Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5

Bethany House The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5

Nineteen-year-old Tessie Miller is the youngest of her Old Order parents' five daughters--and the only one yet to marry. She has her heart set on Amishman Marcus Smucker, and come wedding season, they plan to tie the knot and start a family together. But Tessie's father disapproves. Ammon Miller has his reasons, and he has put his foot down. The marriage will not go forward.

Impetuously, Tessie and Marcus take matters into their own hands, eloping to exchange their vows in the fancy, English world. After a secret honeymoon, they return to their Plain community to live as singles, hoping that, in time, they can convince the Millers to give their love a chance. But when the unthinkable happens, Tessie faces the biggest challenge of her life--and the almost-certain censure of the People. Will Tessie find a reason for hope in spite of her desperate plight?

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Review 1 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Maybe you shouldn't JUST follow your heart...

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachel Haugaard
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tessie Miller is the last of her family of 5 sisters to marry. She is determined to marry a young Amishman, Marcus King, even though her father has set himself firmly (unreasonably, in Tessie's mind) against this match. When her father won't explain his reasons for opposing her marriage to Marcus, the couple decides to take matters into their own hands and snuck away to be married at the local courthouse. After their wedding, the decide to keep this marriage a secret until Tessie's father relents about them being a couple. This secret arrangement continues for awhile...until an unthinkable accident changes Tessie's life forever. Finally, after it's too late to change things, Tessie discovers her father's reason for not wanting her to marry Marcus....much to her fear and heartache. When Tessie discovers that she and Marcus are going to have a baby, this secret makes her fear for her baby's life. Will she ever be able to find hope and peace again?
I always enjoy Beverly Lewis' books and am happy to review them when Bethany House sends one my way. :) I appreciated the way this book shows that just because parents can sometimes seem unreasonable in their children's eyes when it comes to major life decisions, they often are doing their best to shield that child from pain and heartbreak later on in life. When you're in the middle of making one of these choices it's not always easy to remember that or see it in that light, but it's wise to take the counsel of our parents into consideration even if we don't always understand their reasons.
I enjoyed the story and as always, loved the way Beverly Lewis paints a beautiful portrait of the Amish lifestyle. Reading her books makes me want to go visit an Amish community. :)
I was given a free copy of this book by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Normally not a Bev Lewis fan

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This series is the first of Beverly Lewis' that I have read and enjoyed enough for 5 stars. She continues to draw us into Hickory Hollow. With each new story, we fall in love with the characters.
This story is no different. I loved Tessie, she was a bit fiesty and a whole lot stubborn, but she had the gift to love and to also touch others. Children love her.
This book will make you laugh, cry and even aggravate you, as you read, all emotions that authors love for you to feel.
I easily give this a 5 star rating. This book is a book that you will not want to miss if you love Amish stories. This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

the last bride review

Date:June 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Beverly Lewis is at it again. "The Last Bride" is her latest in the Home of Hickory Hollow series. This series does not need to be read in order. In this installment, Tessie, a young Amish woman, is in love with a man her father has forbidden her to marry. The couple decides to take matters in their own hands and secretly marry at the justice of the peace, but then doesn't tell anyone. Especially Tessie's father. In a tragic accident, Marcus, Tessie's husband dies leaving her pregnant and no one believing her about their marriage. Tessie struggles with becoming her own woman, facing an unpredictable future, and being honest with her family. This novel also deals with the scary subject of intermarrying and genetic diseases that the Amish deal with when having children.
This book is groundbreaking for the Lewis' usual writing. The widowed mother takes care of herself and her child; she does what needs to be done. The subject matter all of the stories that coincide with this novel are all different and modern. Especially the touchy topic of marrying relation. the writing is typical Lewis and is does extremely well. I liked this book. I recommend it highly. I received this book in exchange for an honest review from Bethany House publishers and www.netgalley.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Home to Hickory Hollow

Date:May 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tessie Miller is the last of the Miller daughters to marry. The young man she favors is not of her father's choice. She has loved Marcus King for as long as she can remember, there is none other for her. Every time Marcus goes to her father to ask for her hand in marriage he is turned down without any reason as to why his request is denied. So the young couple decide to sneak away to the court house and have an English ceremony even though they both wanted desperately to marry in Amish tradition. They have chosen not to tell anyone of their marriage hoping Tessie's father will give them his blessing. But before Marcus could approach her father with his request a tragic accident changes everything the young couple had planned for a happy future together.
Since no one knows of their marriage circumstances this put Tessie in critical scrutiny of not only of her Amish community but that of the Bishop and his wife.
This story was so tragic. I was so angry with Tessie's father. Then when the her father's reasoning was revealed I was totally shocked. The author touched on a topic that is a hidden secret among the Amish. She writes of how God's plan will be revealed if only we have faith and trust in God.
I must say as I have said so many times that Beverly Lewis never fails to amaze me with her talent for entertaining me with her writing. This book is very much right up there with all her other books I have read. I had a hard time putting the book down.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book by Beverly Lewis!

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Daisies
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so happy to receive another complimentary Beverly Lewis book to review!!! So I immediately guessed one twist, but not the other one! Completely took me by surprise, but I won’t reveal it so you can be surprised when you read it. :>
I loved the book! Intrigue is always interesting, even when some of the mysteries are known by the reader, but not the characters. It isn’t too often in our current culture that deception is shown as sin, but it is here. Two people seeking to follow God can still be blinded by their own wants and desires to act in deception. Also it’s another reminder that we never know how long we have to make things right with our Lord. There is a great confession and forgiveness scene as a reminder of God’s grace when we are willing to repent. As usual, Beverly creates wonderful, interesting characters which she develops in depth.
One thing I did not expect, was a sub story line about infertility, just before I leave for a conference focusing on that very topic. Because of my own struggles in this area and failed adoption, I really related to this aspect of the story and really felt a connection to Tessie’s sister Mandy and her struggles. Beverly is not afraid to tackle the difficult issues, which I’ve appreciated since I first discovered her in 1999 in our church library.
I loved the book and I’ll be rereading it many times as I do with all of her books! It’s definitely worth your time! :>
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
LeAnne
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tessie Miller wanted to do what her parents say, but she also had to follow her heart. She and Marcus King were in love and wanted to marry. But her Father was very opposed to the match and would not allow it. Even though Tessie and Marcus had no idea why. So with little choice they eloped to the English world and got married. Then they returned home to live as singles for a little while, not telling anyone what they did until they could try to get her parents to give there love a chance. But when something awful happens, Tessie could be in for more trouble then she ever would have guessed.
Beverly Lewis is one of my favorite authors, and I was so excited to get this book! The characters and the scenes were very well done. And it was a hard book to put down! Plus I really like how even if you have not read the other books in this series, this book can be read all by it's self! Although one secret in the book was kept so long it was getting kind of annoying. But for the book to go the way it did I don't think that anything could have really been changed. Over all I would say it is a great book and a must read for Beverly Lewis fans!
I received this book free from Bethany House for my honest review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not up to Beverly Lewis quality

Date:May 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
annmarie
Location:Green Bay, Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really love Beverly Lewis books. I've read every one so far.
She puts thought and knowledge in all her books.
I was dissappointed in this book. The characters were weak, wishy washy and plain ignorant.
There was no honesty or sharing between most of the characters.
No thought was given to Marcus' family and they were swept under the rug when "mr. wonderful" came along.
I felt it was a book written by a first time author , and not very well written at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very different book in the Amish Genre

Date:May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I picked up this book to begin reading, I felt a sense of regret and loss. It is the last of the Hickory Hollow Series. Each book was a stand alone, although, they were bound together through the community and the faith. This series was a hit with me immediately, as it dealt with things rarely addressed in the Amish fiction genre, problems, events , that are very real . The Amish people are not exempt from these problems, however how they are dealt with, is unique.
Tessie Miller, the main character, is the last of the five daughters of Old Order Amish parents. She has her heart set on marrying the love of her life, Marcus King. BUT... a problem arises! Her Daad violently opposes this match. The puzzling refusal to allow them to court confuses this young couple, and as all young people seem to do, make them even more determined to tie the knot.
With a bit of thought, Tessie and Marcus elope to the English world, returning to Hickory Hollow to live a secret life. They remain single, in the eyes of their community, each living apart, thinking that in time Tessie's parents will come around to their way of thinking and approve the marriage. But, the unthinkable happens, and Tessie faces an almost certain censure of the Amish community. Can she ever find a reason for hope? Will she allow God to take over and comfort her?
I do love the Amish genre, but I must admit that I often tire of the trend of the same kind of problems occurring over and over again. This book grabbed my attention immediately because it was very different from the norm. Beverly deals with a subject about which many are unaware. The health issues that face the sect as a result of inter-marriage are addressed in an sensitive, however, realistic manner. In the Amish community, due to families remaining in the faith and continuing to live in the same area, the result is in genetic problems with offspring. Many handicapped children appear due to relatives marrying others in the family. I must say that this made me really think of the Amish community and how they would deal with this kind of problem.
The plot was very well developed and drew my attention away from my surroundings. I became part of the Amish world! The twists and turns glued me to my chair, eager to read the next chapter.
When I can identify with at least one character in a book, I can honestly say it is a GREAT book. Beverly's book met my criteria without a doubt. I felt Tessie's confusion, pain, fears and challenges. Her faith and dedication to doing the right thing made her a wonderful Christian girl.
I am sorry to see this series end, however, I am sure that Beverly Lewis will present us with another winning book before too long.
A five star book!!
This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read!! Highly Recommend

Date:May 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
BTNSBJ
Location:Ashland, Ky.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a huge fan of author Beverly Lewis for many yrs. so when I read the synopsis for 'The Last Bride', I knew I had to read this one. The plot seemed a bit different than many Amish fiction books I've read in the past.
This couple(Tessie Miller and Marcus King) in the Amish community were forbidden by her father to marry, but since they are totally in love, they convince themselves that they should go ahead and marry anyway. She is the last of her sisters to marry, so she's hoping that her dad will come around and see that they were meant to be together.
The two finally make a decision to sneak off into the English world to elope and then come back and live separate lives, pretending nothing ever happened, hoping and praying that her father will change his mind in time. Her father has his reasons, but won't tell them why he doesn't want them to marry, which causes some immediate problems when the 'unthinkable' happens. Will they face shunning, be kicked out of their beloved community or will the families be understanding in what all transpires?
(I am purposely leaving out certain details so as not to ruin the surprise element, one that will have the reader guessing how it will all work out in the end, and one part that I totally did not expect).
Beverly Lewis offers a little deeper side to some serious problems that the Amish people face in their everyday lives. I loved how she wove one particular issue into the story line.
***This is a book that I highly recommend ~ great story line, great plot and great characters w/great faith in God, make for a great read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Family Choices

Date:May 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book just as I did the others in this series. I do realize that there are genetic problems with not a big gene pool in the Amish. This story is based on this problem, and we see parents trying to bend their children to do what they want, for good reason, but not telling them why.
When I read the blip on the back about what the book is about, and got to the part where I knew something was going to happen, I wanted to change it before it did. Yes, it is heart breaking, and you would not want to be in Tessie’s shoes, she has a hard road ahead of her. There are also a few side stories about Tessie’s sisters and some of their personal struggle. Love how close this family is, and how they seemed to really care about one another. You are going to be celebrating with them, and mourning at the same time, especially with some of the reveals, and we find out why some things happen.
While as a reader, and enjoying this fictional story, I did feel that some of it was unreal. Some of her parent’s choice made no sense, and yet tell them later? Also the other character at the end was almost to good to be true. All in all though I enjoyed visiting in the Hickory Hill area, traveling the same roads we have in past books, and mentioning of past characters, and remembering their stories.
I received this book through the Bethany House Bloggers Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis is the 5th book in the series Home to Hickory Hollow. I was reading 2 books but finally this one won my complete attention. It was hard to put down.
I really enjoyed the whole series of Home to Hickory Hollow. Each book is a stand alone book but it's nice visiting with some of the previous characters.
The Last Bride is about a young woman named Tessie Ann Miller who is Old Order Amish. She is the last one to marry. She is in love with Marcus King but unfortunately her father is against it. She does not know why and continues to disobey by not ending the relationship. They still secretly court. Marcus and Tessie end up eloping. But they come back home and live as single, but with the occasional meet up at Marcus' rental house, until Marcus feels it's time to share the news of their secret marriage. He's hoping to convince Tessie's father that he's a good fellow and will care for Tessie.
Unfortunate events happen and Tessie is worried about the reaction of the Amish people. Will she end up getting shunned? Tessie then finds out the real reason for why her father was against the marriage and is worried about that issue? Why? Read and find out. I love Beverly Lewis and is my favorite Amish fiction writer. I also recommend this book to you.
I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Pleasant Twist in Hickory Hollow

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Last Bride
Beverly Lewis
Book Summary: Of her Old Order parents' five daughters, Tessie Miller is the last to marry. She has her heart set on Amishman Marcus King, but Tessie's father opposes the match. Impetuously, Tessie and Marcus elope to the English world, then return to Hickory Hollow to live as singles, trusting they'll convince the Millers to give their love a chance over time. But when the unthinkable happens, Tessie faces the almost-certain censure of the People. Will she find a reason for hope in spite of her desperate plight?
Review: I loved this book. I was reserved in thinking this was just another Beverly Lewis story, but I could not have been more ignorant of what she had up her sleeve!!! I loved this book! It was Beverly Lewis’ best to date. I was so sad when events turned so horrible wrong and there stood Tessie having to cope with the outcome of her marriage. I cried and than things grew and changed. I mourned right along with Tessie and was as surprised as she was how life changed and turned around again. Than there was the secondary story of Mandy and her husband. This book had more inside its 336 pages than I could have ever thought possible. I want another book in this series! Going back to Hickory Hollow, PA was so very worth it. New or old time reader of Beverly Lewis will not be disappointed in this poignant story.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Bethany House Publishers for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never l
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Good Amish Read

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Location:West Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Beverly Lewis weaves a good tale of Amish life. I personally think her books are getting better with time. This was a good read and I read it straight through. Sure there were frustrating moments when you just wish Tessie would fess up but that's what makes a good book eh?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Read!

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
KimScott
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed The Last Bride by Beverly Lewis. It is book # 5 in the Hickory Hollow Series, but also a stand alone book. It had me hooked from page one until the end, as all of her books on the Amish do.
Tessie Miller & Marcus King elope when her father is against them getting married. Her Father has someone else in mind for her to marry. They come back and live as singles thinking they can change his mind. Then when a tragedy happens, she is left to face her parents and the Amish Church who all think she needs to confess her sins before the entire Church.
Tessie's sister - Mandy (and husband Sylvan) longs for a baby, as so many of her family and friends have.
Beverly Lewis does an awesome job in writing about the Amish/Mennonites. I have learned a lot about their traditions and believes through her books. The Amish put the will of God in everything they do. Because of the independence I have always had some of their traditions are hard for me to relate too, but I can understand why they believe that way.
I received an advanced copy of this in exchange for my review rather it be good or bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Last Bride, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saying Goodbye To Hickory Hollow!

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have devoured every Amish fiction book that author Beverly Lewis has written. Each published book gets better and better.
Once again Beverly Lewis made her characters real ones. I walked with them, I visited with them in their homes, I suffered with them when trials came upon them.
I was hooked on this story from the very beginning. My emotions most certainly came to life. I smiled during tender moments, I went through grief, I even wept in several places.
God plays a very important part in the lives of Amish people. This is one of the reasons I love reading stories written by this author. She brings out their faith with prayer and scripture throughout the pages of each book. The Amish most always seeks the Will of God in every decision that is made.
When we disobey, when we keep secrets, and when we try to work things out on our own, it is never a good thing. There are many lessons to be learned in the story of The Last Bride.
I loved this book. It is deserving of 5 stars plus. I highly recommend this book to everyone that reads this review. You will not be disappointed!
The Last Bride, is the fifth and final stand-alone novel in the Home to Hickory Hollow series. I for one, will miss Hickory Hollow and all the wonderful gut stories!
I won this ARC from LibraryThing in exchange for my honest review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.