy Benson has no family left and has been living with her best friends family. But with her best friend about to marry, it’s time Lucy moves on. An ad for a live-in companion for an elderly widow seems to be an answered prayer.
Andrew Simms aunt seems to be losing her mind. With his own business taking off, he needs someone to watch over her and the ranch. When odd things start happening around the ranch that only his aunt sees, he hires Lucy to help care for her, but when Lucy sees them too, he is confused.
MEETING HER MATCH by MARY CONNEALY
Hannah Taylor is the teacher at Dry Gulch and a mother to her three younger brothers and her father since her mother's recent death. She has given up on marriage after all three parties married as a result of her interfering.
The only other single, church-going man in Dry Gulch is shy banker Marcus Whitfield. He is anything but graceful when it comes to being in the presence of Hannah. She has no idea his feeling for her since he is constantly avoiding her and has only spoken a handful of sentences to her over the last six years. She doesn’t understand the depth of Mark’s feelings for her and he can’t find the words to tell her.
I enjoyed all four stories, and love that they all take place in the same town with some of the same characters in all four stories.
I loved the role "The Matchmaker" played in the first three stories and how she got her own story in the last one!
Thanks to Bethany House for providing this book for an honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Synopsis:
“In the small town of Dry Gulch, Texas, a good-hearted busybody just can’t keep herself from surreptitiously trying to match up women in dire straits with men of good character she hopes can help them. How is she to know she’s also giving each couple a little nudge toward love?
A Cowboy Unmatched by Karen Witemeyer
Neill isn’t sure who hired him to repair Clara’s roof–he only knows Clara desperately needs his help. Can he convince this stubborn widow to let down her guard and take another chance on love?
An Unforeseen Match by Regina Jennings
Hoping to earn an honest wage on his way to the land rush, Clayton ends up on Grace’s doorstep, lured by a classified ad. He may have signed on for more than he expected though–and he may have found the one woman who can keep him from moving on.
No Match For Love Carol Cox
Andrew can’t fathom how refined Lucy ended up as the caretaker to his dotty aunt, and somehow her arrival has prompted even more bizarre occurrences around the ranch. When they join forces to unearth the truth, will the attraction between Andrew and Lucy develop into more?
Meeting Her Match by Mary Connealy
When the tables are turned and a tender-hearted meddler becomes the beneficiary of a matchmaking scheme, her world is turned upside down. As her entire life changes, will she finally be able to tell the banker’s son how much she cares for him?”
My Review:
My mom read this book, so she has supplied me with a review:-)
Each of these books takes place in the same town and they all tied together at the end. The first had a little mystery in it and had a few funny parts. The second book was very sweet and had a curve-ball that was nice to read. The third had some action and was pretty funny in places. While the fourth left me frustrated because of how the family operated, but it did work out nicely in the end.
The overall book was sweet and it was nice to see as the reader, that God was in control of every situation throughout the story. However, the book did have quite a bit of description that had me just skipping paragraphs at a time. Also, each story is extremely predictable. But, this book was nice to read and I did enjoy reading it.
“I received this book from Bethany House for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great match for any reader

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jael Kenney
Location:Lachute,QC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Somehow I never tire of the “secret matchmaker” theme: and this book simply whets my appetite for more. Each story is a masterpiece of intricate characters and delightful dialogue.
For those who have read Karen Witemeyer before, the first story turns out to be a novella about Neill Archer (from Short Straw Bride) and I was delighted to be reminded of old acquaintances and plots. In this first story, Neill is mysteriously sent to help a widow woman…and she is definitely not what he was expecting.
Grace is going blind and considers advertising for a husband. But she is in for a surprise when a man arrives on her doorstep bearing an ad she knows she didn’t write.
To escape an ardent suitor, a now-poor, young woman welcomes the opportunity that comes knocking and becomes a companion for a lonely old woman, who is anything but helpless.
The town’s schoolteacher has been so busy playing matchmaker and keeping house for her father and little brothers that she doesn’t even notice the man who has been pining for her all these years. Lucky for her, she is not the only matchmaker in town.
It’s hard to describe how well of a job the authors did in developing their characters (specifically their backgrounds and emotions) in such short stories. When I got to the end of each, I was disappointed I couldn’t spend more time in the stories, since I knew the characters so well.
I can only hope that these authors will keep on writing. As long as they do, I will keep on reading!
Thank you to Net Galley (https://www.netgalley.com) and Bethany House for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Does Get Rewarded

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reading Rover
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Match Made in Texas -Four Novellas by
Karen Witenmyer, Mary Connelly, Regina Jennings, Carol Cox
A Secret Matchmaker in a small town sets up three successful matches, before she gets hitched up by the newly marrieds.
No one in town can discover who the matchmaker is-until the Banker’s Son catches the
Schoolmarm’s fancy.
The tongue-tied, been in love with her since Grade School, and she’s never noticed or been ignoring him, the unlikely keep meeting and matching.
A Cowboy Unattached match number one finds an honorable, ready to deliver her first child and a Cowboy hired mysteriously to mend her roof.
But isn’t the evil Father-in-Law ready to steal the baby and ditch unsuitable Momma as soon as the Blessed Event occurs? Watch a healthy male instinct to protect and provide paired with love at first sight.
How did, did the Matchmaker know?
An Unforeseen Match has our Secret Matchmaker setting up the going Blind Teacher. The Town gave her the falling down shack of the above Widow, and she’s supposed to make a go of it? The day after a laughter-filled moment of brainstorming solutions suggests placing an ad for a Husband…and guess who shows up to continue working on the derelict homestead above-Mr. Right Number 2. The tenderness in seeing the need for continued independence of our soon to be in complete darkness former School Teacher, makes this seeker of free land, a Keeper.
No Match for Love finds our Matchmaker hitting a homerun-a newly orphaned young woman fleas the unwanted attentions of a repeating determined Suitor-he’s almost stalking, but the local Pastor gets her a job out of town, in West Texas on a ranch.
Well, except for the shotgun toting Aunt who’s seeing and hearing things, or is she?
Auntie certainly sees her Nephew and Companion falling into fights and love-ah the tension of the mystery and the young meant-to-bes.
Meeting her Match, and finally, our Matchmaker is uncovered and successfully captivated herself.
A nice mix of Writers. Next time I hope everyone wears the shoes they are most comfortable in ballet slippers, bare feet, footies, or Cowboy boots, this foursome has more to exude. Good casting by the Editor-now let them feel natural.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

So Silly but fun

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle
Location:London, Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sorry but my keyboard is acting up so you will have to excuse the odd punctuation. Book review time. This time the book is *A Match Made in Texas* by Karen Witemeyer, Mary Connealy, Regina Jennings, and Carol Cox. It was actually four stories in one. This book was a hoot to read. Talk about a silly romance! This one just might take the cake. Girl in need, handsome man whose handy, after knowing each other for 4 days (which consists mostly of miscommunication) they realize they canèt stand to live apart and he proposes. REALLY! A couple of times I actually laughed out loud at the ridiculousness of it all. But, I still enjoyed it. It was clean, God was mentioned a few times and I had fun reading it. What more could I ask forÉ
Oh, BTW, I got this book free in exchange for an honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book worth reading....and re-reading!

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sue from Midwest
Location:Midwest
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A mark of my highest acclaim for a book is my desire to re-read it—not just “someday”, but immediately. My to-be-read pile is plenty tall, yet I found myself choosing to re-read this fun collection of novellas.
I enjoyed all four stories, and love that they all take place in the same town with some of the same characters in all four stories. That’s a big part of what made the re-read so fun. I wasn’t ready to say good-bye to these characters.
I was especially pleased to read about Neill Archer, since the books about his big brothers (Short-Straw Bride, and Stealing the Preacher) are among my favorite books ever! And I love how Mary Connealy told us Hannah’s story here.
Karen and Mary are some of my favorite authors and I loved their stories in this collection. Plus it was a delight to be introduced to Regina and Carol and to find that all four stories were well-written.
Four great stories in one book—a great deal! I highly recommend this very enjoyable read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four Fun Stories in One Book!

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patti Jo
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a fan of historical romance, I was eager to read A MATCH MADE IN TEXAS, and I was not disappointed! This book contains four novellas--each written by a talented author--and each story was a pleasure to read. Set in Dry Gulch, Texas in the late 1800s, this novella collection offers colorful characters, action, and of course...romance. Highly recommended!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful and Funny

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lilikin
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Match Made in TexasA Match Made in Texas is a wonderful book of four novellas each written by a popular and amazing Christian Fiction author. When I found out that Karen Witemeyer, Carol Cox, and Mary Connealy were three of the authors, I just had to read this book, because I have read and loved a few books from each author.
I loved how someone was secretly setting up all of the first three matches, and that the last book was a group of people matching up the matchmaker! Each book had wonderful laugh out loud moments and sweet clean romances.
Some things that I really liked. All of the female characters were so strong, determined, and full of faith in God in very tough times and all of the male lead characters were kind, caring, sweet, and helpful in their own ways. I also loved that some of the stories showed characters from other books written by that author, it was nice to hear about them again, and hear the story of another character.
Each story was filled with laugh out loud moments and conversations, sweet moments, sad moments, hope, and faith. Each character had a unique personality, unique circumstances, and a wonderful and entertaining story. I felt bad for many of the main characters at times, but had hope that everything would turn out right.
Two of my favorites were An Unforseen Match by Regina Jennings and No Match for Love by Carol Cox, but the other two were also great.
I won't say anything about the characters problems because I don't want to give to much away! Read this book you won't regret it!
I received this book from the publisher through Netgalley. I was not required to give a positive review, and all thoughts and opinions are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Novella Collection

Date:February 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mixed Nutts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to get a hold of this book! Both Karen Witemeyer and Regina Jennings fall into my "favorite authors" category and I've enjoyed other books by Carol Cox and Mary Connealy. I was definitely not disappointed. These stories are all complete in themselves and fulfill all a romantics dreams. While I'm sure each book could have been fleshed into a full-fledged novel by these talented authors, I was completely satisfied with how these four couples' stories were told.
Each of these authors has her own unique style of telling a great story, which makes this collection a very good read. A Match Made in Texas, as a whole collection, receives 5 stars for not only its interesting plot of an unwitting matchmaker, but also the collection of the very different styles of writing that really make this book stand out.
**I received this book for free in return for an honest review**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adorable!

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
Location:Sunbury, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The setting is Dry Gulch, (you guessed it) Texas. A mystery woman in town is doing some secretive, good-natured meddling and inadvertently playing match-maker in the process. The first novella, A Cowboy Unmatched, revisits one of my favorite characters from Short-Straw Bride and was an absolute page-turner! The second novella, An Unforeseen Match, had a main character who was mostly blind and it was a very cute, touching story. No Match for Love, had humor and mystery and Meeting Her Match was an adorably shy suitor and a somewhat reluctant bride. The ending to the final novella was a lot of conversation to push the romance and felt a little awkward, but it was still a good ending. There was very little Christian content in these books, but they were entertaining to read. I enjoyed each of these novellas and would definitely recommend A Match Made in Texas as a cute collection of historical romance.
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“A Match Made in Texas”

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a collection of four novellas all set in 1893 Texas. They are: “A Cowboy Unmatched” by Karen Witemeyer, “An Unforeseen Match” by Regina Jennings, “No Match for Love” by Carol Cox and “Meeting Her Match” by Mary Connealy. Each story tells a very different tale of how love blossoms between four different couples.
These stories include:
A poor widow whose wealthy father-in-law is terrorizing her, and wanting to lay claim to her unborn child. All the while she is living is little more than a flimsy shack in the middle of nowhere.
A young teacher who suddenly loses her sight, and is left to unhappily live off the charity of the town people. She believes the answer to her plight is to place an ad for a husband the way men have advertised for mail-order-brides.
A once rich young woman whose father dies suddenly, finds her dad’s riches were unwisely invested, and she is left penniless. Since she never received any sort of training even in household duties, her future seems unsure. One man in town wants to marry her, but he makes her skin crawl, and he stalks her every move.
A school teacher who has been taking care of everyone else, suddenly finds herself abandoned by her family and living in a tiny dingy, room without prospects for anything better. She refuses to marry anyone who is not a Christian believer. The only young single, Christian in town wants nothing to do with her.
Everyone of these stories are completely different, but all are clean and told from a Christian point of view. Each one is very entertaining, and catches the reader’s attention right from the start. The first three involve a mystery person who sets circumstances in motion that ultimately brings the couples together. The third story hints at the identity of that person, with the reveal given in the forth story.
I am not always a fan of novellas, but “A Match Made in Texas” kept my interest, and I really liked it. They were such a delight that I plan to search for more stories by these authors. It was enjoyable to “catch up” with more details about the first three characters in the last tale in this book. Since I am a mystery lover, I wish the reveal of the good Samaritan would have been drawn out longer in the last story, that way the mystery could have lasted longer. However, it was a good tale, with a different twist! I recommend this collection, especially to all romance lovers. This story deserves fives stars in the romance category.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Match Made in Texas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Match Made in Texas A Novella Collection

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sunday, January 26, 2014
A Match Made in Texas- A Novella Collection by Witemeyer, Connealy, Jennings and Cox.
If you like Historical Christian Romance, this collection of 4 novellas is for you. Set in Dry Gulch, TX in 1893, each story involves the work of an anonymous matchmaker. How else you can explain how handy man Neill just shows up to help widow Clara fix up her homestead? Or Grace, a young schoolteacher that is losing her sight as well as her job, but still wants to be independent on her ranch. Cowboy Clayton shows up on her doorstep in response to a classified ad that Grace never wrote. Then there is Andrew who needs someone to stay on his ranch with his elderly aunt while he travels for work, and city girl Lucy is sent to him by an unknown source. In the final story Hannah has known Mark since grade school, but he is too tongue tied around her to make the first move. Only a matchmaker can give them a little push in the right direction! At first I wasn't sure if I would like the novellas, because they seemed too short. Yet, I loved the novels I had read by Karen Witemeyer and Mary Connealy. I found I like the short stories because some nights after work and getting the kids to bed I only had a short time to read and I could read the whole novella in one sitting. I love historical fiction and these authors didn't disappoint!
Posted by basketballorange301 at 12:25 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>