Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Monarch Books The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1

Monarch Books The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1

When Chicago detectives Frank Campello and Andy Polanski are assigned to investigate the murder of Trina Martinez it seems like an ordinary homicide. An unfortunate young girl in the wrong place at the wrong time has been brutally murdered. But their investigation is halted by a wall of silence, a wall formed by powerful interests that will render their inquiry a lost cause.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Review 1 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Suspense Novel!

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! I picked up this book expecting a good crime story but I never thought I would love this the way I do. The Sons of Jude is one of those thrilling suspense books that makes you glad for the good guys! Check out my review!
With all the books I have read by Brandt Dodson, I never realized that he was employed by the FBI. I knew his books rang with authenticity and this is the reason why. While reading this book I felt like I was there, with these officers in the middle of a murder investigation. The funny thing with The Sons of Jude is that I am familiar with Chicago and found it interesting to know places that were mentioned, streets, etc. I mean, everyone knows Navy Pier but hearing about Rush Street and the like was pretty interesting.
The main character is Campello. But the person who is transferred to be his partner, Polanski, is by far my favorite. And you can't forget Christy Lee, who happens to be a reporter who has a thing against cops. There is definitely enough mystery and suspense in this book to satisfy anyone who loves a good who-dun-it. It reads like a good action novel and I really enjoyed it. The author brings to forefront the idea of how far does a good guy go, to bring down a bad guy. At what point does the good guy become just like the bad guy? It is amazing how things can get turned around and mixed up so you don't know who is good and what is the right thing to do. And do you rat on a fellow cop? Or do you let the brotherhood take care of things? All of these are good questions that are brought up by Brandt Dodson.
Overall an excellent book. Ethical subjects are discussed in such a way that you really have to think. The characters are very realistic with struggles and doubts of their own. Plot was intriguing and the finale ending was exciting. I am sooo looking forward to the next book in the series!
According to FTC Regulations, I received a copy of this book as part of the Kregel blog tour. I did not receive any monetary compensation. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sex Trafficking, Murder, Police Corruption = Great

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brandt Dodson in his new book, “The Sons of Jude” Book One in The Sons of Jude series published by Monarch Books takes us into the lives of Chicago detectives Frank Campello and Andy Polanski.
From the back cover: Saint Jude is the patron saint of lost causes–and police officers.
When Chicago detectives Frank Campello and Andy Polanski are assigned to investigate the murder of Trina Martinez it seems like an ordinary homicide. An unfortunate young girl in the wrong place at the wrong time has been brutally murdered. But their investigation is halted by a wall of silence, a wall formed by powerful interests that will render their inquiry a lost cause.
Then they enlist the support of reporter Christy Lee–and come under immediate fire. Polanski is arrested. Campello threatened. Christy is attacked.
It’s the case that every cop gets. The one that changes his life. The one where justice is elusive and the hunter becomes the hunted.
Frank Campello and Andy Polanski are the Sons of Jude.
How would you begin a book about police officers? Of course, in a precinct. ”The Sons of Jude” tarts out loaded with tension and then it just escalates. Frank Campello is a veteran who doesn’t like the rules. Andy Polanski is a rules person who blew the whistle on fellow officers at the district forcing him to be reassigned just to keep him alive. They dress differently, they act differently and Campello doesn’t even like his new partner. However they get involved in a case involving a sex-trafficking operation that is preying on illegal aliens. To really solve this case they need to rely on each other and defeat corruption in the higher-ups of the police department.
“The Sons of Jude” is a thriller as Campello and Polanski are in great danger practically from page one. This is an adventure suspense story as the two detectives are off on their search for the killer and as they dig up answers they are forced to question the motives of those around them. “The Sons of Jude” is also a mystery filled with twists and turns that will make a roller coaster kneel in surrender. I think Brandt Dodson is an extremely talented writer who really knows how to tell a story that will grab you and keep you flipping pages until you find out what is going on. ”The Sons of Jude” is a very exciting book that will keep you engrossed in the characters. This is a wonderful series and I am glad I discovered Brandt Dodson. I look forward to a long and pleasant relationship. I recommend this book highly.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Monarch Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Detective Frank Campello has just lost his partner and to his disappointment has been given Andy Polanski from another district as his new partner. Polanski has been deemed a traitor, for not sticking by the police family and Campello has no desire to work with a traitor. With the latest case bringing the two into situations they never would have believed Campello must decide if he can trust Polanski and possibly understand why he did what he did at his previous district.
The Sons of Jude is the first book of the series and Dodson does not disappoint, captivating your attention from the very first page. Not only does Dodson write a story that will pull you in he writes in a way that does not speed through the story but allows you to really sink into what is happening. Dodson has an amazing use of description and with his experience in the FBI and knowledge of the Chicago area he really brings this story to life. I cannot wait to see the next book in the series.
I received this book complimentary from Kregel Publishing in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MOVE OVER, ED MCBAIN!

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chicago PD is in trouble. Andy Polanski has done the unthinkable; he accused two other members of the department of planting evidence on a suspect. Now, no one wants to work with him. Frank Campello is assigned to partner with him against his will, but when they begin to work together to find a young woman's murderer, they discover just how deep the conspiracy goes.
For everyone who ever read and loved Ed McBain's 87th Precinct series, good news! Brandt Dodson is the successor to McBain. Set in Chicago, this is a gritty, realistic police thriller with, as the back cover so eloquently puts it, "an ethical twist". It's good. It isn't "bang 'em over the heads with a Bible" religious, but it is clean enough that your teenagers can read it. But don't start reading this on a night when you need to go to bed; you won't be able to put it down until the end. Seriously.
5 stars
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of Kregel Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Kregel Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sons of Jude

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For a cop drama, this book was pretty good. The two main characters were Andy Polanski, a straight laced by-the-book kind of cop, and Frank Campello, who recently lost his partner and is not happy about Andy turning on his “brothers in blue”. Andy is the Christian in this book and does what he does to honor Christ, but Frank is angry at Andy for being a traitor. The two characters were well written and interesting to get to know.
I enjoyed watching the relationship between Andy and Frank grow. As a reader, you know that Andy is doing what he is doing for Christ. You know he is doing the right thing and you end up pulling for him. At the same time, the author gives a very compelling view of the other officers involved in the story. They just see someone who betrayed their own; something which is just not done, no matter if you thought your were doing the right thing or not. You know that Andy is a good detective and want him to succeed, but you also feel for the other detectives who just can’t trust him. An author being able to pull off both sides of a very polarizing subject and make the reader feel sympathy for both sides is something you don’t see often, and I was very impressed.
However, the book was mainly told from Frank’s perspective, which sometimes made Andy come across as a naïve sap who is hiding behind his Bible and doesn’t care what that means to his family, friends, and coworkers. Now, I do agree that Christians should live their lives based on what Christ did for us and should not compromise. But Andy sometimes came across as just barreling through life not caring about the consequences of his actions and not explaining to people why he was doing what he was doing. Of course you should stand up for what you believe in, but sometimes there is a compassionate balance at play as well.
The only other problem I had with this story was that the murder mystery ended up being a bit too convoluted. The characters (good and bad) each had back story which somehow ended up being tied into the main story. This probably wouldn’t have been a problem if we could have learned about their back stories in a previous book instead of snippets throughout this one. By the end of the book, I was just glad that the murder part was over. I wanted to focus on the characters again.
I really enjoyed the way the author showed the growth of the relationship between the two main characters. I finished the book wanting to know more about the two and where their friendship and partnership is going to go. And, as far as murder mysteries go, though this one was complicated, it was still good. I enjoyed this book despite a few issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written exciting crime thriller!

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sons of Jude is a well-written, exciting crime thriller. The first page had me more than ready to read the rest. I had to find out what happened to Campello's partner. Then in comes Polanski, his new partner that everyone despises.
Brandt did exceptional in creating his very believable characters. I could understand why Campello wasn't excited about working with not just another partner but one who "betrayed" his fellow officers. And Polanski, here was an officer who wanted to do what was right, and his family is harassed as well as the grief he went through from the other officers.
Throw in the inquisitive, sharp reporter who leaves no stone unturned... and a case with more sneaky turns than straight answers, you have got an awesome novel!
Reading this book from beginning to end, I found I have to read the next one and the ones after that. I was so thoroughly entertained and hooked I couldn't quit reading it. Brandt Dodson has a new fan in me!
And guys, this is a gritty book that you will enjoy. I have an eclectic taste in reading material and I happen to like gritty crime thrillers. But that doesn't mean you wouldn't like it too. There is just enough toughness in these great characters that you will most definitely relate to them better than me.
I also wanted to note how laid-back Brandt was in bringing out the ethical aspect in the story-line. Polanski is the Christian in this unwanted partnership but Campello doesn't realize it until the both of them are facing some real life and death moments in this crazy case they are working on.
Well I don't want to spoil the rest of the book. So be sure to get your copy today. It's available through your favorite bookstores.
Kregel Publications made this review possible by providing me with a free review copy. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dodson is top-notch in his field of expertise!

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chicago Police Department. District 28 Headquarters.
Detective Frank Campello lost his partner, Rand Adams, during a shootout. Julio Lopez, the 28th district commander, is reassigning a transfer, Detective Andy Polanski, from District 31, to Campello. Considered a turncoat in the two districts for turning on two of the officers involved in another shootout in the 31st district, Campello wants nothing to do with him. But he has no choice in the matter. Lopez wants Campello to keep an eye on Polanski.
Campello and Polanski’s first investigation together is to investigate the homicide of Trina Martinez. No matter where they turn for tips, they ram into a wall of silence and powerful interest groups and criminals, which get them nowhere. Animosity reigns between the two detectives. So much so, that Frank keeps some information from his new partner.
Christy Lee is a newspaper reporter that thinks Polanski is on the up-and-up. She negotiates with Campello to get involved with the homicide, off the record, using her ‘tenacity, sound observation skills, and a hard-won knowledge of the human psyche’ to garner up information on everyone they suspect.
Brandt Dodson, in Sons of Jude, has ramped-up multiple plot twists that keep you intrigued from beginning to end. There are internal and external corruption and betrayals, but who is behind it in both sectors is what turns this book into a fast-paced thriller. You have multiple murders, but do they connect? Peter Green’s ego creates totally out of control behaviors that jeopardize well-laid plans.
Eventually Polanski is arrested, Campello is threatened and Christy is targeted for murder. Feathers are being ruffled, but the actors behind the scenes are still elusive. Instead of being the hunters, the three have become the hunted. Will they succeed in bringing down the power mongers before they lose their lives?
Personally, Polanski is haunted about all the circumstances because of his father’s actions, and he wants to exonerate his family. Will his Christian faith hold him together to end his grievances? He won’t back down, knowing God has his back one way or another.
For a high-riveted book of suspense, murder and betrayal, pick up Brandt Dodson’s ‘first in a series of gritty, past-paced crime thrillers with an ethical twist.’ Dodson is top-notch in his field of expertise!
This book was provided free by Noelle Pedersen of Kregel Blog Tours in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

entertaining, not much Christian about it

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a book that is unapologetically Christian fiction, this book is not for you. The main character drinks, smokes, and is definitely not a Christian. There is some very brief Christian content in the book, and two uses of God's name taken in vain. Other than that, I would almost classify it as clean secular fiction.
Those issues aside, it was a great read, and though there wasn't much Christian about it, the book was clean. The book revolves around police officers and corruption in the police department. It has a great plot and characters, and given the authors law enforcement experience, the police actions and activities have a very realistic feel and approach. The book is very fast-paced and once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down.
This is a new publisher for this author, and I have read previous books by him that contained no uses of God's name taken in vain and had more Christian content, so hopefully this is a fluke and the rest of the books in this series will do better in those areas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

gritty police work

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
All is not well in the Chicago Police Department. Andy Polanski blew the whistle on two of his fellow cops for planting evidence. Feelings are running high so Polanski has been transferred to District 28 and made the partner of Frank Campello. Frank is not happy.
The two are called out to investigate the murder of a young woman, her body found in a dumpster at Navy Pier. As Andy and Frank investigate the case, it becomes clear that there is much more going on than the murder. There are powerful people in Chicago politics who want this case dropped, even if they have to kill a cop.
This opening sets the stage for the first novel in a series featuring a fictional Chicago police district and a rotating cast of characters. Polanski is the son of a disgraced Chicago police officer. He is a Christian and is careful to do everything by the book. Campello is more of a live and let live kind of guy when it comes to his life and work. His dad was a cop and the police force is his family.
The novel is pure police procedure. It reminds me of the precinct police novels of a generation ago.
The writing is methodical. The book is not a page turner but is not boring either.
I felt Polanski could have been more clear about his faith early on in the novel. It seems his faith is very important to his actions and more could have been made of that.
There is character development in Frank. He initially saw the police department as his family and had to grow to the point of seeing that members of his family could be corrupt.
If you enjoy reading crime novels about corrupt politics and corrupt police departments, this one is for you.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Son's of Jude

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I need to state that I received this book as a Christian read, but it really wasn't the case. Andy Polanski, is a believer, but we don't find that out until a third of the way through the book.
The book itself is very good, and unfortunately all to believable. That in itself makes it sad, as the book is about corrupt Government and especially the Police of Chicago.
When an illegal, a young woman, is found murdered in a trash can on the pier, it begins a road to justice. You'll wonder right to the end of this book who is good and who is on the take. Really makes you feel unsafe and sick at the same time.
There is another book in this series Chicago Knights, and I hope it goes more to cleaning up this city.
Will Frank and Christy end up together, will Andy get out of the mess he is in? I should say that once you pick this book up you won't be able to put it down. Enjoy!
I received this book through Kregel Publications, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense, action, surprises all the way through...

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
tiinaj1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and found it to be a very interesting read. Sons of Jude is about an officer who's partner has been killed in action and opens with Frank returning to work after time off recovering from it - only to find out he has been teamed up with a "traitor" to the force.
You have a lot of suspense, action, surprises all the way through the book and the climax to the story was a surprise for me (as well as Frank himself). The book is labeled as "Christian" suspense but other than mentioning that Polanski is a believer not much else is mentioned and there are no scripturally based sections in the book - personally I would say it's been labeled that way. That being said there are no bedroom scenes and the nearest to swearing is "_____ swore under his breath" or "he cussed" and that isn't our lead characters in the book but the criminal element doing any of that. There is some drinking in the book but it's mostly Frank having a beer.
I'm really looking forward to reading book two. I'd love to know more about Frank and Christi (a reporter) and I'd like to see what else happens within the Police Department - did they adequately clean it up?
I'm not going to say anymore - this was a wonderful book! This will be a series of books - all police based and if you know someone (guys or gals) who loves a great political, gritty type of thriller it would make a GREAT book for Christmas, Secret Santa, Birthday - or Just Because!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Sons of Jude, Chicago Police Detective Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brandt is back!

Date:September 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Brandt Dodson's Colton Parker series and was very excited to see he had a new book out. This novel launches a new series: this one into the corrupt world of Chicago government and police. Frank Campello's partner is barely in the grave when he's assigned his new partner: Andy Polanski -- a turncoat on other police and the last person Campello wants to trust. When they're assigned a murder that leads to the gateways of Chicago power, they find they have to trust each other cause there's no one else to trust.
The action moves, but never flies in this story. There's a methodical approach to the crime and the assault on power. One dictated by the enemies they're taking on. There's a hint of romance, clash of values, and murders that pile up. And the ending is cliff-hanger as the police hunt for the corrupt among their own. An enjoyable read for those who like gritty crime dramas with plenty of realism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.