Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Act of Marriage

Zondervan The Act of Marriage

The Act of Love: The Beauty of Sexual Love is for every married and soon to be married Christian couple who want to make lovemaking a pleasure in their marriage. In this book the LaHayes give frank and practical insight into orgasmic love and the value of Kegel exercises. Using Bible passages from the NIV version and recent findings in the medical and sociology fields, they also provide valuable insight into the workings of each others bodies, psychosexual makeups, and the need for tender affection. This updated copy also includes a section for "sex after sixty" and five reasons why God created sex. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Act of Marriage
Review 1 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
AODS
Location:gladewater, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a pastor, I give this book to every young couple whose ceremony I conduct. I have also given it to married couples whom I feel could benefit from such information. I have been using this book for the past forty years and have found it to be one of the best.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is great for newlyweds

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
nile
Location:La Quinta, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been married many years, and my pastor gave this book to us. It has been a wonderful tool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bethany Church
This is the other book we use for premarital counseling (the first is the Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman). If you're engaged or even already married, we highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Freya
The half a star is for the good information on biology. However, I am terribly dissapointed in some of the advice the LaHaye's give. Suggesting that if you've cheated on your spouse or had premarital sex you don't have to tell...as long as you're "really sorry" is ridiculous. I can't imagine the damage this would do in a marriage-never mind the potential to pass an std onto your spouse or the fact that people who are truly repentant should be willing to confess. Some other responses also seem to lack common sense and respect for the other spouse.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Crystal Stocks
same basic concept of "intended for pleasure" but i liked the "intended for pleasure" better as it is more straight forward but this one helps too, if your more conservative this one is for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Glen Hays
This is an excellent book. My wife an I first read it together, at a friends advice, when we had been married 5+ years. We are still together 30+ years later. I give this as wedding present whenever possible. Be careful not to give it in a public situation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charlene Nixon
This book is very graphical, it has a lot of information in it that is very helpful. Everyone should have a book like this especially before they get married, and even if you are married, it will help you in satisfying your husband and wife through making love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Krystal
I have been married less than two years, and this book has helped us so much. Our chaplain ordered the book and I would recommend it to any couple whether you've been married 6 months or 20 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2000
Customer Avatar
K Stone
This book literally changed my marriage. Where I thought I had no hope, through this book, the Lord showed me that I am normal and that there is hope for my marriage of 10 years! Praise the Lord for this gem of a book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Act of Marriage
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2000
Customer Avatar
A Howard
This book should be available in every church library. It is recommended reading for every young couple getting married.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.