Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4

Bethany House Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4

A relaxing day of rock climbing takes a disturbing turn when Kayden McKenna's route brings her face-to-face with a dead climber. Is it a terrible accident or something darker? When the case is handed to overburdened sheriff Landon Grainger, he turns to Jake Westin for help. With Jake's past now revealed, he's ready to use his talent for investigation again--but he could never prepare for where the mystery will take him.

Kayden's climbing expertise soon leads her and Jake to the realization that the death was no accident. And worse, it seems the killer is onto them. When strange things begin happening in Yancey, Jake is terrified that once again his world may put someone he loves in danger. But the truth is far worse than he could ever imagine.

Average Customer Rating:
4.678 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
58 out of 5998%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Review 1 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An absolute thriller!

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Little Aussie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woah… This book is an absolute thriller! I seriously could not put it down. Dani has honestly lifted this already fantastic series to even greater heights with Silenced. The story and the characters are completely captivating. Kayden’s struggle with her fears is so easy to relate to. Most of us have been there or know what it’s like to be afraid. I really admired Kayden’s inner strength and the way she developed in the book. And Jake, honestly what can I say? He is truly one of the most remarkable male characters I have ever come across in a book. He has been knocked down many times, yet he does not give up. You can’t help but be full of admiration for him and how the hard times have shaped him into an even better man - a true hero. Silenced is such an uplifting book that truly inspires you and has you cheering the characters on. Add in an evil villain who is determined to have revenge and fingernail-biting suspense and you are all set for another thrilling adventure with the McKenna clan. Can’t wait to find out Reef and Kirra’s story in the next exciting instalment!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic read!

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dani Pettrey's fourth installment in the Alaskan Courage Series is out and she hasn't missed a beat yet!
Silenced was an exciting read filled with an amazing cast of characters. Most of them are all familiar to readers who have been following the series all along. I read this book from that perspective, having started with Dani and the McKenna clan in book #1 Submerged. I am not a good person to ask how the story holds its own to a reader just joining the fun. However, each of the past characters plays a supporting role in the book, continuing on with their story lines slightly. This makes the characters more fleshed out then just names and casual mentions.
I have been looking forward to this story line since the middle of book #3 Stranded. Kayden always drew my curiosity in the ways she poked and prodded at Jake, hoping to prove him a fraud. In book #3 we all got a glimpse into his secretive past making us all, Kayden included, like him a little bit more.
Now in Silenced we have the full growth of that change into a budding romance. And a sweet one at that. Jake is anything but a fraud. He is a gentle man filled with protectiveness, spirit and faith. He fights hard to protect the woman he's falling for and the family that supports her. A wonderful hero.
It was also fun to peel back some of the hardened outer layers of Kayden and see into her heart. She is a strong woman with her own demons and secrets to secure. Yet, with faith, time and the gentle prodding of a compassionate, caring man she learns to reveal her true self.
The suspenseful plot was responsible for a few late nights, but thankfully I was compelled to finish it in only a few days! Pettrey has a gift for keeping the reader moving along. Her twists and turns are engaging and believable. This book is tops in that category. I can't even tell you why, or I might spoil the ride for you. Loved the twist!!
Again, Pettrey sets the stage for another round. The book adds in a couple new points of view later in the book as bad-boy brother Reef gets a voice along with newcomer Kirra. At first this threw me off. I found it distracting to the story line my heart was invested in. It became clear as the story went along that this was the pre-staging for the next book Sabotaged. However, it was a bit jolting so late in the story. Even still, I am looking forward to see what trouble those two characters will get in to. (Release February 2015.)
Overall, a fantastic addition to your summer reading list! Excitement, romance, enthralling settings and deep, engaging characters - a perfect mix!
Thanks to Bethany House, and the author for a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. These thoughts are my own and I was not required to review it positively.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Dani Pettrey book, need I say more?

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Dani Pettrey book, need I say more? OK, so for this actually to be a review I DO have say at least a little more. I LOVE suspense, got hooked years ago on mystery and suspense and have devoured the genre since. I read the first book in the Alaskan Courage series last year and have enjoyed each succeeding title.
Silenced has everything it takes to make a good suspense story. One of my favorite parts of reading mystery/suspense is trying to figure out who-done-it but Dani Pettrey had me really stumped on this one, I totally did not see it coming.
Another great story from a wonderful author, Silenced will grab your attention and hold it whether you are looking for romance, suspense, or the great outdoors, it has them all and then some.
Dani Pettrey has a confirmed fan in me and I will be eagerly awaiting, not only the final book in the series, but also any future books.
(I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are entirely my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Romantic Suspense

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alaska, to me, is an exotic location. But I’m warm blooded, so I don’t see Alaska as romantic. And I’m more than a little in awe of the outdoor lifestyles the McKenna family appear to lead in that cold climate. It’s definitely foreign, and it’s the perfect setting for a romantic suspense series.
Silenced is the fourth book in the Alaskan Courage series, each of which centres on one of the McKenna siblings. Kayden (female, despite the masculine name) is out rock climbing one day when she finds a body. What is first thought to be an accident soon proves to be murder, and Kayden finds herself pulled into the Jake’s investigation because of her climbing knowledge.
I’m a real romantic suspense fan, and Silenced ticks all the boxes. Great location. Lovable hero. Strong heroine. A problem to solve. A mystery antagonist who is out to get them. A close family. And a strong faith element running through it all. What’s not to like? Having said that, it’s a book best considered a quick and entertaining read, as there were some oddities around the plot (like how the first half didn’t actually relate to the second—they found the murderer so quickly I thought it must be a red herring and they were going to reveal that someone else actually did it. But no). Enjoyable, but it will pay not to think about it too much.
While the mystery and romance plots are self-contained, there are a lot of references to Kayden’s brothers and sisters (and their respective spouses), and it will be easier to keep these straight if you’ve read the earlier books. Recommended for romantic suspense fans.
Thanks to Bethany House and NetGalley for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Novel! 4.5 Stars!

Date:June 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dani Pettrey is the only suspense author I know that can take me out of my typical genre reads and bring me into the world of romantic suspense! She has such a way of writing a story that sucks you in from the first page and leaves you on a thrill ride until the very end! Silenced was no different for me!
It was awesome to get more of Kayden's story and her passions from her perspective! I had such a fun time of getting to know her better concerning her fears and strengths! I didn't realize she could even be such an awesome detective and seeing her work with Jake so good was unexpected for me! I also enjoyed hearing more of Jake's story and some of his struggles! It was great seeing him really in his element concerning the police force!
The overall suspense in this one was different then the past novels Dani has written, but still great! It actually had a tougher edge in realizing who the killer was and had me unprepared in how the story would play out!
One thing I was slightly bummed about was I didn't feel there was as big Gospel message as there has been in her past books! Don't get me wrong there was a great message of Christ and the power of change He does in people, but I was hoping for a Little more!
Silenced is not a novel to be missed if you enjoy suspense! Not only will you be on the edge of your seat, but you will also receive a powerful message of God being in control! Dani Pettrey will continue to be one of my favorite authors!
I give Silenced by Dani Pettrey a 4.5 out of 5 stars!
*(I received this novel from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review! All thoughts expressed are my own and I was not required to write a positive review!)*
__________________
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspense that will have you sitting on the edge...

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
ToriPeterson
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I LOVE this book. It was filled with so much suspense that I just didn't want to put it down. From the beginning to the end I was at the edge of my seat!
I was captured by this book. There is definitely suspense from beginning to end.
The author draws you into her novel and the words easily flow and hold you. Everything is so very well explained, and all scenes are created in just a way as if you feel as if you are right there alongside the characters!
What I loved most about this book was the twist and turns in suspense! I don't want to give too much away, but I will say that this book doesn't leave you wanting for more mystery and suspense. I literally found myself on the edge of my seat, sitting straight up in bed, holding my breath, and chewing on my lip at times I was so nervous and captured!
I also found myself frustrated while reading this book mainly because Kayden and Jake each in their own way was just so stubborn! I wanted to shake them and give them a good talking to. They are each attracted to each other, but neither will act on their feelings. It is so frustrating to see romance and sparks between two characters only for them not to act on it because of their own ridiculous reasons. Jake knows that Kayden is emotionally unavailable and believes she has no interest in him. Because of this and his past he fears telling her how he really feels will push her away so he keeps it to himself.
Kayden will simply not allow herself to feel. Terrified because of the loss of her parents due to health reasons she doesn't want to feel that type of pain again nor does she want to inflict that kind of pain on anyone. Despite the fact she is giving up love and personal happiness she is determined to go it alone and live the healthiest lifestyle she can.
Another wonderful aspect of this book is the closeness of the McKenna siblings and friends. They all hold faith in God and stick together in unimaginable ways. I fell in love with all of them in my own way. And to see God so strong in not just a few but many of the characters lives was so refreshing. Not to mention all the characters have such a strong personality each their own! No character melts into the next, and each is interestingly unique. I can't wait to go back and read the other books in this series to find out about more of the characters, and I especially can't wait to read the next book after this one. I'm hoping it tells more on Reef and Kayden and Jake. I was definitely left wanting more.
I was a little disappointed that there wasn't more information on Conrad Humphries death. I was really wanting more information on that. I can't go into specific details on that because I don't want to spoil anything.
Even though this is Book 4 in the Alaskan Courage series it does well as a stand alone book. All the characters are present, but this is more of Kayden and Jake's story. You get snippets of the other characters which makes you want to go back and read the other books dealing with their individual stories. Each of the novels are centered around suspense so you know they are all going to be page turners.
I urge you to give this book a read. Go out and get it and read it as fast as you can! :)
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review. All opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book #4 in this series doesn’t disappoint! The story this time centers on Kayden McKenna and Jake Westin. It is again set in Alaska, but unlike book #3 that was set mostly at sea, this was is back on land. We also see a lot more of the fifth McKenna sibling, Reef, in this book.
While Kayden is out rock climbing she discovers a body. It is quickly discovered that the climber was murdered and didn’t die due to an accidental fall while climbing. With the abrupt resignation of the sheriff, Landon Grainger is promoted from deputy to temporary acting sheriff. Since he is overloaded with work he asks Jake to temporarily be deputized and work the murder case. Kayden is also asked for her climbing expertise to help Jake investigate. Both Jake and Kayden are secretly thrilled they will be working together as they both have realized their strong attachment to the other. They won’t tell each other how they feel because they can’t see a future together. As they investigate, their attraction and love only increase with the time spent in each other’s company.
Jake discovers he really enjoys being back on the force. He tells himself it is only temporary as God didn’t make him to be a cop because of his failure on his last case three years ago in Boston. That failure caused him to resign his job as detective and move to Alaska to start over. That case also cost him a lot more than his job. He knows he shouldn’t open his heart again to future hurt, but someone Kayden has snatched his heart without him being aware of it. He will do anything to keep her safe, which skills will come to the forefront as they encounter someone from his past who will stop at nothing to hurt Jake by hurting Kayden. Kayden must also admit to herself how she has cut herself off emotionally from her family and friends when her mother died. She is terrified of inheriting her mother’s rheumatoid arthritis and as a result is a health and exercise fanatic almost to the point of obsession because she needs to feel like she can control something about her life. Can she surrender this control to the One who is always in control? The One who always knows what is best for His children?
I have spent a lot of time with the McKenna family over the past week as I’ve read all four books over that time period. They have come to be like my own brothers and sisters. What a wonderful job their parents did, raising such strong Christian children. While strong Christians, they aren’t perfect. I can identify with their foibles and struggles, which makes them so easy to relate to. There is also a lot of action and suspense to enjoy as well. I can’t wait to read Reef’s story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another mystery, another adventure

Date:June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
knitwritelove
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I found out this book would be about Jake and Kayden, I couldn’t wait to read it. After learning just who Jake is in the last book, I was eager to get inside his head. And Kayden being the female main character, I had a feeling, would be interesting. And it most certainly was.
Rock climbing has intrigued me ever since I can remember, so for that to be the backdrop in the novel was fun. I enjoyed Kayden’s strength, her expertise, and her love of dogs. And Jake might just be my favorite guy character in the series even though he’s not a McKenna. He’s that cool.
The story grabbed me immediately and held me to the last page, which I have come to expect when I read one of Dani’s novels. Twists and turns in the plot cast doubt over various characters, keeping me in suspense about who the bad guy was. I liked having Reef around more in this one, and I’m already looking forward to seeing his story unfold in the next novel. I know it’ll be just as engaging and well-written as the first books have been — if not better.
———
+My copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mountain Mystery

Date:June 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set in Alaska, this is the fourth story in the Alaskan Courage Series about the McKenna family. This book opens with the death of a climber that turns out to be murder. Kayden McKenna and Jake Westin team together to solve it. As the mystery concludes, another story-line comes into focus that includes a dangerous stalker. Discovering the identity of the stalker is before someone is killed and time runs out, is the subject of the rest of the book.
A lot of characters from past books appear so that readers of the series can catch up, and get some clues about future books. This story can stand on its own, but I think it would be more enjoyable for the reader if other books in the series were read first.
I have read every volume in this series, and have liked most of them. The excellent first book is a tough act to follow. In this one, I really didn’t like the two story-lines. The first part of the volume, which focuses on the murder investigation, seemed to go over the same ground repeatedly. Then when the murderer is discovered, it seemed so out of left-field that I thought something else would come along that would uncover the “real murderer”–but that didn’t happen. The murder story-line was not wrapped up well, but just chopped off.
Next, a side story moved in to center stage. I didn’t think the tale transitioned well, and the story really fell apart for me there. I did not like the stalker part of the story, it was really dark, evil and uncomfortable to read.
I really appreciate that this is a clean story, and written from a Christian point of view. I also liked getting “inside” the head of Reef, the youngest male in the McKenna Family. It is pretty obvious, though, that his story will be the next book in the series. I would really like to see a return of the surprise twists and turns to the McKenna stories contained in the first book. I wish I could rate this book higher than 4-stars.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Bethany House Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Late to the Party (Need to Read All in Series)

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It’s finally happened! I’ve finally read a book by Dani Pettrey! I’ve been wanting to read a book by her for ages now, so when I was offered a free copy in exchange for my honest review by Bethany House, I leapt at the chance! I’m glad to say I wasn’t disappointed.
Silenced is the fourth book in the Alaskan Courage series, and it mainly focuses on expert climber Kayden McKenna and man-with-a-past, Jake Cavanaugh. When Kayden comes face to face with a dead rock climber, she won’t rest until the killer is found. Choosing to listen to his heart instead of his head, Jake decides to come alongside her and assist as deputy in the investigation. But as the mystery grows, Kayden and Jake will have to decide which is the bigger danger: a killer at large, or giving away the key to their hearts?
For the most part I’m mainly a Historical Fiction lover, but for a change of pace, I really liked this book! It starts out as a classic murder mystery with a plentiful suspect list and a million plausible motives. Then the story branches out a little, and it suddenly becomes a lot more dark and sinister than you’d originally expect. On one hand, I liked that. It switched things up a bit. On the other, it came across as a little disjointed. The shift was kind of abrupt and made me wonder about a few things that felt like loose ends.
But that may be because I didn’t start from the very beginning of this series. The characters in Pettrey’s books are all deeply connected, and while she does an excellent job of catching up a reader with all that’s gone on before, I couldn’t shake the feeling of coming late to the party. From this book alone, it appears as though relationships are big to Pettrey books. Both romantic and familial. I really enjoyed that aspect of it, but I think I’d need to go back and read the first three books to really “get” it.
Overall, Silenced doesn’t quite get a spot in my “Favorites” list, but it does make me very glad to have tried out Pettrey and eager to read some of her earlier books! Who knows–maybe a “favorite” is hiding out there. :)
(I received this book for free from Bethany House on NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love this series

Date:May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dani picks up right where she left off but Silenced highlights Kayden and Jake’s story. A story that I have been waiting to read since Pettrey’s first book in the series. There was something mysterious about Jake from the beginning and was thrilled to find out his back story and get inside his head. His love for being a policeman never stopped and his skills are all still there in this book.
Kayden has also always been a favorite of mine. I think of all the girls Pettrey has written about I can relate to her the most. She has a hard exterior and a fear of letting people in. But will Kayden let Jake through that tough exterior?? Of course she does!! Don’t worry that isn’t a spoiler. It is how Jake breaks through Kayden’s barriers that make this book worth reading.
One of my favorite parts of the book had to have been the wedding! Cole’s and Bailey’s of course! I just loved how Pettrey described the way Jake and Kayden were feeling while they danced. It just seemed amazing. So fun!!
Overall, Dani Pettrey is an fun and refreshing author. I love her style of writing. I love her characters. I love just the flavor she brings to her work. I can’t wait for the final book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read...

Date:May 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Loretta
Location:Dallas, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the book Silenced by Dani Pettrey from Bethany House Publishers. It is the third book in the series, but, it is designed so that one doesn’t have to read the first three to catch on.The main character Kayden McKenna is one touch chick! I really like her. It touches me that the whole McKenna family is close. They’ve been through some hard times but stick together. A perfect blend of suspense, survival, most of all romance. Beautiful. A really good, smooth flowing Christian novel. A real “page turner for sure”, the suspense builds and you just can’t imagine who the sluth is. Wow. I highly recommend this book by Bethany House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Alaskan Courage displayed again

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The McKenna Family is in the midst of another Alaskan adventure (see Stranded) even as they prepare for Cole and Bailey's wedding. At first it looks like a case of murder gone wrong, but then the threats continue. With the help of two local sheriffs and Jake, a displaced Boston detective, the mystery will be solved as they follow the clues along the islands that form Alaska's southern boundary.
Jake is difficult to understand, especially for Kayden. She had vowed to stay away from men, yet she could not keep her eyes off Jake. He had lost his wife and child in a terrible accident which came from his self-confidence while working his final case before leaving Boston. Yancey, AK, was to be a place to hide - but his skills as a detective and role in the community kept pulling him to the front of the line. God, certainly, did not want him to be a detective, yet the friends he had made in Yancey kept pulling him back into that roll.
Relationships - Cole and Bailey, Kayden and Jake, and Reef (the prodigal son of the McKenna family) and Kirra - form the foundation of this book. Though not all, many of the characters also bring a deep and growing relationship with God to their story. It is this final relationship which gives this book special value to this reader.
In addition to the relationships, I was also enjoyed the time spent climbing the mountains and hills which make up the southern islands of Alaska. This fictional story was a fitting follow-up to the true story of Blind Descent by Brian Dickinson which I have just finished reading. Though my health, age, and abilities would make these climbing excursions an impossibility; the sights and sounds described by the author make for intriguing reading.
The book held this readers attention and recommended for those interested in reading a story centered the rugged terrain of the Alaskan frontier. With a hint of romance, a strong sense of spirituality, and a great deal of adventure, the book is worth the time spent this past week reading.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kayden's turn

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Submerged, Shattered, Stranded and now Silenced- all title’s in Dani Pettrey’s Alaskan Courage series and I must say that I have enjoyed each one as you get to know up close and personal the McKenna siblings and all the many suspenseful happenings in their lives. I have to say that I really was looking forward to this one as this time it was Kayden MeKenna’s turn. This is the McKenna daughter who looked exactly like her mother, but ever since her death had remained pretty closed off to those around her. The story opens with a bang as Kayden finds a dead body while she is out on one of her recreational rock climbs- so much for a relaxing rock climbing experience. Kayden teams up with former police detective Jake Westin (Cavanaugh) as he is coaxed out of retirement by newly appointed local Sheriff Landon Grainger - (Piper McKenna’s fiance’.) As this case unfolds and the two are working closely together to crack it we get a closer look at Jake’s back story as well- a police detective with a sad story- a case gone wrong which ended the lives of his wife and their precious daughter, not yet born. As the pieces of the puzzle fall into place, a whole other mystery pops up, one which is very dangerous for both Kayden and Jake, but which also draws them closer and closer together.
I have to say that this story begged the question- “what drives you?” If you think about it we are all driven by something- whether it be fear, guilt, revenge or love, and we get to choose what that might be. Our choices then dictate the course that we set ourselves on. As the stories of Kayden and Jake come out more fully and even the “bad guy” of the story, it is a clear picture of what drives each character. I feel it is very well done and so all those choices make sense and play out well in the storyline . And so for instance, we understand why Kayden is the way she is in terms of extreme self- discipline with her health etc., and we get it why Jake’s has a fierce protective side towards Kayden. And so of course, that leads to why it makes total sense that Kayden and Jake are attracted to each other and how they help each other see that the thing that we should be driven by is a relationship with God, any other forces lead to ruin. The suspense part of the story, as usual is well played and you will find the pages turning faster and faster towards the end of the book as you reach the climax of the story.
I am very glad to have discovered Dani Pettrey and have really enjoyed this series. I know that I will be among the many that will be greatly looking forward to the next book in the series- Sabotaged which tell’s Reef McKenna’s story, oh Spring of 2015, hurry up and get here!
5 stars
I was graciously given a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting next book in the Alaskan Courage series!

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved Dani Pettrey's Alaskan Courage series since the very beginning, and Silenced makes a venerable fourth offering. Silenced advances the timeline for the earlier characters as they move ahead with relationships and marriages, but it's mainly the story of Kayden McKenna. Kayden is fearful of disease, worried about love, and protective of her family - and that winning combination makes her an amazing lead.
Jake matches Kayden stride for stride. He's smart, kind, and in love with Kayden - which makes him super protective of her - except that somebody's coming for her, and neither of them can figure out whom or why.
It's this type of tough-but-vulnerable characters that make the Alaskan Courage series for me. The people are heroic but each one has an Achilles heel which makes them feel human. Pettrey breathes life into her characters through the details, the love, and the adventure with which she builds each one, and it's this infusion of heroism that makes them fascinating.
I must admit that turning the last page of this story made me a bit sad - because I know that there is only one more in the series. I'm enjoying the McKennas as much as ever and am not ready to leave behind my journey with them. It is with mixed feelings that I anxiously await the final book in the series. I can't wait to find out what happens with Reef, but I might have to read it slowly to draw out the suspense and enjoyment.
Then again ... read a Pettrey book slowly?
Nah. It'll never happen. I'll be flying through it as quickly as possible.
Just like always.
That's the sign of a good book.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

another great book in this series

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silenced is the fourth book in this series. I was so excited to learn there will be a fifth. When I saw her first book 'Submerged', it caught my attention. I am so glad I gave a new author a try. Read this series but read them in order. You will know the characters and what makes them the people they are. This is Jake and Kayden's story. This was an enjoyable read with the mystery starting right away. Kayden is rock climbing and finds a body. It didn't take long to find out it wasn't an accident. Jake and Kayden work together to solve the mystery. Working so closely together they must finally confront their feelings for one another. This book has murder, mystery, danger and romance. A nice enjoyable relaxing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Mystery Suspense!!!!!!

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tablet
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dani Pettrey has done it again!!!! SILENCED, her fourth book in her Alaskan Courage series is a suspenseful mystery with just the right amount of romance in it. You will get pulled into Kayden and Jakes's story from the very first page. You will love spending time with the whole McKenna family again. Dani's characters and writing has so much depth, you will feel like you are right there with the characters experiencing what they are going through. From the first page where Kayden and her sister, Piper, are climbing and hanging on the edge of a seven-hundred-fifty-four-foot-sheer cliff face; to where Kayden finds a dead body on the next crested ridge; to the exciting roller coaster ride through the book; as you turn the last page, you won't be able to stop reading. You will sense the danger that Kayden and Jake are in as Jake's past comes up to threaten him and those he loves. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough to see what would happen next. Through this book, you will experience and see how God is in control of every aspect of our lives. We can't live on the "what ifs" but are to live our lives to the fullest and not in fear. I love how Dani brought this out in her story. Grab your copy of SILENCED today; settle in your favorite reading spot with a hot cup of coffey and be prepared to enjoy hours and hours of pure reading pleasure. I recvied a complimentary copy of this book from Dani and Bethany House for my honest review. Thank you Dani and Bethany House for this awesome book!!!! tabby
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Four in the series

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have to start out with the fact that I did read the other three books in this series and absolutely loved them!! Now on to book four. I have to say, this book didn't grab me like the other ones did, there were some things, that readers of the previous books will catch. This story opens with Kayden and Jake in love?? What? The last book ended with them at each other's throats. So once I got past that, I did enjoy the story, as a mystery, suspense fan I felt Dani took some liberties with the investigation side of the story. Allowing Kayden to be more involved than realistic. But it didn't ruin the story for me. So my overall thoughts, great story, and one that you don't want to miss as you wrap up the series. Definitely would recommend this book to others, and I do look forward to what is next from Dani Pettrey. 4 stars from this reviewer. This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was provided for this review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nise
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Kayden is a strong, independent woman determined to live a healthy life with a secret fear. Jake had a past that he kept secret for a long time, but it has finally been revealed. We met both characters in the previous Alaskan Courage books, and watched them slowly draw closer to each other. When the discovery is ruled a murder they work together to figure out what happened and why. The action and suspense is written very well without explicit details. The McKenna family is close and in their tight knit community each one is involved in solving the mystery of the incidents directed towards Kayden and Jake that are no accidents. The series concludes with Reef's story in Sabotaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Silenced, Alaskan Courage Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favourite series!

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silenced is the fourth book in the Alaskan Courage series following the adventures of the McKenna siblings. They own and operate an outfitting and adventure tour company. I love the setting, an island town in Alaska, and I love the characters and always eagerly await the next book. I'm a little unclear as to whether or not this is the last book in the series as it didn't entirely finish up the story of the last sibling, Reef, but I think it is.
My one beef with this book is that I wish the back story for Jake had been explained a little more at the beginning. I'm sure we were told more details in the last book but I read it quite a while ago. I would have found a recap helpful. It sort of comes out throughout the story but it felt like the author was alluding to things I either forgot or just didn't know.
While the books in this series each center around one sibling, and their love interest of course, there is enough going on within the family that I would recommend starting with the first book and reading them in order or you will miss out on a lot.
This has been my favourite series in the last couple years and while I will be sad to see it finish up, I'm excited to see what Dani Pettrey writes about next.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.